Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Molecular Genetics of Development - URA CNRS 1947


  Director : Margaret BUCKINGHAM (margab@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research centres on the study of myogenesis with the aim of understanding how muscle cells are specified in the embryo and how this leads to the formation of different muscle masses, both skeletal and cardiac, during development. We are also interested in muscle progenitor cells in the adult and the potential contribution of stem cells to regeneration. The experimental model is the mouse, with genetic manipulation of regulatory genes.



  report

cale

The formation of skeletal muscle [Lola Bajard, Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Jacqueline Perreau, Frédéric Relaix, Didier Rocancourt, Ralf Spörle, Shahragim Tajbakhsh (independent group since 10/01) — collaborations with the laboratories of G. Cossu, P. Maire, A. Mansouri, T. Partridge, M. Polimeni, P. Rigby, , B. Schäfer]

In 1997 we showed that Myf5 and Pax3 intervene upstream of MyoD in the genetic hierarchy that regulates the onset of myogenesis. Our current research focusses on the regulation and function of these genes.

The regulation of the Myf5 gene has been analysed in transgenic mice, with YACs carrying large fragments of genomic DNA which include Myf5 targeted with an nlacZ reporter. With this approach we have identified different regions, extending to -96 kb upstream of Myf5, which control the spatiotemporal expression of this myogenic determination gene. Several enhancers are involved in its regulation, including one at -6 kb which is essential for early transcription of Myf5 in the epaxial dermomyotome of somites, before skeletal muscle begins to form. Another enhancer at -58/-48 kb is composed of several regulatory elements which we have shown target specific sites of Myf5 transcription in the somites, hypoglossal cord and limbs as well as in the nervous system, where the Myf5 protein is not detectable. The deletion of this enhancer in the context of the locus shows that it is essential. The analysis reveals the multiplicity of sequences which act together to orchestrate muscle formation. In the somite, for example, at least six sequences target distinct populations of cells which contribute to different phases of myogenesis. In this context, we are particularly interested in cells which participate in the formation of the intercalated region which lies at the border between the epaxial and hypaxial somite and which is characterized by the expression of En1. Another approach to understanding the regulation of Myf5, by an enhancer trap in cultured muscle cells, led to the isolation of an enhancer at -17 kb from Myf5, which has interesting properties. Just 5' to Myf5 there is a second gene encoding another myogenic factor, Mrf4, which has a different expression pattern. The sequence at -17 kb behaves differently with the two promoters. We have targeted Mrf4 with the alkaline phosphatase reporter which allows us to study the relation between the promoter of Mrf4 compared to that of Myf5 (targeted with nlacZ) and the other regulatory sequences of the locus. Deletion of the sequence at -17 kb suggests that it plays a key role in the organisation of the locus, favouring, for example, a configuration which permits the enhancer at -58/-48 kb to interact with the Myf5 promoter.

The characterisation of elements which target particular sites of myogenesis makes it possible to work backwards to the factors and signalling systems responsible for their activation and also to employ them to manipulate in vivo the network of regulatory molecules which specifies muscle identity in a cell population.

The targeting of Myf5 with an nlacZ reporter, by homologous recombination, provided important information about the essential role of this myogenic determination factor in the embryo. The Myf5-nlacZ allele is also expressed in satellite cells, required for the regeneration of adult muscle. Myf5 and MyoD are implicated in this process, but the Pax genes, and particularly Pax7, the orthologue of Pax3, are critical and cannot be complemented by Myf5. Targetting the Pax3 gene with an nlacZ reporter permitted us to show that Pax3 is also expressed in the satellite cellls of certain muscles. In the Pax7 -/- mutant there is a low level of regeneration and this is due to Pax3, expressed in the remaining satellite cells. We are examining the role of Pax3 in the proliferation and differentiation of these cells by manipulating Pax3, Pax7 and dominant negative or constitutively active forms, in adult muscle cultures. We are also interested in the existence of adult stem cells, and are looking at the myogenic/haematopoietic potential of bone marrow, as well as muscle, and at the possible role of Pax3 in directing the myogenic potential of mesangioblasts, present in the walls of blood vessels.

In the embryo, Pax3 plays a major role compared to Pax7, in skeletal muscle formation . By introducing the coding sequence of Pax7 into an allele of Pax3, also marked with the nlacZ reporter, we have examined the behaviour of cells which express Pax7 instead of Pax3. We find that Pax7 can only partially fulfil the functions of Pax3 The results are particularly interesting in the limbs, and point to the differences between fore- and hindlimb and between the formation of proximal and distal muscle masses.

Pax3 itself has little activity as a transcription factor and it is not clear whether it acts as a repressor or an activator in the embryo. A human chromosomal translocation leads to a fusion protein PAX3-FKHR which gives rise to a class of rhabdomyosarcomas. This protein, which keeps the DNA binding domain of PAX3, with the transactivation domain of FKHR, is a powerful transcriptional activator. We have targeted one allele of Pax3 with a PAX3-FKHR-IRESnlacZ sequence, and analysis of the resultant mouse shows that the fusion protein functions like Pax3 and can save the Pax3-/- mutant phenotype. Pax3 acts therefore as a transcriptional activator in the embryo, and we have isolated several candidate co-activators in this context. The protein PAX3-FKHR over-activates Pax3 targets such as c-met and the analysis of the behaviour of the cells which express this allele provides new insights into the function of Pax3 during myoenesis.

Not many targets of Pax3 are known and we are interested in Pax3-Six1/4-MyoD as a potential myogenic regulatory cascade. This is being examined by introducing a dominant negative form of Six into an allele of Pax3.

CardiogenesisRobert Kelly, Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Stéphane Zaffran — collaborations with the laboratories of N. Brown et J.-F. Nicolas]

The regionalized expression of certain transgenes which are expressed in cardiac muscle, provided us with an interesting tool with which to follow different subdomains of the myocardium, both in vivo during the development of the heart, and in vitro. Thus in explants of the early cardiac tube, we are able to identify a time frame when left/right atrial identity is still flexible whereas that of the ventricule is already acquired. We have constructed adenovirus vectors expressing different signalling molecules and factors which enable us to manipulate this acquisition of identity on the left/right and, potentially also, on the anterior/posterior axis.

One transgenic line, in particular, has revealed the unexpected contribution of anterior mesodermal cells to the myocardium of the arterial pole of the heart. This phenomenon is confirmed by DiI labelling experiments in cultured embryos. The origin of this part of the heart had remained obscure. It is now clear from our observations with mouse embryos, and from recent work from other laboratories on the chick, that there is a second source of cardiac precursor cells, initially situated medially to the cardiac crescent where the first cardiomyocytes differentiate, and then, following the movement of cell masses which accompany the development of this region, lying anteriorly to the cardiac tube which forms by fusion of the crescent and which grows by the addition of cells caudally. The cells coming from the anterior heart field, that we have identified, contribute to the anterior part of the cardiac tube to form the outflow tract and the right ventricle. Explant experiments both with the line where expression of the transgene marks the progenitor cells of this region and with transgenic lines where other regions of the myocardium are marked, confirm that the primitive ventricle has a mainly "left" indentity.

Expression of the transgene in the anterior heart field is due to the integration site. It probably results from an "enhancer trap" type effect with the Fgf10 gene which lies in the same genomic region and which has a similar pattern of transcription in the anterior heart field. We are currently trying to identify the regulatory elements in question, which will then be used to manipulate the expression of Fgf10 and other molecules of interest in the anterior heart field. The role of Fgf10 in this context is studied by analysing Fgf10 -/- embryos and by explant expriments.

The question of the origin of the cell populations which colonise different parts of the developing heart is also being addressed by a retrospective clonal analysis . We have targetted the cardiac actin gene with an nlaacZ reporter sequence in which a rare combination event will lead to a functional nlacZ and consequent labelling with b-galactosidase of a cell expressing the cardiac actin allele. The analysis of clones, visualised as b-galactosidase positive, provides information about the growth and behaviour of cells which form the myocardium. We distinguish a phase of dispersive growth, followed by a coherent phase, where clones are characterized by the particular orientation of cells to each other. In general cells within the same clone are distributed along the anterior/posterior axis of the heart. The distribution of labelled cells between different regions of the myocardium gives new insight into cardiac morphogenesis. In the context of the anterior heart field, for example, we observe a clonal separation between the right and left ventricle which is consistent with the different cellular origin proposed for these two regions of the heart.

Photo 1: The gene Pax3 targeted with an nlacZ reporter reveals defects in myogenesis and in the nervous system in mutant embryos A. An 11.5 day heterozygote embryo . B. An 11.5 day homozygote embryo. Red arrows show dorsal neural tube defects; green arrows show peripheral nervous system defects; black arrows show loss of migratory muscle precursors; white arrows show somitic defects.

Photo 2 :Cell lineage studies in the myocardium The labelling of cells derived from the same precursor (in blue) shown here for an embryonic mouse heart (OD: right atrium; OG: left atrium; VD: right ventricle; VG: left ventricle) gives new insight into the cellular mechanisms which underlie cardiac morphogenesis.

Keywords: Myogenesis, Cardiogenesis



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  TAISNE Myriam (Institut Pasteur) - mtaisn@pasteur.fr Philippe DAUBAS (CNRS) - pdaubas@pasteur.fr

Robert KELLY (INSERM) - rkelly@pasteur.fr

Frédéric RELAIX (INSERM) - frelaix@pasteur.fr

Stéphane ZAFFRAN (CNRS) - zaffrans@pasteur.fr

Didier MONTARRAS (Institut Pasteur) - dmontarr@pasteur.fr

Ted CHANG - chang@pasteur.fr

Lola BAJARD - lbajard@pasteur.fr

Ralf SPOERLE - spoerle@pasteur.fr

Sigolène MEILHAC - meilhac@pasteur.fr

Catherine BODIN (Institut Pasteur) - cbodin@pasteur.fr

Dominique MICHEL - dmichel@pasteur.fr

Emmanuel PECNARD (CNRS) - pecnard@pasteur.fr

Jacqueline PERREAU (CNRS) - jperreau@pasteur.fr

Didier ROCANCOURT (Institut Pasteur) - drocanco@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Génétique Moléculaire du Développement - URA CNRS 1947


  Responsable : Margaret BUCKINGHAM (margab@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos recherches sont centrées sur l'étude de la myogenèse dans le but de comprendre comment les cellule progénitrices sont spécifiées chez l'embryon pour permettre la mise en place de différentes masses musculaires du squelette et du cœur pendant le développement. Nous sommes également intéressés par les cellules progénitrices du muscle chez l'adulte et la contribution de cellules souches à la régénération. Le modèle expérimental est la souris, avec manipulation de gènes de régulation myogénique.



  rapport

cale

La formation du muscle de squelette [Lola Bajard, Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Didier Montarras, Frédéric Relaix, Didier Rocancourt, Ralf Spörle,— collaborations avec les laboratoires de G. Cossu, A. Cumano, P. Maire, T. Partridge, M. Polimeni, C. Ponzetto, P. Rigby, B. Schäfer]

En 1997 nous avions démontré que Myf5 et Pax3 se situent en amont de MyoD dans la hiérarchie génétique qui régule la myogenèse. Actuellement nos recherches se focalisent sur la régulation, et la fonction de ces deux gènes.

La régulation du gène Myf5 a été abordée par une approche de transgenèse chez la souris, en utilisant des YACs portant de grands fragments d'ADN autour de Myf5, ciblé avec le gène rapporteur nlacZ. Ainsi, nous avons mis en évidence, différentes régions, allant jusqu'à -96 kb en amont de Myf5, qui contrôlent l'expression spatiotemporelle de ce gène de détermination myogénique. Plusieurs enhanceurs sont impliqués dans cette régulation, dont un à -6 kb qui est essentiel pour la transcription la plus précoce de Myf5 dans la partie épaxiale des somites, avant la formation du muscle. Un autre enhanceur, que nous avons identifié à -58/-48 kb est composé de plusieurs éléments qui ciblent spécifiquement les sites de transcription de Myf5 dans les somites, la corde hypoglosse et les membres, ainsi que dans le système nerveux où la protéine Myf5 n'est pas détectée. La délétion de cet enhanceur, dans le contexte du locus, montre son rôle essentiel. Cette analyse révèle la multiplicité de séquences qui se complémentent pour orchestrer la formation du muscle. Dans le somite, par exemple, au moins six séquences ciblent les populations de cellules distinctes qui contribuent aux différentes phases de la myogenèse. Parmi ces cellules, nous portons un intérêt particulier à celles qui participent à la formation de la région intercalée, située à la frontière entre la partie épaxiale et hypaxiale du somite, qui est caractérisé par l'expression de En1. Une autre approche à la régulation de Myf5, par un "piège à enhanceur", dans les cellules myogéniques en culture, nous a permis d'isoler une séquence activatrice, à -17 kb, avec des propriétés intéressantes. Le gène de Myf5 se trouve en aval d'un gène qui code un autre facteur myogénique, Mrf4, avec un profil d'expression différent. La séquence à -17 kb de Myf5 se comporte différemment avec les deux promoteurs. Nous avons ciblé le gène Mrf4 avec un deuxième gène rapporteur (le phosphatase alkaline), qui nous a permis d'étudier le rapport de force entre les deux promoteurs, Myf5 ou Mrf4, par rapport aux autres séquences régulatrices du locus. La délétion de la séquence à -17 kb suggère qu'il joue un rôle clé dans l'organisation du locus, favorisant, par exemple, une configuration qui permet à l'enhanceur à -58/-48 kb d'interagir avec le promoteur de Myf5.

La caractérisation d'éléments qui ciblent les sites particuliers de myogenèse nous permet maintenant de remonter la filière vers les facteurs et voies de signalisation impliqués dans leur activation et aussi de les utiliser pour manipuler in vivo le réseau de régulation moléculaire qui spécifie l'identité musculaire d"une population de cellules.

Le ciblage du gène endogène, Myf5, avec le gène rapporteur nlacZ, par recombinaison homologue, nous avait permis d'étudier le rôle essentiel de ce facteur de détermination myogénique chez l'embryon. L'allèle Myf5-nlacZ est également exprimé dans les cellules satellites qui sont requises pour la régénération du muscle adulte. Myf5 et MyoD interviennent dans ce processus, mais le rôle des gènes Pax et particulièrement Pax7, l'orthologue de Pax3, est critique et ne peut pas être complémenté par Myf5. Le ciblage du gène Pax3 avec le gène rapporteur nlacZ nous a permis de voir que Pax3 est également exprimé dans les cellules satellites de certains muscles. Dans le mutant Pax7 -/-, il y a un bas niveau de régénération et la différenciation des cellules satellites restantes dépend de Pax3. Par manipulation de Pax3, Pax7 et les formes dominant négatives ou constitutivement actives de Pax3, dans les cultures du muscle adulte, nous examinons le rôle de Pax3 dans la prolifération et différenciation de ces cellules.

Nous nous intéressons aussi à la problématique des cellules souches chez l'adulte, au potentiel myogénique/haematopoiétique des cellules de la moelle osseuse aussi bien que celles du muscle, et à l'éventuel rôle de Pax3 dans la réalisation du potentiel myogénique des mésangioblastes, présents dans les parois des vaisseaux sanguins.

Chez l'embryon, Pax3 joue un rôle dominant, par rapport à Pax7, dans la formation du muscle de squelette . Par l'introduction de la séquence codante de Pax7 dans une allèle de Pax3, également marqué avec le gène rapporteur nlacZ, nous avons pu étudier le comportement de cellules qui expriment Pax7 à la place de Pax3. Nous constatons que Pax7 ne peut que partiellement remplir les fonctions de Pax3. Les résultats sont particulièrement intéressants au niveau des membres, mettant en évidence les différences entre membre antérieur et postérieur et entre la formation de masses musculaires proximales et distales.

Pax3, lui-même, est peu actif comme facteur de transcription et la question de son rôle comme activateur ou répresseur chez l'embryon se pose. Chez l'homme, une translocation chromosomale crée une protéine de fusion PAX3-FKHR qui est à l'origine d'une classe de rhabdomyosarcomes. Cette protéine, qui garde le domaine de fixation à l'ADN de PAX3, avec le domaine de transactivation de FKHR, est un puissant activateur de transcription. Nous avons ciblé un allèle de Pax3 avec une séquence PAX3-FKHR-IRESnlacZ qui nous a permis de démontrer que la protéine PAX3-FKHR fonctionne comme Pax3, et peut sauver le phénotype du mutant Pax3 -/-. Pax3 est donc un activateur de la transcription chez l'embryon et nous avons isolé plusieurs candidats co-activateurs, dans ce contexte. La protéine PAX3-FKHR suractive les cibles de Pax3 telle que c-met et le suivi des cellules qui expriment cet allèle donne des aperçus nouveaux sur la fonction de Pax3 pendant la myogenèse.

Les cibles de Pax3 sont relativement mal connues et nous nous intéressons à l'éventuelle cascade de régulation myogénique - Pax3-Six1/4-MyoD -, étudiée par l'introduction d'une séquence encodant une forme dominant négative de l'homéoprotéine Six dans un allèle de Pax3.

Cardiogenèse[Robert Kelly, Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Emmanuel Pecnard, Stéphane Zaffran – collaborations avec les laboratoires de N. Brown et J.-F. Nicolas]

L'expression régionalisée de certains transgènes, exprimés dans le muscle cardiaque, nous a fourni un outil intéressant pour suivre différents sous-domaines du myocarde, aussi bien in vivo, pendant le développement du coeur normal, que in vitro. Ainsi avec les explants du tube cardiaque précoce nous avons pu définir une fenêtre de temps pendant laquelle l'identité des oreillettes gauche/droite reste flexible, tandis que le ventricule l'a déjà acquise. Le développement des vecteurs adénoviraux qui expriment différentes molécules de signalisation et de facteurs de régulation, nous permet de manipuler l'acquisition de cette identité sur l'axe gauche/droite, ainsi éventuellement que celle du ventricule sur l'axe antérieur/postérieur.

Une lignée transgénique particulière a été très informative sur la contribution inattendue de cellules, provenant du mésoderme antérieur, au myocarde du pôle artériel du coeur. Ce phénomène est confirmé par le suivi de ces cellules, marquées par injection de DiI, dans les embryons en culture. L'origine de cette partie du coeur est restée longtemps obscure. Il est clair maintenant, à la suite de nos observations chez l'embryon de la souris et des travaux récents d'autres laboratoires chez le poulet, qu'il existe une deuxième source de cellules précurseurs du coeur. Les cellules sont situées d'abord médiales au croissant cardiaque où se trouvent les premiers cardiomyocytes puis, suivant les mouvements des masses cellulaires qui accompagnent le développement de cette région, antérieures au tube cardiaque qui s'est formé par fusion du croissant et qui s'accroît par l'addition de cellules postérieurement. Les cellules provenant du champ cardiaque antérieur, que nous avons mises en évidence, s'ajoutent à la partie antérieure du tube cardiaque pour former la voie efférente du coeur et également une partie importante du ventricule droit. Les expériences avec d'une part les explants provenant de la lignée dont l'expression du transgène marque cette région, et d'autre part les explants d'autres lignées transgéniques qui marquent différentes régions du myocarde, confirment que le ventricule primitif a essentiellement une identité "gauche".

L'expression du transgène dans le champ cardiaque antérieur est probablement due au site d'intégration, s'agissant d'un effet de ''piège'' d'élément de régulation du gène Fgf10, qui se trouve à proximité du transgène, et dont le patron de transcription est très semblable. Nous recherchons actuellement cet élément qui nous permettra de manipuler l'expression de Fgf10 et d'autres molécules dans le champs artérieur cardiaque. L'étude du rôle de Fgf10 dans ce contexte se poursuit avec l'analyse des mutants Fgf10-/- et les expériences d'explants.

La question de l'origine des populations de cellules qui colonisent les différentes parties du cœur peut également être abordée par analyse clonale rétrospective . Dans ce but, nous avons ciblé le gène de l'actine cardiaque avec un gène rapporteur nlaacZ. Un événement de recombinaison rare rend le gène fonctionnel, (nlacZ), avec marquage par la b -galactosidase des cellules qui expriment l'actine cardiaque. L'analyse des clones ainsi visualisée chez l'embryon nous permet d'étudier le comportement et la croissance de cellules qui forment le myocarde. Nous distinguons une phase de croissance dispersive, suivie d'une phase cohérente caractérisée par les orientations particulières des cellules. En général les cellules d'un même clone se distribuent le long de l'axe antérieur/postérieur du coeur. L'analyse de la distribution de cellules marquées dans les différentes régions cardiaques donne des aperçus nouveaux sur la morphogenèse du coeur. Dans le contexte du champs antérieur cardiaque, par exemple, nous constatons une régionalisation clonale entre ventricule droit et gauche consistante avec une origine différente des cellules de ces deux compartiments.

Photo 1: Le gène, Pax3, ciblé par un rapporteur, nlacZ, révèle les défauts de myogenèse et du système nerveux chez les embryons mutants A. Un embryon hétérozygote âgé de 11.5 jours B. Un embryon homozygote âgé de 11.5 jours .Les flèches rouges montrent les défauts du tube neural dorsal; les flèches vertes montrent les défauts du système nerveux périphérique ; les flèches noires montrent le manque de précurseurs musculaires migratoires; les flèches blanches montrent les défauts dans les somites.

Photo 2: Lignage de cellules du myocarde Le marquage de cellules dérivant d'un même précurseur (en bleu), vu ici dans un cœur embryonnaire de souris (OD : oreillette droite ; OG : oreillette gauche ; VD : ventricule droit ; VG : ventricule gauche), permet de mettre en évidence les mécanismes cellulaires de la morphogenèse du cœur.

Mots-clés: Myogenèse, Cardiogenèse



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  TAISNE Myriam (Institut Pasteur) - mtaisn@pasteur.fr Philippe DAUBAS (CR1, CNRS) - pdaubas@pasteur.fr

Robert KELLY (CR1, INSERM) - rkelly@pasteur.fr

Frédéric RELAIX (CR2, INSERM) - frelaix@pasteur.fr

Stéphane ZAFFRAN (CR1, CNRS) - zaffrans@pasteur.fr

Didier MONTARRAS (chef de labo, IP) - dmontarr@pasteur.fr

Ted CHANG (postdoc) - chang@pasteur.fr

Lola BAJARD (étudiante en thèse) - lbajard@pasteur.fr

Ralf SPOERLE (postdoc) - spoerle@pasteur.fr

Sigolène MEILHAC (étudiante en thèse) - meilhac@pasteur.fr

Catherine BODIN (technicienne, IP) - cbodin@pasteur.fr

Dominique MICHEL (agent de laboratoire, IP) - dmichel@pasteur.fr

Emmanuel PECNARD (technicien, CNRS) - pecnard@pasteur.fr

Jacqueline PERREAU (Ingénieur, CNRS) - jperreau@pasteur.fr

Didier ROCANCOURT (technicien, IP) - drocanco@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr