Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Molecular Genetics of Bunyaviridae


  Director : Michèle BOULOY (mbouloy@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The projects of the Unit deal with Rift Valley fever virus, which represents a model to study an hemorrhagic fever. The aim is to identify determinants of virulence, to decipher their mode of action and to produce an attenuated virus which could be utilized as a vaccin candidate.



  report

cale

Role of Interferon and NSs in pathogenesis

Rift Valley fever virus is an arbovirus of the Bunyaviridae family (Phlebovirus genus) transmitted by mosquitoes. It is endemic in sub-saharian Africa where it provokes many epizootics /epidemics. Recently it spread to Middle East. Ruminants are severely affected with a high mortality rate, abortions and teratogenesis. In humans, infection can lead to a fatal hemorrhagic fever with an acute hepatitis. The role of the non structural protein NSs has been determined only very recently. Studies on this phosphoprotein which forms filamentous structures in the nucleus whereas every step of the viral cycle occurs in the cytoplasm, represent our main axis of research. Genetic analysis of Clone 13, a naturally avirulent mutant, which possesses a large internal deletion in the NSs gene helped to show that NSs plays a major role in virulence and to demonstrate that NSs prevents the host antiviral response by blocking type I interferon production. Analysis of infected cells indicated that NSs prevents activation of transcription of Interferon beta mRNA. Attempts are being made to determine the mechanism utilized by NSs to act as antagonist of interferon production.

Studies on transcription and replication with minigenomes.

To develop a system for reverse genetics, we established a basic transcription system in which viral proteins and RNAs were expressed from cDNA sequences cloned in plasmids. In a first step, the system was tested with a minigenome consisting in a viral like-RNA carrying the non coding sequences of the L, M or S genomic segments and the Chloramphenicol acetyl transferase gene in the antisense orientation. These RNA molecules were synthesized from plasmids under the control of the cellular Pol I promoter. Plasmids carrying the S-CAT, M-CAT and L-CAT sequences were constructed and these genome-like RNAs were efficiently recognized and transcribed by the viral complex composed of the L polymerase and the N nucleoprotein.

Keywords: Bunyaviridae, arbovirus, reverse genetics, haemorrhagic fever, innate immunity



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  MILLIOT Brigitte – Secretary –bmilliot@pasteur.fr BILLECOCQ Agnès, Researcher –abilleco@pasteur.fr GARCIA Stéphan, PhD student –garcia@pasteur.fr

GAULIARD Nicolas, DEA student –ngauliar@pasteur.fr

LEMAY Nicolas, PhD student –nlemay@pasteur.fr

BUCHT Göran, visiting scientist, Umea, Suède

COUDRIER Daniel, Technician IP –coudrier@pasteur.fr

VIALAT Pierre, Technician IP –pvialat@pasteur.fr

TAMIETTI Carole, Aide de laboratoire IP


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Génétique moléculaire des Bunyaviridés


  Responsable : Michèle BOULOY (mbouloy@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'activité de l'Unité est orientée sur l'étude du virus de la fièvre de la vallée du Rift qui représente un modèle de fièvre hémorragique virale. Nos objectifs sont d'identifier les facteurs de virulence, de comprendre leur mécanisme d'action et de produire un virus atténué utilisable comme vaccin.



  rapport

cale

Le rôle de l'interféron et de la protéine NSs dans la pathogenèse

Le virus de la fièvre de la vallée du Rift (VFVR) est un arbovirus de la famille des Bunyaviridae (genre Phlebovirus) transmis par les moustiques. Il est endémique en Afrique sub-tropicale où il provoque de nombreuses épizooties et épidémies. Récemment il s'est propagé au Moyen-Orient. Les ruminants sont sévèrement affectés avec une forte mortalité, des avortements ou des mal-formations fœtales. Chez l'homme, l'infection peut conduire à une forme hémorragique mortelle avec hépatite aiguë. La fonction de la protéine non structurale NSs est restée longtemps ignorée. L'étude de cette protéine phosphorylée qui forme des filaments nucléaires alors que tout le cycle viral se déroule dans le cytoplasme, constitue l'axe principal de nos recherches. L'analyse génétique du mutant avirulent Clone 13 dont la protéine NSs est délétée de 70%, a permis de mettre en évidence le rôle majeur de NSs dans la virulence et de montrer que NSs bloque la réponse antivirale de l'hôte en empêchant la production d'interféron de type I. L'analyse de cellules infectées par les souches virulentes montre que NSs bloque l'activation de la transcription de l'ARNm de l'interféron béta. Nous recherchons le mécanisme utilisé par NSs pour assurer cette fonction antagoniste de la production d'interféron.

L'étude de la transcription et réplication à l'aide de minigénomes

Afin de développer un système de génétique inverse, nous avons établi un système de transcription où les protéines et les ARN viraux sont exprimés à partir de plasmides. Dans un premier temps, le système a été testé à l'aide d'un mini-génome ou ARN pseudo-viral, porteur des séquences non codantes de l'un des trois segments génomiques L, M et S et du gène rapporteur de la chloramphénicol acétyle transférase en orientation antisens. Ces mini-génomes sont synthétisés à partir de plasmides sous le contrôle du promoteur de l'ARN polymérase I cellulaire. Nous avons construit les plasmides permettant la synthèse des mini-génomes L-CAT, M-CAT et S-CAT et avons montré que ces derniers sont effectivement transcrits par le complexe viral formé de la polymérase L et de la nucléocapside N.

Mots-clés: Bunyaviridae, arbovirus, génétique inverse, fièvre hémorragique, immunité innée



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  MILLIOT Brigitte Secrétaire de Direction IP à temps partiel (0,2) –bmilliot@pasteur.fr BILLECOCQ Agnès, Chargée de recherche –abilleco@pasteur.fr GARCIA Stéphan, stagiaire-doctorant en 1ère année, co-dirigé par D. Garin au CRSSA à Grenoble, boursier DGA –garcia@pasteur.fr

GAULIARD Nicolas, DEA Génomes et Protéines 2001-2 . Contrat DGA –ngauliar@pasteur.fr

LEMAY Nicolas, Doctorant en 1ère année, allocataire MRES –nlemay@pasteur.fr

BUCHT Göran, visiting scientist, Umea, Suède

COUDRIER Daniel, Technicien supérieur IP –coudrier@pasteur.fr

VIALAT Pierre, Technicien supérieur IP –pvialat@pasteur.fr

TAMIETTI Carole, Aide de laboratoire IP


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr