Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Mycobacterial Genetics


  Director : GICQUEL Brigitte (bgicquel@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Tuberculosis, which is caused by mycobacteria from the Tuberculosis complex, is still a major public health problem: it is responsible for about three million deaths each year. BCG, the only currently available vaccine, is relatively efficient. The use of antibiotics may be compromised by the emergence of multiresistant strains of bacteria. Our unit is involved in the characterisation of M. tuberculosis virulence factors and the host immune responses induced by this bacterium and BCG. This work could lead to the identification of targets for new drugs against tuberculosis, the identification of bacterial components that could be included in a new vaccine or even to the isolation of a new attenuated strain that is more efficient than BCG. Our Unit is also studying the possibility of using recombinant strains of BCG to protect against other diseases, such as AIDS. We are identifying genetic markers that are specific to epidemic strains, in particular strains responsible for multidrug resistant outbreaks.



  report

cale

Genetic study of virulence determinants (M. Jackson, O. Neyrolles, B. Gicquel)

We used the temperature-sensitive vector derived from the pAL5000 plasmid of Mycobacterium fortuitum and containing the counterselective marker sacB (Ts/sacB vector) to construct allelic exchange and transposon mutants in mycobacterial species from the M. tuberculosis complex. An M. tuberculosis transposition mutant library containing 7000 mutants was created and screened for mutants carrying insertions in defined genes. This approach led to the isolation of mutants carrying transposon insertions in three different phospholipase C genes (plcA, plcB and plcC). A mutant deficient in a fourth phospholipase C gene (plcD), a triple mutant (plcABC) and a quadruple mutant (plcABCD) were also generated by allelic replacement. The four Plc enzymes were found to be active in M. tuberculosis and to catalyse the hydrolysis of phosphatidylcholine. The analysis of the residual virulence of the plc mutants in the mouse model of infection revealed that phospholipases C are important for the persistence of the tubercle bacillus in vivo.

A second transposon mutant library containing 4000 mutants was constructed by signature-tagged transposon mutagenesis (STM) and directly screened for mutants exhibiting attenuated virulence in mice. About 2000 mutants were screened for their ability to multiply in the lungs of mice during the acute phase of infection. Sixteen mutants were selected and the corresponding mutations characterised. Four mutations were identified in a 50 kb region of the genome containing 13 genes dedicated to the synthesis and transport of phthiocerol dimycocerosates. The role of these complex lipids in pathogenesis is currently being studied in the laboratory.

The protective efficiency of the M. tuberculosis attenuated strains isolated in the laboratory is being studied as part of the EEC "TB vaccine cluster" coordinated by Prof. Brigitte Gicquel ( http://www.pasteur.fr/EC_TBvaccine/ ).

Interactions between M. tuberculosis and phagocytes (O. Neyrolles, M. Jackson, B. Gicquel)

To further our understanding of the mechanisms of macrophage parasitism by M. tuberculosis, we are developing new approaches combining cell biology and functional genomics. We are studying early interactions between mycobacteria and human phagocytes. We have shown that the lectin DC-SIGN is the major M. tuberculosis receptor on human dendritic cells and that mycobacterial lipoarabinomannan (LAM) is a key DC-SIGN ligand. We have also detected Dc-SIGN on human lung dendritic cells and mycobacteria in DC-SIGN-positive dendritic cells in lymph node biopsies from patients with tuberculosis. This suggests that DC-SIGN-mediated interactions between M. tuberculosis and dendritic cells occur in vivo. We have also identified the molecular determinants of the LAM-DC-SIGN ligation, explaining why DC-SIGN specifically recognises pathogenic mycobacteria from the "tuberculosis" complex. Taken together, our results suggest that pathogenic mycobacteria evolved surface motifs to allow them to interact with lectins, such as DC-SIGN, on the surface of phagocytes. (Tailleux et al. (2003)J. Exp. Med. 197, 121-127; Maeda et al. J. Biol. Chem. in press).

Identification of new anti-TB drug targets (M. Jackson, B. Gicquel)

Phosphatidylinositol (PI) and its metabolites, such as the phosphatidylinositol mannosides (PIM), linear and mature branched lipomannans and lipoarabinomannan, are the major phospholipids/lipoglycans of Mycobacterium spp. They are believed to play important roles in the structure and physiology of the bacterium as well as during host infection. The enzymes involved in their biosynthesis may be attractive drug targets for the development of new anti-TB drugs.

We have identified a cluster of five genes potentially involved in the early steps of PIM synthesis. Examination of the function of one of these genes, pimA (Rv2610c), showed that it encodes a mannosyltransferase involved in the synthesis of phosphatidylinositol mono-mannosides. A cell-free assay was developed in which a recombinant PimA enzyme produced in Escherichia coli synthesises phosphatidylinositol mono-mannosides from mannose and phosphatidylinositol. To determine whether PimA is an essential enzyme in mycobacteria, we also constructed a pimA conditional mutant of Mycobacterium smegmatis and found that the expression of pimA is essential for growth. Therefore, the synthesis of phosphatidylinositol mono-mannosides and its derivatives in mycobacteria appears to be dependent on PimA and essential for growth.

PimA is therefore an attractive drug target for the development of new anti-TB drugs. Moreover, the cell-free assay that we developed could be used for the high-throughput screening of PimA inhibitors.

Functional analysis of virulence factors (Jean-Marc Reyrat, Brigitte Gicquel)

Reporter genes (alkaline phosphatase), tagged insertional mutagenesis and computer tools have been used to identify a number of virulence genes.

Erp, which is secreted by members of the tuberculosis complex, was identified by a method in which alkaline phosphatase was used as a reporter. In M. tuberculosis, inactivation of the erp gene by allelic exchange greatly attenuated virulence in vitro, in cultured macrophages and in vivo, in the mouse model of tuberculosis. We recently showed that Erp is ubiquitous in mycobacteria. This secreted protein is composed of three domains. The central domain consists of a tandem repeat of the PGLTS domain. This central domain is the most variable between species: it contains four repeats in M. leprae and 24 repeats in M. xenopi. Analysis of the genomic region surrounding the erp gene showed that most of the genes in this region are cell wall biosynthesis genes. Using gene fusion, we showed that the allelic form of the erp gene influences the colonisation of the lungs but not the spleen of infected mice. Moreover, quantitative histological analysis of the lungs of infected animals showed that the nature of the erp allele strongly affected the number and the size of lung lesions (de Mendonça-Lima et al., Cell. Microbiol., in press).

Another aspect of the project concerns the molecules secreted by mycobacteria. A certain number of virulence factors and antigens are present on the surface of the bacillus or in the extracellular environment. We used the Staphylococcus aureus nuclease gene as a reporter gene to show that his nuclease is secreted into the extracellular environment independently of any potential signal sequence. Cytoplasmic markers showed that this phenomenon is independent of bacterial autolysis. These results suggest the existence of an unidentified secretion pathway that is independent of the general pathway.

Another potential virulence factor, Mramp is being studied in collaboration with A. Hance (Inserm U552, Hopital Bichat). Mramp is an orthologue of the mammalian Nramp gene and is involved in the transport of divalent ions across the bacterial cytoplasmic membrane. We have constructed a knock-out mutant of Mramp in M. tuberculosis and shown that this mutation impairs growth when iron is limited. The growth and survival of the Mramp mutant are not impaired in murine macrophages (derived from bone marrow or a cell line) or in vivo in the mouse model. Furthermore, we have shown that the Mramp phenotype is not affected by the genetic background of the host at the Nramp locus.

BCG and derived vaccines (Nathalie Winter)

Mycobacterium bovis BCG, a live attenuated bacterium, is an attractive vector for the development of recombinant vaccines. To propose candidate vaccines against AIDS, we have obtained several recombinant BCG (rBCG) strains expressing antigens from the Simian Immunodeficiency Virus SIVmac251. We have studied the immune responses induced by these strains in cynomolgus macaques, a relevant animal model for human AIDS. A mixture of three strains —rBCG-SIV3- expressing the nef, gag(p26) and env genes from SIVmac251 has been administered intradermally to macaques. An oral or rectal booster dose was then administered. The rBCG-SIV3 vaccine induced MHCI restricted CD8+ cytotoxic T cell responses against the SIV antigens but undetectable CD4+ lymphoproliferation. After rectal challenge with fully pathogenic SIVmac251, all animals were infected. We observed that the rBCG-SIV3 vaccine induced memory responses against the SIV antigens. Several approaches have been undertaken to improve the immune response to the heterologous antigens carried by rBCG strains. Vectors that are genetically stable in vivo (Méderlé et al., 2002) have been constructed. rBCG strains secreting SIV antigens and new promoters induced in professional antigen presenting cells are currently being studied.

Our laboratory is also interested in determining the role of dendritic cells in the anti-mycobacterial immune response. Dermal dendritic cells and epidermal Langerhans cells are ideally located to initiate the anti-tuberculous immune response after BCG vaccination, which is typically administered in the dermis. In collaboration with several partners (both on and off the Campus), we are studying the behaviour of skin dendritic cells after BCG intradermal immunisation in the mouse ear. Migration to the draining lymph node, antigen presentation capacity and the potential role of lectinic surface receptors in these mechanisms are currently being studied.

Molecular Epidemiology of Tuberculosis (Brigitte Gicquel)

We sought genetic markers specific for highly transmissible M. tuberculosis strains that are responsible for outbreaks, in particular MDR outbreaks. This study was carried out in collaboration with the European Network of Molecular Epidemiology, the Public Health Research Institute and the network of Pasteur Institutes and associated Institutes. Mut T- and ogt-specific alleles were found in M. tuberculosis strains of the Beijing genotype. These results suggest that these strains, which are well adapted to the host, evolved thanks to the acquisition of mutations in DNA repair enzymes, thus resulting in transient mutator phenotypes (Rad et al., Molecular Pathogenicity of Tuberculosis, Stockholm June 2002). These mutations, which are specific to M. tuberculosis genotypes, might be useful for molecular diagnostic. In addition, molecular methods are being used to type M. tuberculosis strains from different geographical areas. This should allow us to identify the major genotypes and to study their transmission.

Photo: Trafficking of DC-SIGN (red) and Mycobacterium tuberculosis (green)in a human dendritic cell (DC). Cells and bacteria were incubated 4 h at 4°C (left), 15 min at 37°C (middle) and 3 h at 37°C (right). DC-SIGN is engulfed with the bacillus in the nascent vacuole (middle), then recycled back to the plasma membrane (right).

  1. "A cluster for tuberculosis vaccine development" (N° QLK2-CT-1999-01093). http://www.pasteur.fr/EC_TBvaccine/

  2. "Mucosal Immunization — Cluster Project", (N° QLK2-CT-1999-00228).

  3. "New generation genetic markers and techniques for the epidemiology and control of tuberculosis" (N° QLK2-CT-2000-00630).

  4. "New strategies for treatment and prevention of mycobacterial diseases" (N° QLK2-CT-2000-01761).

  5. "Development of recombinant BCG multivaccine and complementary diagnostics for predominant parasitic and epizootic disease of ruminants in Latin America", (N° ICA4-CT-2000-30032 (INCO-DEV).

  6. "Improved diagnosis, drug resistance detection and control of tuberculosis in Latin America".Projet (N°: ICA4-2000-10054).

  7. "Structural and functional genomics of M. tuberculosis", (N° QLRT-2000-02018).

  8. "TBETHICS", (N° QLK2-CT-2002-30592).

Keywords: Mycobacterium, pathogenicity, virulence, tuberculosis, epidemiology



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  SINNO Helena, executive secretary IP,hsinno@pasteur.fr GICQUEL Brigitte, Professor, I.P. ;bgicquel@pasteur.fr

FILLON-JACKSON Mary, CR1 I.P.,mjackson@pasteur.fr

NEYROLLES Olivier, CR CNRS,neyrolle@pasteur.fr

REYRAT Jean-Marc, CR 1, INSERM,jmreyrat@pasteur.fr

WINTER Nathalie, CR 2 IP,nwinter@pasteur.fr

ABADIE Valérie, PhD student,vabadie@pasteur.fr

BLAZQUEZ-GOMEZ Jesus, Postdoc

BOECHAT Néio, M.D., PhD student,boechat@pasteur.fr

GRELLET Sheyla, PhD student

KOCINCOVA Dana, PhD student

MAEDA Norihiro, Postdoc,nmaeda@pasteur.fr

MARTINEZ Valérie, MD, PhD student,vmartinez@pasteur.fr

MAYA MARQUES Catarina, PhD student

MICK Virginie, PhDstudentvmick@pasteur.fr

RECCHI Chiara, PhD student,chiarare@pasteur.fr

ROUSSEAU Cécile, PhD student,rousseau@pasteur.fr

ROSAS MAGALLANES Vania, PhD student,vrosas@pasteur.fr

SONDEN Berit, Postdoc,bsonden@pasteur.fr

AUBERT-PIVERT Elisabeth, engineer I.P,epivert@pasteur.fr

BADELL-OCANDO Edgar, engineer I.P.,ebadell@pasteur.fr

BORDAT Yann, technician I.P.,ybordat@pasteur.fr

CHARLES Patricia, technical agent, I.P.,pcharles@pasteur.fr

ENSERGUEIX Danielle, technician I.P.,densergu@pasteur.fr

GILLARD Marie-Renée, responsible of preparation I.P.

LALLEMAND Catherine, laboratory agent I.P.

RAUZIER Jean, technician I.P.,jrauzier@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Génétique Mycobactérienne


  Responsable : GICQUEL Brigitte (bgicquel@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Causée par les mycobactéries du complexe tuberculosis, la tuberculose continue de poser un problème majeur de santé publique: elle est responsable d'environ trois millions de morts par an. Le BCG, seul vaccin disponible actuellement contre cette maladie, est d'une efficacité relative. Quant à l'utilisation des antibiotiques, elle se heurte à l'apparition de souches résistantes. Dans ce contexte, l'Unité de Génétique Mycobactérienne s'intéresse à la caractérisation des facteurs de virulence de M. tuberculosis et aux réponses immunitaires induites par cette bactérie et le BCG. Ces études pourraient conduire à l'identification de cibles thérapeutiques pour de nouveaux agents antituberculeux, et de composants de la bactérie susceptibles d'entrer dans la composition de nouveaux vaccins, voire d'une souche atténuée plus efficace que le BCG. L'unité étudie également la possibilité d'utiliser des souches de BCG portant des gènes étrangers pour protéger contre d'autres maladies, telles que le SIDA. Enfin l'Unité identifie des marqueurs génétiques spécifiques de souches particulièrement épidémiques, en particulier celles qui sont responsables d'épidémies de tuberculose à bacilles multirésistants.



  rapport

cale

Etude génétique des déterminants de la virulence (M. Jackson, O. Neyrolles, B. Gicquel)

L'utilisation d'un vecteur thermosensible dérivé du plasmide de Mycobacterium fortuitum pAL5000 et contenant le marqueur de contre-sélection sacB (vecteur Ts/sacB) a permis de construire et d'isoler des mutants d'échange allélique et de transposition chez les mycobactéries du complexe de Mycobacterium tuberculosis. Grâce à l'outil Ts/sacB, une banque ordonnée de 7000 mutants de transposition de M. tuberculosis a été construite et utilisée pour rechercher par différentes techniques de criblage des mutants présentant des insertions dans des gènes définis. Des mutants présentant des insertions dans trois des gènes de M. tuberculosis codant des phospholipases C (plcA, plcB, plcC) ont ainsi été isolés. Un mutant déficient dans la synthèse d'une quatrième phospholipase C (plcD), un triple mutant (plcABC) et un quadruple mutant (plcABCD) ont également été construits par échange allélique. Il a été montré que les quatre enzymes sont actives chez M. tuberculosis et qu'elles catalysent l'hydrolyse de la phosphatidylcholine. L'analyse de la virulence résiduelle de ces mutants dans le modèle murin a révélé que les phospholipases C sont importantes pour la persistence du bacille de la tuberculose chez l'animal.

Une seconde banque de 4000 mutants a été obtenue par la technique de mutagénèse par transposition étiquetée ou "STM" ("signature-tagged transposon mutagenesis"), et criblée pour rechercher directement chez la souris des souches atténuées pour la virulence. Environ 2000 souches ont été criblées pour leur capacité à se multiplier dans les poumons de souris durant la phase aigue de l'infection. Seize mutants atténués ont été sélectionnés et les mutations qu'ils portent ont été caractérisées. Quatre des insertions différentes sont localisées dans un groupe de gènes impliqués dans la biosynthèse et le transport d'un lipide complexe de l'enveloppe de M. tuberculosis: le dimycocérosate de phthiocerol. Le rôle de ce lipide dans la pathogénèse est en cours d'étude plus approfondie dans le laboratoire.

L'intérêt vaccinal des souches atténuées de M. tuberculosis est étudié dans la cadre du "TB vaccine cluster" de la commission européenne coordonné par le Prof. Brigitte Gicquel ( http://www.pasteur.fr/EC_TBvaccine/).

Interactions entre M. tuberculosis et les phagocytes (O. Neyrolles, M. Jackson, B. Gicquel)

Afin de mieux comprendre les mécanismes du parasitisme des macrophages par M. tuberculosis, de nouvelles approches combinées de biologie cellulaire et de génomique fonctionnelle sont en cours de développement au laboratoire. Par ailleurs, nous étudions également les intéractions précoces entre les mycobactéries et les phagocytes humains. Nous avons ainsi montré récemment que M. tuberculosis, et d'autres bactéries du complexe "tuberculosis", utilise la lectine DC-SIGN pour entrer dans les cellules dendritiques humaines, et que le lipoarabinomannane (LAM), un lipoglycane abondant de la paroi mycobactérienne, est un ligand de DC-SIGN (Tailleux et al. (2003)J. Exp. Med. 197, 121-127; Maeda et al. J. Biol. Chem. sous presse).Nous avons également montré que DC-SIGN est exprimé sur les cellules dendritiques pulmonaires humaines et nous avons pu détecter des antigènes mycobactériens dans des cellules dendritiques exprimant DC-SIGN dans des ganglions de patients tuberculeux, indiquant que les mycobactéries intéragissent probablement avec la lectine in vivo. Par ailleurs, nous avons caractérisé les déterminants moléculaires de l'intéraction entre M. tuberculosis et DC-SIGN et nous avons pu ainsi expliquer pourquoi DC-SIGN ne reconnaît que les mycobactéries du complexe "tuberculosis". Ce résultat indique que ces pathogènes ont probablement évolué récemment pour utiliser cette lectine.

Recherche de nouvelles cibles pour des médicaments anti-tuberculeux (M. Jackson, B. Gicquel)

Le phosphatidylinositol (PI) et les produits qui en sont métaboliquement dérivés comme les phosphatidylinositol mannosides (PIM), le lipomannane (LM) et le lipoarabinomannane (LAM) sont des phospholipides/ lipoglycanes qui jouent un rôle important, tant dans la physiologie des mycobactéries que dans leurs intéractions avec l'hôte. La caractérisation des enzymes impliquées dans leur biosynthèse pourrait permettre d'identifier des cibles pour le développement de nouveaux médicaments anti-tuberculeux.

Nous avons identifié chez Mycobacterium tuberculosis un groupe de cinq gènes potentiellement impliqués dans les étapes précoces de la synthèse des PIM. Nous avons analysé la fonction de l'un de ces gènes, pimA (Rv2610c), et montré qu'il code une mannosyltransferase catalysant la synthèse des phosphatidylinositol mono-mannosides. Nous avons développé un essai enzymatique in vitro dans lequel une enzyme PimA recombinante produite chez Escherichia coli catalyse la formation de phosphatidylinositol mono-mannosides à partir de mannose et de phosphatidylinositol. De plus, par le biais de la construction d'un mutant conditionnel thermosensible de Mycobacterium smegmatis déficient dans l'expression du gène pimA, nous avons montré que ce gène est essentiel à la survie de cette bactérie. La synthèse des phosphatidylinositol mono-mannosides et des PIM qui en sont dérivés apparait donc être dépendente de PimA et essentielle à la croissance des mycobactéries. PimA est donc une cible enzymatique intéressante pour le développement de nouveaux anti-tuberculeux. De plus, l'essai enzymatique in vitro que nous avons développé pourra servir de base au criblage à haut-débit d'inhibiteurs de cette enzyme.

Caractérisation fonctionnelle de facteurs de virulence (Jean-Marc Reyrat, Brigitte Gicquel)

L'utilisation de la phosphatase alcaline, de méthode génétique telle la mutagénèse insertionnelle étiquetée, ou bien encore de l'outil informatique ont permis d'identifier un certain nombre de gènes de virulence.

Erp est une protéine secrétee par les bactéries du complexe tuberculosis identifiée grâce à la méthodologie de la phosphatase alcaline. Chez M. tuberculosis, l'inactivation du gène erp par échange allélique a conduit à une atténuation majeure de la virulence aussi bien in vitro, en utilisant des cellules macrophagiques en culture, qu'in vivo dans le modèle murin de la tuberculose. Nous avons montré que Erp est une protéine ubiquitaire des mycobactéries. Cette protéine secrétée est constituée de trois domaines. Le domaine central consiste en une répétition en tandem du motif PGLTS. Cette région centrale est le domaine le plus variable entre espèces : de 4 répétitions dans le cas de M. leprae et jusqu'à 24 pour M. xenopi. Une analyse de la région génomique encadrant le gène erp montre que celui-ci se situe dans une région comprenant principalement des gènes de biosynthèse de la paroi. Grâce à la construction de gène erp hybrides composé d'une régions centrale variable, nous avons montré que la nature de l'allèle exprimé influence d'une part le niveau de colonisation du poumon, l'organe cible de la tuberculose, mais pas celui de la rate. La nature de l'allèle exprimé affecte d'autre part le nombre et la taille des lésions pulmonaires induites par ces souches (de Mendonça-Lima et al. Cell. Microbiol., sous presse).

Un autre aspect du projet concerne la sécrétion chez les mycobactéries. En effet, un certain nombre de facteurs de virulence ou d'antigène sont présents à la surface du bacille ou bien dans le milieu extra-cellulaire. En utilisant la nucléase de Staphylococcus aureus en tant que gène rapporteur, nous avons montré que cette protéine est sécrétée dans le milieu extracellulaire indépendamment de la présence d'une signal-séquence. Des marqueurs cytoplasmiques ont montré que ce phénomène était indépendant de l'autolyse bactérienne. Ces résultats suggèrent l'existence d'une voie de secrétion indépéndante de la voie générale qui reste a être caractérisé.

Un autre locus de virulence potentiel, Mramp, a été étudié en collaboration avec A. Hance de l'Unité 552 INSERM, localisée à l'hôpital Bichat. Mramp est l'orthologue du gène Nramp des mammifères, et est vraisemblablement impliqué dans le transport de cations divalents de part et d'autre de la membrane cytoplasmique bactérienne. Le gène Mramp a été inactivé chez M. tuberculosis et nous avons montré que ce gène procurait un avantage sélectif dans des conditions de culture axénique en carence de fer. En revanche, le gène Mramp ne procure aucun avantage sélectif, que cela soit in vitro en utilisant des lignées macrophagiques murines qu'in vivo dans le modèle murin. Nous avons en outre montré que ce phénotype est indépendant du fond génétique de l'hôte au locus Nramp.

BCG et nouveaux vaccins (Nathalie Winter)

Mycobactérium bovis BCG, bacille vivant atténué, est un vecteur attractif pour le développement de vaccins recombinants. Dans le but d'obtenir des candidats vaccins contre le SIDA, nous avons construit plusieurs souches de BCG recombinant (rBCG) exprimant des antigènes du virus de l'immunodéficience simienne VISmac251 et étudié les réponses immunitaires induites chez le macaque cynomolgus. Ce modèle animal est en effet reconnu pour le SIDA humain. Le mélange rBCG-VIS3 de trois souches de rBCG exprimant les gènes nef, gag (p26) et env de VISmac251 a été inoculé à des groupes de macaques cynomolgus par voie intradermique, la voie classique d'administration du BCG chez l'homme. Une dose rappel a été administrée par voie orale ou rectale. Le vaccin rBCG-SIV3 a induit une réponse de type lymphocyte T cytotoxique dirigée contre les antigènes Gag et Env chez la plupart des animaux. Aucune réponse lymphoproliférative contre les antigènes de VIS n'a été observée durant la phase de vaccination. Après épreuve par voie rectale avec le virus VISmac251 , tous les animaux ont été infectés. Nous avons cependant noté que la vaccination rBCG-VIS3 induisait une réponse mémoire contre les antigènes de VIS.

De nouveaux vecteurs d'expression visant à améliorer la stabilité des souches de rBCG ont été développés. L'utilisation de vecteurs intégratifs a permis d'obtenir des souches de rBCG génétiquement parfaitement stables in vivo, dans le modèle murin. (Méderlé, I. et al. 2002). De nouveaux promoteurs induits dans les cellules présentatrices d'antigènes sont utilisés. Des souches de rBCG sécrétant des antigènes de VIS ont également été obtenues récemment. L'immunogénicité de ces souches chez la souris et le macaque est à l'étude.

Le laboratoire s'intéresse également au rôle des cellules dendritiques dans la réponse immunitaire anti-mycobactérienne. Les cellules dendritiques du derme et les cellules de Langerhans de l'épiderme sont idéalement situées pour initier la réponse immunitaire anti-tuberculeuse après la vaccination BCG qui est administrée par voie intradermique. En collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires (IP et extérieurs), nous étudions le devenir de ces cellules, leur migration vers le ganglion satellite, leur capacité à présenter les antigènes dérivés du BCG et l'implication de certains de leurs récepteurs lectiniques de surface dans l'établissement de la réponse immunitaire au BCG chez la souris.

Epidemiologie moléculaire de la tuberculose (Brigitte Gicquel)

Des marqueurs spécifiques de souches de M. tuberculosis d'avantage transmissibles et responsables d'épidémies, en particulier d'épidémies de tuberculose à bacilles multirésistants aux antibiotiques ont été recherchés en collaboration avec les équipes du réseau européen d'épidémiologie moléculaire de la tuberculose le Public Health Research Institute et les Instituts du réseau et Instituts associés. Des allèles particuliers des gènes de la famille mutT et ogt ont été identifiés chez les souches de génotype Beijing. Ces résultats suggèrent que ces souches particulièrement adaptés à l'hôte ont évolués grâce à l'acquisition de mutations dans des gènes de réparation de l'ADN qui ont conduit à des phénotypes mutateurs vraisemblablement transitoires. Ces allèles spécifiques des souches Beijing peuvent être utilisés pour la mise au point de diagnostic moléculaires (Rad et al. 5th International conference on Pathogenesis of Mycobacterial Infections Stockholm June 27-30 2002). D'une façon générale le typage moléculaire des souches du complexe tuberculosis est effectué dans plusieurs régions pour définir les types majeurs et étudier leurs transmission.

ENSEIGNEMENT

L'Unité est un laboratoire d'accueil du "Marie Curie Host Fellowship" de la Commission Européenne. "Unravellling Mycobacterium pathogenicity. MCFH-1999-00615". http://www.cordis.lu/improving/

RÉSEAUX INTERNATIONAUX

L'unité fait partie des réseaux suivants de la commission européenne :

  1. "A cluster for tuberculosis vaccine development" (N° QLK2-CT-1999-01093). http://www.pasteur.fr/EC_TBvaccine/

  2. "Mucosal Immunization — Cluster Project", (N° QLK2-CT-1999-00228).

  3. "New generation genetic markers and techniques for the epidemiology and control of tuberculosis" (N° QLK2-CT-2000-00630).

  4. "New strategies for treatment and prevention of mycobacterial diseases" (N° QLK2-CT-2000-01761).

  5. "Development of recombinant BCG multivaccine and complementary diagnostics for predominant parasitic and epizootic disease of ruminants in Latin America", (N° ICA4-CT-2000-30032 (INCO-DEV).

  6. "Improved diagnosis, drug resistance detection and control of tuberculosis in Latin America".Projet (N°: ICA4-2000-10054).

  7. "Structural and functional genomics of M. tuberculosis", (N° QLRT-2000-02018).

  8. "TBETHICS", (N° QLK2-CT-2002-30592).

Photo: Trafficking of DC-SIGN (red) and Mycobacterium tuberculosis (green)in a human dendritic cell (DC). Cells and bacteria were incubated 4 h at 4°C (left), 15 min at 37°C (middle) and 3 h at 37°C (right). DC-SIGN is engulfed with the bacillus in the nascent vacuole (middle), then recycled back to the plasma membrane (right).

Mots-clés: Mycobactérie, pathogénicité, virulence, tuberculose, epidémiologie



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  SINNO Helena, secrétaire de direction IP,hsinno@pasteur.fr GICQUEL Brigitte, Professeur, I.P. ;bgicquel@pasteur.fr

FILLON-JACKSON Mary, CR1 I.P.,mjackson@pasteur.fr

NEYROLLES Olivier - CR CNRS,neyrolle@pasteur.fr

REYRAT Jean-Marc, CR 1, INSERM,jmreyrat@pasteur.fr

WINTER Nathalie, CR 2 IP,nwinter@pasteur.fr

ABADIE Valérie, étudiante en thèse (bourse ANRS),vabadie@pasteur.fr

BLAZQUEZ-GOMEZ Jesus, stagiaire post-doctoral (l'Hôpital Ramon y Cajal, Madrid)

BOECHAT Néio - M.D., étudiant en thèse (boursier du gouvernement brésilien),boechat@pasteur.fr

GRELLET Sheyla, étudiante en thèse (bourse du gouvernement brésilien)

KOCINCOVA Dana, étudiante thèse (boursière Marie-Curie)

MAEDA Norihiro, stagiaire postdoctoral (boursier Japan Science & Technology Corporation),nmaeda@pasteur.fr

MARTINEZ Valérie, MD, étudiante en thèse (interne des hôpitaux de Paris)vmartinez@pasteur.fr

MAYA MARQUES Catarina, étudiante en thèse (bourse de la FCT Portugal)

MICK Virginie, étudiante en thèse (CDD I.P.),vmick@pasteur.fr

RECCHI Chiara, étudiante en thèse (bourse FRM ),chiarare@pasteur.fr

ROUSSEAU Cécile, étudiante en thèse (boursière MERT+monitorat Paris 7),rousseau@pasteur.fr

ROSAS MAGALLANES Vania, étudiante en thèse (bourse du gouvernement mexicain),vrosas@pasteur.fr

SONDEN Berit, stagiaire post-doctorale (boursière Marie-Curie),bsonden@pasteur.fr

AUBERT-PIVERT Elisabeth, ingénieur I.P,epivert@pasteur.fr

BADELL-OCANDO Edgar, ingénieur I.P.,ebadell@pasteur.fr

BORDAT Yann, technicien supérieur I.P.,ybordat@pasteur.fr

CHARLES Patricia, agent technique d'exploitation I.P.,pcharles@pasteur.fr

ENSERGUEIX Danielle, technicienne supérieure I.P.,densergu@pasteur.fr

GILLARD Marie-Renée, responsable de préparation I.P.

LALLEMAND Catherine, aide de laboratoire I.P.

RAUZIER Jean, technicien supérieur I.P.,jrauzier@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr