Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Sensory Deficit Genetics


  Director : Christine PETIT (cpetit@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Research in the laboratory of Génétique des Déficits Sensoriels aims at elucidating the molecular bases of hereditary sensory defects in humans, mainly auditory defects. Expected outcomes of this research include medical applications (molecular diagnosis and development of novel therapies) as well as an understanding of the development and function of sensory organs in molecular terms.



  report

cale

I. Kallmann syndrome

(Jean-Pierre Hardelin, Jacqueline Levilliers, Isabelle Perfettini, Nadia Soussi-Yanicostas)

This syndrome associates an olfactory defect (anosmia) with the absence of spontaneous onset of puberty. Anosmia results from a developmental defect of the olfactory bulbs; hypogonadism is due to a failure in the embryonic migration of GnRH-synthesizing neurons (GnRH is the hypothalamic hormone that controls puberty development in the gonads via the pituitary gland).

We have identified the gene KAL-1 as responsible for the X-chromosome linked form of the disease. The protein that it encodes, which we have called anosmin-1 on account of the olfactory defect that characterises the disease, is a 100 kDa extracellular glycoprotein. During the organogenesis period, anosmin-1 has a regional distribution within certain extracellular matrices. Later during development, the protein is produced by several neuronal populations, especially in the olfactory bulbs and the olfactory cortex. We have shown that anosmin-1 is involved in the formation of the collateral branches of the secondary olfactory axons that make the lateral olfactory tracts. In addition, we have discovered that loss-of-function mutations in the gene encoding fibroblast growth factor receptor 1 (FGFR1) underlie an autosomal dominant form of Kallmann syndrome.

II. The saga of the genes implicated in hereditary deafness

(Sébastien Chardenoux, Roney Coimbra, Sedigheh Delmaghani, Sophie Lainé, Michel Leibovici, Mirna Mustapha, Sylvie Nouaille, Elisabeth Verpy, Dominique Weil, Ingrid Zwaenepoel)

Deafness is the most common frequent sensory defect in children. It is sometimes associated with other anomalies, i.e. syndromic, but it is most often present as an isolated defect. Today, we know that 80% of the cases of profound congenital deafness are genetic in origin. Several dozen loci implicated in isolated deafness have been reported, and 35 genes (underlying 41 genetic forms of deafness) have been cloned. Twelve loci and the genes underlying 16 genetic forms of deafness have been identified in our laboratory.

We have extended our collaboration network, which in addition to colleagues from Tunisia, Lebanon and Greece, now includes colleagues from Iran and Jordan. About one hundred large families affected with recessive isolated deafness have been collected. Genetic analysis of these families has already led to the identification of several novel loci responsible for isolated or syndromic deafness (see § III-2). Our strategy for the isolation of the genes responsible for deafness is based on a candidate gene approach. Our working hypothesis is that genes whose expression is limited to the inner ear or which are preferentially expressed there must have a crucial role in hearing, and defects in these genes are likely to lead to deafness. In order to isolate these genes, we have generated subtractive cDNA libraries from inner ear sensory epithelia. During the last three years, we have discovered several deafness genes using this approach.

III. Physiology of the cochlea (the organ of audition) and molecular pathophysiology of hereditary deafness

1. Connexin-26 and connexin-30 defects

(Martine Cohen-Salmon, Francisco DelCastillo, Jean-Pierre Hardelin, Vincent Michel, Isabelle Perfettini)

We have shown that defects in the connexin-26 gene account for half of the cases of prelingual isolated deafness (i.e. with onset before the age of speech acquisition). The corresponding form of deafness, DFNB1, is therefore one of the most frequent monogenic diseases in western countries since it affects one child in 2 000 approximately.

In the inner ear, connexin-26 participates in the constitution of gap junctions that underlie the formation of two independent cellular networks. One of them, which is epithelial in nature, connects the supporting cells of the sensory epithelium to the adjacent epithelial cells. The other connects a group of fibrocytes that are associated with basal and intermediate cells of the stria vascularis in the cochlea (the epithelium responsible for the genesis of the endocochlear potential and for the secretion of potassium into the endolymph). Complete inactivation of the connexin-26 gene in the mouse is lethal in the embryo due to placental anomalies. We have performed a conditional inactivation of the gene in the epithelial network of the inner ear by using a promoter from one of the genes isolated from the subtractive cDNA libraries mentioned above, and whose expression is strictly limited to the cells of this epithelial network. Homozygous mutant mice do not have any detectable anomalies of the vestibule. In contrast, they present an auditory defect accompanied by a progressive of several types of cells. We also studied mutant mice with ubiquitous inactivation of the connexin-30 gene. Homozygous null mutants have a severe auditory defect, a complete lack of the endocochlear potential (i.e. the +80 mV transepithelial electric potential difference between the endolymphatic and perilymphatic spaces), and a progressive disorganisation of the sensory epithelium of the cochlea, due to cell death. We are currently trying to understand why these mice are not able to produce an endocochlear potential. In addition, we are in the process of generating a mouse model of DFNB1, i.e. mutant mice that lack connexin-26 in the two gap junction networks of the cochlea.

2. Usher Syndrome type I

(Batiste Boëda, Stéphane Blanchard, Aziz El-Amraoui, Sylvain Ernest, Dominique Weil)

This syndrome associates a profound congenital deafness and retinitis pigmentosa beginning around puberty, and evolving to blindness.

We have shown that a defect in the gene that encodes myosin VIIA is responsible most often for Usher syndrome type I and more rarely causes isolated deafness. In order to understand the role of this unconventional myosin in the development and function of the cochlea, the yeast "double-hybrid" system was used to search for proteins that bind to myosinVIIA. One of these is a novel ubiquitous protein found in intercellular adherens junctions, that we have called vezatin. Vezatin is a transmembrane protein characterised by numerous isoforms. In the inner ear, it is present not only at the adherens junctions between the hair cells and the surrounding supporting cells, but also at the base of the stereocilia. Thus, the vezatin‑myosin VIIA complex most likely creates a tension between the actin filaments of the stereocilia and the transient basal links that hold the stereocilia together during development. This function can explain the disorganisation of stereocilia, which is observed in the shaker‑1 mouse mutant, in which the myosin VIIA gene is mutated. We have also isolated another ligand of myosin VIIA, MyRIP (myosin VIIA Rab interacting protein), which is a novel effector of the rab27 GTPase. MyRIP and rab27 are colocalised at the surface of the melanosomes in cells of the pigmentary epithelium of the retina. Defects in the myosin VIIA‑MyRIP‑rab27 complex can explain the abnormal position of melanosomes in these cells in the shaker‑1 mutant mice. Now, we have extended our study to the proteins underlying the various genetic forms of USH1. We have shown that three of these proteins, namely myosin VIIA (USH1B), harmonin (USH1C) and cadherin-23 (USH1D), cooperate to shape the bundle of stereocilia in the developing hair cell (see photograph). In addition, we have recently identified the gene responsible for USH1G and shown that the encoded protein, SANS, interacts with harmonin; thus, SANS belongs to the aforementioned functional complex.

3. Otoferlin

(Mhamed Grati, Isabelle Roux, Saaid Safieddine)

Mutations in the OTOF gene underlie a recessive deafness form, DFNB9. The gene encodes otoferlin, a protein with C2 domains which, in the cochlea, is preferentially expressed in the inner hair cells. The protein is especially abundant in the synaptic region of these cells; hence we have hypothesized that it could be involved in the traffic of the synaptic vesicles. The presence of the C2 domains suggests that otoferlin could replace the calcium sensor synaptotagmin, which is not produced by inner hair cells. We are currently testing this hypothesis using different approaches. In addition, a search for proteins that bind to otoferlin is under way through the two-hybrid technique. This strategy should lead to a better understanding of the role of otoferlin in auditory signals' processing.

Keywords: Human genetics, sensorineural defects, deafness, cell biology , sensory physiology



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Gillet Dominique, Institut Pasteur Cohen-Salmon Martine, CNRS

El-Amraoui Aziz, Institut Pasteur

Ernest Sylvain, INSERM

Hardelin Jean-Pierre, INSERM

Leibovici Michel, CNRS

Levilliers Jacqueline, INSERM

Safieddine Saaid, CNRS

Soussi-Yanicostas Nadia, CNRS

Verpy Elisabeth , Institut Pasteur

Weil Dominique , INSERM

Adato Avital, Post-doc

DelCastillo Francisco , Post-doc

Delmaghani Sedigheh , PhD student

Étournay Raphaël, PhD student

Michel Vincent, Post-doc

Roux Isabelle, PhD student

Zwaenepoel Ingrid , PhD student

Blanchard Stéphane, Technician

Chardenoux Sébastien, Technician

Nouaille Sylvie, Technician

Perfettini Isabelle, Engineer


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Génétique des Déficits Sensoriels


  Responsable : Christine PETIT (cpetit@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les recherches menées dans l'unité de Génétique des Déficits Sensoriels ont pour objectif d'élucider les bases moléculaires des déficits sensoriels héréditaires chez l'homme, principalement des atteintes auditives. Sont escomptées de ces recherches, des applications médicales (diagnostic moléculaire et développement de nouvelles thérapies) ainsi qu'une compréhension du développement et du fonctionnement des organes sensoriels en termes moléculaires.



  rapport

cale

I. Le syndrome de Kallmann de Morsier

(Jean-Pierre Hardelin, Jacqueline Levilliers, Isabelle Perfettini, Nadia Soussi-Yanicostas)

Ce syndrome associe un déficit de l'odorat (anosmie) et l'absence de puberté spontanée. L'anosmie est due à un défaut de développement des bulbes olfactifs, et l'hypogonadisme à un défaut de la migration embryonnaire des neurones synthétisant la GnRH, hormone hypothalamique qui contrôle via l'hypophyse le développement pubertaire des gonades.

Nous avons isolé le gène KAL-1 responsable de la forme liée au chromosome X de la maladie. La protéine codée par ce gène, que nous avons appelée anosmine-1 en référence au déficit de l'olfaction qui caractérise la maladie, est une glycoprotéine extracellulaire de 100 kDa. Pendant la période de l'organogenèse, l'anosmine-1 a une distribution régionalisée au sein de certaines matrices extracellulaires. Plus tard dans le développement, la protéine est produite par certaines populations neuronales, en particulier dans les bulbes olfactifs et le cortex olfactif. Au cours de l'année 2002  nous avons montré, chez la souris, que l'anosmine-1 est impliquée dans la formation des branches collatérales des axones des deutéroneurones olfactifs qui constituent le tractus olfactif latéral. Nous avons également découvert que le gène codant pour le récepteur 1 du FGF (FGFR1) est responsable d'une forme autosomique dominante du syndrome de Kallmann.

II. La saga des gènes impliqués dans les surdités héréditaires

(Avital Adato, Sébastien Chardenoux, Roney Coimbra, Sedigheh Delmaghani, Sophie Lainé, Michel Leibovici, Mirna Mustapha, Sylvie Nouaille, Elisabeth Verpy, Dominique Weil, Ingrid Zwaenepoel)

La surdité est le déficit sensoriel héréditaire le plus fréquent chez l'enfant. Elle est parfois associée à d'autres anomalies, mais le plus souvent elle est isolée. On sait aujourd'hui que 80% des cas de surdité profonde congénitale sont d'origine génétique. Plusieurs dizaines de loci chromosomiques impliqués dans la surdité isolée ont été rapportés et 35 gènes clonés (responsables de 41 formes génétiques). Parmi eux, douze loci ainsi que les gènes correspondant à 16 formes génétiques de surdité ont été identifiés dans notre laboratoire.

Nous avons étendu notre réseau de collaboration, qui comportait déjà des collègues tunisiens, libanais et grecs, à l'Iran et à la Jordanie. Une centaine de grandes familles atteintes de surdité isolée transmise sur le mode récessif ont ainsi été regroupées. L'analyse génétique de ces familles a déjà permis d'identifier plusieurs nouveaux loci responsables de surdité isolée ou syndromique (voir § III‑2). Notre stratégie pour isoler les gènes responsables de surdité est fondée sur une approche par gènes candidats. Nous avons émis l'hypothèse que les gènes dont l'expression est restreinte à l'oreille interne (ou qui y sont préférentiellement exprimés) ont un rôle crucial dans l'audition, et que leur atteinte est donc susceptible d'entraîner une surdité. Afin d'isoler de tels gènes, nous avons généré des banques soustraites d'ADN complémentaire (ADNc) à partir d'épithéliums sensoriels de l'oreille interne. Au cours de ces 3 dernières années, nous avons ainsi identifié plusieurs nouveaux gènes responsables de surdité.

III. Physiologie de la cochlée (organe de l'audition) et physiopathologie moléculaire des surdités héréditaires

1. Déficits en connexine-26 ou -30.

(Martine Cohen-Salmon, Francisco DelCastillo, Jean-Pierre Hardelin, Vincent Michel, Isabelle Perfettini)

Nous avons montré que les atteintes du gène qui code pour la connexine‑26 rendent compte de la moitié des cas de surdité isolée prélinguale (c'est-à-dire présente avant l'âge d'acquisition du langage parlé). La forme de surdité correspondante, DFNB1, est donc une des maladies monogéniques les plus fréquentes dans les pays occidentaux, puisqu'elle atteint un enfant sur 2 000 environ. La connexine‑26 participe aux jonctions intercellulaires communicantes de l'oreille interne, qui concourent à la formation de deux réseaux cellulaires indépendants. L'un, épithélial, connecte les cellules de soutien de l'épithélium sensoriel entre elles, ainsi qu'aux cellules épithéliales adjacentes. L'autre est constitué par un ensemble de fibrocytes, auxquels sont associées, dans la cochlée, les cellules basales et intermédiaires de la strie vasculaire (épithélium responsable de la genèse du potentiel électrique endocochléaire et de la sécrétion de l'ion potassium dans l'endolymphe). L'inactivation ubiquitaire du gène de la connexine‑26 chez la souris est létale au stade embryonnaire en raison d'anomalies placentaires. Le rôle de la connexine‑26 dans l'oreille interne demeurait donc inconnu. Nous avons réalisé l'inactivation conditionnelle du gène dans le réseau épithélial de l'oreille interne en tirant parti du promoteur de l'un des gènes isolés à partir des banques soustraites d'ADNc susmentionnées, et dont l'expression est restreinte aux cellules constituant ce réseau. Les souris mutantes homozygotes présentent un déficit auditif qui s'accompagne d'une désorganisation progressive de l'épithélium sensoriel de la cochlée, due à la mort de plusieurs types de cellules. Plus récemment, nous avons étudié des souris présentant une déficience ubiquitaire en connexine-30. Ces souris ont un déficit auditif sévère avec absence complète du potentiel endocochléaire (i.e. la différence de potentiel transépithéliale, d'environ +80 mV, entre les compartiments endolymphatique et périlymphatique), ainsi qu'une désorganisation progressive de l'épithélium sensoriel de la cochlée par mort cellulaire. Actuellement, nous tentons de comprendre pourquoi ces souris sont incapables de produire un potentiel endocochléaire. Nous avons également entrepris de produire un modèle murin de la surdité DFNB1, c'est à dire des souris porteuses d'une déficience en connexine-26 dans les deux réseaux de jonctions communicantes de la cochlée.

2. Le syndrome de Usher de type I

(Batiste Boëda, Stéphane Blanchard, Sylvain Ernest, Aziz El-Amraoui, Dominique Weil)

 

Ce syndrome associe une surdité congénitale profonde et une rétinopathie pigmentaire qui débute autour de la puberté et évolue vers la cécité.

Nous avons montré que l'atteinte du gène qui code pour la myosine VIIA est à l'origine, le plus souvent d'un syndrome de Usher de type I (USH1), beaucoup plus rarement d'une surdité isolée. Dans les deux organes sensoriels affectés chez les patients USH1, la protéine est présente dans les cellules sensorielles, à savoir les cellules ciliées de l'oreille interne, et les photorécepteurs de la rétine; elle est également exprimée dans l'épithélium pigmentaire de la rétine. Pour comprendre le rôle de cette myosine non conventionnelle dans le développement et le fonctionnement de l'oreille interne, nous avons recherché à quelles protéines elle se lie, par la technique de "double hybride" dans la levure. La caractérisation de ces protéines nous a permis d'expliquer certaines des anomalies de la souris mutante shaker-1 (défectueuse pour la myosine VIIa) et des patients USH1B. Ainsi, nous avons pu attribuer la délocalisation des mélanosomes observée dans l'épithélium pigmentaire des souris mutantes à la reconnaissance par la myosine VIIa d'une protéine que nous avons appelée MyRIP (myosin VIIA-Rab-interacting protein), qui, en se liant à Rab27 à la surface de ces organelles, en assure la mobilité normale. Par ailleurs, nous avons montré que la myosine VIIA se lie à une nouvelle protéine ubiquitaire des jonctions d'adhérence intercellulaires, que nous avons appelée vézatine. Il s'agit d'une protéine transmembranaire qui comporte un grand nombre d'isoformes. Dans l'oreille interne, elle est présente non seulement aux jonctions d'adhérence entre les cellules ciliées et leurs cellules de soutien, mais aussi à la base des stéréocils. Ces stéréocils, microvillosités apicales des cellules sensorielles solidarisées par des liens fibreux, forment la structure de réception de l'onde sonore. Ainsi, le complexe myosine VIIA‑vézatine crée sans doute une tension entre les filaments d'actine des stéréocils et les liens basaux transitoires qui unissent ces stéréocils au cours du développement. Cette fonction peut rendre compte de la désorganisation des stéréocils qui est observée chez les souris mutantes shaker-1. Aujourd'hui, nous avons élargi notre étude à l'ensemble des formes génétiques du syndrome de Usher de type I. Nous avons ainsi mis en évidence des réseaux d'interaction entre trois molécules impliquées dans trois formes de ce syndrome : la myosine VIIa (responsable de USH1B), l'harmonine (responsable de USH1C) et la cadhérine 23 (responsable de USH1D). Ces trois molécules forment un complexe fonctionnel essentiel pour la cohésion des stéréocils au sein de la touffe ciliaire en croissance (voir photographie). Plus récemment, nous avons identifié le gène responsable de la forme USH1G, et avons montré que la protéine qu'il code, SANS, interagit avec l'harmonine; cette nouvelle protéine s'intègre donc dans le complexe fonctionnel sus-mentionné.

3. Surdité par déficit en otoferline

(Mhamed Grati, Isabelle Roux, Saaid Safieddine)

Le gène OTOF est responsable, quand il est muté, de la surdité récessive DFNB9. Il code pour l'otoferline, une protéine à domaines C2 dont il existe deux isoformes. Les domaines C2 sont retrouvés dans des protéines impliquées dans le trafic et/ou la fusion membranaire. Une des protéines à domaines C2 les plus étudiées est la synaptotagmine, considérée comme l'un des acteurs majeurs, en tant que détecteur du calcium, du trafic vésiculaire synaptique dans le système nerveux central, mais absente dans les cellules sensorielles de l'oreille ou cellules ciliées internes. L'otoferline est présente dans les cellules ciliées internes, en particulier au pôle baso-latéral où se situent les contacts synaptiques. L'otoferline pourrait donc jouer un rôle dans le trafic des vésicules synaptiques ou la libération des neurotransmetteurs par ces cellules : elle remplacerait la synaptotagmine. Nous tentons actuellement de valider cette hypothèse.

Par ailleurs, un criblage par la technique de double-hybride dans la levure a été entrepris pour identifier les protéines qui se lient à l'otoferline. Cette étude devrait nous permettre de mieux comprendre la fonction de l'otoferline dans l'audition.

Mots-clés: Génétique humaine, Déficits sensoriels, Surdités, Biologie cellulaire, Physiologie sensorielle



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Gillet Dominique, Institut Pasteur Aubois Anne, Chercheur contractuel Institut Pasteur

Cohen-Salmon Martine, CNRS CR1

El-Amraoui Aziz, Institut Pasteur CR

Ernest Sylvain, INSERM CR1

Hardelin Jean-Pierre , INSERM CR1

Leibovici Michel, CNRS CR1

Levilliers Jacqueline, INSERM CR1

Safieddine Saaid, CNRS CR1

Soussi-Yanicostas Nadia, CNRS CR1

Verpy Elisabeth, Institut Pasteur CR

Weil Dominique , INSERM DR2

Adato Avital, Post-doc

DelCastillo Francisco , Post-doc

Delmaghani Sedigheh , Etudiante en thèse

Etournay Raphaël, Etudiant en DEA

Michel Vincent, Post-doc

Roux Isabelle, Etudiante en thèse

Zwaenepoel Ingrid , Etudiante en thèse

Blanchard Stéphane, Institut Pasteur Technicien

Chardenoux Sébastien, Institut Pasteur Technicien

Nouaille Sylvie, Institut Pasteur Technicienne

Perfettini Isabelle


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr