Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Oncogenic Virus Epidemiology and Pathophysiology


  Director : GESSAIN Antoine (agessain@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our group works on the human oncogenic retroviruses HTLV-1/HTLV-2 and the human herpesvirus HHV8 and their simian related counterparts. During year 2002, we have continued ongoing projects and developed new studies both on the clinical, analytical and molecular epidemiology of these viruses and on the physiopathology of the tumoral (Kaposi's sarcoma and adult T cell leukemia) and inflammatory associated diseases (tropical spastic paraparesis and myositis).



  report

cale

The recent Unit of Epidemiology and Physiopathology of Oncogenic Viruses has developed the following projects.

  1. Epidemiology of the Human Herpes Virus 8 (HHV8) and of the Human T Cell Leukemia Virus type 1 (HTLV-1) in endemic areas of French Guyana and Cameroon (Central Africa). These long term projects concern the intra-familial modes of transmission of these oncogenic viruses and the search for an host genetic susceptibility for acquiring such viruses. Other epidemiological studies regarding HTLV-1 and its associated diseases (Adult T cell leukemia and Tropical spastic paraparesis/HTLV-1 associated myelopathy) are also in progress in French Guyanese populations.

  2. Molecular epidemiology and genetic variability of HTLV-1/2 and related simian retroviruses (STLV-1/2). We have partially sequenced more than 25 new STLV-1 strains originating mostly from South East Asia but also Africa. Furthermore, the complete sequences of two novel, highly divergent, STLV-3 have been obtained. Lastly a large epidemiological study on HTLV-2 infection is ongoing both at a clinical and at a molecular level in various ethnic populations living in a rain forest area of South Cameroon.

  3. Genetic variability of HHV8 and related simian gamma herpesviruses. We have especially studied more than 30 novel HHV8 sequences from Russian patients with Kaposi's sarcoma and characterized novel b and g simians herpesviruses.

  4. Studies on the pathogenesis of HTLV-1 have also been performed. This mainly includes viro-molecular studies of the central nervous system and of muscular lesions in patients suffering of TSP/HAM as well as the characterization and the use of a novel lentiviral vector containing the tax gene.

  5. Mechanism of resistance to apoptosis of the HTLV-1 infected cells. These studies are currently in progress. We are dissecting, in vivo and in vitro, the mechanisms of action of several chemicals that could be used for the treatment of the HTLV-1 associated Adult T Cell Leukemia. We are also using a mouse transgenic model developed by our group.

  6. Studies regarding the phenotypic differences between the Tax proteins of HTLV-1 and HTLV-2 as well as their intra-cellular localization.

  7. In vivo clonality of HHV8 associated diseases. Studies are mainly focused on the different forms of Kaposi's sarcoma and on the multifocal aspects of such disease as well as on the primary effusion lymphomas. Our results strenghten the potential oncogenic properties of HHV8 in vivo.

For most of these studies, the collaboration with numerous colleagues of the Network of the Institut Pasteur and Instituts associés (especially Cameroon, Central African Republic and French Guyana) has been crucial.

Keywords: Retroviruses, HTLV, STLV, herpèsviuses,epidemiology, genetic variability,pathogenèse



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Guesdon-Cayre Sylviane,cayre@pasteur.fr Gessain Antoine, IP, Head of Laboratory, Unit Chief, agessain@pasteur.fr

Ozden Simona, IP, Head of Laboratory , sozd@pasteur.fr

Kazanji Mirdad, IP, Research Assistant, mkazanji@pasteur-cayenne.fr

Mahieux Renaud, INSERM, Chargé de Recherche, rmahieux@pasteur.fr

Lacoste Vincent, PhD student, vlacoste@pasteur.fr

Meertens Laurent, PhD student, meertens@pasteur.fr

Duprez Renan, PhD student, rduprez@pasteur.fr

Boulanger Emmanuelle, PhD student.

Chevalier Sebastien, DEA, schevalier@pasteur.fr

Blaudin de Thé, DRE CNRS, dethe@pasteur.fr

Cuervo Nancy, Post-doc, ncuervo@pasteur.fr

Tortevoye Patricia, Engineer IP, ptortevo@pasteur.fr

Van Beveren Monique, Assistant Engineer, CNRS

Bassot Sylviane sybassot@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Epidémiologie des virus oncogènes


  Responsable : GESSAIN Antoine (agessain@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre groupe travaille sur les rétrovirus oncogènes humains HTLV-1/HTLV-2, sur l'herpès virus HHV8 mais aussi sur les virus simiens apparentés (STLV et rhadinovirus). Durant l'année 2002, nous avons continué des travaux en cours et développé de nouveaux projets dans le domaine d'une part de l'épidémiologie aussi bien clinique que moléculaire de ces virus et d'autre part au niveau de la physiopathologie des maladies associées tumorales (sarcome de Kaposi, leucémie T de l'adulte) et inflammatoires : neurologiques (paraplégie spastique) et musculaires ( myosite).



  rapport

cale

L'Unité d'Epidémiologie et Physiopathologie des Virus Oncogènes, crée en janvier 2001, a continué et développé ses travaux dans les domaines suivants :

  1. Epidémiologie de l'infection par le virus herpès humain 8 et HTLV-1 dans les zones de fortes endémies. Ces travaux à long terme qui portent d'une part sur l'étude des modes de transmissions intra-familiales et d'autre part sur la recherche d'une susceptibilité génétique à ces infections virales se poursuivent en Guyane et se développent au Cameroun dans des populations villageoises. Par ailleurs, nous poursuivons en Guyane des travaux d'épidémiologie clinique et analytique des infections par le virus HTLV-1 et les maladies associées leucémiques et neurologiques.

  2. Epidémiologie moléculaire des virus de type HTLV-1/2 et des virus simiens STLV. Nous avons séquencé partiellement (gène env et le LTR) plus de 25 nouvelles souches de STLV-1, originaires d'Afrique et surtout d'Asie du Sud-Est. De plus, les séquences complètes de 2 nouveaux virus de type STLV-3 ont été réalisées. Enfin, une vaste étude d'épidémiologie clinique et moléculaire HTLV-2 est en cours dans différentes populations (en particulier des Pygmées) vivant en zones forestières au Cameroun.

  3. Variabilité génétique du virus HHV8 et des gamma herpèsvirus simiens apparentés. Nous avons en particulier étudié près de 30 nouvelles souches originaires de Russie et découvert et caractérisé des nouveaux b et g herpèsvirus simiens.

  4. Des travaux concernant la pathogènèse de l'HTLV-1 ont aussi été réalisés : étude immuno-virologique des lésions de patients ayant des TSP/HAM et/ou des myosites à inclusion. D'autre part, nous avons développé et caractérisé un vecteur lentiviral dérivé du VIH-1 et codant tax de façon à élucider le rôle de cette protéine dans la pathogenèse des maladies associées à l'HTLV-1.

  5. Nous continuons à développer des travaux collaboratifs visant à mieux comprendre la résistance à l'apoptose des cellules infectées par l'HTLV-1 et les mécanismes d'action in vivo et in vitro de certaines drogues telles l'arsenic et l'interféron a utilisées dans le traitement des leucémies T de l'adulte. A cet effet, nous utilisons un modèle de souris transgéniques développé dans notre groupe.

  6. Des travaux concernant les différences phénotypiques des protéines Tax des virus HTLV-1 et HTLV-2 sont en cours ainsi que l'étude de leur localisation intracellulaire.

  7. Clonalité in vivo de l'HHV8 dans les différentes tumeurs associées. Ces travaux se poursuivent principalement dans les différentes formes cliniques et épidémiologiques du sarcome de Kaposi et dans les fréquentes formes multifocales de cette maladie ainsi que dans les lymphomes des cavités. Nos travaux renforcent l'hypothèse d'un rôle transformant direct du virus latent dans la pathogenèse de ces tumeurs.

Pour la plupart de ces travaux, les collaborations avec de nombreux collègues du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés (en particulier Guyane, Cameroun et RCA) ont été absolument cruciales.

Mots-clés: Rétrovirus, HTLV, STLV, herpèsvirus, épidémiologie, variabilité génétique, pathogenèse



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Guesdon-Cayre Sylviane,cayre@pasteur.fr Gessain Antoine, IP, Chef de laboratoire, Chef d'Unité, agessain@pasteur.fr

Ozden Simona, IP, Chef de Laboratoire, sozd@pasteur.fr

Kazanji Mirdad, IP, Assistant de Recherche, mkazanji@pasteur-cayenne.fr

Mahieux Renaud, INSERM, Chargé de Recherche, rmahieux@pasteur.fr

Lacoste Vincent, doctorant, vlacoste@pasteur.fr

Meertens Laurent, doctorant, meertens@pasteur.fr

Duprez Renan, doctorant, rduprez@pasteur.fr

Boulanger Emmanuelle, doctorant,

Chevalier Sebastien, DEA, schevalier@pasteur.fr

Blaudin de Thé, DRE CNRS, dethe@pasteur.fr

Cuervo Nancy, Post-doc, ncuervo@pasteur.fr

Tortevoye Patricia, Ingénieur IP,ptortevo@pasteur.fr

Van Beveren Monique, Assistant Ingénieur, CNRS, mbeveren@pasteur.fr

Bassot Sylviane sybassot@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2004 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr