Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Epidemiology of Emerging Diseases


  Director : FONTANET Arnaud (fontanet@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Emerging Diseases Epidemiology Unit was founded on 1 July 2001. The main research topics of the unit are 1) transmission modes of and means of prevention against emerging diseases agents and 2) clinical research, and in particular natural history cohorts and clinical trials. Most research projects take place in developing countries, preferably in collaboration with institutes from the International Network of Pasteur Institutes, and deal with the epidemiology of HIV and hepatitis C virus (HCV).



  report

cale

Introduction

The Emerging Diseases Epidemiology Unit was founded on 1 July 2001. Activities started in early 2002 with the arrival of first unit members.

The main research topics of the unit are 1) the transmission modes of and means of prevention against emerging diseases agents and 2) clinical research, and particularly natural history cohorts and clinical trials of treatments against the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and hepatitis C virus (HCV). "Emerging diseases agents" are agents recently spread via epidemics in human population (e.g., HIV), agents recently identified (e.g., HCV), and re-emerging agents (e.g., P.falciparum and M.tuberculosis).

Expertise activities of the unit consist in contributions to the strategic thinking of the Institute in areas where epidemiology takes a leading role, in provision of epidemiological and biostatistical assistance to other research units of the Institute, and in participation in the teaching activities in epidemiology locally and in the international network. In this context, special effort has been dedicated to the preparation of the epidemiology and biostatistics curriculum for the future school of public health, and to the initiation of a training scheme in clinical research for institutes of the network.

Most research projects of the unit take place in developing countries, preferably in collaboration with institutes of the international Network of Pasteur Institutes.

On-going projects

1) Epidemiology and treatment of HCV infection in Egypt (A. Fontanet and C. Rekacewicz).

Egypt is the country with the highest HCV prevalence in the wold, reaching 45% among adults older than 40 in rural areas. The number of people infected with HCV was estimated around 8 million in 1999 by the Egyptian Ministry of Health and Population. The origin of such epidemic has been attributed to mass treatment by intravenous injections for bilharziosis in the years 1960-1982.

This project, headed by A. Fontanet and M.K. Mohamed, is funded by the European Commission (2001-2005) and by the French National Agency for Research on AIDS (ANRS) (2002-2004 with possibilities for extension). The project has several components: 1) the establishment of a cohort study on HCV incidence and infection progression in a rural population (n=4000); 2) the validation of blood donors as a sentinel population to monitor HCV trends in the general population; 3) the identification of risk factors for HCV infection in urban areas through a case-control study comparing exposures in patients with acute hepatitis C with those of controls; 4) a study of the efficacy of pegylated interferon and ribavirin in the treatment of chronic hepatitis C in Egypt (genotype 4); 5) a study of the efficacy of pegylated interferon in the treatment of acute hepatitis C. Our partners in this project are the unit INSERM U444 (Director: AJ Valleron) which coordinated the European part of the project (B Larouzé) and the mixed unit Pasteur/INSERM U370 of C Bréchot for its expertise in the virological and clinical aspects of HCV. Egyptian partners of this project are Ain Shams University n cairo (Mostafa K Mohamed) and the Egyptian Ministry of Health (Saeed Aoun).

2) Management of infectious lung disease among adults with HIV/AIDS in Africa (Dakar, Bangui) and South-East Asia (Phnom Penh, Ho Chi Minh) (Principal Investigators: Y Germani and P Lehr) (C Rekacewicz, M Vray, A Fontanet).

This project aims to identify infectious etiologies of lung disease among hospitalised HIV-infected patients. Broncho-fibroscopy will be used in non-tuberculous patients depending on radiological aspects and response to conventional antibiotic treatment. Study sites are Dakar (Senegal), Bangui (Centrafrican epublic), Phnom Penh (Cambodia) and Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam). Institutes from the International Network are fully involved in this study coordinated y Y Germani (Bangui) and P Lehr (Paris) and funded by ANRS.

3) HIV epidemiology in Ethiopia (A Fontanet).

Ethiopia has been lately but severely affected by the HIV epidemic. HIV prevalence in urban adult populations reaches 10-15%. Since 1994, a research programme in epidemiology, virology and immunology of HIV was set up at the Ethiopian Health and Nutrition Research Institute in Addis Ababa. This program is funded by the Ethiopian and Netherlands governments. The research work focuses on three populations: 1) a cohort study of factory workers since February 1997 (n=1600 among which 150 are HIV-infected); 2) a cohort of patients with tuberculosis and recruited in an urban health center (n=250) ; 3) a sentinel surveillance system of HIV prevalence and genotype distribution among women seen for antenatal care in Addis Ababa (n=1200 women / year).

4) Protection mechanisms against HIV-1 among exposed but non-infected individuals in Vietnam and in Cambodia (ENIASIA) (Principal Investigators: G Pancino and L Truong Thi Xuan) (A Fontanet and C Rekacewicz).

This study aims at identifying genetic and immunovirological factors responsible for protection against HIV-1 in exposed and non-infected individuals (ENI). ENI are intravenous drug users in Vietnam and sexual partners of HIV-infected individuals in Cambodia. Our role in this study is to provide assistance in the epidemiological and statistical aspects of the study.

5) Study of the influence of sexual hormones on immunity and susceptibility to infectious diseases (M Garenne).

Sexual hormones interfere with the immune system, and these interferences have an effect on diseases course. Females tend to favour Th2 responses, whereas males tend to favour Th1 responses. Diseases for which strong Th2 responses would have a deleterious effect would be more lethal to women, whereas diseases for which strong Th1 responses would have a deleterious effect would tend to be more lethal to males. This project aims at validate this theory by first studying morbidity and mortality statistics available at the National Reference Centers at of Pasteur Institute and other sentinel sites.

6) Study on the influence of intestinal helminthiases on malaria during pregnancy (M Nacher).

Cohort study of pregnant women on the border between Thailand and Myanmar. Main study variables are malaria incidence, hematocrit, parasitemia, malaria access severity, body mass index, pregnancy complications, and child weight according to helmintiases diagnosed with the mother during the first antenatal screening visit.

Projects under development

1) Randomised trial of efficacy and tolerance comparing two anti-retroviral therapies among HIV-infected patients in Senegal (Principal Investigators: R Landman and S Sow) (M Vray and A Fontanet).

This trial follows two one-arm open trial with anti-retroviral drugs carried out in Senegal which demonstrated the feasibility and efficacy of such treatments in an African context. The aim of this study is to compare the efficacy and tolerance of two anti-retroviral treatments. The Principal Investigator is R Landmann (IMEA, Bichat Hospital, Paris). Our unit, through Muriel Vray, is in charge of the methodological aspects and of the coordination of the clinical trial. This project will be submitted for funding in March 2003.

2) HCV epidemiology in Cambodia (Principal Investigators: A Sall et A Fontanet).

This project aims at improving assays used for the diagnosis of HCV infection and at better characterizing the molecular epidemiology of HCV in South-East Asia. The scientific coordinators of the project are A Sall, virologist at the Pasteur Institute in Dakar and for two years at the Pasteur Institute in Cambodia and A Fontanet. Our unit is responsible for the epidemiological and statistical aspects of the study. The project will be submitted for funding in early 2003.

Keywords: epidemiology, clinical research, drug trials, developing countries, HIV, HCV



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Thépaut Sylvana, sthepaut@pasteur.fr Fontanet Arnaud, IP, Head of the Unit fontanet@pasteur.fr

Baril Laurence, IP, baril@pasteur.fr (from March 2003 on)

Garenne Michel, IRD, mgarenne@pasteur.fr
Nacher Mathieu, post-doctoral fellow (posted in Thailand)

Micol Romain, public health resident, micol@pasteur.fr

Grahek Shannon, MPH, (posted in Egypt)

Françoise Colombani, MPH student (posted in Egypt)

Vray Muriel, INSERM, project manager, vray@pasteur.fr

Rekacewicz Claire, IP, project manager, reka@pasteur.fr

Chartier Loïc ; IP, data manager, chartier@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Epidémiologie des Maladies émergentes


  Responsable : FONTANET Arnaud (fontanet@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'unité de recherche et d'expertise en épidémiologie des maladies émergentes a été créée le 1er juillet 2001. Les principaux thèmes de recherche de l'unité sont 1) les modes de transmission et les moyens de prévention des infections à agents pathogènes émergents et 2) la recherche clinique, avec notamment les cohortes d'histoire naturelle et les essais thérapeutiques. La majeure partie des projets de l'unité est réalisée dans les pays en développement, de préférence en collaboration avec les instituts du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et des Instituts Associés, et concerne l'épidémiologie du VIH et du virus de l'hépatite C (VHC).



  rapport

cale

Introduction

L'unité de recherche et d'expertise en épidémiologie des maladies émergentes a été créée le 1er juillet 2001. Ses activités ont débuté avec l'arrivée d'A. Fontanet (chef d'unité) à l'Institut Pasteur (IP) le 1er décembre 2001, suivi par C. Rekacewicz (médecin épidémiologiste) le 1er janvier 2002.

Les principaux thèmes de recherche de l'unité sont 1) les modes de transmission et les moyens de prévention des infections à agents pathogènes émergents et 2) la recherche clinique, avec notamment les cohortes d'histoire naturelle et les essais thérapeutiques concernant le traitement des infections par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH) et le virus de l'hépatite C (VHC). " Agents pathogènes émergents " est pris au sens large du terme, à savoir les agents récemment apparus sous forme épidémique en population humaine (par exemple, le VIH), les agents récemment identifiés (par exemple, le VHC), et les agents ré-émergents (par exemple, P.falciparum ou M.tuberculosis).

Le travail d'expertise de l'unité consiste à contribuer à la réflexion stratégique de l'IP dans des domaines où l'épidémiologie joue un rôle prépondérant, à apporter un soutien méthodologique en épidémiologie et biostatistiques aux autres unités de l'IP, et à participer aux activités d'enseignement de l'épidémiologie au sein du campus et dans les instituts du réseau. Dans cette perspective, un effort important a été consacré à la préparation d'un enseignement en épidémiologie et biostatistiques de la future école de santé publique, et au développement d'un plan de formation en recherche clinique pour les instituts du réseau.

La majeure partie des projets de l'unité est réalisée dans les pays en développement, de préférence en collaboration avec les instituts du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et des Instituts Associés (RIIPIA).

Projets en cours

1) Épidémiologie et traitement des infections par le VHC en Égypte (A. Fontanet et C. Rekacewicz)

L'Égypte est le pays où la prévalence de l'infection par le VHC est la plus élevée au monde, atteignant 45% chez les plus de 40 ans en zone rurale. Le nombre de personnes infectées par le VHC a été estimé à huit millions en 1999 (Ministère de la Santé Égyptien). L'origine d'une telle épidémie est attribuée au traitement de masse de la bilharziose par injections intraveineuses dans les années 1960-1982.

Ce projet, dont A. Fontanet et M.K. Mohamed sont les responsables scientifiques, est financé par la Commission Européenne (2001-2005) et par l'Agence Nationale de Recherche sur le SIDA (2002-2004 avec possibilité d'extension). Le projet comporte plusieurs volets : 1) mise en place d'une cohorte d'étude de l'incidence et de la progression de l'infection par le VHC dans une population villageoise (n=4000) ; 2) validation des donneurs de sang comme population sentinelle pour suivre l'évolution de la prévalence du VHC dans la population générale ; 3) identification des facteurs de risque de transmission de l'infection à VHC en milieu urbain à l'occasion d'une étude cas-témoin comparant des patients avec hépatite aiguë C et des témoins ; 4) étude d'efficacité de l'interféron pégylé et de la ribavirine dans le traitement des hépatites chroniques C en Égypte (génotype 4) ; 5) étude d'efficacité de l'interféron pégylé seul dans le traitement des hépatites aiguës C. Nos collaborateurs sont l'unité INSERM U444 (Directeur : AJ Valleron) qui co-ordonne le volet européen du projet (B Larouzé) et l'unité mixte Pasteur/INSERM U370 de C Bréchot pour son expertise en virologie et clinique de l'infection à VHC. Les partenaires égyptiens de ce projet sont l'Université de Ain Shams au Caire (Mostafa K Mohamed) et le Ministère de la Santé Égyptien (S Aoun).

2) Prise en charge des pneumopathies infectieuses chez l'adulte au cours de l'infection VIH/SIDA en Afrique (Dakar, Bangui) et en Asie du Sud-Est (Ho Chi Minh Ville, Phnom Penh) (Investigateurs Principaux : Y Germani et P Lehr) (C. Rekacewicz, M. Vray et A. Fontanet).

Ce projet vise à déterminer les étiologies des pneumopathies infectieuses chez des patients infectés par le VIH et consultant en milieu hospitalier. Les investigations font appel à la fibroscopie bronchique chez les patients avec pneumopathies non tuberculeuses selon leur aspect radiologique et leur réponse au traitement conventionnel. Les sites d'étude sont Dakar (Sénégal), Bangui (République Centrafricaine), Phnom Penh (Cambodge) et Ho Chi Minh (Vietnam). Les instituts du RIIPIA sont largement impliqués dans cette étude multicentrique, coordonnée par Yves Germani (Bangui) et Pierre Lehr (Paris) et financée par l'ANRS.

3) Epidémiologie du VIH en Ethiopie (A. Fontanet)

L'Éthiopie est un des pays d'Afrique de l'Est les plus tardivement, mais aussi les plus sévèrement touchés par l'épidémie du VIH. La prévalence du VIH en population urbaine et adulte avoisine les 10-15%. Depuis 1994, un programme de recherche en épidémiologie, virologie, et immunologie du VIH a été mis en place à l'Institut National de Recherche en Santé et Nutrition à Addis Abéba. Ce programme est financé conjointement par les gouvernements néerlandais et éthiopiens. Les études sont centrées autour de trois populations : 1) une cohorte d'ouvriers d'usine (n=1600 dont 150 sont infectés par le VIH) suivie depuis février 1997 ; 2) une cohorte de patients tuberculeux recrutés dans un centre de santé urbain (n=250) ; et 3) un système de surveillance sentinelle de la prévalence et de la distribution des sous-types du VIH parmi les femmes suivies en consultation prénatale à Addis Abéba (n=1200 femmes / an).

4) Mécanismes de protection contre le VIH-1 chez des individus exposés mais non infectés au Vietnam et au Cambodge (ENIASIA) (Investigateur Principal : G. Pancino et L. Truong Thi Xuan) (A. Fontanet et C. Rekacewicz).

Cette étude vise à identifier les facteurs génétiques et immuno-virologiques responsables de la protection contre l'infection à VIH-1 chez des sujets exposés et non-infectés (ENI). Les ENI sont des toxicomanes au Vietnam et des partenaires sexuels réguliers de sujets infectés au Cambodge. Notre rôle dans cette collaboration est de fournir un soutien aux aspects épidémiologiques de l'étude et à l'analyse statistique des résultats.

5) Etude de l'influence des hormones sexuelles sur l'immunité et la susceptibilité aux maladies infectieuses (M. Garenne).

Les hormones sexuelles interfèrent avec le système immunitaire, et ces interférences ont un effet sur les évolutions pathologiques. Le sexe féminin semble favoriser les réponses de type Th2, alors que le sexe masculin semble favoriser les réponses de type Th1. Les maladies pour lesquelles les fortes réponses de type Th2 sont délétères seraient ainsi plus létales pour le sexe féminin, alors que les maladies pour lesquelles les fortes réponses de type Th1 sont délétères seraient plus létales pour le sexe masculin. Le projet en cours vise dans un premier temps à valider cette théorie en étudiant les statistiques de morbidité et de mortalité pour certaines maladies cibles disponibles dans les Centres Nationaux de Référence de l'Institut Pasteur et dans d'autres sites sentinelles.

6) Etude de l'influence des helminthiases intestinales sur le paludisme durant la grossesse (M. Nacher).

Etude de cohorte de femmes enceintes à la frontière birmane en Thaïlande. Les principales variables étudiées sont l'incidence du paludisme, l'hématocrite, la parasitémie, la sévérité des accés palustres, l'indice de masse corporelle, les complications de la grossesse, et chez l'enfant le poids de naissance en fonction des helminthiases diagnostiquées chez la mère lors de la première visite prénatale.

Projets en préparation

1) Essai randomisé d'efficacité et de tolérance comparant deux trithérapies anti-rétrovirales chez les patients infectés par le VIH-1 au Sénégal (Investigateurs Principaux : R. Landman et S.Sow) (M. Vray et A. Fontanet)

Cet essai vient dans la continuité de deux essais ouverts à un bras d'antirétroviraux au Sénégal qui ont montré la faisabilité et l'efficacité de ces thérapeutiques dans un contexte africain. L'objet de la présente étude est de comparer l'efficacité et la tolérance de deux trithérapies anti-rétrovirales. L'investigateur Principal est R. Landmann (IMEA, CHU Bichat). Notre unité, au travers de Muriel Vray, intervient en tant que responsable des aspects méthodologiques et de la coordination de l'essai clinique. Ce projet sera déposé pour financement en début 2003.

2) Epidémiologie du VHC au Cambodge (Investigateurs Principaux : A. Sall et A. Fontanet)

Ce projet vise à améliorer les tests utilisés pour le diagnostic de l'infection par le VHC et à mieux caractériser l'épidémiologie moléculaire du VHC en Asie du Sud-Est. Les responsables scientifiques du projet sont Amadou Sall, virologiste de l'IP Dakar actuellement en mobilité à l'IP de Phnom Penh, pour les partenaires des pays en développement, et A. Fontanet pour les partenaires français. Notre unité intervient également en tant que responsable des aspects épidémiologiques et biostatistiques de l'étude. Ce projet sera déposé pour financement en début 2003.

Mots-clés: épidémiologie, recherche clinique, essais thérapeutiques, pays en développement, VIH, VHC



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Thépaut Sylvana, sthepaut@pasteur.fr Fontanet Arnaud, IP, Chef d'Unité fontanet@pasteur.fr

Baril Laurence, IP, baril@pasteur.fr (arrivée en mars 2003)

Garenne Michel, IRD, mgarenne@pasteur.fr

Nacher Mathieu, post-doctorant (posté en Thaïlande)

Micol Romain, interne santé publique, micol@pasteur.fr

Grahek Shannon, MPH, (postée en Egypte)

Françoise Colombani, étudiante en DEA (postée en Egypte)

Vray Muriel, INSERM, chef de projet, vray@pasteur.fr

Rekacewicz Claire, IP, chef de projet, reka@pasteur.fr

Chartier Loïc ; IP, ingénieur base de données, chartier@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr