Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Biodiversity of Emerging Pathogenic Bacteria - U389 INSERM


  Director : Grimont Patrick (pgrimont@pasteur.fr )


  abstract

 

The Unit includes research laboratories, three National Reference Centers, a Center providing bacterial identification services in clinical, veterinarian, and industrial fields, and R&D projects. All modern aspects of bacterial taxonomy are considered with the purposes of providing a better molecular and physiological definition of bacterial species and designing new tools for molecular identification and typing. Our methods have been applied to all sorts of bacteria including emerging pathogens.



  report

cale

Taxonomy and phylogenomics (Patrick Grimont, Francine Grimont and, since 2003, Sylvain Brisse)

Our Unit participates in international efforts targeted to the molecular and phylogenomic definition of the bacterial species. An ad-hoc committee met in 2002 to evaluate the possibility of replacing DNA-DNA hybridization by easier methodologies. Multiple gene sequencing is an approach which needs to be validated. Algorithms for computer interpretation will be essential.

The expertise built up in the domain of bacterial detection and identification is used for preparedness in responding to the bioterrorism threat. Several molecular methods can be proposed for rapid detection of pathogens. Most efforts are needed for laboratory organization (dispatch of strains and information) and plans to mobilize personnel and space.

We have been asked by several colleagues to characterize new bacterial species by DNA-DNA hybridization or 16S rRNA gene sequencing. We have participated in the description of Afipia birgiae and Afipia massiliensis and a new unnamed genospecies which had been isolated by coculture with amoebae by colleagues from Marseille. However, two serotypes of Bartonella henselae which differed in some gene sequences were found to belong to a single DNA hybridization group and thus to a single species. With colleagues from Nancy (France), we demonstrated that the genus Desulfomonas does not exist and that Desulfomonas pigra is in fact a Desulfovibrio (Desulfovibrio piger). The rare species, Corynebacterium macginleyi, causing ocular infections and which was believed to be geographically limited, was isolated in Italy and its identification was confirmed by rrs gene sequencing.

We have collaborated with National Reference Centers in France or abroad. With the Pasteur Institute in Iran, we have characterized Vibrio cholerae strains circulating in Iran. The presence of four virulence genes and a large plasmid was examined. The strains typed by ribotyping and pulse field gel electrophoresis showed limited diversity with a dominant ribotype, typical of the region. With the Legionella National Reference Center in Lyon, we have built a ribotype database allowing for the identification of all known species of Legionella. This approach is being automatized.

The Unit provides a taxonomic support to colleagues in University Hospitals who study antibiotic resistance genes. We have thus collaborated to the discovery that plasmid genes encoding CTX-M beta-lactamases originated in a Kluyvera ascorbata chromosomal gene. An AmpC gene encoding an inducible beta-lactamase was found in a new species of Enterobacteriaceae.

Taxonomic research may have biotechnological interest. The production of poly(3-hydroxybutyrate) and poly(3-hydroxyoctanoate) has been studied in the genus Pseudomonas and differ according to phylogenetic branches. In collaboration with colleagues in Clermont-Ferrand (France), a strain producing isonovalal from alpha-pinene oxide has been identified by rrs sequencing as Pseudomonas rhodesiae. This species was not known to biotransform terpenes.

National Reference Center for Salmonella (Philippe Bouvet and later François-Xavier Weill and Patrick Grimont)

CNR-Salm contributes to the surveillance of salmonellosis in France by performing complete serotyping (with 164 sera) on more than 10,000 clinical isolates of Salmonella each year. Strains are sent to CNR-Salm (with essential epidemiological information) on a voluntary basis by about 1600 public or private clinical laboratories. CNR-Salm also collects information on strains which were serotyped locally (5000 per year). A house-made computer system for surveillance and alert of clinical salmonellosis allows to document spatial and temporal tendencies of major Salmonella serotypes and to quickly detect any significant increase in the number of cases at national, regional, or department levels. Data reports are sent on a weekly basis to the Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS). As soon as a significant increase is detected, an alert message is sent. A RiboPrinter was acquired which allows us to ribotype all strains of Salmonella enterica serotype Typhi. CNR-Salm also performs phage typing for Salmonella serotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Paratyphi B, and Enteritidis. CNR-Salm has set up surveillance of antimicrobial resistance among Salmonella strains. A total of 1000 strains, randomly selected among 15 major serotypes, are studied each year. CNR-Salm participates in the Enter-Net European network. Research work derived from these activities included the characterization, with Italian colleagues, of S. bongori (a rare species) occurring in man, animals and the environment, in Southern Italy where infections were observed. By combining phage typing, pulse-field gel electrophoresis and antibiotic resistance patterns, the spread of multiresistant S. enterica ser. Typhimurium clones was followed in collaboration with the French Agency for Food Safety (AFSSA).

National Reference Center for Escherichia coli-Shigella (Francine Grimont and Patrick Grimont)

CNR-coli participates in the surveillance of shigelloses and infections due to shigatoxin-producing E. coli (haemorrhagic colitis and haemolytic and uremic syndromes). About 1000 isolates of Shigella are serotyped each year. Detection of E. coli virulence genes is performed as well as classical serotyping and ribotyping. Serological tests for haemolytic and uremic syndromes are performed. A method was devised for molecular serotyping with the study of genes encoding enzymes involved in somatic (O) polysaccharide synthesis (rfb region) and genes encoding flagellin (fliC). Isolates of E. coli O157 :H7 from diverse regions of France and Italy were compared for the presence of virulence genes, pulse-field gel electrophoresis patterns, ERIC-PCR patterns and antibiotic susceptibility patterns. The spread of some strains could thus be followed. In addition, a case of haemolytic and uremic syndrome due to a shigatoxin-nonproducing strain was studied.

National Reference Center for Corynebacterium diphtheriae (Patrick Grimont and Anne Le Flèche)

CNR-Cd confirms the identification of Corynebacterium diphtheriae and C. ulcerans strains isolated in France, determines the presence of diphtheria toxin genes by PCR, and performs molecular typing on these strains. In association with Francine Grimont and in the framework of the WHO-Europe network ELWGD (European Laboratory Working Group on Diphtheria) and the DIPNET network (DG-SANCO), a database of C. diphtheriae ribotypes was built after studying 576 strains isolated in many contries including the former USSR.These strains are distributed among 86 ribotypes. The Taxotron software has been chosen for the computer identification of ribotypes. With colleagues from the International Network of Pasteur Institutes, we have participated in a study of strains circulating in North-West Russia, Romania, and Moldavia. Romanian strains differed from Russian and Moldavian strains in their ribotypes, pulse-field types, and RAPD patterns.

Center for Molecular Identification of Bacteria (Anne Le Flèche, Patrick Grimont)

CMIB was created in 2000 to identify all kinds of bacteria by molecular methods (sequencing of rrs and other genes, automated ribotyping, PCR). Strains are received from clinical, veterinary, environmental, or industrial sources. In 2001, among strains identified by gene sequencing, 79% corresponded to 123 different known species distributed among 62 genera, 5% corresponded to unnamed taxons with known rrs sequences, 15% corresponded to unknown species within known genera, and 1% corresponded to new phylogenetic branches. Strains (other than industrial strains) which do not fit any described species are included in our current taxonomic research.

The Experimental Kitchen Project (Patrick Grimont, Martine Le Fèvre, Corinne Ruckly)

The project, supported by Procter & Gamble, allowed to study the spread of marker bacilli through an experimental kitchen with the purpose of evaluating disinfection strategies. Routes of contamination were observed and the effect of disinfection with different products was measured. Overall, surface contamination is reduced by one- to three-log through dessication (depending on the bacterial species studied), reduced by three-log when a common cleaning detergent is used, and reduced by six-log (i.e. totally suppressed) when an antibacterial product is used. Lessons learnt from this work should help reduce the incidence of foodborne infections by disinfecting contamination hot-spots.

R&D laboratory (Béatrice Regnault and Patrick Grimont)

This R&D laboratory is supported by industrial contracts. Within seven years, it has acquired a wide experience in fluorescence in situ hybridization and has designed rapid molecular methods for detecting and enumerating specific bacterial species in water, foods, or clinical samples. The frontier between bacterial life and death has been explored. It has been demonstrated that revivification of bacteria in the presence of ciprofloxacine allowed to distinguish living bacteria (which elongate) from dead bacteria. Activities of this laboratory will be continued by CIMB in 2003.

Photo: Ribotypes of Corynebacterium diphtheriae produced by the RiboPrinter System and treated by Taxotron (with mathematical filtering). Size marker is in lanes 1, 4, 7, 10, and 13.

Keywords: Bacteriology, Taxonomy, phylogenomics, enterobacteria, molecular typing, identification, population genetics



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Sylvain, Chantal (csylvain@pasteur.fr )

Lebri, Zoulika (leaving January 2003)

Valérie Abihssira ( abihssir@pasteur.fr )

Grimont, Patrick, Institut Pasteur (Professor, pgrimont@pasteur.fr )

Grimont, Francine, INSERM (Researcher, fgrimont@pasteur.fr )

Bouvet, Philippe, Institut Pasteur (left the Unit in September 2002)

Brisse, Sylvain, Institut Pasteur (Researcher, arrived January 2003, sbrisse@pasteur.fr )

Weill, François-Xavier, Institut Pasteur (Clinical Microbiologist, arrived January 2003, fxweill@pasteur.fr )

Ait-Tayeb, Lineda (PhD student)

Bermond-Tilly, Delphine (post-doc)

Jamin, Yann

Koneva, Natalia

Lemaire, Céline

Loubinoux, Julien

Luc, Audrey

Villarino, Andrea

Le Flèche, Anne (Engineer, CIMB, lefleche@pasteur.fr)

Regnault, Béatrice (Engineer, R&D, until January 2003)

Janvier, Monique (Engineer, Teaching Center)

Arnoux, Yolande (Tech., CIMB)

Carle, Isabelle (Tech., CNR E. coli-Shigella)

Demartin, Marie (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Fabre, Laetitia (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Guesnier, Françoise (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Issenhuth-Jeanjean, Sylvie (Tech., R&D CNR Salmonella)

Lefevre, Martine (Tech., CIMB)

Lejay-Collin, Monique (Tech., CNR E. coli-Shigella)

Lomprez, Fabienne (Tech., CIMB)

Martin-Delautre, Sylvie (Tech., CNR E. coli-Shigella)

Passet, Virginie (Tech, Research)

Polomack, Bernadette (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Ruckly, Corinne (Tech., CIMB and CNR Salmonella)

Sanquer, Laurence (Tech., CNR Salmonella)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biodiversité des Bactéries pathogènes émergentes - U389 INSERM


  Responsable : Grimont Patrick (pgrimont@pasteur.fr )


  resume

 

L'Unité comprend des laboratoires de recherche, trois Centres Nationaux de Référence, un Centre fournissant des services d'identification bactérienne dans les domaines cliniques, vétérinaires et industriels, et des projets de R&D. Tous les aspects de la taxonomie bactérienne sont développés en ayant pour objectif d'apporter une meilleure définition moléculaire et physiologique des espèces et de réaliser des outils nouveaux d'identification et de typage moléculaires. Nos méthodes sont appliquées à toutes sortes de bactéries, y compris des pathogènes émergents.



  rapport

cale

Taxonomie et phylogénomique (Patrick Grimont, Francine Grimont et, depuis 2003, Sylvain Brisse)

Notre Unité participe aux efforts internationaux pour définir l'espèce bactérienne sur des bases moléculaires et phylogénomiques. Une réunion a eu lieu en 2002 pour chercher à remplacer l'hybridation ADN-ADN quantitative, qui est assez lourde, par d'autres méthodes. Le séquençage de plusieurs gènes communs est une piste à valider. Une approche bioinformatique est nécessaire.

La compétence de l'Unité en détection et identification des bactéries a été sollicitée pour élaborer une riposte aux menaces de bioterrorisme. Plusieurs méthodes moléculaires peuvent permettre une détection assez rapide d'agents pathogènes. L'effort est surtout à porter sur l'organisation des laboratoires (circuit des souches) et les plans de mobilisation des personnes et des locaux.

Nous avons été sollicités par plusieurs collègues pour caractériser de nouvelles espèces par hybridation ADN-ADN ou par séquençage du gène rrs codant l'ARNr 16S. Nous avons ainsi participé à la description de Afipia birgiae et Afipia massiliensis et d'une genomospecies non nommée, isolées de l'eau d'un hôpital par coculture avec des amibes par nos collègues marseillais. Par contre, l'étude de deux sérotypes de Bartonella henselae, qui différaient par la séquence de certains gènes, a montré qu'ils appartenaient au même groupe d'hybridation, donc à la même espèce. En collaboration avec des collègues nancéens, nous avons démontré que le genre Desulfomonas n'existait pas et que Desulfomonas pigra était en fait un Desulfovibrio (Desulfovibrio piger). L'espèce rare, Corynebacterium macginleyi, qui cause des infections oculaires et que l'on croyait géographiquement limitée, a été isolée en Italie et confirmée par séquençage du gène rrs.

Des CNR en France ou à l'étranger ont sollicité notre collaboration pour faire avancer les connaissances dans leur spécialité. Ainsi, avec l'Institut Pasteur d'Iran, nous avons caractérisé les souches de Vibrio cholerae circulant en Iran. Quatre gènes de virulence ont été recherchés ainsi que la présence d'un grand plasmide. Les souches typées par ribotypie et électrophorèse en champ pulsé ont montré une faible diversité avec la présence d'un ribotype dominant, caractéristique de la région. Avec le CNR des Legionella de Lyon, nous avons établi une base de données de ribotypie des Legionella permettant l'identification de toutes les espèces connues. Cette approche est en voie d'automatisation.

L'Unité apporte un soutien taxonomique aux collègues hospitalo-universitaires étudiant les gènes de résistance aux antibiotiques. Ainsi, nous avons collaboré à la découverte que les gènes plasmidiques codant les beta-lactamases de type CTX-M avaient pour origine un gène chromosomique de Kluyvera ascorbata. Par ailleurs, un gène AmpC codant une beta-lactamase inductible a été trouvé chez une espèce non décrite de la famille des Entérobactéries.

Les recherches en taxonomie ont aussi des retombées en biotechnologie. La production de poly(3-hydroxybutyrate) et poly(3-hydroxyoctanoate) a été étudiée dans le genre Pseudomonas et diffère selon la branche phylogénétique. En collaboration avec une équipe auvergnate, une souche produisant de l'isonovalal à partir d'oxyde d'alpha-pinène a été identifiée par séquençage comme Pseudomonas rhodesiae. Ce type de bactérie n'était pas connu pour la biotransformation des terpènes.

Centre National de Référence des Salmonella (Philippe Bouvet puis François-Xavier Weill et Patrick Grimont)

Le CNR-Salm participe à la surveillance des salmonelloses en France en sérotypant complètement (avec 164 sérums) plus de 10 000 souches de Salmonella par an. Ces souches sont envoyées au CNR-Salm (accompagnées des renseignements épidémiologiques essentiels) sur une base volontaire par près de 1600 laboratoires d'analyses de biologie médicale (publics et privés). Le CNR collecte également les informations sur les souches dont le sérotype a été déterminé localement (5000 par an). Un système informatisé de surveillance et d'alerte des salmonelloses humaines mis au point au CNR permet de documenter les tendances spatiales et temporelles des principaux sérotypes de Salmonella et de détecter précocement toute augmentation anormale d'un sérotype aux niveaux national, régional ou départemental. Différents relevés épidémiologiques sont adressés chaque semaine à l'Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS). L'acquisition en 1999 d'un RiboPrinter nous permet de ribotyper toutes les souches de Salmonella enterica sérotype Typhi. Le Centre effectue aussi la lysotypie de Salmonella sérotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Paratyphi B, et Enteritidis. Le CNR-Salm a mis en place un suivi de l'évolution de la résistance aux antibiotiques chez les Salmonella. Mille souches tirées au sort parmi 15 sérotypes sont étudiées chaque année. Le CNR participe au Réseau européen Enter-Net. Des recherches dérivent de l'activité du CNR. Salmonella bongori est très rare. Avec nos collègues italiens, nous avons caractérisé un type particulier de S. bongori chez l'homme, les animaux et l'environnement en Italie du Sud où des cas d'infection humaine avaient été détectés. En combinant la lysotypie, l'électrophorèse en champ pulsé et les profils de sensibilité aux antibiotiques, nous avons pu suivre la diffusion de clones multirésistants de Salmonella enterica sérotype Typhimurium, en collaboration avec l'Agence Française de Sécurité Sanitaire des Aliments (AFSSA).

Centre National de Référence des Escherichia coli-Shigella (Francine Grimont et Patrick Grimont)

Le CNR-coli participe à la surveillance des shigelloses et des infections (colites hémorragiques et syndromes hémolytiques et urémiques) à Escherichia coli producteurs de shigatoxine. Près de 1000 souches de Shigella sont sérotypées par an. La détection des gènes de virulence de E. coli est effectuée ainsi que le sérotypage classique et la ribotypie. La sérologie des syndromes hémolytiques et urémiques est effectuée. Une méthode de sérotypage moléculaire étudiant les gènes impliqués dans la spécificité somatique O (région rfb) et H (gène fliC) mise au point dans l'Unité est utilisé. Les souches de Escherichia coli O157:H7 de plusieurs régions de France et d'Italie ont été comparées pour la présence des divers gènes de virulence, les profils de restriction en champ pulsé, les profils ERIC-PCR et la sensibilité aux antibiotiques. La circulation de certaines souches a ainsi pu être mise en évidence. Par ailleurs, un cas de syndrome hémolytique et urémique dû à une souche de Escherichia coli ne produisant pas de toxine de Shiga a été étudié.

Centre National de Référence pour Corynebacterium diphtheriae (Patrick Grimont et Anne Le Flèche)

Le CNR-Cd confirme l'identification des Corynebacterium diphtheriae et C. ulcerans, recherche le gène de la toxine diphtérique par amplification génique, et effectue le typage moléculaire des souches. En collaboration avec Francine Grimont et dans le cadre du réseau OMS-Europe ELWGD (European Laboratory Working Group on Diphtheria) et du réseau DIPNET (DG-SANCO), une base de donnée de ribotypes de C. diphtheriae a été construite après étude de 576 souches isolées dans de nombreux pays dont l'ancienne URSS. Ces souches se distribuent en 86 ribotypes. Le logiciel Taxotron a été choisi pour l'identification automatique des ribotypes. Avec des collègues du réseau international, nous avons participé à une étude sur les souches de Corynebacterium diphtheriae isolées en Russie du Nord-Ouest, Roumanie et Moldavie. Les souches roumaines se différenciaient nettement des souches russes et moldaves par leur ribotype, pulsotype et profil RAPD.

Centre d'Identification Moléculaire des Bactéries (Anne Le Flèche et Patrick Grimont)

Le CIMB a été créé en 2000 pour identifier toutes sortes de bactéries par des méthodes moléculaires en première intention (séquençage du gène rrs ou d'autres gènes, ribotypie automatisée, amplification génique). Les souches étudiées proviennent de laboratoires cliniques, vétérinaires, industriels ou de l'environnement. En 2001, parmi les souches étudiées par séquençage, 79% se sont réparties en 123 espèces différentes connues appartenant à 62 genres, 5% à des taxons de séquence connue mais non encore nommés, 15% à des espèces inconnues de genres connus et 1% à de nouvelles branches phylogénétiques. Les souches non industrielles qui ne correspondent à aucune espèce décrite, sont inclues dans nos programmes de recherche taxonomique.

Projet " Cuisine expérimentale " (Patrick Grimont, Martine Lefèvre, Corinne Ruckly)

Un programme, soutenu par Procter & Gamble, a permis d'étudier la dissémination de bacilles traceurs dans une cuisine expérimentale dans le but d'évaluer des stratégies de désinfection. Les routes de contamination ont été observées et l'effet de la désinfection par différents produits a été mesuré. Globalement, une contamination des surfaces est réduite d'un à trois logs par la dessication (selon l'espèce bactérienne en cause), de trois logs par le nettoyage avec un détergent ordinaire et de plus de six logs (désinfection totale) par un détergent antibactérien. Les leçons tirées de ce travail devraient permettre de prévenir certaines toxi-infections alimentaires en désinfectant les points chauds de contamination.

Laboratoire de R&D (Béatrice Regnault et Patrick Grimont)

Ce laboratoire de Recherche et Développement était financé sur contrats industriels. En sept ans, il a acquis une grande expérience en hybridation in situ en fluorescence et mis au point la détection et le dénombrement rapide de certaines espèces bactériennes dans l'eau, les aliments, ou les prélèvements cliniques. La frontière entre la vie et la mort des bactéries a été étudiée Il a été démontré que la revivification des bactéries en présence de ciprofloxacine permet de distinguer les bactéries vivantes (qui s'allongent) de celles qui sont mortes. En 2003, les activités de ce laboratoire seront fusionnées à celles du CIMB.

Photo: Ribotypes de Corynebacterium diphtheriae produits par le RiboPrinter et traités par Taxotron (avec filtrage mathématique). Le marqueur de taille est dans les pistes 1, 4, 7, 10 et 13.

Mots-clés: Bactériologie, Taxonomie, Phylogénomique, Entérobactéries, Typage moléculaire, Identification, Génétique des Populations



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Sylvain, Chantal (csylvain@pasteur.fr )

Lebri, Zoulika (départ en janvier 2003)

Valérie Abihssira (abihssir@pasteur.fr )

Grimont, Patrick, Institut Pasteur (Professeur, pgrimont@pasteur.fr )

Grimont, Francine, INSERM (CR1, fgrimont@pasteur.fr )

Bouvet, Philippe, Institut Pasteur (CR, départ en septembre 2002)

Brisse, Sylvain, Institut Pasteur (CR, arrivé en janvier 2003, sbrisse@pasteur.fr )

Weill, François-Xavier, Institut Pasteur (CAM, arrivé en janvier 2003, fxweill@pasteur.fr )

Ait-Tayeb, Lineda (thésarde)

Bermond-Tilly, Delphine (post-doc)

Jamin, Yann (stagiaire)

Koneva, Natalia (stagiaire)

Lemaire, Céline (stagiaire)

Loubinoux, Julien (stagiaire)

Luc, Audrey (stagiaire)

Villarino, Andrea (thésarde)

Le Flèche, Anne (Ingénieur Technologue CIMB, lefleche@pasteur.fr)

Regnault, Béatrice (Ingénieur Technologue R&D, départ en Janvier 2003)

Janvier, Monique (Ingénieur, Enseignements)

Arnoux, Yolande (Tech., CIMB)

Carle, Isabelle (Tech., CNR E. coli-Shigella)

Demartin, Marie (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Fabre, Laetitia (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Guesnier, Françoise (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Issenhuth-Jeanjean, Sylvie (Tech., R&D CNR Salmonella)

Lefevre, Martine (Tech., CIMB)

Lejay-Collin, Monique (Tech., CNR E. coli-Shigella)

Lomprez, Fabienne (Tech., CIMB)

Martin-Delautre, Sylvie (Tech., CNR E. coli-Shigella)

Passet, Virginie (Tech.)

Polomack, Bernadette (Tech., CNR Salmonella)

Ruckly, Corinne (Tech., CIMB et CNR Salmonella)

Sanquer, Laurence (Tech., CNR Salmonella)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr