Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Lymphocyte Population Biology - URA CNRS 1961


  Director : FREITAS Antonio (afreitas@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main research objectives of the " Unité de Biologie des Populations Lymphocytaires " are :

a) To study the homeostatic mechanisms that control the number of B and T lymphocytes.

b) To study lymphocyte population dynamics. To quantify the rates of cell production and death as well as the rates of cell renewal. To study the mechanisms of lymphocyte survival.

To study the role of lymphocyte competition in the selection and control of the immune responses. To study the mechanisms implicated in immune tolerance. To study the mechanisms of immune memory induction and persistence.



  report

cale

The role of Treg cells in the control of CD4 T cell homeostasis(Afonso Almeida).

We have continued to study the characteristics and relevance of the regulatory CD4+CD25+ T cell subpopulation which control peripheral T cell homeostasis. After establishing that these cells require IL2 in the peripheral pools for survival and/or function, we have investigated the possible sources of the IL2 used by the CD4+CD25+ T cells. We have also investigated the homing proprieties of the CD25- and CD25+ CD4+ T cell subpopulations, as well as the steady-state kinetics of the populations originated after transfer into T cell deficient hosts. We have extended our studies to the effects of CD4+CD25+ cells in the expansion of CD8+ T cells or CD8+ T cell subsets. We have also investigated the mechanisms responsible for the CD4+CD25+ regulatory T cell action. Some of the results and conclusions mentioned were published recently (JI).

Role of the IL- 7/ IL-7 receptor axis on T cell homeostasis (Jaime Franco).

The size of the peripheral T cell pool is set by homeostatic mechanisms not yet fully understood. Interleukin (IL)-7 has been involved in the generation and survival of T cells, and probably is also determining the population size. However, the quantitative relation between IL-7 level and T cell number is unknown. We will quantify the availability of IL-7 in different chimeric mice, and assess its effects on T cell homeostasis. As an alternative approach, we will reconstitute mice with bone marrow (BM) mixtures containing variable proportions of competent and knockout cells. We will rescue irradiated mice with dosed mixtures of IL-7+/IL-7-/- BM cells to grade the body IL-7 production. This will allow us to quantify the IL-7 required in T cell survival in the peripheral pools. We will also generate CD4+ T cells producing alternatively IL-7 or soluble IL-7 receptors (sIL-7R), by infecting mature T cells or BM stem cells with modified retroviral vectors. These cells will be then studied to know whether they can act as regulatory T cells by altering the local available levels of IL-7.

Kinetics and Homeostasis of Th1 and Th2 Cell Populations (Vanesa Guajardo).

We investigate the kinetics, the survival requirements, the competitive capacity and the mutual cell interactions of Th1 and Th2 (CD4+ T cells) populations in the absence or presence of antigenic stimulation. We aim to elucidate the mechanisms which regulate the final outcome of a T cell response following a given infection. We use Stat4-/- and Stat6-/- deficient mice, on a Balb/c genetic background, as precursors for the Th1 and Th2 T cells. The Stat4 and Stat6 genes are involved in phosphorylation cascades as a result of specific cytokine stimulation on CD4+ T cells. In the absence of Stat4 the response to IL-12 is impaired and T cells tend to a Th2 development. In contrast, the absence of Stat6 leads to a propensity towards Th1, as it blocks T cells response to IL-4 stimulation.

Competition and survival among CD4 memory T cells (Sylvie Garcia).

The survival properties of CD4 memory T cells are one of the parameters that control the composition of the memory compartment. Two aspects of these mechanisms will be explored. The competition between different memory subsets will be analyzed by co-transferring several types of TCR transgenic memory CD4 T cells into adoptive immune-deficient hosts. The capacities of newly generated CD4 T cell memory subpopulation to compete with preexistent CD4 memory pool will be assessed by sequential transfers of different TCR transgenic memory and naïve CD4 T cells into adoptive immune-deficient hosts. In both cases, the fate of each memory subsets will be studied regarding to the specificity, function (Th1 vs Th2 memory) and age of memory cells. These studies should help to understand the rules that govern the generation and maintenance of the memory CD4 T cell pool during acute (i.e. vaccination) or chronic (i.e. HIV infection) antigenic stimulations.

CD8 T cell survival (Nicolas Legrand).

In order to test the influence of MHC class I presence or absence on the survival and lymphopenia-driven proliferation of CD8+ T cells, we have developed a new adoptive transfer system of T lymphocytes into hosts with different MHC class I expression patterns. Donors T cells, isolated from mouse strains transgenic for the TCR in a RAG-deficient genetic background (MoaHY, MoP14 and MoOT-1 mice), were separately transferred into different types of recipient animals: T-cell deficient mice intact (CD3-/-), partially deficient (CD3-/-xH-2Db-/- and CD3-/-xH-2Kb-/-) or totally deficient for the expression of MHC class I molecules ("TetraKO" mice: CD3-/-x2m-/-xH-2Db-/-xH-2Kb-/-). After transfer into MHC class I molecules intact hosts, T cells show a maintenance without division (MoaHY) or strong lymphopenia-driven proliferation capacity (MoP14, MoOT-1), depending on the hierarchy of TCR cross-reactivity (MoOT-1>MoP14>MoaHY). After transfer into H-2Db-deficient mice, MoaHY and MoP14 T cell populations, both H-2Db-restricted, dramatically disappear in less than 2 days. In the case of the highly cross-reactive OT-1 TCR expressing lymphocytes (H-2Kb-restricted), transfer into H-2Kb-deficient mice interestingly shows accumulation of highly proliferating T cells. The usage of "TetraKO" mice should allow us to precise the controversial role of MHC class I molecules in the survival of memory CD8+ T cells.

B cell homeostasis and selection (Emmanuelle Gaudin).

We studied the development of hen egg lysozyme (HEL)-specific B cells in presence of varying amounts of HEL neo self-antigen. We found that both the quantity of antigen and the avidity of the B cell determine the fate of the self-reactive B cells. High doses of antigen delete or functionally impair "high and low avidity" B cells. Low quantities of antigen, allow "high avidity" B cells to escape negative selection and positively select "low avidity" self-reactive B cells that express few HEL-specific BCRs. A fraction of these B cells is activated and secretes self-reactive IgMs, which form immune complexes in the serum with circulating self-antigen. These results suggest that natural serum antibodies may be the result of the selection and activation of low avidity self-reactive B cells by self-antigen.

Notch signaling in lymphocyte development and survival (Alix de la Coste).

Using a system of retroviral infection we have recently developed, in collaboration with Yacine Laabi, UDL, Pasteur, a new strategy for the over-expression of the Delta1 and Jagged2 Notch ligands. We have reconstituted lethally irradiated Rag-/- or B6 mice with foetal liver cells infected with the control vector or the vector expressing the Delta like 1 ligand. We have studied the reconstituted mice at 3 or 7 weeks after FL transfer. Mice reconstituted with FL cells expressing Delta 1 showed significant changes in lymphocyte development. In the BM we observed a strong inhibition of B cells differentiation accompanied by a marked infiltration by DP CD4CD8 cells. Most peripheral lymphoid organs showed similar infiltration by DP CD4CD8 T cells. We will now attempt to characterize in detail all modification of lymphoid development induced by different Notch ligands.

Independent Attached Group (Paolo Truffa-Bachi).

Characterization of two genes expressed by T-cells activated in presence of cyclosporin A (Paolo Truffa-Bachi, Laurent Mascarell, Jean Kanellopoulos, Rodolphe Auger, Iris Motta, Andrés Alcover, Josyane Ragimbeaud & Véronique Cadet-Daniel)

We have cloned the cDNA encoded by 2 genes of unknown functions. These two genes are overexpressed in T lymphocytes activated by Concanavalin-A or the specific peptide in presence of immunosuppressors such as cyclosporin (CSA) or FK506 . The first encodes two proteins sharing the same C-terminal and different N-terminal regions. These proteins are located in the mitochondria and are probably implicated in cell apoptosis. The second gene induced by the immunosuppressors encodes for the synaptotagmine-2 like protein. CSA provokes new alternative spliced mRNA molecules. One of these mRNA is made by the assembly of the nucleotide sequences of two contiguous exons and of the corresponding intron (1545 nucleotides). This mRNA shares with the synaptotagmin the C-terminal sequence but differs in the N-terminal region. These data strongly argue that CSA and FK506 control the spliceosome machinery using different splicing sites, an hypothesis reinforced by the recent finding that cyclophilin, a receptor of CSA is a member of the spliceosome.

Photo: Mitochondrial localization of the T cell activated and cyclosporin A-induced protein. Human fibroblasts were transfected with the cDNA encoding this protein fused to GFP. Left panel: cells were labelled with mitotracker only. Middle panel:  localization of the GFP-fusion protein. Right panel: colocalization of the two fluorochromes

Keywords: B cells, T cells, lymphocyte homeostasis, lymphocyte survival, immunological memory



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  VOUGNY Marie-Christine (mcvougny@pasteur.fr) FREITAS Antonio IP (Pr,afreitas@pasteur.fr)

GARCIA Sylvie, IP (CR,sygarcia@pasteur.fr)

AGENES Fabien, Inserm (CR2,fagenes@pasteur.fr)

TRUFFA-BACHI Paolo, CNRS (DR2,ptbachi@pasteur.fr)

DE LA COSTE Alix, post-doc

BORGHANS Josephina, post-doc

MUNOZ FRANCO Jaime, post-doc

ALMEIDA Afonso, PhD student

LEGRAND Nicolas, PhD student

GAUDIN Emmanuelle, PhD student

SANCHEZ GUAJARDO Vanesa, PhD student

MASCAREL Laurent, PhD student

MAILHE-LEMBEZAT Marie-Pierre (tech sup labo,mpmailhe@pasteur.fr)

CADET-DANIEL Véronique (tech sup labo,vcadet@pasteur.fr)

VOUGNY Marie-Christine (Sec direction,mcvougny@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biologie des Populations Lymphocytaires - URA CNRS 1961


  Responsable : FREITAS Antonio (afreitas@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les principaux objectifs scientifiques de l'unité de Biologie des Populations Lymphocytaires sont :

a) L'étude des mécanismes homéostatiques qui déterminent et contrôlent le nombre de lymphocytes B et T.

b) L'étude des dynamiques des populations lymphocytaires. La quantification des taux de production et mort cellulaires ainsi que les taux de renouvellement lymphocytaire. L'étude des mécanismes de survie lymphocytaire.

L'étude du rôle de la compétition lymphocytaire dans la sélection et le contrôle des réponses immunes. L'étude des processus impliqués dans la régulation de la tolérance. L'étude des mécanismes impliqués dans l'induction et la persistance de la mémoire.



  rapport

cale

Rôle des cellules Treg dans le contrôle de l'homéostasie des cellules T CD4 T (Afonso Almeida).

Nous avons poursuivi l'étude des caractéristiques et de la signification physiologique des cellules T CD4+CD25+ qui contrôlent l'homéostasie des cellules T périphériques. Après avoir établit que ces cellules requièrent de l'IL-2 pour leur survie et/ou fonction à la périphérie, nous avons recherché les sources potentielles d'IL-2 impliquées. Nous avons également recherché les propriétés de " homing " des cellules T CD4 CD25- et CD25+ ainsi que leurs cinétiques au point d'équilibre lorsqu'elles sont issues de transfert dans des hôtes déficients en cellules T. Nous avons étendu notre étude aux effets des cellules T CD4+CD25+ sur l'expansion des cellules T CD8+ T. Nous avons également recherché les mécanismes responsables de la fonction régulatrice des cellules T CD4+CD25+. Certains de ces résultats ont été publiés récemment (JI).

Rôle de l'IL- 7/ IL-7 récepteur sur l'homéostasie des cellules T (Jaime Franco).

La taille du pool périphérique des cellules T est contrôlée par des mécanismes homéostatiques encore non clairement élucidés. L'IL-7 a été impliquée dans la génération et la survie des cellules T et elle joue probablement un rôle dans la taille des populations. Cependant, la relation quantitative entre niveau d'IL-7 et nombre de cellules T est inconnue. Nous projetons de quantifier l'IL-7 disponible dans différentes souris chimériques et d'analyser ses effets sur l'homéostasie T. En parallèle, nous reconstituerons des souris avec des mélanges de moelles osseuses (BM) contenant des proportions variables de précurseurs compétents et incompétents. Ces souris irradiées seront traitées par un mélange de BM IL-7+/IL-7-/- à différents ratios. Ceci devrait nous permettre de quantifier l'IL-7 requise pour la survie des cellules T à la périphérie. Nous génèrerons aussi des cellules T CD4 produisant de l'IL-7 ou du récepteur soluble à l'IL-7 (sIL-7R), par infection de cellules matures ou de précurseurs de BM par des vecteurs rétroviraux modifiés. La fonction régulatrice de ces cellules par modifications des concentrations locales d'IL-7 sera étudiée.

Cinétiques et homéostasie des sous-populations Th1 et Th2 (Vanesa Sanchez-Guajardo).

Notre étude concerne les cinétiques, les exigences de survie, la capacité de compétition et les interactions mutuelles cellulaires des sous-populations T CD4 Th1 et Th2 en absence et en présence de stimulation antigénique. Nous proposons d'élucider les mécanismes qui contrôlent la nature de la réponse T finale à une infection donnée. Nous utiliserons des souris déficientes Stat4-/- et Stat6-/- sur un fond génétique Balb/c comme précurseurs des cellules T Th1 et Th2. Les gènes Stat4 et Stat6 sont impliqués dans la cascade de phosphorylation résultant de la stimulation des cellules T CD4 par des cytosines spécifiques. En l'absence de Stat4, la réponse à l'IL-12 est altérée et les cellules T tendent à une différenciation Th2. Au contraire, l'absence de Stat6 induit une différenciation Th1 par blocage de la réponse T à l'IL-4.

Competition and survival au sein des cellules T CD4 mémoires (Sylvie Garcia).

La compétition pour la survie est l'un des paramètres qui contrôlent la composition du compartiment CD4 mémoire. Deux aspects de ces mécanismes seront explorés. La compétition entre différentes sous-populations de cellules mémoires sera étudiée en co-transférant différents types de cellules T CD4 mémoires transgéniques pour différents TCR dans des souris hôtes immunodéficientes. La capacité de cellules T CD4 mémoires nouvellement générées à entrer en compétition avec un pool de cellules CD4 mémoires préexistent sera également testée par transferts adoptifs séquentiels de cellules T CD4 mémoires et naives transgéniques exprimant différents TCR dans des souris hôtes immunodéficientes. Le devenir de chaque sous-population de cellules T mémoires sera suivi dans ces deux systèmes en fonction de la spécificité, la fonction (Th1 vs Th2) et l'âge des cellules mémoires. Ces études devraient contribuer à la compréhension des règles qui gouvernent la génération et la maintenance du pool des cellules T CD4 mémoires au cours de stimulations antigéniques aiguës (i.e. vaccination) ou chroniques (i.e. infection par le VIH).

Survie des cellules T CD8 (Nicolas Legrand).

Afin de tester l'influence de la présence ou de l'absence de molécule de classe I du CMH sur la survie et la prolifération induite par lymphopénie des cellules T CD8, nous avons développé un nouveau système de transfert adoptif de cellules T monoclonales (MoaHY, MoP14, MoOT-1) dans des hôtes présentant différents patterns d'expression de molécules de classe I (CD3-/- , CD3-/-H-2Db-/-, CD3-/-H-2Kb-/-, CD3-/-ß2m-/-H-2Db-/-H-2Kb-/-). Après transfert dans des hôtes intacts pour les classes I, les cellules T montrent une maintenance sans division (MoaHY), ou associée à une forte prolifération induite par lymphopénie (MoP14, MoOT-1) selon la hiérarchie de leur réactivité respective (MoOT-1>MoP14>MoaHY). Après transfert dans des hôtes H-2Db-/-, Les cellules T MoaHY et MoP14 T (toutes H-2Db-restreintes) disparaissent en moins de 2 jours. A l'inverse, dans le cas des cellules T MoOT-1(H-2Kb-restricted), un transfert dans des hôtes H-2Kb-/- montre une accumulation de cellules en division. L'usage d'hôtes "TetraKO" devrait nous permettre de préciser le rôle controversé des molécules de classe I dans la survie des cellules T CD8+ mémoires.

B cell homeostasis and selection (Emmanuelle Gaudin).

La présence et la dose d'Ag (notamment d'auto-antigène), jouent un rôle primordial dans la sélection et la survie des cellules B. Afin d'étudier l'influence de cet élément, nous avons mis au point un modèle murin dans lequel des cellules B de spécificité connue (Tg pour 1 BcR de haute avidité) se développent en présence d'auto-antigène (HEL). Les résultats obtenus mettent en évidence que la sélection négative des cellules B auto-spécifiques n'est complète que lorsque l'antigène est présent en quantités suffisantes. Des cellules B auto-réactives de haute avidité (comme pour HEL) sont donc à même de perdurer en présence d'auto-antigène. Des expériences identiques, menées avec des cellules doubles Tg exprimant 2 BcR (anti-HEL et anti-TNP) et dont l'avidité globale pour HEL est faible mettent en évidence un accroissement du nombre de cellules spécifiques du HEL corrélé avec l'augmentation de la dose d'Ag disponible. Ceci est accompagné d'une augmentation significative du taux des IgM sériques en présence de faibles doses de HEL. Nous apportons ici la première preuve de la sélection positive des cellules B conventionnelles.

Notch signaling in lymphocyte development and survival (Alix de la Coste).

Notre principal sujet d'intérêt est le rôle de la voie de signalisation Notch au cours du développement lymphocytaire, et notamment l'activation de cette voie par les ligands Delta like-1 et Jagged. Pour cette étude, nous avons utilisé, en collaboration avec Yacine Laabi (Institut Pasteur,UDL), une stratégie de sur-expression, par un système d'infection rétrovirale. Le vecteur rétroviral contient à la fois le gène d'intérêt et la protéine GFP sous le contrôle du même promoteur, ce qui permet de suivre par fluorescence les cellules génétiquement modifiées. Nous avons ensuite reconstitué des souris Rag déficientes (dépourvues de lymphocytes T et B) ou B6, létalement irradiées, avec des cellules de foies fœtaux (e 14) infectées par le rétrovirus mDll1 ou par le vecteur contrôle. Les souris analysées dans leur 7ème semaine de reconstitution présentent de fortes perturbations du développement lymphocytaire : un développement ectopique de cellules T CD4+CD8+ est observé dans la moelle osseuse associé à une très forte inhibition du développement B. Ce phénotype est retrouvé à la périphérie. Nous allons maintenant nous attacher à tenter de comprendre le rôle du ligand Delta like-1 et d'identifier les signaux induits.

Groupe Indépendant Rataché (Paolo Truffa-Bachi) : Caractérisation de gènes exprimés par les lymphocytes T activés en présence de cyclosporine A (Paolo Truffa-Bachi, Laurent Mascarell, Jean Kanellopoulos, Rodolphe Auger, Iris Motta, Andrès Alcover Josyane Ragimbeaud & Véronique Cadet-Daniel).

Nous avons cloné les cDNA codés par 2 gènes de fonction inconnue. Ceux-ci sont sur-exprimés uniquement par les lymphocytes T activés par la Concavaline-A ou le peptide spécifique en présence d'immunosuppresseurs comme la cyclosporine A (CSA) ou le FK506. Le premier code pour deux isoformes ayant en commun la partie C-terminale et se différenciant par l'extrémité N-terminale. Nous avons montré que ces deux protéines ont une localisation mitochondriale et qu'elles semblent être impliquées dans l'apoptose des cellules qui les sur-expriment. Le deuxième gène induit par la CSA code pour la " synaptotagmine-2 like " protéine. La CSA conduit à un épissage alternatif nouveau produisant un ARN messager comportant une phase de lecture ouverte. Cet ARNm comprend deux séquences exoniques et la séquence intronique (1545 nucléotides) correspondante. Il code pour une protéine dont la partie C-terminale est commune à celle de la " synaptotagmine-2 like " protéine. Ainsi, la CSA pourrait participer au contrôle de la machinerie du spliceosome en modifiant les sites d'épissage, une hypothèse renforcée par le rapport récent qu'une cyclophiline, la cible de la CSA, est liée à des protéines du spliceosome.

Photo:Localisation mitochondrial de la protéine induite par la cyclosporine A dans les cellules T activées. Des firbroblastes humains ont été transfectés par l'ADNc codant pour cette protéine fusionnée à la GFP. A gauche: cellules seulement marquées par le mitotracker. Centre: localisation de la protéine-fusion GFP. Droite: colocalisation des deux marqueurs fluorescents.

Mots-clés: cellules B, cellule T, homéostasie lymphocytaire, survie lymphocytaire, mémoire immunologique



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  VOUGNY Marie-Christine (mcvougny@pasteur.fr) FREITAS Antonio IP (Pr,afreitas@pasteur.fr)

GARCIA Sylvie, IP (CR,sygarcia@pasteur.fr)

AGENES Fabien, Inserm (CR2,fagenes@pasteur.fr)

TRUFFA-BACHI Paolo, CNRS (DR2,ptbachi@pasteur.fr)

DE LA COSTE Alix, post-doc

Josephina, post-doc

MUNOZ FRANCO Jaime, post-doc

ALMEIDA Afonso, étudiant thèse

LEGRAND Nicolas, étudiant thèse

GAUDIN Emmanuelle, étudiante thèse

SANCHEZ GUAJARDO Vanesa, étudiante thèse

MASCAREL Laurent, étudiant thèse

MAILHE-LEMBEZAT Marie-Pierre (tech sup labo,mpmailhe@pasteur.fr)

CADET-DANIEL Véronique (tech sup labo,vcadet@pasteur.fr)

VOUGNY Marie-Christine (Sec direction,mcvougny@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr