Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Innate Host Defense and Inflammation


  Director : Chignard Michel (chignard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our studies deal with innate defense and inflammation of the lung and are performed with different in vitro approaches as well as with animal models. We investigate in such a pathophysiological context the role of epithelial cells, alveolar macrophages, neutrophils and their receptors (Toll-like receptors (TLR), proteinase-activated receptors (PAR) and CD87). Another aspect of our research deals with the effect of surfactant on alveolar macrophages (synthesis of phospholipases A2 (PLA2), IL-10 and TNF-a) as well as the interaction of PLA2 with the surfactant-protein A (SP-A) (see figure).



  report

cale

The lung is the site of various diseases for which the mechanisms of innate defense and lung inflammation play a major role. Acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), cystic fibrosis or invasive pulmonary aspergillosis are typical lung inflammatory diseases. The induction of innate defense is a beneficial process but its exacerbation may lead to a pathologic inflammatory status. Therefore, the major aim of our research is to contribute to the qualitative and quantitative understanding of the mechanisms involved in these diseases, which would allow to target the events enhancing innate immunity without exacerbating the inflammatory process.

Cellular interactions in pulmonary airspaces (Michel Chignard, Dominique Pidard and Mustapha Si-Tahar)

During the respiratory cycle, the airways are exposed to numerous particles and microbes. Cells of the immune system interact with these potentially infectious elements through cell surface structures, including the TLR. Among the ten known mammalian TLR, TLR2 and TLR4 have been the best characterized. The lung is also protected by a unique local immunoregulatory system, i.e. the epithelium-derived surfactant. The major surfactant protein, the collectin SP-A, is able to modulate cytokine secretion. Recently, we obtained evidence that the activation by SP-A of the transcription factor NF-kB and of the secretion of cytokines such as TNF-a and IL-10 involve TLR4. Besides, we detected TLR4 and TLR2 expression by several human pulmonary epithelial cell lines and observed that these cells are responsive to stimulation by lipopolysaccharides (LPS) and lipoteichoic acid, two microbial ligands of TLR4 and TLR2, respectively.

Macrophages and polymorphonuclear neutrophils participate actively to inflammatory and infectious pulmonary diseases. Concerning neutrophils, three secretable serine proteinases particularly account for their effects, namely elastase, cathepsin G and proteinase 3. We have focused our research on the analysis of the effects of these proteinases on different membrane receptors involved in the innate defense and inflammatory processes. Current studies show an effect of elastase and cathepsin G on leukocytes themselves, through their capacity to proteolytically lower the membrane expression of CD87/uPAR (urokinase-type plasminogen activator receptor), a glycoprotein also expressed by epithelial cells, and involved in mechanisms of cell adhesion and migration, as well as in tissue repair. Experiments have revealed that these proteinases also cleave PAR-2, a receptor expressed at the surface of pulmonary epithelial cells. Such a receptor, for which the (patho)physiological agonist(s) are not yet characterized, is most likely involved in the mechanisms of innate defense and inflammation. We also demonstrated, in a collaborative work with the Viral Immunity Unit, that elastase inhibits the activity of CXCR4 as well as that of its ligand, the chemokine SDF-1, a pair which can play a role in the pathogenesis of infectious and inflammatory diseases, notably within the lungs. Our current studies consider also the potential activity of bacterial proteinases on these receptors.

Using a murine experimental model, we showed that administration of LPS in the airways triggers neutrophil migration whose presence correlates with an anti-elastase activity. We established that this activity is due to DNA, and is recovered from the airspaces of ARDS patients. The neutrophil influx is partly due to TNF-a produced by LPS-activated alveolar macrophages. Unexpectedly, these activated macrophages are unable to synthesize IL-10, an anti-inflammatory cytokine. SP-A may explain this particular phenotype as we showed that this protein is able to down-regulate IL-10 production by cells from the monocytic lineage. Interestingly, during an experimental lethal pulmonary infection with Aspergillus fumigatus (collaboration with the Aspergillus Unit), IL-10 is detected in the airspaces and such a production could play a role in animal mortality. Our current studies demonstrate the involvement of TLR2 and TLR4 in this pathology as mice deficient for one of these two receptors are more susceptible to infection.

Mechanisms of regulation and roles of phospholipase A2 in lung inflammatory diseases (Lhousseine Touqui)

PLA2 catalyse the hydrolysis of phospholipids at the sn-2 position, leading to the generation of cytotoxic lysophospholipids and free fatty acids such as arachidonic acid (AA). The latter is the precursor of leukotrienes and prostaglandins endowed with various biological activities and involved in a number of inflammatory diseases. Moreover, hydrolysis of cell membrane phospholipids by PLA2 induces the reorganisation of the structure of these membranes and changes of their physico-chemical properties. Recent studies showed the existence of several types of PLA2 whose genes have been cloned and classified in several families including intracellular and secretory PLA2 (sPLA2). The type IIA sPLA2 (sPLA2-IIA) is suggested to play a significant role in different human inflammatory diseases, such as allergic rhinitis, rhumatoïd arthritis, septic shock or ARDS. We developed an animal model which reproduces the anatomopathological criteria of human ARDS. This model is based on the intratracheal administration of LPS to guinea pigs. We showed that LPS causes an acute pulmonary inflammation accompanied by an increased expression of sPLA2-IIA and its release in the alveolar space. Alveolar macrophages are the main source of this enzyme whose expression is induced by an autocrine/paracrine process mediated by TNF-a. Stimulation of sPLA2-IIA synthesis by LPS is due to induction of the expression of this enzyme at the transcriptional level via a process involving the activation of the transcriptional factor NF-kB. In contrast, another transcription factor, the peroxisome proliferator activated receptor-g (PPAR-g) inhibits sPLA2-IIA expression. Recent results demonstrated that AA down-regulates the expression of sPLA2-IIA mainly via its cyclooxygenase-dependent metabolites and through the inhibition of NF-kB activation. AA can also down-regulates sPLA2-IIA expression by a cyclooxygenase-independent mechanism, involving the activation of PPAR-g. Finally, we showed that sPLA2-IIA is involved in the hydrolysis of surfactant phospholipids and suggested that this process may play a role in the deterioration of the pulmonary surfactant. Similar results were obtained using another model of ARDS induced by intratracheal instillation of Pseudomonas aeruginosa to rat. This deterioration is a typical characteristic of ARDS, leading to the permanent affixing of the alveolar walls, thus blocking the diffusion of oxygen. We also showed that hydrolysis of surfactant phospholipids is controlled by SP-A, which inhibits the catalytic activity of sPLA2-IIA via a specific and calcium-dependent interaction. Thus, hydrolysis of surfactant phospholipids was enhanced both in vitro and in vivo in SP-A -/- mice as compared to wild-type mice. SP-A was also able to inhibit the enzymatic activity of sPLA2-V and -X, but not that of sPLA2-IB, -IID and -IIE. These properties of SP-A may represent a mechanism by which the lung protects surfactant against the deleterious effect of sPLA2.

Keywords: innate defense/inflammation, epithelial cells, neutrophils, macrophages, Toll-like receptors, proteinases phospholipases A2, surfactant, lung



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Villeneuve Josiane (jvillene@pasteur.fr) Chignard Michel, Inserm (DR1,chignard@pasteur.fr)

Pidard Dominique, CNRS (CR1,dpidard@pasteur.fr)

Si-Tahar Mustapha, Inserm (CR2,sitahar@pasteur.fr)

Touqui Lhousseine, IP (CR,touqui@pasteur.fr)

Beaufort Nathalie PhD student (beaufort@pasteur.fr)

Chabot Sophie PhD student (schabot@pasteur.fr)

Dulon Sophie PhD student (sdulon@pasteur.fr)

Guillot Loïc PhD student (lguillot@pasteur.fr)

Medjane Samir PhD student (smedjane@pasteur.fr )

Wu Yongzheng Postdoc (wuyzh@pasteur.fr)

Balloy Viviane (Technician Inserm,vballoy@pasteur.fr)

Leduc Dominique (Technician IP,dleduc@pasteur.fr)

Thouron Françoise (Technician IP,fthouron@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Défense innée et Inflammation


  Responsable : Chignard Michel (chignard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos travaux concernent la défense innée et l'inflammation pulmonaire et utilisent diverses approches in vitro ainsi que des modèles animaux. Nous étudions dans ce contexte physiopathologique le rôle des cellules épithéliales, des macrophages alvéolaires, des neutrophiles et de leurs récepteurs ("Toll-like receptors" (TLR), "proteinase-activated receptors" (PAR), et CD87). Un autre aspect de nos recherches concerne l'effet du surfactant sur les macrophages alvéolaires (synthèse de phospholipases A2 (PLA2) et de cytokines) ainsi que l'interaction entre PLA2 et la "surfactant protein A" (SP-A) (voir figure).



  rapport

cale

Les poumons sont le siège de différentes pathologies dans lesquelles les mécanismes de défense innée et d'inflammation interviennent de façon essentielle. Parmi celles-ci figurent des pathologies majeures telles que le syndrome de détresse respiratoire aiguë (SDRA), la broncho-pneumopathie chronique obstructive, la mucoviscidose, ou encore l'aspergillose pulmonaire invasive. Le processus de défense innée est naturellement bénéfique, mais son exacerbation peut conduire à des états inflammatoires préjudiciables. C'est dans ce contexte que nos travaux se proposent d'apporter une meilleure connaissance qualitative et quantitative des mécanismes impliqués, et qui pourrait permettre de cibler les évènements favorisant la défense innée sans augmenter la composante inflammatoire.

Interactions cellulaires dans l'environnement aérien pulmonaire (Michel Chignard, Dominique Pidard et Mustapha Si-Tahar)

Au cours du cycle respiratoire, les espaces aériens sont exposés à une multitude de particules et de micro-organismes. Les cellules du système immunitaire identifient ces éléments potentiellement infectieux au moyen notamment des TLR. Parmi les dix TLR identifiés à ce jour chez les mammifères, TLR2 et TLR4 sont les mieux caractérisés. Le poumon est également protégé par un système immuno-régulateur local, le surfactant pulmonaire. La protéine majeure du surfactant, la SP-A, est capable de moduler la production de cytokines pro-inflammatoires. Récemment, nous avons mis en évidence que l'activation par la SP-A du facteur de transcription NF-k B et de la synthèse de cytokines comme le TNF-a et l'IL-10, est dépendante de TLR4. Par ailleurs, nous avons observé une expression de TLR4 et de TLR2 dans plusieurs lignées de cellules épithéliales pulmonaires humaines et une activation de ces cellules par les lipopolysacharides (LPS) et l'acide lipotéchoïque, des composés bactériens respectivement reconnus par TLR4 et TLR2.

Les macrophages et les polynucléaires neutrophiles jouent un rôle important dans les pathologies pulmonaires inflammatoires et infectieuses. Dans le cas des neutrophiles, leurs effets s'exercent en particulier au travers de la libération de trois sérine protéinases, l'élastase, la cathepsine G et la protéinase 3. Nous nous sommes attachés à analyser l'activité de ces protéinases sur divers récepteurs membranaires impliqués dans les processus de défense innée et d'inflammation. Des travaux sont en cours montrant un effet de l'élastase et de la cathepsine G sur les leucocytes eux-mêmes, au travers d'une diminution de l'expression membranaire de CD87/uPAR ("urokinase-type plasminogen activator receptor"), une glycoprotéine également exprimée par les cellules épithéliales, et impliquée dans les mécanismes d'adhérence et de migration cellulaires et dans la réparation tissulaire. Des expériences ont montré que ces mêmes protéinases clivent le PAR-2 exprimé par les cellules épithéliales pulmonaires. Ce récepteur, dont on ne connaît pas le (ou les) activateur(s) physio(patho)logique(s), est également impliqué dans les mécanismes de défense innée et d'inflammation. Nous avons également montré, en collaboration avec l'unité d'Immunologie Virale, que l'élastase inhibe l'activité de CXCR4 et de son ligand, la chimiokine SDF-1, un couple pouvant jouer un rôle dans la pathogenèse des maladies infectieuses et inflammatoire, notamment au niveau pulmonaire. Nos travaux actuels envisagent également l'activité de protéinases bactériennes sur ces récepteurs.

Sur le plan de la modélisation de pathologies in vivo, nous avons observé dans un modèle murin que l'administration de LPS dans les voies aériennes induit la migration des neutrophiles dont la présence est corrélée avec l'apparition d'une activité anti-élastase. Nous venons de montrer que cette activité est due à l'ADN, et est retrouvée dans les espaces aériens de patients souffrants de SDRA. Par ailleurs, la migration des neutrophiles est contrôlée, en partie, par le TNF-a produit par les macrophages alvéolaires activés par le LPS. Ces mêmes macrophages activés sont incapables de synthétiser l'IL-10, une cytokine anti-inflammatoire. Il apparaît que la SP-A explique ce phénotype particulier car nous avons observé qu'elle est capable de réprimer la synthèse d'IL-10 par les cellules de la lignée monocytaire. Toutefois, l'IL-10 est détectée dans les espaces aériens lors d'une infection pulmonaire expérimentale létale provoquée par Aspergillus fumigatus chez la souris immunodéprimée (collaboration avec l'unité des Aspergillus). Cette production pourrait être impliquée dans la mortalité des animaux. Des travaux en cours montrent un rôle de TLR2 et de TLR4 dans cette pathologie puisque des souris génétiquement invalidées pour l'un ou l'autre de ces récepteurs sont plus sensibles à l'infection.

Mécanismes de régulation et rôles des phospholipases A2 dans les pathologies inflammatoires pulmonaires (Lhousseine Touqui)

Les PLA2 catalysent l'hydrolyse des phospholipides en position sn-2 conduisant à la génération de lysophospholipides cytotoxiques et d'acides gras libres, dont l'acide arachidonique (AA). Ce dernier est le précurseur des leucotriènes et des prostaglandines doués d'activités biologiques diverses et impliqués dans différentes pathologies inflammatoires.Par ailleurs, l'hydrolyse des phospholipides des membranes cellulaires par les PLA2 provoque une réorganisation de la structure de ces membranes et une modification de leurs propriétés physico-chimiques. Il existe plusieurs types de PLA2 dont les gènes ont été clonés et classés en deux familles : les PLA2 cytosoliques et les PLA2 sécrétées (sPLA2). La sPLA2 de type IIA (sPLA2-IIA) joue un rôle important dans des maladies inflammatoires comme l'arthrite rhumatoïde, le choc septique, les rhinites allergiques, ou le SDRA. Nous avons mis au point un modèle animal qui reproduit les critères anatomo-pathologiques du SDRA. Ce modèle est basé sur l'administration de LPS par voie intratrachéale chez le cobaye. Nous avons montré que le LPS provoque une inflammation pulmonaire aiguë accompagnée d'une expression accrue de la sPLA2-IIA et de sa libération dans l'espace alvéolaire. Les macrophages alvéolaires sont la principale source de cette enzyme dont l'expression est induite par un processus autocrine/paracrine impliquant le TNF-a. La stimulation de la synthèse de la sPLA2-IIA est due à l'induction de son expression à un niveau transcriptionel par un processus dépendant du facteur transcriptionnel NF-kB. En revanche, un autre facteur de transcription, le "peroxisome proliferator activated receptor-g" (PPAR-g) bloque l'expression de la sPLA2-IIA. L'AA inhibe l'expression de la sPLA2-IIA par un mécanisme impliquant les métabolites de la voie de la cyclooxygénase et aboutissant à un blocage de NF-kB. L'AA réprime également l'expression de la sPLA2-IIA par un mécanisme indépendant de la cyclooxygénase et dû à une stimulation du PPAR-g. Nous avons montré que la sPLA2-IIA intervient dans l'hydrolyse des phospholipides du surfactant pulmonaire et avons suggéré que ce processus pourrait être impliqué dans l'altération du surfactant. Des résultats similaires ont été observés dans un autre modèle de SDRA induit par une instillation intratrachéale de Pseudomonas aeruginosa chez le rat. L'altération du surfactant est une des caractéristiques du SDRA conduisant à l'apposition permanente des parois alvéolaires, entravant ainsi la diffusion de l'oxygène. Nous avons également montré que cette hydrolyse est régulée par la SP-A qui inhibe l'activité de la sPLA2-IIA par une interaction spécifique et dépendant du calcium. L'hydrolyse du surfactant par la sPLA2-IIA, est ainsi plus marquée in vitro et in vivo chez des souris SP-A -/- que chez des souris sauvages. La SP-A inhibe également l'activité des sPLA2-V et -X mais pas celle des sPLA2-IB, -IID et -IIE. Cette propriété de la SP-A pourrait être considérée comme un mécanisme de défense permettant au poumon de protéger le surfactant contre l'action délétère des sPLA2.

Mots-clés: défense innée/inflammation, cellules épithéliales, neutrophiles, macrophages, Toll-like receptors, protéinases, phospholipases A2, surfactant, poumon



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Villeneuve Josiane (jvillene@pasteur.fr) Chignard Michel, Inserm (DR1,chignard@pasteur.fr)

Pidard Dominique, CNRS (CR1,dpidard@pasteur.fr)

Si-Tahar Mustapha, Inserm (CR2,sitahar@pasteur.fr)

Touqui Lhousseine, IP (CR,touqui@pasteur.fr)

Beaufort Nathalie Thèse (beaufort@pasteur.fr)

Chabot Sophie Thèse (schabot@pasteur.fr)

Dulon Sophie Thèse (sdulon@pasteur.fr)

Guillot Loïc Thèse (lguillot@pasteur.fr)

Medjane Samir Thèse (smedjane@pasteur.fr )

Wu Yongzheng Postdoc (wuyzh@pasteur.fr)

Balloy Viviane (Technicienne Inserm,vballoy@pasteur.fr)

Leduc Dominique (Technicienne IP,dleduc@pasteur.fr)

Thouron Françoise (Technicienne IP,fthouron@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr