Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Center for Dynamic Imaging


  Director : S.L.SHORTE (sshorte@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

In its capacity as a core facility, established in 2001, the CID is a well equipped "technical-platform" PT-unit providing expertise and hardware to aide researchers in designing, performing and analysing experiments using digital imaging microscopy. In particular, our focus is on dynamic imaging in living cells and tissues in order to gain insight on questions concerning cell biology, cell signalling, cell/tissue organisation and infectious processes therein. The facility is open to researchers inside and outside Pasteur, who benefit both from the wide variety of cutting-edge techniques offered, and our commitment to pursuing challenging projects requiring novel solutions through collaborative R&D efforts.



  report

cale

The Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique (CID) is a new technological platform at the Institut Pasteur comprising a part of the Plateaux Techniques (PT) initiative instigated by the Direction des Equipments et Technologies Stratégiques (DETS). Specifically, the CID mission is to provide and develop high-level cellular imaging technology and expertise for addressing biological questions, which require visualisation and measurement of dynamic processes inside living cells. Albeit primarily a technical platform open to all, the CID is more specifically integrated into the Pasteur scientific community through a direct affiliation with the department of Cell Biology & Infection (P.Sansonetti), and has strong links to other departments including Developmental Biology (M.Buckingham), and Molecular Medicine (J.L.Virelizier). The combination of technical and scientific research-engineering expertise inside the CID renders this PT-unit a resource, affording Pasteur's researchers a unique and dedicated scientific service.

During July 2002, the equipment comprising the PT-Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique (CID) was installed into its new permanent location, a purpose-built laboratory facility comprising 10 independent imaging suites plus space for cell-tissue preparation and informatics. The purpose designed P2-level imaging facility comprises an ergonomic 200m2 "Biological Laboratory" environment (Bât.Monod) allowing imaging experiments on living tissue to be performed entirely inside the facilities. In addition, during 2002, we realised the installation of a high-speed 4-D imaging system in a P3 laboratory, in collaboration with the Dept. Molecular Medicine. For all systems, following appropriate training in the use of the microscopes and other equipment, our goal is to enable researchers with autonomous access to the facilities, where they can operate in a "home-from-home" scientific environment.

Complementing our service function, the CID also harbors and facilitates local, national and international collaboration initiatives involving biological imaging. For example, the "European Light Microscopy Initiative" (ELMI), through our partnership in the European funded EAMNET (European Advanced Microscopy Network), and in this capacity the CID participated in hosting the ELMI annual meeting (May 2002). Equally important, at a local level, the CID is also committed to support specific internal research programmes and in particular the "PTR" and "GPH" initiatives. Finally, the CID provides for specialised teaching/training courses for microscopy, and during 2002 (in collaboration with Zeiss, France) launched the first in a series of AIM (Advanced Imaging Microscopy) training-workshop courses that was attended by more than 50 people. During 2003 further courses are planned, and will be announced shortly.

Fuelling the above activities the CID puts a strong focus upon development and realisation of novel and advanced imaging techniques. Importantly, these initiatives are carefully tuned to the institute's research needs, in a grass-roots manner, involving continuous discussion with groups across the campus. During 2002 several projects have been developed and have proven their utility. Furthermore, one has yielded a European patent. Current topics of interest include:

-Three-dimensional visualisation of spatial signals inside non-adherent living cells

-Bioluminescence to measure biological activities inside single living cells, and/or tissues

-High-Speed 4-D microscopy

Equipment. The CID currently maintains twelve "state-of-the-art" microscopes, each customised for specific applications. Off these two are outside the central facility, including one high-speed 4-D "TILL" system placed in a P3 laboratory.

Single Photon Confocal Microscopes:

Zeiss LSM510 — Ar/He/Ne laser, equipped for FCS, FRAP, FRET and 3-/4-D imaging

Zeiss LSM510 — Ar/He/Ne laser, equipped for 3-D imaging

Leica TCS-4D Kr/Ar laser (permenantly situated in Lwoff building)

Perkin-Elmer — Nipkow spinning disk system for fast confocal imaging in live cells.

Two-Photon Microscope.

Zeiss LSM510 For "deep" in vivo and in situ4-D tissue visualisation.

Epi-fluorescence Digital Imaging Stations.

Three TILL "Fast" Imaging Systems equipped for quasi-real-time multi-dimensional imaging

Three Zeiss Multi-dimensional fluorescence time-lapse imaging systems.

One Quantitative "real-time" bioluminescence/fluorescence system enabling measurement of bioluminescence

from single living cells using promoter driven luciferase, or colentrazine,

IRIX based Hardware/Software:

Two SGI Octane2 Workstations plus 1 SGI ORIGEN 3400 Server (IRIX 6.5)

Huygens/BitPlane Image processing software for 3-4-D reconstruction/deconvolution.

Microinformatics- 5 "high-end" PC's running various image analysis/processing and visualisation software for customised image processing/enhancement, morphological, numerical, algorithmic, and counting operations.

Cell preparation and maintenance

  • P2 cell-culture room

  • Tissue preparation room

  • 3 Bioptechs Live Cell Incubation Chambers

  • Single cell microinjection

  • Evotek microscope based single cell sorting, and 3-D manipulation.

Activity turnover.

Currently, we host around 75 experimental sessions (each lasting 3-6hrs) per month.

Techniques under development.

  • Pulsed-"flash"-laser photolysis, and photo-activation

  • Intra-vital Bioluminescence imaging.

  • Confocal Endoscopy

Patents accepted.

"Method and device for 3 dimensional imaging of suspended micro-objects providing high-resolution microscopy" (EP 02 292 658.8, 25 October 2002).

Projects under development.

  • Quantitative "real-time" bioluminescence measurement of gene expression in single living cells using promoter driven luciferase, or colentrazine,

Posts available

We have ongoing opportunities for motivated individuals with training in imaging, informatics, physics and/or biology. Contact us: cid@pasteur.fr

Keywords: Digital imaging, Cell Biology and Infection, Confocal and 2-Photon Microscopy, Image Analysis, Fluorescence



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
        PERRET, Emmanuelle, (Technicien,eperret@pasteur.fr)

ROUX, Pascal, (Engineer,proux@pasteur.fr)

SHORTE, Spencer (PhD, Engineer,sshorte@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Centre d'imagerie dynamique


  Responsable : S.L.SHORTE (sshorte@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Créé en 2001, le CID est une plate-forme technique d'Imagerie de haute technologie, proposant son expertise aux chercheurs dans l'étude, la réalisation et l'analyse d'expériences faisant appel aux techniques numériques de microscopie. En particulier, nous nous concentrons sur l'imagerie dynamique de cellules et tissus vivants, afin d'avoir un aperçu sur des questions de biologie et de signalisation cellulaire et des mesures de processus dynamiques à l'intérieur de ceux-ci. Le laboratoire est ouvert aux chercheurs de Pasteur ou de l'extérieur; ils bénéficient d'une part d'une grande variété de techniques de pointe et aussi de notre collaboration dans des projets de recherches demandant des solutions novatrices en recherches et développement.



  rapport

cale

Le Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique (CID) est une nouvelle plate-forme technologique à l'Institut Pasteur et constitue un des Plateaux Techniques (PT) créés par la Direction des Equipements et Technologies Stratégiques (DETS). Plus précisément, le CID a pour mission l'utilisation et le développement de techniques de pointe en imagerie cellulaire et une compétence dans la visualisation et le suivi de processus dynamiques dans des cellules vivantes afin de résoudre des problèmes biologiques. Bien que initialement ouvert à tous, le CID est plus précisément intégré à la communauté scientifique pasteurienne par une directe appartenance au département de Biologie Cellulaire &Infection (P.Sansonetti) et entretient des liens forts avec d'autres départements, comme celui de Biologie du Développement (M.Buckingham) et de Médecine Moléculaire (J.L.Virelizier). La combinaison de l'expertise technique et scientifique à l'intérieur du CID, fait de ce PT un service technique hautement spécialisé unique dans la communauté pasteurienne.

En juillet 2002, les équipements du Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique (CID) ont été installés dans un nouveau site permanent, un laboratoire spécialement aménagé comprenant 10 pièces indépendantes pour l'acquisition d'images ainsi qu'un espace pour la préparation des cellules/tissus et une pièce pour l'informatique. Dans un environnement ergonomique de " Laboratoire Biologique " de 200m2 (Bat.Monod), les locaux ont été spécialement aménagés pour acquérir des images avec un niveau de sécurité de type P2, permettant des expériences d'imagerie sur cellules vivantes entièrement réalisées dans nos locaux. De plus, en 2002, nous avons réalisé l'installation d'un système d'acquisition d'images à haute vitesse, en 4-D au sein d'un laboratoire P3, en collaboration avec le département de Médecine Moléculaire. Pour tous les systèmes, notre but, après une formation appropriée pour l'utilisation des microscopes et des autres équipements, est d'accorder aux chercheurs un accès autonome aux laboratoires du CID dans lesquels ils pourront opérer dans un environnement scientifique " comme chez eux ".

En complément de notre activité de service, le CID accueille et facilite les initiatives de collaborations locales, nationales et internationales concernant l'imagerie en biologie : par exemple, l'European Light Microscopy Initiative (ELMI), au travers de notre partenariat dans l'EAMNET de financement européen (European Advanced Microscopy Network) ; le CID a participé à ce programme en accueillant la réunion annuelle de l'ELMI (mai 2002). Au niveau local, le CID également s'engage à soutenir des programmes internes spécifiques de recherche, et en particulier, les initiatives telles que les "PTR" et les "GPH". Enfin, le CID dispense des cours spécialisés de microscopie, et en 2002, (en collaboration avec Zeiss, France) nous avons lancé le premier d'une série de cours et travaux pratiques d'AIM (cours d'imagerie avancée en microscopie) suivi par plus de 50 participants. En 2003, d'autres cours sont programmés qui seront annoncés très rapidement.

Se nourrissant des activités ci-dessus, le CID met un grand accent sur le développement et la réalisation de techniques d'imageries nouvelles et avancées. L'important, est que ces initiatives s'accordent avec les besoins de recherche de l'Institut, en incluant des discussions permanentes avec les différents groupes sur le campus. Pendant l'année 2002, plusieurs projets ont été développés et ont prouvé leur utilité.

Un de ces projets a même conduit à un brevet d'invention européen. Les sujets intéressants en cours incluent :

-La visualisation en 3D de signaux spatiaux à l'intérieur de cellules vivantes non-adhérentes.

-Utilisation de la Bioluminescence pour mesurer des activités biologiques dans des cellules individuelles  et / ou dans des tissus.

-Microscopie à haute vitesse en 4D.

Equipements. Actuellement le CID entretient douze microscopes de pointe, chacun équipé pour des applications spécifiques. Deux de ces équipements sont situés hors du Bâtiment Monod, l'un d'eux est un système "TILL " 4-D à haute vitesse placé dans un laboratoire P3.

Microscopes confocaux 1-Photon :

LSM510 Zeiss —laser Ar/He-Ne, équipé pour FCS,FRAP, FRET et imagerie en3D/4D.

LSM510 Zeiss —laser Ar/He-Ne, .

Leica TCS-4D laser Ar/Kr équipé pour l'imagerie en 3D (situé de façon permanente au bâtiment Lwoff).

Perkin-Elmer système à disque rotatif de type Nipkow pour des expériences de confocal rapide sur cellules.

Microscope confocal 2-Photon :

LSM510 Zeiss pour visualisation en profondeur et en 4D in situ et in vivo au niveau tissulaire.

Stations d'imagerie avec Epi-fluorescence conventionnelle.

Trois systèmes rapides d'imagerie TILL équipés pour les acquisitions multi-dimensionnelles , en " quasi temps " réel.

Trois systèmes Zeiss pour des acquisitions séquentielles et multi-dimensionnelles de fluorescence.

Un système quantitatif, en temps réel de bioluminescence/fluorescence permettant de mesurer la bioluminescence de cellules vivantes isolées en utilisant un promoteur luciférase ou colentrazine.

Ordinateurs et logiciels IRIX:

Deux stations Octane2 SGI plus un serveur SGI ORIGEN 3400 (IRIX 6.5)

Logiciel Huygens/BitPlane pour la 3-/4-D reconstruction/déconvolution.

Microinformatique- Cinq ordinateurs PC de puissance adaptée à l'Imagerie comportant des logiciels d'analyse et transformation des images (par exemple, pour leur amélioration et pour des opérations numériques, algorithmiques et de comptages).

PREPARATION DES CELLULES VIVANTES/TISSUS, MANIPULATION & MAINTENANCE.

- Une pièce de culture cellulaire de type P2 .

- Une pièce pour la préparation des tissus.

- 3 chambres d'incubation pour cellules vivantes Bioptechs

- Un microinjecteur pour une seule cellule.

- Un microscope muni d'un trieur de cellule (Evotek), et permettant les manipulations 3D

Activités du Service

Actuellement notre activité est d'environ 75 expériences ( chacune durant 3 à 6 heures) par mois.

Techniques pour un développement futur .

  • Photolyse, irradiation rapide par laser pulsé et photo-activation.

  • Imagerie bioluminescente intra-vitale.

  • Endoscopie confocale.

Brevet accepté.

" Method and device for 3 dimensional imaging of suspended micro-objects providing high-resolution microscopy " (EP 02 292 658.8,25 octobre 2002).

Projets pour un développement futur

  • Dans une cellule vivante individuelle, mesure quantitative " en temps réel " de la bioluminescence d'un gène d'expression en utilisant un promoteur luciférase ou la colentrazine.

Postes disponibles

Nous avons des opportunités actuelles pour des personnes motivées avec des compétences en imagerie, informatique, physique et /ou en biologie. Contactez-nous : cid@pasteur.fr

Mots-clés: Imagerie numérique, Biologie Cellulaire et Infection, Microscopie Confocale et 2-photon, Analyse des images, Fluorescence dans les cellules vivantes



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
        PERRET, Emmanuelle, (Technicienne supérieure de laboratoire,eperret@pasteur.fr)

ROUX, Pascal, (Ingénieur Technologue,proux@pasteur.fr)

SHORTE, Spencer (Directeur,sshorte@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr