Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Cholera and Vibrios


  Director : FOURNIER Jean-Michel (fournier@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

For most developing countries, cholera is still a major problem. Our Unit is using an integrated approach to fight this problem. This approach involves: (1) a survey and molecular epidemiology studies of cholera; (2) the development of a rapid diagnostic test; (3) the design of a glycoconjugate cholera vaccine; (4) the study of clinical infections caused by non cholera vibrios; and (5) the study of the cholera and non cholera vibrios present in the environment and in seafood. The French Ministry of Health has designated our laboratory as the "National Reference Center for Vibrios", due to its expertise in the fields of cholera and non cholera vibrios.



  report

cale

Vibrios are gram-negative bacteria that naturally colonize the marine environment. Vibrios are divided into "cholera vibrios", including isolates belonging to serogroups O1 and O139 of Vibrio cholerae, and "non cholera vibrios", including (i) isolates belonging to serogroups other than O1 and O139 of V. cholerae – known as V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 – and (ii) isolates belonging to other Vibrio species. Our aims are to improve our understanding of the propagation of cholera vibrios in countries in which cholera is endemic or epidemic, to develop a rapid diagnostic test for cholera, to design a new vaccine against cholera, and to improve the molecular characterization of cholera and non cholera vibrios isolated from seafood, to make it easier to evaluate the risk associated with these products.

1. Survey and molecular epidemiology of cholera (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Cholera remains a major individual and public health problem. According to the WHO, the number of individuals susceptible to cholera due to socioeconomic problems has dramatically increased worldwide, creating conditions that are favorable for a global cholera crisis. In 2001, 58 countries officially notified the WHO of a total of 184,311 cases and 2,782 deaths. However, the actual global figures are much higher, due to underreporting and other limitations of surveillance systems.

France is not directly concerned by cholera epidemics as, like most developed countries, hygiene standards are good. However, imported cases of cholera are regularly identified in travelers. The WHO is notified about imported cholera cases. In 2001, one case of cholera was reported in France. This case was imported from Ivory Coast.

Cholera epidemics do not recognize national borders. We therefore collaborate with biologists from other countries in which cholera outbreaks occur, with members of the International Network of Pasteur Institutes and with nongovernmental humanitarian organizations. In 2001, we studied 58 V. cholerae O1 strains from five African countries. Our collaborations make it possible for us to carry out molecular epidemiology studies on cholera and on new cholera vibrio strains that might be imported into France and to study the spread of the cholera vibrio strains responsible for cholera outbreaks in Africa since the start of the seventh pandemic.

2. Development of a rapid diagnostic test for cholera (Alain BOUTONNIER, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

We have developed and evaluated a rapid diagnostic test (RDT) for cholera based on immunochromatography in collaboration with the Antibody Engineering Laboratory from the Pasteur Institute, Paris, the Madagascar Pasteur Institute and the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh (ICDDR,B). This test has been shown to be specific, sensitive and reliable both in the laboratory and in two cholera endemic areas (Madagascar and Bangladesh). Moreover, it should provide a simple tool for epidemiological surveys of cholera to improve our knowledge of the real situation in the world.

3. New vaccine against cholera (Alain BOUTONNIER, Bruno DASSY, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

The long-term control of cholera depends on improving hygiene by providing safe drinking water and appropriate sewage disposal, and by changing personal hygiene behavior. However, these control measures are expensive and it is difficult to change people's hygiene and water-use behavior. Hence, there is an urgent need for cholera vaccines that confer reliable and long-term protection in all age groups, including children aged <5 years.

The starting point of our research, which began in 1991, was to determine which antibodies protect against cholera. We have shown that immunoglobulin G (IgG) monoclonal antibodies directed against the polysaccharide moiety of the lipopolysaccharide (LPS) of V. cholerae O1, are immunoprotective in an experimental model of cholera in neonatal mice. We have also shown that IgG antibodies injected intravenously into adult mice are transferred from blood vessels to the lumen of the intestine. These results encouraged us to start, in 1995, developing glycoconjugate vaccines composed of the polysaccharides of V. cholerae O1 and V. cholerae O139 covalently linked to a carrier protein to induce a long-lasting, thymus-dependent immune response. To optimize the preparation of these glycoconjugates, we used immunochemical and physicochemical methods to study the antigenic determinants expressed by the two serotypes - Ogawa and Inaba - of V. cholerae O1. We have also prepared a glycoconjugate composed of the polysaccharide of V. cholerae O139. In mice, this vaccine induces a protective thymus-dependent response.

This year, we began to prepare for a clinical evaluation of this V. cholerae O139 glycoconjugate. We have also prepared a glycoconjugate with the polysaccharide of the Inaba serotype of V. cholerae O1. The immunogenicity of this glycoconjugate has been studied in mice. A thymus-dependent immune response has been observed and the protective capacity of the antibodies is currently being evaluated.

4. Infections due to non cholera vibrios (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

The genus Vibrio contains more than 50 species, including three species that are frequently isolated from human clinical samples: V. cholerae, V. parahaemolyticus and V. vulnificus, and four other species that are isolated more rarely: V. alginolyticus, V. fluvialis, V. hollisae and V. mimicus. Human non cholera vibrio infections can result in gastroenteritis, skin and soft tissue infections, septicemia, and a number of extraintestinal infections, such as ear infections. Patients with underlying immunosuppressive diseases are at high risk of the rapid spread of infections with these microorganisms. Most of these infections are associated with contact with sea water or the consumption of seafood, and their occurrence is correlated with the warmer months of the year.

In 2002, 11 cases of infections due to non cholera vibrios were identified in France by the National Reference Center. Ten cases of septicemia, gastroenteritis or suppuration were caused by V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139. One case of septicemia and soft tissue infection was caused by V. vulnificus.

5. Molecular characterization of non cholera vibrios (Annick ROBERT- PILLOT, Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Ecological modifications to marine and estuarine environments, due to global climate change or local industrial activities, favor the proliferation and the dissemination of vibrios, which may then colonize humans either by direct contact with sea water or following the consumption of seafood. Increasing international trade and the consumption of raw seafood, together with an increase in the number of susceptible individuals with underlying immunosuppressive disease, are leading to concern that the incidence of infections due to cholera or non cholera vibrios may increase in developed countries. However, we have to be careful that developed countries do not respond inappropriately for example by restricting the importation of seafood products from developing countries facing cholera epidemics. This type of measure jeopardizes the economic situation of poor countries, dissuades these countries from notifying the authorities about cholera outbreaks and contributes to the propagation of cholera epidemics. Public health concern has stressed the importance of developing molecular methods for the detection of pathogenic isolates of two vibrio species, V. cholerae and V. parahaemolyticus, present both in sea water and in seafood, and causing foodborne infections. We have thus developed a method for the detection of V. cholerae in sea water, based on colony hybridization assays. We have also developed a PCR method, based on the R72H V. parahaemolyticus-specific sequence, to identify V. parahaemolyticus isolates in environmental samples.

This year, we have applied this PCR method to all bacterial isolates suspected of belonging to the V. parahaemolyticus species, which have been provided by food microbiological laboratories. This confirmed the value of this PCR for the identification of the V. parahaemolyticus species. However, it should be stressed that not all isolates of V. parahaemolyticus are pathogenic for humans. Only isolates that produce one or both of the two hemolysins - TDH and TRH - are pathogenic. Thus, we have developed a PCR method to detect the genes encoding these hemolysins. This PCR method has been applied to 11 clinical isolates, 130 strains isolated from imported seafood and 135 strains isolated from environmental samples collected in two French coastal areas. Most of the clinical isolates (9/11) possessed the hemolysin genes. Fewer isolates from environmental samples carried the hemolysin genes (3-11% depending on the geographic site) and only 1.5% of seafood isolates carried these genes. This suggests that the survey of imported seafood products should be continued and that a long-term monitoring program should be initiated to detect pathogenic V. parahaemolyticus isolates present in French seafood and coastal waters.

Photo: Rapid diagnosis of cholera by the immunochromatographic dipstick test. In the simplest setting, the dipstick can be held by a pair of forceps, dipped into the typical watery choleric stool for a short period of time and put back in a tube. Results are available after 2 to 15 minutes, usually within 5 minutes.

Keywords: cholera, vibrios, vaccination, glycoconjuguate, diagnosis, molecular epidemiology, seafood, ecosystem



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  BIDAULT Brigitte,bbidault@pasteur.fr DASSY Bruno,bdassy@pasteur.fr

FOURNIER Jean-Michel,fournier@pasteur.fr

QUILICI Marie-Laure,quilici@pasteur.fr

ROBERT-PILLOT Annick,arp@pasteur.fr BOUTONNIER Alain, Engineer IP,abouto@pasteur.fr

ROTGER Benoît, Quality Assurance Engineer,brotger@pasteur.fr

GUENOLE, Alain,Technician IP,aguenole@pasteur.fr

LEMEE Laure, Technician IP,llemee@pasteur.fr

Shared with the Laboratory of Listeria :

BERTEL Arnaud, Laboratory Assistant IP

DELAIRE Marie-Claire, Laboratory Agent IP

TESSAUD Nathalie, Laboratory Assistant IP


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Choléra et des Vibrions


  Responsable : FOURNIER Jean-Michel (fournier@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le choléra représente encore, pour de très nombreux pays en développement, un fléau majeur contre lequel l'unité poursuit sa lutte selon une approche intégrant plusieurs axes : (1) la surveillance et l'épidémiologie moléculaire du choléra; (2) le développement d'un test de diagnostic rapide; (3) la mise au point d'un nouveau vaccin glycoconjugué; (4) la surveillance des infections humaines à vibrions non cholériques; (5) l'étude des vibrions non cholériques présents dans l'environnement et dans les aliments. En raison de son expertise dans le domaine des vibrions cholériques et non cholériques, notre laboratoire est désigné " Centre National de Référence des Vibrions" par le Ministère de la Santé.



  rapport

cale

Les vibrions sont des bactéries à Gram négatif qui colonisent l'environnement marin. On distingue les "vibrions cholériques", incluant les isolats appartenant aux sérogroupes O1 et O139 de l'espèce Vibrio cholerae, et les "vibrions non cholériques", incluant les isolats appartenant aux sérogoupes autres que O1 et O139 de cette espèce - appelés V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 - et les isolats appartenant aux autres espèces du genre Vibrio. Nos objectifs sont de suivre la propagation des vibrions cholériques dans les pays où le choléra est endémique ou épidémique, de développer un test de diagnostic rapide du choléra, de mettre au point un nouveau vaccin contre le choléra, d'étudier les infections humaines provoquées en France par des vibrions non cholériques et d'améliorer les méthodes moléculaires d'étude des vibrions cholériques et non cholériques isolés de l'environnement et des produits de la mer, afin de mieux évaluer les risques qu'ils représentent.

1. Surveillance et épidémiologie moléculaire du choléra (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Le choléra reste aujourd'hui une maladie grave à la fois pour les individus et pour les collectivités. Selon l'OMS, à la suite de la dégradation des conditions socio-économiques survenue ces dernières années dans de nombreuses régions du monde, le nombre de personnes exposées à cette maladie a augmenté de façon spectaculaire, créant les conditions d'un problème majeur à l'échelle de la planète. Les déclarations officielles de cas de choléra à l'OMS (en 2001, 58 pays ont déclaré 184 311 cas ayant entraîné 2 728 décès) ne sont absolument pas représentatives de la situation réelle en raison de sous-déclarations et d'insuffisances des systèmes de surveillance.

Comme la plupart des pays développés qui bénéficient d'un niveau d'hygiène élevé, la France n'est pas directement concernée par des épidémies de choléra. Cependant des cas de choléra importés sont régulièrement diagnostiqués chez des voyageurs. Ces cas font l'objet d'une déclaration aux autorités nationales de santé (DGS, InVS) et à l'OMS. En 2002, un cas de choléra est survenu en France métropolitaine, chez un voyageur revenant de Côte d'Ivoire.

Les épidémies de choléra ne connaissent pas les frontières. C'est pourquoi nous collaborons avec des biologistes de pays atteints par ces épidémies, avec les instituts du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés, ainsi qu'avec des organisations humanitaires. En 2002, nous avons étudié 58 isolats de V. cholerae O1 reçus de 5 pays étrangers, tous Africains. Ces collaborations nous ont permis de poursuivre des études d'épidémiologie moléculaire sur des souches de vibrions cholériques susceptibles d'être importées en France ainsi que l'étude de la propagation des souches responsables d'épidémies de choléra sur le continent africain depuis l'arrivée de la 7ème pandémie cholérique.

2. Développement d'un test de diagnostic rapide du choléra (Alain BOUTONNIER, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

En collaboration avec le Laboratoire d'Ingénierie des Anticorps de l'Institut Pasteur à Paris, l'Institut Pasteur de Madagascar et l'International Centre for Diarrhoeal Diseases Research, Bangladesh (ICDDR,B), un test de diagnostic rapide (TDR) du choléra par immunochromatographie a été développé et évalué. Tant au laboratoire que sur le terrain, ce test s'est révélé sensible, spécifique et fiable. Ce test sera très utile aussi bien pour le diagnostic du choléra que pour des études épidémiologiques visant à obtenir une meilleure connaissance de l'impact réel de cette maladie dans le monde.

3. Nouveau vaccin contre le choléra (Alain BOUTONNIER, Bruno DASSY, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

La maîtrise à long terme du choléra repose sur l'élévation du niveau d'hygiène par la fourniture d'eau potable, l'assainissement des effluents, et l'éducation sanitaire. Cependant, ces mesures sont coûteuses et il est difficile de faire évoluer les comportements des populations vis à vis de l'hygiène et de l'utilisation de l'eau. C'est pourquoi il est urgent de pouvoir disposer d'un vaccin anticholérique efficace à long terme chez tous les groupes d'âge, et en particulier chez les enfants de moins de 5 ans.

Le point de départ de notre recherche, qui a débuté en 1991, était de déterminer quels anticorps protègent contre le choléra. Nous avons démontré que des immunoglobulines G (IgG) monoclonales, dirigées contre la partie polysaccharidique du lipopolysaccharide (LPS) de V. cholerae O1, sont protectrices dans un modèle d'infection expérimentale du souriceau nouveau-né. Nous avons aussi montré que des IgG, injectées par voie intraveineuse chez des souris adultes, passent dans la lumière intestinale. En 1995, nous avons alors commencé la préparation de vaccins anticholériques glycoconjugués, constitués de polysaccharides de V. cholerae O1 et de V. cholerae O139 couplés par une liaison covalente à une protéine porteuse et devant induire une réponse thymodépendante de longue durée en IgG. Afin d'optimiser la préparation de ces glycoconjugués, nous avons étudié, par des méthodes immunochimiques et physico-chimiques, les déterminants antigéniques exprimés par le LPS des deux sérotypes - Ogawa et Inaba - de V. cholerae O1. Nous avons également préparé un vaccin constitué du polysaccharide du LPS de V. cholerae O139 conjugué à l'anatoxine tétanique. Ce vaccin induit chez la souris une réponse thymodépendante en anticorps IgG protecteurs.

Cette année, nous avons commencé à préparer l'évaluation clinique de ce vaccin glycoconjugué dirigé contre V. cholerae O139. Nous avons aussi préparé un glycoconjugué constitué du polysaccharide du sérotype Inaba de V. cholerae O1 couplé à l'anatoxine tétanique. L'immunogénicité de ce glycoconjugué a été étudiée chez la souris. Une réponse thymodépendante a été obtenue et le pouvoir protecteur des anticorps est en cours d'évaluation.

4. Infections humaines à vibrions non cholériques (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Le genre Vibrio comprend plus de 50 espèces parmi lesquelles 3 espèces sont fréquemment isolées chez l'homme : V. cholerae, V. parahaemolyticus, et V. vulnificus. Quatre autres espèces le sont plus rarement : V. alginolyticus, V. fluvialis, V. hollisae, et V. mimicus. Ces vibrions non cholériques sont à l'origine de gastro-entérites, d'infections de la peau et des tissus mous, de septicémies, et de diverses infections extra-intestinales comme des otites. Les patients ayant une pathologie sous-jacente immunosuppressive sont exposés à une dissémination rapide de l'infection causée par ces germes. Dans la majorité des cas, ces infections sont associées à un contact direct avec l'eau de mer ou à la consommation de produits de la mer, et surviennent pendant les mois les plus chauds de l'année.

En 2002, 11 cas d'infections à vibrions non cholériques ont été identifiés par le Centre National de Référence. Dix cas de septicémies, de gastro-entérites ou d'abcès étaient dus à V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139. Un cas d'infection des tissus mous et de septicémie a été causé par V. vulnificus.

5. Etude moléculaire des vibrions non cholériques (Annick ROBERT-PILLOT, Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Les modifications écologiques de l'environnement marin, consécutives à un changement climatique global ou à des activités industrielles locales, favorisent la prolifération et la dissémination des vibrions, qui peuvent coloniser l'homme, soit par contact direct avec l'eau de mer, soit après consommation de produits de la mer. De plus, l'augmentation du commerce international et de la consommation des produits de la mer à l'état cru, ainsi que l'accroissement du nombre de personnes immunodéprimées, laissent craindre une augmentation des infections dues aux vibrions cholériques ou non cholériques dans les pays développés. Cette crainte ne doit cependant pas entraîner les pays développés à prendre des mesures disproportionnées telles qu'une limitation des échanges commerciaux de produits de la mer en provenance de pays en développement atteints par des épidémies de choléra. Ces mesures contribuent en effet à accroître l'appauvrissement de pays déjà pauvres. De plus, elles les dissuadent de déclarer leurs épidémies de choléra, ce qui ne peut que favoriser la propagation mondiale de ce fléau. Dans un souci de santé publique, il importe donc que soient développées des méthodes moléculaires permettant de détecter les isolats pathogènes des deux principales espèces de vibrions responsables d'infections humaines d'origine alimentaire, V. cholerae et V. parahaemolyticus. C'est dans ce contexte que nous avons développé, les années précédentes, une méthode rapide et efficace pour la détection de V. cholerae dans l'eau de mer, par hybridation sur colonies. Nous avons aussi montré qu'une réaction d'amplification génique (PCR), utilisant une séquence R72H spécifique de l'espèce V. parahaemolyticus, représente un outil fiable pour l'identification de cette dernière.

Cette année, nous avons appliqué cette PCR à toutes les souches suspectées d'appartenir à l'espèce V. parahaemolyticus qui nous ont été adressées par des laboratoires de contrôle alimentaire. Cette étude nous a permis de confirmer l'intérêt de cette PCR pour l'identification de l'espèce V. parahaemolyticus. Cependant, tous les isolats de V. parahaemolyticus ne sont pas pathogènes pour l'homme. En effet, seuls le sont les isolats produisant l'une ou l'autre ou les deux hémolysines TDH et TRH. La recherche par PCR des gènes codant pour ces hémolysines permet donc d'identifier les isolats de V. parahaemolyticus pathogènes pour l'homme. Cette PCR a été appliquée à 11 souches cliniques de V. parahaemolyticus, 130 souches isolées de produits de la mer importés en France et 135 souches isolées de l'environnement côtier français. Les souches cliniques de V. parahaemolyticus possèdent en majorité (9/11) les gènes des hémolysines alors que ces gènes sont moins fréquents dans l'environnement (3-11% selon la localisation géographique) et rares dans les produits de la mer importés (1,5%). En fonction de ces résultats, il paraît donc important de poursuivre la surveillance des produits de la mer importés mais aussi de surveiller les produits de la mer français et les eaux côtières quant à la présence d'isolats pathogènes de V. parahaemolyticus.

Photo: Test de diagnostic rapide (TDR) du choléra par immunochromatographie. Dans son utilisation la plus simple, la bandelette peut être tenue avec une pince, plongée quelques instants dans la selle cholérique ayant typiquement un aspect en eau de riz, puis déposée dans un tube. La lecture est réalisable dans un délai variant de 2 à 15 minutes, le plus souvent en 5 minutes.

Mots-clés: choléra, vibrions, vaccination, glycoconjugué, diagnostic, épidémiologie moléculaire, produits de la mer, écosystème



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  BIDAULT Brigitte,bbidault@pasteur.fr DASSY Bruno, Maître de Conférences, Université Paris VI,bdassy@pasteur.fr

FOURNIER Jean-Michel, Chef de Laboratoire IP,fournier@pasteur.fr

QUILICI Marie-Laure, Chargée de Recherche IP,quilici@pasteur.fr

ROBERT-PILLOT Annick,arp@pasteur.fr BOUTONNIER Alain, Ingénieur IP,abouto@pasteur.fr

ROTGER Benoît, Ingénieur Qualité,brotger@pasteur.fr

GUENOLE, Alain,Technicien IP,aguenole@pasteur.fr

LEMEE Laure, Technicienne IP,llemee@pasteur.fr

En commun avec le Laboratoire des Listeria :

BERTEL Arnaud, Aide de Laboratoire IP

DELAIRE Marie-Claire, Agent de laboratoire IP

TESSAUD Nathalie, Aide de Laboratoire IP


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr