Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Fungal Biology and Pathogenicity


  Director : d’Enfert, Christophe (denfert@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We study several biological processes in fungi of the genus Aspergillus and Candida with the aim of developing new strategies for the control of fungal growth. Our work focuses on the identification of antifungal targets through the detailed study of a critical process in the life cycle of filamentous fungi, namely, the germination of spores, or through an exhaustive search of essential genes in the human fungal pathogen Aspergillus fumigatus. Also we take advantage of genomic tools in order to study biofilm formation by the major fungal pathogen of humans, Candida albicans.



  report

cale

Filamentous fungi of the genus Aspergillus have been widely used for biotechnological processes but are also responsible for human disease. Spore germination is a key developmental step in the fungal life cycle and is critical for the establishment of the fungus in a new environmental niche. Our aim is to define the molecular and biochemical events that are involved during the early stages of spore germination. In particular, we wish to characterize the signaling pathways mediating the recognition of environmental signals necessary for germination and their transduction towards the resumption of various metabolic processes that are necessary for germination.

Our work has resulted in the demonstration that cAMP signaling is involved in the early stages of spore germination in the model filamentous fungus Aspergillus nidulans. Indeed, cAMP synthesis, mediated by the CyaA adenylate cyclase, and the PkaA catalytic subunit of the cAMP-dependent protein kinase are both necessary for the response of the spore to an external carbon source and the timely formation of a germ tube (Collaboration N. Keller, USA). A second Ser/Thr kinase (SchA) related to mammalian PKB is also involved in the control of spore germination. Finally, our results show that signalling mediated by the RasA GTPase which is homologous to the human ras protooncogene controls germination independently of cAMP signalling.

Present research is aimed at identifying the mechanisms of activation of adenylate cyclase and the targets of cAMP during spore germination. In this regard, we are interested in heterotrimeric G proteins and G protein coupled receptors. We have recently shown that only one of the three A. nidulans Ga subunits, namely GanB, is involved in the early stages of spore germination (Collaboration K.-Y. Yahng, South Korea). A study of the physical interaction of GanB with adenylate cyclase is being conducted. The sequencing of A. nidulans ESTs (Expressed Sequence Tags) that has been performed in collaboration with the Genomics Platform ( PT1 of the Institut Pasteur Génopole ) will now allow the development DNA-arrays which will be used to study in greater details A. nidulans strains with defect in cAMP signaling.

Systematic identification of essential genes in the fungal pathogen of humans, Aspergillus fumigatus (A. Firon and C. d'Enfert)

Aspergillus fumigatus is the causative agent of invasive aspergillosis, which represents the second cause of death resulting from fungal infections in hospitals. Invasive aspergillosis is associated with a high mortality. This is mostly due to the poor sensitivity of the currently available diagnostic tests and the sole use of amphotericin B therapy, which has deleterious side effects. Analysis of candidate virulence factors by reverse genetics has not been successful for the understanding of the pathogenic processes. We have therefore focused our interest towards the development of novel molecular tools that could be used to identify through insertional mutagenesis genes that are essential for growth of A. fumigatus under laboratory conditions and/or during invasion of the host and may hence serve as antifungal targets. This program is performed in collaboration with Bayer CropScience ( http://www.bayercropscience.com ).

A. fumigatus strains have been constructed that can be used to test whether a gene is essential for growth under laboratory conditions. We have used this system to develop a screen for A. fumigatus essential genes using insertional mutagenesis. This has been achieved using the impala transposable element from Fusarium oxysporum and has lead to the identification in a preliminary screen of 29 new genetic loci which are essential for the growth of A. fumigatus. The genes that we have identified are involved in a wide variety of cellular processes and some are specific to A. fumigatus. These results suggest that a systematic search for A. fumigatus genes can now be undertaken in order to establish a compendium of antifungal targets for this pathogen.

Candida albicans: genomics, biofilms and epidemiology (S. Aubert, M.-E. Bougnoux, F. Cottier, S. Garcia-Sanchez, P. Knechtle et C. d'Enfert)

Candida albicans is currently the main fungal pathogen of humans. In particular, C. albicans is responsible for systemic infections in patients, which are severely immuno-compromized and receive broad-spectrum antibiotherapy. Systemic candidiasis are associated with a high mortality despite the availability of antifungal treatments. A better management of C. albicans infections will require an understanding of their epidemiology and physio-pathology as well as the development of new drugs. Our research is therefore interested in the epidemiology of C. albicans infections and in the study of processes related to pathogenicity through genomic approaches.

Whole-genome transcriptional analysis appears as a powerful tool to gain a better understanding of gene function and of the mechanisms that are involved during the adaptation of an organism to various conditions, in particular host-pathogen interaction. Through our participation in the French Fungal Infection Network and the European Galar Fungail network we have undertaken the development DNA-arrays for transcript profiling in C. albicans. Through this work we have established a C. albicans genomics database, CandidaDB and produced whole genome DNA-arrays in collaboration with Eurogentec ( http://www.eurogentec.com ).

We have initiated in the framework of a Programme Transversal de Recherche with the Molecular Mycology Unit and the Genetics of Biofilms Laboratory a study of the molecular mechanisms that govern biofilm formation by C. albicans. Biofilms are three-dimensional associations of microorganisms. C. albicans biofilms are more resistant to antifungals than planktonic cells and might be responsible for sequels that occur following antifungal treatment of systemic candidiasis. We have established several models of biofilm, which have been analyzed by transcript profiling. On this basis, several genes have been selected for further study with the aim to evaluate their contribution to the formation and physiology of C. albicans biofilms.

We have established a new typing methodology for C. albicans which is based on Multi Locus Sequence Typing (MLST). This method involves the sequencing of six independent loci which show intra-specific variations. This method is highly reproducible, has a high discriminatory power and is currently used to study collections of C. albicans clinical and commensal isolates in collaboration with the Genomics Platform (PT1) of the Institut Pasteur Génopole.

Photo 1 : Model of activation of spore germination and cAMP signalling in A. nidulans

Photo 2 : Biofilm of Candida albicans formed on a plastic surface (Scanning Electron Microscopy; collaboration E. Arbeille, Université de Tours)

Keywords: Aspergillus nidulans, Aspergillus fumigatus, Candida albicans, cAMP, kinase, signal transduction, germination, spore, conidia, antifungal, target, transposon, DNA chip, DNA array, biofilm, epidemiology, Multi-Locus Sequence Typing, genomics, transcriptome, transcript profiling



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Thepaut, Sylvana (sthepaut@pasteur.fr) Bougnoux, Marie-Elisabeth, Université Paris Ile de France Ouest (Assistant Professor, clinician,bougnoux@pasteur.fr)

d’Enfert, Christophe, Institut Pasteur (Associate Professor,denfert@pasteur.fr)

Cottier, Fabien (PhD student,fcottier@pasteur.fr)

Eisman-Redondo, Blanca (PhD student, Madrid University)

Firon, Arnaud (PhD student)

Garcia-Sanchez, Susana (post-doctoral fellow,sgarcia@pasteur.fr)

Knechtle, Philipp (post-doctoral fellow,knechtle@pasteur.fr)

Lafon, Anne (PhD student,alafon@pasteur.fr)

Aubert, Sylvie (technician,syaubert@pasteur.fr)

Chaveroche, Marie-Kim (technician,mkchaver@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biologie et Pathogénicité fongiques


  Responsable : d’Enfert, Christophe (denfert@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos travaux ont pour objectif une meilleure compréhension du fonctionnement de la cellule fongique afin d'élaborer des stratégies de contrôle de la croissance chez les champignons pathogènes. Nous nous intéressons d'une part à la recherche de cibles pour de nouvelles approches thérapeutiques par l'étude détaillée d'un processus clef dans la biologie des champignons filamenteux, la germination des spores, ou par une recherche exhaustive de gènes essentiels à la croissance du champignon pathogène Aspergillus fumigatus. D'autre part, nous nous appuyons sur des outils d'analyse génomique pour Candida albicans afin de définir les processus mis en jeu lors de la formation de biofilms par cette levure pathogène.



  rapport

cale

Germination des spores chez Aspergillus nidulans (A. Lafon, M.K. Chaveroche et C. d'Enfert)

Les champignons filamenteux du genre Aspergillus sont connus tant pour leurs applications biotechnologiques que pour les pathologies dont ils sont responsables. La germination des spores (conidies) représente une étape clef dans le cycle de développement du champignon et constitue la première étape dans la colonisation d'un nouvel environnement. Les recherches effectuées visent la caractérisation des évènements moléculaires et biochimiques intervenant au cours des phases précoces de la germination et en particulier la compréhension du signal déclenchant le processus germinatif et sa transduction au niveau cellulaire.

Nos travaux chez le champignon modèle Aspergillus nidulans ont abouti à la mise en évidence du rôle de la signalisation par l'AMPc lors de l'initiation de la germination. En effet, la synthèse d'AMPc médiée par l'adénylate cyclase CyaA et la sous-unité catalytique de la kinase AMPc-dépendante PkaA sont impliquées dans la réponse de la spore à une source de carbone présente dans le milieu et sont requises pour le bon déroulement des étapes précoces de la germination (Collaboration N. Keller, USA). Une seconde serine/threonine kinase (SchA) proche de la PKB mammifère agit en parallèle de PkaA lors de la germination. Par ailleurs, nous avons pu montrer que la signalisation par la GTPase RasA, homologue du proto-oncogène humain ras, intervient au cours de la germination indépendamment de la signalisation AMPc.

Nos travaux ont aujourd'hui pour objectif de mieux comprendre les voies d'activation de l'adénylate cyclase et de préciser la nature des cibles de l'AMPc lors de la germination. Dans cette optique, nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement aux protéines G hétérotrimériques et aux récepteurs qui les contrôlent. Nous avons ainsi pu montrer que des trois sous-unités Ga connues chez A. nidulans, seule GanB intervient dans le contrôle des étapes précoces de la germination (Collaboration K.-Y. Jahng, Corée du Sud). Une étude de l'interaction directe entre GanB et l'adénylate cyclase est en cours. Le séquençage d'une collection d'ESTs (Expressed Sequence Tags), réalisé en collaboration avec la plate-forme génomique de la Génopole Institut Pasteur devrait permettre de disposer prochainement d'un outil d'analyse du transcriptome de A. nidulans et d'aboutir à une caractérisation de différentes souches mutantes affectées dans la voie de signalisation AMPc.

Identification de gènes essentiels chez le champignon pathogène Aspergillus fumigatus (A. Firon et C. d'Enfert)

Aspergillus fumigatus est actuellement le principal champignon filamenteux pathogène de l'homme, responsable d'infections systémiques fatales (aspergillose invasive) chez le patient immuno-déprimé, infections pour lesquelles on ne dispose pas de traitement à la fois efficace et avec peu d'effets secondaires. Les approches de génétique réverse ciblées sur différentes protéines dont on pouvait postuler une implication dans le processus infectieux ne s'étant pas révélées fructueuses, il semble nécessaire de développer de nouvelles stratégies plus exhaustives permettant l'identification de gènes essentiels à la croissance du champignon en culture ou uniquement lors de la colonisation de l'hôte. Ce programme de recherche a été réalisé en partenariat avec Bayer CropScience (http://www.bayercropscience.com/ ).

Dans cette optique, nous avons construit des souches diploïdes de A. fumigatus qui permettent de tester le caractère essentiel d'un gène de A. fumigatus en culture. Une mutagenèse insertionnelle de ces souches à l'aide du transposon impala du champignon Fusarium oxysporum nous a permis dans une approche préliminaire d'identifier 29 régions génomiques essentielles à la croissance de A. fumigatus. Les gènes identifiés codent des fonctions impliquées dans de nombreux processus cellulaires et certains sont spécifiques de A. fumigatus. Ces résultats suggèrent qu'une recherche exhaustive des gènes essentiels de A. fumigatus peut maintenant être entreprise afin d'établir un catalogue de cibles pour cet organisme.

Candida albicans : génomique, biofilms et épidémiologie (S. Aubert, M.-E. Bougnoux, F. Cottier, S. Garcia-Sanchez, P. Knechtle et C. d'Enfert)

Candida albicans est actuellement le principal pathogène fongique humain. En particulier, C. albicans est responsable d'infections systémiques chez des patients présentant un déficit immunitaire important et recevant une antibiothérapie à large spectre. Les candidoses sytémiques sont associées à une forte mortalité malgré la disponibilité de traitements. Il est donc nécessaire de mieux comprendre l'épidémiologie des candidoses et la physio-pathologie de ces infections et de définir de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques si l'on veut à terme être en mesure de réduire l'incidence et les conséquences de ces infections. Les projets que nous développons s'inscrivent donc à la fois dans une recherche en épidémiologie et dans une étude de processus liés aux infections à l'aide d'outils de génomique.

La possibilité d'étudier simultanément à l'aide de la technologie des "puces à ADN" l'activité transcriptionnelle d'un nombre important de gènes d'un organisme peut contribuer à une meilleure compréhension de la fonction de ces gènes et des mécanismes d'adaptation mis en jeu dans différentes situations physiologiques, en particulier l'interaction hôte-pathogène. C'est pourquoi nous avons entrepris dans le cadre du Réseau Infections Fongiques puis poursuivi dans le cadre du Réseau Européen Galar Fungail la mise au point d'un outil d'analyse du transcriptome de C. albicans. Ce travail a abouti à la diffusion d'une base de donnée génomique de C. albicans, CandidaDB et à la réalisation de puces à ADN présentant des sondes pour la plupart des gènes de C. albicans (Collaboration Eurogentec ( http://www.eurogentec.com ))

Nous avons démarré dans le cadre d'un Programme Transversal de Recherche en collaboration avec l'Unité de Mycologie Moléculaire et le Groupe de Génétique des Biofilms un projet d'étude des mécanismes moléculaires de la formation des biofilms par C. albicans. Les biofilms sont des associations tridimensionnelles de micro-organismes. Dans le cas de C. albicans, la formation de biofilms est associée à une augmentation de la résistance aux antifongiques et représente une source potentielle de réinfection après traitement de candidoses systémiques. Différents modèles de formation de biofilms par C. albicans ont été mis au point et une analyse du transcriptome a été réalisée. Sur la base de ces résultats, plusieurs gènes ont été retenus pour une étude approfondie qui permettra de préciser leurs rôles respectifs dans la formation et la physiologie du biofilm.

Nous avons mis au point une nouvelle méthode de typage de C. albicans par la technique de Multi Locus Sequence Typing (MLST). Cette méthode est basée sur le séquençage de six loci indépendants qui présentent des variations intra-spécifiques. Cette méthode est extrêmement reproductible, a un fort pouvoir discriminant et est actuellement appliquée à l'étude de différentes collections de souches infectieuses et commensales dans le cadre d'un collaboration avec la Plate-forme Génomique de la Génopole Institut Pasteur .

Photo 1 : Model of activation of spore germination and cAMP signalling in A. nidulans

Photo 2 : Biofilm of Candida albicans formed on a plastic surface (Scanning Electron Microscopy; collaboration E. Arbeille, Université de Tours)

Mots-clés: Aspergillus nidulans, Aspergillus fumigatus, Candida albicans, AMPc, kinase, transduction du signal, germination, spore, conidie, antifongique, cible, transposon, puce à ADN, biofilm, épidémiologie, Multi-Locus Sequence Typing, génomique, transcriptome



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Thepaut, Sylvana (sthepaut@pasteur.fr) Bougnoux, Marie-Elisabeth, Université Paris Ile de France Ouest (Maître de Conférence/Praticien Hospitalier,bougnoux@pasteur.fr)

d’Enfert, Christophe, Institut Pasteur (Chef de Laboratoire,denfert@pasteur.fr)

Cottier, Fabien (DEA,fcottier@pasteur.fr)

Eisman-Redondo, Blanca (doctorante, Université de Madrid)

Firon, Arnaud (doctorant)

Garcia-Sanchez, Susana (stagiaire post-doctoral,sgarcia@pasteur.fr)

Knechtle, Philipp (stagiaire post-doctoral,knechtle@pasteur.fr)

Lafon, Anne (doctorante,alafon@pasteur.fr)

Aubert, Sylvie (technicienne,syaubert@pasteur.fr)

Chaveroche, Marie-Kim (technicienne,mkchaver@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr