Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Biologie moléculaire de l'expression génique


  Director : Israël Alain (aisrael@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The laboratory is involved in the study of two signalisation pathways characterized by inducible proteolysis events that lead to the nuclear translocation of transcription factors. The first project deals with the rel/NF-kB family of transcription factors, whose activity is controled by cytoplasmic retention through inhibitory molecules (IkB's) which get degraded in response to multiple signals. We have identified a series of pathologies caused by mutations in a gene encoding the central component of this signaling pathway (the NEMO protein). On the other hand we have set up a system which allows us to dissect the various steps of the mechanisms of NF-kB activation by the TCR. In parallel we have generated a series of transgenic mice where one or more of the IkB molecules have been inactivated, as well as mice where NF-kB activity has been specifically inhibited in certain regions of the brain.

A second project deals with the Notch receptor which transmits its signal following a series of three proteolytic steps which are followed by the nuclear translocation of the intracellular part of the receptor, which behaves as a transcriptional co-activator. We have pursued 3 directions of research: we have first identified a mechanism of control of the Notch activity which involves the degradation of the nuclear form of this receptor. We have then identified a new mechanism which involves a modification of the receptor following the second cleavage, allowing the third one to take place. Finally we have characterized the cleavage of one of the Notch ligands by a membrane metalloprotease, and generated a non-cleavable form of this ligand.



  report

cale

Genetic and biochemical analysis of the NF-kB signaling pathway (G. Courtois, R. Weil, A. Kovalenko, R. Blaise, L. Arbibe, A. Lilienbaum, C. Bessia)

In collaboration with the group of JL Casanova (Hopital Necker), we have shown that hypomorphic mutations in the gene encoding NEMO, the structural/regulatory subunit of the IKK complex that plays a central role in the NF-kB signaling cascade, lead to a series of symptoms in male patients that associate a defect in innate immunity to a syndrom called EDA (anhidrotic ectodermal dysplasia). A new patient who carries a mutation in a different component of the signaling cascade has been identified, and in contrast to the previous patients exhibits a deficiency in memory T cells. The detailed study of this patient is in progress.

In parallel we have undertaken a detailed study of NF-kB activation through the TCR. We first demonstrated that the IKK kinase complex is recruited to the immunological synapse and can be coprecipitated with the TCR after T-cell activation. Using ZAP-70-deficient T cells expressing an hybrid molecule between the SH2 domain of ZAP-70 and NEMO, we showed that targetting NEMO to the immunological synapse was sufficient to selectively restore NF-kB activation in response to TCR ligation. Finally, we demonstrated that the simple targetting of NEMO to the membrane of T cells was sufficient to induce NF-kB activation. This model will allow us to dissect the mechanisms of TCR-induced NF-kB activation and to identify the NEMO-dependent and NEMO-independent events in this cascade.

Finally an ex vivo study of cerebellar granule cells allowed us to characterize the signaling pathways responsible for the basal NF-kB activity observed in these cells. We found that opening of calcium channels at the plasma membrane and at intracellular stores are indispensible for the basal NF-kB activity. We demonstrated further that three cellular sensors of the cytosolic Ca2+ levels, calmodulin, protein kinases C, and the p21ras/PI3K/Akt pathway are simultaneously involved in the steps linking the Ca2+ second messenger to NF-kB activity.

In vivo analysis of NF-kB activity (S. Mémet, D. Ndiaye)

The generation of mice devoid of both IkBa et IkBe has shown that the phenotype of these double KO mice is more severe than each individual KO : they die at birth and exhibit an increased NF-kB activity, correlated with an increased expression of some of its target genes. The analysis of lymphoid cells at E18.5 shows a deficiency in mature B cells, caused by a massive apoptosis of progenitor cells. Reconstitution experiments in host mice have revealed an unexpected role of NF-kB in the migration of B and T cells towards secondary lymphoid organs. These results confirm the central role played by NF-kB in homeostasis and survival of lymphocytes, and suggest that a decrease or an increase in NF-kB activity can lead to similar types of symptoms.

In parallel we have generated a mouse where the expression of the IkBa inhibitor can be inducibly expressed in the forebrain, and in particular in the hippocampus. This study has allowed us to confirm for the first time in vivo the anti-apoptotic function of NF-kB in neurons.

The Notch signaling cascade (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, E. Six, A. Olry, D. Ndiaye, O. LeBail)

We have proposed a model according to which the activation of the Notch receptor involves a series of three proteolytic steps. The first cleavage is due to a furin-like convertase, and is required for surface expression of a functional Notch receptor. A second cleavage, which takes place in the extracellular region of the receptor and is required for ligand-induced activation, has been characterized. The responsible enzyme has been purified and identified as TACE, a membrane metalloprotease already known to be involved in TNF shedding. The third and last cleavage is due to an activity called g-secretase and results in the liberation of the intracellular region of the receptor, which is then transported to the nucleus and behaves as a transcriptional coactivator. We have recently shown that the activity of this nuclear molecule is controled by the ubiquitin-proteasome pathway : following a nuclear phosphorylation event, it is recognized by an ubiquitin-ligase called SEL-10, therefore leading to its degradation by the proteasome.

We also investigated the third proteolytic cleavage which is caused by the g-secretase activity. We first demonstrated that this cleavage event requires a modification of its substrate, the product of the second cleavage, which is probably required for its transport to the site where the third cleavage takes place. On the other hand we set up a genetic screen which should allow us to isolate cells which are devoid of g-secretase activity : this approach will lead us to the identification of new components of the complex responsible for this activity, or of new regulators of this activity.

Finally we have characterized the proteolytic cleavage event responsible for the shedding of one of the Notch ligands, Dll1. We have identified the clevage site and generated a cleavage-resistant form of the ligand. This should allow us to better understand the role of this cleavage event as well as that of the soluble form of the ligand.

Keywords: Signalisation, phosphorylation, proteolysis, ubiquitination ; NF-kB, Notch



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Marie Dominique Aytac (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) COURTOIS, Gilles, INSERM (DR2)

LOGEAT, Frédérique, CNRS (DR2)

BROU, Christel, Institut Pasteur (CR)

MEMET, Sylvie, INSERM, (CR1)

WEIL, Robert, CNRS, (CR1)

ARBIBE, Laurence, INSERM (CR1)
BLAISE, Régis, post-doc

GUPTA, Neetu, post-doc

KOVALENKO, Andrew, post-doc

SIX, Emmanuelle, PhD student

OLRY, Annie, DEA student

LOPEZ, Tatiana (Pasteur technician)

NDIAYE, Delphine (CNRS technician)

MOURGUIN-NAGUIN Stéphanie

BESSIA, Christine (Pasteur technician)

LEBAIL, Odile (Pasteur engineer)

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique


  Responsable : Israël Alain (aisrael@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les projets du laboratoire portent sur l'étude de deux systèmes de signalisation caractérisés par des événements inductibles de protéolyse, aboutissant au transport nucléaire de facteurs de transcription. Un premier projet concerne la famille de facteurs de transcription rel/NF-kB, dont l'activité est contrôlée par des mécanismes de rétention cytoplasmique impliquant des molécules inhibitrices (appelées IkB) dont la dégradation est induite par une variété de signaux. Nous avons identifié plusieurs pathologies causées par des mutations dans un gène codant le composant central de cette voie de signalisation (la protéine NEMO). Nous avons d'autre part mis au point un système permettant de disséquer les diverses étapes de l'activation de NF-kB par le récepteur à l'antigène des cellules T. Parallèlement à ces études nous avons généré des souris où une ou plusieurs des molécules inhibitrices IkB ont été invalidées, ainsi que d'autres où l'activité NF-kB a été spécifiquement inhibée dans certaines régions du cerveau.

Un second projet porte sur le récepteur Notch qui transmet un signal à la suite de 3 étapes de protéolyse et du transport nucléaire de sa région intracellulaire. Nos efforts ont porté dans 3 directions : nous avons tout d'abord identifié un mécanisme de contrôle de l'activité Notch qui implique la dégradation de la forme nucléaire de ce récepteur. Nous avons ensuite identifié un nouveau mécanisme qui par l'intermédiaire d'une modification post-traductionnelle du produit de la seconde étape de protéolyse permet à la troisième d'avoir lieu. Finalement nous avons caractérisé la coupure d'un ligand de Notch par une métalloprotéase et construit une forme de ce ligand qui ne peut être coupée.



  rapport

cale

Analyse génétique et biochimique des voies d'activation des facteurs de transcription NF-kB (G. Courtois, R. Weil, A. Kovalenko, R. Blaise, L. Arbibe, A. Lilienbaum, C. Bessia)

En collaboration avec le groupe de JL Casanova (hopital Necker), nous avons montré que des mutations hypomorphes dans le gène codant NEMO, la sous-unité structurale/régulatrice du complexe IKK qui joue un rôle central dans la voie de signalisation NF-kB, se traduisent chez les patients mâles par une série de symptomes incluant en particulier un déficit de l'immunité innée et un syndrome appelé DEA (dysplasie ectodermale anhidrotique). Un nouveau patient portant une mutation dans un autre composant de la voie d'activation a été identifié : contrairement aux patients précédents il présente un déficit en cellules T mémoires.

Parallèlement nous avons entrepris une étude détaillée de l'activation de NF-kB par la voie du TCR. Nous avons tout d'abord montré que le complexe IKK était recruté au niveau de la synapse immunologique, puis en utilisant des cellules mutées dans divers constituants de la voie du TCR nous avons montré que le recrutement de NEMO au TCR était suffisant pour activer NF-kB. Finalement nous avons montré que le simple ciblage de NEMO à la membrane plasmique suffisait à activer NF-kB, et ceci indépendamment de sa localisation dans les rafts. Ce système devrait nous permettre de fractionner le mécanisme d'activation de NF-kB par le TCR en modules indépendants, et d'étudier séparément les événements NEMO-dépendants et NEMO-indépendants.

Finalement une étude portant sur des neurones de cervelet en culture a permis de caractériser les voies de signalisation responsables du niveau de base d'activité NF-kB dans ces cellules, et de démontrer le rôle critique du niveau de calcium intracellulaire.

Analyse de l'activité NF-kB in vivo (S. Mémet, D. Ndiaye)

La construction de souris déficientes en deux inhibiteurs, IkBa et IkBe, a montré un phénotype nettement plus sévère que celui des souris simple KO : ces animaux meurent à la naissance et montrent une activité NF-kB augmentée, associée à une augmentation de l'expression de certains gènes-cibles. L'analyse des cellules lymphoïdes à E18,5 montre un déficit en cellules B matures, dû à une apoptose massive des cellules progénitrices. Des expériences de reconstitution dans des souris-hôtes ont identifié un rôle inattendu de NF-kB dans la migration des cellules B et T vers les organes lymphoïdes secondaires. Ces résultats confirment le rôle central de NF-kB dans l'homéostasie et la survie des lymphocytes, et suggérent qu'un déficit aussi bien qu'une augmentation de NF-kB peuvent induire des dysfonctionnements semblables.

En parallèle une approche permettant d'exprimer de manière inductible l'inhibiteur IkBa dans le cerveau antérieur a été entreprise. L'étude des neurones de ces souris a permis de confirmer pour la première fois dans un système in vivo le rôle anti-apoptotique de NF-kB dans ce type cellulaire.

La voie de signalisation Notch (F. Logeat, C. Brou, N. Gupta, E. Six, A. Olry, D. Ndiaye, O. LeBail)

Nous avons proposé un modèle selon lequel l'activation du récepteur Notch implique 3 étapes de maturation protéolytique. La première coupure est dûe à la furine et est nécessaire à l'expression à la membrane d'un récepteur fonctionnel. Une seconde étape de coupure, nécessaire à l'activation et localisée dans la région extracellulaire, a été caractérisée. L'enzyme responsable a été identifiée, du moins dans certains tissus, comme étant TACE, une métalloprotéase impliquée dans la maturation du TNF. L'étape finale est dûe à une activité nommée g-secrétase, et aboutit à la libération de la région intracellulaire du récepteur qui est transportée dans le noyau où elle se comporte comme un co-activateur transcriptionnel. Nous avons récemment montré que l'activité de cette molécule est contrôlée par la voie ubiquitine-protéasomes : à la suite d'une étape de phosphorylation nucléaire, elle est reconnue spécifiquement par une ubiquitine-ligase nommée SEL-10, aboutissant ainsi à sa dégradation par le protéasome.

Nous nous sommes d'autre part intéressés à la troisième étape de protéolyse dûe à l'activité g-secrétase. Nous avons d'une part démontré que cette étape de clivage requérait une modification de son substrat, le produit de la seconde coupure, probablement nécessaire au transport de ce produit vers le site de coupure par la troisième activité. Nous avons d'autre part mis au point un crible génétique permettant d'isoler des cellules ayant perdu l'activité g-secrétase, et qui devrait nous permettre d'identifier de nouveaux composants du complexe responsable de cette activité, ou de nouveaux régulateurs de cette activité.

Finalement nous avons caractérisé l'événement de coupure protéolytique responsable de la formation d'une forme soluble du ligand Dll1. Nous avons identifié le site de coupure et construit une forme mutée de ce ligand résistante à ce clivage, ce qui devrait nous permettre de mieux comprendre à la fois le rôle de la coupure et celui de la forme soluble.

Mots-clés: Signalisation, phosphorylation, protéolyse, ubiquitination ; NF-kB, Notch



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Marie Dominique Aytac (mdaytac@pasteur.fr) COURTOIS, Gilles, INSERM (DR2)

LOGEAT, Frédérique, CNRS (DR2)

BROU, Christel, Institut Pasteur (CR)

MEMET, Sylvie, INSERM (CR1)

WEIL, Robert, CNRS (CR1)

ARBIBE, Laurence, INSERM (CR1)
BLAISE, Régis, post-doc

GUPTA, Neetu, post-doc

KOVALENKO, Andrew, post-doc

SIX, Emmanuelle, thésarde

OLRY, Annie, étudiante DEA

LOPEZ, Tatiana (technicienne Pasteur)

NDIAYE, Delphine (AI CNRS)

MOURGUIN-NAGUIN Stéphanie, agent de laboratoire

BESSIA, Christine (technicienne Pasteur)

LEBAIL, Odile (Ingénieur Pasteur)

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr