Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Malaria Biology and Genetics


  Director : Robert Ménard (rmenard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

We study Plasmodium, the causing agent of malaria, and particularly the parasite stages that infect the mosquito vector and the liver of the mammalian host. Our studies have three main axes: 1) the functional analysis of the mosquito genes that are differentially expressed during infection by the ookinete, the parasite stage that traverses the digestive epithelium in the mosquito, 2) the biology of the sporozoite, the stage formed in the mosquito intestine and transmitted to the mammalian host, and particularly its capacity to glide on susbtrates and invade host cells, and 3) the crosstalk between the sporozoite and the hepatocyte, and the products that are involved in the early stages of parasite differentiation inside hepatocytes.



  report

cale

1. Characterization of Anopheles gambiae genes expressed during Anopheles gambiae-Plasmodium falciparum interaction (C. Lavazec, I. Thiery, C. Bourgouin)

During its early sporogonic development in the mosquito, the parasite crosses two barriers successively: the peritrophic membrane and the intestinal epithelium. In natural conditions of P.falciparum transmission, a sharp decrease in parasite loads occurs in the intestine lumen so that only a few oocysts will become mature. We have previously identified genes from An. gambiae, the main P. falciparum vector in Africa, whose expression is regulated in the mosquito midgut by the presence of P. falciparum (Bonnet et al, 2001). The fine regulation of expression of these genes during mosquito development and parasite development inside mosquitoes was monitored by quantitative RT-PCR. In addition, two of these genes were characterized. Their function will be investigated by RNA interference.

2. Analysis of An gambiae immune response during Plasmodium sporogonic development (R. Tahar, I. Thiery, C. Bourgouin)

P. falciparum development inside An. gambiae is likely the result of a fine adaptation between the parasite and its mosquito host. We have shown by quantitative RT-PCR analysis that the early sporogonic stages of P. falciparum and P. berghei, a parasite species that infect rodents and that is not naturally transmitted by An gambiae, had different impacts on the mosquito immune response. The P. falciparum invasive stages do not induce a stage-specific response in the mosquito digestive track, which suggests that this parasite species specifically manipulates the An gambiae immune response (Tahar et al, 2002).

3. Sporozoite gliding mobility (F. Frischknecht, P. Baldacci, B. Martin)

Like any other invasive stage of the Apicomplexan phylum of protozoans, the Plasmodium sporozoite is capable of gliding (moving without changing its shape) on a solid substrate and to invade any adherent cell. These two processes have a common molecular basis and result from the posterior translocation of parasite-susbtrate/cell interactions, which lead to the forward movement of the parasite. Presently, we are developing methodologies to track the infectious process in vivo, using GFP-expressing sporozoites and in collaboration with ‘Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative' and the ‘Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique'. In particular, we want to determine whether sporozoite gliding motility is necessary for host cell invasion only, or whether it is also responsible for parasite locomotion in vivo.

4. Host cell invasion by sporozoites (P. Baldacci, F. Frischknecht)

Plasmodium TRAP is a transmembrane protein whose cytoplasmic domain binds a motor system located underneath the parasite plasma membrane. Our recent results have shown that sporozoite entry into cultured cells or into target organs in vivo (mosquito salivary glands and mammalian liver) depends on two TRAP extracellular domains, a thrombospondin-type I motif and an integrin A-like domain (Matuschewski et al., 2002). The results also suggest that these two binding domains are the parasite ligands of the parasite-cell junction on which the parasite motor system exerts force to propel the parasite inside the host cell. We are in the process of identifying the host cell molecules that are present in the junction, as well as the receptor(s) of the TRAP A domain that mediates most the sporozoite invasive capacities.

5. Developing gene modification tools in P. berghei (T. Gil Carvalho, S. Thiberge. H. Sakamoto)

Reverse genetics is straightforward in Plasmodium, because of the high rate of DNA integration via homologous recombination and the haploid nature of its genome. P. berghei offers the double advantage of allowing in vivo analysis of mammalian liver infection as well as more reproducible and rapid gene targeting procedures than with P. falciparum. We are currently trying to develop a conditional mutagenesis system in P. berghei (using Cre or FLP) that would allow to analyse the function of essential products, particularly those necessary for red blood cell infection. In the context of a PTR, we are also trying to develop negative selection procedures, which would allow by ‘Hit and Run' to recycle selection markers and introduce mutations in the absence of these markers.

6. Genomic analysis of the parasite-hépatocyte interaction (H. Sakamoto, A. Agrawal)

Once the sporozoite is within a vacuole inside the hepatocyte, the parasite dedifferentiates and generates tens of thousands of merozoites, the parasite stage that infects erythrocytes and causes all symptoms of the disease. Most studies on parasite liver stages have attempted to characterize new vaccine candidates, as well as the immunological basis of the solid protection induced by injection of irradiated sporozoites (whose development inside hepatocytes is blocked). On the other hand, our understanding of parasite maturation in the liver is limited to a few descriptive studies, and only a handful of parasite molecules expressed inside hepatocytes have been identified.

In collaboration with the Genopole, we have constructed macroarrays (membranes) containing 13,000 GSTs, swhich are currently being hybridized with RNA from parasites collected at various time points of their development inside primary hepatocytes. In addition, our collaborators in PTR 59 are identifying genes of primary hepatocytes that are differentially expressed in the presence of the parasite.

Keywords: Plasmodium, Anopheles, cell invasion, gliding motility, intrahepatic development, mosquito immune response



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Delacourtie, Claudine,cdelac@pasteur.fr Baldacci, Patricia, IP, Chargée de Recherches,baldacci@pasteur.fr

Bourgouin, Catherine, IP, Chargée de Recherches,cabourg@pasteur.fr

Ménard, Robert, IP, Chef de Laboratoire,rmenard@pasteur.fr

Agrawal, Alka, post-doc,alka@pasteur.fr

Frischknecht, Friedrich, post-doc,freddy@pasteur.fr

Gil Carvalho, Teresa, étudiante,carvalho@pasteur.fr

Lavazec, Catherine, étudiante,calavazec@pasteur.fr

Tahar, Rachida, post-doc,tahar@pasteur.fr

Martin, Béatrice, Technicienne (GPH),

Thiberge, Sabine, Technicienne,thiberge@pasteur.fr

Thiery, Isabelle, Ingénieur,ithiery@pasteur.fr

Sakamoto, Hiroshi, Ingénieur,hiroshi@pasteur.fr


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme


  Responsable : Robert Ménard (rmenard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nous étudions Plasmodium, le parasite agent du paludisme, et en particulier les stades parasitaires qui infectent le moustique vecteur et le foie de l'hôte mammifère. L'étude porte sur trois axes  principaux: 1) l'étude fonctionnelle des gènes du moustique qui sont différentiellement exprimés pendant l'infection par l'ookinète, le stade parasitaire qui traverse l'épithelium digestif du moustique, 2) la biologie du sporozoïte, le stade parasitaire formé dans l'intestin du moustique et transmis au mammifère, particulièrement ses capacités de mobilité et d'invasion cellulaire, et 3) l'interaction entre le sporozoïte et l'hépatocyte du mammifère, et les produits impliqués dans la signalisation précoce qui s'établit entre ces deux cellules.



  rapport

cale

1. Caractérisation de gènes d'Anopheles gambiae impliqués dans l'interaction avec Plasmodium falciparum (C. Lavazec, I. Thiery, C. Bourgouin)

Au cours de son développement sporogonique précoce chez le moustique, le parasite franchit successivement deux barrières : la matrice péritrophique et l'épithélium intestinal. Dans les conditions naturelles de transmission de P.falciparum, parasite de l'homme, une forte réduction parasitaire intervient dans la lumière intestinale de sorte que seule une dizaine d'oocystes arrivent à maturité. Nous avions précédement identifié des gènes d'An. gambiae, le principal vecteur de P. falciparum en Afrique, dont l'expression est régulée au niveau du tube digestif du moustique par la présence de P. falciparum (Bonnet et al, 2001). La régulation de l'expression de ces gènes au cours du développement du moustique et du développement sporogonique du parasite a été établie par analyse RT-PCR quantitative. De plus, deux de ces gènes ont été caractérisés. Leur analyse fonctionnelle sera poursuivie par inactivation génique par interférence ARN.

2. Analyse de la réponse immunitaire d'An gambiae au cours du développement sporogonique de Plasmodium. (R. Tahar, I. Thiery, C. Bourgouin)

Le succès du développement de P. falciparum chez son hôte vecteur africain An. gambiae est vraisemblablement le fruit d'une adaptation fine du parasite à son hôte. Nous avons montré par analyse RT-PCR quantitative que les stades sporogoniques précoces de P. falciparum et de P. berghei, parasite qui infecte les rongeurs et qui n'est pas naturellement transmis par An gambiae, régulaient différemment la réponse immunitaire du moustique. Les stades invasifs pour le moustique de P. falciparum n'induisent pas de réponse stade-spécifique au niveau de l'organe clef qu ‘est le tube digestif du moustique, suggérant une manipulation de la réponse immunitaire de l'insecte par cette espèce plasmodiale (Tahar et al, 2002).

3. Mobilité en glissant des sporozoïtes (F. Frischknecht, P. Baldacci, B. Martin)

Comme tout stade invasif du phylum des Apicomplexes, le sporozoïte de Plasmodium est capable de ‘glisser' (se mouvoir sans changer de forme) sur un substrat solide et d'envahir toute cellule adhérente. Ces deux processus ont des bases moléculaires communes et résultent de la translocation postérieure d'interactions parasite-substrat/cellule, qui entraîne le mouvement en avant du parasite. Actuellement, nous développons les méthodes permettant de suivre le processus infectieux in vivo, en utilisant des sporozoïtes exprimant la GFP et en collaboration avec l'Unité d'Analyse d'Images Quantitative et le Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique. En particulier, nous voulons déterminer si la mobilité en glissant du sporozoïte est nécessaire à son pouvoir invasif seulement, ou si elle est aussi responsable de sa locomotion in vivo.

4. Invasion cellulaire par les sporozoites (P. Baldacci, F. Frischknecht)

La protéine parasitaire TRAP est une protéine transmembranaire dont la partie cytoplasmique lie le système moteur sous-membranaire du parasite. Nos résultats récents ont montré que l'entrée des sporozoites dans les cellules en culture ou dans ses organes cibles in vivo (glandes salivaires du moustique et foie du mammifère) dépend de deux domaines extracellulaires de TRAP, un domaine de type I de la thrombospondine et un domaine A d'intégrine (Matuschewski et al., 2002). Les résultats suggèrent aussi que ces deux domaines d'adhésion sont les ligands parasitaires, possiblement exclusifs, de la jonction parasite-cellule sur laquelle le système moteur du parasite exerce sa force pour propulser le parasite à l'intérieur de la cellule hôte. Nous essayons actuellement d'identifier les molécules cellulaires présentes dans la jonction, ainsi que les ligands du domaine A de la protéine TRAP qui médie l'essentiel des capacités invasives du sporozoïte.

5. Développement d'outils de modification génétique chez P. berghei (T. Gil Carvalho, S. Thiberge. H. Sakamoto)

Le genre Plasmodium est un terrain propice à la génétique inverse, en raison du taux élevé d'intégration d'ADN par recombinaison homologue et du caractère haploïde de son génome. P. berghei offre le double avantage de permettre une analyse in vivo de l'infection hépatique du mammifère et de constituer un système de génétique moléculaire beaucoup plus rapide et reproductible que P. falciparum. Nous essayons actuellement de mettre au point chez P. berghei un système de mutagenèse conditionnelle (utilisant Cre ou FLP) qui permettrait d'analyser la fonction de produits parasitaires essentiels, en particulier ceux nécessaires à l'infection des globules rouges. Dans le cadre d'un PTR, nous essayons aussi de mettre au point des techniques de sélection négative, qui permettraient par ‘Hit and Run' de recycler les marqueurs de sélection et d'introduire des mutations génomiques en l'absence de ceux-ci.

6. Analyse génomique de l'interaction parasite-hépatocyte (H. Sakamoto, A. Agrawal)

Une fois le sporozoïte dans une vacuole à l'intérieur de l'hépatocyte, il se dédifferencie et génère des dizaines de milliers de mérozoïtes, le stade parasitaire qui infecte les érythrocytes et cause tous les symptomes de la maladie. La plupart des études portant sur les stades hépatiques du parasite ont tenté de caractériser de nouveaux candidats vaccinaux, ainsi que les bases immunologiques de la protection solide induite par l'injection de sporozoïtes irradiés (dont le développement intrahépatique est bloqué). En revanche, notre connaissance du processus de maturation du parasite dans le foie est limitée à quelques études descriptives, et on ne connaît que quelques molécules parasitaires spécifiques des stades intrahépatocytaires.

En collaboration avec la Génopole nous avons construit des macroarrays (membranes) contenant 13,000 GSTs, qui sont en cours d'hybridation avec l'ARN de parasites récoltés à divers moments de leur développement dans des hépatocytes primaires. De plus, nos collaborateurs au sein du PTR 59 identifient les gènes des hépatocytes primaires qui sont différentiellement exprimés en présence du parasite.

Mots-clés: Plasmodium, Anopheles, invasion cellulaire, mobilité en glissant, développement intra-hépatocytaire, réponse immune du moustique



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Delacourtie, Claudine,cdelac@pasteur.fr Baldacci, Patricia, IP, Chargée de Recherches,baldacci@pasteur.fr

Bourgouin, Catherine, IP, Chargée de Recherches,cabourg@pasteur.fr

Ménard, Robert, IP, Chef de Laboratoire,rmenard@pasteur.fr

Agrawal, Alka, post-doc,alka@pasteur.fr

Frischknecht, Friedrich, post-doc,freddy@pasteur.fr

Gil Carvalho, Teresa, étudiante,carvalho@pasteur.fr

Lavazec, Catherine, étudiante,calavazec@pasteur.fr

Tahar, Rachida, post-doc,tahar@pasteur.fr

Martin, Béatrice, Technicienne (GPH),

Thiberge, Sabine, Technicienne,thiberge@pasteur.fr

Thiery, Isabelle, Ingénieur,ithiery@pasteur.fr

Sakamoto, Hiroshi, Ingénieur,hiroshi@pasteur.fr


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr