Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Molecular Biology of Development - URA 1947 du CNRS


  Director : Jean-François NICOLAS (jfnicola@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The control of cell behaviour (modes of cell growth, division and dispersion) is a fundamental aspect of the vertebrate development. Indeed, the complex arrangement of cellular operations forms the basis of the formation of transient embryonic territories from which inter-cellular signals are organised and can be diversified. We are studying these aspects of development. To understand their roots, we decided to compare several vertebrate model systems. These studies necessitate clonal analysis (using the LaacZ system) and imagery. We are also interested in the epigenetic modifications (specific to vertebrates) that occur at specific developmental stages.



  report

cale

Epigenetic modifications of the genome that occur during development

We carried out a molecular study of EF1a LacZ, EF1a LagZ and EF1a LagoZ transgenic mice (previously established in the laboratory) in which LacZ, LagZ and LagoZ contain different proportions of CpG. The methylation patterns of the reporter gene and of the EF1a promoter (which is included in a CpG-rich island) have been carefully established for both somatic and germinal tissues. The comparison of these patterns lead us to propose a model that explains the extinction of gene expression. According to this model, the CpG-rich regions of LacZ and LagZ interfere with the mechanism that protects the CpG-rich island of EF1a during the de novo methylation of genomic DNA that occurs upon embryo implantation. It induces a change in promoter chromatin structure incompatible with expression.

Clonal analysis

We carried out a clonal analysis of the muscular and central nervous systems. The method used, which was designed in our laboratory, is based on the labelling of a single embryonic cell and on the analysis of its clonal descendants at a precise time during development. This necessitates the use of transgenic mice harbouring a special reporter gene named LaacZ. The subsequent generation of libraries containing several hundred clones allows the detailed description of cell behaviour.

Concerning the muscular system, the clonal analysis of the 40 segments that form the myotome at E11.5 revealed that (1) the pool of precursor cells only consists of two clonal compartments, the medial and lateral compartments, just before the production of these segments and that (2) during this production, a direct topographic relationship is conserved between the pool of producer cells and the myotomal segments. These findings are at the basis of a novel interpretation of the patterns of expression of developmental genes in these structures.

Earlier in the history of the precursors of the muscular system, during trunk formation (axiogenesis), we have shown that cells follow a coherent behaviour (i.e. few movements and few divisions) although the embryo elongates considerably. This coherent cell behaviour concerns both the antero-posterior and dorso-ventral axes. It is established before the bilateralisation of the embryonic trunk structures. As it is during this period that cells are exposed to molecular signals that mediate segmentation and determine antero-posterior positional identity (the molecular clock and the Hox genes), these analyses help us to understand how the control of cell behaviour during this period is organised, according to the constraints generated by these molecular systems (Fig. 2). The molecular bases of segmentation and the acquisition of AP positional identity may depend on the mode of production of the myotome precursor from a pool of cells that renews itself, forming a permanent structure, the spatial organisation of the cells in this pool and the synchronic production of the left and right contributions (of almost similar clonal composition).

Finally, to study the formation of the definitive muscular system, we have produced two novel libraries, containing 1200 clones found in the embryo at E14.5 and in the new born at P7, from the "LaacZ muscle" transgenic line.

Concerning the central nervous system, we are currently analysing clones in the telencephalon and in the cerebellum (obtained from the LaacZ-nerve transgenic line).

Novel system, novel models

We have explored the use of a novel method of cell labelling in the embryo. In this method, labelling is temporally induced. This system is based on the properties of a recombinase (the P1 bacteriophage Cre enzyme) fused to a mutated receptor to oestrogen and on the utilisation of an appropriate recipient mouse reporter line. This method has led to the production of libraries of induced labelling in the surface ectoderm and in the epidermis (Figure 3). Their analysis should reveal the properties (position, mode of production, lineage relationship and potentialities) of the stem cells of the tegument and their relationship with embryonic cells.

A small zebra fish facility and a unit for the electroporation of chick embryos have been established to allow comparative embryology experiments to be carried out on vertebrates.

Figure 1 : The LaacZ labeling system of clones. A) The nls LaacZ reporter gene. A nls LacZ reporter gene, in which a duplication has rendered the enzyme inactive, is linked to a muscle specific promoter, MSP. A spontaneous homologous recombination between the duplicated " aa " sequences re-establishes the b-galactosidase coding frame (in blue). B) Production of clones in the progeny of a cross between a LaacZ transgenic male and a wild-type female. During development, a spontaneous homologous recombination occurs between the duplicated sequences of LaacZ, thus creating a functional LacZ gene in the cell. This event initiates the clonal labeling (coloured in blue) in the embryo. In the a-2 transgenic line, the frequency of myogenic b-gal+ clones at E11.5 is 5x10-2 per embryo.

Figure 2 : Model for the organisation of the pool of myotomal precursors in the primitive streak. Posterior is above and anterior is below. The primitive streak (PS) : presomitic mesoderm (PSM) and somites (S), and then dermomyotome (D) and myotome (M) are represented independently of the adjacent structures. The pool of self-renewing cells involved in axiogenesis is located in the primitive streak. The colour gradient symbolizes AP regionalisation. Most anterior cells (black circles) contribute to medial part of the paraxial mesoderm, from the presomitic mesoderm to the dermomyotome and myotome (black arrows). More posterior cells (open circles) contribute more laterally to the paraxial mesoderm (white arrows). This result in a reorientation of the axis from AP to ML, symbolized by the change of the gradient orientation. Maintenance of the regionalisation established in the primitive streak until formation of dermomyotome and myotome is represented by the conservation of the gradient in these structures. Note the symmetry of the gradient between the left and right parts of the paraxial mesoderm. Medial cells in the pool of self-renewing cells (black and open circles) contribute bilaterally to the paraxial mesoderm (black and white arrows), and the most lateral cells (grey circle) contribute only to the side where they are located (grey arrow). Clonal separation between medial and lateral parts of the somite which persists in the myotome, is superimposed on the mediolateral regionalisation of the paraxial mesoderm established in the self-renewing cell pool in the primitive streak. A, anterior; P, posterior; l, lateral; m, medial; PS, primitive streak; PSM, presomitic mesoderm; S, somite; D, dermomyotome; M, myotome.

Figure 3 : Temporally induced LacZ labelling. A. Labelling was carried out at E8.5. Dorsal view of the embryo six days after labelling: surface ectoderm growth was oriented along the dorso-lateral axis. B. Labelling was carried out at P60. View of the hair follicles, 14 days after labelling. This experiment indicates that the renewal of the hair follicles involves the recruitment of several stem cells of different clonal origins.

Keywords: LaacZ , cell lineage , mouse embryo , clonal analysis , muscular system , central nervous system , methylation of ADN , CpG , épigénétics , LagoZ , developmental biology



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  Françoise kamel, IP (fkamel@pasteur.fr), Secretary Jean-François NICOLAS, DR1 INSERM (jfnicola@pasteur.fr)

Luc MATHIS, CNRS (lmathis@pasteur.fr)

Sylvie FORLANI, postdoc (sforlani@pasteur.fr)

Sophie ELOY-TRINQUET, postdoc (eloytrin@moka.ccr.jussieu.fr)

Johan SIEUR, PhD student

Emilie LEGUE, PhD student (elegue@pasteur.fr)

Isabelle ROSZKO, PhD student (iroszko@pasteur.fr)

Aurore JEANDON, student

Christine MARIETTE, technician IP (mariette@pasteur.fr)

Suzanne CAPGRAS, technician, IP (scapgras@pasteur.fr)

Pascal DARDENNE, animal technician, IP (pdardenne@pasteur.fr)

Claude MOURIER

Françoise KAMEL, secrétary, IP (fkamel@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biologie Moléculaire du Développement - URA 1947 du CNRS


  Responsable : Jean-François NICOLAS (jfnicola@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le contrôle des comportements cellulaires (modes de croissance, modes de division et modes de dispersion) est un des aspects fondamentaux du développement des vertébrés. En effet, leur coordination permet la formation de territoires transitoires embryonnaires à partir desquels les signalisations inter-cellulaires peuvent se déployer et de diversifier. Ce sont ces aspects du développement que nous étudions. Pour en comprendre les fondements nous comparons plusieurs systèmes modèles de vertébrés. Ces études passent par l'analyse clonale (système LaacZ) et l'imagerie. Nous sommes aussi intéressés par l'impact sur l'expression génique des modifications épigénétiques (propres aux vertébrés) qui sont apposées en cis sur le génome à des moments clés du développement.



  rapport

cale

Modification épigénétique du génome au cours du développement

L'examen des lignées de souris transgéniques EF1a LacZ, EF1a LagZ et EF1a LagoZ (établies précédemment dans le laboratoire) dans lesquelles les gènes rapporteurs LacZ, LagZ et LagoZ sont plus ou moins riches en CpG s'est poursuivi au niveau moléculaire. Les patterns de méthylation des gènes rapporteurs et du promoteur (qui correspond à un îlot riche en CpG) pour les tissus somatiques et pour la lignée germinale ont été soigneusement établis. Leur comparaison nous permet de proposer un modèle qui rend compte des phénomènes d'extinction d'expression : les régions riches en CpG des gènes LacZ et LagZ interfèreraient avec le processus de protection de l'îlot CpG EF1a au moment de la méthylation de novo de l'ADN du génome, à l'implantation de l'embryon (E5,5 — E6,5). Il s'ensuivrait un changement d'orgaisation de la chromatine de la région promotrice incompatible avec l'expression.

Analyse clonale

L'exploration clonale du système musculaire et du système nerveux central s'est poursuivie. La méthode utilisée, mise au point auparavant par le laboratoire, consiste à marquer génétiquement une cellule de l'embryon et à analyser le clone qu'elle produit à un moment précis du développement. Ceci nécessite l'utilisation de lignées de souris transgéniques pour un gène rapporteur particulier appelé LaacZ. La production de librairies de plusieurs centaines de clones permet ensuite de décrire en détail les comportements cellulaires (Figure 1).

Pour ce qui concerne le système musculaire, l'analyse des clones dans les 40 segments qui ensemble constituent le myotome dans l'embryon à E11,5 a révélé que (1) le groupe de cellules précurseurs ne s'organise en deux compartiments clonaux, médian et latéral, que juste avant la production de ces segments et que (2) durant cette production, une relation topographique directe est conservée entre groupe producteur et segment myotomal. Ces constatations permettent une interprétation nouvelle des patterns d'expression des gènes du développement dans ces structures.

Plus tôt dans l'histoire des précurseurs du système musculaire, durant la formation du tronc (axiogenèse), les cellules suivent un comportement dit cohérent (peu de mouvements et peu de divisions) bien que l'embryon s'allonge considérablement. Ce comportement cohérent concerne les axes antéro-postérieur et dorso-ventral. Il est établi avant la bilatéralisation des structures du tronc de l'embryon. Comme c'est durant cette période que les cellules sont soumises aux signaux moléculaires qui déterminent la segmentation et fixent l'identité de position antéro-postérieure (horloge moléculaire et activation des gènes Hox), ces analyses suggèrent comment le contrôle du comportement cellulaire durant cette période s'organise en fonction des contraintes engendrées par ces systèmes moléculaires (Figure 2). Le mode de production des précurseurs du myotome à partir d'un groupe de cellules qui s'auto-maintient dans une structure permanente, l'organisation spatiale des cellules dans ce groupe et la production synchrone des contributions droite et gauche de composition clonale identique sont autant d'éléments sur lesquels (et peut-être même à partir desquels) s'élaborent les systèmes moléculaires de la segmentation et de l'acquisition d'une identité de position AP.

Enfin, pour aborder l'étude de la mise en place du système musculaire définitif, deux nouvelles librairies de 1200 clones ont été produites dans l'embryon à E14,5 et dans le souriceau à P7 à partir des souris " LaacZ-muscle ".

Pour ce qui concerne le système nerveux central, l'analyse de clones neuronaux (obtenus à partir des souris " LaacZ-nerf) dans le télencéphale et dans le cervelet s'est poursuivie.

Nouveaux systèmes, nouveaux organismes

Les potentialités d'une nouvelle méthode de marquage des cellules dans l'embryon ont été explorées. Dans cette méthode, les marquages sont induits temporellement. On exploite ici les propriétés d'une recombinase (la Cre du bactériophage P1) fusionnée à un récepteur aux oestrogènes muté. La lignée rapporteur ne présente pas de restrictions d' expression. Cette méthode nous a permis de produire des librairies de clones induits dans l'ectoderme de surface à E12,5 et dans l'épiderme et ses dérivés (Figure 3 ). Leur analyse devrait révéler les propriétés (position, mode de production et potentialités) des cellules-souches du tégument et leur relation avec les cellules embryonnaires.

Enfin, pour aborder expérimentalement certains problèmes d'embryologie comparative entre vertébrés, une petite structure d'élevage de poissons-zèbre et une unité d'électroporation d'embryons de poulets ont été mises en place.

Figure 1 :: Système LaacZ de marquage des clones. A) Le gène rapporteur nls LaacZ. Un gène rapporteur nls LaacZ dans lequel une duplication a rendu l'enzyme inactive est lié à un promoteur musculaire spécifique, spécifique, MSP. Une recombinaison homologue spontanée entre les séquences dupliquées " aa " réétablit la structure b-galactosidase codante. B) Production de clones dans la progénie d'un croisement entre un mâle transgénique LaacZ et une femelle de type sauvage. Pendant le développement, une recombinaison homologue spontanée se produit entre les séquences dupliquées de LaacZ créant de ce fait un gène fonctionnel LacZ dans la cellule. Cet événement amorce le marquage clonal (coloration en bleu) dans l'embryon. Dans la lignée transgénique a-2, la fréquence des clones myogéniques b-gal+ à E11.5 est de 5x10-2 par embryon.

Figure 2 : Modèle d'organisation du pool de précurseurs du myotome dans la ligne primitive. La partie postérieure est en haut ; la partie antérieure est en bas. La ligne primitive (PS) : le mésoderme présomitique (PSM) et les somites (S), puis le dermomyotome (D) et le myotome (M) sont représentés indépendamment des structures adjacentes. Le pool de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement impliqué dans l'axiogenèse est localisé dans la ligne primitive. Le gradient de couleurs représente la régionalisation antéro-postérieure. Les cellules les plus antérieures (cercles noirs) contribuent à la partie intermédiaire du mésoderme paraxial, du mésoderme présomitique au dermomyotome et au myotome (flèches noires). Les cellules plus postérieures (cercles ouverts) contribuent à la partie plus latérale du mésoderme paraxial (flèches blanches). Cela aboutit à une réorientation de l'axe d'AP à ML, symbolisé par le changement d'orientation du gradient. La persistance de la régionalisation établie dans la ligne primitive jusqu'à la formation du dermomyotome et du myotome est schématisée par la continuité du gradient dans ces structures. Noter la symétrie du gradient entre les parties gauche et droite du mésoderme paraxial. Les cellules intermédiaires dans le pool de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement (cercles noirs et ouverts) contribuent bilatéralement au mésoderme paraxial (flèches noire et blanche) et les cellules les plus latérales (cercle gris) contribuent uniquement au côté où elles sont localisées (flèche grise). La séparation clonale entre les parties médiale et latérale des somites (lignes verticales épaisses) qui persiste dans le myotome est surimposée à la régionalisation médiolatérale du mésoderme paraxial établi dans le pool de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement dans la ligne primitive. A, antérieur ; P, postérieur ; l, latéral ; m, médial ; PS, ligne primitive ; PSM, mésoderme présomitique ; S, somite ; D, dermomyotome ; M, myotome.

Figure 3 : Marquages LacZ induits temporellement. A. Induction du marquage à E8,5, observation dans l'embryon six jours après, vue dorsale : croissance orientée des cellules de l'ectoderme de surface. B. Induction du marquage à E13,5, observation des follicules pileux 340 jours après. Cette expérience démontre que le renouvellement des follicules pileux nécessite le recrutement de plusieurs cellules-souches d'origines clonales différentes.

Mots-clés: LaacZ , lignage cellulaire , embryon de souris , analyse clonale , système musculaire , système nerveux central , méthylation d’ADN , CpG , épigénétique , LagoZ , biologie du développement



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  Françoise kamel, IP (fkamel@pasteur.fr) NICOLAS, Jean-François, DR1 INSERM (jfnicola@pasteur.fr)

Luc MATHIS, CNRS (lmathis@pasteur.fr)

Sylvie FORLANI, stagiaire post-doctorale (sforlani@pasteur.fr)

Sophie ELOY-TRINQUET, stagiaire post-doctorale (eloytrin@moka.ccr.jussieu.fr)

Johan SIEUR, stagiaire de doctorat

Emilie LEGUE, stagiaire de doctorat (elegue@pasteur.fr)

Isabelle ROSZKO, stagiaire de doctorat (iroszko@pasteur.fr)

Aurore JEANDON, stagiaire de licence

Christine MARIETTE, technicienne supérieure IP (mariette@pasteur.fr)

Suzanne CAPGRAS, technicienne, IP (scapgras@pasteur.fr)

Pascal DARDENNE, technicien animalier, IP (pdardenne@pasteur.fr)

Claude MOURIER, aide de laboratoire, IP

Françoise KAMEL, secrétaire, IP (fkamel@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr