Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Development Biology - CNRS URA 1947


  Director : BABINET Charles (chbabi@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory is studying mouse embryonic development. Three lines of research are conducted: 1) We are studying the role of nucleocytoplasmic interactions in mouse preimplantation development. 2) We study the function of different genes in development via gene targeting approaches and we use a strategy of gene trapping to identify developmentally important genes. 3) We develop strategies to improve the efficiency of gene targeting.



  report

cale

1. Cloning of the Ovum mutant mutation (Om) which induces embryonic death around the blastocyst stage and entails a parental effect (M. Cohen-Tannoudji)

The DDK inbred strain of mice carries a conditional lethal mutation (we call the death of the embryos: "DDK syndrome") which is manifested in outcrosses and depends on the direction of the cross. We showed that the DDK syndrome entails an interaction between a DDK cytoplasmic product contained in the zygote and the alien paternal genome. We had mapped the Om locus and have now established its physical map by isolating a contig of BACs which encompasses the genetic region containing Om. Exon trapping, cDNA selection and sequencing (in collaboration with the Génoscope, Evry, France) have allowed us to identify ca. fifty genes. Among those, two of them, are privileged candidates to be involved in the DDK syndrome: indeed they are expressed in the oocyte and the testis; furthermore, they exhibit a difference in their open reading frame which is unique to DDK. In addition, we have shown that the disruption of these genes (by targeted mutagenesis in ES cells) results in early embryonic lethality, thus demonstrating their essential role in embryonic development.

2. Functional analysis of HNF1b and Trapa

The function of HNF1b (J. Barra in collaboration with the group of Dr. M. Yaniv, Pasteur Institute)

We had shown that embryos homozygous for a null mutation in HNF1b gene die around day 7 of gestation, due to a defect in visceral endoderm differentiation. This year, we addressed the role of HNF1b in organogenesis, using a strategy of conditional mutagenesis. We have shown that specific disruption of HNF1b in hepatocytes and bile ducts prevents the formation of intrahepatic bile ducts; furthermore severe abnormalities of the gallbladder are observed. We also identified HNF1b targets involved in bile sensing and fatty acid oxidation. We extended our observations to the effects of HNF1b specific inactivation in epiblast which results in defects in the morphogenesis of liver, pancreas and kidney. Furthermore, we have demonstrated that HNF1b inactivation in the primitive gut result in defects in the development of this organ. We are now developing a molecular analysis of these defects by probing in the first place various molecular markers already known to be implicated in these aspects of differentiation and morphogenesis.

Functional analysis of an insertion mutation resulting in defective cardiac morphogenesis (J. Barra)

Using a gene trap approach, we obtained an insertion mutation resulting in the homozygous state in embryonic lethality after mid-gestation. We showed that the gene trap vector was inserted in the TRAPa gene which codes for a subunit of a protein complex associated with the translocon. Analysis of the phenotype of mutant embryos demonstrated a defective cardiac morphogenesis, including a cardiac hypertrophy and a septation defect inducing a gap between ventricles. We are currently examining the possible implication, either direct or indirect, of the cardiac neural crest cells in the observed phenotype.

3. An approach to improve the efficiency of gene targeting (M. Cohen-Tannoudji)

We have recently developped a strategy for mouse germline modifications based on the stimulation of endogenous DNA repair processes. This approach allows to enhance considerably the targeting efficiency at a given locus. It consists in the introduction of recognition site for the meganuclease I-SceI into the locus to be targeted. I-SceI induces a double strand break in the locus which stimulates homologous recombination with an incoming repair matrix. Our aim is now to: i) to improve the targeting methods by introducing targeted modifications directly into the zygote, thus avoiding the use of ES cells. ii) Create genetic modifications in somatic cells. iii) Identify permissive sites for the targeted expression of genes involved in human pathologies or of therapeutic agents.

Recently we have generated a reporter gene comprising the coding sequences of LacZ separated by an I-SceI site. The reporter gene is not functional, due to the presence of LacZ duplicated regions surrounding the I-SceI site. Recombination can then be estimated by the restoration of LacZ activity which is easily monitored. Thus we have coinjected the reporter gene with I-SceI protein into the pronucleus of fertilized egg and could observe b-galactosidase expression in a significant proportion of the embryos. We now wish to extend this result which demonstrates extra-chromosomal recombination to the case of a reporter gene integrated into the genome. To that end, transgenic mice obtained via ES cells and containing this new reporter gene, are being generated. We will then inject I-SceI into the zygotes bearing the reporter transgene; in this way we will be able to evaluate the possibility of enhancing intra-chromosomal recombination in ovo.

A core facility for the generation of transgenic mice (S. Rudinger)

Our laboratory is in charge of a transgenic facility which generates transgenic mice for the groups of the Pasteur. Institute.

Keywords: Mouse embryonic development, ES cells, HNF1b, Trapa, nucleocytoplasmic interactions, gene targeting, I-SceI



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  FLEURANCE Isabelle (ifleur@pasteur.fr) BABINET Charles, CNRS and IP, (Researcher,chbabi@pasteur.fr)

BARRA Jacqueline, IP, (Researcher,barraja@pasteur.fr)

COHEN-TANNOUDJI Michel, CNRS, (Researcher, m-cohen@pasteur.fr)

ARTUS Jérôme, PhD student

CORMIER Sarah, postdoc

COUMAILLEAU Franck, PhD student

KRESS Chantal (Engineer,kerssova@pasteur.fr)

MESBAH Karim (Technician,mesbahk@pasteur.fr)

RUDINGER Stéphanie (Technician,rudinger@pasteur.fr)

VANDORMAEL-POURNIN Sandrine (Technician,drinette@pasteur.fr)


Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biologie du Développement - CNRS URA 1947


  Responsable : BABINET Charles (chbabi@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire s'intéresse au développement embryonnaire de la souris. Trois voies de recherche sont poursuivies : 1) Le rôle des interactions nucléocytoplasmiques dans le développement préimplantatoire. 2) L'analyse de la fonction de certains gènes par mutagenèse dirigée in vivo et la recherche de gènes de développement grâce à la stratégie de piégeage de gènes dans les cellules ES. 3) La mise au point de stratégies plus efficaces de mutagenèse par recombinaison homologue (RH).



  rapport

cale

1. Clonage de la mutation Ovum mutant, entraînant la mort embryonnaire au stade blastocyste et dont l'expression dépend d'un effet parental (M. Cohen-Tannoudji)

La lignée DDK est porteuse d'une mutation létale conditionnelle, Ovum mutant, qui entraîne la mort des embryons au stade blastocyste et dépend d'un effet parental (syndrome DDK). Nous avons montré que le syndrome DDK a son origine dans une interaction entre un facteur cytoplasmique DDK contenu dans le zygote et le génome paternel étranger. Nous avons maintenant établi un contig complet de la région génétique contenant le locus Om à l'aide de chromosomes artificiels de levure et de bactéries. Les techniques de piégeage d'exons et d'hybridation/sélection de cDNA associés au séquençage de la région Om (collaboration avec le Centre National de Séquençage, Evry) nous ont permis d'identifier environ une cinquantaine de gènes. Deux d'entre eux apparaissent comme des candidats privilégiés pour jouer un rôle dans le syndrome DDK : en effet d'une part, ils sont exprimés dans l'ovocyte et le testicule, d'autre part ces gènes portent une mutation dans la lignée DDK et uniquement dans celle-ci parmi une quinzaine de lignées de souris de laboratoire et sauvages. Au surplus, nous avons créé par recombinaison homologue dans les cellules ES, des allèles nulles de ces gènes et montré que leur invalidation entraînait une léthalité embryonnaire. Ainsi, ces gènes ont un rôle essentiel dans le développement de l'embryon.

2. Analyse de la fonction des gènes HNF1b et Trapa

- Fonctions du gène HNF1b (J. Barra en collaboration avec le laboratoire de M. Yaniv, Institut Pasteur)

Nous avions montré que des embryons homozygotes pour une mutation nulle du gène HNF1b meurent aux alentours du jour 7 de la gestation et qu'un défaut de différenciation de l'endoderme viscéral en était la cause primaire. Nous avons poursuivi l'analyse par mutagenèse conditionnelle de la fonction du gène HNF1 b. Nous avons montré que l'absence de HNF1b dans les hépatocytes et les canaux biliaires entraîne l'absence de formation de canaux biliaires intrahépatiques et de la vésicule biliaire. Nous avons de plus identifié deux gènes qui jouent un rôle respectivement dans l'homéostasie biliaire et dans l'oxydation des acides gras et dont l'expression est éteinte en l'absence de HNF1b. Nous avons étendu nos observations sur l'inactivation spécifique de HNF1b dans l'épiblaste qui entraîne des défauts dans la morphogenèse du foie, du pancréas et du rein. Nous avons également montré que l'inactivation de HNF1b dans l'intestin primitif entraîne d'importants défauts dans le développement de cet organe. Nous avons entrepris une analyse moléculaire de ces anomalies en examinant, dans un premier temps, l'expression de différents marqueurs connus pour être impliqués dans ces phénomènes de différenciation et de morphogenèse.

- Analyse fonctionnelle d'une mutation d'insertion entraînant un défaut de morphogenèse cardiaque (J. Barra)

Nous avions obtenu par une approche de piégeage de gènes une mutation d'insertion entraînant à l'état homozygote une léthalité embryonnaire au cours de la deuxième moitié de la gestation. Nous avions montré que l'insertion du vecteur de piégeage s'était produite dans le gène Trapa code pour une sous-unité d'un complexe protéique associé au translocon. L'analyse plus approfondie du phénotype des embryons mutants a démontré qu'ils souffraient d'une anomalie de morphogenèse du cœur, impliquant en particulier une hypertrophie cardiaque et un grave défaut de septation, entraînant une communication interventriculaire. Nous examinons actuellement l'implication directe ou indirecte les cellules de la crête neurale cardiaque dans le phénotype observé.

3. Une approche en vue d'améliorer l'efficacité du ciblage génique (M. Cohen-Tannoudji)

Nous avons récemment mis au point une stratégie de modification du génome de la souris basée sur la stimulation des processus endogènes de réparation qui permet d'augmenter considérablement la fréquence de mutation par ciblage de gène dans un locus donné. Elle consiste à introduire dans le locus à cibler un site de reconnaissance de la méganucléase I-SceI. L'action de la méganucléase crée une cassure double brin qui stimule la recombinaison au locus avec une matrice de réparation. Sur la base de cette stratégie, nous cherchons à: i) perfectionner les méthodes de mutagenèse dirigée en introduisant des modifications programmées directement dans le génome du zygote sans passer par les cellules souches embryonnaires de souris. ii) réaliser des modifications génétiques ciblées dans des cellules somatiques grâce à cette méthodologie. iii) identifier un ou plusieurs sites permissifs pour l'expression ciblée de gènes impliqués dans le développement d'une pathologie ou d'agents thérapeutiques dans le cadre d'études de faisabilité de thérapie génique.

Dernièrement, nous avons développé un gène rapporteur, constitué de deux fragments du gène lacZ, interrompu par un site I-SceI. Le gène rapporteur n'est pas fonctionnel car il existe une région dupliquée de part et d'autre du site I-SceI. En coinjectant ce gène rapporteur avec une solution contenant la protéine I-SceI dans le pronucléus d'un oeuf fécondé, nous avons pu observer l'expression de la b-galactosidase dans un pourcentage significatif d'embryons. Nous cherchons par ailleurs à étendre ce résultat, qui témoigne d'une recombinaison extrachromosomique, au cas d'un gène rapporteur intégré dans le génome. Pour ce faire, nous avons introduit le gène rapporteur dans un site endogène via les cellules ES. Les souris obtenues à partir de ces cellules ES modifiées seront la source de zygotes porteurs du gène rapporteur dans lesquels sera injecté I-SceI. Ainsi pourra être évalué la stimulation in ovo d'une recombinaison intrachromosomique.

Activité de service (S. Rudinger)

L'unité a la responsabilité d'un service pour la création de souris transgéniques.

Mots-clés: Développement embryonnaire de la souris, cellules ES, HNF1b, Trapa, interactions nucléocytoplasmiques, mutagénèse ciblée, I-SceI



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  FLEURANCE Isabelle (ifleur@pasteur.fr) BABINET Charles, CNRS et IP, (DR1 et Pr,chbabi@pasteur.fr)

BARRA Jacqueline, IP, (CR,barraja@pasteur.fr)

COHEN-TANNOUDJI Michel, CNRS, (CR1, m-cohen@pasteur.fr)

ARTUS Jérôme, Doctorant

CORMIER Sarah, stagiaire postdoctorale

COUMAILLEAU Franck, Doctorant

KRESS Chantal (Ingénieur d'études,kerssova@pasteur.fr)

MESBAH Karim (Technicien supérieur de laboratoire,mesbahk@pasteur.fr)

RUDINGER Stéphanie (Technicienne supérieure de laboratoire,rudinger@pasteur.fr)

VANDORMAEL-POURNIN Sandrine (Technicienne supérieure de laboratoire,drinette@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr