Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Insect Biochemistry and Molecular Biology


  Director : BREY Paul (pbrey@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research unit is working on three tightly linked subjects : 1) Anopheles genomics and post-genomics : 2) host-parasite interactions between malaria parasites and mosquito vectors especially during the early phases of the sporogonic cycle, 3) Dipteran innate immune response with special focus on the regulation of the melanization cascade and signal transduction pathways involved in immune response. Our aim is to better understand the natural history and interactions of the malaria parasite within its invertebrate host with the hope of finding ways to interrupt or regulate this interaction.



  report

cale

Genomics of A. gambiae (Charles Roth, Martine Grailles, Inge Holm and Paul Brey)

The Institut Pasteur is a member of the international consortium that successfully sequenced the genome of this important Plasmodium vector. The sequence of the genome and the preliminary analysis of the genes was completed in 2002 (Science. 2002 Oct 4;298(5591):129-49.). The 278 million base pair sequence covering about 90% of the genome was predicted to contain nearly 14 thousand genes. Our unit is working to increase the accuracy of the genomic sequences and the identification of the proteins it encodes. These studies are will allow us to prediction which proteins might interact with each other or with the malaria parasite and be targets for blocking parasite infections. We are also studying membrane transporters in the mosquito that resemble those used by human cancer cells to evade the killing effects of anit-tumor drugs. These studies could lead to drugs that make anti-tumor drugs and insecticides more effective.

Proteomics approach of A. gambiae saliva and salivary glands (Valérie Choumet, Virginie Jan and Paul Brey)

Our team will carry out a structural and functional proteomics approach of Anopheles gambiae saliva and salivary glands. On one hand, there is now compelling evidence that the pharmacological activity of arthropod saliva has a profound effect on pathogen transmission. The study of its composition could then provide new vaccine targets in the prevention and the treatment of malaria. On the other hand, the saliva of blood-sucking insects is known to contain a large variety of peptides and proteins whose great specificity of action makes them powerful pharmacological tools to dissect certain physiological mechanisms and to propose new drugs or diagnostic tests. The structural proteomics analysis, carried out in collaboration with the platform "Protéomique" of the Pasteur Institute. With regard to the functional proteomics approach, our team will more particularly focus her efforts on the characterization of anti-hemostatic and proinflammatory components.

Alterations of A. gambiae salivary gland transcriptome during infection by Plasmodium (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot, Massimiliano Veneri and Paul Brey).

For the successful completion of the life cycle in mosquitoes, the parasites must migrate through the salivary gland epithelial barrier. Our work hypothesis is that the presence of the parasite inside or in close contact with the salivary gland cells will induce cellular defense mechanism, and a change in gene expression. This change might in turn have some role in the survival of the parasite, and therefore, in the transmission of the disease. Recent sequencing of the Anopheles genome will enable us to analyze these changes in gene expression on a global level, and we are currently developing two techniques for characterization of salivary gland transcriptome: the SAGE technique (Serial analysis of gene expression) and the microarrays. This work is part of the Anopheles "Grand Projet Horizontal" at the Pasteur Institute.

Gene discovery in Plasmodium- host cell interactions during the sporogonic cycle (Anna Raibaud, Karima Brahimi, Richard Paul and Paul Brey)

Currently, our studies are part of a transversal research program in collaboration with two other laboratories within the Pasteur Institute (Unité Postulante de Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme et Unité Génétique de la Différentiation). The object of the program we propose is to identify and functionally characterise novel genes which are expressed by the two sporogonic invasive stages (the ookinete and the sporozoite) and the hepatocyte. We will apply a recently developed gene discovery approach, suppression subtractive hybridisation (SSH) and use the P. berghei system, whose entire life cycle can be achieved in the laboratory, for which the infection of hepatocytes can go to completion in vitro and which is the model of choice for molecular studies because of the relative ease of targeted mutagenesis. In this way we aim to identify novel therapeutic targets.

Evolutionary ecology of Plasmodium and virulence-transmission interactions according to infection complexity (Richard Paul and Paul Brey)

The population structure of parasitic organisms determines the degree of parasite inbreeding, which has important epidemiological consequences and is a strong determinant in the evolution of virulence. Virulence is, however, a complex phenotype; parasite sex ratio is predicted to be highly informative for how virulence might evolve in natural populations as both are predicted to respond in the same way to population structure and can thus be modelled similarly. Anaemia is the major form of virulence in malaria and the host haematological state is correlated with parasite sex allocation: reticulocyte density positively correlates with gametocyte density and in animal models of malaria, erythropoietin was implicated in gametocyte sex determination (Paul et al. 2000). Thus anaemia is a physical manifestation of virulence and an indirect trigger of sex allocation. Establishing how infection genetic diversity relates to anaemia has not only considerable importance for disease management but also for influencing parasite transmission phenotypes.

Biochemical and genetic characterization of Serpin-27A (spn27A, CG11331) in Drosophila melanogaster (Sung Jun Han and Paul Brey)

The identification of genes that regulate the melanization cascade in Drosophila has been complicated by the high number of serpin and serine protease candidate genes in the fly genome. Recently, a DNA microarray analysis helped us to select 5 serpin genes among the 30 encoded by the Drosophila genome that, like spn43Ac, are significantly up-regulated in response to infection and might control one of the serine protease cascades associated to fly immune reactions. Our data demonstrate that Spn27A regulates the melanization cascade through the specific inhibition of PPO processing by the terminal serine protease PPAE.

Characterization of the serpin-27A homologue in A. gambiae (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot and P. Brey)

Melanotic encapsulation of Plasmodium in some refractory strains of Anopheles results in a block to parasite transmission. For this reason, we are interested in the regulation of the melanisation cascade in A. gambiae, especially in the regulation of phenoloxydase activity, where prophenoloxydase is the key enzyme in the melanisation response. We have identified in sequence databases two homologues of the Drosophila Serpin 27A, which are predicted to modulate phenoloxydase activity in mosquito. The corresponding genes were cloned and characterization of the biological function of these serpins is in progress.

Keywords: Mosquito, insect, vector, Drosophila, immune response, parasites, genomics, Anopheles gambiae, Plasmodium



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  BLANC, Marie-France, (mfblanc@pasteur.fr) BREY, Paul,pbrey@pasteur.fr

CHOUMET, Valérie, IP,vchoumet@pasteur.fr

EIGLMEIER, Karin, IP,kei@pasteur.fr

PAUL, Richard, IP,topotito@pasteur.fr

RAIBAUD, Anna, IP,araibaud@pasteur.fr

ROSINSKI-CHUPIN, Isabelle, IP,ichupin@pasteur.fr

ROTH, Charles, CNRS, croth@pasteur.fr

BRAHIMI, Karima, IP, Postdoc,kbrahimi@pasteur.fr

GOMEZ, Shawn, Pasteur Foundation, Postdoc,sgomez@pasteur.fr

GRAILLES, Marine, IP Dakar, Postdoc,letocar@pasteur.fr

HAN, Sung-Jun, Yonsei Medical School, Corée, PhD student, a quitté l'unité le 30 avril 2002

JAN, Virginie, Museum Histoire Naturelle, PhD student,vjan@pasteur.fr

POLONSKY Alexander, Pasteur Foundation, Postdoc,apolonsk@pasteur.fr

VENERI, Massimiliano, Université de Rome, "la Sapienza", Student, a quitté l'unité le 4 novembre 2002
BLANC, Marie-France, IP, Secretary,mfblanc@pasteur.fr

CARMI-LEROY, Annick, IP, Technician,acarmi@pasteur.fr

HOLM, Inge, Engineer,holm@pasteur.fr

PATRICIO, Vidalia, IP, Technician,patricio@pasteur.fr

PERROT, Sylvie, IP, Technician,sperrot@pasteur.fr

ROBBE-VINCENT, Annie, IP, Technician,arobbe@pasteur.fr

SAUTEREAU, Jean, IP, Technician,jsautere@pasteur.fr

VINDU BOKOMO, Julia, IP, Laboratory Agent,jvindu@pasteur.fr

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Biochimie et de Biologie Moléculaire des Insectes


  Responsable : BREY Paul (pbrey@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre Unité se concentre sur trois thèmes de recherche ayant des liens entre eux : 1) le génome d'Anopheles gambiae, 2) les interactions parasite du paludisme/moustique, en particulier au tout début du développement sporogonique et 3) l'immunité des diptères surtout au niveau de la cascade enzymatique qui déclenche l'encapsulation et la production de la mélanine et les voies de signalisation impliquées dans la réponse immunitaire. Notre but est de mieux comprendre comment les parasites du paludisme interagissent avec leurs insectes hôtes afin de trouver d'éventuelles solutions pour interrompre ou réguler cette interaction.



  rapport

cale

Génomique d'Anopheles gambiae (Charles Roth, Marine Grailles, Inge Holm et Paul Brey)

L'Institut Pasteur est membre du consortium international qui a réalisé le séquençage du génome de Anopheles gambiae, principal vecteur du paludisme. La séquence du génome et son analyse préliminaire ont été terminées en 2002 (Science, 2002, 4 octobre, 298 (5591) : 129-49). Cette séquence, longue de 278 millions de paires de bases recouvre environ 90% du génome et coderait pour 14 000 gènes. Notre unité travaille à l'amélioration de l'exactitude de la séquence génomique et des séquences protéiques codées. D'autres études permettront aussi d'établir une prédiction des capacités d'interaction entre les diverses protéines du génome du moustique et permettront d'envisager celles pouvant être des cibles pour l'inhibition de l'infection par le parasite. Nous analysons aussi des transporteurs semblables à ceux responsables de la résistance à certaines drogues comme les agents anticancéreux humains. L'analyse de ce type de protéines permettrait la compréhension des interactions protéine-toxine et pourrait amener à améliorer l' efficacité des insecticides et des drogues anti-tumorales.

Analyse protéomique de la salive et des glandes salivaires d'A. gambiae (Valérie Choumet, Virginie Jan, et Paul Brey)

Notre équipe va procéder à l'analyse protéomique, structurale et fonctionnelle, de la salive et des glandes salivaires d'Anopheles gambiae. Il est en effet maintenant admis que la salive des arthropodes influence la transmission des agents pathogènes qu'elle contient (virus, bactéries, parasites). L'étude de sa composition pourrait alors fournir de nouvelles cibles vaccinales dans la prévention et le traitement du paludisme. Par ailleurs, la salive des insectes hématophages contient une grande variété de peptides et de protéines dont la grande spécificité d'action les rend très attractifs en tant qu'outils pharmacologiques pour disséquer certains mécanismes physiologiques et proposer de nouveaux médicaments ou tests de diagnostic. L'analyse protéomique structurale sera réalisée en collaboration avec la plate-forme " Protéomique " de l'Institut Pasteur. Dans le cadre du protéome fonctionnel, notre équipe focalisera plus particulièrement ses efforts sur la caractérisation des molécules impliquées dans l'hématophagie et les effets pro-inflammatoires de la salive.

Variations du transcriptome des glandes salivaires d' A. gambiae au cours de leur infection par Plasmodium (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot, Massimiliano Veneri et Paul Brey)

L'épithélium salivaire constitue une barrière que le Plasmodium doit traverser lors de sa migration vers le canal salivaire , avant sa réinjection à un hôte humain lors de la piqûre. Notre hypothèse de travail est que les cellules de l'épithélium salivaire réagissent à leur invasion par le parasite et que cette réaction se matérialise, notamment, par une modification de l'expression génétique. Cette modification du contexte cellulaire pourrait, en retour, avoir une influence sur la survie du parasite, et par conséquent sur sa transmission à l'hôte vertébré. Le séquençage récent du génome de l'anophèle nous permet d'envisager l'étude de ces modifications selon des approches globales et nous travaillons actuellement sur la mise en place de deux types d'outils pour l'étude globale du transcriptome de l'anophèle: la technique de SAGE (Serial Analysis of Gene Expression) et les microarrays. Ces études font partie du Grand Programme Horizontal Anophèle développé à l'Institut Pasteur.

Identification génique chez Plasmodium — interactions avec la cellule hôte au cours du cycle sporogonique (Anna Raibaud, Karima Brahimi, Richard Paul et Paul Brey)

Actuellement, nos études font parties d'un programme transversal de recherche en collaboration avec deux autres laboratoires au sein de l'Institut Pasteur (Unité Postulante de Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme et Unité Génétique de la Différentiation). Notre programme propose l'identification et la caractérisation fonctionnelle de nouveaux gènes qui sont exprimés spécifiquement aux stades invasifs du cycle sporogonique (l'ookinète et le sporozoïte) et par les hépatocytes infectés. Pour cela nous utilisons une technique récente, l'Hybridation Soustractive Suppressive (HSS) et le système rongeur P. berghei qui présente plusieurs avantages : le cycle entier du parasite peut être maintenu au laboratoire, l'infection des hépatocytes peut être menée à terme in vitro et les études moléculaires sont facilitées par des techniques de mutagenèse dirigée simples et rapides. De cette façon, nous espérons identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques.

Ecologie évolutionniste de Plasmodium et interactions entre la virulence d'infection et la transmission aux moustiques selon la complexité d'infection (Richard Paul et Paul Brey)

La structure de population des parasites détermine leur degré d'autofécondation qui a des conséquences épidémiologiques importantes et est une cause déterminante dans l'évolution de la virulence. Cependant, la virulence est un phénotype complexe. La virulence et le sexe ratio devraient répondre de la même manière à la structure de population et peuvent être modélisés pareillement. Ainsi, le sexe ratio du parasite donnerait beaucoup d'information sur la façon dont la virulence peut évoluer dans les populations normales. L'anémie est la forme principale de virulence dans le paludisme et l'état hématologique de l'hôte est corrélé à l'attribution du sexe du parasite : la densité des réticulocytes se rapproche de la densité des gamétocytes et dans les modèles animaux, l'érythropoiëtine a été impliquée dans le déterminisme sexué (Paul et al., 2000). Ainsi, l'anémie est la manifestation physique de la virulence et d'un déclenchement indirect de la différenciation sexuelle. D'établir le lien entre la diversité génétique d'infection et l'anémie a non seulement une importance considérable pour la gestion de la maladie, mais il peut également influencer les phénotypes du parasite relatifs à la transmission.

Etude d'un inhibiteur naturel de sérine protéase (Serpine) impliqué dans la régulation de l'activation de la prophénoloxydase (Sung-Jun Han et Paul Brey)

La mélanisation chez les insectes joue un rôle important dans la réponse immunitaire. Les insectes, dépourvus d'immunoglobuline, utilisent l'encapsulation mélanotique pour séquestrer les parasites et les pathogènes dans l'hémocoel. L'enzyme principal de la synthèse de la mélanine est la phénoloxydase. La phénoloxydase existe sous forme de zymogène (prophénoloxydase) dans l'hémolymphe de l'insecte. Lorsqu'il y a blessure ou invasion, la prophénoloxydase est activée par une protéolyse limite sous l'action une sérine protéase appelée PPAE. Cette protéase PPAE doit être elle-même régulée pour éviter la surproduction de la mélanine qui peut être mortelle pour l'insecte. Il existe une famille d'inhibiteurs naturels de sérine protéase appelés serpines. Cette famille d'inhibiteurs est très representée chez les insectes. Récemment, nous avons criblé les banques EST de Drosophila (BDGP) et avons trouvé une serpine orthologue (Serpine-27A). Nous avons pu démontrer que cette serpine était inhibitrice de l'activation de la prophénoloxydase, non seulement chez la drosophile, mais aussi chez Bombyx mori et Gallaria mellonella. Par des approches biochimiques et génétiques nous avons démontré également que la cible de la serpine 27-A est en effet la PPAE. De plus, la serpine 27-A a manifesté une activité anti-agrégation des hémocytes et anti-coagulation de l'hémolymphe.

Caractérisation d'un homologue de Serpine-27A chez A. gambiae (Isabelle Rosinski-Chupin, Sylvie Perrot et Paul Brey)

L'encapsulation mélanotique de Plasmodium chez certaines souches d' A. gambiae conduit à un blocage de la transmission du parasite. Pour cette raison, nous nous intéressons à la régulation de la cascade de mélanisation chez A. gambiae, en particulier à la régulation de l'activité de la phénoloxydase, l'enzyme clé de la cascade de mélanisation. La recherche d'homologues de la serpine 27A de drosophile, chez A. gambiae, nous a conduits à prédire que deux protéines de type serpine pourraient avoir un rôle dans la modulation de l'activité phénoloxydase, chez le moustique. Nous avons cloné les gènes correspondants et cherchons maintenant à mettre en évidence le rôle de ces serpines au cours de la réaction de mélanisation.

Mots-clés: Moustique, insecte, vecteur, réponse immunitaire, parasites, génome, Anopheles gambiae, Plasmodium



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  BLANC, Marie-France, (mfblanc@pasteur.fr) BREY, Paul, IP, Chef de Laboratoire,pbrey@pasteur.fr

CHOUMET, Valérie, IP, Chargé de recherche,vchoumet@pasteur.fr

EIGLMEIER, Karin, IP, Chargé de recherche,kei@pasteur.fr

PAUL, Richard, IP, Chargé de recherche,topotito@pasteur.fr

RAIBAUD, Anna, IP, Chargé de Recherche,araibaud@pasteur.fr

ROSINSKI-CHUPIN, Isabelle, IP, Chargé de rechreche,ichupin@pasteur.fr

ROTH, Charles, CNRS, Chargé de recherche,croth@pasteur.fr

BRAHIMI, Karima, IP, Postdoc,kbrahimi@pasteur.fr

GOMEZ, Shawn, Pasteur Foundation, Postdoc,sgomez@pasteur.fr

GRAILLES, Marine, IP Dakar, Postdoc,letocar@pasteur.fr

HAN, Sung-Jun, Yonsei Medical School, Corée, Thèse, a quitté l'unité le 30 avril 2002

JAN, Virginie, Museum Histoire Naturelle, Thèse,vjan@pasteur.fr

POLONSKY Alexander, Pasteur Foundation, Postdoc,apolonsk@pasteur.fr

VENERI, Massimiliano, Université de Rome, "la Sapienza", Stagiaire, a quitté l'unité le 4 novembre 2002
BLANC, Marie-France, IP, Secrétaire,mfblanc@pasteur.fr

CARMI-LEROY, Annick, IP, Technicienne,acarmi@pasteur.fr

HOLM, Inge, Ingénieur,holm@pasteur.fr

PATRICIO, Vidalia, IP, Technicienne,patricio@pasteur.fr

PERROT, Sylvie, IP, Technicienne,sperrot@pasteur.fr

ROBBE-VINCENT, Annie, IP, Technicienne,arobbe@pasteur.fr

SAUTEREAU, Jean, IP, Technicien,jsautere@pasteur.fr

VINDU BOKOMO, Julia, IP, Agent de laboratoire,jvindu@pasteur.fr

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr