Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Aspergillus


  Director : Jean-Paul Latgé (jplatge@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Aspergillus fumigatus is a thermophilic, saprophytic filamentous fungus that sporulates abundantly in nature. Pulmonary diseases consecutive to the inhalation of airborne conidia of A. fumigatus are often fatal among immunocompromised patients. Indeed, A. fumigatus has become today the most important fungal aerial pathogen in developed countries. The first research theme of the laboratory is medically orientated and is focused on the study of invasive aspergillosis. Special emphasis is directed towards the analysis of the host-pathogen interactions to understand the early stages of the establishment of A. fumigatus in the lung parenchyma. On the applied side, new serological diagnostic methods are currently investigated since a better management of invasive aspergillosis patients is based on a better diagnosis of this mycosis. The other research area is more fundamental and concerns the study of the fungal cell wall biosynthesis that is a key morphogenetic event in the fungal life. In addition, such studies could lead to the identification of targets for the development of new antifungal drugs that are urgently needed for the treatment of fungal diseases.



  report

cale

I - Pathobiology of Aspergillus fumigatus

The interactions between the alveolar macrophage that is the main phagocytic cells of the lung environment and the conidia of A. fumigatus have been studied (Granet, Philippe). The intracellular trafficking of the conidium towards the phagolysosome has been specifically investigated. Killing of the conidia in the immunocompetent host is due to reactive oxidant intermediates associated to the acidification of the phagolysosome. Glucocorticoids highly reduced the production of reactive oxidants, resulting in the intracellular germination of conidia that initiates the establishment of A. fumigatus in the lung . This finding explains a posteriori why glucocorticoids triggers the development of invasive aspergillosis among immunocompromised patients. However, mutants of A. fumigatus that are deficient in catalase, that are supposed to counteract the host reactive oxidant species, are as pathogenic as parental strains in an experimental murine aspergillosis model. These results and the analysis of other A. fumigatus mutants obtained by reverse genetics suggest that the virulence of A. fumigatus is polygenic (Paris). To approach this problem, and to identify genes concomittanlty expressed during infection, a transcriptome analysis has been started. Surch large scale investigation studies are now feasible since the sequence of the genome of A. fumigatus (11 mb, >11000 genes) is now available (Beauvais, Debeaupuis, Henry, Mouyna, Sarfati).

The serological diagnosis of aspergillosis is based on the immunochemical detection of several glycoproteins (produced as recombinant proteins) (Sarfati) and of galactofuran-bearing molecules. The galactomannan is a major antigen of A. fumigatus that is at the origin of the development of the only commercial kit for the diagnosis of invasive aspergillosis. This kit is a sandwich ELISA based on a monoclonal antibody detecting circulating b1-5 galactofuran. New A. fumigatus molecules bearing this epitope have been characterized: (i) glycoproteins with terminal galactofuranose at the non-reducing end of the mannan core and (ii) a lipophosphogalactomannan (Costachel, Fontaine Bernard).

II - Structural characterization and biosynthesis of the cell wall of A. fumigatus

Major polysaccharides of the cell wall of A. fumigatus are a and b(1-3) glucans and chitin. Biosynthesis of b (1-3) glucans is under the control of a membrane protein complex, the glucan synthase. This complex is composed of 2 essential members, Rho1p, a regulatory GTPase and FKS1p, the putative catalytic subunit using UDP-glucose as the substrate. Both genes are essential for A. fumigatus. Synthesis of chitin is under the control of a chitin synthase gene family composed of 7 members. Only disruption of 2 members of this family lead to phenotype with reduced growth and altered conidial permeability. Three AGS genes involved in the biosynthesis of a (1-3) glucans have been identified and the AGS mutants are characterized by a reduced growth and altered conidiation (Beauvais).

In the periplasmic space, neosynthesized b1-3 glucans are modified and associated to the other cell wall polysaccharides (chitin, galactomannan and b1-3, 1-4 glucan) to produce the rigid three-dimensional network characteristic of the cell wall. Such organization requires the presence of active transglycosidases in the periplasmic space. During the search for such activities, it was shown for the first time that glucanosyltransferases bound to the membrane by a glycosylphosphatidyl inositol (GPI) anchor play a major role in the biosynthesis of the yeast and mold cell wall (Mouyna). Chemical characterization of the GPI anchor and its biosynthesis in A. fumigatus has been also investigated (Fontaine). A dozen of GPI-anchored proteins, common to both filamentous fungi and yeast have been identified following a proteome and comparative genomic analysis of GPI-anchored proteins of S. cerevisiae and A. fumigatus. Their role in the biosynthesis of the A. fumigatus cell wall is presently investigated using a combination of molecular biology, carbohydrate and protein chemistry techniques (Bernard, Chabane, Mouyna).

Figure 1: Electron microscopy and immunofluorescence views of conidia (in green) of A. fumigatus killed or germinating, in the alveolar macrophage after 24 h in vivo infection. Upper part : immunocompetent mice. The white and black arrows indicated dead conidia. Lower part: cortisone acetate immunocompromised mice. The conidia germinated (black arrow). The germ tubes (in red) were detected using an anti-A. fumigatus antibody revealed by a secondary antibody conjugated to Texas-red.

Keywords: Aspergillus, lung, aspergillosis, cell wall, glucan, alveolar macrophage



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  CORMIER Marinette (mcormier@pasteur.fr) BEAUVAIS Anne, IP (Scientist,abeauvai@pasteur.fr)

FONTAINE Thierry, IP (Scientist,tfontaine@pasteur.fr)

GRANET Oumaïma, IP (Scientist,ogranet@pasteur.fr)

MOUYNA Isabelle, IP (Scientist,imouyna@pasteur.fr)

PARIS Sophie, IP (Scientist,sparis@pasteur.fr)

BERNARD Muriel (PhD student,mbernard@pasteur.fr)

CHABANE Sandrine (Postdoctoral fellow,schabane@pasteur.fr)

COSTACHEL Corina (Postdoctoral fellow,ccostach@pasteur.fr)

PHILIPPE Bruno (PhD student,bphil@pasteur.fr)
DEBEAUPUIS Jean-Paul, INSERM (Research assistant, mailto:jpdbp@pasteur.fr)

HENRY Christine, IP (Research assistant,chenry@pasteur.fr)

SARFATI jacqueline, INSERM (Research assistant,jsarfati@pasteur.fr)

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Aspergillus


  Responsable : Jean-Paul Latgé (jplatge@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Aspergillus fumigatus est un champignon filamenteux saprophyte thermophile. Ses conidies, présentes en permanence dans l'atmosphère, sont à l'origine de pathologies respiratoires graves, souvent mortelles chez le patient immunodéprimé. L'étude des aspergilloses est la préoccupation majeure de l'Unité des Aspergillus.

Le premier axe de recherches, d'orientation médicale, est l'étude de l'aspergillose invasive. Au sein de ce thème, l'analyse des interactions hôte-pathogène conditionnant les premières étapes de l'établissement de A. fumigatus dans le poumon sont étudiées. Ces études sont aussi menées avec le souci permanent de développer de nouvelles méthodes de diagnostic sérologique de cette mycose invasive ; en effet, un diagnostic précoce conditionne tout traitement efficace contre cette maladie.

Le second thème de recherche, de nature fondamentale, concerne l'étude de la biosynthèse de la paroi cellulaire qui est une étape clé de la croissance de tous les champignons. Ces travaux devraient aussi aboutir à l'identification de cibles pour le développement de nouveaux antifongiques qui font cruellement défaut pour la thérapie contre les infections fongiques dont l'impact en santé humaine n'a cessé d'augmenter au cours de la dernière décennie.



  rapport

cale

Les interactions entre le macrophage alvéolaire et les conidies inhalées ont été analysées (Granet, Philippe). La phagocytose des conidies par le macrophage alvéolaire qui est la cellule phagocytaire majeure de la défense pulmonaire, a été étudiée à l'aide de cellules humaines ou murines. Le trafic intracellulaire de la conidie vers le phagolysosome a été analysé. Il a pu être montré que la mortalité des conidies chez l'individu immunocompétent est directement corrélée à la production de réactifs oxydants et à l'acidification du phagolysosome de la cellule phagocytaire. La forte diminution du stress oxydatif par les glucocorticoïdes se traduit par la formation d'un tube germinatif à l'intérieur du macrophage, évènement initiateur de l'établissement de A. fumigatus dans la sphère pulmonaire . Ce résultat explique a posteriori le rôle inducteur des corticoïdes dans l'aspergillose invasive chez le patient immunodéprimé. Cependant, malgré le rôle fongicide des réactifs oxydants, des mutants de A. fumigatus déficients en catalase sont aussi pathogènes que les souches sauvages dans un modèle expérimental d'aspergillose murine. Ces résultats et l'analyse d'autres mutants obtenus suggèrent que la virulence de ce pathogène fongique est de nature multigénique (Paris, Debeaupuis). La mise en évidence de gènes exprimés spécifiquement et de manière concomitante lors de l'infection est actuellement abordée par une analyse du transcriptome, rendue aujourd'hui possible grâce au séquençage du génome de A. fumigatus (30 Mb, >11 000 gènes) à l'annotation duquel participe notre unité (Beauvais, Debeaupuis, Henry, Mouyna, Sarfati).

Le diagnostic sérologique de l'aspergillose est basé sur des méthodes immunochimiques permettant la détection de différentes protéines antigéniques (produites sous formes de protéines recombinantes) (Sarfati) et de molécules contenant un b1-5 galactofurane. En effet, le galactomannane ( dont les chaines latérales sont constituées de b1-5 galactofurane) est un antigène majeur de A. fumigatus à la base du seul test commercial de diagnostic de l'aspergillose invasive, mis au point en collaboration avec notre Unité. Ce test est un ELISA sandwich utilisant un anticorps monoclonal reconnaissant spécifiquement le b1-5 galactofurane. De nouvelles molécules portant cet epitope ont été caractérisées : il s'agit d'une part de glycoprotéines dont le N-glycane porte des b-galactofuranoses en position terminale non réductrice et d'autre part, d'un lipophosphogalactomannane (Costachel, Fontaine, Bernard).

II - Caractérisation structurale et biosynthèse de la paroi cellulaire de A. fumigatus

Les polysaccharides majeurs de la paroi cellulaire des Aspergillus sont les a et b(1-3) glucanes et la chitine. La synthèse des b(1-3) glucanes et leur extrusion à travers la membrane plasmique est effectuée par un complexe protéique membranaire, la glucane synthase. Ce complexe est constitué d'au moins une sous-unité régulatrice, Rho1p activée par le GTP et d'une sous-unité catalytique Fks1p, codées par des gènes essentiels. La synthèse de la chitine est sous la dépendance d'une famille de 7 chitines synthases transmembranaires ; l'interruption de certains des gènes chitine synthase provoque une réduction de la croissance mycélienne et une altération de la perméabilité conidienne. La synthèse des a(1-3) glucanes est sous la dépendance de trois gènes AGS récemment caractérisés. Les mutants AGS montrent une réduction modérée de la croissance et des perturbations de la conidiation (Beauvais).

Dans l'espace périplasmique, les b(1-3) glucanes néosynthétisés vont être modifiés et associés aux autres polymères pariétaux (chitine, galactomannane et b1-3, 1-4 glucane) pour constituer l'armature rigide de la paroi fongique. Pour la première fois, il a pu être démontré que des protéines ancrées par glycosylphosphatidyl inositol (GPI) à la membrane, jouent un rôle actif dans la biosynthèse de la paroi des levures et des champignons filamenteux (Mouyna). La caractérisation structurale de l'ancre GPI de ces protéines et les différentes étapes de sa biosynthèse ont été étudiées (Fontaine). Une dizaine de protéines-GPI, communes aux champignons filamenteux et à la levure a été identifiée par une analyse protéomique et génomique comparative de ces protéines-GPI chez S. cerevisiae et A. fumigatus. Leur rôle dans la biosynthèse de la paroi est analysé par couplage de techniques de biologie moléculaire et de biochimie (Mouyna, Chabane, Bernard).

Figure 1: Microscopie électronique à transmission et immunofluorescence des conidies de A. fumigatus (en vert) tuées ou germant dans le macrophage alvéolaire murin après 24 h d'infection in vivo. En haut: macrophages de souris immunocompétentes. Les flêches indiquent les conidies mortes. En bas: macrophages de souris immunodéprimées par l'acétate de cortisone. La flêche noire indique une conidie germante. Le tube germinatif (en rouge) est détecté grâce à un anticorps anti-A. fumigatus révélé secondairement par un anticorps couplé au Texas-Red.

Mots-clés: Aspergillus, poumon, aspergillose, paroi, glucanes, macrophage



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  CORMIER Marinette (mcormier@pasteur.fr) BEAUVAIS Anne, IP (Chercheur,abeauvai@pasteur.fr)

FONTAINE Thierry, IP (Chercheur,tfontaine@pasteur.fr)

GRANET Oumaïma, IP (Chercheur,ogranet@pasteur.fr)

MOUYNA Isabelle, IP (Chercheur,imouyna@pasteur.fr)

PARIS Sophie, IP (Chercheur,sparis@pasteur.fr)

BERNARD Muriel (Préparation d'une thèse,mbernard@pasteur.fr)

CHABANE Sandrine (Chercheur contractuel,schabane@pasteur.fr)

COSTACHEL Corina (Chercheur contractuel,ccostach@pasteur.fr)

PHILIPPE Bruno (Préparation d'une thèse,bphil@pasteur.fr)

DEBEAUPUIS Jean-Paul, INSERM (Ingénieur de Recherche,jpdbp@pasteur.fr)

HENRY Christine, IP (Technicienne,chenry@pasteur.fr)

SARFATI Jacqueline, INSERM (Ingénieur d'Etudes,jsarfati@pasteur.fr)


Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr