Homepage   general_banner
PDF Version      Antibacterial Agents


  Director : COURVALIN Patrice (pcourval@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Antibacterial Agents Unit studies the genetic support, biochemical mechanisms, heterospecific expression , evolution and dissemination of antibiotic resistance in bacterial pathogens for humans ; in particular : enterococci and glycopeptides, and resistance to ß-lactams and aminoglycosides in Gram-negative bacilli. It has also developped trans-kingdom gene transfer from bacteria to mammalian cells.



  report

cale

Glycopeptide resistance in Enterococcus (Bruno Périchon — Marc Galimand)

VanB-type resistance

Acquired resistance to vancomycin in enterococci is most often due to the presence of the vanA and vanB operons. The vanB gene cluster is carried by the Th1549 transposon. Analysis of VanB-type enterococci (14 E. faecium and 4 E. faecalis) isolated from humans in France indicated that (i) all the strains were of the vanB2 subtype, (ii) the vanB2 gene cluster was always associated with Tn1549, and (iii) the transposon was chromosomally located or plasmid borne.

VanE-type resistance

Acquired VanE-type resistance to low levels of vancomycin in E. faecalis BM4405 is due to the inducible synthesis of modified peptidoglycan precursors ending in D-alanine-D-serine. The chromosomally located vanE operon is composed of three resistance genes encoding the VanE ligase, the VanXYE DD-peptidase, and the VanTE serine racemase, and of two regulatory genes coding for a two-component regulatory system, VanRE-VanSE. This operon exhibited 43 to 60% identity with the vanC operon, which is responsible for the intrinsic resistance to vancomycin in E. gallinarum, E. casseliflavus, and E. flavescens. Due to the presence of a stop codon, VanSE was probably not functional. The five genes were shown to be cotranscribed. The three resistance genes are sufficient to confer inducible low-level resistance to vancomycin after cloning in a vancomycin-susceptible E. faecalis strain.

Antibiotic resistance in Streptococcus pyogenes (Marc Galimand)

A parC mutation conferring ciprofloxacin resistance in S. pyogenes.

S. pyogenes is responsible for high rates of morbitidy due to an increase in invasive group A streptococcal infections and bacteremia world-wide during the last decade. In Gram-positive cocci, fluoroquinolone resistance has been associated with mutational alterations in both targets, DNA gyrase and topoisomerase IV, or with active efflux of the drugs. S. pyogenes BM4513 was resistant to low-levels of fluoroquinolones and, as compared to susceptible strains, had a base pair change (TCC/GCC) in the parC gene at position 366 that resulted in amino acid substitution Ser79Ala (S. pyogenes coordinates). The mutation was transformed from the clinical isolate into S. pneumoniae and conferred similar levels of resistance to the new host. These results indicate that massive use of fluoroquinolones can select resistant mutants in non target bacterial species.

A rpoB mutation conferring rifampicin resistance in S. pyogenes.

S. pyogenes BM4478 and Staphylococcus aureus BM4479 were isolated from a patient undergoing rifampicin therapy. High-level resistance to rifampicin was due to the following mutations in the rpoB gene :Ser522Leu in strain BM4478 and His526Asn and Ser574Leu in strain BM4479.

Extended specrum ß-lactamases in Enterobacteriaceae (Thierry Lambert — Marc Galimand)

TEM-103/IRT-28 b-lactamase, a new TEM variant produced by E. coli.

Among the mechanisms responsible for resistance of E. coli to b-lactam-b-lactamase inhibitor combinations, hyperproduction of TEM-1 penicillinase and alteration in the outer membrane proteins limiting the entry of the drugs were first reported. Inhibitor-resistant TEM (IRT) b-lactamases confer resistance to penicillins and their combinations with b-lactamase inhibitors, such as clavulanic acid. IRT variants are derivatives of TEM ß-lactamases with mutations at various positions shown, or postulated, to play a role in determining resistance to inhibitors. Clinical isolate E. coli BM4511 was resistant to various ß-lactams, alone or in combination with b-lactamase inhibitors, but remained susceptible to cephalosporins. Resistance was due to production of a new TEM-type b-lactamase, designated TEM-103/IRT-28, characterized by the Arg275Leu substitution and encoded by the ca. 62-kb pIP845 conjugative plasmid of IncI1 incompatibility group.

ColE1-like plasmid pIP843 of Klebsiella pneumoniae encoding extended-spectrum ß-lactamase CTX-M-17.

Resistance of K. pneumoniae BM4493, isolated in Ho Chi Minh city in Vietnam, to cefotaxime and aztreonam was due to production of the novel CTX-M-17 b -lactamase. The blaCTX-M-17 gene was borne by the 7,086-bp pIP843 plasmid which was entirely sequenced and belonged to the ColE1-family. The 876-bp gene differed from blaCTX-M-14 by two nucleotides that led to the single amino acid substitution Glu289® Lys. blaCTX-M-17 was flanked upstream by an ISEcp1-like element and downstream by an IS903-variant. The transcriptional start site of blaCTX-M-17 was located 109 nucleotides upstream from the initiation codon in the ISEcp1-like element which also provided the promoter sequences. Plasmid pIP843, which was non self-transferable and non mobilisable, contained 5 ORFs. Regions homologous to sequences coding for putative RNAII, RNAI transcripts and a to a rom gene, involved in regulation of transcription and cer-like, responsible for stability of ColE1-like plasmids, were identified. Consensus sequences for putative replication (oriV) and transfer (oriT) origins were present. Results of primer extension experiments indicated that ISEcp1 provides the promoter for expression of blaCTX-M-17 and may contribute to dissemination of this gene.

Distribution of extended-spectrum ß-lactamases in clinical isolates of Enterobacteriaceae in Vietnam.

Among 730 E. coli, 438 K. pneumoniae, and 141 Proteus mirabilis, isolated between September, 2000 and September, 2001 in seven hospitals in Ho Chi Minh city, 27% were resistant to ceftazidime, 30% to cefotaxime, 31% to ceftriaxone, 16% to cefoperazone, and 6% to cefepime. Resistance to imipenem was found in 6% of the isolates. In 55 strains producing extended-spectrum b -lactamases (32 E. coli, 13 K. pneumoniae, and 10 P. mirabilis), structural genes for VEB-1 (25%), CTX-M (25%), SHV (38%), and TEM (76%) enzymes were detected. Sequencing of the PCR products obtained from the K. pneumoniae isolates revealed the presence of blaVEB-1, blaCTX-M-14, blaCTX-M-17, blaSHV-2, and blaTEM-1. Molecular typing of the strains with a similar resistance phenotype to broad-spectrum cephalosporins indicated polyclonal spread. ISEcp1 was presumably responsible for dissemination of the blaCTX-M-like. gene.

Wild-type intracellular bacteria deliver DNA into mammalian cells (Catherine Grillot-Courvalin)

Gene transfer in vitro from intracellular bacteria to mammalian phagocytic and non phagocytic cells and in vivo in mice has been reported. The bacteria used as DNA delivery vectors were engineered to lyse upon entry in the cell due to impaired cell wall synthesis for Shigella flexneri and invasive E. coli or production of a phage lysin for Listeria monocytogenes. In vivo gene transfer was obtained with attenuated Salmonella typhimurium and resulted in stimulation of mucosal immunity. We report that wild type intracellular human pathogens, such as L. monocytogenes EGD or LO28 and S. flexneri M90T, mediate efficient in vitro transfer of functional genes into epithelial and macrophage cell lines. A low-efficiency transfer was obtained from strain EGD to mouse peritoneal macrophages. DNA transfer with S. typhimurium was observed only from attenuated aroA strain SL7207 into COS-1 cell line. As demonstrated by the study of listeriolysin defective L. monocytogenes or of S. typhimurium SL7207 aroA engineered to secrete listeriolysin, escape of bacteria or of plasmid DNA from the intracytoplasmic vacuole is required for transfer of genetic information to occur.

Keywords: bacteriology, antibiotics, resistance, gene transfer



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  MURGUET Sylvie,smurguet@pasteur.fr

VAN STEENKISTE Pascale,pvanstee@pasteur.fr
GALIMAND Marc, IP, Researcher,galimand@pasteur.fr

GRILLOT-COURVALIN Catherine, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Prof. CNRS,ccourval@pasteur.fr

GUILLEMOT Didier, IP, M.D. Researcher,guillemo@pasteur.fr

MARCHAND Isabelle, IP, Ph.D. Post-Doc,imarchan@pasteur.fr
ABADIA PATIÑO Lorena, Ph.D. student,labadia@pasteur.fr

ALONSO Rodrigo, Ph.D., Post-doctoral fellow

AYOUB Carole, Ph.D. student

BONORA Maria-Grazia, Ph.D. student

CAO Thi Bao Van, Ph.D. student

CATTOIR Vincent, Pharm. resident, DEA

DAHL Kristin, Ph.D., Post-doctoral fellow

GONZÁLEZ-ZORN Bruno, Veterin. D., Ph.D., Post-doctoral fellow,bgzorn@pasteur.fr

KOLBERT Mathias, M.D., Post-doctoral fellow,mkolbert@pasteur.fr

LAMBERT Thierry, Pharm. D., Ph.D., Prof. Univers.,tlambert@pasteur.fr

LEMANISSIER Véronique, Pharm. resident

PANESSO Diana, Ph.D. student

REYNOLDS Peter, Ph.D., Invited Professor

SABTCHEVA Stefana, M.D., Invited Professor

SENNA José Procopio Moreno, Pharm. D., Ph.D. Post-doctoral fellow,senna@pasteur.fr
BERNEDE Claire, Engineer, IP,cbernede@pasteur.fr

CHAUVEL Murielle, Technician, IP,mchauvel@pasteur.fr

DAMIER Laurence, Engineer, IP,ldamier@pasteur.fr

DEPARDIEU Florence, Technician, IP,fdepard@pasteur.fr

GERBAUD Guy, Engineer, IP,

GOUSSARD Sylvie, Technician, IP,sgouss@pasteur.fr

GRONDIN Sophie, Technician, Association Claude Bernard

PERICHON Bruno, Engineer, IP,brunoper@pasteur.fr

SIMON Sylvie, Technician, INSERM

Activity Reports 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr

Portail IP   bandeau_genéral
Version PDF      Agents Antibactériens


  Responsable : COURVALIN Patrice (pcourval@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité des Agents Antibactériens étudie le support génétique, les mécanismes biochimiques, l'expression hétérospécifique, l'évolution et la dissémination de la résistance aux antibiotiques chez les bactéries pathogènes pour l'homme, notamment dans les systèmes suivants : entérocoques et glycopeptides, la résistance aux ß-lactamines et aux aminosides chez les bacilles à Gram négatif ainsi que le transfert de gènes des bactéries aux cellules de mammifères.



  rapport

cale

Résistance aux glycopeptides chez Enterococcus (Bruno Périchon — Marc Galimand)

Résistance de type VanB.

La résistance acquise aux glycopeptides chez les entérocoques résulte le plus souvent de la présence des opérons vanA ou vanB. Le groupe de gènes vanB est porté par le transposon Tn1549. L'analyse d'isolats cliniques d'entérocoques (14 E. faecium et 4 E. faecalis) de type VanB isolés en France a indiqué que (i) toutes les souches étaient du sous-type vanB2, (ii) le groupe de gènes vanB2 était toujours associé à Tn1549 et (iii) le transposon pouvait être inséré dans le chromosome ou dans un plasmide.

Résistance de type VanE.

La résistance acquise de type VanE chez E. faecalis BM4405, caractérisée par une résistance de bas niveau à la vancomycine, était due à la synthèse de précurseurs du peptidoglycane modifiés terminés par D-alanine-D-sérine. L'opéron vanE, localisé sur le chromosome, était composé de trois gènes de résistance, codant pour la ligase VanE, la DD-peptidase VanXYE et la sérine racémase VanTE, et de deux gènes de régulation codant pour un système à deux composantes, VanRE-VanSE. Cet opéron présentait 43 à 60% d'identité avec l'opéron vanC responsable de la résistance intrinsèque à la vancomycine chez E. gallinarum, E. casseliflavus et E. flavescens. La présence d'un codon stop dans VanSE rendait probablement cette protéine non fonctionnelle. Les cinq gènes étaient co-transcrits et les trois gènes de résistance étaient suffisants pour conférer un bas niveau de résistance inductible à la vancomycine chez une souche de E. faecalis sensible aux glycopeptides.

Résistance aux antibiotiques chez Streptococcus pyogenes (Marc Galimand)

Une mutation dans parC confère la résistance à la ciprofloxacine chez S. pyogenes.

S. pyogenes est responsable d'un taux élevé de morbidité du à l'augmentation des infections à streptocoques invasifs du groupe A et de bactériémies au cours des dix dernières années. La résistance aux fluoroquinolones chez les coques à Gram positif implique deux mécanismes: la modification des cibles de l'antibiotique, les ADN topoisomérases de type II, et l'efflux actif de l'antibiotique en dehors des cellules. S. pyogenes BM4513 était résistant à de bas niveaux de fluoroquinolones. Par rapport à des souches sensibles, BM4513 présentait un changement de base (TCC/GCC) dans le gène parC à la position 366 ce qui entrainait la substitution d'acide aminé Ser79Ala (coordonnées de S. pyogenes). Cette mutation a été introduite par transformation de la souche clinique à une souche de S. pneumoniae chez laquelle elle conférait des niveaux similaires de résistance. Ces résultats indiquent que l'utilisation massive des fluoroquinolones peut entrainer la sélection de mutants dans des espèces bactériennes qui ne sont pas des cibles pour ces antibiotiques.

Une mutation rpoB qui confère la résistance à la rifampicine chez S. pyogenes.

S. pyogenes BM4478 et Staphylococcus aureus BM4479 ont été isolés chez un patient traité par la rifampicine. La résistance de haut niveau à la rifampicine était due aux mutations suivantes dans le gène ropB : Ser522Leu chez BM4478 et His526Asn et Ser574Leu chez Bm4479.

ß-lactamases à spectre élargi chez les Enterobacteriaceae (Thierry Lambert — Marc Galimand)

La b-lactamase TEM-103/IRT-28, un nouveau variant TEM produit par E. coli.

Parmi les mécanismes responsables de la résistance de E. coli aux associations b-lactamine-inhibiteur de b-lactamase, la surproduction de la pénicillinase TEM-1 et l'altération des protéines de membrane externe limitant la pénétration des molécules ont été décrits. Les b-lactamases TEM résistantes aux inhibiteurs confèrent la résistance aux pénicillines ainsi qu'à leur association avec les inhibiteurs, tel que l'acide clavulanique. Ces variants résistants dérivent de ß-lactamases TEM par des mutations à des positions qui sont connues, ou supposées, être impliquées dans la résistance aux inhibiteurs. La souche clinique de E. coli BM4511 était résistante à de nombreuses ß-lactamines, seules ou en association avec des inhibiteurs, mais demeurait sensible aux céphalosporines. La résistance était due à la production d'une nouvelle b-lactamase de type TEM, TEM-103/IRT-28, caractérisée par la substitution Arg275Leu et codée par un plasmide conjugatif d'environ 62 kb, pIP845, appartenant au groupe d'incompatibilité IncI1.

Le plasmide pIP843 du groupe ColE1 code pour la ß-lactamase à spectre élargi CTX-M-17 chez K. pneumoniae.

L'étude de la souche de K. pneumoniae BM4493, isolée à Ho Chi Minh Ville, a montré que la résistance au céfotaxime et à l'aztréoname était due à la production d'une nouvelle ß-lactamase de type CTX-M. Le gène blaCTX-M-17 était porté par le plasmide pIP843 de 7086 bp qui a été intégralement séquencé. Ce gène différait de blaCTX-M-14 par deux mutations, qui généraient la substitution Glu289® Lys. blaCTX-M-17 était encadré en amont par une séquence d'insertion ISEcp1 et en aval par un variant de IS903. Le promoteur du gène blaCTX-M-17 était localisé dans l'élément ISEcp1. Le plasmide pIP843, qui était non transférable et non mobilisable, contenait 5 cadres de lecture et des séquences possiblement impliquées dans la réplication. Des expériences d'extension d'amorces ont montré que la séquence ISEcp1 jouait un rôle à la fois dans l'expression de la résistance aux ß-lactamines et peut-être dans la dissémination du gène blaCTX-M-17.

ß-lactamases à spectre élargi chez les Enterobacteriaceae isolées en clinique au Vietnam.

Parmi 730 E. coli, 438 K. pneumoniae et 141 Proteus mirabilis isolés de septembre 2000 à septembre 2001 dans sept hôpitaux à Ho Chi Minh Ville, 27% étaient résistants à la ceftazidime, 30% au céfotaxime, 31% à la ceftriaxone, 16% à la céfoperazone et 6% au céfepime. La résistance à l'imipénème a été trouvée chez 6% des isolats. Chez 55 souches productives de ß-lactamases à spectre élargi (32 E. coli, 13 K. pneumoniae et 10 P. mirabilis) les gènes de structure des enzymes EB-1 (25%), CTX-M (25%), SHV (38%) et TEM (76%) ont été détectés. La séquence des produits d'amplification obtenus à partir des souches de K. pneumoniae a révélé la présence de blaVEB-1, blaCTX-M-14, blaCTX-M-M, blaSHV-2 et blaTEM-1. Le typage moléculaire des souches présentant un phénotype de résistance similaire aux céphalosporines à large spectre a indiqué une dissémination polyclonale. ISEcp1 était peut être responsable de la dissémination du gène blaCTX-M-like.

Les bactéries intracellulaires sauvages délivrent de l'ADN aux cellules de mammifères (Catherine Grillot-Courvalin)

Le transfert de gènes in vitro de bactéries intracellulaires aux cellules phagocytaires et non phagocytaires et in vivo chez la souris a été décrit. Les bactéries utilisées comme vecteur pour délivrer de l'ADN étaient génétiquement modifiées pour lyser après entrée dans la cellule du fait d'un défaut de synthèse de la paroi chez Shigella flexneri et E. coli rendu invasif ou par production d'une lysine phagique chez Listeria monocytogenes. Le transfert de gène in vivo à l'aide d'une Salmonella thyphimurium atténuée a permis la stimulation de l'immunité mucosale. Nous reportons que des pathogènes intracellulaires sauvages, tels que L. monocytogenes EGD ou LO28 et S. flexneri M90T, peuvent transférer efficacement in vitro des gènes fonctionnels dans des lignées de cellules épithéliales et de macrophages. Un transfert de faible efficacité a été obtenu de la souche EGD à des macrophges péritonéaux de souris. Le transfert d'ADN avec S. typhimurium a été observé seulement de la souche SL7207 aroA vers la lignée cellulaire COS-1. L'étude de la L. monocytogenes défective en listeriolysine ou de S. typhimurium SL7207 aroA modifiée pour secréter de la listériolysine, a démontré que l'échappement des bactéries ou de l'ADN plasmidique de la vacuole intracytoplasmique est requis pour que le transfert d'information génétique se produise.

Mots-clés: bactériologie, antibiotiques, résistance, transfert de gènes



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  MURGUET Sylvie,smurguet@pasteur.fr

VAN STEENKISTE Pascale,pvanstee@pasteur.fr

GALIMAND Marc, IP, Chargé de Recherche,galimand@pasteur.fr

GRILLOT-COURVALIN Catherine, M.D., Directeur de recherche CNRS, Docteur ès-Sciences,ccourval@pasteur.fr

GUILLEMOT Didier, IP, M.D. Chargé de Recherche,guillemo@pasteur.fr

MARCHAND Isabelle, IP, Ph.D. Post-Doc,imarchan@pasteur.fr

ABADIA PATIÑO Lorena, Thèse de Sciences,labadia@pasteur.fr

ALONSO Rodrigo, Ph.D., Post-Doc

AYOUB Carole, Thèse de Sciences

BONORA Maria-Grazia, Thèse de Sciences

CAO Thi Bao Van, Thèse de Sciences

CATTOIR Vincent, Interne en Pharmacie, DEA

DAHL Kristin, Ph.D., Post-Doc

GONZÁLEZ-ZORN Bruno, Docteur Vétérinaire, Ph.D., Post-Doc,bgzorn@pasteur.fr

KOLBERT Mathias, M.D., Post-Doc.,mkolbert@pasteur.fr

LAMBERT Thierry, Professeur Université, Docteur en Pharmacie, Docteur ès-Sciences,tlambert@pasteur.fr

LEMANISSIER Véronique, Interne en Pharmacie

PANESSO Diana, Thèse de Sciences

REYNOLDS Peter, Ph.D., Professeur invité

SABTCHEVA Stefana, M.D., Professeur invité

SENNA José Procopio Moreno, Docteur en Pharmacie, Ph.D. Post-Doc,senna@pasteur.fr
BERNEDE Claire, Ingénieur, IP,cbernede@pasteur.fr

CHAUVEL Murielle, Technicienne Supérieure, IP,mchauvel@pasteur.fr

DAMIER Laurence, Ingénieur, IP,ldamier@pasteur.fr

DEPARDIEU Florence, Technicienne Supérieure, IP,fdepard@pasteur.fr

GERBAUD Guy, Ingénieur, IP,

GOUSSARD Sylvie, Technicienne Supérieure, IP,sgouss@pasteur.fr

GRONDIN Sophie, Technicienne Supérieure, Association Claude Bernard

PERICHON Bruno, Ingénieur, IP,brunoper@pasteur.fr

SIMON Sylvie, Technicienne Supérieure, INSERM

Rapports d'activité 2002 - Institut Pasteur
filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr