Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Upbm


  Director : LABIGNE Agnès (alabigne@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The research undertaken within the Unit is aimed at studying two classes of mucosa-associated, bacterial pathogens. These are: Helicobacter pylori, the bacterium associated with the genesis of inflammatory gastroduodenal diseases (chronic gastritis, peptic ulcer, and cancer) in humans; and pathogenic Escherichia coli strains that are associated with diarrhea and urinary tract infections. Functional and comparative genomics, as well as studies on bacterium-host cell interactions, are among the various approaches developed within the different projects.



  report

cale

Helicobacter bacteria

Comparative genomics: studies on gene distribution in H. pylori clinical isolates by hybridization on high density nylon membranes (Jean Michel THIBERGE and Agnès LABIGNE in collaboration with the genomic platform of Institut Pasteur)

Gene distribution studies of the 1590 ORFs identified in the sequenced genome of H. pylori strain 26695 revealed 242 ORFs to be non-ubiquitous among 28 clinical isolates from patients of different ethnic origins. High density nylon membranes containing these 242 non-ubiquitous ORFs, as well as 50 ubiquitous ORFs, were prepared and validated. These membranes are currently being used in a multi-centric study to type clinical isolates in relation to different gastroduodenal disorders and geographical origins.

Functional analyses: assigning the essential character of a selection of genes (Chantal ECOBICHON, Catherine CHEVALIER and Agnès LABIGNE)

Two genomic libraries were constructed in E. coli: the first of these consists of individual recombinant plasmids corresponding to the 1590 ORFs, which were cloned and stored as an ordered library, while the second library contains a pool of plasmid constructs in which each ORF has been disrupted to saturation by the insertion of a transposable element. Using these genetic tools, we are attempting to identify, via a global approach, those genes that are ubiquitous as well as essential for the viability of the bacterium. Of the 200 genes that were analyzed, 35 have already been identified as such. Proteins encoded by ubiquitous, essential and H. pylori-specific genes represent potential targets for new therapeutic agents.

DNA repair in H. pylori (Catherine CHEVALIER and Agnès LABIGNE in collaboration with Pablo RADICELLA from CEA-Fontenay aux Roses)

This program seeks to identify and characterize the DNA repair systems of H. pylori, as well as to evaluate their impact upon the intrinsic genomic variability found in this bacterial species. Genes predicted to be associated with DNA repair functions were inactivated. Hyper- or hypo-mutator activities of the constructed single or double mutants were measured and their ability to colonize mice was tested. H. pylori EndoIII glycosylase (HP0585) was shown to dramatically impair the ability of the bacterium to persist during chronic infection, indicating that the bacterium is exposed to a deleterious oxidative stress during infection, while the annotated EndoIII glycosylase (HP0602) was found to be an atypical 3-methyladenine DNA glycosylase.

Role of inflammation in the induction of mutations in the gastric mucosa as measured in the " Big Blue " transgenic mouse model (Jean-Michel THIBERGE and Agnès LABIGNE in collaboration with Eliette TOUATI, Maurice HOFNUNG and Michel HUERRE — P.T.R. coordinated by E. TOUATI)

This transgenic model was first demonstrated to be a reliable and useful model to quantify the genotoxic effect of H. pylori infections on the gastric mucosa. The induced mutations were mainly found to be of the transversion type, mutations known to be induced during oxidative stress. Such a model should allow us to quantify the genotoxic effects associated with various bacterial or environmental factors in order to gain a better understanding of the carcinogenic processes associated with certain H. pylori infections.

Using H. pylori as a model organism to study peptidoglycan metabolism (Ivo G. BONECA, Catherine CHAPUT)

Compared to other bacteria, H. pylori seems to have a minimal number of genes required for a functional peptidoglycan metabolic pathway. We are interested in characterizing the few peptidoglycan hydrolases and the three potential synthetases (PBPs 1, 2 and 3) involved in the last periplasmic enzymatic steps. These are of great interest due to their central role in the mode of action of ß-lactam antibiotics. Understanding how bacteria respond to antibiotic challenge and modulate peptidoglycan synthesis is therefore relevant to the development of new therapeutic molecules.

The PyloriGene database: an updated annotation of the two sequenced H. pylori genomes (Ivo G. BONECA, Hilde DE REUSE Agnès LABIGNE)

We are interested in setting up a highly informative genomic database on H. pylori (comprising physical and biological annotation as well as bibliographic references). The update of the annotation takes into account (i) recent data on H. pylori (ii) information on other organisms and also (iii) the detection of errors on the physical annotation of the genome. This allowed us to predict some functions for unknown proteins or to reassign new functions to already annotated proteins.

The mechanisms of acid resistance of H. pylori (Stéphanie Bury-Moné, Hilde DE REUSE )

The virulence of H. pylori is related to its exceptional ability to survive in the extremely hostile environment of the stomach. This bacterium has developed novel mechanisms to survive under acid conditions. These depend in part on the production of large amounts of ammonia, which allow the bacteria to maintain a constant intracellular pH. Different pathways of ammonia production in H. pylori have been examined, in particular those dependent on urea hydrolysis or on the activity of two paralogous amidases. The properties of UreI, a novel type of acid-activated urea channel essential for gastric colonization, are further investigated. Residues of UreI involved in its activity or acid-activation were recently identified in H. pylori. The study of the amidases has been extended to the analysis of their distribution among bacterial species belonging to the Helicobacter genus. Mutagenesis of candidate genes, as well as post-genomic approaches, are presently being used to identity new factors involved in the mechanisms of acid resistance in H. pylori.

Modulation of host immune responses by Helicobacter bacteria (Jean Christophe BAMBOU, Richard FERRERO in collaboration with Dana PHILPOTT, Sylvie MEMET, Patrick AVE).

The aim of the work is to study the interactions between the bacteria of the genus Helicobacter and the host immune system. It was previously found that H. pylori clinical isolates which were poor inducers of proinflammatory responses in epithelial and macrophage cell lines were better adapted to colonize mice. Moreover, mouse-adapted variants, which were capable of infecting animals with bacterial loads 2 log-fold higher than those of the respective parental clinical isolates were affected in their capacity to induce pro-inflammatory responses host cells. Parallel studies in Igk-lacZ transgenic mice showed that, during the acute phase of infection, Helicobacter bacteria inhibited the activation of the transcription factor NF-kB in the gastric mucosa of the animals. Thus, the findings suggest that gastric helicobacters are able to negatively modulate the inflammatory responses so as to establish an infection in the host. Future investigations will seek to address the molecular mechanisms involved in the modulation of the host immune system by bacteria belonging to the Helicobacter genus.

 

PATHOGENIC ESCHERICHIA COLI

Pathogenic Escherichia coli are associated with a great variety of infections in humans and animals. Our research concerns the identification of virulence factors with the goal to better understand the pathogenic processes allowing the development of various types of mucosal infections. The reservoir of pathogenic E. coli is the intestinal tract of mammals. A major aspect of our work concerns the characterization of the mechanisms associated with colonization and persistance of a subgroup of pathogenic E. coli, those encoding afimbrial adhesins (AFA).

Molecular typing of AfaE adhesins (Laurence DU MERLE and Chantal LE BOUGUENEC)

afa operons are expressed by pathogenic strains that cause various type of infections. We have developed PCR assays to study 1) the role of afa strains as etiological agents in the development of human septicemia, and 2) the association between the AfaE subtype and the site of the infection (intestinal versus extra-intestinal).

Identification of cellular receptors for AfaD invasins (Laure PLANCON, Nathalie POIDEVIN Christine BERNIER and Chantal LE BOUGUENEC)

Internalization of afa strains into epithelial cells may be the key step for the development of persistent infections. To better understand this phenomenon, we conducted experiments to identify the cellular receptor(s) of the invasins. We demonstrated that the AfaD-III and AfaD-VIII invasins, which share only 45 % identity, recognize the b1 integrin subunit as a receptor.

Identification and characterization of fimbriae implicated in the interaction of diarrhea-associated strains with epithelial cells (Christine BERNIER et Chantal LE BOUGUENEC)

Enteroaggregative E. coli (EAEC) are recognized as an emerging cause of diarrhea worldwide. We constructed a genomic library from a strain isolated from a HIV-infected patient presenting persistent diarrhea. Using this library, we 1) identified a new pathogenicity factor implicated in the interaction (adhesion and invasion) of the bacteria with the host, and 2) defined an efficient genetic tool for the identification of EAEC strains.

Identification of opportunistic, diarrhea-associated pathogens (Laurence DU MERLE, Christine BERNIER and Chantal LE BOUGUENEC with the "Groupe d'étude des infections diarrhéiques" of the International Institut Pasteur Network). We participated in studies that demonstrated the role of enteroadherent strains of E. coli and Klebsiella pneumoniae in chronic diarrhea, hemorrhagic colitis, uremic syndromes, and pseudomembranous colitis in Africa.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

ONDET Maxence (mondet@pasteur.fr)

LABIGNE Agnès, IP (alabigne@pasteur.fr)

LE BOUGUENEC Chantal, IP (clb@pasteur.fr)

DE REUSE Hilde, IP (hdereuse@pasteur.fr)

FERRERO, Richard, IP (rferrero@pasteur.fr)

BAMBOU Jean-Christophe, DEA student

BERNIER Christine, PhD student

BONECA Ivo, postdoc

BRINGER Marie-Agnès

BURY Stéphanie, PhD student

CHAPUT Catherine, engineer student in ndustrial biology

COLLAND Frédéric (Hybrigenics)

CONTRERAS DE CAMACHO Monica, PhD student

DE FINANCE Nancy

GISMERO ORDONEZ Juana (University of Sao Paulo, Brasil)

PINTO Viviana (University of Buenos Aires, Argentina)

PLANÇON-ARNOULD Laure, postdoc

POIDEVIN Nathalie, DEA student

STAM Mark

CHEVALIER Catherine (Engineer INSERM, cchevali@pasteur.fr)

DU MERLE Laurence (Technician, dlaur@pasteur.fr)

ECOBICHON Chantal (Technician, ceco@pasteur.fr)

THIBERGE Jean-Michel (Technician, jmthiber@pasteur.fr)

TROUBADOUR Pascale (Technician, ptrouba@pasteur.fr) (1/2 poste)

ONDET Maxence (Secretary, mondet@pasteur.fr) (1/2 poste)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Upbm


  Responsable : LABIGNE Agnès (alabigne@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les travaux de l'Unité portent sur l'étude du pouvoir pathogène de deux espèces bactériennes associées aux muqueuses : Helicobacter pylori qui est impliquée dans la genèse des pathologies gastro-duodénales inflammatoires (gastrites chroniques, ulcères peptiques, atrophie et cancer gastrique), et les Escherichia coli pathogènes qui sont associés à certaines des infections diarrhéiques et urinaires. Génomique fonctionnelle et comparative, génétique moléculaire, et étude des interactions de ces microorganismes avec les cellules hôtes figurent parmi les approches mises en œuvre dans les différents projets.



  rapport

cale

Génomique comparative : étude de la distribution des ORFs de H. pylori au sein des isolats cliniques par hybridation sur membranes à haute densité (Jean-Michel THIBERGE et Agnès LABIGNE en collaboration avec la plate-forme génomique IP)

L'étude de la distribution des 1590 ORFs du génome de l'une des souches séquencées de H. pylori au sein de souches provenant de patients d'origines ethniques différentes a permis l'identification de 242 ORFs non ubiquitaires c'est-à-dire absentes de certaines souches. Trois cents membranes à haute densité contenant ces 242 ORFs non ubiquitaires plus 50 ORFs présentes dans toutes les souches ont été préparées et leur utilisation validée. Ces membranes font l'objet d'études multicentriques visant à étudier la distribution des ORFs en fonction de l'origine géographique des souches et à rechercher l'éventuelle association de certaines d'entre elles à des pathologies de diverse sévérité.

Analyse fonctionnelle : détermination du caractère essentiel d'une série de gènes (Chantal ECOBICHON, Catherine CHEVALIER et Agnès LABIGNE)

Deux banques génomiques ont été construites chez E. coli : une banque contenant individuellement toutes les ORFs clonées de H. pylori, et une deuxième banque contenant pour chacune des ORFs un pool de plasmides dans lesquels ces ORFs sont interrompues par insertion d'un transposon. A partir de ces outils génomiques, nous cherchons à identifier les gènes ubiquitaires dans l'espèce qui sont de plus essentiels à la viabilité de la bactérie. Ces caractéristiques ont d'ores et déjà été assignées à 35 des 200 gènes analysés. Parmi ces gènes essentiels, 9 codent pour des protéines impliquées dans des interactions protéine-protéine (visualisée par le double hybride) et 6 pour des protéines spécifiques à H. pylori.

Etude des gènes de réparation de l'ADN chez H. pylori (Catherine CHEVALIER et Agnès LABIGNE en collaboration avec Pablo RADICELLA du C.E.A. Fontenay aux Roses)

L'objectif de ce projet est d'identifier et de caractériser les systèmes de réparation de l'ADN chez H. pylori ainsi que d'évaluer leur impact sur la variabilité génétique au sein de cette espèce. Les gènes codant pour des protéines potentiellement impliquées dans la réparation ont été inactivés. Les propriétés hyper- ou hypo-mutatrices des simples ou doubles mutants construits ont été mesurées, et leur capacité à coloniser la souris testée. L'EndoIII réelle (réparation des pyrimidines oxydées, HP0585) joue un rôle critique dans la persistance de l'infection, suggérant que la bactérie est soumise au cours de l'infection à un stress oxydatif délétère, alors que la glycosylase annotée à tord comme EndoIII (HP0602) a une activité 3-methyladénine DNA glycosylase atypique.

Etude du taux de mutations induites au niveau de la muqueuse gastrique lors de l'infection à H. pylori dans le modèle des souris transgéniques "Big Blue" (Jean-Michel THIBERGE, Agnès LABIGNE, en collaboration avec Eliette TOUATI, Maurice HOFNUNG, et Michel HUERRE. P.T.R. coordonné par E. TOUATI)

Le modèle des souris transgéniques " Big Blue " s'est avéré utile pour quantifier les effets génotoxiques des infections à H. pylori au niveau de la muqueuse gastrique. Les mutations induites sont de type transversion, des mutations typiquement induites lors de stress oxydatifs. Ce modèle transgénique devrait permettre de quantifier les effets génotoxiques associés à différents facteurs bactériens au cours de l'infection et d'évaluer leur rôle dans le processus de carcinogenèse.

H. pylori comme modèle pour l'étude du métabolisme du peptidoglycane (Ivo G. BONECA, Catherine CHAPUT). Comparée à d'autres bactéries, H. pylori possède un nombre limité de gènes requis pour les voies de biosynthèse du peptidoglycane. Nous cherchons à caractériser les hydrolases et les trois synthétases (PBP 1, 2, ou 3) que nous pensons être impliquées dans la dernière étape enzymatique de la biosynthèse du peptidoglycane au niveau de l'espace périplasmique. Mieux comprendre comment la bactérie répond aux antibiotiques (agissant au niveau de la paroi) et comment elle module la synthèse de son peptidoglycane apparaît primordial pour le développement de nouvelles molécules antibactériennes.

La base de donnée PyloriGene : mise à jour de l'annotation des deux séquences génomiques de H. pylori. (Ivo G. BONECA, Hilde DE REUSE, Agnès LABIGNE)

Nous cherchons à mettre à la disposition de la communauté scientifique une base de données génomiques de H. pylori qui soit la plus informative possible (annotations physiques et biologiques, références bibliographiques). La mise à jour de l'annotation prend en compte (i) la littérature récente relative à H. pylori (ii) les données provenant d'autres organismes et (iii) les sources d'erreur d'annotation physique du génome. De cette façon, nous avons pu améliorer la prédiction de fonctions pour des protéines inconnues ou réassigner des nouvelles fonctions aux protéines déjà annotées.

Les mécanismes de résistance à l'acidité chez H. pylori (Stéphanie BURY-MONE, Hilde DE REUSE)

La virulence de H. pylori est liée à sa capacité exceptionnelle à survivre et à proliférer dans un environnement aussi hostile que l'estomac. H. pylori possède des mécanismes originaux de résistance à l'acidité qui dépendent en grande partie de sa capacité à produire d'importantes quantités d'ammoniac lui permettant de maintenir un pH intracellulaire constant. Différentes voies de production de l'ammoniac chez H. pylori sont analysées, en particulier celles dépendant de l'hydrolyse de l'urée ou de l'activité de deux amidases paralogues. Nous poursuivons la caractérisation de la protéine UreI qui constitue un nouveau type de canal à urée activé à pH acide dont l'activité est essentielle pour la colonisation gastrique. Des résidus de UreI impliqués dans son activité et dans son activation à bas pH ont été récemment identifiés chez H. pylori. L'étude des amidases s'est étendue à l'analyse de leurs distributions parmi les bactéries du genre Helicobacter. La recherche d'autres facteurs impliqués dans la résistance à l'acidité chez H. pylori est poursuivie par des approches génétiques ciblées (construction de mutants de gènes candidats) ou globales par des approches post-génomiques.

Modulation des réponses immunitaires induites par les bactéries du genre Helicobacter (Jean Christophe BAMBOU, Richard FERRERO en collaboration avec Dana PHILPOTT, Sylvie MEMET, Patrick AVE).

L'objectif de ce travail est d'étudier les interactions entre les bactéries du genre Helicobacter et le système immunitaire de l'hôte. Dans un premier temps, nous avons observé que les isolats de H. pylori qui possédaient une faible activité pro-inflammatoire dans des lignées cellulaires d'origine épithéliale et/ou macrophagique, étaient mieux adaptés à la colonisation de la souris. Ensuite, des expériences réalisées chez des souris transgéniques Igk-lacZ ont montré que les Helicobacter empêchaient l'activation du facteur transcriptionnel NF-kB lors de l'infection aiguë. L'ensemble des travaux semble suggérer que les Helicobacter sont capables de moduler négativement les réponses inflammatoires afin d'établir une infection chez l'hôte. Un des axes de recherche dans le futur sera de mieux comprendre les bases moléculaires de cette modulation du système immunitaire de l'hôte par les bactéries du genre Helicobacter.

 

ESCHERICHIA COLI PATHOGÈNES

Les Escherichia coli pathogènes sont associés à une grande variété d'infections chez l'homme et l'animal. Notre activité est consacrée à l'identification de facteurs de pathogénicité afin de mieux comprendre les processus conduisant au développement des différentes infections. Le réservoir des E. coli pathogènes est le tube digestif des mammifères. Un aspect important de notre travail concerne la caractérisation des mécanismes associés à la colonisation et la persistance d'un sous-groupe de E. coli pathogénes, ceux codant pour des adhésines afimbriales (AFA). Notre objectif est d'identifier des gènes et des fonctions spécifiques des souches pathogènes et reliés à leur implantation dans le tube digestif.

Typage moléculaire des adhésines AfaE (Laurence DU MERLE et Chantal LE BOUGUENEC)

Les opérons afa sont exprimés par des souches responsables de divers types d'infections. Nous avons développé des tests PCR qui ont permis de mettre en évidence 1) l'implication des souches afa dans les septicémies chez l'homme ; 2) une association entre le type d'adhésine AfaE produite et le site de l'infection (intestinal ou extraintestinal).

Identification des récepteurs cellulaires des invasines AfaD (Laure PLANCON, Nathalie POIDEVIN, Christine BERNIER et Chantal LE BOUGUENEC)

L'internalisation des souches afa dans les cellules épithéliales pourrait être une étape clé dans le développement des formes persistantes d'infections. Dans le but de mieux comprendre ce phénomène, nous avons cherché à identifier le récepteur cellulaire des invasines. Nous avons montré que les invasines AfaD-III et AfaD-VIII qui ne présentent que 45 % d'identité entre elles, reconnaissent comme récepteur cellulaire la sous-unité beta1 des intégrines.

Identification et caractérisation de fimbriae permettant l'interaction de souches responsables de diarrhées persistantes avec des cellules épithéliales (Christine BERNIER et Chantal LE BOUGUENEC)

Les E. coli EAEC sont reconnus comme une cause émergente de diarrhée partout dans le monde. L'obtention d'une banque génomique à partir d'une souche isolée d'un patient séropositif pour le VIH et atteint de diarrhée persistante, a permis 1) la caractérisation d'un nouveau facteur de pathogénicité impliqué dans l'interaction (adhésion, invasion) bactérie pathogène—cellule eucaryote, 2) le développement d'outils de diagnostic.

Identification des pathogènes opportunistes non répertoriés agents de diarrhées (Laurence DU MERLE, Christine BERNIER et LE BOUGUENEC dans le cadre du Groupe d'étude des infections diarrhéiques du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts associés). Nous avons participé à des études montrant l'implication de E. coli dits entéroadhérents et de Klebsiella pneumoniae dans des diarrhées chroniques, des colites hémorragiques, des syndromes urémiques ou de colites pseudomembraneuses en Afrique.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

ONDET Maxence (mondet@pasteur.fr) (1/2 poste : après-midi)

LABIGNE Agnès, IP (Chef de laboratoire, alabigne@pasteur.fr)

LE BOUGUENEC Chantal, IP (Chargée de Recherche, clb@pasteur.fr)

DE REUSE Hilde, IP (Chargée de Recherche, hdereuse@pasteur.fr)

FERRERO, Richard, IP (Chargé de Recherche, rferrero@pasteur.fr)

BAMBOU Jean-Christophe, DEA

BERNIER Christine, doctorante

BONECA Ivo, postdoctorant

BRINGER Marie-Agnès, maîtrise

BURY Stéphanie, doctorante

CHAPUT Catherine, 5ème année d'ingénieur en biologie industrielle

COLLAND Frédéric, Hybrigenics

CONTRERAS DE CAMACHO Monica, doctorante

DE FINANCE Nancy, fin de maîtrise

GISMERO ORDONEZ Juana (Université de Sao Paulo, Brésil)

PINTO Viviana (Université de Buenos Aires, Argentine)

PLANÇON-ARNOULD Laure, postdoctorante

POIDEVIN Nathalie, DEA

STAM Mark, maîtrise

CHEVALIER Catherine, Ingénieur d'études INSERM, cchevali@pasteur.fr

DU MERLE Laurence, Technicienne, dlaur@pasteur.fr

ECOBICHON Chantal, Technicienne, ceco@pasteur.fr

THIBERGE Jean-Michel, Technicien, jmthiber@pasteur.fr

TROUBADOUR Pascale, Technicienne, ptrouba@pasteur.fr (1/2 poste)

ONDET Maxence, Secrétaire, mondet@pasteur.fr (1/2 poste)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.