Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Sigcyto


  Director : Pellegrini Sandra (pellegri@pasteur .fr)


  abstract

 

Type I IFNs (IFN-a/b) are critical players in the innate response to pathogens and important modulators of the adaptive immune response. Our work is on the molecular mechanisms underlying the immediate-early cellular responses to IFN-a/b. We study the biosynthesis, assembly and dynamics of activation of the IFN-a/b receptor complexed to the tyrosine kinases Tyk2 and Jak1. One project is aimed at the study of the interaction between Tyk2 and the IFNAR1 receptor subunit and the elucidation of the chaperon role of the kinase. A second project concerns the biochemical and functional characterisation of two Tyk2-binding partners (Pot-1 and Pot-2) identified as in a yeast-based two hybrid screen. A third project analyses the role of IFN-a/b in the development of human T lymphocytes.



  report

cale

Nuclear localisation of Tyk2 -Ragimbeau, J., E. Dondi, A. Vasserot, P. Romero, G. Uzé and S. Pellegrini. 2001. Receptor interaction region of Tyk2 contains a motif required for its nuclear localization. J. Biol. Chem. 276 : 30812

We have studied the subcellular distribution of the wild-type Tyk2 protein and of several mutants expressed in Tyk2-deficient human cells. Direct GFP-associated fluorescence and immunostaining showed a diffuse localization of Tyk2 throughout the cell, including the nuclear compartment. The nuclear localization of Tyk2 requires a NLS-like motif, rich in arginine residues, that maps within the region mediating interaction with cytokine receptors. Our studies demonstrate that Tyk2 can reside in the nucleus independently of receptor binding. The nuclear pool is dispensable for the transcriptional and antiviral responses induced by IFN-a/b and its function remains unknown.

Interference among cytokine receptors interacting with Tyk2 - Dondi, E., E. Pattyn, G. Lutfalla, X. Van Ostade, G. Uzé, S. Pellegrini, and J. Tavernier. 2001. Down-modulation of type I interferon responses by receptor cross-competition for a shared Jak kinase. J. Biol. Chem. 276 : 47004

In contrast to the large number of cytokine receptors, only four JAK proteins exists in mammalian cells, implying the shared use of these kinases by many different receptor complexes and the possibility of interference if receptor numbers exceed the amount of available JAK. In a collaborative effort, we have investigated whether cross-competition among Tyk2-interacting receptors can occur. Our results suggest that exogenously expressed Tyk2-interacting receptors can sequester and titer out the kinase away from the endogenous IFNAR1 receptor chain, leading to a reduced IFN-a/b response. This represents a novel mechanism of trans-modulation between cytokine responses based on competition for a shared receptor-associated tyrosine kinase.

Tyk2 is a regulator of surface expression of the IFNAR1 receptor chain (J. Ragimbeau)

We have recently initiated a study of the mecanism by which the tyrosine kinase Tyk2 is required for the expression of the IFNAR1 receptor chain. We demonstrate that overexpressed IFNAR1 is confined in the Golgi compartment, whereas co-expression of IFNAR1 with Tyk2 leads to cell surface targeting of the receptor. This novel result suggests that the formation of receptor/Jak complexes occurs early during the biosynthesis of the receptor.

Novel Tyk2 partners (C. Steindler)

The amino-terminal moiety of the Jak proteins carries the molecular determinants for binding to cytokine receptors. Sequence analysis of the amino-terminal region of JAKs has revealed the presence of a band 4.1-related domain, named FERM. This domain is present in cytoskeletal proteins of the ERM family (ezrin, radixin, moesin) where it mediates intramolecular interactions and membrane targeting. A yeast two-hybrid screen was performed using as bait the FERM domain of Tyk2. Functional and biochemical characterization of two partners is in progress. Pot-1 is a novel protein expressed in most tissues and localized in a vescicular compartment. Pot-2 is neuronal-specific, it associates to microtubules and belongs to a novel family of three members.

Study of the IFN-a/b response of human T lymphocytes (E. Dondi)

A critical aspect of the immune response to pathogens is mediated by the CD4+ and CD8+ T lymphocytes which, upon activation, differentiate and expand into functionally distinct subsets. IFN-a/b is produced in response to a viral or bacterial infection and performs multiple immunoregulatory functions, thus linking innate and adaptive immunity. We have recently found that the transcriptional response to IFN-a/b of human differentiated Th1 and Th2 subsets and of activated CD8+ cells is strongly compromised as compared to their naïve precursors. This downmodulation takes place at the time of cell cycle entry and is part of the complex genetic program of T cell development. The molecular mechanism and the physiological relevance of this phenomenon are under study.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Houssin Wendy, wendy.houssin@pasteur.fr

 

Dondi Elisabetta, Post-Doc, edondi@pasteur.fr

Steindler Corinna, Post-Doc, costei@pasteur.fr

Ragimbeau Josiane, Engineer, jragimbe@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Sigcyto


  Responsable : Pellegrini Sandra (pellegri@pasteur .fr)


  resume

 

Les interférons de type I (IFN-a/b) interviennent comme acteurs principaux dans la réponse innée et modulent la réponse adaptative contre les pathogènes. Notre recherche est centrée sur l'étude des mécanismes moléculaires à la base des réponses cellulaires aux IFN-a/b. Nous nous intéressons à la biosynthèse, l'assemblage et la dynamique d'activation du récepteur des IFN-a/b qui est complexé aux tyrosine kinases Tyk2 et Jak1, membres de la famille JAK. Un projet vise à étudier l'interaction entre Tyk2 et la chaîne IFNAR1 du récepteur et élucider le rôle chaperon de la kinase. Un deuxième projet vise à la caractérisation fonctionnelle et biochimique de deux nouveaux partenaires de Tyk2 (Pot-1 et Pot-2) identifiés par l'approche du double hybride. Un troisième projet analyse le rôle de l'IFN-a/b dans le développement des lymphocytes T humaines.



  rapport

cale

Localisation nucléaire de Tyk2 - Ragimbeau, J., E. Dondi, A. Vasserot, P. Romero, G. Uzé and S. Pellegrini. 2001. Receptor interaction region of Tyk2 contains a motif required for its nuclear localization. J. Biol. Chem. 276 : 30812

Un effort a été porté sur l'étude de la localisation de Tyk2 sauvage et de diverses formes mutées, exprimées dans une lignée Tyk2-négative. La visualisation directe de la GFP fusionnée à Tyk2 et des expériences d'immunofluorescence ont permis de démontrer une distribution diffuse de Tyk2, y compris dans le noyau. La localisation nucléaire de Tyk2 nécessite d'un motif de type NLS, riche en arginines, qui est situé dans le domaine d'interaction avec les récepteurs de cytokines. Nos études montrent que Tyk2 réside dans le noyau indépendamment de sa liaison au récepteur. Cette fraction nucléaire ne semble pas intervenir dans les réponses transcriptionnelle et antivirale induites par l'IFN-a/b, et sa fonction reste inconnue.

Interférence entre récepteurs de cytokines partageant Tyk2 - Dondi, E., E. Pattyn, G. Lutfalla, X. Van Ostade, G. Uzé, S. Pellegrini, and J. Tavernier. 2001. Down-modulation of type I interferon responses by receptor cross-competition for a shared Jak kinase. J. Biol. Chem. 276 : 47004

Chez les mammifères, les quatre membres de la famille de protéine tyrosine kinases JAK sont partagés entre un grand nombre de récepteurs de cytokines, suggérant la possibilité d'interférence. En collaboration, nous avons établi un modèle d'étude du comportement de la kinase Tyk2 partagée entre différents récepteurs, qui nous a permis de démontrer une diminution de la réponse à l'IFN-a, suite à expression d'un récepteur exogène. Nos résultats montrent que des récepteurs associant Tyk2 peuvent séquestrer la kinase et de ce fait diminuer la réponse à IFN-a/b. Ceci représente un nouveau mécanisme de trans-modulation entre récepteurs de cytokines.

Tyk2 est un régulateur de l'expression de la chaîne IFNAR1 à la surface cellulaire (J. Ragimbeau)

Récemment, nous avons initié une étude qui vise à comprendre le mécanisme par lequel la tyrosine kinase Tyk2 est requise pour l'expression de la chaîne IFNAR1 du récepteur. Dans un système de sur-expression, nous démontrons que IFNAR1 seul se trouve confiné dans le compartiment golgien, tandis que la co-expression IFNAR1 plus Tyk2 entraîne la maturation du récepteur vers la surface membranaire. Ce résultat suggère que la formation de complexes récepteur/Jak a lieu précocemment dans la voie biosynthétique du récepteur.

Nouveaux partenaires de Tyk2 (C. Steindler)

La région amino-terminale des protéines JAK contient les déterminants moléculaires impliqués dans l'interaction avec les récepteurs de cytokines. L'analyse de cette région a révélé la présence d'un domaine apparenté au domaine FERM, qu'on retrouve dans de nombreuses protéines, comme la famille ERM (ezrine, radixine, moesine), où il participe à des interactions intramoléculaires et de ciblage à la membrane. Nous avons entrepris un criblage double hybride chez la levure en utilisant comme appât le domaine FERM de Tyk2. La caractérisation biochimique et fonctionnelle de deux partenaires de Tyk2 est en cours. La protéine Pot-1 est exprimée de façon ubiquitaire et se localise dans un compartiment vésiculaire, tandis que Pot-2 est neuronale-spécifique, est associée aux microtubules et appartient à une nouvelle famille, comprenant deux autres membres.

Étude de la réponse à IFN-a/b des lymphocytes T humains (E. Dondi)

Un aspect critique de la réponse immune aux pathogènes est médié par les lymphocytes T CD4+ et CD8+ qui sont activés et se différencient en sous-populations fonctionnellement distinctes. L'IFN-a/b produit précocemment en réponse à une infection virale ou bactérienne, exerce de multiples effets immunorégulateurs qui relient l'immunité innée et adaptative. Nous avons découvert que la réponse transcriptionnelle à l'IFN-a/b des lymphocytes CD4+ différenciés en Th1 et Th2, ainsi que des lymphocytes CD8+ activés, est fortement compromise par rapport à la réponse des précurseurs naïfs. Nos résultats suggèrent que cette modulation se met en place dès l'entrée en prolifération des cellules et fait partie du programme complexe de différenciation T. Le mécanisme moléculaire et la relevance physiologique de ce phénomène sont à l'étude.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Houssin Wendy, wendy.houssin@pasteur.fr

 

Dondi Elisabetta, Post-Doc, edondi@pasteur.fr

Steindler Corinna, Post-Doc, costei@pasteur.fr

Ragimbeau Josiane, Ingénieur, jragimbe@pasteur.fr


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.