Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Rtg


  Director : HEARD Jean Michel (: jmheard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

One topic of the laboratory is the development of strategies for gene therapy. Investigated models concerns the nervous system and the erythropoiesis. Vectors derived from lentiviruses or AAV are used. The laboratory is also interested in cell-retrovirus interactions. Studies are focused on very early stages of virus entry, antigen presentation and the role of the HIV Nef protein.



  report

cale

Gene therapy to the nervous system.

Lysosomal storage diseases can be corrected through the delivery of the missing enzyme. For those diseases affecting the central nervous system, which are the more frequent ones, intracerebral delivery supposes in situ enzyme secretion. This can be obtained by gene therapy methods. Strereotactic injection of AAV-based or lentivirus-based vectors encoding the missing enzyme in the brain leads to inducing enzyme secretion in a small number of genetically-modified cells that provide an intra-cerebral source of enzyme. Enzyme can be transported to remote locations and complete correction of storage lesions is observed in the entire brain. We obtained these results in the mouse model of MPS VII, which is deficient for ß-glucuronidase, and in the MPS I mouse, which is deficient for a-iduronidase and which provides a model for Hurler's disease, a disorder relatively frequent in children. With the support of the AFM, we have installed a colony of dogs with Hurler's disease in France and we currently initiate a study of the efficiency of the approach in affected puppies. The immediate goal is to assess the feasibility of the method for the treatment of children and to provide information for a discussion of the opportunity of a therapeutic trial (collaboration with M. Tadié, Laboratoire de Neurochirurgie, CHU Bicêtre and P. Moullier, CHU Hôtel-Dieu, Nantes).

Spinal cords injuries are frequent and responsible of devastating conditions in young trauma patients. We have initiated this year a program aimed at exploring a reconstruction method based on the association of microsurgery and gene therapy after spinal cord section in rats. Surgery allows to reconnect motor neurons located above the section with hind limb muscles, and eliminates all connections with the distal spinal cord stump. A regain of motricity is observed, however, movements are not adapted to locomotion. This experimental model is used to assess the efficiency of the transfer of genes coding for factors involved in neuron survival, spinal cord plasticity and axonal growth (S. Liu, D. Bohl).

Gene therapy for stimulating erythropoiesis.

The goal of this program is to stimulate fetal erythropoiesis, in which hemoglobin structure is a 2/g 2, in ß-thalassemic patients who are deficient for the synthesis of the ß-chain. Strategy is based on the prolonged induction of a stress erythropoiesis, which is mostly of the fetal type, through the delivery of large amounts of erythropopietin (Epo). Intense erythropoietic stimulation hastens the differentiation of early erythroid progenitors, which escape silencing of the g gene. We have described this mechanism and validated the strategy in ß-thalassemic mice by transferring the mouse Epo cDNA into skeletal muscles. Disease correction was demonstrated after naked DNA electrotransfer and with AAV vectors in which Epo expression level could be controlled by tetracycline. This non-expensive and simple method, which appears safe, at least when naked DNA is used, could be appropriate for the treatment of millions of ß-thalassemic patients who, for most of them, leave in developing countries, especially in South-East Asia (S. Samakoglou, D. Bohl).

 

Topics on early stages of retroviral infection

Topology and oligomerization of Pit-2, a retroviral receptor and a phosphate transporter

PiT-2 functions as the cell surface anchor molecule for retroviral particles bearing an amphotropic envelope and mediates fusion following conformational changes of the envelope-receptor complex. PiT-2 also transports phosphate and sodium. Both activities vary inversely with extracellular inorganic phosphate concentrations. Variation is rapid and occurs in the absence of protein synthesis. PiT-2 is a multi-transmembrane and highly hydrophobic protein. We have shown that PiT-2 belongs to a large family represented in the various reigns. All members contain a duplication of the conserved domain. We have defined the topologic organization of PiT-2 and shown that the duplicated domains are in opposite topology with respect to the plasma membrane. Using cross-linking reagents, we showed that PiT-2 formed assemblies at the cell surface, and that these assemblies underwent conformational changes in response to variation of extracellular phosphate concentration. The compacted form is associated with high biological activity, whereas the relaxed form has little or no activity (C. Salaün, P. Rodrigues).

Works by the team of Olivier Schwartz

HIV principally infects T lymphocytes and antigen-presenting cells like macrophages and dendritic cells. Infection requires a fusion of the viral and plasma membranes for releasing capsids into the cytosol, where the subsequent stages of the viral cycle must take place. Fusion involves interaction between the envelope glycoprotein and cell surface receptors. Macrophages, and in a slightly different way, dendritic cells, are able to capture viral particles in intracellular vesicles notwithstanding envelope/receptor interactions. We have shown that in macrophages, these vesicles are related to macropinocytic vesicles and suggested that fusion may also take place in these structures (V. Maréchal).

In dendritic cells, the capture of viral particles is favored by a lectin called DC-SIGN. Intra-vesicular particles keep infectivity and can be transmitted to CD4 target cells during antigen presentation. We have shown that the expression of DC-SIGN at the cell surface is upregulated when the HIV-1 Nef protein is expressed. DC-SIGN up-regulation in infected cells allows the capture of increased numbers of HIV particles and leads to a more efficient transmission of the infection to target cells. Mechanisms involved in the action of Nef on DC-SIGN have been elucidated. They consist in a modification of the intracellular trafficking of DC-SIGN, which relies on an endocytosis motif similar to that previously recognized as a target for Nef action on CD4 (N. Sol-Foulon, C. Nobile).

The release of HIV particles in the cytosol after membrane fusion is followed by the disassembly and degradation of capsid proteins. We have now provided evidence that peptides generated during this process can join MHC-I molecules and be presented to specific CTLs at the cell surface (O. Schwartz, collaboration with F. Buseyne). This antigen presentation through the exogenous pathway potentially plays a role in the antiviral immune response. We are currently examining the molecular and cellular mechanisms involved in this phenomenon. We are studying what are the routes of entry and trafficking of virions leading to exogenous presentation of epitopes by MHC-I. Our aim is also to compare the repertoire of viral epitopes presented through the exogenous pathway or after neo-synthesis of viral proteins by the infected cell (A. Morris).



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Renée Communal, communal@pasteur.fr

Olivier Schwartz, CR Institut Pasteur, schwartz@pasteur.fr

Delphine Bohl, CR2 INSERM, dbohl@pasteur.frs

Nathalie Sol-Foulon, CR2 CNRS, natsol@pasteur.fr

Arnaud Moris, Stage post-doctoral, moris@paseur.fr

Song Liu, Stage post-doctoral, songliu@pasteur.fr

Christine Salaün, Thèse Ecole Doctorale B2M, csalaun@pasteur.fr

Emmanuel Gyan, Etudiant DEA, egyan@pasteur.fr

Cinzia Nobile, Etudiante étrangère, nobileci@pasteur.fr

Valérie Maréchal, Technicienne Supérieure 2D, marechal@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Desmaris, Technicienne Supérieure 1D, nchodan@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Rtg


  Responsable : HEARD Jean Michel (: jmheard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Une thématique de l'unité consiste dans le développement de stratégies pour la thérapie génique. Les modèles étudiés concernent le système nerveux et l'érythropoïèse. Ils font appel aux vecteurs dérivés des lentivirus ou des AAV. L'unité s'intéresse également aux interactions entre les rétrovirus et les cellules cibles de l'infection. Les travaux portent sur les étapes très précoces de l'entrée virale, la présentation d'antigène viraux et les rôles de la protéine Nef du VIH-1.



  rapport

cale

Développement de stratégies pour la thérapie génique.

Thèmes portant sur le système nerveux.

Les maladies de surcharge lysosomale peuvent être corrigées par un apport substitutif de l'enzyme manquante. Pour celles qui affectent le système nerveux central, qui sont les plus fréquentes, cet apport ne peut se concevoir que par la sécrétion de l'enzyme in situ. Celle-ci peut être obtenue par une manœuvre de transfert de gène. L'injection stéréotaxique de vecteurs AAV ou de vecteurs lentiviraux codant pour l'enzyme manquante dans le cerveau transforme un petit nombre de cellules en une source d'enzyme. Celle-ci peut être transportée à distance et corriger les lésions due à la maladie dans l'ensemble du cerveau et du cervelet. Nous avons obtenu ces résultats dans le modèle de la souris MPS VII déficitaire en ß-glucuronidase, puis chez la souris MPSI, déficitaire en a-iduronidase, qui représente un modèle de la maladie de Hurler, relativement fréquente chez l'enfant (N. Desmaris). Nous avons, avec l'aide de l'AFM, installé en France une colonie de chiens atteints de la maladie de Hurler et commençons à étudier l'efficacité du transfert de gène dans le cerveau des chiots malades. L'objectif immédiat est de juger de la faisabilité de cette méthode pour le traitement des enfants atteints et de décider de l'opportunité d'un essai thérapeutique (collaboration avec M. Tadié, laboratoire de Neurochirurgie du CHU Bicêtre et avec P. Moullier, CHU de Nantes).

Les traumatismes de la moelle épinière sont fréquents et souvent responsables d'un handicap sévère chez des sujets jeunes. Nous avons initié cette année un projet de recherche destiné à explorer une méthode de reconstruction après section de la moelle lombaire chez le rat, faisant appel à la microchirurgie et à la thérapie génique. La chirurgie permet de connecter les motoneurones situés au-dessus de la lésion avec les muscles des pattes postérieures, et supprime toutes connections avec la moelle sous-lésionnelle. Un retour de la motricité est observé, mais celle-ci n'est pas adaptée à la locomotion. Ce modèle est utilisé pour évaluer l'efficacité du transfert de gènes codant pour des facteurs favorisant la survie neuronale, la plasticité médullaire et la repousse axonale (S. Liu, D. Bohl).

Thème portant sur l'érythropoièse.

L'objectif de ce projet est de stimuler une érythropoièse de type fœtal, où l'hémoglobine est de forme a 2/g 2, chez des sujets ß-thalassémiques déficitaires pour la synthèse de la chaîne ß. La stratégie repose sur l'induction prolongée d'une érythropoièse de stress, majoritairement de type fœtal, par l'apport de quantités importantes d'érythropoiétine (Epo). La stimulation intense accélère la différenciation des progéniteurs érythroïdes très précoces et évite l'extinction du gène g -globin. Nous avons décrit ce mécanisme et validé cette stratégie chez la souris ß-thalassémique en utilisant le transfert de vecteurs codant pour l'Epo de souris dans le muscle. Une correction de la maladie a été obtenue par l'electrotransfert d'ADN nu ainsi qu'avec des vecteurs AAV dans lesquels le niveau d'expression de l'Epo est contrôlée par la tétracycline. Cette méthode peu onéreuse, relativement sure en ce qui concerne l'utilisation d'ADN nu, et facile à mettre en œuvre pourrait s'avérer appropriée pour le traitement des millions de patients ß-thalassémiques vivant dans des pays en développement, en particulier en Asie du sud-est (S. Samakoglu, D. Bohl).

 

Etude des phases précoces de l'infection rétrovirale.

Topologie et oligomérisation de PiT-2, récepteur rétroviral et transporteur de phosphate inorganique.

PiT-2 sert à l'ancrage des particules rétrovirales portant une enveloppe amphotrope et induit la fusion au décours d'un processus de réorganisation du complexe enveloppe-récepteur. PiT-2 transporte également du phosphate inorganique et du sodium. Les deux activités varient en fonction inverse de la concentration de phosphate dans le milieu extracellulaire. Les variations sont rapides, sans synthèse protéique. PiT-2 est une molécule multi-transmembranaire et fortement hydrophobe. Nous avons montré que PiT-2 appartient à une large famille représentée dans tous les règnes. Tous les représentants possèdent une duplication du domaine conservé. Nous avons défini la topologie de PiT-2 et montré que les domaines dupliqués sont orientés symétriquement par rapport à la membrane plasmique. A l'aide d'agents pontants, nous avons montré que PiT-2 forme des assemblées à la surface cellulaire, et que ces assemblées subissent des changements conformationnels en réponse aux variations de la concentration extracellulaire en phosphate. La forme compactée est associée à une forte activité biologique, alors que la forme relaxée est peu ou pas active (C. Salaün, P. Rodrigues).

 

Travaux de l'équipe d'Olivier Schwartz.

Le VIH infecte principalement les lymphocytes T et les cellules présentatrices d'antigène, macrophages et cellules dendritiques. L'infection nécessite la fusion des membranes virale et plasmique afin de libérer la capside dans le cytosol, où se déroulent les phases suivantes du cycle infectieux. La fusion requiert des interactions spécifiques entre glycoprotéine d'enveloppe et récepteurs cellulaires. Les macrophages, et d'une manière distincte les cellules dendritiques, sont capables d'effectuer une capture des particules virales dans des vésicules intracellulaires de manière aspécifique. Nous avons montré que ces vésicules s'apparentent à des vésicules de macropinocytose dans le cas des macrophages, et suggéré que des événements de fusion se déroulent au sein de ces vésicules (V. Maréchal).

Dans le cas des cellules dendritiques, le captage des particules virales est favorisé par une lectine de surface appelée DC-SIGN. Les particules intra-vésiculaires restent infectieuses et peuvent être transmises aux lymphocytes CD4 lors de la présentation d'antigènes. Nous avons mis en évidence que l'expression de DC-SIGN à la surface est augmentée lorsque la cellule est infectée par le VIH-1. Cette augmentation est induite par la protéine virale Nef et conduit à une transmission plus efficace de l'infection virale aux cellules cibles. Les mécanismes de l'action de Nef sur DC-SIGN ont été élucidés. Ils reposent sur une perturbation du trafic intracellulaire de DC-SIGN et font intervenir un motif d'endocytose semblable à celui préalablement reconnu comme une cible de l'effet de Nef sur la molécule CD4 (N. Sol-Foulon, C. Nobile).

La libération des particules virales dans le cytosol après fusion est suivie d'un processus de dé-assemblage et d'une dégradation des capsides. Nous avons mis en évidence que les peptides générés par cette dégradation peuvent rejoindre les molécules de classe I en cours de synthèse et être présentés à des CTL spécifiques. Cette présentation antigénique par la voie exogène, en l'absence de néo-synthèse des protéines virales, joue potentiellement un rôle important dans la réponse immunitaire antivirale (O. Schwartz, collaboration avec F. Buseyne ). Nous étudions actuellement les mécanismes biologiques et cellulaires qui sous-tendent ce phénomène de présentation exogène : Nous examinons particulièrement l'influence de la voie d'entrée du virus dans la cellule, ainsi que le rôle du protéasome. Nous souhaitons également comparer les répertoires d'épitopes viraux présentés de façon exogène ou lors de la néo-synthèse de protéines virales. (A. Moris)



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Renée Communal, communal@pasteur.fr

Olivier Schwartz, CR Institut Pasteur, schwartz@pasteur.fr

Delphine Bohl, CR2 INSERM, dbohl@pasteur.frs

Nathalie Sol-Foulon, CR2 CNRS, natsol@pasteur.fr

Arnaud Moris, Stage post-doctoral, moris@paseur.fr

Song Liu, Stage post-doctoral, songliu@pasteur.fr

Christine Salaün, Thèse Ecole Doctorale B2M, csalaun@pasteur.fr

Emmanuel Gyan, Etudiant DEA, egyan@pasteur.fr

Cinzia Nobile, Etudiante étrangère, nobileci@pasteur.fr

Valérie Maréchal, Technicienne Supérieure 2D, marechal@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Desmaris, Technicienne Supérieure 1D, nchodan@pasteur.fr


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.