Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Regtrans


  Director : Kolb, Annie (akolb@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory is interested in two major switches in bacterial gene expression: the transition from exponential to stationary phases where a new sigma factor is synthesised and the early steps of bacteriophage T4 infection where an essential anti-sigma factor encoded by the phage is produced.



  report

cale

RNA polymerase ensures the first step in gene expression and, in all organisms, it is a major target for gene regulation. In eubacteria, the holoenzyme is composed of the core enzyme E (subunit composition a2bb'w) that associates with a s subunit to form the holoenzyme Es able to initiate transcription from promoter sites. Most bacteria contain multiple s factors that play specific roles under various environmental conditions. The concentration of each sigma factor in the cell is tightly controlled by complex mechanisms involving anti-s factors.

Comparison betweens 70AND s S RNA POLYMERASES (S. Anne, A. Kolb, A. Lafon)

The expression of the majority of genes in Escherichia coli is carried out by the ‘housekeeping' s 70 factor but, when bacteria stop growing or are subjected to stress, s 70 is replaced by the alternative stationary phase factor, s S that guides RNA polymerase towards promoters controlling gene products needed for survival and stress resistance. Although the two factors are very similar, they can discriminate between different sets of promoters. The discrimination mechanism is poorly understood, despite the fact that this is an important problem, since most bacteria spend most of their time not growing. Thus our studies focus on the comparison between the housekeeping s 70 and stationary phase s S factors of the common bacterium Escherichia coli.

The two s factors compete for core binding. Even during stationary phase or under stress conditions s S is much less abundant than s 70. Using s tagged at their N- or C-terminus, we showed that the affinity of s S for the core enzyme is ~ 5-fold lower than that of s 70. Hence the question is how in vivo s S can compete with s 70 for core binding.

The two holoenzymes Es S and Es 70 present a similar architecture as shown by Fe-BABE reactivity of single cysteine mutants of s S and s 70. However many s s-dependent promoters do not show any specific - 35 region but most possess a C at position -13, just upstream of the -10 region of the promoter. Thus there is some intrinsic promoter discrimination ability by the two holoenzymes due to promoter sequence and template supercoiling. In addition Es S and Es 70 induce different bending angles in the promoter DNA and respond differentially to intrinsic curvature in the promoter. Moreover transcription factors affect differentially transcription initiation by Es s and Es 70 and can even determine the in vivo s factor selectivity.

Promoter Regulation by the CRP-CAMP complex (B. Galan, D. Kotlarz, Y-P Wang)

The E. coli cAMP receptor protein (CRP or CAP) was initially identified as an activator of s 70-dependent transcription at promoters for catabolic operons. However CRP participates in much wider regulatory networks, activating or repressing expression of many genes, some of them regulated by s S. Depending on the distance between the centre of the CRP binding site, the CRP-cAMP complex can be an activator or a repressor. At the mcc promoter which controls the synthesis of the bacterial protein translation inhibitor microcin C7, a modified heptapeptide induced when cells enter the stationary phase, the CRP-cAMP complex is absolutely required for transcription. In vitro, in the presence of the CRP-cAMP complex, both RNA polymerases Es S and Es 70 transcribe efficiently mcc. However in vivo only Es s is able to alleviate the repression brought about by H-NS a nucleoid protein which acts as a general silencer. (Gonzales-Pastor, San Millan and Moreno, Nature, 1994, 369: 281).

The CRP-cAMP complex is also absolutely required to relieve glucose repression at the hpaG promoter which governs the expression of genes responsible for the catabolism of hydroxyphenyl acetate. Beatriz Galan (an EMBO student from José-Luis Garcia's lab CSIC-Madrid) showed that even in the presence of the inducer, the hpaG promoter can only be expressed in stationary phase after the complete exhaustion of glucose. This activation requires the CRP-cAMP complex and IHF bound to upstream promoter sequences.

When it acts alone, the CRP-cAMP complex is classically considered as a proximal activator interacting over relatively short distances with Es 70 or Es S RNA polymerases. In contrast Es 54 is regulated by an entirely different mechanism requiring an activator protein that binds distant upstream activator sequences and hydrolyses a nucleoside triphosphate to form open complexes. However Pr Yiping Wang at Beijing University has shown that the CRP-cAMP complex is also able to down-regulate s 54-dependent promoters: for example the glnAp2 promoter is also inhibited. Primer extension and permanganate footprinting analysis indicate that the inhibitory effect is at the transcriptional level in vivo. When glnAp2 is activated by the heterologous activator NifA, a similar inhibitory effect by CRP-cAMP is observed. The repression effect is eliminated by mutating CRP, or over-expressing the activators or the s 54 factor.

interactions BETWEEN s AND ANTI-s factors (S. Igonet , G. Orsini)

Anti s factors are s binding regulatory proteins that control the availability and function of various s factors. Our research focuses on the anti-s 70 factor AsiA of phage T4. We are interested in the mechanism of action of this factor and in the role of upstream RNA polymerase-promoter contacts in the function of this 10 kDa protein. Several anti-s factors sequester their cognate s and therefore inhibit the formation of the corresponding holoenzyme. AsiA has a different mechanism of action and a dual function:

1- It binds strongly to region 4 of s 70 and inhibits s 70-dependent transcription from bacterial promoters containing " -10 -35  " recognition motives.

2- The s 70-AsiA complex is required in the holoenzyme to activate phage T4 middle transcription that also necessitates the presence of the T4-encoded MotA protein bound to the -30 recognition motif of T4 middle promoters. Together, AsiA and MotA therefore constitute a switching device to change promoter recognition.

We have shown that the binding of AsiA to region 4 of s 70 blocks the functional interaction s 70/ -35 upstream promoter element. Using the glutamate anion to alleviate this blockade, we have analysed in detail the mechanism by which AsiA inhibits transcription from lacUV5, a -10 -35 promoter. Permanganate probing, DNAse I footprinting and laser UV photoreactivity show that the AsiA-containing holoenzyme slowly forms an active open complex at lacUV5. This ternary complex holoenzyme-AsiA-lacUV5 is activated by the CRP-cAMP complex, indicating the importance of upstream polymerase -promoter contacts for this activity. In addition reconstituted RNA polymerase containing a-subunits lacking their carboxy-terminal domain is totally inhibited by AsiA. We are now studying the behaviour of AsiA-containing RNA polymerase relative to several phage T4 early (and very strong) promoters that have an extended upstream curved A/T rich sequence. In this approach, we use AsiA as a probe allowing us to map interactions located in the upstream region of the polymerase promoter complex. The conformational changes brought about by AsiA in s 70 reveal these interactions, which can be identified and analysed.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Lavenir, Armelle, (alavenir@pasteur.fr)

Orsini, Gilbert, (Associate Professor, Université Paris VII, orsini@pasteur.fr)

Igonet, Sébastien, Paris 7 (Student, sigonet@pasteur.fr)

Lafon, Anne, Paris 6 (Student, alafon@pasteur.fr)

Wang, Yiping, Beijing University (Professor, ypwang@pasteur.fr)

Anne, Sandrine, (Technician, sanne@pasteur.fr)

Kotlarz, Denise, (Engineer, denisek@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Regtrans


  Responsable : Kolb, Annie (akolb@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire s'intéresse aux mécanismes de régulation de la transcription bactérienne avec deux thèmes principaux : la transition de la phase exponentielle à la phase stationnaire et les étapes précoces de l'infection par le bactériophage T4. Dans le premier cas apparaît un nouveau facteur s alors que dans le second cas, un facteur anti-s essentiel et spécifique du s majeur bactérien est synthétisé par le virus.



  rapport

cale

L'ARN polymérase est responsable de la première étape de l'expression génétique et la cible de nombreuses régulations. L'holenzyme bactérienne est composée de l'enzyme-coeur E constituée de 5 sous-unités a2bb'w et d'un facteur s . La nature du facteur s détermine la spécificité de reconnaissance de l'ARN polymérase vis à vis du promoteur. De nombreux facteurs s sont induits en réponse aux variations de l'environnement et sont très souvent contrôlés par des facteurs anti-s .

ComparAison Entre les ARN POLYMERASES Es 70AND Es S (S. Anne, A. Kolb, A. Lafon)

Escherichia coli synthétise constitutivement s 70 , le facteur s majeur permettant l'expression des gènes de ménage. A l'entrée en phase stationnaire ou lorsque les bactéries sont soumises à des stress variés, apparaît s S, un nouveau facteur s capable de diriger l'ARN polymérase vers d'autres promoteurs contrôlant des gènes impliqués dans la survie bactérienne et la résistance généralisée au stress. s S et s 70 sont très similaires et reconnaissent pourtant des classes distinctes de promoteurs. Cette discrimination est encore mal comprise et nous avons entrepris une comparaison systématique entre les deux facteurs s .

L'enzyme-coeur est limitant dans la bactérie et les deux facteurs s sont en compétition pour s'associer à l'enzyme-coeur. s S a 5 fois moins d'affinité pour l'enzyme-coeur que s 70. Quels sont donc les facteurs qui permettent à s S de rivaliser avec s 70 ?

Les deux ARN polymérases présentent des structures voisines d'après des expériences de clivage au Fe-BABE, réactif chimique couplé à une cystéine de la protéine. Cependant beaucoup de promoteurs dépendants de s S ne possèdent pas de région —35 consensus mais présentent une cytosine en position —13, juste en amont de la boîte —10. Il existe des éléments de discrimination pour la reconnaissance par les deux ARN polymérases au niveau de la séquence du promoteur et du degré de surenroulement de la matrice. De plus les deux holoenzymes qui induisent des courbures différentes de l'ADN, répondent différentiellement à la présence de ces courbures. De nombreux facteurs de transcription modulent le démarrage de la transcription des promoteurs dépendants de s S et peuvent même déterminer le choix du facteur s .

Regulation par le complexE CRP-AMP cyclique (B. Galan, D. Kotlarz, Y-P Wang)

La protéine réceptrice de l'AMP cyclique, appelée aussi protéine CAP, a été découverte pour son rôle activateur des promoteurs sensibles à la répression catabolique. Elle participe aussi à des réseaux de régulation différents ; elle contrôle l'expression de nombreux promoteurs dépendants de s S. Au promoteur du gène mcc, codant pour la synthèse et le transport de la microcine C7, un petit peptide antibiotique exprimé uniquement en phase stationnaire, le complexe CRP-AMP cyclique est requis pour la transcription du promoteur. In vitro il active efficacement la transcription de mcc par les deux formes d'ARN polymérases Es 70 et Es S. Mais in vivo, seul Es S est capable de lever la répression exercée par H-NS, une petite protéine du nucléoïde d'E. coli qui réprime fortement l'expression génétique (Gonzales-Pastor, San Millan & Moreno, Nature, 1994, 369: 281).

Le complexe CRP-AMP cyclique est aussi requis pour lever la répression par le glucose au promoteur hpaG qui gouverne la synthèse des gènes responsables du catabolisme de l'hydroxyl phényl acétate. Beatriz Galan, une étudiante du laboratoire de José-Luis Garcia (CSIC-Madrid) a montré que même en présence de l'inducteur, c'est seulement en phase stationnaire après avoir complètement épuisé le glucose que l'expression du promoteur est induite sous le double contrôle de CRP et de IHF.

Quand CRP est le seul activateur, il interagit directement par des contacts protéine-protéine avec l'ARN polymérase Es 70 ou Es S à courte distance. En revanche les promoteurs dépendants du facteur s 54 ont un mode de régulation totalement différent. La formation du complexe ouvert nécessite la présence d'un activateur, fixé souvent à longue distance du promoteur, qui hydrolyse un ribonucléoside triphosphate. Le Pr Yiping Wang de l'Université de Pékin a découvert que les promoteurs dépendants du facteur s 54 étaient aussi régulés, mais de manière négative, par le complexe CRP-AMP cyclique au niveau transcriptionnel. Quand le promoteur glnAp2 est activé par NifA, un activateur hétérologue dépourvu de sites de liaison au promoteur, la répression persiste. L'effet inhibiteur peut être éliminé par des mutations dans le gène crp ou par surproduction de l'activateur ou du facteur s 54.

LES INTERACTIONS s / ANTI-s (S. Igonet , G. Orsini)

Les facteurs anti-s sont des protéines régulatrices qui se lient spécifiquement à un facteur s et régulent in vivo la disponibilité et l'activité de ce facteur. Avec AsiA, le facteur anti-s 70 du phage T4, nous nous intéressons au mécanisme d'action de ce facteur ainsi qu'au rôle des contacts amont ARN polymérase-ADN du promoteur dans le fonctionnement de cette protéine de 10 kDa.

En se liant à leur cible, la plupart des facteurs anti-s empêchent l'association du facteur s correspondant avec l'enzyme-coeur. Le mode d'action d'AsiA est différent. En effet, AsiA possède deux fonctions que l'on peut distinguer:

-1. AsiA se lie fortement à la région 4 du facteur s 70 et inhibe la transcription à partir de promoteurs bactériens possédant des motifs consensus " -10-35 " et dépendant de s 70.

-2. La transcription à partir des promoteurs moyens du phage T4 requiert le complexe s 70-AsiA dans l'holoenzyme ainsi que la présence de la protéine MotA du phage, liée au niveau de l'ADN au motif " -30- de ces promoteurs. Au cours du développement du phage, le couple AsiA-MotA permet à l'ARN polymérase de changer de spécificité de reconnaissance et de se réorienter vers d'autres promoteurs .

Nous avons montré que la liaison d'AsiA à la région 4 de s 70 bloque l'interaction fonctionnelle entre s 70 et le motif -35 en amont des promoteurs classiques d'E. coli. Utilisant du glutamate de potassium, nous avons atténué cette inhibition et nous avons pu ainsi analyser en détail le mécanisme par lequel AsiA inhibe la transcription à partir de lacUV5, un promoteur à motif " -10 -35 ". Par cinétique d'empreinte au permanganate, par attaque à la DNaseI et par photo-pontage au laser UV, nous avons montré que l'ARN polymérase contenant AsiA forme lentement un complexe ouvert et actif au promoteur lacUV5. L'effet majeur d'AsiA est ici de ralentir de près de 2 ordres de grandeur l'ouverture de la bulle de transcription. Ce complexe ternaire holoenzyme-AsiA-lacUV5 est activé par la protéine CRP liée à l'AMP cyclique, ce qui indique l'importance des contacts amont ARN polymérase-promoteur pour la formation de ce complexe ternaire. Ainsi, l'ARN polymérase possédant une délétion du domaine C-terminal des sous-unités a est totalement inhibée par AsiA dans les conditions où l'enzyme sans délétion ne l'est pas. Nous étudions à présent les propriétés de l'holoenzyme contenant AsiA vis-à-vis de plusieurs promoteurs précoces et très forts du phage T4. Ces promoteurs possèdent en amont une séquence étendue qui est riche en A/T et le siège d'une courbure. Ici, nous utilisons AsiA comme une sonde spécifique nous permettant de cartographier des interactions situées dans les régions amont du complexe ARN polymérase-promoteur. Les changements de conformation imposés par AsiA à s 70 révèlent de nouveaux contacts qui seront identifiés et analysés.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Lavenir, Armelle, (alavenir@pasteur.fr)

Orsini, Gilbert, Paris 7 (maitre de conférences, orsini@pasteur.fr)

Igonet, Sébastien, Paris 7 (Etudiant DEA, sigonet@pasteur.fr)

Lafon, Anne, Paris 6 (Etudiante DEA, alafon@pasteur.fr)

Wang, Yiping, Université de Pékin (Professeur, ypwang@pasteur.fr)

Anne, Sandrine (Technicienne, sanne@pasteur.fr)

Kotlarz, Denise, CNRS (Ingénieur d’études, denisek@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.