Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Reg


  Director : Antoine Danchin (adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The genomic revolution has led to the interpretation of heredity as the reading of a text written in a four-letter alphabet. The text of the genome organises the expression of the genes, but is also directly linked to the architecture of the cell. Two bacterial models are used for these investigations: Escherichia coli and Bacillus subtilis. Our research combines the computer-based study of genomic sequences (analysis in silico) and validation of the predictions obtained, in vitro and in vivo. Our studies focus principally on sulphur metabolism because this atom seems to play a key role in cellular organisation in all living organisms, and in determining the pathogenic nature of bacteria. Studies of sulphur metabolism may therefore provide a means of developing appropriate control methods (e.g. against anthrax, which has recently been used as a bioterrorism agent in the US). The Unit was behind the creation of the HKU Pasteur Research Centre at Hong Kong, where similar studies are carried out on pathogens of local interest.



  report

cale

A Rosetta Stone: comparing the texts of related genomes

In the first year of its activity, the Genetics of Bacterial Genomes Unit carried out a comparative study of two pairs of genomes, each consisting of one reference bacterium genome and one genome of a bacterium of interest as a disease model. The Unit has benefited from the arrival in the laboratory of Jean-François Charles, and entomologist and specialist in the Bacillus cereus/Bacillus thuringiensis complex. Dr Charles brought a large collection of these organisms with him to the laboratory.

Two model bacteria have been used: Escherichia coli, one of the oldest models used by geneticists and the most frequently studied of all bacteria, and Bacillus subtilis, a bacterium from which numerous enzymes used in industry are obtained, and which is often found attached to the surface of leaves and on the ground. E. coli has been compared with Photorhabdus luminescens, which kills insects and propagates in an intermediate nematode host. Bacillus subtilis has been compared with the Bacillus anthracis/Bacillus cereus/Bacillus thuringiensis complex of sporulating bacteria implicated in numerous diseases, including the dangerous anthrax agent, which has recently become infamous in the US. This study focuses on identification of the function of key genes in the overall adaptation of the bacterium to its environment. One of the aims of the study is the identification of possible targets for specific drugs.

The H-NS protein and the response to metabolic transitions (Philippe Bertin)

The capacity to adjust the availability and activity of proteins makes it possible for cells to grow and to adapt to changes in the environment. The H-NS protein is involved in numerous cellular functions and affects the expression of genes regulated by environmental factors (e.g. temperature, pH, osmolarity). It modifies the expression of many genes, affects recombination and transposition and plays a role in bacterial virulence, by controlling motility and the original type of secretion.

Electron microscopy studies of bacteria with mutations in the hns gene have shown that these bacteria have lost their flagella. The synthesis of flagella requires the expression of a large number of genes, in a hierarchical manner. The overexpression in a hns mutant of the flhDC genes – the master operon in flagellum biosynthesis – restores motility, showing that these genes are a preferential target of H-NS. The mechanism underlying this effect is not entirely understood. The work of the Unit has shown that it affects DNA coiling.

Analysis of all of the products of transcription (the transcriptome), associated with analysis of all the proteins of the bacterium separated by two-dimensional electrophoresis (proteome) was used to compare the wild-type and mutant strains. This study showed that the accumulation of more than 60 proteins, more than half of which have been identified, was affected in the hns mutant. These very powerful methods have brought to light large regions (the H-NS regulon comprises more than 250 genes) regulated in the same manner in the cell. The use of protons is one of the key elements modulated by the presence or absence of H-NS.

The construction of sulphur-containing amino acids (Isabelle Martin-Verstraete)

Sulphur is essential for all cells. However, very little is known about its metabolism in gram-positive bacteria. The work of the Unit, as part of the BACELL programme of detailed functional analysis of the Bacillus subtilis genome funded by the European Commission, has focused on the characterisation of genes involved in the synthesis of methionine and cysteine in this bacterium. In addition to the direct characterisation of the principal genes involved in the synthesis of these amino acids, this study has provided new evidence for the progressive specialisation of enzyme activities during the course of evolution, from an initial primary activity with relatively little specificity. As for the study of H-NS, complementary studies have been carried out involving analysis of the protein synthesis profile (analysis of the proteome by two-dimensional electrophoresis) and of the transcription profile by membrane hybridisation (transcriptome analysis). These analyses showed that sulphur metabolism plays an essential role (fully justifying the choice of this topic as central to the genomic approach) and led to the identification of a certain number of co-regulated blocks of genes. This was used as the basis for the implementation of an original statistical treatment of the results. We identified several genes of unknown function that are probably involved in sulphur metabolism. The work of the Unit has also focused on the identification of essential regulatory genes involved in sulphur metabolism. Three of these genes have been characterised. They differ markedly from what has been found in gram-negative bacteria such as Escherichia coli, rendering the findings of this study particularly interesting.

The degradation of aromatic compounds, iron and oxygen (Francis Biville)

The degradation of aromatic compounds plays a key role in many organisms. This process is of particular interest because it uses oxygen (in the gaseous, molecular form) and is therefore directly involved in control of the intracellular concentration of this highly reactive gas. With the aid of computer-based, genetic, physiological and global analysis (proteome, transcriptome) analytical methods, the work of the Unit, in collaboration with a Japanese laboratory, has made it possible to identify the targets of two structurally similar regulators (the hcaR and yhaJ activators), the level of expression of which increases on entry into the stationary phase. The inactivation of hcaR has a major effect on the expression of seven genes involved in the response to oxygen. This effect manifests itself as a large decrease in resistance to certain oxygen derivatives in stationary phase. The product of the hcaR gene is also a regulator involved in control of the initial steps in the catabolism of 3-phenylpropionic acid. We are currently studying the effects of hcaR inactivation on metabolism on entry into the stationary phase. The results obtained with the yhaJ regulator show that the overexpression of this gene leads to a change in the process of cell division. Identification of the targets of this regulator, involved in this phenotype, is underway. A third, previously unknown regulator of the LysR type (ygiP) was identified as a positive regulator of the neighbouring genes encoding proteins with an activity required for growth on glycerol and anaerobiosis. The comparative analysis of transcriptomes led us to suggest that this activator modulates the expression of genes involved in motility and its regulation, the transport of iron and acid stress. The results of physiological experiments have shown that the inactivation of ygiP leads to an increase in the speed of biofilm formation, thus confirming the results of transcriptome analysis concerning the role of this regulator in the regulation of flagellum biosynthesis.

Annotation, data management and analysis in silico (Ivan Moszer, Eduardo Rocha, Paris; Claudine Médigue, Evry)

Due to the very large body of data generated by genome sequencing and the enigmatic nature of many of the genes discovered, experimental studies carried out with molecular genetic techniques are supplemented by a series of studies using the techniques and concepts of information technology, statistics and mathematics. A specialist Bacillus subtilis database, which has served as the model for several other databases, is accessible via the Internet at http://genolist.pasteur.fr/SubtiList/). This database is currently being updated and improved, as much in conceptual terms as in terms of data, by addition of the transcriptome analysis results generated by the BACELL programme. A genetic annotation platform, Imagene, is being used to establish a general model for the identification of errors in genomic sequences, resulting in a major update of the sequences and annotations of the genome of B. subtilis. This platform has been used to reannotate all of the complete bacterial genome sequences currently available and to identify numerous sources of errors, which multiply in databases. The future of this platform is at the heart of a consortium (Geno*) combining the Unit, a laboratory of the INRIA and the companies Hybrigenics and GenomExpress. The more biological and naturalist aspects of this research aim to determine the link between the major functions of the living being and cellular architecture. Genome analysis has shown that the order of the genes on the chromosome is not random, but is instead linked to the architecture of the cell. The results of our sulphur metabolism studies suggest that the selection pressure responsible for this unexpected link is the diffusion of reactive molecules, gases and free radicals. These reactions are due to the product of numerous genes, the function of which remains unknown. Thus, cellular compartmentalisation may be at the origin of a characteristic of genomes that caused much surprise on its discovery: the presence of numerous genes of unknown function.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

BEAUDEUX-LIGNEUL Annie
abeaudeu@pasteur.fr

DANCHIN Antoine (Professor, Head of Unit at Pasteur, Research Director (DR1 CNRS) adanchin@pasteur.fr

BERTIN Philippe (C.R. Pasteur) phbertin@pasteur.fr

BIVILLE Francis (C.R. Pasteur) fbiville@pasteur.fr

CHARLES Jean-François (C.L. Pasteur) jcharles@pasteur.fr

DERZELLE Sylvianne (Postdoc, CDD Industrial contract) derzelle@pasteur.fr

GUILLOUARD Isabelle (Postdoc, AR, CDD European contract) isag@pasteur.fr MARTIN-VERSTRAETE Isabelle (MC(Conference Manager) Paris 7) iverstra@pasteur.fr

MEDIGUE-ROUSSEAU Claudine (C.R. CNRS) Claudine.Medigue@snv.jussieu.fr Claudine.Medigue@infobiogen.fr

MOSZER Ivan (C.R. Pasteur) moszer@pasteur.fr

PIMENTEL CACHAPUZ ROCHA Eduardo (C.R. CNRS) erocha@pasteur.fr

AUGER Sandrine (3rd year PhD student, Univ. Paris 7) auger@pasteur.fr

MOREIRA Sandrine (2nd year student: DESS Informatique) moreis02@mail.pasteur.fr

MARISA Laetitia (1st year student: DESS Informatique)

SOUTOURINA Olga (3rd year PhD student, Univ. Versailles) olga@botrytis.polytechnique.fr

HOMMAIS Florence (3rd year PhD student, Univ. Paris 7) fhommais@pasteur.fr

KRIN Evelyne (I. CNRS) ekrin@pasteur.fr

FABRY Cécilia (I.E. INRA) cecifabry@mac.com

TURLIN Evelyne (T.S. Pasteur) eturlin@pasteur.fr

NGO Saravuth (A.I., CDD) ngo@pasteur.fr

BRITO Emma (Laboratory technician) Ebrito@pasteur.fr

MARANGHI Laurence (Laboratory assistant)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Reg


  Responsable : Antoine Danchin (adanchin@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

La révolution génomique interprète l'hérédité comme la lecture d'un texte écrit dans un alphabet à quatre lettres. Le texte du génome organise l'expression des gènes, mais il est aussi directement lié à l'architecture de la cellule. Deux modèles bactériens servent à cette exploration, le colibacille, et le bacille subtil. Les recherches développées associent l'étude à l'ordinateur des séquences génomiques (analyse in silico) et la validation des prédictions ainsi obtenues in vivo et in vitro. Les objets privilégiés de cette étude concernent le métabolisme du soufre, parce que l'incorporation de cet atome dans tous les organismes vivants semble jouer un rôle clef dans l'organisation de la cellule et pour comprendre le caractère pathogène des bactéries et donc inventer des moyens de lutte adaptés (contre l'agent du charbon, en particulier, utilisé de façon terroriste aux Etats-Unis). L'Unité sert par ailleurs de base arrière à la création du HKU Pasteur Research Centre à Hong Kong, où les mêmes études sont développées, en liaison avec les pathogènes d'intérêt local.



  rapport

cale

Une Pierre de Rosette : comparer le texte de génomes apparentés

Pour la première année de son activité, l'Unité de Génétique des Génomes Bactériens a développé l'étude comparative de deux couples de génomes, chacun constitué du génome d'une bactérie de référence et d'une bactérie intéressante comme modèle de maladies. Elle bénéficie d'une nouvelle arrivée au laboratoire, celle de Jean-François Charles, entomologiste et spécialiste du complexe Bacillus cereus/Bacillus thuringiensis, qui apporte avec lui une collection importante de ces organismes.

Deux bactéries modèles ont été utilisés : Escherichia coli, le plus ancien modèle des généticiens et la bactérie la mieux connue, et Bacillus subtilis, bactérie source de nombreux enzymes utilisés en industrie, que l'on trouve souvent collée à la surface des feuilles et sur le sol. Ces bactéries sont comparées respectivement à Photorhabdus luminescens, qui tue les insectes et se propage par l'intermédiaire d'un ver nématode, et le complexe Bacillus anthracis, Bacillus cereus, Bacillus thuringiensis, bactérie sporulante impliquée dans de nombreuses maladies et dont lle dangereux agent du charbon, redevenu hélas célèbre récemment. L'étude porte sur l'identification et la fonction de gènes pivots de l'adaptation globale de la bactérie à son environnement. Un objectif de létude est didentifier des cibles possibles pour des médicaments spécifiques.

La protéine H-NS et la réponse aux transitions métaboliques (Philippe Bertin)

La capacité d'ajuster la disponibilité et l'activité des protéines permet la croissance des cellules et leur adaptation aux changements de l'environnement. La protéine H-NS est impliquée dans de nombreuses fonctions cellulaires et affecte l'expression de gènes régulés par des facteurs de l'environnement (température, pH, osmolarité, ...). Elle modifie l'expression de nombreux gènes, affecte la recombinaison et la transposition et intervient dans la virulence bactérienne, par le contrôle de la motilité et d'un type original de sécrétion.

L'examen en microscopie électronique des bactéries mutées dans le gène hns montre qu'elles ont perdu leurs flagelles. Leur synthèse requiert l'expression d'un grand nombre de gènes, organisée de manière hiérarchique. La surexpression dans un mutant hns des gènes flhDC, lopéron maître de biosynthèse des flagelles, restaure la motilité, ce qui montre que ces gènes constituent une cible préférentielle dH-NS. Le mécanisme de cette action n'est pas entièrement compris. Les travaux de lUnité montrent quil affecte surenroulement de l'ADN.

L'analyse de l'ensemble des produits de la transcription (transcriptome), associée à celle de toutes les protéines de la bactérie séparées par électrophorèse à deux dimensions (protéome), a servi à comparer les souches sauvage et mutante. Cette étude a montré que le niveau d'accumulation de plus de 60 protéines, dont près de la moitié ont été identifiées, était affecté dans un mutant hns. Ces méthodes très puissantes ont mis au jour de grands ensembles régulés (le régulon H-NS compte plus de 250 gènes) de la même manière dans la cellule. L'utilisation des protons est l'un des éléments principaux modulés par la présence ou l'absence d'H-NS.

L'édification des acides aminés contenant du soufre (Isabelle Martin-Verstraete)

Le soufre est essentiel à toutes les cellules. Pourtant très peu est connu de son métabolisme chez les bactéries à Gram-positif. Le travail de l'Unité, qui fait partie du programme BACELL d'analyse fonctionnelle détaillée du génome de Bacillus subtilis financé par l'Union Européenne, a porté sur la caractérisation de gènes impliqués dans la synthèse de la méthionine et la cystéine chez cette bactérie. En dehors de la caractérisation explicite des principaux gènes de ces synthèses, létude a apporté de nouvelles preuves à lhypothèse que la spécification progressive des activités enzymatiques se fait au cours de lévolution à partir dune activité primaire peu spécifique. Cette étude a été complétée, comme dans le cas de l'étude de H-NS, par l'analyse du profil d'expression protéique (analyse du protéome par gels bidimensionnels) et du profil de transcription par hybridation sur membranes (analyse du transcriptome). Ces analyses ont montré un rôle essentiel du métabolisme du soufre (ce qui justifie pleinement le choix de ce thème comme central à l'approche génomique) et ont permis d'identifier un certain nombre d'ensembles co-régulés. Cela a servi à la mise en place d'un traitement statistique des données convivial et original. Plusieurs gènes de fonction inconnue vraisemblablement impliqués dans le métabolisme du soufre ont ainsi été identifiés. Les travaux de l'Unité se sont aussi consacrés à l'identification de gènes de régulation essentiels au métabolisme du soufre. Trois d'entre eux ont été caractérisés. Ils diffèrent notablement de ce qui est connu chez les bactéries à coloration de Gram négative comme Escherichia coli, ce qui donne un sens particulièrement intéressant à cette étude.

La dégradation des composés aromatiques, le fer, et l'oxygène (Francis Biville)

La dégradation des molécules aromatiques joue un rôle clé chez de nombreux organismes. Elle est d'autant plus intéressante qu'elle utilise l'oxygène (souvent sous la forme de molécule de dioxygène) et qu'elle participe donc explicitement au contrôle de la concentration intracellulaire de ce gaz extrêment réactif. À laide des méthodes danalyse informatique, de génétique, de physiologie et danalyse globale (protéome, transcriptome), les travaux de l'Unité, en collaboration avec un laboratoire Japonais, ont permis didentifier des cibles de deux régulateurs structurellement voisins (les activateurs hcaR et yhaJ) dont le niveau dexpression est augmenté au cours de lentrée en phase stationnaire. Linactivation de hcaR affecte fortement le niveau dexpression de sept gènes impliqués dans la réponse à l'oxygène. Cet effet se traduit par une forte diminution de la résistance à certains dérivés réactifs de l'oxygène au cours de la phase stationnaire. Le produit du gène hcaR est aussi un régulateur impliqué dans le contrôle des premières étapes du catabolisme de l'acide 3-phénylpropionique. L'étude des perturbations du métabolisme, créées par l'entrée en phase stationnaire par l'inactivation de hcaR est en cours. Les résultats obtenus avec le régulateur yhaJ montrent que la surexpression de ce gène entraîne une altération du processus de division cellulaire. Lidentification des cibles de ce régulateur, impliquées dans ce phénotype, est en cours. Un troisième régulateur inconnu de type LysR (ygiP) a été identifié comme le régulateur positif de gènes voisins codant pour une activité nécessaire à la croissance sur glycérol et anaérobiose. La méthode danalyse comparative des transcriptomes a permis de proposer lhypothèse que cet activateur module lexpression de gènes impliqués dans la motilité et sa régulation, le transport du fer et le stress acide. Les résultats dexpériences de physiologie ont montré que linactivation de ygiP entraîne une très forte accélération de la formation des biofilms et confirme ainsi les données de transcriptome relatives à laction de ce régulateur sur la régulation de la biosynthèse des flagelles.

 

L'annotation, la gestion des connaissance et l'analyse des données in silico (Ivan Moszer, Eduardo Rocha Paris, Claudine Médigue, Evry)

En raison de la masse très importante de données engendrées par le séquençage des génomes et de la nature énigmatique de beaucoup de gènes découverts à cette occasion, les études expérimentales développées en utilisant les techniques de la génétique moléculaire sont complétées par un ensemble de recherches utilisant les techniques et les concepts de l'informatique, de la statistique et de la mathématique. Une base de données spécialisée sur le génome de Bacillus subtilis, modèle de plusieurs autres est accessible par le World-Wide Web à l' adresse : http://genolist.pasteur.fr/SubtiList/). Elle est actuellement enrichie, tant en terme de schéma conceptuel que de données, par les résultats danalyse du transcriptome issus du programme européen BACELL. Par ailleurs une plateforme d'annotation génomique, Imagene, sert à établir un modèle général d'identification des erreurs dans les séquences génomiques, donnant lieu à une mise à jour majeure de la séquence et des annotations du génome de B. subtilis. Cette plateforme a permis de réannoter l'ensemble des génomes bactériens complets publics et d'y découvrir de nombreuses sources d'erreurs qui se propagent dans les banques de données. Le futur de cette plateforme est développé au sein d'un consortium (Geno*) qui associe l'Unité, un laboratoire de l'INRIA, et les compagnies Hybrigenics et GenomExpress. L'aspect plus biologique et naturaliste des recherches vise à identifier le lien entre les grandes fonctions du vivant et l'architecture cellulaire. L'analyse des génomes a montré que l'ordre des gènes dans le chromosome n'est pas aléatoire, mais correspond à l'architecture de la cellule. L'étude du métabolisme du soufre a permis de proposer que la pression de sélection qui a conduit à ce lien inattendu est sans doute la diffusion de molécules réactives, gaz et radicaux libres. Ces réactions sont dues au produit de nombreux gènes dont la fonction était restée jusqu'à présent incomprise. Ainsi la compartimentation cellulaire est-elle à l'origine d'une caractéristique des gènomes qui avait beaucoup surpris au moment de sa découverte, à savoir la présence de nombreux gènes sans fonction connue.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

BEAUDEUX-LIGNEUL Annie
abeaudeu@pasteur.fr

DANCHIN Antoine (Professeur, Chef d’Unité Institut Pasteur, Directeur de Recherche (DR1 CNRS) adanchin@pasteur.fr

BERTIN Philippe (C.R. Pasteur) phbertin@pasteur.fr

BIVILLE Francis (C.R. Pasteur) fbiville@pasteur.fr

CHARLES Jean-François (C.L. Pasteur) jcharles@pasteur.fr

DERZELLE Sylvianne (Postdoc, CDD (Contrat Industriel) derzelle@pasteur.fr

GUILLOUARD Isabelle (Postdoc, AR, CDD (Contrat Européen) isag@pasteur.fr

MARTIN-VERSTRAETE Isabelle (MC Paris 7) iverstra@pasteur.fr

MEDIGUE-ROUSSEAU Claudine (C.R. CNRS) Claudine.Medigue@snv.jussieu.fr

Claudine.Medigue@infobiogen.fr

MOSZER Ivan (C.R. Pasteur) moszer@pasteur.fr

PIMENTEL CACHAPUZ ROCHA Eduardo (C.R. CNRS) erocha@pasteur.fr

AUGER Sandrine (3ème année de thèse, Univ. Paris 7) auger@pasteur.fr

MOREIRA Sandrine (2ème année DESS Informatique) moreis02@mail.pasteur.fr

MARISA Laetitia (1ère année DESS Informatique)

SOUTOURINA Olga (3ème année de thèse, Univ. Versailles) olga@botrytis.polytechnique.fr

HOMMAIS Florence (3ème année de thèse, Univ. Paris 7) fhommais@pasteur.fr

KRIN Evelyne (I. CNRS) ekrin@pasteur.fr

FABRY Cécilia (I.E. INRA) cecifabry@mac.com

TURLIN Evelyne (T.S. Pasteur) eturlin@pasteur.fr

NGO Saravuth (A.I., CDD) ngo@pasteur.fr

BRITO Emma (Laboratory technician) Ebrito@pasteur.fr

MARANGHI Laurence (Laboratory assistant)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.