Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Reac


  Director : Michel VERON (mveron@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main projects of the laboratory are :

  • Study of the role of Nucleoside Diphosphate (NDP) kinase in the phosphorylation of nucleoside analogs used in anti-viral therapies.
  • Characterization of the interaction beween human NDP kinase type B and single strand DNA; Role in the regulation of the transcription of the c-myc oncogene.
  • Biochemical characterization of the protein NEMO, an essential element of the NF-kB signal transduction pathway involved in several human genetical deseases.
  • Study of the cAMP dependent protein kinase from Dictyostelium discoideum and search for specific inhibitors.

Mechanistic studies on recombination in retrovirus



  report

cale

Mechanistic studies on recombination in retrovirus.

 

 

Catalytic mechanism of NDP kinase

Benoit schneider, Sarah gallois-montbrun and Dominique deville-bonne

Nucleoside Diphosphate Kinase (NDP Kinase) catalyzes the transfer of phosphate from a nucleoside triphosphate to a nucleoside diphosphate by a ping-pong mechanism involving the transient phosphorylation of a histidine residue. The 3'-OH group of the ribose of the nucleotide substrate plays a crucial role in the " sustrate assisted " reaction mechanism (Fig. 1).

We study the reaction mechanism by using point mutants of active site residues. Mutants H122G  and H122A of Dictyostelium NDP kinase are inactive but they still catalyze the synthesis of imidazole-phosphate from ATP and a exogenous nucleophile as imidazole (collaboration D. Herschlag, Standford, USA). We have studied the ionisation state of Lys 16 and Tyr 56 participating in the phosphotransfer. While both residues interact in the active form of the wild type enzyme, Tyr 56 has an unusual pK in the K16A mutant. However, the substitution of these " catalytic " residues has less effect on the activity than the absence of the 3'-OH group on the sugar moiety of the substrate. We have synthesized a stable analog of the phosphorylated intermediate by chemically modifying the cysteine in the active site of the H122C mutant. This phosphorylated enzyme has an increased affinity for NDPs as compared to NTPs. Dictyostelium NDP kinase has a higher activity than the major human isoforms, NDPK-A and NDPK-B. Comparison of the active sites shows a single difference with a His interacting with the alpha-phosphate in the Dictyostelium protein (His59 in Fig. 1) is substituted by a Leu in the human enzymes. Thus, the mutant L55H of human NDPK-A was purified as a recombinant protein and shown to carry an significantly increased catalytic activity.

 

 

In vitro study of the phoshorylation of antiviral nucleotide analogs by NDP kinase

Benoit schneider, Sarah gallois-montbrun, Céline boulard and Dominique deville-bonne

Nucleotide analogs like AZT and d4T are used in all current therapies against AIDS in association with other drugs in multi-therapy protocoles. However they are delivered to the patients as uncharged nucleosides in order to allow cell penetration. Thus they need to be phosphorylated into triphospho-derivatives by cellular kinases before they can act as chain terminator blocking the viral reverse transcriptase. The last step in this activation pathway is thought to be catalyzed by NDP kinase.

We have studied the reactivity of recombinant human NDP kinase with several analogs currently used in clinics (ddI, ddC, AZT, d4T), both at the biochemical and at the structural level (collaboration J. Janin, LEBS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France). We showed that phosphorylation of the analogs is much slower than for their natural counterpart, indicating that NDP kinase may be a limiting step in the activation process. Both kinetic and binding constants were determined. Combining biochemichal and structural data, we have proposed a precise mechanistic model for the phosphorylation of anti-AIDS nucleotide analogs by NDP kinase.

3TC is a L-derivative of thiacytidine recently introduced in therapeutic protocols for AIDS and hepatitis B and beta-L-desoxynucleosides (beta-L-thymidine and beta-L-2'-desoxycytidine) have recently been recognized as putative anti-hepatitis B agents. We have shown that both nucleotides and desoxynucleotides in -L configuration and in particular 3TC are very poor substrates for NDP kinase, (collaboration A. Faraj and J.P. Sommadossi, Novirio-CNRS and Université Montpellier II). This suggests that new yet unidentified kinases may be responsible for the cellular synthesis of the L-XTP and L-dXTP.

Ribavirine, a guanosine analog which is the only nucleoside analog used in clinics against RNA virus, is a good drug candidate against dengue, a viral disease responsible for hemorragic fevers. Ribavirine is active in the cell as a triphospho-derivative. We have screened new derivatives of ribavirin modified on the nucleobase for increased drug efficiency that would allow the use of lower doses and decreased toxicity. However, none of the derivatives showed an increased phosphorylation rate as compared to ribavirine, probably due to the fact that they all lack a free 3'-OH group on the sugar moiety (collaboration L. Mulard, Unité de Chimie Organique, Institut Pasteur et B. Canard, ESIL,CNRS, Marseille).

 

 

Synthesis of new nucleoside analogs and of mutant NDP kinase with increased phosphorylation capacityBenoit schneider, Sarah gallois-montbrun, Véronique Giaccomoni-fernandez, Céline boulard, and Dominique deville-bonne

We have designed new reverse transcriptase inhibitors by modification of currently used nucleoside inhibitors with a borano (BH3) group on the alpha-phosphate (collaboration L. Mulard, Unité de Chimie Organique, Institut Pasteur). The biochemical properties of the borano-derivatives of AZT and d4T were characterized in vitro on NDP kinase and on reverse transcriptase. The X-ray structure of the analog/NDP kinase complex explains the increased reactivity of the borano-derivatives. However, the efficiency of these new compounds at the cellular level is limited by their poor penetration into the cell, due to the electric charge carried by the monophosphate (collaboration with P. Clayette, CEA and C. Périgaud, CNRS-Montpellier). We are currently investigating vectorisation procedures that would allow the prodrug to enter the infected cells.

We have started to modify the active site of human NDP kinase by protein engineering in order to increase its activity for nucleoside analogs. Several mutant proteins were obtained with an increase activity to phosphorylate d4T and AZT as compared to the wild-type human enzymes. The best candidate, combining two mutations in the active site, shows a change in the "specificity factor" of more than 300 as determined on the purified recombinant protein. Current studies are aimed at determining whether the expression of this mutant protein in cultured cells could change their capacity to phosphorylate nucleoside analogs and correspondingly increase their sensitivity to these drugs, in the perspective of cell therapy protocols.

 

Interaction of human NDP kinase type B with single strand DNA

Sharona Raveh, Fei YE, Véronique Giaccomoni-fernandez and Fabrice Agou

NDPK-B is an isoform of human NDP kinase which is involved in the regulation of the expression of the c-myc oncogene. We showed that NDPK-B binds specifically to single stranded DNA using the purified recombinant NDPK-B and synthetic oligonucleotides which mimic the positive regulation element of the c-myc gene. In order to explore peptidic determinants making specific contacts with the single strand DNA, we developed a new strategy based on the combination of laser-UV irradiation and matrix-assisted laser desorption ionization mass spectrometry (MALDI-TOF). The identification of peptides covalently linked after laser-UV irradiation allowed to propose a structural model of the NDPK-B bound to the single stranded DNA (collaboration J. Rossier, Ecole Supérieure de Physique et Chimie Industrielles de la Ville de Paris). This model which shows that the active site acts as a binding template to anchor the oligonucleotide (see Fig. 2), was recently strengthened by mutagenesis as well as by kinetic experiments at the steady state indicating that the C-terminal residue E152 within the active site of NDPK-B is a common determinant for the binding of the substrate and for the interaction with the oligonucleotide.

Using protein permeant cross-linkers which react specifically with cysteine residues, we showed that NDPK-B binding occurs in the nucleus as a hexamer in several cell types. Using a sensitive assay based on fluorescence energy transfer (FRET), we showed that NDPK-B is endowed with unwinding activity since double-strand DNA or stem-loop structures are denatured in the presence of the recombinant protein. Taken together these studies suggest that NDPK-B is an architectural single strand transcription factor which binds to a single strand region contained in triplex or tetraplex DNA structures. This property is not carried by the second isoform of human NDP kinase (NDPK-A) although it shares 88% sequence identity with NDPK-B. The overexpression of NDPK-A in mouse embryonic fibroblasts has a negative dominant effect on the transcription of the c-myc gene. Using permeant cross-linkers, we showed that this effect was due to the in vivo association of NDPK-A subunits with NDPK-B subunits leading to an increase of A/B heterohexamers.

 

Biochemical studies of the NEMO protein, an essential component of the NF-kB signalling pathway

Fabrice Agou and Stephane Goffinont

NF-kB is an important signal transduction pathway involved in the cell responses to a variety of stimuli including inflammatory processes, stress etc…. The cascade controls a series of genes that are transcribed through the activation of an NF-kB transcription factor. NEMO (NF-kB Essential MOdulator) recently discovered in the Unité Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique (Institut Pasteur), is a protein required for the activation of specific kinases which activate the NF-kB transcription factor. Recently, mutations in NEMO were associated with two human diseases Incontinentia pigmenti and ectodermal dysplasia.

The study of NEMO is performed in close collaboration with G. Courtois and A. Israël (Unité de Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique, Institut Pasteur). In order to examine biochemical properties, recombinant NEMO was produced in E. coli and purified in the presence of non-ionic detergents to avoid the formation of protein aggregates. The recombinant protein copurifies with the E. coli DnaK (Hsp 70) suggesting a role for chaperon proteins in the formation of oligomeric complexes of NEMO in vivo. The quaternary structure of NEMO was studied by sedimentation velocity and by equilibrium sedimentation. Cloning an purification of a C-terminal fragment allowed to show that the association of the native protein in dimers and trimers is due to a specific sequence forming coiled coils structures. The presence of oligomeric forms of NEMO has also been investigated in vivo on cultured cells. Using a cell permeable bifunctional crosslinking reagent, the presence of dimeric and trimeric forms was demonstrated. Current experiments are aimed at determining which functional properties of NEMO are altered by the mutations found in human patients.

The Dictyostelium cAMP dependent proteine kinase: search for specific inhibitorsFrançois TraincarDDictyostelium discoideum amoebae enter a development cycle in response to food starvation. After a few hours, the cells form streams and migrate in response to cAMP signals to form a multicellular aggregate. In a second phase, the latter develops into a fruting body formed of a stalk supporting a mass of spores.

We have previously investigated the role of cAMP dependent protein kinase (PKA) in Dictyostelium development and we have characterized the biochemical properties of the R (regulatory) and C (catalytic) subunits. We have shown that the substitution of the last amino-acids of the C-terminal extension of the catalytic subunit results in a severe loss of catalytic activity. We have discovered a new inhibitory site of AGC (PKA, PKG, PKC) protein kinases. This site could also be present on members of other protein kinase families. PKA could be a therapeutic target against pathogens such as Plasmodium falciparum. Indeed, we have demonstrated the presence of a PKA activity which is necessary for parasite maturation in infected erythrocytes (collaboration G. Langsley, Unité de Signalisation Immunoparasitaire, Institut Pasteur).

We have started to use Dictyostelium as a model system for practicals in primary school and highschool classes. General concepts like cellular communication, differenciation and development can be appropriately illustrated using Dictyostelium in biology teaching.Mechanisms of retroviral recombinationAbdeladim Moumen, Lucette POLOMACK and Matteo NegronI

Homologous recombination is a major source of genetic variability in retroviruses. During their extracellular life retroviruses store genetic information as a single RNA molecule, which is present in two copies within each viral particle. Genetic recombination occurs in retroviruses mostly through template switching during reverse transcription between these two copies of genomic RNA, a process known as "copy choice" or strand transfer. The impact of recombination on the dynamics of retroviral infections has been dramatically illustrated in the case of the spreading of the AIDS pandemic. In this case at least 10% of the infectious strains of HIV originate through recombination among different viral subtypes.

We study the mechanism of retroviral recombination in a reconstituted system, using purified nucleic acids and proteins. We have focused our attention on the role of the structures of the genomic RNA and of a major co-factor of the reverse transcription process, the nucleocapsid protein (NC), an RNA chaperone known to enhance strand transfer in vitro. Our results indicate that the structure of the genomic RNA is the main determinant in the recombination process, in contrast to the current opinion of a copy choice process governed by pausing of reverse transcription (Fig. 3). In order to dissect the molecular mechanism of recombination, we are currently trying to identify the structural features of the genomic RNAs that characterise a recombination hot spot. In parallel we are developing a system to study retroviral recombination in infected cells in culture (collaboration P. Charneau, Unité de Virologie Moléculaire et Vectorologie, Institut Pasteur). Other projects aimed to evaluate the similarities between the mechanism of recombination in retroviruses and in other viruses are ongoing.

 

Figure 1 : The active site of NDP kinase

The Figure shows a dTDP molecule bound in the active site of Dictyostelium NDP kinase.The catalytic histidine (H122) is shown, as well as several residues important for binding of the substrate and catalysis. The crucial hydrogen bond between the ribose 3'OH and the O7 of the beta-phosphate is also shown.

 

Figure 2 : Modèle du complexe NDPK-B/Oligonucleotide

Oligonuclmeotide binding to NDPK-B

 

Figure 3 : A model for recombinaison by HIV reverse transcriptase

A possible pre-recombination intermediate. Top view of the catalytic subunit of the reverse transcriptase from HIV-1. Since the enzyme resembles a right hand, its different subdomains have been called, fingers, palm, and thumb. In red is shown the RNase H domain, responsible for the degradation of the RNA template once copied at the polymerase active site. The enzyme is drawn in the process of polymerising on the donor template. The acceptor template is hybridised to the nascent DNA behind the RNase H site. The transient path followed by the acceptor RNA (drawn arbitrarily) is meant to rise above the plane of the drawing. The folding adopted by the acceptor RNA is considered, in our working hypothesis, as critical for displacing the donor template from the polymerase active site. The mechanism by which this displacement occurs is currently under investigation in the laboratory.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

TRAN Catherine (Institut Pasteur) –cathtran@pasteur.fr

AGOU Fabrice (Institut Pasteur) – fagou@pasteur.fr

DEVILLE-BONNE Dominique (Université Pierre et Marie Curie) – ddeville@pasteur.fr

NEGRONI Matteo (Institut Pasteur) -matteo@pasteur.fr

GALLOIS-MONTBRUN Sarah (DEA) (Université Paris VI) – sarahgm@pasteur.fr

MOUMEN Abdeladim (Thèse) (Université Paris XI) - moumen@pasteur.fr

PASTI Claudia (Université de Padoue, Italie) – clapasti@pasteur.fr

SCHNEIDER Benoit (Thèse) (Université Paris VII/ENS Cachan)

TRAINCARD François (Ingénieur, IP) – traincar@pasteur.fr

GIACOMONI-FERNANDES Véronique (Technicienne supérieure, IP) – verofern@pasteur.fr

GOFFINONT Stéphane (Assistant Ingénieur CNRS) – sgoffi@pasteur.fr

POLOMACK Lucette (Technicienne supérieure, IP) – polomack@pasteur.fr

CORTES Marie-Thérèse (Institut Pasteur – agent de laboratoire, IP)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Reac


  Responsable : Michel VERON (mveron@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les thématiques du laboratoire sont :

  • Etude du rôle de la Nucléoside Diphosphate (NDP) kinase dans la phosphorylation des analogues de nucléotides utilisés dans les thérapies anti-virales.
  • Etude de l'interaction de la NDP kinase humaine de type B avec l'ADN simple brin et de son rôle dans la régulation de la transcription de l'oncogène c-myc.
  • Etude des propriétés biochimiques de la protéine NEMO, élément régulateur essentiel de la voie de transduction NF-kB impliqué dans deux maladies génétiques humaines.
  • Etude de la protéine kinase dépendante de l'AMPc chez Dictyostelium et recherche d'inhibiteurs spécifiques.
  • Etude de la recombinaison chez les rétrovirus in vitro.



  rapport

cale

Mécanisme catalytique de la NDP kinase

Benoit schneider, sarah gallois-Montbrun et Dominique deville-bonne

La Nucléoside Diphosphate Kinase (NDP kinase) échange un phosphate entre nucléosides triphosphates et diphosphates. La réaction catalytique de type ping-pong implique un intermédiaire enzymatique phosphorylé transitoirement sur une histidine. La fonction 3'-OH du ribose du nucléotide substrat est impliqué dans le mécanisme réactionnel qui est de type " assisté par le substrat " (Fig.1).

Nous étudions le mécanisme catalytique grâce à des enzymes mutées sur des résidus du site actif. Les mutants H122G  et H122A de la NDP kinase de Dictyostelium n'ont plus d'activité NDP kinase mais ils catalysent la synthèse d'imidazole-phosphate à partir d'ATP et d'un nucléophile exogène comme l'imidazole (collaboration D. Herschlag, Standford, USA). Par ailleurs, l'état d'ionisation de deux résidus importants dans le transfert de phosphate (Lys 16 et Tyr 56) a été étudié. Dans l'enzyme sauvage, les deux résidus, protonés dans la forme active de l'enzyme, sont en interaction alors que dans le mutant K16A, la Tyr56 présente un pK anormal. Cependant, le remplacement de ces résidus dits " catalytiques " entraîne une diminution d'activité plus faible que l'absence du 3'OH du nucléotide. Un analogue stable de l'enzyme phosphorylé a pu être synthétisé en modifiant chimiquement le mutant inactif H122C. Cette forme pseudophosphorylée présente une plus grande affinité pour les NDP que pour les NTP. la NDP kinase de Dictyostelium est plus réactive que les formes humaines majeures A et B. La comparaison des sites actifs montre que le résidu His qui interagit avec un oxygène du phosphate alpha dans l'enzyme de Dictyostelium (His59 in Fig. 1) est remplacé par une leucine dans les enzymes humaines. Nous avons donc produit la protéine mutante L55H de la NDPK-A qui présente effectivement une activité améliorée.

Phoshorylation in vitro des analogues de nucléotides utilisés dans les thérapies anti-virales par la NDP kinase

Benoit schneider, Sarah GALLOIS-MONTBRUN, Céline BOULARD et Dominique deville-bonne

Malgré la découverte de nouveaux inhibiteurs de la croissance virale, les analogues de nucléotides substitués sur la position 3' du ribose comme l'AZT restent indispensables dans tous les protocoles thérapeutiques contre le SIDA. Ils sont toujours donnés aux malades sous forme de nucléosides, molécule non chargée qui peut traverser la membrane plasmique. Les analogues sont phosphorylés en dérivés triphosphates par plusieurs kinases cellulaires pour pouvoir agir comme terminateurs de chaines au niveau de la transcriptase inverse. La NDP kinase est considérée comme responsable de la dernière étape de cette voie d'activation.

Nous étudions la réactivité de la NDP kinase humaine recombinante avec plusieurs analogues actuellement utilisés en thérapie anti-VIH (ddI, ddC, AZT, d4T) au niveau biochimique et structural (collaboration J. Janin, LEBS à Gif-sur-Yvette). Par des études à l'état préstationnaire, nous avons montré que la phosphorylation des dérivés diphosphate des analogues est beaucoup moins efficace que pour les nucléotides naturels, ce qui fait de la réaction catalysée par la NDP kinase une étape limitante dans leur activation. Nous avons déterminé les constantes cinétiques et les constantes de fixation de ces différents analogues. La combinaison des études biochimiques et des structures des complexes a permis de proposer un modèle mécanistique précis de la phosphorylation de ces agents thérapeutiques par la NDP kinase.

Le 3TC est un dérivé de configuration -L de la thiacytidine utilisé depuis récemment en thérapie contre le SIDA et l'hépatite B et des beta-L-désoxynucléosides (beta-L-thymidine et la beta-L-2'-désoxycytidine) ont été reconnus récemment comme des agents potentiels anti-hépatite B. La réactivité des nucléotides et désoxynucléotides de configuration -L avec la NDP kinase humaine est très réduite, en particulier pour le 3TC (collaboration A. Faraj et J.P. Sommadossi (Laboratoire Novirio-CNRS et Université Montpellier II). Ces résultats suggèrent que d'autres kinases, actuellement inconnues, assurent la formation des L-dXTP au sein de la cellule.

La ribavirine, analogue de guanosine, est le seul analogue de nucléoside utilisé contre les virus à ARN et elle pourrait constituer un médicament contre le virus de la dengue, responsable de fièvres hémorragiques. Elle est active au niveau cellulaire sous forme triphosphate. Nous avons évalué l'efficacité d'une série de dérivés de la ribavirine modifiés sur la base afin de rechercher un analogue qui soit actif à faible dose et qui génère moins de cytotoxicité. Cependant, aucun de ces dérivés ne présente des propriétés de phosphorylation accrue comparées à la ribavirine, ce qui est probablement dû à l'absence d'un groupe 3'OH libre sur le sucre (collaboration L. Mulard, Unité de Chimie Organique, Institut Pasteur et B. Canard, ESIL,CNRS, Marseille).

Mise au point de nouveaux analogues de nucléosides et de variants de la NDP kinase à capacité de phosphorylation accrue

Benoit schneider, Sarah GALLOIS-MONTBRUN, Véronique Giaccomoni-fernandes, Céline boulard et Dominique deville-bonne

Nous avons conçu de nouveaux inhibiteurs de la transcriptase inverse par introduction d'un groupe borano (BH3) sur l'a-phosphate du nucléoside (collaboration L. Mulard, Unité de Chimie Organique, Institut Pasteur). Les propriétés biochimiques des dérivés boronates de l'AZT et du d4T ont été caractérisées in vitro sur la NDP kinase et la transcriptase inverse. La structure cristallographique du complexe NDP kinase/analogue permet de comprendre la meilleure réactivité des dérivés avec les deux protéines. L'efficacité au niveau cellulaire de ces composés, est cependant limitée par le fait qu'ils pénètrent difficilement dans la cellule à cause de la charge électrique portée par le monophosphate (collaboration P. Clayette, CEA et C. Périgaud, CNRS-Montpellier). Des procédés de " vectorisation " qui permettraient la pénétration de prodrogue dans les cellules infectées sont actuellement en cours d'étude.

Dans une approche d'ingénierie des protéines, nous cherchons à modifier la NDP kinase humaine au niveau de son site actif pour qu'elle devienne un meilleur agent de conversion des pro-drogues nucléosidiques en nucléotides au sein des cellules infectées. Plusieurs protéines mutantes ont été obtenues qui phosphorylent le d4T et l'AZT avec des constantes cinétiques fortement augmentées en comparaison des protéines de type sauvage. L'effet le plus marqué est obtenu en combinant deux mutations correspondant à deux résidus du site actif. L'enzyme mutant purifié montre un changement de spécificité de plus de 300 fois. Les travaux en cours ont pour but de déterminer si la présence de cette protéine mutante dans des cellules altère leur capacité de phosphoryler les analogues de nucléotides et leur sensibilité à ces drogues dans la perspective d'applications, notamment dans le cadre des techniques de thérapie cellulaire.

Interaction de la NDP kinase humaine de type B avec l'ADN simple brin

Sharona Raveh, Fei YE, Véronique Giaccomoni-fernandez et Fabrice Agou

L'une des isoformes de la NDP kinase humaine, la NDPK-B, participe à la régulation de l'expression de l'oncogène c-myc. En utilisant la protéine recombinante et des oligonucléotides synthétiques, nous avons montré que la NDPK-B se fixe sur l'ADN simple brin. En utilisant une technique de pontage par laser UV couplée à l'analyse de peptides par spectrométrie de masse MALDI-TOF, nous avons identifié les déterminants structuraux impliqués dans les contacts protéine/ADN, ce qui a permis d'élaborer un modèle structural du complexe NDPK-B/oligonucléotide (collaboration J. Rossier, Ecole de Physique et Chimie de Paris). Ce modèle propose que le site actif participe à la fixation de l'oligonucléotide, ce qui a pu être démontré par mutagénèse dirigée de la NDPK-B sur son résidu C-terminal et par des expériences de cinétique effectuées à l'état stationnaire (Fig. 2).

Par pontage in vivo avec un réactif bifonctionnel réagissant avec les résidus cystéine, nous avons montré que la forme oligomérique de la NDPK-B qui se fixe à l'ADN dans le noyau des cellules est l'hexamère. Par des expériences de fluorescence nous avons montré que la NDPK-B favorise la dissociation de l'ADN double brin en simple brin. Ces études indiquent que la NDPK-B est un facteur de transcription " architectural " interagissant avec des séquences d'ADN simple-brin formées dans des régions de l'ADN formant des triplex ou des quadruplex. Par ailleurs, la NDPK-A, une seconde isoforme de NDP kinase humaine, n'a aucune aptitude à se lier à l'ADN in vitro, bien qu'elle soit identique à 88% avec la NDPK-B. Nous avons montré que la NDPK-A, surproduite dans des cellules embryonnaires de souris (MEF), joue un rôle " dominant négatif " sur la transcription de c-myc. Par des pontages chimiques in vivo sur des cellules en culture, nous avons pu mettre en évidence que l'effet dominant négatif résulte d'une augmentation in vivo d'hétéro-hexamères composés de sous-unités de type A et B

Propriétés biochimiques de la protéine NEMO, élément régulateur essentiel de la voie de transduction NF-kB

Fabrice Agou et Stephane Goffinont

La voie de signalisation NF-kB joue un rôle crucial dans la réponse à toute une série de signaux parmi lesquels on peut citer la réponse inflammatoire et la réponse au stress, qui déclenchent la transcription d'une série de gènes spécifiques via l'activation de facteurs de transcription NF-kB. NEMO (NF-kB Essential MOdulator) est une protéine récemment découverte dans l'Unité de Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique (Institut Pasteur), qui joue un rôle crucial dans l'activation des kinases spécifiques de la cascade NF-kB, en formant un complexe multiprotéique avec elles. Des travaux récents ont établi que deux maladies humaines, Incontinentia pigmenti et dysplasies ectodermiques sont dues à des mutations dans la séquence codante pour la protéine NEMO.

L'étude de NEMO s'effectue en collaboration étroite avec G. Courtois et A. Israël (Unité de Biologie Moléculaire de l'Expression Génique, Institut Pasteur) qui ont les premiers identifié cette protéine. Nous avons réussi à obtenir la protéine NEMO recombinante purifiée en présence de détergents non-ioniques et nous avons étudié sa structure quaternaire. Le clonage et la purification d'un fragment correspondant à une partie du domaine C-terminal a permis d'établir que l'association de la protéine en dimères et trimères est due à une séquence formant des structures en faisceaux torsadés d'hélices " coiled-coil ". L'association de la protéine recombinante avec la protéine chaperon de E. coli DnaK (Hsp 70) suggère un rôle pour ce type de protéine dans l'association de NEMO en oligomères in vivo. L'existence de formes dimériques et trimériques a également été démontrée in vivo par des expériences de pontages avec un réactif bivalent effectuées sur des cellules en culture. Les expériences en cours ont pour but d'établir un lien entre les mutations identifiées dans le gène de NEMO chez des patients et l'altération des propriétés biochimiques de NEMO examinée in vitro.

La protéine kinase dépendante de l'AMPc chez Dictyostelium et chez Plasmodium falciparum

François TraincarD

Les amibes de Dictyostelium discoideum s'engagent dans un cycle de différenciation quand elles sont privées d'apport nutritif. Après quelques heures, elles migrent en réponse à des signaux d'AMPc pour former un "agrégat" multicellulaire. A ce stade les cellules se différencient et s'organisent en une forme fructifère formée d'une tige supportant une masse de spores.

Par le passé, nous avons étudié le rôle de la protéine kinase dépendante de l'AMPc (PKA) dans le développement de Dictyostelium et nous avons étudié les propriétés biochimiques des sous-unités R (régulatrice) et C (catalytique). Nous avons montré que les derniers acides aminés de l'extrémité C-terminale de la sous-unité C sont indispensables à l'activité enzymatique et nous avons récemment mis en évidence un nouveau site inhibiteur des protéines kinases de la famille AGC (PKA, PKG, PKC). Ce site pourrait être présent plus généralement chez d'autres protéines kinases.

Chez certains pathogènes comme Plasmodium falciparum, la PKA est une cible thérapeutique potentielle. Nous avons en effet mis en évidence une activité PKA indispensable à la maturation des parasites dans des globules rouges infectés par Plasmodium (collaboration G. Langsley, Unité de Signalisation Immunoparasitaire, Institut Pasteur).

Nous avons commencé à utiliser Dictyostelium comme support de travaux pratiques de biologie pour des étudiants de classes primaires, de collèges et de lycées. La communication cellulaire, la différenciation et le développement, la relation avec le milieu trouvent, entre autres, matière à illustration dans l'utilisation de l'amibe comme outil pédagogique.

Etude de la recombinaison in vitro chez les rétrovirus

Abdeladim Moumen, Lucette POLOMACK et Matteo NegronI

La recombinaison constitue une des sources principales de variabilité génétique chez les rétrovirus. Son importance dans la dynamique de l'infection par les rétrovirus a été illustrée par l'expansion de la pandémie du SIDA où au moins 10 % des souches infectieuses ont pour origine une recombinaison entre des sous-types viraux. Chez les rétrovirus, la plupart des recombinaisons sont générées par l'échange de matrice, pendant la transcription inverse, entre les deux copies d'ARN génomique présentes dans la particule virale. Ce processus est appelé " échange de brin " ou " choix de copie ".

Nous étudions le mécanisme de choix de copie in vitro dans un système reconstitué en utilisant des éléments (protéines et acides nucléiques) purifiés. Nous nous intéressons en particulier au rôle des structures secondaires des ARNs génomiques. Nous avons récemment montré que ce sont les structures de ces ARN qui jouent le rôle prédominant dans le mécanisme de recombinaison et non, comme généralement admis, la propension de la transcriptase inverse à faire des pauses lors de la copie du génome viral. Une partie de notre travail a été dirigée à la compréhension du rôle de la protéine virale nucléocapside (NC) dans le processus de recombinaison (Fig. 3). Cette protéine qui constitue un élément important du complexe de transcription inverse, est connue pour augmenter la fréquence de recombinaison in vitro. Nos résultats suggèrent que cet effet est dû à l'activité de chaperon d'ARN de la NC. Les expériences en cours visent à une meilleure compréhension du mécanisme moléculaire du processus in vitro, et au développement d'un système pour l'étude de la recombinaison retrovirale en culture de cellules (collaboration P. Charneau, Unité de Virologie Moléculaire et Vectorologie, Institut Pasteur).

 

Figure 1 : Le siteactif de la NDP kinase

La figure montre une molécule de dTDP fixée dans le site actif de la NDP kinase de Dictyostelium . On reconnaît l'histidine catalytique (H122) et plusieurs résidus contribuant à la fixation du nucléotide substrat. La liaison hydrogène cruciale entre le 3'OH du ribose et l'O7 du a-phosphate est indiquée.

 

Figure 2 : Modèle du complexe NDPK-B/Oligonucleotide

Un oligonucléotide est fixé à la NDPK-B.

 

Figure 3 : Modèle de la recombinanison par la reverse transcriptase du VIH

Un possible intermédiaire de recombinaison. Vue d'en haut de la sous-unité catalytique de la transcriptase inverse du VIH-1. Puisque l'enzyme ressemble à une main droite, ses différents sous domaines ont été appelés doigts, paume, et pouce. Le domaine RNase H, qui dégrade l'ARN matriciel une fois recopié au site de polymérisation, est montré en rouge. Le schéma montre l'enzyme en train de polymériser sur un ARN donneur. L'ARN accepteur est dessiné en orange, hybridé à l'ADN naissant derrière le site RNase H. Le repliement de l'ARN accepteur est dessiné de façon arbitraire et il se lève du plan du dessin vers le lecteur. Selon notre hypothèse de travail, le repliement de l'ARN accepteur est crucial pour déplacer l'ARN donneur du site catalytique de l'enzyme. Nous essayons de disséquer le mécanisme responsable de ce remplacement.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

TRAN Catherine (Institut Pasteur) –cathtran@pasteur.fr

AGOU Fabrice (Institut Pasteur) – fagou@pasteur.fr

DEVILLE-BONNE Dominique (Université Pierre et Marie Curie) – ddeville@pasteur.fr

NEGRONI Matteo (Institut Pasteur) -matteo@pasteur.fr

GALLOIS-MONTBRUN Sarah (DEA) (Université Paris VI) – sarahgm@pasteur.fr

MOUMEN Abdeladim (Thèse) (Université Paris XI) - moumen@pasteur.fr

PASTI Claudia (Université de Padoue, Italie) – clapasti@pasteur.fr

SCHNEIDER Benoit (Thèse) (Université Paris VII/ENS Cachan)

TRAINCARD François (Ingénieur, IP) – traincar@pasteur.fr

GIACOMONI-FERNANDES Véronique (Technicienne supérieure, IP) – verofern@pasteur.fr

GOFFINONT Stéphane (Assistant Ingénieur CNRS) – sgoffi@pasteur.fr

POLOMACK Lucette (Technicienne supérieure, IP) – polomack@pasteur.fr

CORTES Marie-Thérèse (Institut Pasteur – agent de laboratoire, IP)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.