Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Mymol


  Director : DROMER Françoise (dromer@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

A better understanding of the interactions between the hosts and pathogenic fungi should improve the prognosis of systemic fungal infections. We thus focus our projects on Cryptococcus neoformans and Candida albicans pathogenicity by studying the host (epidemiology, cellular and animal models of infection) and the fungus (virulence factors, variability) sides.



  report

cale

Report:

Cryptococcus neoformans

Cryptococcosis is a life-threatening infection that occurs in up to 30% of patients with AIDS in tropical area in Africa and South East Asia. The most common clinical feature is a meningoencephalitis associated with a severe prognosis (³ 20% mortality) which explains the need for new prophylactic and therapeutic approaches. One of the characteristics of C. neoformans is the presence of a capsule made of polysaccharides, mainly glucuronoxylomannan (GXM). We are studying the pathophysiology of the infection and the virulence factors, among which the capsule has been shown to be the most important.

C. neoformans capsule (G. Janbon, F. Provost)

Among the evidence demonstrating a major role for the capsule in the virulence of the yeast, are the avirulence of acapsular strains and the various deleterious effects on the immune response assigned to GXM. Immunofluorescence studies with monoclonal antibodies specific for various epitopes of the GXM allowed us to demonstrate that the capsule structure is highly variable from cell to cell within a given yeast cell population. Our working hypothesis is that the variability of the capsule structure plays a role in the virulence of the yeast. The mechanisms and molecular determinants involved in the antigenic variability have been studied and uncovered for numerous procaryote and eucaryote microorganisms, but no study has been performed for pathogenic fungi. We have cloned genes (CAS) coding for proteins involved in the biosynthetic pathway leading to the cryptococcal capsule and are studying the mechanisms responsible for the capsule structure variability.

Interaction between blood-brain barrier (BBB) and C. neoformans (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, I. Kansau, M. Lepors, L. Improvisi)

Our objective is to understand the cellular and molecular determinants that lead to the constitution of the meningoencephalitis. For this purpose, we are using two approaches. The first approach is based on the histological study of the brain structures involved in the interaction between C. neoformans and the BBB following fungemia (murine model of cryptococcosis); the second is meant at determining the parameters altering the interactions between two important cells on the host side, the endothelial cells (Human Umbilical Vein Endothelial Cells, HUVEC) and the monocytes (U937 cells) , and C. neoformans. The influence of the capsule presence (CAP64) and of the capsule structure (CAS genes) on adherence, phagocytosis and MAPK pathway is studied using isogenic pairs of strains (CAS/cas-D and CAP/cap-D).

Humoral response to C. neoformans proteins (F. Dromer, G. Janbon, S. Jacquelin)

We have demonstrated that the humoral response to proteic antigens of C. neoformans correlates with the outcome of the infection in a model of disseminated cryptococcosis in outbred mice. We have identified one of the protein associated with a humoral response in mice surviving a lethal challenge and cloned the corresponding gene. The next step will be to determine if the presence of specific antibodies in the serum from patients with cryptococcosis is predictive of the outcome and to evaluate the potential usefulness of the protein in immunotherapy. This project involves our group as well as those of Y. Germani (IP Bangui) and JL Guesdon (Ingénierie des Anticorps) (PTR).

Human cryptococcosis (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, O. Launay, L. Improvisi, O. Ronin)

A multicentric prospective study on the pathophysiology of C. neoformans infection (Crypto A/D study) was designed in April 1997 to collect clinical data, isolates and sequential biological fluids from patients diagnosed with cryptococcosis in France (> 200 patients enrolled). We are currently analyzing the systemic (plasma) and local (CSF, BAL, urine) immune response in terms of pro- and antiinflammatory cytokines profiles according to the HIV status, the infecting serotype and the extend of the dissemination. We have shown that the CSF inflammatory response was diminished in HIV-infected patients with cryptococcal meningitis compared to what is observed in patients with other immune defects. An observational study on the management of secondary prophylaxis for cryptococcosis in HIV-infected patients under highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART) has also been recently implemented (O. Lortholary).

Candida albicans

C. albicans is a commensal of the digestive tract responsible for a wide range of infections in immunocompetent and immunodeficient patients. Patients with prolonged neutropenia following chemotherapy or bone marrow transplantation, organ transplant recipients are at risk for candidemia. C. albicans is also responsible of nosocomial infections in surgery units, intensive care units. Apart from our participation in the Fungal Infections Network for the experimental models of candidiasis, our projects include the study of :

Biosynthesis of b-1,2 oligomannosides in C. albicans (G. Janbon, C. Mille)

Contact between C. albicans and the environment through the fungal cell wall involves interactions with various molecules, i.e. glucans (b-1,3 et b-1,6 glucose), mannans (a-1,2 et a-1,3 mannose) and mannoproteins. In addition, b-1,2 oligomannosides (associated with mannoproteins or a phospholipomannan, PLM) are found and several studies have shown that these b-1,2 oligomannosides are involved in the virulence of C. albicans. The biosynthetic pathway leading to glucans or mannoproteins have been at least partially described, whereas that leading to the b-1,2 oligomannosides are unknown. In collaboration with D. Poulain (Lille), we are identifying the genes responsible for the synthesis of the b-1,2 oligomannosides in order to facilitate the study of their influence in the pathophysiology of candidiasis.

Biofilm formation in C. albicans and Candida glabrata (G. Janbon, F. Dromer, I. Iraqui)

Biofilms are tridimentional structures composed of microorganisms that developed of various surfaces. Candida biofilms could colonize intravascular cathethers or prosthetic devices and be responsible for recurrence despite antifungal therapy. Our objective in collaboration with the groups of C. d'Enfert (Microbiologie and Environnement) and JM Ghigo (génétique des biolfilms) is to determine molecular events that lead to the development of biofilms.

National Reference Center for Mycoses and Antfungal Agents

The fields of our mission covers : the epidemiological survey of systemic fungal infections especially cryptococcosis and histoplasmosis, the monitoring of antifungal susceptibility patterns of pathogenic yeasts and filamentous fungi, the identification of rare species, the interpretation of serological tests for the diagnosis of exotic mycoses, the advice for the management of patients with mycoses (diagnosis, treatment); and evaluation of new tests or new antifungal drugs in vitro or in animal models of fungal infections.

Photos :

Photo 1 : visualization of the capsule of C. neoformans by India ink staining.

Photo 2 : Internalization of a fluorescein-labelled yeast (C. neoformans) by the monocytic cell line U937 (confocal microscopy)



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
  MARTIN Edith , emartin@pasteur.fr

DROMER, Françoise, dromer@pasteur.fr

JANBON, Guilhem, janbon@pasteur.fr

LORTHOLARY, Olivier, olortho@pasteur.fr

CHABASSE, Christine

GONTIER, Catherine

KANSAU, Imad

LEPORS, Marina

MILLE, Céline

IMPROVISI, Luce

LAUNAY, Odile

JACQUELIN, Sébastien

PROVOST, Frédérique

RONIN, Olivier


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Mymol


  Responsable : DROMER Françoise (dromer@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Une meilleure connaissance de l'interaction entre l'hôte et les champignons pathogènes pourrait améliorer le pronostic des mycoses systémiques. Nous centrons nos recherches sur la pathogénicité de Cryptococcus neoformans et de Candida albicans par une approche de l'hôte (étude épidémiologique, modèles cellulaires et animaux) et du pathogène (facteurs de virulence, variabilité).



  rapport

cale

Cryptococcus neoformans

L'étude de la physiopathologie des cryptococcoses et des mécanismes de virulence de Cryptococcus neoformans représentent à terme les meilleurs moyens d'améliorer la prise en charge des patients atteints de cryptococcose, en nombre important puisque cette infection opportuniste touche au moins 25% des patients infectés par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine en zone tropicale. C. neoformans est une levure basidiomycète capsulée qui provoque des méningo-encéphalites de pronostic sévère malgré les traitements antifongiques (³ 20% de mortalité), ce qui justifie la recherche de mesures thérapeutiques ou prophylactiques nouvelles.

Capsule de C. neoformans (G. Janbon, F. Provost)

Chaque cellule de C. neoformans est entourée d'une capsule polysaccharidique qui représente le facteur de virulence principal. Ainsi, les souches acapsulées sont avirulentes et la capsule a un effet délétère sur la réponse immunitaire. L'utilisation d'anticorps monoclonaux spécifiques nous a permis d'observer une grande variabilité de structure d'une cellule à l'autre au sein d'une même population cellulaire. Notre hypothèse de travail est que la variabilité de structure de la capsule est, au moins pour une part, responsable de la virulence de C. neoformans. Alors que les mécanismes et les déterminants génétiques de la variabilité antigénique sont connues pour de nombreux micro-organismes procaryotes et eucaryotes, aucune étude n'a été menée en ce sens chez les champignons pathogènes. Nous avons cloné des gènes codant pour divers éléments de la voie de biosynthèse du polysaccharide capsulaire et étudions les mécanismes qui sont responsables de la variabilité de sa structure.

Interactions entre barrière hémato-encéphalique (BHE) et C. neoformans (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, I. Kansau, M. Lepors, L. Improvisi)

Notre objectif est de comprendre les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires à l'origine de la méningo-encéphalite cryptococcique. Deux types d'approches sont utilisées. Une approche anatomo-pathologique pour identifier les structures impliquées dans le passage de la BHE après la phase de fongémie (utilisation d'un modèle murin) et une approche cellulaire pour identifier les paramètres modifiant l'interaction entre cellules endothéliales (Human Umbilical Vein Endothelial Cells - HUVEC) ou monocytes (lignée U937) et levures . Les interactions sont mesurées en terme d'adhérence, de phagocytose et d'influence sur la signalisation intracellulaire des MAPK. L'influence de la présence (gène CAP64) et de la structure (gènes CAS) de la capsule polysaccharidique sur ces différents paramètres est étudiée grâce à des couples de souches isogéniques CAS/cas-D et CAP/cap-D.

Réponse humorale aux antigènes protéiques de C. neoformans (F. Dromer, G. Janbon, S. Jacquelin)

En analysant la réponse humorale chez les souris inoculées par C. neoformans, nous avons mis en évidence l'existence d'anticorps préférentiellement produits par les animaux qui survivaient à l'infection. Nous avons identifié l'une des protéines impliquée dans cette réponse humorale, et cloné le gène responsable. Notre objectif est de rechercher si la présence d'anticorps spécifiques est prédictive du pronostic de l'infection chez l'homme et d'étudier le potentiel vaccinal de cette protéine. Ce projet fait l'objet d'un PTR avec les groupes de Y. Germani (Institut Pasteur de Bangui) et de JL Guesdon (Ingéniérie des Anticorps).

Cryptococcoses humaines (F. Dromer, O. Lortholary, O. Launay, L. Improvisi, O. Ronin).

Une étude clinique multicentrique nationale (étude Crypto A/D) sur la physiopathologie des infections dues à C. neoformans a été mise en place en avril 1997. Cette étude permet de rassembler des données cliniques et épidémiologiques sur les patients infectés par C. neoformans. En parallèle, les souches ont été conservées pour typage et des liquides biologiques ont été prélevés à des temps importants du traitement. L'analyse des différents paramètres est en cours au terme des 4 ans d'inclusion (>200 patients inclus). L'étude de la réponse locale (méninges, poumons, urines) et systémique (plasma) se fait en analysant les profils de cytokines pro- et anti-inflammatoire en fonction de la dissémination de l'infection, du sérotype infectant et du statut immunitaire de l'hôte (responsable O. Lortholary). Nous avons déjà démontré que l'infection par le VIH était associée à une réponse inflammatoire diminuée dans le LCR des patients atteints de méningite cryptococcique par rapport à ce qui était observé sur d'autres terrains immunitaires. En juin 2001, une étude observationnelle des conditions d'arrêt de la prophylaxie secondaire de la cryptococcose chez les sujets infectés par le VIH et traités par une thérapeutique antirétrovirale hautement active a été mise en place (responsable O. Lortholary).

Candida albicans

Candida albicans, une levure ascomycète saprophyte du tube digestif, est le deuxième microorganisme étudié dans l'Unité de Mycologie Moléculaire. Cette levure est responsable d'infections sévères chez des patients immunodéprimés par des chimiothérapies aplasiantes, des transplantations d'organes ou de moelle osseuse, mais aussi d'infections nosocomiales dans des services de réanimations. Outre la participation au Réseau Infections Fongiques dans le cadre de la plate-forme technologique modèles animaux (F. Dromer, L. Improvisi), nous abordons deux aspects :

Etude de la biosynthèse des b1,2 oligo mannosides chez C. albicans (G. Janbon, C. Mille)

Le contact entre C. albicans et les cellules de l'hôte se fait au niveau de la paroi du champignon. Celle-ci est principalement composée de glucanes (polymères b-1,3 et b-1,6 de résidus glucose), de mannanes (polymères a-1,2 et a-1,3 de résidus mannose) et de mannoprotéines. En plus de ces polymères a de résidus mannose, des b-1,2 oligomannosides sont associés, soit aux mannoprotéines pariétales, soit au phospholipomannane (PLM). De nombreuses études ont montré que la présence de ces résidus était associée à la virulence de C. albicans. Alors que les voies de biosynthèse des b-glucanes et les mannoprotéines sont au moins partiellement connues, aucun gène participant à la synthèse des b-1,2 oligomannosides n'a été identifié que ce soit au niveau du PLM ou de la paroi. Le but de notre travail mené en étroite collaboration avec le laboratoire de D. Poulain à Lille, est d'identifier les gènes responsables de la synthèse des b-1,2 oligomannosides chez C. albicans en vue de déterminer l'influence de ces résidus sur la physiopathologie des infections à Candida.

Etude de la formation de biofilms chez C. albicans et C. glabrata (G. Janbon, F. Dromer, I. Iraqui)

Les biofilms sont des structures tri-dimensionnelles de micro-organismes qui se développent sur différents supports. En ce qui concerne les Candida, ces structures peuvent se développer sur les cathéters ou encore sur des prothèses et sont certainement des sources de ré-infection malgré les traitements antifongiques. L'objectif de ce projet est donc de déterminer les mécanismes moléculaires de la formation de biofilms à Candida. Ce projet fait l'objet d'un PTR avec les groupes de C. d'enfert (Unité Microbiologie et Environnement) et de JM Ghigo (Génétique des Biofilms).

 

 

Centre National de Référence des Mycoses Humaines et des Antifongiques. Son activité comprend plusieurs aspects : l'étude de l'épidémiologie des infections fongiques, et en particulier celles dues à C. neoformans, C. albicans et Histoplasma capsulatum à travers des réseaux de correspondants à l'échelle nationale et européenne ; l‘étude de la sensibilité des souches de champignons filamenteux et de levures aux antifongiques et la surveillance de l'évolution des profils de sensibilité en fonction des espèces au cours du temps ; l'identification des champignons pathogènes pour l'homme ; la réalisation des sérologies spécifiques dans le cadre du diagnostic ou de la surveillance des mycoses exotiques ; des activités de conseil (prise en charge diagnostique et thérapeutique, interprétation de résultats biologiques) ; enfin, l'évaluation de nouvelles molécules antifongiques in vitro et dans des modèles animaux et l'évaluation de tests diagnostiques.

Légendes des photos :

Photo 1 : visualisation de la capsule polysaccharidique de C. neoformans par coloration négative à l'encre de Chine.

Photo 2 : Internalisation d'une levure marquée à la fluorescéine (C. neoformans) in vitro par une cellule de la lignée monocytoïde U937 (microscopie confocale)



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
  MARTIN Edith , emartin@pasteur.fr

DROMER, Françoise, IP, chef de laboratoire, dromer@pasteur.fr

JANBON, Guilhem, IP, assistant, janbon@pasteur.fr

LORTHOLARY, Olivier, AP-HP, olortho@pasteur.fr

CHABASSE, Christine, stagiaire

GONTIER, Catherine, DESS

KANSAU, Imad, postdoctorant

LEPORS, Marina, DEA

MILLE, Céline, thèse

LAUNAY, Odile, Médecin d'études cliniques

IMPROVISI, Luce, ITA

JACQUELIN, Sébastien, technicien

PROVOST, Frédérique, ITA

RONIN, Olivier, ITA


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.