Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Lcsm


  Director : BÂRZU Octavian (obarzu@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research activity is focused on kinases acting on nucleotides or sugars as substrates and which are potential targets for antibacterial therapy. In the structural genomic project of the Pasteur Institute to which our laboratory is associated, we have cloned a number of ten genes from M. tuberculosis and coding for proteins with unknown, or putative function. Part of them were overproduced in E. coli for structural analysis.



  report

cale

1. Nucleoside monophosphate (NMP) kinases from M. tuberculosis

(H. Munier-Lehamnn in collaboration with G. Labesse, D. Douguet, L. Dugué, S. Pochet, P. Herdewijn, S. Van Callenbergh, B. Gomes-Guimaraes and P. Alzari)

One of the aims of our research projects is the obtention of new specific inhibitors directed against mycobacteria by structure-based (X-ray crystallography or nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy) design. Two NMP kinases have been selected for their particular properties as compared to their eukaryote homologs, TMP- and UMP kinase. This work is the subject of one Transversal Research Programm joining different laboratories of the Pasteur Institute. In this year, about 80 analogs of natural substrate (dTMP) have been tested in vitro as inhibitors of TMP kinase from M. tuberculosis. Half on these compounds have been synthesized by the group of S. Pochet from the Unit of Organic Chemistry. Five of these molecules exhibiting an inhibition constant (Ki) in the micromolar range will be tested on cultures from M. tuberculosis.

With concerns UMP kinase, the three-dimensional structure of the bacterial enzyme was not yet resolved. UMP kinase from M. tuberculosis is a good candidate for X-ray studies due to its better stability and solubility in comparison with other UMP kinases isolated and characterized in our laboratory. Crystals of UMP kinase from M. tuberculosis obtained last year with UTP, have diffracted at low resolution (7-8 Å). A new construct of UMP kinase from M. tuberculosis with a shorter tag sequence has been obtained. A better quality of crystals was obtained with this new protein both in the presence and absence of GTP. We hope to get soon resolution at < 2 Å to be latter used for search of new inhibitors of UMP kinase from M. tuberculosis.

2. NMP kinases from other bacterial species

(A.-M. Gilles, A. Ofiteru, C. Gagyi, H. Munier-Lehmann in collaboration with T. Bertrand, P. Briozzo)

The substitution, by site-directed mutagenesis, of residues involved in the interaction of CMP kinase from E. coli with the cytosine moiety of CMP (Ser36, Asp132, Arg110 and Arg188) was shown to affect considerably the Km and the rate of NMP phosphorylation. On the contrary, the kinetic parameters concerning the donor substrate, ATP, are similar to the wild-type enzyme. The Arg188Met variant whose stability is the same as that of the wild-type enzyme has been crystallized alone or in complex with the natural substrates (CMP or dCMP). We showed that the pocket accomodating the NMP was enlarged by Arg188 ® Met substitution preventing in this way the interaction of the enzyme with the sugar and the phosphate group of its substrate. The structural approach allowed us a better evaluation of the consequences generated by aminoacid substitution on the network of hydrogen bonds essential for catalysis.

We have pursued our work on the biochemical characterization of several bacterial UMP kinases part of them from pathogenic organisms. These experiments demonstrated the heterogeneity of different preparations due to the presence of aggregates, a drawback for the obtention of reliable crystals. One variant of UMP kinase from E. coli (Asp159Asn), more soluble and homogenous, is a good candidate for X-ray crystallography.

3. Other targets for antibacterial agents

(L. Assairi in collaboration with G. Labesse and D. Douguet)

NAD kinase phosphorylates NAD to NADP which is a cofactor for many biosynthetic cellular reactions. Several differences have been observed between eukaryotes and prokaryotes concerning the specificity of the phosphate donor. Molecular modeling studies have shown the relationship between NAD kinases and 6-phosphofructokinase from E. coli. The presence of a conserved sequence in both enzymes (GGDGT) has prompted us to replace by site-directed mutagenesis the Asp ® Ala residue in NAD kinase from N. meningitidis. The variant in which Asp is substituted with an Ala residue is inactive.

We have also selected the dephosphoCoa kinase as a new target. The bacterial enzyme catalyzes the final steps in the biosynthesis of coenzyme A. We have cloned the coaE gene coding for dephosphoCoa kinase from N. meningetidis (NMA2157) and from M. tuberculosis and presently we characterize the recombinant proteins expressed in E. coli.

4. deoK operon from Salmonella typhimurium

(A.-M. Gilles, J. Ferdinand, C. Gagyi, L. Assairi in collaboration with C. Le Bouguenec, T. Bertrand, P. Briozzo and J. Neuhard)

The Salmonella species contrary to E. coli K12 are able to use deoxyribose (dR) as a sole carbon and energy source . We have demonstrated that this property was due to the presence of three genes encoding for a permease (deoP), a desoxyribokinase (deoK) and a protein of yet unknown function (deoX), respectively. These genes form an operon (deoK) whose expression is regulated by a repressor (DeoQ). Analyses by two-dimensional gel electrophoresis of extracts from S. typhimurium, grown in the presence or in the absence of dR, have demonstrated the induction of the synthesis of these proteins, together with the four enzymes of an other operon called deo. Searches for the deoK operon in gene and protein databanks have shown that the deoK operon is incomplete in Agrobacterium tumefaciens and Rhodobacter spheroides species. The deoK operon is active in Citrobacter freundii species and in some pathogenic strains of E. coli, associated with pathogenicity islands. In last case, we have shown that the deoK operon conserves all its properties, as found initially in Salmonella, i.e. the capacity to utilize dR for multiplication. Biochemical studies of DeoX showed that this stable hexamer protein forms crystals diffracting at 2.7. The selenomethionylated protein has recently been produced to facilite the resolution of its three-dimensional structure.

5. Structural genomics at the Pasteur Institute

(L. Assairi, H. Munier-Lehmann and D. Portnoï)

In the structural genomics project in which our laboratory is involved, we started the cloning of ten different genes from M. tuberculosis, encoding for proteins of unknown functions and having no similarity with proteins of origin different than that of mycobacteria or actinomycetes. In collaboration with the Unit of Structural Biochemistry, these proteins will be used for crystallogenesis assays in view of determining their three-dimensional structure. Biochemical studies will be undertaken in parallel to determine their function, with the hope that some will be used also as potential targets in antituberculosis therapy.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

LAMBRECHT, Marie-Régine, lambrech@pasteur.fr

BÂRZU, Octavian, CNRS, Research Director 1st class, Head of the laboratory.

GILLES, Anne-Marie, IP, Laboratory chief.

MUNIER-LEHMANN, Hélène, INSERM, Research assistant.

PORTNOI, Denis, IP, Research assistant.

ASSAIRI, Liliane, CNRS.

GAGYI, Elena, University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Cluj-Napoca, Romania.

IONESCU, MihaelaUniversity of Medicine and Pharmacy, Cluj-Napoca, Romania.

OFITERU, Augustin, Cantacuzene Institute, Bucharest, Romania.

SIRBU, Ioan, University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Timisoara, Romania.

FERDINAND, Joelle, DEA student.

LAMBRECHT, Marie-Régine, Secretary, lambrech@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Lcsm


  Responsable : BÂRZU Octavian (obarzu@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre activité de recherche est centrée en priorité sur les kinases ayant comme substrat les nucléotides ou les sucres et qui représentent des cibles potentielles en thérapie antibactérienne. Dans le projet de génomique structurale auquel notre laboratoire est associé, nous avons entrepris le clonage d'une dizaine de gènes de Mycobacterium tuberculosis codant des protéines de fonction inconnue, ou putative, dont certaines ont été surproduites chez E. coli.



  rapport

cale

1. Nucléoside monophosphate (NMP) kinases de M. tuberculosis

(H. Munier-Lehmann, en collaboration avec G. Labesse, D. Douguet, L. Dugué, S. Pochet, P. Herdewijn, S. Van Callenbergh, B. Gomes Guimaraes et P. Alzari)

Un des axes de nos recherches est l'obtention de nouveaux inhibiteurs spécifiques aux mycobactéries par conception rationnelle à partir de la structure tridimensionnelle résolue par cristallographie ou résonance magnétique nucléaire. Deux NMP kinases, ont été choisies pour leurs propriétés particulières par rapport à celles de leurs homologues eucaryotes, la TMP- et l'UMP kinase. Ce travail est l'objet d'un Programme Transversal de Recherche regroupant plusieurs équipes de l'Institut Pasteur. Cette année, environ quatre vingt analogues du substrat naturel (dTMP) ont été testés in vitro sur la TMP kinase de M. tuberculosis en tant qu'inhibiteurs. La moitié de ces composés a été synthétisée dans le groupe de S. Pochet (Unité de Chimie Organique). Cinq de ces molécules présentant une constante d'inhibition (Ki) de l'ordre du micromolaire seront prochainement testées sur des cultures de M. tuberculosis.

En ce qui concerne l'UMP kinase, aucune structure tridimensionnelle d'enzyme bactérien n'a encore été résolue à ce jour. L'UMP kinase de M. tuberculosis est un bon candidat du fait de sa stabilité et de sa solubilité en comparaison aux autres UMP kinases bactériennes (une dizaine) disponibles au laboratoire. Des cristaux obtenus l'année dernière en présence d'UTP uniquement, ont diffracté à une faible résolution (7-8 Å). Une nouvelle construction d'UMP kinase de M. tuberculosis portant une séquence étiquette plus courte a été réalisée. Des cristaux d'une meilleure qualité ont été obtenus avec cette nouvelle protéine, que ce soit en absence ou en présence de GTP. Des enregistrements auront lieu en fin d'année et nous espérons avoir une résolution inférieure à 2 Å pour obtenir la structure fine des sites de fixation des nucléotides et commencer la recherche d'inhibiteurs de l'UMP kinase de M. tuberculosis.

2. NMP kinases d'autres espèces bactériennes

(A.-M. Gilles, A. Ofiteru, C. Gagyi, H. Munier-Lehmann en collaboration avec T. Bertrand, P. Briozzo)

La substitution, par mutagenèse dirigée, des résidus impliqués dans l'interaction de la CMP kinase d'Escherichia coli avec la cytosine (Ser36, Asp132, Arg110 et Arg188) du substrat perturbe considérablement l'affinité et la vitesse de phosphorylation du NMP, tandis que les paramètres cinétiques vis-à-vis de l'ATP restent inchangés. Le variant Arg188Met, dont la stabilité est similaire à celle l'enzyme sauvage, a été cristallisé seul ou en complexe avec ses substrats naturels (CMP ou dCMP). La résolution de ces structures a mis en évidence l'élargissement de la poche dans laquelle se fixe le substrat, ce qui empêche les interactions de l'enzyme avec le sucre et le phosphate du substrat. L'approche structurale nous a aussi permis d'évaluer les conséquences induites par la substitution d'un résidu dans le maintien d'un réseau efficace de liaisons hydrogènes indispensable à la catalyse.

Nous avons poursuivi la caractérisation biochimique de plusieurs UMP kinases bactériennes, dont certaines proviennent d'organismes pathogènes. Ces recherches ont démontré l'hétérogénéité des préparations, due à la présence d'agrégats organisés ou non, et qui constitue un obstacle à l'obtention de cristaux fiables. Un variant de l'UMP kinase d'E. coli (Asp159Asn), plus soluble et homogène, est une alternative pour des études de cristallographie.

3. Autres cibles pour des agents antibactériens

(L. Assairi en collaboration avec G. Labesse et D. Douguet)

La NAD kinase phosphoryle le NAD pour former le NADP, cofacteur de nombreuses réactions cellulaires. Des variations quant à la spécificité du donneur de phosphate ont été observées entre les eucaryotes et les procaryotes. Les études de modélisation ont montré la relation entre les NAD kinases et la 6-phosphofructokinase d'E. coli. La présence d'un motif conservé chez les deux enzymes (GGDGT) nous a incité à remplacer par mutagénèse dirigée le résidu Asp ® Ala : la NAD kinase issue de N. meningitidis portant la substitution Asp ® Ala est inactive.

Nous avons choisi comme nouvelle cible la déphosphoCoA kinase. L'enzyme bactérien catalyse uniquement la dernière étape de la biosynthèse du coenzyme A. Chez les eucaryotes, un seul et même enzyme catalyse les deux dernières étapes de la biosynthèse du coenzyme A. Nous avons cloné le gène coaE codant la déphosphoCoA kinase de N. meningitidis (NMA2157) et de M. tuberculosis (Rv1631) et nous caractérisons actuellement les protéines recombinantes exprimées chez E. coli.

4. Opéron deoK de Salmonella typhimurium

(A.-M. Gilles, J. Ferdinand, C. Gagyi, L. Assairi en collaboration avec C. Le Bouguenec, T. Bertrand, P. Briozzo et J. Neuhard)

Les Salmonelles, contrairement à E. coli K12, sont capables d'utiliser le désoxyribose (dR) comme source unique de carbone et d'énergie. Nous avons montré que cette propriété était le fait de la présence de trois gènes codant respectivement une perméase (deoP), la désoxyribokinase (deoK) et une protéine de fonction inconnue (deoX). Ces gènes sont regroupés en opéron (deoK) dont l'expression est régulée par un répresseur (DeoQ). L'analyse par électrophorèse bidimensionnelle d'extraits de S. typhimurium, cultivée en présence ou en absence de dR, a mis en évidence, d'une part l'induction de la synthèse de ces protéines et d'autre part, l'induction de la synthèse des protéines codées par un autre opéron appelé deo. La recherche de l'opéron deoK dans les banques de données a montré qu'il était partiellement présent chez Agrobacterium tumefaciens et Rhodobacter spheroïdes, mais se trouvait dans son intégralité au sein de Citrobacter freundii et de certaines souches pathogènes d'E. coli, associé à des ilots de pathogénicité. Dans ce dernier cas, nous avons montré que l'opéron deoK garde toutes ses propriétés, à savoir, la capacité pour la bactérie d'utiliser le dR pour se multiplier. L'étude biochimique de DeoX montre que cette protéine est hexamérique et stable. Des cristaux diffractant à 2.7 Å ont été obtenus. Pour faciliter la résolution de sa structure tridimensionnelle, la protéine sélénométhionylée a été produite.

5. Génomique structurale à l'Institut Pasteur

(L. Assairi, H. Munier-Lehmann et D. Portnoï)

Dans le projet de génomique structurale auquel participe notre laboratoire, nous avons débuté le clonage de dix gènes de M. tuberculosis, codant des protéines de fonction inconnue et n'ayant aucune similitude avec des protéines autres que d'origine mycobacterienne ou d'actinomycète. En collaboration avec l'Unité de Biochimie Structurale, les protéines seront soumises à des essais de cristallogénèse pour obtenir leur structure tridimensionnelle. En parallèle, des études biochimiques seront entreprises pour déterminer leur fonction. Par ailleurs, ces protéines pourront à leur tour être des cibles potentielles en thérapie antituberculeuse.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

LAMBRECHT, Marie-Régine, lambrech@pasteur.fr

BÂRZU, Octavian, CNRS, Directeur de Recherche 1, obarzu@pasteur.fr

GILLES, Anne-Marie, IP, Chef de Laboratoire.

MUNIER-LEHMANN, Hélène, INSERM, Chargée de Recherche 1.

PORTNOI, Denis, IP, Chargé de Recherche.

ASSAIRI, Liliane, CNRS, Chargée de Recherche 1.

GAGYI, Elena, Université de Médecine et de Pharmacie, Cluj-Napoca, Roumanie, Assistante de Recherche, (départ le 31/07/2001).

IONESCU, Mihaela, Université de Médecine et de Pharmacie, Cluj-Napoca, Roumanie, Assistante de Recherche.

OFITERU, Augustin, Institut Cantacuzène, Bucarest Roumanie, Doctorant.

SIRBU, Ioan Ovidiu, Université de Médecine et de Pharmacie, Timisoara, Roumanie, Chercheur, Docteur en Médecine.

FERDINAND, Joëlle, Stagiaire DEA, DEA soutenu en juillet 2001 (départ le 30/09/2001).

LAMBRECHT, Marie-Régine, Secrétaire, IP.


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.