Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Immolpar


  Director : Odile PUIJALON (omp@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main research theme of the Unit is the analysis of factors which condition the outcome of a malarial infection, with the goal to develop a vaccine. Our efforts are focused on: the development of a vaccine targeting blood stage surface antigens ; the analysis of parasite polymorphism and of its consequences on immune responses ; the study of parasite pathogenicity factors; the exploration of the parameters which orient the immune system towards either a protective or a pathogenic response.



  report

cale

The Unit's long term objective is to develop vaccines against Plasmodium blood stages. Four research teams work on complementary research programmes, including a vaccine development programme, studies on field parasite diversity and an integrated analysis of the host/parasite interactions contributing to malaria pathology. One of the characteristics of the Unit is to privilege in vivo studies in humans and in experimental monkey models. This implies resorting to experimental models of infection as well as to field studies: molecular epidemiology studies with the Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur; hospital-based studies on clinical malaria in Ghana; studies on experimental monkey infections in French Guiana and Sri Lanka.

1. The vaccine development programme focuses on P. falciparum and P. vivax asexual blood stage antigens identified as targets of immune protective mechanisms.

MSP1p19 (S. Longacre, S. Bonnet): S. Longacre's group develops a program exploring the conserved 19 kDa C-terminus of the merozoite surface protein 1 (MSP1p19) from P. falciparum and P. vivax expressed as a recombinant protein produced in the baculovirus-insect cell expression system. The efficacy and/or immunogenicity of different formulations of the MSP1p19 antigen, including several experimental adjuvants, have been evaluated in mice and in macaque primates (toque, rhesus monkeys). Several vaccination trials have provided solid evidence that the MSP1p19 antigen is very immunogenic, and is a potent protective antigen with a long lasting effect against homologous and heterologous strains. This vaccine research programme has provided the basis and justification for undertaking phase I clinical trials with the baculovirus MSP1p19 antigen, currently being planned. In parallel, the analysis of polymorphism in the 42 kDa C-terminal MSP1 (MSP1p42) of P. vivax and P. falciparum has been explored and the immune response to the C-terminal conserved and polymorphic domains of P. vivax MSP1has been studied in man. The crystalline structure of the P. falciparum MSP1p19 has been determined in collaboration with the Unité d'Immunologie Structurale; it supports the notion that similar complex folding of the two EGF domains occurs in MSP1p19 from all Plasmodium species. The objective now is to determine the crystallographic structure of MSP1p42.

R23 (O.Puijalon, M. Huynh Quan Dat, A. Schneider) : The R23 antigen is a target of antibodies which opsonize P.falciparum-infected erythrocytes. The immunisation of Saimiri monkeys with a minimal dose of this antigen can induce efficient protection. Our research efforts now aim at optimising immunogenicity and analysing the biological function of this molecule.

2. Studies on field parasite diversity and its consequences on immune responses ( O. Puijalon, H. Jouin, N.Noranate, D. Eisen, M.Guillotte )

The analysis of parasite populations under different conditions of transmission and their temporal and spatial evolution is necessary in order to elaborate rational control measures. For several years, we have studied the polymorphism of parasite populations in different endemic regions. This year, we have set up a program to analyse parasite polymorphism by systematic sequencing and have studied the temporal evolution of the msp1 gene, over a period of ten years, in Dielmo, a village in Senegal where longitudinal studies are performed.

The consequences of the polymorphisme of MSP-1 bloc 2 have been studied in two Senegalese villages which differ in transmission conditions. Responses are analysed using synthetic peptides representing the different sequence variants. The response is associated with a decreased risk of clinical episodes during the following transmission season. Such an association appears as a paradox, since fixed reactivity profiles are observed which are independent of past or present parasite genotypes. The distribution of light and heavy Ig chains remains constant throughout the years. In contrast with what is described for the variant antigen PfEMP1, new anti-msp1 bloc 2 specificities are not accumulated following exposure to an increasing number of alleles. The characteristics of this response suggest a peculiar mode of regulation reminiscent of "clonal imprinting". The capacity to induce a fixed response, which is thereby of inappropriate or non optimal specificity against a high number of strains, could constitute a new mode of parasite immune evasion, favouring partial clearance and chronic parasite carriage.

3. Parasite pathogenicity factors (S. Bonnefoy, P. Pendyala, M. Diez Silva, M. Guillotte, P. David)

In the Saimiri sciureus experimental model of infection, strains inducing lethal infections present certain characteristics, such as a deletion of the resa gene and the existence of a particular allele of the hrp1 locus. We have used a reverse-genetics approach to analyse the contribution of these factors to pathogenicity. Disruption of the resa gene in the avirulent FUP/CB strain led to the modification of the profile of infection, increasing mean parasitaemia in all animals infected. The construction of strains in which the hrp1 gene has been manipulated is underway. Several molecular tools have been developed in order to continue this study; among these are tools which will allow the sequential manipulation of the parasite genome towards the construction of double mutants

We are also developing a promoter-trapping strategy. We have demonstrated the feasibility of positive/negative selection in P.falciparum, using DHFR-TS Herpes simplex virus and Thymidine Kinase. Other negative selection markers are under study. This allows us now, among other applications, to seek genes activated in vivo but inactive under in vitro culture conditions, namely genes which one can reasonably suspect to play an important role in host-parasite interactions.

In parallel, we have initiated the systematic exploration of the parasite transcriptome, using DNA chips to study the parasites expression programme under different physiological conditions. Our first objective has been to explore the modulation of parasite transcription by the spleen, an organ which is known to influence red cell surface expression/exposure of parasite antigens. This has allowed the identification of 185 genes the level of transcription of which is modulated by the spleen. Some of these genes code for polypeptides linked to cytoadherence and/or antigenic variation. It is interesting to note that this analysis has pointed out modulation of the expression of "knob" accessory molecules, in particular hrp1. Up to now, we had access to microarrays through a collaboration established with J. DeRisi (UCSF). This year, in collaboration with the Institut Pasteur Genopole (J.Y. Coppée), we have contributed to the set-up of a DNA microarray platform enabling us to explore the transcriptome of P.falciparum on campus. These arrays are made up of over 6200 oligonucleotides of 70 bases, synthesised according to the available genome sequence data. This opens the possibility to study the consequences on the parasite transcriptome of inactivation or allelic replacement of resa and hrp1 genes, as well as the effects of different environmental conditions (immune pressure, splenectomy, culture conditions).

4. Contribution of immune activation to malaria pathology. (C.Behr, S. Loizon, P.Boeuf, F.Remerand , I. Vigan, J.C.Michel).

gdT lymphocytes are highly activated during acute malaria attacks. In order to understand the consequences of such an activation, we have performed a detailed repertoire analysis in healthy children and in children suffering from a malaria attack. The peripheral representation of the various gdT cell subsets in healthy African subjects (children and adults) differs from what is described in Europeans. In children with acute malaria, the Vd1 subset is transiently activated. Vg chain analysis did not show any preferential chain association. Immunoscope analysis did not outline any specific clonal expansion. In children with acute malaria, Vg9 T cells are also activated, but to a lesser extent. Ex-vivo intracellular staining showed that the Vg 9 T cells are high producers of TNF-a, while Vd 1 are high producers of IFN-g. Overall numbers of circulating Tgd cells and the Vd 1/ Vg9 ratio did not significantly differ in the various clinical groups (non complicated, severe anaemia and cerebral malaria). Our results are compatible with the proposed role for the Vd1 population in the regulation of the immune system and the return to homeostasis.

Further analysis of the cytokine profiles associated with distinct forms of clinical malaria showed that cerebral malaria is associated with statistically significantly higher levels of IL-2R than severe anaemia or uncomplicated malaria. Severe anaemia is associated with lower levels of TNFR (I and II). All the work concerning African individuals has been performed in collaboration with Dr.D. Akanmori from " Noguchi Memorial Institute " (Ghana) and Dr. L. Hviid from " Righshospitalet " (Denmark).

Sepsis and severe sepsis present an interesting analogy with mild and severe malaria, with systemic inflammation as a major contributor of pathology. In collaboration with the Intensive Care Unit of the Hopital Lariboisière, Paris, we conducted a longitudinal follow up of patients suffering severe sepsis or local intense inflammation. We measured monocyte surface HLA-DR and co-stimulatory molecules CD80 and CD54 by quantitative flow cytometry either ex-vivo or after in vitro LPS stimulation. This showed that "monocyte deactivation" is a general phenomenon that induces down regulation of HLA-DR, but also of other co-stimulatory molecules that play a major role in T cell activation We are now analysing the consequences of such an "immunodepression" on the dendritic cells.

We have devoted considerable effort to establish the experimental conditions and the immunological and genetic tools necessary for physiopathology studies in the squirrel monkey. Monoclonal antibodies have been screened towards functional identification of mononuclear cell subsets, and primers have been identified for the amplification of the major pro and anti-inflammatory cytokines. This has allowed us to establish the normal range of cellular subset and activation profiles in non infected naive animals, as well as to analyse the kinetics of activation of the various subsets during a primary P.falciparum infection.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

LECUILLER Frédérique, Secretary I.P. (flecuil@pasteur.fr)

BEHR Charlotte, Researcher CR1 CNRS, (charlotte.behr@pasteur.fr)

BONNEFOY Serge, Researcher I.P., (sbf@pasteur.fr)

BONNET Sarah, Postdoc I.P., (sbonnet@pasteur.fr)

DAVID Peter, Researcher DR2 CNRS, (pdavid@paseur.fr)

DELRIEU Isabelle, Postdoc I.P. (idelrieu@pasteur.fr)

LONGACRE Shirley, Researcher DR2 CNRS (longacre@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL Jean-Claude, Head of laboratory IPOM, (jcmichel@pasteur.fr)

PUIJALON Odile, Head of laboratory I.P., Head of Unit, (omp@pasteur.fr)

BŒUF Philippe, PhD student, (pboeuf@pasteur.fr)

DIEZ SILVA Monica, PhD student, (mdiez@pasteur.fr)

NORANATE Nitchakarn, PhD student, (noranate@pasteur.fr)

REMERAND Francis, PhD student, (remerand@pasteur.fr)

SCHNEIDER Achim, postdoctoral trainee, (achimsch@pasteur.fr)

VIGAN Inès, postdoctoral trainee, (ivigan@pasteur.fr)

GUILLOTTE Micheline, Technician I.P., (mguillot@pasteur.fr)

HUYNH QUAN DAT Myoura, Technician I.P., (dat@pasteur.fr)

JOUIN Hélène, Engineer I.P., (hajouin@pasteur.fr)

LOIZON Séverine, Engineer, CNRS, (sloizon@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Immolpar


  Responsable : Odile PUIJALON (omp@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

La thématique centrale de l'Unité est l'analyse des facteurs qui déterminent l'issue d'une infection palustre, avec comme but de mettre au point un vaccin. Nos efforts de recherche portent sur le développement de vaccins ciblant des molécules de surface des stades sanguins asexués, l'analyse du polymorphisme parasitaire et de ses conséquences sur les réponses immunes, l'identification par génétique reverse et criblage moléculaire à l'aide de puces à ADN des facteurs parasitaires de pathogénicité et l'exploration des paramètres qui orientent le système immunitaire vers une réponse protectrice ou pathologique.



  rapport

cale

L'objectif à long terme des recherches menées dans l'Unité est le développement de vaccins dirigés contre les stades érythrocytaires de Plasmodium. Quatre groupes de recherche sont centrés sur des programmes complémentaires, incluant le développement de vaccins, l'étude de terrain de la diversité parasitaire et l'analyse intégrée des interactions hôte/parasites qui conditionnent la physiopathologie du paludisme. Une des caractéristiques de l'Unité est de privilégier les études in vivo, aussi bien chez l'homme que chez le singe. Ceci implique le recours à des modèles expérimentaux d'infection ainsi qu'à des collaborations sur le terrain : études d'épidémiologie moléculaire dans le cadre des Instituts Pasteur du Réseau International ; études de cas hospitaliers au Ghana ; étude de modèles expérimentaux chez le singe en Guyane et au Sri Lanka.

 

1. Le programme de développement vaccinal est centré sur des antigènes de stades érythrocytaires identifiés comme cibles de certains effecteurs de la réponse immune protectrice.

MSP1p19 (S.Longacre, S. Bonnet). Le groupe de S. Longacre développe un programme de recherche explorant la région C-terminale de 19 kDa conservée de l'antigène de surface du mérozoïte, MSP1p19 de P.falciparum et P.vivax exprimée sous forme de protéine recombinante dans le système Baculovirus. L'efficacité et l'immunogénicité de différentes formulations de l'antigène MSP1p19, incluant plusieurs adjuvants expérimentaux, ont été évaluées chez la souris et les macaques (singes toque et rhésus). Plusieurs essais vaccinaux ont montré que MSP-1p19 était très immunogène et induisait bien un effet protecteur, à la fois puissant et de longue durée, contre des souches homologues ou hétérologues. L'état d'avancement des recherches sur MSP-1p19 est tel que des essais de vaccination de phase 1 sont en cours de mise en place. En parallèle, l'analyse du polymorphisme de la région C-terminale de 42 kDa de MSP1 (MSP1p42) de P.vivax et P.falciparum a été entreprise et la réponse immune dirigée contre la partie conservée C-terminale et contre les domaines polymorphes de P.vivax MSP-1 a été étudiée chez l'homme. Enfin, la structure cristallographique de P.falciparum MSP-1 p19 a été déterminée en collaboration avec l'Unité d'Immunologie Structurale. Elle confirme la notion que le repliement complexe des deux domaines EGF de MSP1p19 serait semblable dans toutes le espèces de Plasmodium. L'objectif est maintenant de déterminer la structure cristallographique de MSP1p42.

R23 : (O. Puijalon, M.Huynh Quan Dat, A Schneider) : L'antigène R23 est la cible d'anticorps opsonisant les érythrocytes infectés par P.falciparum. L'immunisation de singes Saimiri avec une dose minimale de cet antigène en Alum peut induire une protection efficace. Nos efforts de recherche actuels portent sur l'optimisation de l'immunogénicité et l'analyse du rôle biologique de cet antigène.

2. Etude de la diversité parasitaire et de ses conséquences sur la réponse immune (O.Puijalon, H. Jouin, N. Noranate, D. Eisen, M. Guillotte).

L'analyse des populations parasitaires dans diverses conditions de transmission et de leur évolution dans le temps est nécessaire à l'élaboration de stratégies de lutte rationnelles. Depuis plusieurs années, nous étudions le polymorphisme des populations parasitaires dans plusieurs zones d'endémie. Au cours de cette année nous avons mis en place un programme d'analyse du polymorphisme parasitaire par séquençage systématique et étudié l'évolution temporelle sur une dizaine d'années du gène msp1 à Dielmo, un village sénégalais où sont poursuivies des études longitudinales.

Les conséquences du polymorphisme du domaine MSP-1 bloc 2 ont été étudiées dans deux villages sénégalais où les conditions de transmission sont différentes. Les réponses sont analysées à l'aide de peptides synthétiques représentant les divers variants de séquences connues. La réponse est associée à une diminution du risque d'accès clinique durant la saison de transmission suivante. Cette association est paradoxale, puisque l'on observe des profils de réactivité figés, indépendants des génotypes parasitaires présents ou passés, et une distribution des chaînes lourdes et légères qui reste constante au cours des années. Contrairement à ce qui est décrit pour l'antigène variant PfEMP1, il n'y a pas accumulation de nouvelles spécificités anti-msp1 bloc 2 à la suite de l'exposition à un nombre croissant d'allèles. Les caractéristiques de cette réponse suggèrent une régulation particulière rappelant le " clonal imprinting ". La capacité d'induire une réponse figée, et donc de spécificité inappropriée ou non optimale contre de nombreuses souches, pourrait constituer un nouveau mécanisme d'évasion des parasites au système immunitaire en favorisant une clairance partielle et un portage chronique.

3. Facteurs parasitaires de pathogénicité (S. Bonnefoy, P.Pendyala, M.Diez Silva, I. Delrieu, M Guillotte, P. David).

Dans le modèle d'infection expérimentale du singe Saimiri sciureus, les souches induisant une infection létale présentent des caractéristiques particulières, dont une délétion du gène resa et un allèle particulier du locus hrp1. Pour analyser la contribution de ces deux facteurs à la pathologie palustre, nous utilisons une approche de génétique réverse. L'invalidation du gène resa dans la souche avirulente FUP/CB a eu pour conséquence de modifier le profil d'infection, en augmentant la parasitémie moyenne chez tous les singes infectés. La construction de souches manipulées pour le gène hrp1 est en cours. Plusieurs outils moléculaires ont été développés afin de poursuivre cette étude, en particulier ceux qui visent à manipuler séquentiellement le génome du parasite pour construire des doubles mutants.

Nous développons par ailleurs une stratégie de piégeage de promoteurs. Nous avons pu établir chez P. falciparum la faisabilité d'une stratégie de sélection positive/négative qui fait appel à la DHFR-TS et à la Thymidine Kinase du virus de l'Herpes. D'autres marqueurs de sélection négative sont à l'étude. Ceci nous permet désormais, entre autres applications, de rechercher des gènes activés in vivo, mais inactifs dans les conditions de culture in vitro, dont on peut raisonnablement penser qu'ils jouent un rôle important dans les interactions hôte/parasite.

En parallèle, nous avons entamé une exploration systématique du transcriptome à l'aide de puces à ADN chez des parasites soumis à différentes conditions physiologiques. Notre premier objectif a été d'explorer le rôle de la rate dans la modulation du transcriptome parasitaire. En effet, on sait que la rate module l'expression/exposition des antigènes parasitaires à la surface de l'érythrocyte infecté. Ceci a permis d'identifier 185 gènes dont le niveau expression est modulé par la rate. Certains de ces gènes codent pour des polypeptides liés à la cytoadhérence et /ou à la variation antigénique. Il est intéressant de noter que cette analyse a mis en lumière la modulation de l'expression de molécules accessoires appartenant aux " knobs ", en particulier hrp1. Jusqu'à présent, l'accès aux puces à ADN se faisait grâce à une collaboration établie avec le laboratoire de J.DeRisi (UCSF). Cette année, en collaboration avec la Génopole de l'Institut Pasteur (J.Y Coppée), nous avons contribué à la mise en place d'une plate forme " puces à ADN " permettant l'étude du transcriptome de P.falciparum sur le campus. Les puces sont composées de plus de 6200 oligomères de 70 bases, synthétisés d'après les données accessibles de la séquence du génome parasitaire. Ceci va nous permettre d'étudier les conséquences sur le transcriptome parasitaire de l'inactivation ou du remplacement allélique des gènes resa et hrp1, ainsi que l'effet de différentes conditions environnementales (pression immune, splénectomie de l'hôte, conditions de culture).

4. Rôle de l'activation immune dans la physiopathologie du paludisme (C.Behr, S. Loizon, P.Boeuf, F. Remerand, I. Vigan, J.C.Michel).

Les lymphocytes Tgd sont fortement activés lors de l'accès palustre. Pour mieux comprendre les conséquences de cette activation, nous avons entrepris une analyse détaillée du répertoire chez des enfants en bonne santé et en accès palustre. La représentation périphérique des sous-populations de cellules Tgd chez les africains en bonne santé (adultes et enfants) est différente de ce qui a été préalablement décrit chez les européens. Chez les enfants en accès aigu, la sous-population Td1 est activée transitoirement. L'analyse des chaînes Vg ne montre aucune association préférentielle chez les enfants en accès palustre. L'analyse par immunoscope n'a pas mis en évidence d'expansion clonale préférentielle. On observe aussi une activation, mais moins importante, des cellules T Vd2g9. Le marquage intracellulaire ex vivo montre que les cellules T Vg9 sont fortement productrices de TNF-a, alors que les Vd1 sont fortement productrices d'IFN-g. On n'observe pas de variation notable du nombre total de cellules Tgd circulantes et du rapport Vd1/Vg9 dans les diverses formes cliniques de paludisme (non compliqué, anémie grave et neuropaludisme). Nos résultats sont compatibles avec un rôle de la population Vd1 dans la régulation du système immunitaire et le retour à l'homéostasie.

L'analyse des profils de cytokines associés à différentes formes cliniques de paludisme a montré que le neuropaludisme est associé à des niveaux significativement plus élevés d'IL-2R que l'anémie sévère ou l'accès simple. L‘anémie sévère est, quant à elle, associée à des niveaux plus faibles de TNFR (I et II). Les travaux portant sur l'activation des cellules immunocompétentes des sujets africains est réalisé en collaboration avec le Dr.D. Akanmori du Noguchi Memorial Institute (Ghana) et le Dr. L. Hviid du Righshospitalet (Denmark).

Le sepsis et le sepsis sévère présentent des analogies intéressantes avec l'accès palustre simple et le paludisme grave, avec comme principal élément contribuant à la pathologie, l'existence d'une inflammation systémique. En collaboration avec l'unité de soins intensifs de l'Hôpital Lariboisière à Paris, nous avons effectué un suivi longitudinal de malades souffrant de sepsis sévère ou d'inflammation locale intense. Nous avons mesuré le niveau d'expression de HLA-DR à la surface des monocytes ainsi que celui des molécules co-stimulatrices CD80 et CD54 par cytométrie de flux quantitative ex vivo ou après stimulation in vitro par le LPS. Ceci a montré que l'inactivation monocytaire est un phénomène général qui induit une régulation négative de l'HLA-DR, mais aussi d'autres molécules co-stimulatrices jouant un rôle important dans l'activation des cellules T. Nous étudions actuellement sur une nouvelle cohorte de patients les conséquences de cette " immunodépression " sur les cellules dendritiques.

Nous avons consacré d'importants efforts à l'établissement de conditions expérimentales ainsi qu'à la mise au point d'outils immunologiques et génétiques nécessaires aux études de la physiopathologie de l'infection par P.falciparum chez le singe-écureuil. Nous avons en particulier criblé des anticorps monoclonaux permettant l'identification fonctionnelle de sous populations monocytaires et identifié des paires d'amorces permettant l'amplification par RT-PCR des principales cytokines pro et anti-inflammatoires. Ceci nous a permis d'établir différents paramètres biologiques de base et les profils d'activation normaux chez des animaux naïfs non infectés ainsi que d'analyser la cinétique d'activation des différentes sous-populations cellulaires au cours de l'infection par P.falciparum .



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

LECUILLER Frédérique, Secrétaire I.P., (flecuil@pasteur.fr)

BEHR Charlotte, CR1 CNRS, (charlotte.behr@pasteur.fr)

BONNEFOY Serge, Chargé de Recherche I.P., (sbf@pasteur.fr)

BONNET Sarah, Chercheur post-doctoral en CDD, (sbonnet@pasteur.fr)

DAVID Peter, DR2 CNRS, (pdavid@paseur.fr)

DELRIEU Isabelle, chercheur post-doctoral (sur PTR), (idelrieu@pasteur.fr)

LONGACRE Shirley, DR2 CNRS (longacre@pasteur.fr)

MICHEL Jean-Claude, Chef de laboratoire I.P., (jcmichel@pasteur.fr)

PUIJALON Odile, Chef de Laboratoire I.P. Chef d’Unité, (omp@pasteur.fr)

BŒUF Philippe, étudiant thèse, (pboeuf@pasteur.fr)

DIEZ SILVA Monica, étdiante thèse, (mdiez@pasteur.fr)

NORANATE Nitchakarn, étudiante thèse, (noranate@pasteur.fr)

REMERAND Francis, étudiant thèse, (remerand@pasteur.fr)

SCHNEIDER Achim, stagiaire post-doctoral, (achimsch@pasteur.fr)

VIGAN Inès, stagiaire post-doctoral, (ivigan@pasteur.fr)

GUILLOTTE Micheline, Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire I.P., (mguillot@pasteur.fr)

HUYNH QUAN DAT Myoura, Technicienne Supérieure de labloratoire I.P., (dat@pasteur.fr)

JOUIN Hélène, Ingénieur I.P. position 3, (hajouin@pasteur.fr)

LOIZON Séverine, Ingénieur d’Etudes, CNRS, (sloizon@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.