Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Imchan


  Director : Pierre-André CAZENAVE (cazenave@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory focusses on immunophysiopathological processes during parasitic infections (Chagas disease and malaria), as well as fundamental studies of immune repertoires.



  report

cale

Study of the plasticity of the immune system (A. Six, P.A. Cazenave)

We study the plasticity of the immune system and more particularly of the B compartment (B lymphocytes and immunoglobulins) in extreme situations where the VH and VL regions germinal repertoire is very reduced. For this purpose, we derived a C57BL/6 congenic mouse, T15i.K-.l SEG. It is knocked-out for the expression of the k Ig light chains and possesses the M.spretus SEG mouse l locus which is characterized by a deletion of the l1-l3 unit of recombination and thus expresses only 2 Vl (Vl2 and Vlx); it is transgenic ("knock-in") for the VHT15 (this gene codes for the rearranged heavy chain of the TEPC15 myeloma presenting an anti-phosphorylcholin activity). We first characterized the lSEG locus and studied the repertoire of immunoglobulins and B lymphocytes (before and after immunization against two model antigens) of the B6.k-.lSEG mouse, intermediate of the B6.T15i.k-.lSEG "ultra-monoclonal" mouse. This study was carried out with a great variety of techniques: RIA, ELISA, SDS-PAGE, FACS, anchored PCR and Immunoscope. Having recently obtained the B6.T15i.k-.lSEG mouse, the same study is in course for this mouse.

The B6.T15i.k-.lSEG mouse model provides a remarkable tool to analyse the evolution of the lymphocyte repertoire, not only at the systemic level but also in various lymphocyte compartments. Indeed, a flux cytometry analysis allows to distinguish (and consequently to isolate) four B cell sub-populations characterized by the variable domains that they express at their surface: VHT15+, lx+; VHT15,l2+; VHT15-,lx+; VHT15-,l2+. The appropriate use of antibodies allows to sort out the B lymphocyte sub-populations according to their belonging to B1-a , B1-b or B2 groups, and this in various lymphocyte compartments. One can thus analyse the repertoire of these various lymphocyte compartments but also study their future in various situations following transfer into immunodeficient mice.

Tolerance of CD8+ T cells to the kappa light chains (Lk) of maternal immunoglobulins. (D. Rueff-Juy)

Analyzing T cell repertoire and functions in k-/- pups born to heterozygote k+/- knock-out mother (k+/-) we could show (1) that tolerance of Ck specific CD8+ T cells, which is strong until 5 weeks of age, is reversible and wanes with the decrease of Igk concentration in the pup's sera and suggest (2) that CD4+ regulatory T cells play a fundamental role in tolerance of CD8+ T cells since anti-CD4 mAb treatment abolishes this state of tolerance. The antigen recognized by regulatory T cells remains in most cases and particularly in non-transgenic models a large mystery. To investigate this important question we have introduced the k mutation in A or in CD1 knock-out mice (k-/- A-/- and k-/- CD1-/-). In k-/- A-/- mice, the CD4 population is strongly decreased and part of remaining CD4 cells are known to be selected on the CD1 molecule and to mainly consist of NKT cells.

Using both types of mice in conjunction with control antibodies or anti-CD4 mAb we show that the CD8+ anti-Ck T cells are tolerized by I-A- but not by CD1- restricted CD4 regulatory cells. These tools should allow us to direct our search towards the characterization of the antigenic structure recognized by the CD4 regulatory T cells.

Immunopathology of Trypanosoma cruzi infectieux process (P. Minoprio)

We have previously proposed that mitogens and superantigens, moieties that are essential components of micro-organisms can be responsible for the initiation of non-specific polyclonal lymphocyte responses and, per se, explain the strategy used by pathogens to avoid the host immune responses and to ensure persistence. We had shown that metacyclic infective forms of Trypanosoma cruzi secrete molecules responsible for such a mechanism of immune evasion. Using biochemical and molecular approaches we described a T-cell independent, B-cell mitogenic parasite protein (TcPA45) involved in polyclonal activation of B lymphocytes. The analysis of genomic organization and transcription of the gene encoding TcPA45 showed the presence of two alleles per haploid genome located in different parasite chromosomes and differential mRNA transcription in different parasite stages. Immunolocalization of TcPA45 protein confirmed that non-infective and infective parasite forms differentially express intracellular and secreted forms of TcPA45. Interestingly, we described that TcPA45 protein is also the first eukaryotic proline racemase, an enzyme that catalyses the inteconversion of L- and D-proline enantiomers. Both TcPA45 isoforms are co-factor independent proline racemases with similar Vmax and Kmax values, specific buffer and pH requirements that are compatible with the enzyme being functional in either internal or external cell compartments. Moreover, TcPA45 mitogenic activity is abolished or severely compromised whenever enzymatic activity is inhibited by specific inhibitors or substrate excess. We have also shown that engineered parasites that overexpress Tc45 gene/protein do better differentiate and are more invasive to host cells with greater pathological effect in vitro and in vivo. Conversely, parasites bearing antisense constructs of the Tc45 gene have severe growth difficulties, or are not viable, suggesting that proline racemase may be essential for parasite metabolism and virulence. These recent findings have vast implications for parasite biology and pathogenicity, as well as for the possible roles of D-amino acids in immune phenomena. Additionally, given the important immunoregulatory role mediated by natural antibodies, putative deviations in the pre-existing antibody repertoires in susceptible or resistant hosts could be important to facilitate or neutralize parasite induced mitogenic polyclonal activation. Our results thus suggest that the control of mitogenic/racemase parasite activities would be a major target for immune intervention and would favor and re-directs host immune reactions to the parasite resulting in a improved prognosis.((Laboratory web site)

Study of the TCRB repertoire during the mouse cerebral malaria (A. Six, S. Pied, P.A. Cazenave)

In B10.D2 mice, a T cell expansion was noted during infection by P.berghei ANKA in individuals developing cerebral malaria (CM+). We then started to study the repertoire of the T lymphocytes of the blood and spleen during P. berghei infection of B10.D2 mice to determine the nature of the T expansion and to study the evolution of the repertoire in CM+ mice by comparison to infected mice that do not develop cerebral malaria (CM-).

The Immunoscope technique was used to obtain a qualitative image of the TCRB repertoire by the description the CDR3 length profiles for each V gene segment. Due to the high number of samples to analyse, we developed a set of software (ISEAPEAKS®, Institut Pasteur) to allow computer analysis of the data. The first program does the automatic extraction, smoothing, sorting and formatting of Immunoscope raw data in an Excel sheet. The second programs allows to assemble the data from various samples and analyse this peak database. Various scoring methods of the disturbance of immune repertoires were implemented and used as well as a new method specifically dedicated to searching recurrent oligoclonal expansions.

We were able to determine that the V8+ cell expansion is polyclonal, excluding the possibility of a classical antigenic stimulation. On the other hand, this approach allowed us to choose the most perturbed V presenting the most recurrent oligoclonal expansions for a more detailed analysis by the study of the V-J CDR3 length distribution. Again, the most perturbed combinations, presenting significant recurrent oligoclonal expansions were chosen for sequencing. Recurrent rearrangements were found the association of which with cerebral malaria under scrutiny.

Genetic determinism of the resistance to malaria after infection of the mouse by Plasmodium berghei ANKA( S Pied, P.A. Cazenave)

The majority of the laboratory mouse strains infected by the lethal P.berghei ANKA line develop fatal cerebral malaria (CM), with the exception of the DBA/2 mouse which is resistant (CM). We showed that it is protected from CM due to the integration in its genome of a proviral sequence (mtv7) which includes an ORF region coding for a superantigen. The CM resistant mice die later from hemolytic anaemia due to hyperparasitemia (HP+).

Analysis of a series of 12 new mouse strains, derived from individuals trapped in very different Eurasian regions, allowed us to identify 6 strains that present the CM- phenotype of strong resistance to CM. As it was expected, these CM- mice die from the consequence of hyperparasitemia (HP+).

To determine the genetic bases of resistance to CM, we crossed one of these CM- mice (W line) with the C57BL/6 mouse which is particularly sensitive (CM+). The F1 individuals had the CM- phenotype of the W parental line. To screen loci which would contribute to the resistance, we analysed a cohort of mice resulting from back-crosses with the other C57BL/6 parental line. An analysis of the genome of this cohort led us to demonstrate a significant association of the CM- phenotype to two genetic regions: one on chromosome 1 (c 2= 18.99, p < 1.3x10-5), the other one on chromosome 11 (c 2 = 16.51, p < 4.8x10-5). In a second series of experiments, we analysed mice of the F2 generation. We observed in 17 % of the F2 individuals, an unexpected phenotype, until then unknown in the infection by P.berghei. These CM- mice also present a HP- phenotype of resistance to hyperparasitemia which they control perfectly and survive. We showed that this HP- phenotype is associated to two genetic regions: one on chromosome 9 (c 2= 14.53 , p=0.001), the other one on chromosome 11 (c 2= 14.78, p < 0.001).



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Berson Michèle, IP, (mberson@pasteur.fr)

MINOPRIO Paola, IP, (pmm@pasteur.fr)

PIED Sylviane, CNRS, (spied@pasteur.fr)

ROLAND Jacques, CNRS, (jroland@pasteur.fr)

RUEFF-JUY Dominique, CNRS, (rueffjuy@pasteur.fr)

SIX Adrien, Université Pierre et Marie Curie (Adrien.Six@pasteur.fr)

AMRANI Yacine, PhD student.

BAGOT Sébastien, PhD student.

CHAMOND Nathalie, PhD student.

COLLETTE Alexis, PhD student.

GREGOIRE Christophe, Post-Doctorant.

SOULARD Valérie, PhD student.

BARBIER Eliane, IP (ebarbier@pasteur.fr)

BERNEMAN Armand, IP (berneman@pasteur.fr)

CORRE Jean-Philippe, IP (jphc@pasteur.fr)

COSSON Alain, IP (acosson@pasteur.fr)

COTNOAN Nicolas, IP (coatnoan@pasteur.fr)

DRAPIER Anne-Marie, CNRS, (amdrapie@pasteur.fr)

GORGETTE Olivier, IP, (ogorgett@pasteur.fr)

VOEGTLE Danièle, CNRS, (dvoegtle@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Imchan


  Responsable : Pierre-André CAZENAVE (cazenave@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les activités de recherche de l'Unité concernent l'immunophysiopathologie d'infections parasitaires: maladie de Chagas et paludisme en parallèle avec des études plus fondamentales portant sur les répertoires immuns.



  rapport

cale

Etude de la plasticité du Système Immunitaire. (A. Six, P.A. Cazenave)

Nous étudions la plasticité du système immunitaire et plus particulièrement du compartiment B (lymphocytes B et Ig) dans des situations extrêmes où le répertoire germinal des régions VH et VL est très réduit. Dans ce but, nous avons dérivé une souris congénique de C57BL/6 (T15i.K-.l SEG). Elle est invalidée pour l'expression des chaînes légères K et possède le locus l SEG de la souris SEG (M.spretus) qui se caractérise par une délétion de l'unité de recombinaison l 1 l 3 et n'exprime donc que 2 Vl (Vl 2 et Vl x) ; elle est transgénique (" knock-in ") pour le VHT15 (ce gène code pour la chaîne lourde réarrangée du myélome TEPC15 présentant une activité anti-phosphorylcholine). Nous avons d'abord caractérisé le locus l SEG et étudié le répertoire des immunoglobulines et des lymphocytes B (avant et après immunisation contre des antigènes modèles) de la souris B6.k -.l EG, intermédiaire de la souris " ultra-monoclonale " B6.T15i. k -.l SEG. Cette étude a été menée avec une grande variété de techniques : RIA, ELISA, SDS-PAGE, FACS, PCR ancrée et Immunoscope. Ayant récemment obtenu la souris B6.T15i. k -. l SEG, la même étude est en cours pour cette dernière.

Le modèle de la souris B6.T15i. k -. l SEG offre un outil remarquable pour analyser l'évolution du répertoire des lymphocytes B, non seulement au niveau systémique mais aussi dans les différents compartiments lymphocytaires. En effet, une image par cytométrie de flux permet de distinguer (et par conséquence d'isoler) quatre sous-populations B caractérisées par les domaines variables qu'elles expriment à leur surface : VHT15+, l x+ ; VHT15+, l 2+ ; VHT15-, l x+ ; VHT15-, l 2+. L'utilisation appropriée d'anticorps permet de trier les lymphocytes B de ces sous-populations selon leur appartenance aux groupes B1-a, B1-b ou B2, et ceci dans différents compartiments lymphocytaires. On peut ainsi non seulement analyser le répertoire de ces différents compartiments lymphocytaires mais encore étudier leur devenir dans différentes situations à la suite de leur transfert chez des souris immunodéficientes.

Tolérance des cellules T CD8+ aux chaines légères kappa (Lk ) des immunoglobulines maternelles. (D. Rueff-Juy)

L'analyse du répertoire et de la fonction des cellules T de souris déficientes en chaines (Lk ) (k -/-) nées de mères hétérozygotes (k +/-) nous a permis (1) de montrer que la tolérance des cellules T spécifiques de Ck , est de forte intensité jusqu'à l'âge de 5 semaines, puis diminue avec la décroissance d'Ig maternelles dans le sang des descendants (2) et de suggérer que des cellules régulatrices de type CD4 étaient impliquées dans la tolérance des cellules CD8+ spécifiques de Ck , dans la mesure où la tolérance était rompue quelques jours après l'injection d'anticorps anti-CD4.

L'antigène reconnu par les cellules régulatrices est dans la plupart des cas inconnu et ceci particulièrement dans les modèles physiologiques (non-transgéniques). Afin de caractériser l'antigène impliqué dans notre modèle expérimental nous avons introduit la mutation k chez des souris déficientes en molécules de classe II du MHC (k -/- Ab -/-) ou en molécules CD1(k -/- CD1-/-). Chez les souris (k -/- Ab -/-) la population CD4+ est fortement diminuée. Il a été démontré que la population CD4+ restante est sélectionnée sur la molécule CD1 et qu'elle consiste principalement en cellules NKT. L'étude conjointe de la réponse CD8 anti-Ck chez ces 2 types de souris ainsi que le traitement par des anticorps témoins ou des anticorps anti-CD4 vient de nous montrer que les cellules CD4 impliquées ne sont pas restreintes par la molécules CD1 mais par la molécule I-A. Nous envisageons actuellement de caractériser la molécule reconnue par les CD4 régulatrices.

Immunopathologie du processus infectieux à Trypanosoma cruzi. (Paola Minoprio)

Nous avons précédemment proposé que les mitogènes et les superantigènes, composants essentiels des microorganismes peuvent être responsables de réponses lymphocytaires polyclonales et non spécifiques et ainsi, expliqueraient la stratégie utilisée par des pathogènes pour circonscrire les défenses immunitaires de l'hôte et assurer leur survie. Nous avons montré que les formes métacycliques infectieuses de Trypanosoma cruzi sécrètent des molécules responsables d'un tel mécanisme d'évasion immune. En utilisant différentes techniques nous avons décrit une protéine parasitaire (TcPA45) impliquée dans l'activation polyclonale des lymphocytes B et dont l'activité mitogénique est indépendante des cellules T. Nous avons décelés deux gènes codant TcPA45 par génome, localisées sur deux chromosomes différents et observé une transcription différentielle de ces gènes dans des stades différents du développement du parasite. L'immunolocalisation de la protéine TcPA45 confirme que les formes infectieuses et non-infectieuses du parasite expriment différentiellement TcPA45 intracellulaire et sécrétée. Nous avons décrit que TcPA45 est aussi la première proline racémase eucaryote observée. Les isoformes de TcPA45 ont des Vmax et Kmax similaires et des exigences de pH compatibles avec une activité enzymatique à la fois dans les compartiments internes et externes de la cellule. Il est important de signaler que l'activité mitogènique est abolie ou fortement inhibée par les inhibiteurs du site catalytique. Par ailleurs, les parasites portant des constructions anti-sens du gène TcPA45 ne sont pas viables ou difficilement, ce qui suggère que la protéine racémase doit être essentielle pour le métabolisme du parasite. Inversement, les parasites qui surexpriment la TcPA45 envahissent plus efficacement les cellules de l'hôte suggérant un rôle de la protéine racémase dans la virulence du parasite . Les résultats ont des implications importantes pour la biologie du parasite et sa pathogénicité, aussi bien que sur le rôle possible des acides aminés D dans le phénomène immun. Etant donné le rôle immunoregulateur important joué par les anticorps naturels, des déviations possibles dans le répertoire préexistant d'anticorps chez les hôtes résistants ou sensibles pourraient être essentielles pour faciliter ou neutraliser l'activation polyclonale induite par le parasite. Nos résultats suggèrent ainsi que le contrôle des activités de la racémase mitogènique pourrait être une cible importante pour une intervention immune.(Site web du laboratoire)

Etude du répertoire TCRb lors du neuropaludisme chez la souris (A. Six, S.Pied, P.A. Cazenave)

Dans les modèles murins de neuropaludisme, les lymphocytes T sont nécessaires à la survenue de la neuropathologie. Nous avions mis en évidence chez les souris B10.D2 infectées par P.berghei ANKA et développant un neuropaludisme (CM+) une expansion de lymphocytes T Vb 8+. Nous avons alors entrepris d'étudier le répertoire des lymphocytes Ta b du sang et de la rate de la même lignée de souris après infection par P. berghei afin de déterminer la nature de l'expansion de lymphocytes T Vb 8+ et d'étudier l'évolution de l'ensemble du répertoire chez les souris CM+ par comparaison aux souris infectées ne présentant pas de neuropaludisme (CM-).

La technique Immunoscope a été utilisée pour obtenir une image qualitative du répertoire TCRb par la description des profils de tailles de CDR3 pour chaque segment génique Vb . Un nombre important d'échantillons ayant été analysé, nous avons écrit un ensemble de logiciels (ISEApeaks®, Institut Pasteur) pour permettre l'analyse informatique des données. Le premier programme assure automatiquement l'extraction, le lissage, le tri et le formatage dans Excel des données issues du logiciel Immunoscope. Un second programme permet d'assembler les données issues de différents échantillons et d'analyser ces données. Différentes méthodes d'analyses de la perturbation de répertoires immunitaires ont été implémentées et utilisées ainsi qu'une nouvelle méthode spécifiquement dédiée à la recherche d'expansions oligoclonales récurrentes.

Nous avons pu ainsi déterminer que l'expansion de cellules Vb 8+ est de nature polyclonale, excluant la possibilité d'une stimulation antigénique classique. D'autre part, cette approche nous a permis de choisir les Vb les plus perturbés et présentant le plus d'expansions oligoclonales récurrentes pour une analyse plus en détail par l'étude de la répartition des tailles de CDR3 des combinaisons Vb -Jb . De même, les combinaisons les plus perturbées et présentant les expansions oligoclonales les plus récurrentes ont été choisies pour le séquençage direct des réarrangements afin de déterminer leur clonalité. Des réarrangements récurrents ont été trouvés dont l'association avec le neuropaludisme est en cours d'analyse.

Déterminisme génétique de la résistance au paludisme après infection de la souris par Plasmodium berghei ANKA. (S. Pied, P.A. Cazenave)

La majorité des lignées de souris de laboratoire infectées par la souche létale P. berghei ANKA développent un neuropaludisme (CM) fatal, à l'exception de la souris DBA/2 qui est résistante (CM-). Nous avons montré qu'elle était protégée du CM par l'intégration dans son génome d'une séquence provirale (mtv7) qui inclue une région ORF codant un superantigène. Les souris résistantes au CM meurent plus tardivement d'anémie hémolytique due à l'hyperparasitémie (HP+).

Le survol d'une série de 12 lignées consanguines nouvelles, dérivées de couples capturés dans la nature en des régions eurasiennes très diverses, nous a permis d'en détecter 6 qui présentent un phénotype CM- de forte résistance au CM. Comme on l'escomptait, ces souris CM- meurent des conséquences de l'hyperparasitémie (HP+).

Pour évaluer les bases génétiques de la résistance au CM, nous avons croisé l'une de ces souris CM- (souris W) avec la souris C57BL/6 qui est particulièrement sensible (CM+). Les individus F1 ont le phénotype CM- de la lignée parentale W. Pour cribler les locus qui contribueraient à la résistance, nous avons analysé une cohorte de souris résultant de croisements en retour avec l'autre lignée parentale C57BL/6. Une analyse du génome de cette cohorte nous a permis de démontrer une association significative du phénotype CM- à deux régions génétiques disctinctes : l'une sur le chromosome 1 (c 2= 18,99, p<1,3x10-5), l'autre sur le chromosome 11 (c 2= 16,51, p<4,8x10-5). Dans une deuxième série d'expériences, nous avons analysé les souris de la génération F2. Nous avons observé chez 17% des individus, un phénotype inattendu, jusqu'alors inconnu dans l'infection par P.berghei. Il s'agit de souris CM- qui présentent aussi un phénotype HP- de résistance à l'hyperparasitémie qu'elles contrôlent parfaitement et survivent. Nous avons montré que ce phénotype HP- est lié à deux régions génétiques : l'une sur le chromosome 9 (c 2= 14,53, p=0,001), l'autre sur le chromosome 11 (c 2= 14,78, p<0,001).



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Berson Michèle, IP (mberson@pasteur.fr)

MINOPRIO Paola, Chef de Laboratoire IP, (pmm@pasteur.fr)

PIED Sylviane, CR1 CNRS, (spied@pasteur.fr)

ROLAND Jacques, CR1 CNRS, (jroland@pasteur.fr)

RUEFF-JUY Dominique, DR2 CNRS, (rueffjuy@pasteur.fr)

SIX Adrien, MC Université Pierre et Marie Curie (Adrien.Six@pasteur.fr)

AMRANI Yacine, Doctorant.

BAGOT Sébastien, Doctorant.

CHAMOND Nathalie, Doctorante.

COLLETTE Alexis, Doctorant.

GREGOIRE Christophe, Post-Doctorant.

SOULARD Valérie, Doctorante.

BARBIER Eliane, IR IP (ebarbier@pasteur.fr)

BERNEMAN Armand, IR IP (berneman@pasteur.fr)

CORRE Jean-Philippe, TS2D, IP (jphc@pasteur.fr)

COSSON Alain, TQL, IP (acosson@pasteur.fr)

COTNOAN Nicolas, TDVPI, IP (coatnoan@pasteur.fr)

DRAPIER Anne-Marie, IE CNRS, (amdrapie@pasteur.fr)

GORGETTE Olivier, TS2D IP, (ogorgett@pasteur.fr)

VOEGTLE Danièle IE CNRS, (dvoegtle@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.