Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Ida


  Director : LAFAYE Pierre (plafaye@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The activity of the Laboratory of Antibody Engineering is centered on studies of the function and structure of mouse and human monoclonal antibodies against microorganisms, bacterial or eukaryote toxins. The main objectives are the preparation and analysis of recombinant antibodies, in vitro antigenic stimulation, investigation of cellular receptor of autoantibodies, study of autoantibodies with catalytic activity and identification of peptides with various biological properties (e. g. enzyme inhibition) using phage display technology.

Moreover, the Laboratory establishes collaborations with Research Units of the Pasteur Institute or with other Research Institutions by preparing and characterizing mouse monoclonal antibodies of particular specificity.



  report

cale

Development of novel therapeutic treatments for respiratory infections using antibodies delivered at mucosal surfaces (Pierre Lafaye)

This project was financed internally as part of the "Projet Transversal de Recherche" (PTR) in collaboration with Jean-Michel Alonso and Muhammed-Kheir Taha, Neisseria unit, Hugues Bedouelle and Patrick England, Cellular Biochemistry unit and Sylvie Bay, Organic Chemistry Unit.

This project aims at developing a new therapeutic approach to fight against bacterial infections of the respiratory tract. This approach is based on the use of antibodies directed against phosphorylcholine (PC), which is a characteristic feature of many pathogenic bacteria. Our study focus on two major respiratory pathogens, Neisseria meningitidis and Streptococcus pneumoniae. Subsequently, if the results obtained are promising, this study could be extended to other pathogens expressing PC, such as Haemophilus influenzae. The three bacteria mentioned, whose natural habitat is the human upper respiratory tract, are responsible on the one hand of local infections (tonsilitis, otitis, pneumonia, etc.) and on the other hand of systemic infections such as septicemia and meningitis, after crossing the blood and hemato-encephalic barriers.

We will therefore:

- purify bacterial antigens containing PC, and synthesize chemically-defined mimes.

- produce human and murine antibodies targetting PC in its bacterial native context.

- evaluate the efficacy of the antibodies in preclinical in vitro and in vivo models.

Monoclonal antibodies against bacterial toxins (Pierre Lafaye)

Monoclonal antibodies specific for bacterial toxins may be very useful for diagnosis and therapeutics. We have developped a collaboration with the Toxins and Bacterial Pathogenesis Unit. With Michelle Mock and her team, we have obtained monoclonal antibodies against the three proteins (PA, LF and EF) responsible of the Bacillus anthracis toxicity. These antibodies have been characterized and preliminary studies show that they are able to neutralize the bacterial toxicity. The collaboration with Michel-Robert Popoff and his group started recently. Recombinant antibodies (scFvs) specific for botulinic toxins have been obtained and their characterization are in progress.

Obtention of human antibodies by in vitro antigenic stimulation and combinatorial library (Farida Nato)

To produce human antibodies directed against non-vaccinating antigens, it is essential to immunise the lymphocytes in vitro before their immortalisation and to prepare an immune antibody library.

The lymphocytes are isolated from human tonsils, a major source of B lymphocytes (50 to 60% of the total cells) present at all the stages of differentiation. It is possible to generate a primary in vitro response by use of lymphocytes CD4+ sensitised in vivo by the tetanus toxoid because of obligatory vaccination against tetanus. The immunogen used is the T epitope of tetanus toxoid coupled to the B epitope of the antigen of interest. This approach makes it possible to obtain the switch in vitro because the polyclonal response is an IgG response (IgG2 or IgG3). It is possible to reproduce the cellular cooperation between the various immunocompetent cells present in the germinal centre. However the response remains weak and few specific B lymphocytes are present, which could explain the absence of hybridomas by immortalisation by fusion or by transformation with the Epstein Barr virus. Thus, we will use genetic engineering to produce antibody fragments. The aim is to produce specific immune libraries for antigens of interest.

Development of rapid tests for the diagnosis of plague and cholera (Farida Nato)

This project was financed internally as part of the "Projet Transversal de Recherche" (PTR) in collaboration with Suzanne Chanteau (head of the Peste/Tuberculose Unit at the Institute Pasteur, Madagascar), J. M. Fournier (head of the cholera and vibrio unit), and E Carniel (head of the Molecular and Medical Bacteriology unit). The objective is to develop an immunochromatographic test for the rapid diagnosis of the plague and cholera which are both serious bacterial diseases that must be declared and are subject to International Health Regulations. They are caused by Yersinia pestis and Vibrio cholerae (serogroups O1 and O139) respectively. The F1 antigen, a capsular glycoprotein specific toY. Pestis, is excreted in large amounts and is a good candidate for the diagnosis of the plague because it is found in large quantities in bubo aspirates, at lower concentrations in the blood and urine of patients. In the case of cholera, the lipopolysaccharide is a a good candidate for diagnosis. Diagnostic methods such as PCR, dot-blot and ELISA have been described, but they are expensive and not practicable in many developing countries. Thus, we propose to develop rapid tests that can be easily carried out by health staff. The strip is soaked in a tube containing the test sample and the results appear after 10 minutes. The interpretation of the results is easy due to the use of gold coloured particles. The strips can be sent by post and scored for a few months at room temperature. The internal value of F1 dipsticks is excellent (spécificity and sensitivity around 100%) . Two studies were done in Madagascar. The first concerned pilot health care centres. The agreement between the results obtained in the central plague laboratory and in the pilot centres was 90%. The second study was performed in central plague laboratory on suspect samples. The concordance between ELISA and Dipstick is 90%. Bacteriology is the reference method, but the use of dipstick increase about 59% the number of positive samples. To ensure a best epidemiological surveillance of the plague in Madagascar, the dipstick test will be used as complementory test to the bacteriology in central plague laboratory .

Concerning V. cholerae O139 et O1, a specific and sensitive dipstick test for the detection of LPS was performed and the field evaluation (in Bengladesh for O139 and in Madagascar for O1) is in progress.

Calreticulin, a potential cell surface receptor involved in cell penetration of anti-DNA antibodies (Nabila Seddiki-Si Ahmed)

A 50-kda protein was purified as a potential receptor, using an affinity matrix containing biotinylated F14-6 or H9-3 anti-DNA mAbs derived from autoimmune (New Zealand Black x New Zealand White)F1 mouse and membrane extracts from cells. This protein was identified as calreticulin (CRT) by microsequencing. Confocal microscopy and FACS analysis showed that CRT was present on the surface of various cells. CRT protein was recognized by a panel of anti-DNA mAbs in ELISA. The binding of F14-6 to lymphocytes and CHO cells was inhibited by soluble CRT. Thus, the anti-DNA mAbs used in this study bound to CRT, suggesting that CRT may mediate their penetration into the cells and play an important role in lupus pathogenesis.

Study of catalytic antibodies associated with systemic lupus erythematosus (Barbara Mouratou and Jean-Luc Guesdon)

The objective of this work is to define the physiological role of anti-DNA catalytic antibodies found in the sera of patients suffering from the autoimmune disease, systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE). These antibodies are able to catalyze the hydrolysis of the phosphodiester bond of nucleic acids. The strain of mice F1 NZB/NZW known to develop SLE spontaneously, has been chosen as the model for our study. A rapid screening microtiter assay (catELISA) allowing to detect efficiently the presence of catalytic antibodies in a large number of samples, has been developed. Using our catELISA, the screening of the 1284 hybridomas obtained after the fusion of the splenocytes of ten female lupic mice has allowed the selection of some supernatants, that should contain anti-DNA catalytic antibodies.

Design of genetically engineered immunological tools (Serge Pauillac and Jean-Luc Guesdon)

The hybridoma technology described by Kholer and Milstein (1975) allows the unlimited production of specific monoclonal antibodies that are used clinically and in numerous basic or applied fields of research. The specificity and affinity of such tools can be modulated by genetic engineering by successive rounds of mutation and selection. Alternatively, these tools can be directly investigated by phage display technology by screening large libraries of antibody fragments (single chain Fv or scFv) displayed on the surface of filamentous phages.

These two strategies will be developed to produce hybrid proteins (scFv-PhoAv) comprising a potent bacterial alkaline phosphatase variant (PhoAv) linked to various scFv fragments directed to staphylococcal enterotoxins (in collaboration with the Microbial Toxins Unit, AFSSA, Maisons-Alfort) or to marine toxins (e.g. saxitoxin, responsible for paralytic shellfish poisoning).

Production of murine monoclonal antibodies (Farida Nato)

In collaboration with researchers at the Institut Pasteur, the laboratory use the technique developed by Köhler and Milstein (1975) to produce murine monoclonal antibodies. In addition to the value of monoclonal antibodies can for diagnosis, they are also widely used to analyse the structure-function relationship of various models studied in fundamental research. The biochemical characteristics (isotype, measurement of the afffinities, epitope) of the produced antibodies are determined in the laboratory by immunochemical methods.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

ESNARD Muriel – I.P. (mesnard@pasteur.fr)

DEMANGEL Caroline, I.P., actuellement en stage post-doctoral.

GUESDON Jean-Luc, I.P. (guesdon@pasteur.fr)

LEDUC Mireille, Université Paris XI Orsay. (mleduc@pasteur.fr)

LAFAYE Pierre, I.P. (plafaye@pasteur.fr)

MAZIE Jean-Claude, I.P. (jcmazie@pasteur.fr)

MOURATOU-PECORARI Barbara, I.P. (Boursière, Fondation Roux), (mouratou@pasteur.fr)

EHSANI Parastoo, Chercheur, Institut Pasteur de l'Iran.

FEKI Salma, Etudiante en thèse, Faculté des Sciences de Tunis.

LECALVEZ Florence, INSA de Lyon.

PAUILLAC Serge, Chargé de Recherche, Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés

NATO Farida, I.P., Ingénieur.

SEDDIKI-SI AHMED Nabila, I.P., Ingénieur.

DARTEVELLE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne.

JEANNEQUIN Odile, I.P., Technicienne.

ROUYRE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Ida


  Responsable : LAFAYE Pierre (plafaye@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'activité du Laboratoire d'Ingénierie des Anticorps est orientée essentiellement sur l'analyse fonctionnelle et structurale des anticorps murins ou humains. Le Laboratoire s'intéresse plus particulièrement aux anticorps impliqués dans les maladies auto-immunes et aux anticorps capables de neutraliser des micro-organismes ou des toxines bactériennes ou eucaryotes.

Pour réaliser cette analyse nous utilisons et adaptons à notre objectif les techniques modernes de biologie cellulaire et de biologie moléculaire.

Ce volet est complété par une étude des antigènes, ligands ou inhibiteurs peptidiques présentés à la surface de phages (méthode du "phage display").

De plus, le Laboratoire établit des collaborations avec des Unités de l'Institut Pasteur ou d'autres organismes de Recherche dans le but d'appliquer la technologie des hybridomes à des projets de recherche fondamentale ou appliquée. Dans ce cadre, le Laboratoire a préparé et caractérisé des anticorps monoclonaux murins à spécificité fine.



  rapport

cale

Développement de nouvelles thérapies contre les infections respiratoires à l'aide d'anticorps administrés par voie topique (Pierre Lafaye)

Ce projet a obtenu un financement interne, sous forme d'un PTR, en collaboration avec Jean-Michel Alonso et Muhammed-Kheir Taha, unité des Neisseria, Hugues Bedouelle et Patrick England, unité de Biochimie Cellulaire et Sylvie Bay, unité de Chimie Organique.

Ce projet a pour but de développer une nouvelle approche thérapeutique pour combattre certaines infections bactériennes du tractus respiratoire. Cette approche est basée sur l'utilisation d'anticorps dirigés contre la phosphorylcholine (PC), qui est une structure caractéristique de nombreuses bactéries pathogènes. Notre étude porte sur 2 bactéries, Neisseria meningitidis et Streptococcus pneumoniae. Ultérieurement, si les résultats obtenus sont prometteurs, cette étude pourra être étendue à d'autres pathogènes exprimant la PC, comme Haemophilus influenzae. Les trois bactéries mentionnées, dont l'habitat naturel est le tractus respiratoire, sont responsables d'une part d'infections locales (angine, otites, pneumopathies...) et d'autre part d'infections systémiques telles que des septicémies et des méningites, par passage dans le sang et franchissement de la barrière hémato-encéphalique.

Pour cela, nous allons :

- purifier des antigènes bactériens contenant la PC, et en synthétiser des mimes chimiquement définis.

- produire des anticorps humains et murins ciblant la PC exprimée à la surface des bactéries.

- évaluer l'efficacité des anticorps dans des modèles précliniques in vitro et in vivo.

Anticorps monoclonaux dirigés contre des toxines bactériennes (Pierre Lafaye)

Des anticorps monoclonaux dirigés contre les toxines bactériennes peuvent être d'une grande utilité en diagnostic et en thérapeutique. C'est pourquoi nous avons développé une collaboration avec l'unité des Toxines et Pathogénie Microbienne pour obtenir des anticorps contre l'anthrax et la toxine botulique. La collaboration avec Michelle Mock et son équipe nous a permis d'obtenir des anticorps dirigés contre les 3 protéines (PA, LF et EF) responsables de la toxicité de Bacillus anthracis. Ces anticorps ont été caractérisés et des études préliminaires semblent montrer qu'ils sont capables de neutraliser les effets toxiques de Bacillus anthracis. La collaboration avec Michel-Robert Popoff et son groupe a débuté récemment. Des anticorps recombinants simple-chaîne (scFv) dirigés contre la toxine botulique ont été obtenus et sont en cours de caractérisation. 

Obtention d'anticorps humains par stimulation antigénique in vitro et librairie combinatoire (Farida Nato)

Pour produire des anticorps humains contre les antigènes non vaccinants, il est indispensable d'immuniser in vitro les lymphocytes avant leur immortalisation pour obtenir une librairie immune d'anticorps.

Les lymphocytes proviennent des amygdales, source intéressante de lymphocytes B car ils représentent 50 à 60% des cellules totales, présents à tous les stades de différenciation. Il est possible de générer une réponse primaire in vitro en utilisant les lymphocytes CD4+ sensibilisés in vivo par l'anatoxine tétanique du fait de la vaccination obligatoire contre le tetanos. L'immunogène utilisé est l'épitope T de l'anatoxine tétanique (ATT) couplé à l'épitope B de l'antigène d'intérêt. Cette approche permet d'obtenir la commutation isotypique in vitro car la réponse polyclonale est de type IgG (IgG2 ou IgG3). Il est possible de reproduire dans les grandes lignes la coopération cellulaire entre les différentes cellules immunocompétentes présentes dans le centre germinatif. La réponse ainsi obtenue reste cependant faible et peu de lymphocytes B spécifiques sont présents, ce qui peut expliquer l'absence d'hybridomes par immortalisation par fusion ou par transformation par le virus de Epstein Barr. Pour ces raisons, nous produisons les fragments d'anticorps par génie génétique et voulons fabriquer des librairies immunes spécifiques pour l'antigène d'intérêt.

Développement de tests rapides pour le diagnostic de la peste et du choléra (Farida Nato)

Ce projet a obtenu un financement interne jusqu'en juillet 2002 sous forme de Projet Transversal de Recherche (PTR) en collaboration avec Suzanne Chanteau chef d'Unité Peste/Tuberculose de l'Institut Pasteur de Madagascar, J. M. Fournier chef d'Unité du choléra et des vibrions, et E. Carniel chef d'Unité de Bactériologie Moléculaire et Médicale.

L'objectif est de disposer d'un test immunochromatographique simple et rapide pour le diagnostic de la peste et du choléra qui sont 2 maladies bactériennes graves, à déclaration obligatoire et soumises au règlement sanitaire international. Elles sont dues respectivement à Yersinia pestis et Vibrio cholerae. L'antigène F1, une glycoprotéine capsulaire spécifique de Y. pestis, excrété en abondance est parfaitement indiqué pour le diagnostic de la peste car il est présent en grande quantité dans le bubon, dans le sang et les urines des patients à de plus faibles concentrations. Dans le cas du choléra, le lipopolysaccharide est un bon candidat pour le diagnostic. Toutes les méthodes disponibles (PCR, ELISA, Dot-blot) sont difficiles à mettre en œuvre dans les pays en voie de développement. C'est pourquoi nous avons proposé de développer des tests rapides et simples à réaliser par des agents de santé. La bandelette doit être trempée dans un tube contenant l'échantillon à tester et la lecture se fait après 10 minutes. L'interprétation des résultats est aisée grâce à l'utilisation de particules d'or colorées. Les bandelettes peuvent être expédiées sous enveloppe et conservées quelques mois à température ambiante. La qualité intrinsèque du test de détection de l'antigène F1 est excellente (spécificité et sensibilité proches de 100%. Deux études ont été conduites à Madagascar. La première a concerné les districts et les centres de santé. La concordance entre les résultats des bandelettes réalisées au laboratoire central et dans ces centres périphériques est de 90% La deuxième étude a été réalisée au laboratoire central de la peste, sur des prélèvements suspects. La corrélation entre l'ELISA et la bandelette est de 90%. La bactériologie reste la méthode de référence, mais l'utilisation de la bandelette augmente de 59% le nombre de prélèvements positifs. Afin d'assurer une meilleure surveillance épidémiologique de la peste à Madagascar, l'immunochromatographie sera adoptée au Laboratoire Central comme test complémentaire à la bactériologie.

Concernant V. cholerae O139 et O1, un test spécifique et sensible pour la détection du LPS est obtenu et la validation sur le terrain (Bengladesh pour O139 et Madagascar pour O1) est en cours.

La Calréticuline est un récepteur potentiel, impliqué dans la pénétration cellulaire des anticorps anti-ADN (Nabila Seddiki-Si Ahmed)

Une protéine de 50kDa a été purifiée comme un récepteur potentiel à partir d'extraits membranaires de cellules lymphocytaires et d'anticorps anti-ADN, F14-6 ou H9-3 (provenant d'une fusion de souris lupique F1 (New Zealand Black x New Zealand White) biotinylés puis fixés sur une colonne d'immunoaffinité. Cette protéine a été identifiée par micro-séquençage comme étant la calréticuline. La microscopie confocale et les analyses de cytomètrie en flux montrent que la calréticuline est présente à la surface de nombreux types cellulaires. Elle est reconnue par différents anticorps anti-ADN en ELISA. La fixation de F14-6 sur les lymphocytes et les cellules CHO est inhibée par la calréticuline soluble. Ainsi, les anticorps anti-ADN utilisés dans cette étude se fixent sur la calréticuline, suggérant que celle-ci pourrait jouer un rôle dans leur pénétration intra-cellulaire et par conséquent dans la pathogénèse du lupus.

Étude des anticorps catalytiques associés au lupus érythémateux systémique (Barbara Mouratou et Jean-Luc Guesdon)

L'objectif de ce travail est de définir le rôle physiologique des anticorps anti-ADN catalytiques présents dans les sérums des patients atteints de lupus érythémateux systémique (LES), maladie auto-immune, et capables de catalyser l'hydrolyse de la liaison phosphodiester des acides nucléiques. La lignée de souris F1 NZB/NZW, connue pour présenter spontanément un LES, a été choisi comme modèle d'étude. Une méthode rapide de criblage (catELISA) permettant de détecter avec efficacité la présence d'anticorps catalytiques dans un grand nombre d'échantillons, a été développée. Le criblage des 1284 hybridomes obtenus par fusion des cellules spléniques de dix souris femelle lupiques, qui a débuté récemment, à l'aide de notre catELISA a déjà permis de sélectionner de surnageants contenant potentiellement des anticorps anti-ADN catalytiques.

Mise au point de réactifs immunologiques issus du génie génétique (Serge Pauillac et Jean-Luc Guesdon)

La technique de préparation d'hybridomes murins par immunisation de souris suivie de la fusion des cellules immunocompétentes avec des cellules myélomateuses histocompatibles (Kholer et Milstein, 1975) permet la production illimitée de réactifs standardisés utilisables en clinique et en recherche fondamentale ou appliquée. La spécificité et l'affinité de ces réactifs peuvent être modulées par les techniques de biologie moléculaire impliquant plusieurs cycles de mutation et de sélection. Alternativement de tels réactifs peuvent être recherchés par la technique du "phage display" grâce au criblage de grandes banques de fragments d'anticorps (single chain Fv ou scFv) exprimés à la surface des phages filamenteux.

Ces deux voies seront explorées pour la production de protéines hybrides (scFv-PhoAv) composées d'un variant bactérien de phosphatase alcaline (PhoAv) couplé à divers fragments scFv spécifiques des entérotoxines de staphylocoques (collaboration avec l'Unité des Toxines Microbiennes, AFSSA, Maisons-Alfort) ou de toxines marines (exemple : la saxitoxine, responsable de l'intoxication paralytique par les fruits de mer).

Production d'anticorps monoclonaux murins (Farida Nato)

Dans le cadre de collaborations avec les chercheurs de l'Institut Pasteur, le laboratoire assure la préparation d'hybridomes murins en utilisant la technique développée par Köhler et Milstein (1975). Outre l'intérêt que les anticorps monoclonaux peuvent présenter dans certains secteur de diagnostic, ils sont aussi largement utilisés pour analyser la relation sturcture-fonction de divers modèles étudiés en Recherche Fondamentale. Les caractéristiques biochomiques (isotypes, mesure des afffinités, recherche des épitopes) des anticorps produits par les hybridomes sont déterminées dans le laboratoire par des techniques immunochimiques.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

ESNARD Muriel – I.P. (mesnard@pasteur.fr)

DEMANGEL Caroline, I.P., actuellement en stage post-doctoral.

GUESDON Jean-Luc, I.P. (guesdon@pasteur.fr)

LEDUC Mireille, Université Paris XI Orsay. (mleduc@pasteur.fr)

LAFAYE Pierre, I.P. (plafaye@pasteur.fr)

MAZIE Jean-Claude, I.P. (jcmazie@pasteur.fr)

MOURATOU-PECORARI Barbara, I.P. (Boursière, Fondation Roux), (mouratou@pasteur.fr)

EHSANI Parastoo, Chercheur, Institut Pasteur de l'Iran.

FEKI Salma, Etudiante en thèse, Faculté des Sciences de Tunis.

LECALVEZ Florence, INSA de Lyon.

PAUILLAC Serge, Chargé de Recherche, Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés

NATO Farida, I.P., Ingénieur.

SEDDIKI-SI AHMED Nabila, I.P., Ingénieur.

DARTEVELLE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne.

JEANNEQUIN Odile, I.P., Technicienne.

ROUYRE Sylvie, I.P., Technicienne


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.