Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gpmi


  Director : Julier, Cécile (cjulier@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main aim of our studies is the mapping, identification and study of susceptibility genes for multifactorial diseases: one autoimmune disease, type 1 diabetes (T1D), and infectious diseases, malaria and dengue. The genetic approach, common to these two types of diseases, is based on familial studies as well as population-based studies (case/control). For T1D, two susceptibility genes are already known, HLA and insulin, and our research is focusing on the identification of the other genes, whose chromosomal localisation we have been able to confirm in some cases.



  report

cale

Genetic susceptibility to type 1 diabetes in human. Responsible: Cécile Julier

Our research on type I diabetes is currently focusing on two main areas: (1) Search for the susceptibility genes corresponding to loci IDDM4 (11q13) and IDDM15 (6q21), for which we previously established and confirmed the localisation of genes, based on stringent statistical criteria. These studies are based on fine association mapping, in order to precisely define the position of the responsible genes, and identify them and the responsible variants. (2) Following our genome wide study of T1D in 421 Scandinavian families with at least two affected children (European collaborative project ECIGS), we were able to confirm linkage to HLA (6p21), insulin (11p15, in TDT studies), and IDDM15 (6q21). We also detected potential linkage in three other regions (LOD score values >2.0), which had not been detected in other studies, on chromosomes 2, 5 and 16. Analyses under HLA or INS susceptibility stratification showed increased evidence of linkage, with LOD>3.0 in several instances. We are currently pursuing the search for susceptibility genes corresponding to these new loci.

Wolcott-Rallison syndrome and EIF2AK3 gene. Responsible: Cécile Julier

Wolcott-Rallison syndrome is a very rare autosomal recessive disorder, characterized by the association of a neonatal permanent insulin-dependent diabetes and epiphyseal dysplasia. From the study of two consanguineous families, with a total of 10 individuals, 5 of which were affected children, and 1 was a healthy child, we were able to identify the gene mutated in this disorder. This is EIF2AK3 (translation initiation factor 2-a kinase 3), in which we identified mutations segregating with the disorder in the two families studied. This gene represents a potential candidate for frequent forms of diabetes (type 1 and type 2). Interestingly, the position of the T1D susceptibility locus that we mapped on chromosome 2 in Scandinavian families (see above) corresponds to that of EIF2AK3, which reinforces our hypothesis that this gene may be involved in the susceptibility to type I diabetes.

Susceptibility to autoimmune diabetes in the mouse. Responsible: Evie Melanitou

Genetic studies of autoimmune diabetes conducted in human and mouse have identified a minority of syntenic susceptibility loci. These syntenies may be fortuitous, as a result of the large number of confirmed or putative susceptibility loci mapped in both species. These may also in some cases represent genuine homologous genes involved in diabetes susceptibility in both species. This is the hypothesis that we have made for a locus on mouse chromosome 6, which appears linked to autoimmune diabetes as well as to other autoimmune diseases, and which is syntenic to the human 2p12 region where EIF2AK3 is located. We are currently testing this gene in the corresponding animal models.

Genetic studies of susceptibility to infectious diseases: malaria and dengue. Responsible: Anavaj Sakuntabhai, Cécile Julier

Several genes have been implicated in the resistance to severe malaria. Our project is to identify genes involved in the variability of phenotypes related to malaria infection, and to study the mechanisms involved. These studies are based on the analysis of families located in areas of endemic malaria: Senegal, Burkina-Faso (collaboration with F. Fumous, Marseille) and Thailand. Many epidemiologic, clinical and immunological studies have been performed in the Senegalese families during the last 10 years (Pasteur Institutes of Paris and Dakar, IRD). We dispose of the DNA and malaria phenotypes of 900 people, and have established the genealogic trees of the population (two villages). These trees show major founder effects, which should increase the power of genetic studies. We are performing genome-wide studies (collaboration with Mark Lathrop, Centre National de Génotypage, Evry) and candidate genes and candidate regions studies in the Senegalese and Burkinabe families, and later in the Thai families, with the aim to map genes involved in the response to malaria infection, and in the differential susceptibility to P. Falciparun and P. vivax, which coexist in Thailand. Our preliminary analyses showed that the heterozygous status for HbS variant is associated with a reduction of the number of malaria attacks, which therefore validates our approach in these villages.

Dengue virus is endemic in several tropical countries, particularly in South-East Asia, where the infection results in 1-2% of cases in severe forms, hemorrhagic or shock, which can lead to death. Our project is to identify susceptibility genes for these severe cases, using a "candidate genes" approach in case/control populations for severe forms of dengue, which are being collected in Thailand.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Lozano, Liliane, llozano@pasteur.fr

Julier, Cécile, INSERM, DR2, cjulier@pasteur.fr

Sakuntabhai, Anavaj, Institut Pasteur, researcher, anavaj@pasteur.fr

Melanitou, Evdokia, Institut Pasteur, researcher, eviemel@pasteur.fr

Senée, Valérie, PhD student

Ndiaye, Rokhaya, PhD student

Ghandil, Pegah, PhD student

Duchatelet, Sabine, DEA student

Samadi, Zahra, researcher

Peerapittayamongkol, Chayanon, post-doc fellow

Casadémont, Isabelle, Institut Pasteur, Engineer

Joffret, Marie-Line, Institut Pasteur, Engineer

Blanc, Hervé, Institut Pasteur, Technician


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gpmi


  Responsable : Julier, Cécile (cjulier@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Le but principal de nos études est la localisation, l'identification et l'étude des gènes impliqués dans la prédisposition/résistance à des maladies multifactorielles : une maladie autoimmune, le diabète de type 1 (DT1), et des maladies infectieuses, le paludisme et la dengue. L'approche génétique, commune à ces deux types de maladies, est basée sur des études familiales ainsi que des études de populations (cas/contrôles). Pour le DT1, deux gènes de prédisposition sont déjà connus, HLA et insuline, et nos recherches visent à identifier les autres gènes, dont nous avons dans certains cas établi la localisation chromosomique.



  rapport

cale

Génétique de la prédisposition au diabète de type 1 chez l'homme. Responsable : Cécile Julier

Deux axes de recherche sont poursuivis dans notre laboratoire: (1) Dans les régions 11q13 (IDDM4) et 6q21 (IDDM15), où nous avons pu confirmer la liaison génétique selon des critères statistiques stringents, nous réalisons des études détaillées dans le but d'identifier les gènes impliqués. Celles-ci reposent sur des études fines d'association, qui permettent de localiser précisément dans chaque région le gène responsable et le(s) variant(s) de prédisposition. (2) Suite à une étude de criblage de génome dans 421 familles scandinaves comportant au moins deux enfants atteints de DT1 (collaboration européenne, consortium ECIGS), nous avons pu confirmer la liaison génétique aux locus IDDM1 (HLA, 6p21), IDDM2 (INS, 11p15, par études de TDT), et IDDM15 (6q21, valeur statistique P=7x10-7). Nous avons également détecté des liaisons génétiques suggestives (LOD score >2) à trois nouveaux locus de prédisposition au DT1, sur les chromosomes 2, 5 et 16. Les analyses génétiques réalisées selon des stratifications HLA ou INS permettent d'augmenter la significativité de la liaison génétique dans plusieurs cas, avec des valeurs LOD>3.0. Nous poursuivons actuellement la recherche des gènes de prédisposition correspondant à ces nouveaux locus.

Syndrome de Wolcott-Rallison et gène EIF2AK3. Responsable : Cécile Julier

Le syndrome de Wolcott-Rallison est un syndrome autosomal récessif très rare associant un diabète néonatal insulino-dépendant irréversible et une pathologie osseuse de type dysplasie épiphysaire. Par l'étude de deux familles consanguines, comportant au total 10 individus, dont 5 enfants malades et un enfant sain, nous avons pu identifier le gène responsable de ce syndrome. Il s'agit de EIF2AK3 (translation initiation factor 2-a kinase 3), pour lequel nous avons identifié des mutations ségrégeant avec la pathologie dans les deux familles étudiées. Ce gène représente un candidat potentiel pour les formes fréquentes de diabète (diabètes de type 1 et 2). De façon intéressante, la position du locus de prédisposition au DT1 du chromosome 2 identifié dans les familles scandinaves (cf ci-dessus) correspond à celle du gène EIF2AK3, ce qui renforce l'hypothèse de son implication dans le DT1.

Etude de la prédisposition au diabète autoimmun chez la souris. Responsable : Evie Melanitou

Les études génétiques du diabète autoimmun chez l'homme et chez la souris ont identifié une minorité de locus de prédisposition synténiques. Ces synténies peuvent être fortuites, résultant du grand nombre de gènes localisés de façon certaine ou présomptive dans les deux espèces. Elles peuvent aussi dans certains cas résulter de l'implication du même gène de prédisposition dans les deux espèces. C'est l'hypothèse que nous avons faite pour un locus du chromosome 6 murin, qui montre une liaison génétique avec le diabète autoimmun ainsi que d'autres maladies autoimmunes, et qui est synténique à la région 2p12 chez l'homme dans laquelle est localisé le gène EIF2AK3. Nous testons actuellement l'implication de ce gène dans les modèles animaux correspondants.

Etude génétique de la prédisposition aux maladies infectieuses : paludisme et dengue. Responsables : Anavaj Sakuntabhai, Cécile Julier

Dans le cas du paludisme, plusieurs gènes ont déjà été impliqués dans la résistance aux formes graves. Notre projet a pour but d'identifier les gènes intervenant dans la variabilité des phénotypes en rapport avec l'infection palustre, ainsi que d'explorer les mécanismes impliqués. Ces études sont basées sur l'analyse de familles situées en zones d'endémie palustre : Sénégal, Burkina-Faso (collaboration avec F. Fumoux, Marseille) et Thaïlande. Les familles sénégalaises ont fait l'objet de nombreuses études épidémiologiques, cliniques, et immunologiques depuis environ 10 ans (Instituts Pasteur de Dakar et de Paris, IRD). Nous disposons de l'ADN et des phénotypes " palustres " de 900 personnes, et avons établi les arbres généalogiques de la population suivie (deux villages). Ces arbres font apparaître des effets fondateurs importants, qui devraient augmenter la puissance des études génétiques. Nous réalisons une étude de criblage du génome (collaboration avec Mark Lathrop, Centre National de Génotypage, Evry) ainsi que l'exploration de gènes et de régions candidates dans les familles sénégalaises et burkinabe, et ultérieurement dans les familles thaïlandaises, dans le but de localiser les gènes impliqués dans les réponses à l'infection palustre, ainsi que la susceptibilité différentielle à P. falciparum et P. vivax, qui co-existent en Thaïlande. Nos analyses préliminaires nous ont montré que le portage du trait drépanocytaire (variant HbS) est associé à une réduction du nombre d'accès palustres, ce qui permet de valider notre système d'étude.

Le virus de la dengue est endémique dans plusieurs pays tropicaux, et en particulier en Asie du Sud-Est, où il est responsable dans 1-2% des cas de formes graves, de type hémorragie ou choc, pouvant entraîner la mort. Notre projet est d'identifier des gènes de prédisposition à ces formes graves, par une approche de type " gènes candidats " dans des populations cas/contrôles pour les formes graves de dengue. Le recrutement en est actuellement en cours en Thaïlande.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Lozano, Liliane, llozano@pasteur.fr

Julier, Cécile, INSERM, DR2, cjulier@pasteur.fr

Sakuntabhai, Anavaj, Institut Pasteur, chargé de recherche, anavaj@pasteur.fr

Melanitou, Evdokia, Institut Pasteur, chargée de recherche, eviemel@pasteur.fr

Senée, Valérie, étudiante thèse

Ndiaye, Rokhaya, étudiante thèse

Ghandil, Pegah, étudiante thèse

Duchatelet, Sabine, étudiante DEA

Samadi, Zahra, stagiaire de recherche, bourse EGIDE

Peerapittayamongkol, Chayanon, post-doc, poste vert INSERM

Casadémont, Isabelle, Institut Pasteur, Ingénieur

Joffret, Marie-Line, Institut Pasteur, Ingénieur

Blanc, Hervé, Institut Pasteur, Technicien supérieur


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.