Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmvr


  Director : Sylvie van der WERF (svdwerf@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The activities of the unit are focused on molecular genetics of positive and negative strand RNA viruses (influenza viruses, picornaviruses, hepatitis C virus). They include analysis of the molecular mechanisms of expression and replication of the viral genomes and of their use as expression vectors, study of virus host interactions and of the genetic variability of the viral genomes. One group addresses the functional analysis of neurological deficits and cognitive disorders associated with infectious pathologies, in particular HIV infection.



  report

cale

I. "MOLECULAR GENETCS OF RESPIRATORY VIRUSES"

directed by Sylvie van der WERF

a) Molecular genetics of influenza virus transcription/réplication complexes (Nadia NAFFAKH, Pascale MASSIN, Bernadette CRESCENZO-CHAIGNE, Monika MARASCESCU)

We pursued the identification of molecular determinants of the transcription/replication complex involved in the type-specificity and species-specificity of influenza viruses by making use of a transient expression system in eucaryotic cells which directs the synthesis of the three subunits of the polymerase complex (PB1, PB2, PA) together with the nucleoprotein NP, and allows to monitor the process of transcription/replication of a pseudo-viral RNA carrying a reporter gene. We have thus shown that the nature of nucleotides as well as the stability of the secondary structure at the extremities of the viral RNA were important determinants of type specificity and were also involved in the efficiency with which recognition by the polymerase complex occurred depending on the virus strain from which the polymerase complex was derived.

Analysis of polymerase complexes derived from avian or human viruses showed that PB2 residue 627 was a determinant of cold-sensitivity of the polymerase complex, suggesting that the reduced ability of a polymerase complex to replicate the viral genome at 33°C might contribute to the inability of avian viruses to efficiently replicate in humans. Furthermore, we observed that the level of proteolysis induced by the PA subunit of the polymerase complex was variable depending on the origin of PA and that the two activities associated with PA (i.e. proteolysis and transcription/replication) were not strictly correlated.

b) Viral vectors and vaccinology (Nicolas ESCRIOU, Marco VIGNUZZI, Alexandre VIEIRA-MACHADO, Sylvie GERBAUD, Christophe BATEJAT)

Genetic immunization with recombinant replicons in the form of naked RNA

Replicons derived from the genomes of Semliki Forest Virus (SFV), poliovirus (PV), or Mengo virus (MV) that express the influenza nucleoprotein (NP) were obtained. Upon injection in the form of naked RNA into mice, the recombinant replicons derived from SFV or MV were found to elicit a protective immunity towards a challenge infection with homologous influenza virus. The level of protection was comparable to that elicited by genetic immunization with plasmid DNA expressing the NP. Furthermore, we showed that replicons derived from the poliovirus genome could direct expression of a glycosylated protein such as the influenza hemagglutinin (HA), provided its expression was uncoupled from that of the rest of the poliovirus polyprotein by means of insertion of an IRES in a dicistronic construct.

Production of transfectant influenza viruses with a dicistronic segment by means of reverse genetics

Transfectant influenza viruses harboring a dicistronic segment derived from segment 6 encoding the neuraminidase (NA) were produced by reverse genetics according to two different strategies. The first one which relies on the insertion of the BiP IRES sequence renders the segment dicistronic for translation of the corresponding mRNAs. The second one consists in a duplication of the 3' non-coding sequences of the genomic RNA segment, thus making the segment dicistronic for transcription/replication as it directs the synthesis of genomic as well as subgenomic vRNA, cRNA and mRNA. Analysis of the expression of various reporter genes such as CAT or GFP, allowed us to establish the superiority of the second approach and to show that the size of the insert negatively affected the viability of the transfectant viruses.

c) Molecular epidemiology of influenza viruses

Specificity of interaction of the hemagglutinin (HA) of influenza A(H3N2) viruses with the receptor, sialic acid (Rita MEDEIROS, Nadia NAFFAKH, Nicolas ESCRIOU, Jean-Claude MANUGUERRA)

Based on the observation that recent A(H3N2) influenza virus isolates fail to agglutinate chicken red blood cells, we showed that this property is in particular determined by the nature of residue 226 of the HA. Sequential variations at this position are observed since the introduction of A(H3N2) virus in humans at the origin of the 1968 pandemic. These variations are not correlated with a change of specificity towards a2,6Gal-linked sialic acids, but rather could alter the affinity of the HA for these receptors. In parallel, we pursue the study of a substitution at residue 193, that is conserved for viruses from a given host and seems to be involved in the specificity of the HA towards a2,3Gal-linked sialic acids.

Molecular epidemiology of animal influenza viruses (Jean-Claude MANUGUERRA, Claudine ROUSSEAUX)

Phylogenetic analysis of the genes (PB1, PB2, PA) of equine A(H3N8) influenza viruses isolated in France between 1993 and 1999 suggests a linear evolutionary pathway and shows that they belong to the same lineage as strain A/Eq/London/1416/73(H7N7), in agreement with the hypothesis of the occurence of a reassortment event between A(H7N7) and A(H3N8) viruses that resulted in the substitution of the internal genes. Furthermore, evolution of the PA genes was found to be more rapid than that of the PB1 and PB2 genes.

Specimens were collected from wild birds and avian influenza viruses were isolated. Their characterization is ongoing.

d) National Influenza Center (Northern-France) and WHO Collaborating Center for Reference and Research on influenza viruses and other respiratory viruses (Sylvie van der WERF, Jean-Claude MANUGUERRA, Maryse TARDY-PANIT, Valérie LORIN, Claudine ROUSSEAUX, Valérie SEFFER)

As a reference Center, the unit contributes to the surveillance of influenza and other respiratory viruses at the national level through the RENAL network of hospital laboratories and the GROG network of sentinel general practitioners and pediatricians, as well as on the european level by electronic exchange of data within the European Influenza Surveillance Schemle (EISS) and by piloting the EUROGROG network. Isolation, identification and antigenic characterization of respiratory viruses from specimens from cases of influenza like illness are carried out. During the 2000/2001 season the influenza epidemic was weak. Influenza A(H1N1) viruses predominated and were found to be antigenically related to the A/New Caledonia/20/99(H1N1) reference strain which was included in the vaccine composition. Influenza B viruses, that circulated later during the season, were found to be generally close but antigenically distinct from the vaccine strain B/Yamanashi/166/99.

II. "VIRUS des HÉPATITES"

directed by Annette MARTIN

Towards the use of chimeric GB-B viruses bearing hepatitis C virus determinants in tamarins as a surrogate animal model for hepatitis C. (Annette MARTIN, Lisette COHEN, Danièle BÉNICHOU, David GHIBAUDO)

In an effort to circumvent the lack of an in vitro cell culture system able to support efficient HCV replication and the fact that chimpanzees constitute the only experimental animal model, we are using GB-B virus (GBV-B), which is phylogenetically the most closely related virus to HCV among the Flaviviridae family. In addition, GBV-B is also hepatotropic and it replicates in small primates (tamarin species). Several hybrid GBV-B/HCV molecular clones were obtained by substitution of sequences encoding part or all of the structural proteins. These are designed to help identifying the molecular determinants of host range specificity for HCV and GBV-B, and to provide tools to study selected features of HCV replication and pathogenesis in tamarins. We showed that proteolytic processing of the corresponding hybrid polyproteins was accurate. Recombinant baculoviruses are currently being produced and used to determine whether structural polypeptides generated from hybrid structural precursors can assemble into virus-like particles. Other chimeric molecular clones have been generated by exchanging sequences involved in viral replication, such as sequences of the major viral proteinase or the IRES sequence responsible for internal initiation of translation. Beside their potential use in HCV replication studies in vivo, they should provide a mean to evaluate candidate antivirals in small primates (coll. S.M. Lemon, UTMB, Galveston, TX, USA). The infectivity of these chimeric genomes is currently under investigation after intrahepatic inoculation to tamarins.

III. "Cognitive deficits in various neuropathological diseases : NeuroAIDS, Cerebral Malaria and Schizophrenia"

directed by Catherine VIDAL

Functional analysis of animal models of infectious neuropathologies : anatomopathology, brain imaging (MRI) and in vivo spectroscopy, behavior.

  • Model of HIV encephalitis and dementia in the rat
  • Cerebral malaria in a murine model

Clinical studies: functional MRI and neuropsychological tests in human mental disorders:

  • HIV associated cognitive disorders
  • Schizophrenia


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

NAUBRON Christine, secretary

COHEN Lisette, University Paris 11

ESCRIOU, Nicolas, Institut Pasteur

MARTIN Annette, Institut Pasteur

MANUGUERRA Jean-Claude, Institut Pasteur

NAFFAKH Nadia, CNRS

VIDAL, Catherine, Institut Pasteur

van der WERF Sylvie,Université Paris 7 & Institut Pasteur

GHIBAUDO David, PhD student

MASSIN Pascale, PhD student

MEDEIROS Rita, PhD student

VIEIRA MACHADO Alexandre, PhD student

VIGNUZZI Marco, PhD student

BÉNICHOU Danièle, CNRS, Engineer
CRESCENZO-CHAIGNE Bernadette, Institut Pasteur, Engineer

GERBAUD Sylvie, Institut Pasteur, Engineer

TARDY-PANIT Maryse, Institut Pasteur, Engineer

BATEJAT Christophe, , Institut Pasteur, Technician

LORIN Valérie, Institut Pasteur, Technician

MARASCESCU Monika, Institut Pasteur, Technician

ROUSSEAUX Claudine, Institut Pasteur, Technician

SEFFER Valérie, Institut Pasteur, Technician

ANSELME-VATIN Alex, Institut Pasteur

BLIN Josiane, Institut Pasteur

CLAVEL Sandrine, Institut Pasteur


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmvr


  Responsable : Sylvie van der WERF (svdwerf@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les activités de l'unité centrées sur la génétique moléculaire des virus à ARN positif ou négatif (virus grippaux, picornavirus, virus de de l'hépatite C), portent sur l'étude des mécanismes moléculaires de l'expression et de la réplication des génomes viraux et de leur emploi comme vecteurs d'expression, l'analyse des interactions fonctionnelles entre le virus et son hôte, l'étude de la variabilité des génomes viraux. Une équipe s'intéresse aux dysfonctionnements neurologiques et déficits cognitifs associés aux infections, notamment par le VIH.



  rapport

cale

I. "GÉNÉTIQUE MOLÉCULAIRE DES VIRUS RESPIRATOIRES"

reponsable Sylvie van der WERF

a) Génétique moléculaire des complexes de transcription/réplication de virus grippaux (Nadia NAFFAKH, Pascale MASSIN, Bernadette CRESCENZO-CHAIGNE, Monika MARASCESCU)

Nous avons poursuivi l'identification, au sein des gènes codant pour le complexe de transcription/réplication, des déterminants moléculaires de la spécificité de type et de la spécificité d'espèce des virus grippaux en utilisant un système d'expression transitoire en cellules eucaryotes permettant d'exprimer les 3 sous-unités du complexe polymérase (PB1, PB2, et PA) ainsi que la nucléoprotéine NP, et de suivre la transcription/réplication d'un ARN pseudo-viral porteur d'un gène rapporteur. Nous avons montré que la nature de certains nucléotides ainsi que la stabilité de la structure secondaire des extrémités de l'ARN viral sont des déterminants importants de la spécificité de type et sont impliqués dans la reconnaissance par le complexe polymérase de façon variable selon la souche virale dont dérive le complexe polymérase.

L'étude des complexes polymérase issus de virus d'origine humaine et d'origine aviaire a permis de montrer que le résidu 627 de PB2 détermine la sensibilité du complexe polymérase à basse température, suggérant qu'une moindre capacité du complexe polymérase à assurer la réplication du génome viral à 33°C pourrait contribuer à l'incapacité des virus aviaires à se multiplier efficacement chez l'homme. Par ailleurs, nous avons observé que les niveaux de protéolyse induits par la sous-unité PA du complexe étaient variables selon l'origine de PA et que les deux activités liées à PA (protéolyse et transcription/réplication) n'étaient pas strictement corrélées.

b) Vecteurs viraux et vaccinologie (Nicolas ESCRIOU, Marco VIGNUZZI, Alexandre VIEIRA-MACHADO, Sylvie GERBAUD, Christophe BATEJAT)

Immunisation génique à base d'ARN nu au moyen de réplicons recombinants

Des réplicons dérivés du virus de la Forêt de Semliki (SFV), du poliovirus (PV) ou du Mengo virus (MV) permettant l'expression de la nucléoprotéine (NP) du virus grippal ont été obtenus. Après injection sous forme d'ARN nu à la souris, une immunité protectrice vis-à-vis d'une infection d'épreuve par le virus grippal a été démontrée pour les réplicons dérivés du SFV et du MV. La protection conférée est comparable à celle induite par immunisation génique avec un ADN plasmidique dirigeant l'expression de la NP. Par ailleurs, nous avons montré que des réplicons dérivés du génome du poliovirus permettent l'expression d'une protéine glycosylée telle que l'hemagglutinine (HA) du virus grippal lorsque l'expression de la HA est découplée de celle du reste de la polyprotéine du poliovirus par l'insertion d'un IRES dans une construction bicistronique.

Production de virus grippaux transfectants à segment bicistronique par génétique inverse

Par génétique inverse, des virus grippaux transfectants porteurs d'un segment bicistronique dérivé du segment 6 codant pour la neuraminidase (NA) ont été obtenus selon deux stratégies. La première qui repose sur l'insertion de la séquence IRES du gène BiP permet de rendre le segment dicistronique pour la traduction des ARN messagers correspondants. La deuxième consiste en une duplication des séquences 3' non-codantes du segment d'ARN génomique rendant le segment dicistronique pour la transcription/réplication puisqu'il dirige alors la synthèse de vARN, cARN et mARN génomiques et subgénomiques. L'étude des conditions d'expression de différents gènes rapporteurs, comme CAT et GFP, nous a permis d'établir la supériorité de la deuxième approche et de montrer que la taille de l'insert affecte négativement la viabilité des virus.

c) Epidémiologie moléculaire des virus grippaux

Spécificité d'interaction de l'hémagglutinine (HA) des virus grippaux A(H3N2) avec le récepteur, l'acide sialique. (Rita MEDEIROS, Nadia NAFFAKH, Nicolas ESCRIOU, Jean-Claude MANUGUERRA)

Partant de l'observation initiale que les isolats récents de virus grippaux A(H3N2) ont perdu la capacité d'agglutiner les globules rouges de coq, nous avons montré que cette propriété dépend notamment de la nature du résidu de la HA en position 226. Des variations séquentielles de ce résidu sont observées depuis l'introduction chez l'homme des virus A(H3N2) à l'origine de la pandémie de 1968. Ces variations ne sont pas corrélées à un changement de spécificité vis-à-vis des acides sialiques en liaison SAa2,6Gal, mais pourraient plutôt altérer l'affinité de la HA pour ces récepteurs et ainsi contribuer à l'adaptation du virus à son hôte. Parallèlement, nous poursuivons l'étude d'une substitution du résidu 193, très conservé au sein de chaque groupe de virus infectant un hote spécifique, qui semble impliquée dans la spécificité de la HA vis-à-vis des acides sialiques en liaison SAa2,3Gal.

Epidémiologie moléculaire des virus grippaux animaux(Jean-Claude MANUGUERRA, Claudine ROUSSEAUX)

L'analyse phylogénétique des gènes du complexe polymérase (PB1, PB2, PA) de virus grippaux équins A(H3N8) isolés en France entre 1993 et 1999 suggère une évolution linéaire et montre l'appartenance au même lignage que la souche A/Eq/London/1416/73(H7N7), en accord avec l'hypothèse d'un évènement de réassortiment entre virus équins A(H7N7) et A(H3N8) se traduisant par la substitution des gène internes. Par ailleurs, une évolution plus rapide des gènes PA par rapport aux gène PB1 et PB2 a été observée.

Parallèlement, des prélèvements de l'avifaune ont été réalisés. Des virus grippaux aviaires ont été isolés et sont en cours de caractérisation.

d) Centre National de Référence de la Grippe (France-Nord) et Centre collaborateur de l'OMS pour la référence et la recherche sur les virus grippaux et les autres virus respiratoires (Sylvie van der WERF, Jean-Claude MANUGUERRA, Maryse TARDY-PANIT, Valérie LORIN, Claudine ROUSSEAUX, Valérie SEFFER)

A ce titre, l'unité contribue à la surveillance des virus grippaux et d'autres virus respiratoires au niveau national par le biais du réseau de laboratoires hospitaliers RENAL et du réseau des GROG (Groupes Régionaux d'Observation de la Grippe), et au niveau européen, par échange télématique des données dans le cadre du groupe EISS (European Influenza Surveillance Scheme), et par l'animation du réseau EUROGROG. L'isolement, l'identification et la caractérisation antigénique des virus respiratoires sont réalisés à partir des prélèvements de cas d'infections respiratoires de type syndrome grippal adressés au Centre. Au cours de la saison 2000/2001, l'épidémie de grippe a été peu intense. Les virus A(H1N1) ont largement prédominé et ont été caractérisés comme antigéniquement apparentés à la souche A/New Caledonia/20/99(H1N1) inclue dans la composition vaccinale. Des virus de type B, généralement proches mais antigéniquement distincts de la souche vaccinale B/Yamanashi/166/99, ont circulé plus tardivement au cours de la saison.

II. "VIRUS des HÉPATITES"

reponsable Annette MARTIN

Vers l'utilisation chez le tamarin de virus GBV-B recombinants porteurs de séquences du virus de l'hépatite C (VHC) comme modèle d'étude du VHC. (Annette MARTIN, Lisette COHEN, Danièle BÉNICHOU, David GHIBAUDO)

Pour pallier l'absence de système cellulaire permettant la multiplication du VHC in vitro et de modèle animal autre que le chimpanzé, nous avons recours au virus GBV-B, dont l'organisation génomique est la plus proche de celle du VHC parmi les Flaviviridae. De plus, ce virus infecte le tamarin (petit primate), est hépatotrope, et se multiplie ex vivo dans des cultures d'hépatocytes primaires de tamarin. Plusieurs clones moléculaires GBV-B/VHC hybrides ont été obtenus par échange de séquences codant pour tout ou partie des protéines structurales, dans le but d'identifier les déterminants moléculaires de la spécificité d'hôte de ces virus et de produire des outils pour l'étude de l'infection à VHC et de la biologie du VHC chez le tamarin. Nous avons montré que les polyprotéines hybrides correspondantes sont découpées de façon fidèle. Nous évaluons la possibilité d'assembler en pseudo-particules les polypeptides issus des précurseurs structuraux chimères à l'aide de baculovirus recombinants. D'autres clones moléculaires hybrides générés par échange de certains déterminants viraux de la réplication, comme la protéinase virale majeure ou les séquences (IRES) permettant l'initiation de la traduction par entrée interne des ribosomes, devraient, outre leur intérêt pour l'étude de la réplication du VHC in vivo, permettre l'évaluation d'antiviraux chez le petit primate (coll. S.M. Lemon, UTMB, Galveston, TX, USA). L'infectivité de de ces génomes chimères est à l'étude après inoculation intrahépatique chez le tamarin.

III. "Déficits cognitifs associés à différentes neuropathologies: neuroSIDA, neuropaludisme et schizophrénie."

responsable Catherine VIDAL

Etudes fonctionnelles de modèles animaux de neuropathologies infectieuses et parasitaires : anatomo-pathologie, imagerie cérébrale (IRM) et spectroscopie de résonance magnétique in vivo, comportement.

- Modèle de l'encéphalite et de la démence associées au SIDA chez le rat

- Modèle murin de neuropaludisme

Etudes cliniques : Imagerie Cérébrale Fonctionnelle (IRMf) et tests neuropsychologiques dans les pathologies des fonctions cognitives.

- Les troubles cognitifs associés au SIDA

- Les troubles cognitifs dans la Schizophrénie



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

NAUBRON Christine, secrétaire de direction

COHEN Lisette, Université Paris 11, MC1, lisemc@pasteur.fr

ESCRIOU, Nicolas, Institut Pasteur, CR, escriou@pasteur.fr

MARTIN Annette, Institut Pasteur, CR, annettem@pasteur.fr

MANUGUERRA Jean-Claude, Institut Pasteur, CR, jmanugu@pasteur.fr

NAFFAKH Nadia, CNRS, CR1, nnaffakh@pasteur.fr

VIDAL, Catherine, Institut Pasteur, Chef de Laboratoire, cvidal@pasteur.fr

van der WERF Sylvie,Université Paris 7, PR1 & Institut Pasteur, Chef de Laboratoire, svdwerf@pasteur.fr

GHIBAUDO David, doctorant

MASSIN Pascale, doctorant

MEDEIROS Rita, doctorant

VIEIRA MACHADO Alexandre, doctorant

VIGNUZZI Marco, doctorant

BÉNICHOU Danièle, CNRS, Ingénieur d'études

CRESCENZO-CHAIGNE Bernadette, Institut Pasteur, Ingénieur de Recherche

GERBAUD Sylvie, Institut Pasteur, Ingénieur de Recherche

TARDY-PANIT Maryse, Institut Pasteur, Ingénieur Technologue

BATEJAT Christophe, Institut Pasteur, Technicien, CDD

LORIN Valérie, Institut Pasteur, Technicienne Supérieure

MARASCESCU Monika, Institut Pasteur, Technicienne

ROUSSEAUX Claudine, Institut Pasteur, Technicienne Supérieure

SEFFER Valérie, Institut Pasteur, Technicienne Qualifiée

ANSELME-VATIN Alex, Institut Pasteur, Aide de Laboratoire

BLIN Josiane, Institut Pasteur, Aide de Laboratoire

CLAVEL Sandrine, Institut Pasteur, Aide de Laboratoire


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.