Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmp


  Director : Frank KUNST, Philippe GLASER (fkunst@pasteur.fr, pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main themes of our laboratory are : 1) the study of the diversity and evolution of pathogenic microorganisms in relation to virulence ; 2) the study of global gene expression by the use of macro- or microarays. The studied organisms are : five pathogenic bacteria (Listeria monocytogenes , Listeria ivanovii, Streptococcus agalactiae, Photorhabdus luminescens, Neisseria meningitidis), and a pathogenic fungus (Aspergillus fumigatus).



  report

cale

Genome analysis of the genus Listeria (C. Buchrieser, P . Glaser, E. Milohanic, C. Rusniok , T. Vallaeys)

Listeria monocytogenes is a bacterium causing serious food-borne infections (mortality : 30 %), whose clinical signs are most frequently meningitis, abortion and neonatal infections. The genome sequence (2.94 megabases) of strain EGD-e of L. monocytogenes has been completed by a consortium of 10 laboratories which has been coordinated by us together with P. Cossart (Institut Pasteur, Laboratoire des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules). In our laboratory we also have completed the genome sequences of other bacteria of the genus Listeria : the complete sequence of L. innocua (a non-pathogenic bacterium closely related to L. monocytogenes), a partial sequence of L. monocytogenes 4b (an epidemic strain), and — in collaboration with the German consortium " Pathogenomics " - the nearly complete sequence of L. ivanovii (an animal pathogen). Specific features of L. monocytogenes EGD-e, deduced from the analysis of its genome, have been described in a recent paper (P. Glaser et al., 2001. Science, 294 : 849-852). It contains a large number of proteins of the following families : surface proteins containing an LPXTG motif, internalins, sugar transport systems, proteins showing similarities to Bacillus subtilis competence proteins and regulators of the Crp/Fnr family. The comparison of these genome sequences - with the help of the software FindTarget developed in our laboratory — is used to identify potential virulence genes, and more generally, to understand the pathogenicity of L. monocytogenes and its ability to contaminate food. Furthermore, we are using a comparative genomics approach based on DNA arrays to characterize clinical and environmental isolates of Listeria.

For the characterization of the biodiversity of the genus Listeria, and in particular that of the species L. monocytogenes, we use a comparative genomics approach with macroarrays. Specific genes for L. innocua, for the strains EGD-e and 4b (CLIP80459) of L. monocytogenes have been identified. In collaboration with the Laboratoire de Référence des Listeria (Institut Pasteur), directed by P. Martin, PCR fragments corresponding to these spécific genes have been deposited on high density membranes and hybridized with total ADN from other isolates of Listeria : two additional strains of L. innocua, two strains of L. ivanovii, two strains of L. seeligeri, L. welshimeri and L. grayi as well as eighty strains of L. monocytogenes, isolated from patients, the food chain or the environment. This study aims to find a correlation between epidemiology and genomic data, in order to distinguish between potentially virulent and non-virulent strains.

Finally, with the help of the Genopole Institut Pasteur, a study of the transcriptome of L. monocytogenes has been undertaken, in particular studies concerning targets of the regulatory gene prfA (E. Milohanic and C. Buchrieser) and those of sigma factor rpoN (Y. Hechard, S. Arous and C. Buchrieser).

Genome analysis of Photorhabdus luminescens (E. Duchaud, F. Kunst)

Photorhabdus luminescens is a commensal of a nematode and an insect parasite. This bacterium is both a model for the study of host-parasite interactions, and a potential industrial bacterium because of its capacity to synthetize numerous toxins (insecticides, bacteriocides and fungicides) and to secrete numerous enzymes. At present, the genome of 5.6 megabases has been assembled into 2 contigs, and has been nearly entirely annotated. In collaboration with the Laboratoire de Pathologie Comparée (INRA, Montpellier) and the company Aventis CropScience we have identified numerous genes encoding toxins. A patent application has been deposited.

Genome analysis of Streptococcus agalactiae (P. Glaser, C. Rusniok, M. Zouine)

Streptococcus agalactiae is a group B Streptococcus. Neonatal infections caused by Streptococci constitute an important health problem. The frequency of occurrence is 2.5 per 1000 births, with a mortality rate in the range of 4 - 10%, and cases of meningitis leading to neurological aftereffects in 25 - 50 % of the cases. We have assembled this genome of about 2 megabases into 3 contigs. The availability of the complete genome sequences of two related Streptococci, S. pneumoniae and S. pyogenes, allows us to carry out a comparative genomics study.

A transcriptome analysis of S. agalactiae, in different culture conditions (pH, oxidative stress, anaerobiosis, growth in the presence of human serum), has recently been started to evaluate the importance of these conditions for virulence.

Participation in genome sequencing of Aspergillus fumigatus (E. Couvé, P. Glaser)

In the framework of the Aspergillus fumigatus genome project and for transcriptome analysis, we have sequenced 9000 genomic tags of this fungus causing invasive aspergillosis. DNA arrays are prepared to carry out studies of global gene expression in collaboration with J.-P. Latgé (Unité des Aspergillus), and to identify new targets to combat this fungus. Recently, an international project aimed at the sequencing of the Aspergillus fumigatus genome has been set up with the participation of the Sanger Centre (UK), the University of Manchester (UK), The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR, USA), the Universities of Madrid and Salamanca (Spain), and the Institut Pasteur (Unité des Aspergillus and our laboratory).

Genome analysis of Neisseria meningitidis

Neisseria meningitidis is the aetiological agent of meningitis. Our project aims to determine the genome sequence of strain 8013 which presents the following advantages : 1) it is transformable ; 2) in-vitro and in-vivo infection models are available. This project, carried out in collaboration with the laboratory of X. Nassif (Faculté de Medecine Necker-Enfants Malades) and the Unité des Neisseria (Institut Pasteur) directed by J. M. Alonso, aims to identify virulence genes with the help of a library of mutants obtained by transposition.

Development of bioinformatics tools (L. Frangeul, F. Chetouani)

To facilitate the analysis of genome sequences, three informatics software tools have been developed in our laboratory : " GMP-Tool-box (GMPTB) " by Lionel Frangeul, " Findtarget " and " Difftool " by Farid Chetouani. The software GMPTB allows to undertake the annotation of a genome before the obtention of the complete sequence. At the end of the " shotgun " phase of a bacterial genome project, the assembled sequences are usually distributed in several hundred contigs. During the closure phase, the contigs are linked, diminishing their number and modifying the position of the coding sequences within the linked contigs. GMPTB allows to find easily the coding sequences from the previous assembly due to the creation of an IPF file (" individual protein file ") which contains the coding sequence. This tool allows to save time since the user can start annotating the genome - a relatively slow process — before the final assembly of the genome.

Findtarget is a search engine, based on the Blast similarity search tool (F. Chetouani et al. 2001. Microbiology 147 : 2643-2649). Findtarget allows the rapid and automated detection of proteins present in a set of genomes but absent in another set. We currently use this tool for comparative genomics searches to identify potential virulence genes among the genes which are present in L. monocytogenes but absent in L. innocua.

DiffTool is a resource to explore protein clusters computed from a sequence database. The package provides a clustering tool to construct a database of protein families according to sequence similarity criteria extracted from BlastP outputs, and a web interface to query the cluster database. For each protein cluster, it includes access to sequences, to alignments and to phylogenetic trees. A subtractive genome analysis tool allows to select protein families present in a set of genomes but absent in another set.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Frank KUNST (e-mail : fkunst@pasteur.fr)

Philippe GLASER (e-mail : pglaser@pasteur.fr)

Carmen BUCHRIESER, researcher Institut Pasteur (e-mail : cbuch@pasteur.fr)

Philippe GLASER, researcher Institut Pasteur (e-mail : pglaser@pasteur.fr)

Frank KUNST, researcher CNRS (e-mail : fkunst@pasteur.fr)

Tatiana VALLAEYS, researcher INRA (e-mail :tvallaey@pasteur.fr)

Eric DUCHAUD, Postdoc (e-mail : educhaud@pasteur.fr)

Carole FEURER, Engineer (e-mail : cfeurer@pasteur.fr)

Eliane MILOHANIC, Postdoc (e-mail : emilohan@pasteur.fr)

Mohamed ZOUINE, Postdoc (e-mail : mzouine@pasteur.fr)

Farid CHETOUANI, Engineer (e-mail : fchetou@pasteur.fr)

Fabien CHEVALIER, Technician

Elisabeth COUVÉ, Technician (e-mail :ecouve@pasteur.fr)

Harry DOUALOT, Laboratory assistant

Christophe RUSNIOK, Technician (e-mail :rusniok@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmp


  Responsable : Frank KUNST, Philippe GLASER (fkunst@pasteur.fr, pglaser@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les thématiques principales de notre laboratoire sont : 1) l'étude de la diversité et l'évolution des microorganismes pathogènes en relation avec la virulence ; 2) l'étude de l'expression globale des gènes à l'aide de puces à ADN. Les organismes étudiés sont: cinq bactéries pathogènes (Listeria monocytogenes, Listeria ivanovii, Streptococcus agalactiae, Photorhabdus luminescens, Neisseria meningitidis), et un champignon pathogène (Aspergillus fumigatus).



  rapport

cale

OBJECTIF

Les études de santé publique montrent la nécessité de développer de nouvelles stratégies de prévention, de détection et de thérapeutiques anti-infectieuses. L'association de la génomique à l'analyse de la biodiversité des souches, à l'analyse globale de la transcription et à la bioinformatique constitue un moyen puissant pour atteindre ce but.

RESUTATS

Analyse génomique du genre Listeria(C. Buchrieser, P . Glaser, E. Milohanic, C. Rusniok , T. Vallaeys)

Listeria monocytogenes est une bactérie responsable d'infections d'origine alimentaire très graves (mortalité dans 30 % des cas), dont les signes cliniques sont entre autres des méningites, des avortements et des infections néonatales. La séquence entière (2,94 mégabases) du génome de la souche EGD-e de Listeria monocytogenes a été déterminée et analysée par un consortium de 10 laboratoires européens dont nous avons assuré avec P. Cossart (Institut Pasteur, Unité des Interactions Bactéries-Cellules) la coordination. Dans notre laboratoire, nous avons également déterminé les séquences génomiques d'autres bactéries du genre Listeria : la séquence entière de L. innocua (une bactérie non pathogène très proche de L. monocytogenes), une séquence partielle de L. monocytogenes 4b (une souche épidémique), puis - en collaboration avec le consortium allemand " Pathogenomics " - la quasi-totalité de la séquence de L. ivanovii (un pathogène d'animaux). Des propriétés caractéristiques de L. monocytogenes EGD-e, déduites de l'analyse de son génome, ont été décrites dans une publication récente (P. Glaser et al. 2001. Science 294 : 849-852). Cette bactérie contient un grand nombre de protéines des familles suivantes : des protéines de surface à motif LPXTG, des internalines, des systèmes de transport de sucres, des protéines similaires à des protéines de compétence de Bacillus subtilis et des régulateurs de la famille Crp/Fnr. La comparaison de ces séquences génomiques - à l'aide d'un logiciel développé dans notre laboratoire - est utilisée pour identifier des gènes spécifiques de la virulence et, plus généralement, à mieux comprendre la pathogénicité de L. monocytogenes et sa capacité à contaminer la nourriture.

Pour la caractérisation de la biodiversité du genre Listeria, et plus particulièrement celle de l'espèce L. monocytogenes, nous utilisons une approche de génomique comparative à l'aide de puces à ADN. Des gènes spécifiques pour L. innocua, pour les souches EGD-e et 4b (CLIP80459) de L. monocytogenes ont été identifiés. En collaboration avec le Laboratoire de Référence des Listeria (Institut Pasteur), dirigée par P. Martin, des fragments PCR correspondant à ces gènes spécifiques ont été déposés sur des membranes à haute densité et hybridés avec l'ADN total d'autres isolats de Listeria : deux souches supplémentaires de L. innocua, deux souches de L. ivanovii, deux souches de L. seeligeri, L. welshimeri et L. grayi ainsi que quatre-vingts souches de L. monocytogenes isolées de malades, de la chaîne alimentaire ou de l'environnement. Cette étude a pour but de trouver une corrélation entre les données épidémiologiques et génomiques, et de permettre de distinguer les souches potentiellement virulentes et non-virulentes.

Finalement, à l'aide de la Génopole Institut Pasteur une étude du transcriptome de L. monocytogenes a été entreprise dont deux études en particulier : celle des cibles du régulateur de virulence prfA (E. Milohanic et C. Buchrieser) et celle du facteur sigma rpoN (Y. Hechard, S. Arous et C. Buchrieser).

Analyse du génome de Photorhabdus luminescens (E. Duchaud, F. Kunst)

Photorhabdus luminescens est une bactérie commensale d'un nématode et un parasite d'insecte. Cette bactérie est à la fois un modèle pour l'étude des interactions hôte-parasite et, potentiellement, une bactérie industrielle en raison de sa capacité à synthétiser de nombreuses toxines (insecticides, bactéricides et fongicides) et à sécréter de nombreuses enzymes. Ce génome d'une taille de 5,6 mégabases a été assemblé en 2 contigs, et est pratiquement entièrement annoté. En collaboration avec le Laboratoire de Pathologie Comparée, dirigée par N. Boemare (INRA, Montpellier), l'Unité de Génétique des Génomes Microbiens, dirigée par A. Danchin (Institut Pasteur), et la société Aventis CropScience nous avons identifié de nombreux gènes codant pour des toxines. Une demande de brevet a été déposée.

Analyse du génome de Streptococcus agalactiae (P. Glaser, C. Rusniok, M. Zouine)

Streptococcus agalactiae est un streptocoque du groupe B. Les infections néonatales à streptocoques posent un important problème de santé publique. Leur incidence est de 2,5 pour 1000 naissances, avec un taux de mortalité qui varie actuellement entre 4 et 10%, et des cas de méningites entrainant des séquelles neurologiques dans 25 à 50 % des cas. Nous avons assemblé ce génome d'environ 2 mégabases en 3 contigs. La disponibilité des séquences génomiques complètes de deux streptocoques apparentés, S. pneumoniae et S. pyogenes, nous permet d'entreprendre une étude de génomique comparative.

Une étude du transcriptome de S. agalactiae, dans des conditions de culture différentes (pH, stress oxydatif, anaérobiose, croissance en présence du sérum humain), a été initiée récemment afin d'évaluer l'importance de ces conditions dans la virulence de cette bactérie.

Participation au séquençage du génome d'Aspergillus fumigatus(E. Couvé, P. Glaser)

Dans le cadre du projet de séquençage du génome d'Aspergillus fumigatus et pour l'étude du transcriptome, nous avons séquencé 9000 étiquettes génomiques de ce champignon, responsable de l'aspergillose invasive. Les ADN correspondant à ces étiquettes sont utilisés pour la réalisation de filtres à haute densité d'ADN afin de mener, en collaboration avec l'équipe de J.-P. Latgé (Unité des Aspergillus), des études d'expression génétique globales et d'identifier de nouvelles cibles pour lutter contre ce champignon. Récemment, un projet international visant à déterminer la séquence du génome entier d'Aspergillus fumigatus a été mis en place avec la participation du Sanger Centre (Royaume Uni), l'Université de Manchester (Royaume Uni), The Institute for Genomic Research (TIGR, USA), les Universités de Madrid et de Salamanque (Espagne), et l'Institut Pasteur (l'Unité des Aspergillus et notre laboratoire).

Analyse du génome de Neisseria meningitidis (C. Buchrieser, P. Glaser)

Neisseria meningitidis est l'agent étiologique de méningitis. Notre projet est de déterminer la séquence du génome de la souche 8013 qui présente les avantages suivants : 1) elle est transformable ; 2) des modèles d'infection in-vitro et in-vivo sont disponibles. Il s'agit d'un projet de collaboration avec le laboratoire dirigé par X. Nassif (Faculté de Medecine Necker-Enfants Malades), l'Unité des Neisseria (Institut Pasteur) dirigée par J. M. Alonso dont le but final est d'identifier des gènes de virulence à l'aide d'une librairie de mutants obtenus par transposition.

 

Développement d'outils bioinformatiques (L. Frangeul, F. Chetouani)

Afin de faciliter l'analyse des séquences génomiques, trois logiciels informatiques ont été développés dans notre laboratoire : " GMP-Tool-box (GMPTB) " par L. Frangeul, " Findtarget ", and " Difftool " par F. Chetouani. Le logiciel GMPTB permet d'entreprendre l'annotation d'un génome avant l'obtention de la séquence complète. En fin de la phase " shotgun " d'un projet de séquençage d'un génome bactérien, les séquences assemblées sont habituellement réparties sur plusieurs centaines de contigs. Au cours de la phase de finition, les contigs sont fusionnés, diminuant leur nombre et modifiant la position des séquences codantes à l'intérieur des contigs fusionnés. GMPTB permet de retrouver aisément les séquences codantes d'un assemblage à l'autre grâce à la création d'un fichier IPF (" individual protein file ") qui contient la séquence codante. Cet outil représente un gain de temps considérable car l'utilisateur peut entreprendre l'annotation du génome - un processus relativement lent - avant l'assemblage final du génome.

Findtarget représente un moteur de recherche, basé sur l'outil de comparaison Blast (F. Chetouani et al. 2001. Microbiology 147 : 2643-2649). Findtarget permet de déceler très rapidement et d'une manière automatique les protéines présentes dans un ensemble de génomes mais absentes dans un autre. Nous utilisons cet outil couramment dans des recherches de génomique comparative afin d'identifier des gènes potentiels de virulence parmi les gènes présents chez L. monocytogenes mais absents chez L. innocua.

DiffTool est un logiciel pour explorer des familles protéiques construites à partir d'une banque de séquences. Le paquetage fournit un outil de clustering pour construire une banque de familles protéiques selon des critères de similarité des séquences extraits de sorties BlastP, et une interface Web pour interroger la banque des familles. Pour chaque famille protéique, elle inclut un accès aux séquences, aux alignements et aux arbres phylogénétiques. Un outil d'analyse soustractive permet de sélectionner les familles protéiques présentes dans un ensemble de génomes mais absentes dans un autre ensemble.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Isabelle Dulieu
Tél : 01 45 68 89 86
Fax : 01 45 68 87 86
Adresse électronique : idulieu@pasteur.fr

Carmen BUCHRIESER, CR IP

Philippe GLASER, Chef de Laboratoire IP

Frank KUNST, DR2 CNRS

Tatiana VALLAEYS, CR1 INRA

Eric DUCHAUD, Chercheur post-doctoral

Carole FEURER, Boursière IP

Eliane MILOHANIC, Chercheur post-doctoral

Mohamed ZOUINE, Chercheur post-doctoral

Farid CHETOUANI, Ingénieur IP

Fabien CHEVALIER, Technicien CDD

Elisabeth COUVÉ, Technicienne IP

Harry DOUALOT, Aide de Laboratoire IP

Christophe RUSNIOK, Technicien IP


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.