Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmmorpho


  Director : ROBERT, Benoît (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our laboratory is involved in the study of embryonic induction in vertebrate development. The function of Msx1 and Msx2, two homeobox genes prominently expressed in sites of induction, is analysed using mouse mutants we have produced for both genes by homologous recombination. The role of these genes in signal transduction in several signalling pathways (BMP, Wnt,...) is under dedicated investigation. We are also analysing the genesis of mouse polydactylies, with special attention to the complex genetic determinism of Pluridigité (Pdt).



  report

cale

The Morphogenesis molecular Genetics Laboratory is involved in the study of ecto-mesodermal induction mechanisms that are implicated in organogenesis, with special emphasis on limb initiation and morphogenesis in vertebrates.

Functional analysis of Msx genes in the mouse (Antoine Bach, Marie-Anne Nicola, Yvan Lallemand). Msx1 and Msx2 are homeobox genes prominently expressed in regions of induction between ectoderm and mesoderm. Msx1 was inactivated a few years ago by insertion of an nLacZ reporter gene in the coding sequence. Mutants exhibit cranio-facial defects at birth in derivatives of the first branchial arches (maxilla, mandible, tooth buds) which lead to perinatal death. We further observed that they suffer from hydrocephaly. This new phenotype appears to be due to a deficiency in the formation of the subcommissural organ, an ependymal secretory structure located under the posterior commissure of the brain. In fact, the whole roof of the diencephalon seems affected. In the absence of Msx1, several signalling factors normally expressed in the dorsal midline (BMPs, Wnts, ...) are missing, which leads to the downregulation of genes expressed laterally (Pax6). Thus, Msx1 seems to be required for the function of the dorsal midline as a signalling center.

We have achieved the mutation of Msx2 by homologous recombination. The whole coding sequence of the gene was replaced by an nLacZ reporter gene. Using this marker, we are revisiting the expression profile of Msx2 with increased sensitivity and accuracy. We previously characterised expression of Msx1 in progenitor cells of the dermis that migrate out of the somite dermomyotome. We observe a segmental, dorsal expression of Msx2 which partially overlap with that of Msx1. Furthermore, the analysis of Msx1/Msx2 double mutants shows that several sites where the two genes are co-expressed show alterations (central nervous system, limb buds), confirming the functional redundancy between the two genes.

Analysis of mouse polydactylous mutants (Isabelle Blanc, Antoine Bach). We are studying a new mouse polydactyly, Pluridigité (Pdt). The phenotype appears to depend on the interactions between three genes, a major locus on chromosome 12, close to Twist. Allelism tests have confirmed that Twist is the affected gene. In addition, two strong modifier loci on chromosome 4 are required for the expression of the mutation. These genes have been fixed in the proper allelic configuration in a recombinant inbred strain, which constitutes a precious tool to investigate interactions between the three genes.

Identification of an antisense transcript from the Msx1 locus (in collaboration with Ariane Berdal, University of ParisVII) Comparing the production of the MSX1-LacZ fusion protein in our Msx1 mutant mice with the production of the corresponding RNA led us to the detection of an RNA transcribed from the antisense DNA strand in the Msx1 locus. Overexpression of this RNA in a cell culture system leads to a reduction in the level of the MSX1 protein, suggesting that an original regulation system plays a role downstream of transcription to modulate MSX1 production.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Demond, Anne (ademond@ pasteur.fr)

Robert, Benoît, Institut Pasteur (brobert@pasteur.fr)

Lallemand, Yvan, Institut Pasteur (yvanlal@pasteur.fr)

Bach, Antoine, PhD student from Paris XI University

Blanc, Isabelle, PhD student from Paris VI University (on leave 18/9/01)

Nicola, Marie-Anne (Engineer Institut Pasteur, manicola@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmmorpho


  Responsable : ROBERT, Benoît (brobert@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre laboratoire étudie les mécanismes de l'induction embryonnaire au cours du développement chez les vertébrés. L'analyse fonctionnelle des gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2, qui sont exprimés dans des régions d'induction, repose sur l'étude de mutants de souris que nous avons produits pour ces deux gènes par recombinaison homologue. Nous nous intéressons particulièrement au rôle de ces gènes dans la transduction de signaux de différentes voies de signalisation (BMP, Wnt…). Nous analysons également la genèse de polydactylies murines, en particulier le déterminisme génétique complexe de Pluridigité (Pdt).



  rapport

cale

Le laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire de la Morphogenèse se consacre à l'étude des mécanismes d'induction ecto-mésodermique à l'œuvre dans l'organogenèse, et en particulier dans l'émergence et la morphogenèse du membre, chez les vertébrés.

Analyse fonctionnelle des gènes de la famille Msx chez la souris (Antoine Bach, Marie-Anne Nicola, Yvan Lallemand).

Les gènes à homéoboîte Msx1 et Msx2 sont exprimés essentiellement dans des régions d'induction entre ectoderme et mésoderme. Msx1 a été inactivé il y a quelques années par insertion en phase du gène rapporteur nlacZ. Les mutants présentent à la naissance des défauts des dérivés du premier arc branchial (maxillaire, mandibule, bourgeons dentaires), qui sont létaux. Nous avons observé plus récemment une hydrocéphalie chez le mutant. L'analyse de ce phénotype nouveau révèle que l'organe sub-commissural, structure épendymaire sécrétrice au niveau de la commissure postérieure du cerveau, est absent chez le mutant, et qu'en fait, c'est la totalité du toit du diencéphale qui est affectée. En l'absence de Msx1, plusieurs facteurs de signalisation normalement exprimés dans la ligne médiane dorsale (BMP, Wnt,...) manquent, ce qui conduit à la répression de gènes exprimés plus latéralement. Msx1 est donc un facteur essentiel pour le fonctionnement de la ligne médiane du diencéphale comme centre de signalisation.

Nous avons achevé la mutation de Msx2 par recombinaison homologue. Toute la séquence codante du gène a été remplacée par celle du gène rapporteur nlacZ. Grâce à ce marqueur, nous avons repris l'analyse du profil d'expression de Msx2 avec une sensibilité et une précision accrues. Nous avions caractérisé l'expression de Msx1 dans les cellules progénitrices du derme dorsal qui migrent du dermomyotome du somite. Nous avons observé que Msx2 présente une expression segmentaire, dorsale, qui recouvre partiellement celle de Msx1. L'analyse des doubles mutants Msx1/Msx2 montre que plusieurs sites où s'expriment les deux gènes sont affectés (système nerveux central, bourgeon de membre) ce qui confirme la redondance fonctionnelle entre ces deux gènes.

Étude de mutants polydactyles de la souris (Isabelle Blanc, Antoine Bach) Nous étudions une mutation nouvelle, Pluridigité (Pdt). Le déterminisme du phénotype apparaît complexe: il fait intervenir un gène majeur sur le chromosome 12, proche de Twist. Un test d'allélisme a confirmé que Twist est le gène affecté. Cette mutation requiert pour s'exprimer deux gènes modificateurs sur le chromosome 4. Ces gènes ont été fixés, dans une configuration allèlique appropriée, dans une souris consanguine recombinante, qui constitue un outil précieux pour l'analyse des interactions géniques entre les trois gènes.

Mise en évidence d'un transcrit antisens au locus Msx1 (en collaboration avec Ariane Berdal, Université de ParisVII). La comparaison de la production de la protéine de fusion Msx1-lacZ dans nos mutants Msx1 avec celle du RNA correspondant a permis de mettre en évidence un RNA transcrit à partir du brin antisens du gène Msx1. La surexpression de cet antisens dans des systèmes de cellules en culture réprime la production de la protéine MSX1, ce qui suggère un mécanisme original de régulation pour l'expression de ce gène en aval de la transcription.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Demond, Anne (ademond@ pasteur.fr)

Robert, Benoît, Institut Pasteur (Chef de Laboratoire, brobert@pasteur.fr)

Lallemand, Yvan, Institut Pasteur (Chargé de Recherche, yvanlal@pasteur.fr)

Bach, Antoine, Étudiant de thèse Université de Paris XI

Blanc, Isabelle, Étudiante de thèse Université de Paris VI (départ 18/9/01)

Nicola, Marie-Anne (Ingénieur Institut Pasteur, manicola@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.