Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gmd


  Director : BUCKINGHAM Margaret (margab@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our research centres on the study of myogenesis with the aim of understanding how muscle cells are specified in the embryo and how this leads to the formation of different muscle masses, both skeletal and cardiac, during development. We are also interested in muscle progenitor cells in the adult and the potential contribution of stem cells to regeneration. The experimental model is the mouse, with genetic manipulation of regulatory genes.



  report

cale

The formation of skeletal muscle [Lola Bajard, Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Jacqueline Perreau, Frédéric Relaix, Didier Rocancourt, Ralf Spörle, Shahragim Tajbakhsh (independent group since 10/01) — collaborations with the laboratories of G. Cossu, P. Maire, A. Mansouri, T. Partridge, M. Polimeni, P. Rigby, , B. Schäfer]

In 1997 we showed that Myf5 and Pax3 intervene upstream of MyoD in the genetic hierarchy that regulates the onset of myogenesis. Our current research focusses on the regulation and function of these genes.

We have analysed Myf5 regulation with YAC transgenes which carry large fragments of DNA from around the locus. Several regions within 96 kbp upstream of the gene have been identified which are necessary for the spatio-temporal pattern of expression in the mouse. These include several enhancers one of which at —58/-48 kbp from Myf5 is composed of distinct sub-regions, directing reporter (nlacZ) gene expression in the myotome compartment of somites, in trunk and limb muscles and in those regions of the central nervous system where we had previously reported unexpected transcription of this myogenic regulatory gene. The earliest expression of Myf5 in somites depends on another enhancer, located at —6 kbp; deletion of this element in the context of the locus (200 kbp) specifically eliminates Myf5 transcription in the epaxial dermomyotome, but not in the myotome, which is the target of other myogenic regulators. A sequence at —17 kbp also acts as an enhancer, directing expression to a subdomain of the myotome which is of particular interest. Located between the epaxial and hypaxial parts of the somite the corresponding intercalated domain of the dermomyotome is characterized by the expression of markers such as Engrailed 1, implicated in boundary formation in the embryo. Recently we have identified other markers which permit a fine analysis of the dynamic nature of this domain during somite maturation in the embryo. Deletion of the —17 kbp enhancer gives an interesting result. A second gene, encoding another myogenic regulatory factor, Mrf4, is located at —6 kbp from Myf5 and probably shares some of the upstream regulatory elements, although its expression pattern is not the same. The introduction of a second reporter gene (alkaline phosphatase) in Mrf4 makes it possible to follow the relation between the promoters of Myf5 or Mrf4 and other regulatory elements/enhancers. Our preliminary results suggest that the element at —17 kbp plays a key role in the regulatory organisation of the locus.

Genetic manipulation of the Myf5 gene, with the introduction of an nlacZ reporter, revealed the role of this myogenic factor in the positioning of myogenic progenitor cells required for the formation of the myotome, as well as in the initiation of the regulatory cascade which leads to their differentiation into muscle. The first mutants that we and others obtained died at birth due to respiratory problems resulting from deficient rib formation. A second generation of mutants, with the selectable marker gene, neo, removed, do not have this rib phenotype and are viable. Our analysis of this phenomenon shows that it depends on the position as well as the nature of the insertion in the locus, probably due to a cis-acting effect on another gene directly or indirectly involved in rib formation. There is a correlation between perturbations in Mrf4 transcription and the rib phenotype suggesting that this factor, which plays a role in the differentiation of myotomal muscle, is a candidate. These observations underline the complex relationships between Mrf4 and Myf5 gene regulation.

The Myf5-nlacZ allele is also expressed in satellite cells which are associated with adult muscle fibres. The regeneration of damaged muscle takes place as a result of satellite cell activation. Pax7 and/or its orthologue Pax3 is also expressed in these cells. In 2000, M. Rudnicki and colleagues showed that satellite cells are absent in a Pax7-/- mutant, in limb muscles where Pax7 predominates. Contrary to what happens during myogenesis in the embryo, Myf5 does not complement the absence of Pax at the level of muscle cell specification. We are examining the role of Pax3 in the satellite cells of muscles such as the diaphragm where we have shown this Pax gene to be expressed. As in the case of Myf5 the manipulation of the locus, with the introduction of reporter genes, enables us to follow the cell populations which express Pax3 in adult mice and also in normal and mutant embryos.

Pax3 is expressed in presomitic mesoderm as well as in muscle progenitor cells. The targetting of other sequences to the Pax3 gene therefore allows us to manipulate early events leading to myogenesis, both at the level of the signallling systems which activate the myogenic determination factors and of other transcription factors implicated in the regulatory cascade which implements the formation of skeletal muscle.

The signalling pathways which control the initiation of myogenesis have already been investigated in the laboratory. The myogenic regulatory sequences of Myf5 are studied in this context. In order to examine a potential role of Notch signalling in myogenic cell specification we have targetted alleles of Pax3 and Myf5 with a sequence encoding a constitutively active, intracellular form of Notch. Perturbations in muscle formation and in neural crest derivatives, particularly evident in the case of the Pax3 allele, are under study.

Members of the Six family of homeoproteins are necessary for the activation of genes involved in muscle cell differentiation and probably also in the earlier events leading to MyoD activation by Pax3. We have targetted an allele of Pax3 with a sequence encoding a dominant negative form of Six4 in order to investigate a potential upstream role of these factors in myogenesis. Embryos with this allele are currently being analysed.

Cardiogenesis

Robert Kelly, Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Stéphane Zaffran — collaborations with the laboratories of N. Brown et J.-F. Nicolas]

The regionalized expression of certain transgenes which are expressed in cardiac muscle, provided us with an interesting tool with which to follow different subdomains of the myocardium, both in vivo during the development of the heart, and in vitro. Thus in explants of the early cardiac tube we are able to identify a time frame when left/right atrial identity is still flexible whereas that of the ventricule is already acquired. We have constructed adenovirus vectors expressing different signalling molecules and factors which enable us to manipulate this acquisition of identity on the left/right and, potentially also, on the anterior/posterior axis.

In most cases regulatory sequences of the transgenes are responsible for their regionalized transcription in the heart. We are trying to define these sequences by transgenic experiments in vivo. We conclude, based on in vitro manipulation of cardiomyocytes, that expression of the transgene, integrated in the genome, becomes unalterable, probably due to chromatin organisation, at an early stage of cardiogenesis, perhaps at the time when myocardial cells acquire positional identity, as monitored in the explant experiments.

One transgenic line, in particular, has revealed the unexpected contribution of anterior mesodermal cells to the myocardium at the arterial pole of the heart. This phenomenon is confirmed by DiI labelling experiments in embryo culture. The origin of this part of the heart had remained obscure. It is now clear from our observations with mouse embryos, and from recent work from other laboratories on the chick, that there is a second source of cardiac precursor cells, initially situated medially to the cardiac crescent where the first cardiomyocytes differentiate, and then, following the movement of cell masses which accompany the development of this region, lying anteriorly to the cardiac tube which forms by fusion of the crescent and which grows by the addition of cells caudally. The cells coming from the anterior heart field, that we have identified, contribute to the anterior part of the cardiac tube to form the outflow tract and probably also at least part of the right ventricle. Explant experiments both with the line where expression of the transgene marks the progenitor cells of this region and with transgenic lines where other regions of the myocardium are marked, allow us to confirm and study the contribution of the anterior heart field.

In contrast to other transgenic lines with regionalized expression in the heart, expression of the transgene in the anterior heart field is due to the integration site. It probably results from an "enhancer trap" type effect from the Fgf10 gene which lies in the same genomic region and which has a similar pattern of transcription in the anterior heart field. We are currently trying to identify the regulatory elements in question. The long half-life of b-galactosidase provides a chase of transgene expression into the arterial pole myocardium. In the presence of an inhibitor of Fgf signalling in cultured embryos this process is perturbed and truncations of the outflow tract are observed, pointing to a role for Fgf10 in the migration/proliferation of the precursor cells for this part of the heart. Another Fgf, Fgf8, is also present in the anterior heart field and may explain why Fgf10-/- mutants do not have a pronounced cardiac phenotype; these mutant embryos are now being re-examined. Our transgenic line also has a phenotype, characterized as a hypomorph of Fgf10.

The question of the origin of the cell populations which colonise different parts of the developing heart is also being addressed by a retrospective clonal analysis. We have targetted the cardiac actin gene with an nlaacZ reporter sequence in which a rare combination event will lead to a functional nlacZ and consequent labelling with b-galactosidase of a cell expressing the cardiac actin allele. The analysis of clones in the embryonic heart visualised in this way already shows that the pool of founder cells is large. The results indicate clonal regionalisation between the right and left ventricles which may reflect the different histories of these two cardiac compartments. The comparison of clones in skeletal muscle, also analysed with this transgene, shows interesting differences. For example, an analysis during the perinatal period, occasionally shows almost complete labelling of a single muscle, suggesting an oligoclonal origin.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Myriam TAISNE (Institut Pasteur)

Philippe DAUBAS (CNRS)

Robert KELLY (INSERM)

Marguerite LEMONNIER (INSERM) – jusqu'en novembre 2001

Frédéric RELAIX (INSERM)

Shahragim TAJBAKHSH (Institut Pasteur) – jusqu'en septembre 2001, à partir de 10/01, responsable d'un groupe indépendant.

Ted CHANG (postdoc)

Lola BAJARD (étudiante en DEA) – depuis septembre 2001

Ralf SPÖRLE (postdoc)

Sigolène MEILHAC (étudiante en thèse)

Stéphane ZAFFRAN (postdoc)

Catherine BODIN (IP)

Dominique MICHEL (IP)

Jacqueline PERREAU (CNRS)

Didier ROCANCOURT (IP)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gmd


  Responsable : BUCKINGHAM Margaret (margab@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos recherches sont centrées sur l'étude de la myogenèse dans le but de comprendre comment les cellule progénitrices sont spécifiées chez l'embryon pour permettre la mise en place de différentes masses musculaires du squelette et du cœur pendant le développement. Nous sommes également intéressés par les cellules progénitrices du muscle chez l'adulte et la contribution de cellules souches à la régénération. Le modèle expérimental est la souris, avec manipulation de gènes de régulation myogénique.



  rapport

cale

La formation du muscle de squelette [Lola Bajard, Ted Chang, Philippe Daubas, Jacqueline Perreau, Frédéric Relaix, Didier Rocancourt, Ralf Spörle, Shahragim Tajbakhsh (groupe indépendant depuis 10/01) — collaborations avec les laboratoires de G. Cossu, P. Maire, A. Mansouri, T. Partridge, M. Polimeni, P. Rigby, , B. Schäfer]

En 1997 nous avions démontré que Myf5 et Pax3 se situent en amont de MyoD dans la hiérarchie génétique qui régule la myogenèse. Actuellement nos recherches se focalisent sur la régulation et la fonction de ces deux gènes.

Nous analysons la régulation du gène Myf5 par une approche de transgenèse chez la souris, en utilisant des YACs portant de grands fragments d'ADN autour du gène. Ainsi plusieurs régions allant jusqu'à 96 kbp en amont de Myf5 ont été identifiées comme étant nécessaires pour différents aspects de l'expression spatiotemporelle du gène. Plusieurs enhanceurs ont été mis en évidence dont un situé à —58/-48 kbp du gène Myf5, composé de sous élements distincts, qui dirige l'expression d'un gène rapporteur (nlacZ) aux myotomes des somites, aux muscles du tronc et des membres, ainsi qu'aux régions du système nerveux central où nous avons mis en évidence auparavant une transcription inattendue de ce gène de régulation myogénique. L'activation précoce du gène dans les somites dépend d'un autre enhanceur situé à —6 kbp ; dans le contexte du locus (200 kbp), la délétion de cet élément élimine spécifiquement l'expression précoce dans le dermomyotome n'affectant pas la transcription myotomale, qui est donc la cible d'autres signaux myogéniques. Un autre élément à —17 kbp de Myf5 a aussi les propriétés d'enhanceur, dirigeant l'expression dans un sous-domaine du myotome qui nous intéresse particulièrement. Situé entre la partie épaxiale et la partie hypaxiale du somite, ce domaine intercalé du dermomyotome exprime les marqueurs tel Engrailed 1, impliqué dans la formation de frontières chez l'embryon. Récemment, nous avons pu identifier d'autres marqueurs qui permettent une analyse plus fine du comportement dynamique de cette région pendant la maturation des somites. La délétion de l'enhanceur à —17 kbp donne un résultat intéressant. Un deuxième gène myogénique, Mrf4, est situé à —6 kbp en amont de Myf5 et partage vraisemblablement certains des éléments de régulation tout en ayant un patron d'expression différent. L'introduction d'un deuxième gène rapporteur (la phosphatase alkaline) dans Mrf4, nous permet d'étudier le rapport de forces entre les deux promoteurs, Myf5 ou Mrf4, et d'autres éléments de régulation/enhanceurs. Nos résultats préliminaires suggèrent que l'élément à —17 kbp joue un rôle clé dans l'organisation du locus.

La manipulation génétique du gène Myf5, avec introduction d'un gène rapporteur nlacZ, nous a permis de démontrer le rôle de ce facteur dans le positionnement de cellules myogéniques requises pour la formation du myotome, aussi bien que dans le déclanchement de la cascade de régulation qui amène ensuite à leur différenciation. Les premiers mutants sont morts à la naissance d'une insuffisance respiratoire due à un défaut dans la formation des côtes. Une deuxième génération de mutants, avec le gène de sélection neo enlevé du locus, ne montrent plus ce phénotype et sont viables. L'analyse de ce phénomène indique qu'il dépent du positionnement ainsi que de la nature de l'insertion dans le locus. Il s'agit vraisemblablement d'un effet en cis sur un autre gène impliqué directement ou indirectement dans la formation des côtes. Les perturbations d'expression de Mrf4 sont corrélées avec le phénotype, suggérant que ce facteur, jouant un rôle clé dans la différenciation du muscle du myotome, pourrait être un candidat. Ces observations indiquent aussi à quel point les séquences qui régulent Mrf4 et Myf5, sont imbriquées dans le locus.

L'allèle Myf5-nlacZ est également exprimé dans les cellules satellites qui se trouvent le long des fibres musculaires chez l'adulte. L'activation de cellules satellites permet la régénération du muscle endommagé. Pax7 et/ou son orthologue Pax3, est également exprimé dans ces cellules. En 2000, M. Rudnicki et al. ont démontré que les cellules satellites sont absentes dans les muscles du membre chez un mutant Pax7 -/-. Au contraire de ce qui se passe pour la myogenèse chez l'embryon, Myf5 ne peut donc pas complémenter l'absence du Pax au niveau de la spécification des cellules précurseurs. Nous examinons le rôle de Pax3 dans les cellules satellites des muscles, tel le diaphragme où nous avons mis en évidence l'expression de ce gène. Comme dans le cas de Myf5, la manipulation du locus avec l'introduction de gènes rapporteurs nous permet de mieux étudier cette population cellulaire. Les souris ainsi modifiées nous permettent également de suivre les populations de cellules qui expriment Pax3 chez les embryons normaux et mutants.

Pax3 est exprimé dans le mésoderme présomitique aussi bien que dans les cellules progénitrices du muscle. L'introduction d'autres séquences dans le gène de Pax3 permet donc de cibler les événements précoces qui amènent à la formation du muscle, que cela soit au niveau des voies de signalisation qui activent les gènes de détermination myogénique, ou au niveau d'autres facteurs de transcription dans la cascade de régulateurs qui amènent à la formation du muscle.

Les voies de signalisation qui contrôlent l'initiation de la myogenèse ont déjà été étudiées au laboratoire. Les séquences régulatrices du gène Myf5 sont étudiées dans ce contexte. Pour mieux comprendre l'éventuel rôle de la voie de signalisation Notch dans la spécification de cellules musculaires nous avons ciblé un allèle des gènes Pax3 et Myf5 avec une séquence codante pour une forme intracellulaire de Notch, constitutivement activée. Les perturbations, particulièrement évidentes dans le cas de l'allèle Pax3, dans les cellules musculaires et les dérivés de la crête neurale, sont à l'étude.

Les membres de la famille d'homéoprotéines Six interviennent dans l'activation de gènes impliqués dans la différenciation musculaire et probablement aussi à une étape plus précoce, entre Pax3 et MyoD. Nous avons ciblé un allèle de Pax3 avec une séquence encodant une forme dominante négative de Six4 dans le but de mieux définir le rôle de ces facteurs en amont de la formation du muscle. Les embryons qui portent cet allèle sont en cours d'analyse.

Cardiogenèse [Robert Kelly, Marguerite Lemonnier, Sigolène Meilhac, Stéphane Zaffran — collaborations avec les laboratoires de N. Brown et J.-F. Nicolas]

L'expression régionalisée de certains transgènes exprimés dans le muscle cardiaque nous a fourni un outil intéressant pour suivre différents sous-domaines du myocarde aussi bien in vivo pendant le développement du coeur normal que in vitro. Ainsi avec les explants du tube cardiaque précoce nous avons pu définir une fenêtre du temps pendant laquelle l'identité des oreillettes gauche/droite reste flexible tandis que le ventricule l'a déjà acquise. Le développement des vecteurs adénoviraux qui expriment différentes molécules de signalisation et de facteurs de régulation, nous permet de manipuler l'acquisition de cette identité sur l'axe gauche/droite ainsi éventuellement que celle du ventricule sur l'axe antérieur/postérieur.

Dans la plupart des cas les séquences régulatrices des transgènes sont responsables pour la régionalisation de leur transcription dans le coeur. Nous tentons de définir ces séquences par des expériences de transgenèse in vivo. Nous concluons, à la suite de manipulation in vitro des cardiomyocytes, que l'expression du transgène intégré dans le génome devient figée, probablement au niveau chromatinien, tôt pendant la cardiogenèse, vraisemblablement au moment où l'identité cellulaire est acquise dans le contexte du myocarde, tel que nous l'identifions dans les expériences avec les explants.

Une lignée transgénique particulière a été très informative sur la contribution inattendue de cellules, provenant du mésoderme antérieur, au myocarde du pôle artériel du coeur. Ce phénomène est confirmé par le suivi de ces cellules, marquées par injection de DiI, dans les embryons en culture. L'origine de cette partie du coeur est restée longtemps obscure. Il est clair maintenant, à la suite de nos observations chez l'embryon de la souris et des travaux récents d'autres laboratoires chez le poulet, qu'il existe une deuxième source de cellules précurseurs du coeur. Les cellules sont situées d'abord médiales au croissant cardiaque où se trouvent les premiers cardiomyocytes puis, suivant les mouvements des masses cellulaires qui accompagnent le développement de cette région, antérieures au tube cardiaque qui s'est formé par fusion du croissant et qui s'accroît par l'addition de cellules postérieurement. Les cellules provenant du champ cardiaque antérieur, que nous avons mises en évidence, s'ajoutent à la partie antérieure du tube cardiaque pour former la voie efférente du coeur et même, éventuellement, une partie du ventricule droit. Les expériences avec d'une part les explants provenant de la lignée dont l'expression du transgène marque cette région, et d'autre part les explants d'autres lignées transgéniques qui marquent différentes régions du myocarde, permettent de confirmer et d'étudier le phénomène.

Contrairement aux autres lignées transgéniques avec une expression régionalisée dans le coeur, l'expression du transgène dans le champ cardiaque antérieur est due au site d'intégration dans cette lignée. Il s'agit vraisemblablement d'un effet de ''piège'' d'élément de régulation du gène Fgf10 qui se trouve à proximité du transgène et dont le patron de transcription est très semblable. Nous recherchons actuellement cet élément. La perdurance de b-galactosidase permet de suivre l'incorporation de cellules dans le myocarde. En présence d'un inhibiteur de signalisation par Fgf, ce processus est perturbé dans les embryons en culture et les troncations de la voie efférente sont observées, indiquant un rôle probable pour Fgf10 dans la migration/prolifération des précurseurs de cette partie du coeur. Un autre Fgf, Fgf8, est également exprimé dans le champ antérieur cardiaque et peut expliquer pourquoi les souris mutantes Fgf10-/- n'ont pas un phénotype cardiaque très prononcé ; un examen plus détaillé est en cours. Notre lignée transgénique provoque également un phénotype, caractérisé pour être un hypomorphe de Fgf10.

La question de l'origine des populations de cellules qui colonisent les différentes parties du cœur peut également être abordée par analyse clonale rétrospective. Dans ce but nous avons ciblé le gène de l'actine cardiaque avec un gène rapporteur nlaacZ. Un événement de recombinaison rare rend le gène fonctionnel, (nlacZ), avec marquage par la b-galactosidase des cellules qui expriment l'actine cardiaque. L'analyse des clones ainsi visualisés chez l'embryon démontre que le pool de cellules fondatrices est grand. Les résultats indiquent une régionalisation clonale entre ventricule droit et gauche qui pourrait refléter l'histoire différente de ces deux compartiments. La comparaison des clones dans le muscle squelettique, également analysé avec ce transgène, montre des différences intéressantes. Par exemple, une analyse pendant la période périnatale démontre un marquage occasionnel presque complet de muscle unique, suggérant une origine oligoclonale.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Myriam TAISNE (Institut Pasteur)

Philippe DAUBAS (CNRS)

Robert KELLY (INSERM)

Marguerite LEMONNIER (INSERM) – jusqu'en novembre 2001

Frédéric RELAIX (INSERM)

Shahragim TAJBAKHSH (Institut Pasteur) – jusqu'en septembre 2001, à partir de 10/01, responsable d'un groupe indépendant.

Ted CHANG (postdoc)

Lola BAJARD (étudiante en DEA) – depuis septembre 2001

Ralf SPÖRLE (postdoc)

Sigolène MEILHAC (étudiante en thèse)

Stéphane ZAFFRAN (postdoc)

Catherine BODIN (IP)

Dominique MICHEL (IP)

Jacqueline PERREAU (CNRS)

Didier ROCANCOURT (IP)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.