Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Genmol


  Director : Anthony P. Pugsley (max@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Molecular Genetics Unit aims at achieving a greater understanding of basic molecular processes in well-characterized and readily amenable bacterial model systems. The unit is currently engaged in four major projects concerned with transcription activation and protein traffic.



  report

cale

Transcription activation by MalT protein in Escherichia coli (Group leader : Evelyne Richet) : MalT protein the transcription activator of operons encoding proteins involved in maltodextrin uptake and catabolism in the Enterobacteriaceae, is the prototype of a new family of bacterial regulatory proteins. Unusually for such proteins, MalT activity is tightly controlled by four ligands: a positive effector (maltotriose) and three negative effector proteins (Aes, MalY and MalK). Furthermore, MalT activity is controlled by the binding and hydrolysis of ATP. We are interested in the ways these signals are integrated by MalT. Structural analysis of the four domains of MalT is under way. Several lines of evidence converge to suggest that the three amino-terminal domains constitute a new signal integration module.

Protein secretion by the secreton (Group leader Anthony Pugsley) : The secreton is a complex machinery that recognizes and transports specific proteins from the periplasm into the growth medium. Secretion is energy-dependent and involves recognition of folded substrate proteins and, apparently, their transport through a large, multimeric gated channel (the secretin) in the outer membrane. Biochemical and structural studies of components of the machinery are beginning to reveal information on their organization and function. In addition, studies are underway to determine how the genes coding for the secreton, notably the E. coli chromosomal genes required for chitinase secretion, are regulated.

Type IV pilus assembly (Group leader Anthony Pugsley). The secreton genes are highly homologous to genes involved in type IV pilus biogenesis in many pathogenic Gram-negative bacteria. These genes include five coding for proteins whose products are reminiscent of pilins, the type IV pilus subunits (notably the highly-conserved N-terminal hydrophobic domain). Indeed, one of the pilin-like secreton components can be assembled into pili in bacteria expressing the secreton genes. This observation raises important questions concerning the real function of the secretion genes (secretion or pilus biogenesis), and the role of pili in secretion (as an element in the control of channel gating, as a motor or conduit to propel proteins beyond the cell surface or as an adhesin to anchor bacteria to substrates degraded by secreted enzymes).

Lipoprotein biogenesis and assembly (Group leader : Anthony Pugsley). Pullulanase, a protein secreted by the type II secreton, and one of the components of the secretin complex (see above) are both fatty acylated at their N-terminus. We have recently initiated a project on how lipoproteins are synthesized and sorted to their correct compartment. Our studies have refined the information on the sorting signal that directs a subclass of E. coli lipoproteins to the outer membrane and we have recently identified a protein that reaches this membrane despite lacking the appropriate sorting signal. Studies currently under way should provide molecular tools with which to study how lipoproteins are specifically localized to the inner membrane in E. coli.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Armelle Lavenir, Secretary, alavenir@pasteur.fr

Evelyne Richet, CNRS, Research Director,erichet@pasteur.fr

Olivier Danot, Institut Pasteur, Staff Scientist, olivdano@pasteur.fr

Olivera Francetic, Institut Pasteur, Staff Scientist, ofrancet@pasteur.fr

Odile Mary-Possot, Institut Pasteur, Staff Scientist, opossot@pasteur.fr

Nicolas Bayan, University of Paris XI, Assistant Professor, nbayan@pasteur.fr

Rolf Koehler, postdoc EC, rkoehler@pasteur.fr

Guillaume Vignon, PhD student, gvignon@pasteur.fr

Carine Robichon, PhD student, crobicho@pasteur.fr

Nicolas Joly, PhD student, jolyn@pasteur.fr

Dominique Vidal-Ingigliardi, Engineer, dvidalin@pasteur.fr

Ingrid Guilvout, Senior Technician, ingvout@pasteur.fr

Nathalie Nadeau, Technician, nnadeau@pasteur.fr Maria Reyngoud, Laboratory Assistant


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Genmol


  Responsable : Anthony P. Pugsley (max@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'objectif des travaux menés dans l'unité de Génétique Moléculaire est d'obtenir une meilleure compréhension moléculaire de processus fondamentaux dans un système modèle bien caractérisé et facilement manipulé. Actuellement, celle-ci est engagée dans quatre projets basés sur l'activation de transcription et le trafic protéique chez Escherichia coli.



  rapport

cale

Activation de la transcription par MalT (responsable du groupe : Evelyne Richet). La protéine MalT est l'activateur transcriptionnel des opérons codant les protéines impliquées dans le transport et le catabolisme des maltodextrines chez les Enterobacteriaceae. MalT est le prototype d'une nouvelle famille de régulateurs bactériens. De manière originale, l'activité de cette protéine est étroitement contrôlée par quatre ligands : un effecteur positif, le maltotriose, et trois effecteurs protéiques négatifs (Aes, MalK et MalY). La régulation de l'activité de MalT semble en outre impliquer la fixation et l'hydrolyse de l'ATP. Nous nous intéressons aux mécanismes par lesquels tous ces signaux sont intégrés au niveau de la protéine. L'analyse structurale des quatre domaines de MalT est en cours. Un faisceau d'arguments suggère que les trois domaines N-terminaux de la protéine constituent un nouveau module d'intégration de signaux.

La sécrétion de protéines par le sécréton (responsable de groupe : Anthony Pugsley). Le sécréton est une machinerie complexe dont le rôle est de transporter des protéines spécifiques à travers la membrane externe de bactéries à Gram-négatif telles que Klebsiella oxytoca ou Escherichia coli. Ce transport requiert de l'énergie et la reconnaissance de protéines dans leur état natif dans le périplasme, le compartiment entre la membrane externe et la membrane plasmique. Leur transport à travers la membrane externe implique un grand conduit formé de douze copies de deux protéines, la sécrétine et la pilotine. Nos analyses biochimiques et structurales des composants du sécréton commencent à révéler leur organisation et leurs fonctions. Nous étudions aussi comment les gènes qui codent les composants du sécréton, et notamment les gènes qui permettent la sécrétion d'une chitinase chez E. coli, sont contrôlés.

L'assemblage de pili de type IV (Responsable du groupe : Anthony Pugsley). Les gènes qui codent le sécréton sont hautement similaires à ceux nécessaires à l'assemblage de pili de type IV chez de nombreuses bactéries à Gram-négatif. Parmi ces gènes, cinq codent des protéines (les pseudopilines) qui possèdent des fortes similitudes aux pilines, les protéines qui composent les pili. En effet, l'une des pseudopilines est assemblée en pili lorsque les bactéries sont cultivées sur un milieu solide. Cette observation génère des questions importantes : quel est le rôle des gènes du sécréton (sont-ils directement nécessaires dans la sécrétion ou dans l'assemblage de pili ?), quel est le rôle des pili dans la sécrétion (est-ce qu'ils constituent une partie du moteur ou d'un conduit qui dirige les protéines sécrétées en dehors du périplasme ou est-ce qu'ils contrôlent l'ouverture de la sécrétine?) et quel est leur rôle dans l'adhérence des bactéries aux substrats dégradés par les protéines sécrétées et la formation de biofilms.

Biogenèse et triage de lipoprotéines (Responsable du groupe : Anthony Pugsley). La pullulanase, l'un des substrats du sécréton, ainsi qu'un composant du sécréton qui s'associe à la sécrétine sont tous les deux des lipoprotéines. Nous commençons à étudier comment les lipoprotéines bactériennes sont synthétisées et comment elles sont assemblées au bon endroit dans une cellule. Nous avons récemment affiné nos informations sur le signal qui dirige la majorité des lipoprotéines synthétisées chez E. coli vers la membrane externe et nous avons identifié une lipoprotéine capable d'atteindre cette membrane sans avoir le signal adéquat. Cette protéine sera un outil précieux à notre stratégie pour identifier les protéines nécessaires à la rétention spécifique d'un petit nombre de protéines dans la membrane interne.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Lavenir, Armelle. alavenir@pasteur.fr

Richet, Evelyne. CNRS, DRII, erichet@pasteur.fr

Danot, Olivier. Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche, olivdano@pasteur.fr

Francetic, Olivera. Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche, ofrancet@pasteur.fr

Mary-Possot, Odile. Institut Pasteur, Chargé de Recherche, opossot@pasteur.fr

Bayan, Nicolas. Université de Paris XI, Maître de Conférences, nbayan@pasteur.fr

Koehler, Rolf. Stagiaire CE, rkoehler@pasteur.fr

Vignon, Guillaume. Thésard, gvignon@pasteur.fr

Robichon, Carine. Thésard, crobicho@pasteur.fr

Joly, Nicolas. Thésard, jolyn@pasteur.fr

Vidal-Ingigliardi, Dominique. Ingénieur, dvidalin@pasteur.fr

Guilvout, Ingrid. Technicienne Supérieure, ingvout@pasteur.fr

Nadeau, Nathalie. Technicienne, nnadeau@pasteur.fr Reyngoud, Maria. Agent de laboratoire


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.