Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Gebi


  Director : Popoff Michel Yvan (mypof@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Salmonella are bacteria which cause severe infection in man and animals. The crucial step in the infection is the entry of bacteria into ileal epithelial cells. This phenotype is governed by a set of genes, expression of which is controlled by regulatory systems in response to environmental conditions. Research is centered on the characterization of these regulatory systems in order to prevent salmonellosis. The role of the RpoS regulon, the set of genes whose expression is controlled by the sigma factor RpoS, in the virulence of Salmonella and in the adaptation of these bacteria to stress conditions is also studied. These studies are aimed at identifying the mechanisms by which Salmonella survive in the environment, including their hosts, to define adapted strategies for prevention.



  report

cale

Salmonella are enteric bacteria which cause severe infections in man and animals. Our research is aimed at defining adapted and new strategies to prevent salmonellosis. For this purpose, studies are focused on (i) the regulatory systems governing Salmonella entry into epithelial cells; and (ii) the mechanisms by which Salmonella survive in the environment, including their hosts.

Prevention of Salmonella infections (Michel Y. Popoff)

The crucial step in the pathogenesis of Salmonella is their ability to penetrate ileal epithelial cells. Most of the genes involved in this infectious process are clustered at centisome 63 of the Salmonella chromosome, which has been referred to as Salmonella pathogenicity island 1 (SPI-1). Their expression is tightly regulated in response to environmental conditions. By using transcriptional fusions with SPI-1 genes, we identified chemical compounds preventing in vitro expression of invasion genes, although growth conditions were optimal for their expression. Furthermore, sodium caprylate, a fatty acid recognized as safe substance for humans and used as food additive, drastically reduced the number of bacteria in spleen of C57Bl/6 mice orally infected subsequently by S. typhimurium, S. enteridis or S. dublin. Activity of caprylate derivatives was further examined. It appeared that 2-hydroxy and 8-hydroxy caprylate, but not 2-amino and 8-amino caprylate, prevented also expression of transcriptional fusions. S. typhi mutants, in which invasion genes expression is no longer repressed by caprylate, were isolated and are under studies. Used as chemical additive in foods or drinking water, sodium caprylate might reduce the incidence of salmonellosis in animals, thereby reducing further human contaminations. This compound appears as a promising alternative to the widespread use of antibiotics in foods for animals.

Functional analysis of the RpoS regulon in Enterobacteriaceae : role in general stress resistance, starvation survival, and virulence of Salmonella (Françoise Norel)

The alternative sigma factor RpoS plays a central role in stationary phase survival and adaptation of Enterobacteriaceae to stress conditions. Most work on the RpoS regulon has been in Escherichia coli K-12 and more than 50 genes regulated by RpoS have been identified so far. Interestingly, RpoS is essential for virulence and persistance in mice of the closely related enteric pathogen Salmonella. To perform a functional analysis of the RpoS regulon in Salmonella, we isolated RpoS-activated lacZ gene fusions from a bank of S. typhimurium mutants. One-third of the fusions mapped to Salmonella DNA regions not present in E. coli K-12. This suggests that the composition of the RpoS regulon differs markedly in the two species. Most of the fusions mapped in genes of unidentified function. One of these, the katN gene, was shown to encode a non-haem catalase. katN is not present in E. coli K-12 but is conserved in enterohemorrhagic E. coli O157, Klebsiella pneumoniae and Pseudomonas aeruginosa, For most of them, the remaining genes are likely to have metabolic functions. They might contribue to adaptation of Enterobacteriaceae to growth conditions in natural environments.

The WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Salmonella (Michel Y. Popoff)

The objective of this WHO Collaborating Centre is the characterization of new Salmonella serovars and new antigenic factors associated with the somatic or flagellar antigens. The centre studies only strains sent by National Reference Centres for Salmonella. This year, the centre described 12 new serovars and sent 383 reference strains to National Reference Centres for Salmonella. It has also published the new editions of the "Antigenic formulas of the Salmonella serovars" and the "Guidelines for the preparation of Salmonella antisera".



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Ondet Maxence (mondet@pasteur.fr)

Norel Françoise, IP (chargé de recherche; spvfn@pasteur.fr)

Popoff Michel Y., IP (professor; mypof@pasteur.fr)

Ferry Rachel, student

Tedin Karsten, post-doc

Fayolle Corine (Technicienne qualifiée; cofayol@pasteur.fr)

Guibourdenche Martine (Ingénieur; mguibour@pasteur.fr)

Hermant Daniel (Technicien supérieur; dhermant@pasteur.fr)

Robbe-Saule Véronique (Technicienne supérieure; vrobbe@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Gebi


  Responsable : Popoff Michel Yvan (mypof@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les Salmonella sont des bactéries responsables d'infections sévères chez l'homme et l'animal. La première étape de l'infection est l'entrée des bactéries dans les cellules épithéliales iléales. Ce phénotype est gouverné par des gènes dont l'expression est régulée en fonction des conditions environnementales. Le but des recherches est de caractériser ces systèmes de régulation en vue de prévenir les salmonelloses. Le rôle du régulon RpoS, ensemble de gènes dont l'expression est contrôlée par le facteur sigma RpoS, dans la virulence des Salmonella et leur capacité à résister au stress est également étudié. L'objectif est d'identifier des mécanismes contribuant à la persistance des salmonelles dans l'environnement inerte ou biologique, afin d'élaborer des stratégies de prévention adaptées.



  rapport

cale

Le but des recherches de l'unité de Génétique des bactéries intracellulaires est d'élaborer des stratégies raisonnées pour prévenir les infections par Salmonella. Ces recherches sont centrées sur: (i) l'étude de l'entrée des salmonelles dans les cellules épithéliales intestinales, qui est l'étape cruciale dans le déclenchement d'une salmonellose; et (ii) la caractérisation des mécanismes contribuant à la persistance des salmonelles dans l'environnement inerte ou biologique, ce qui devrait conduire à définir de nouvelles cibles pour des agents antibactériens.

Prévention des infections à Salmonella (Michel Y. Popoff)

Les gènes d'invasion, qui sont requis pour l'entrée des Salmonella dans les cellules épithéliales intestinales, sont regroupés sur l'îlot de pathogénicité SPI-1 au centisome 63 sur le chromosome. Leur expression est très finement contrôlée par des régulateurs agissant en cascade en fonction des conditions environnementales. En étudiant l'expression de fusions transcriptionnelles, il a été identifié des composés chimiques, qui inhibent in vitro l'expression des gènes d'invasion de Salmonella. Parmi ces composés, le caprylate de sodium réduit de manière très significative la charge bactérienne dans la rate de souris C57Bl/6 oralement infectées par S. typhimurium, S. enteritidis et S. dublin. L'activité de dérivés de l'acide caprylique sur l'expression des fusions transcriptionnelles a été également examinée. La présence d'un radical hydroxyle en position C-2 ou C-8 sur la molécule d'acide caprylique inhibe l'expression des fusions aussi fortement que l'acide caprylique. Au contraire, la présence d'un radical aminé en position C-2 ou C-8 bloque totalement l'activité inhibitrice de l'acide caprylique. Des mutants de S. typhi, chez lesquels l'expression des gènes d'invasion n'est plus sensible à l'action du caprylate, ont été isolés et sont en cours d'étude. L'utilisation du caprylate comme additif dans l'eau de boisson et les aliments composés pour les animaux d'élevage ouvre des perspectives intéressantes pour prévenir les infections par Salmonella dans le domaine vétérinaire.

Analyse fonctionnelle du régulon RpoS chez les Entérobactéries : Role dans la résistance généralisée au stress, la survie et la virulence de Salmonella (Françoise Norel)

Chez les Entérobactéries, le gène rpoS code pour un facteur sigma, qui est un régulateur clé pour la survie bactérienne et la résistance généralisée au stress en phase stationnaire de croissance. De nombreuses études chez Escherichia coli K-12 ont identifié plus de 50 gènes dont l'expression est contrôlée par RpoS. Par ailleurs, RpoS joue un rôle majeur dans la virulence et la persistance de Salmonella chez la souris. L'existence d'un modèle animal et la proximité phylogénétique avec E. coli font de Salmonella une bactérie pathogène modèle pour l'étude du rôle du régulon RpoS dans la survie bactérienne chez un hôte infecté. Afin d'initier une analyse fonctionnelle du régulon RpoS chez Salmonella, nous avons isolé des mutants de S. typhimurium contenant des fusions de gènes activées par RpoS. L'identification des gènes mutés montre que la composition du régulon RpoS de Salmonella diverge significativement de celle du régulon RpoS de E. coli K-12 puisque plus d'un tiers des gènes de Salmonella ainsi identifiés est absent chez E. coli K-12. Plus de la moitié des gènes identifiés est de fonction inconnue et est en cours de caractérisation. Parmi ces gènes, le gène katN, absent chez E. coli K-12 mais conservé chez E. coli entérohemorrhagic O157, Klebsiella pneumoniae et Pseudomonas aeruginosa, code pour une catalase non-héminique de phase stationnaire. Pour la majorité d'entre eux, les autres gènes pourraient participer au métabolisme bactérien, probablement dans des conditions de croissance sub-optimales proches de celles rencontrées dans les habitats naturels.

Centre Collaborateur OMS de référence et de recherche pour les Salmonella (Michel Y. Popoff)

Ce Centre joue, au niveau international, un rôle indispensable en tant que correspondant des Centres Nationaux de Référence des pays membres de l'OMS pour la caractérisation et la description des nouveaux sérotypes de Salmonella. Cette année, le centre a décrit 12 nouveaux sérotypes et envoyé 383 souches de référence à des Centres Nationaux de Référence pour les Salmonella. Les nouvelles éditions des "Formules antigéniques des sérovars de Salmonella" et du "Guide pour la préparation des sérums anti-Salmonella" ont été publiées.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Ondet Maxence (mondet@pasteur.fr)

Norel Françoise, IP (chargé de recherche; spvfn@pasteur.fr)

Popoff Michel Y., IP (professeur; mypof@pasteur.fr)

Ferry Rachel, étudiante

Tedin Karsten, post-doc

Fayolle Corine (Technicienne qualifiée; cofayol@pasteur.fr)

Guibourdenche Martine (Ingénieur; mguibour@pasteur.fr)

Hermant Daniel (Technicien supérieur; dhermant@pasteur.fr)

Robbe-Saule Véronique (Technicienne supérieure; vrobbe@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.