Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Epivironc


  Director : Gessain Antoine (agessain@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our group works on the human oncogenic retroviruses HTLV-1/HTLV-2 and the human herpesvirus HHV8 and on their simian related counterparts. During year 2001, we have continued ongoing projects and developed new studies both on the clinical, analytical and molecular epidemiology of these viruses and on the physiopathology of the tumoral (Kaposi's sarcoma and adult T cell leukemia) and neurological associated diseases (tropical spastic paraparesis).



  report

cale

The recent Unit of Epidemiology and Physiopathology of Oncogenic Viruses has developed the following projects.

  1. Epidemiology of the Human Herpes Virus 8 (HHV8) and of the Human T Cell Leukemia Virus type 1 (HTLV-1) in endemic areas of French Guyana and Cameroon (Central Africa). These long term projects concern the intra-familial modes of transmission of these oncogenic viruses and the search for an host genetic susceptibility for acquiring such viruses. Other epidemiological studies regarding HTLV-1 and its associated diseases (Adult T cell leukemia and Tropical spastic paraparesis/HTLV-1 associated myelopathy) are also in progress in French Guyanese populations.
  2. Molecular epidemiology and genetic variability of HTLV-1/2 and related simian retroviruses (STLV-1/2). We have partially sequenced more than 30 new STLV-1 strains originating from Africa and South East Asia. Furthermore, the complete sequence (8919 bp) of a novel, highly divergent, STLV has been obtained. Lastly a large epidemiological study on HTLV-2 infection is ongoing both at a clinical and at a molecular level in various ethnic populations living in a rain forest area of South Cameroon.
  3. Genetic variability of HHV8 and related simian viruses. We have discovered and partially characterized a novel HHV8 related virus in Chimpanzees living in Central Africa.
  4. Studies on the pathogenesis of HTLV-1 have also been performed. This mainly includes viro-molecular studies of the central nervous system and of muscular lesions in patients suffering of TSP/HAM as well as the characterisation and the use of a novel lentiviral vector containing the tax gene.
  5. Mechanism of resistance to apoptosis of the HTLV-1 infected cells. These studies are currently in progress. We are dissecting, in vivo and in vitro, the mechanisms of action of several chemicals that could be used for the treatment of the HTLV-1 associated Adult T Cell Leukemia.
  6. Studies regarding the phenotypic differences between the Tax proteins of HTLV-2 molecular subtypes A and B are ongoing. In particular, our group study the mechanisms of inactivation of the p53 tumor suppressor gene.
  7. In vivo clonality of HHV8 associated diseases. Studies are mainly focused on the different forms of Kaposi's sarcoma and on the multifocal aspects of such disease. Our results strenghten the potential oncogenic properties of HHV8 in vivo.

For most of these studies, the collaboration with numerous colleagues and friends of the Network of the Institut Pasteur and Instituts associés (especially Cameroon, Central African Republic and French Guyana) has been crucial.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
   

Gessain Antoine, IP, Chef de laboratoire, Chef d'Unité, agessain@pasteur.fr

Ozden Simona, IP, Chef de Laboratoire, sozd@pasteur.fr

Kazanji Mirdad, IP, Assistant de Recherche, mkazanji@pasteur-cayenne.fr

Mahieux Renaud, INSERM, Chargé de Recherche, rmahieux@pasteur.fr

Lacoste Vincent, doctorant, vlacoste@pasteur.fr

Meertens Laurent, doctorant, meertens@pasteur.fr

Royer Christelle, doctorant, cleveau@pasteur.fr

Duprez Renan, DEA

Quere Nelly, stagiaire ESTBA

Tortevoye Patricia, Ingénieur IP, ptortevo@pasteur.fr

Van Beveren Monique, Assistant Ingénieur, CNRS


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Epivironc


  Responsable : Gessain Antoine (agessain@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre groupe travaille sur les rétrovirus oncogènes humains HTLV-1/HTLV-2, sur l'herpès virus HHV8 mais aussi sur les virus simiens apparentés (STLV et rhadinovirus). Durant l'année 2001, nous avons continué des travaux en cours et développé de nouveaux projets dans le domaine d'une part de l'épidémiologie aussi bien clinique que moléculaire de ces virus et d'autre part au niveau de la physiopathologie des maladies associées tumorales (sarcome de Kaposi, leucémie T de l'adulte) ou neurologique (paraplégie spastique).



  rapport

cale

Notre groupe qui constitue depuis début 2001 la nouvelle Unité d'Epidémiologie et Physiopathologie des Virus Oncogènes a continué et développé ses travaux dans les domaines suivants :

  1. Epidémiologie de l'infection par le virus herpès humain 8 et HTLV-1 dans les zones de fortes endémies. Ces travaux à long terme qui portent d'une part sur l'étude des modes de transmissions intra-familiales et d'autre part sur la recherche d'une susceptibilité génétique à ces infections virales se continuent en Guyane et se développent au Cameroun dans des populations villageoises. Par ailleurs, nous continuons en Guyane des travaux d'épidémiologie clinique et analytique des infections par le virus HTLV-1 et les maladies associées leucémiques et neurologiques.
  2. Epidémiologie moléculaire des virus de type HTLV-1/2 et des virus simiens STLV. Nous avons séquençé partiellement (gène env et le LTR) plus de 30 nouvelles souches de STLV-1, originaires d'Afrique ou d'Asie du Sud-Est. De plus, la séquence complète (8919 bp) d'un nouveau virus de type PTLV-L/3 particulièrement divergent a été réalisée. Enfin, une vaste étude d'épidémiologie clinique et moléculaire HTLV-2 a été réalisée dans différentes populations (en particulier des Pygmées) vivant en zones forestières au Cameroun.
  3. Variabilité génétique du virus HHV8 et des virus simiens apparentés. Nous avons en particulier découvert et caractérisé un nouveau virus apparenté à l'HHV8 chez des chimpanzés d'Afrique Centrale.
  4. Des travaux concernant la pathogènèse de l'HTLV-1 ont aussi été réalisés : étude immuno-virologique des lésions de patients ayant des TSP/HAM et/ou des myosites à inclusion. D'autre part, nous avons développé et caractérisé un vecteur lentiviral dérivé du VIH-1 et codant tax.
  5. Nous développons des travaux visant à mieux comprendre la résistance à l'apoptose des cellules infectées par l'HTLV-1 et les mécanismes d'action in vivo et in vitro de certaines drogues telles l'arsenic et l'interféron a utilisées dans le traitement des leucémies T de l'adulte. Nous cherchons aussi à définir comment l'infection virale conduit à une augmentation de l'expression de la protéine anti-apoptotique Bcl-2.
  6. Des travaux concernant les différences phénotypiques des protéines Tax de plusieurs sous-types moléculaires des HTLV-2 et en particulier le mécanisme d'inactivation des fonctions du gène suppresseur de tumeur p53 sont en cours.
  7. Clonalité in vivo de l'HHV8 dans les différentes tumeurs associées. Ces travaux se poursuivent principalement dans les différentes formes cliniques et épidémiologiques du sarcome de Kaposi et dans les fréquentes formes multifocales de cette maladie. Nos travaux renforcent l'hypothèse d'un rôle transformant direct du virus latent dans la pathogenèse de ces tumeurs.


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
   

Gessain Antoine, IP, Chef de laboratoire, Chef d'Unité, agessain@pasteur.fr

Ozden Simona, IP, Chef de Laboratoire, sozd@pasteur.fr

Kazanji Mirdad, IP, Assistant de Recherche, mkazanji@pasteur-cayenne.fr

Mahieux Renaud, INSERM, Chargé de Recherche, rmahieux@pasteur.fr

Lacoste Vincent, doctorant, vlacoste@pasteur.fr

Meertens Laurent, doctorant, meertens@pasteur.fr

Royer Christelle, doctorant, cleveau@pasteur.fr

Duprez Renan, DEA

Quere Nelly, stagiaire ESTBA

Tortevoye Patricia, Ingénieur IP, ptortevo@pasteur.fr

Van Beveren Monique, Assistant Ingénieur, CNRS


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.