Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Enbac


  Director : Patrick A. D. Grimont (pgrimont@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit includes research laboratories, three National Reference Centers, and three industry-oriented laboratories. All modern aspects of bacterial taxonomy are considered with the purposes of providing a better molecular and physiological definition of bacterial species and designing new tools for identification and epidemiological typing. Our methods have been applied to all sorts of bacteria including emerging pathogens.



  report

cale

Molecular taxonomy of bacteria (Patrick Grimont, Elisabeth Ageron, with many collaborations)

Most molecular methods are universally applicable. Comparison of rrs gene (encoding 16S rRNA) sequences allows to position a new isolate in the phylogenetic tree. However, DNA-DNA hybridization remains the essential tool for bacterial species delineation. Other gene sequences (r.g. rpoB) are studied with the aim to reach a taxonomic resolution similar to that of DNA-DNA hybridization. Once new species have been carefully delineated, discriminant phenotypic traits (Biotype-100 strips) or specific signatures in rrs or other genes are searched for. A new species of the genus Vibrio has been described in collaboration with Spanish and German teams and two new species of Legionella have been described in collaboration with our colleagues from Lyon..

Infraspecific diversity (Francine Grimont, Roney S. Coimbra)

Traditional typing tools are generally limited to a single bacterial species whereas molecular methods are more widely applicable. Performing molecular typing systems have been developped. Computer identification of patterns is currently done with softwareTaxotron. A ribotyping system for the genus Shigella has been set up (in collaboration with Giuseppe Nicastro). With endonuclease MluI, 51 discrete ribotypes were observed. A ribotype database allowed to identify 111 clinical isolates of Shigella. Somatic O antigens of Enterobacteriaceae result from the action of several enzymes. The genes encoding most of these enzymes are clustered in chromosomal region rfb. This region has been amplified and restricted for many E. coli serotypes and all Shigella serotypes. A database of restriction fragment sizes allows computer identification of E. coli and Shigella O serogroups. This approach allowed us to discover a new Shigella dysenteriae serotype represented by 22 nonagglutinable isolates. A cryptic flagellar gene (fliC) has been evidenced in 120 strains of Shigella (nonmotile bacteria). After restriction of the amplified gene, 17 patterns were observed. This approach may help uncover the evolutionary history of Shigella.

Metabolic diversity of bacteria (Odile Bouvet)

Synthesis of poly-beta-hydroxyalcanoate by Pseudomonas strains representing various known ribogroups has been studied (Stephane Diard's thesis). Methods which provide a global approach of the metabolism (e.g. application of nuclear magnetic resonnance) were set up as well as techniques allowing to evaluate the physiologic status of bacteria (energetic and oxidative state of bacteria, substrate transport, intracellular pools, activity of major metabolic pathways). These methods contributed to the study of bacterial viability developped at Aquabiolab.

Aquabiolab (Béatrice Regnault, Patrick Grimont)

This R&D laboratory is supported by industrial contracts. Within six years, it has acquired a wide experience in fluorescence in situ hybridization and has designed rapid molecular methods for detecting and enumerating specific bacterial species in water, foods, or clinical samples. A project exploring the frontier between bacterial life and death has been developped (Andrea Villarino's thesis). It has been demonstrated that revivification of bacteria in the presence of ciprofloxacine allowed to distinguish living bacteria (which elongate) from dead bacteria. This year, in collaboration with Maria C. Urdaci (Bordeaux), a fluorescent probe has been designed to visualize nonculturable segmented filamentous organisms associated with trout diarrhoea.

National Reference Center for Salmonella and Shigella (Philippe Bouvet and Patrick Grimont)

The NRCSS contributes to the surveillance of salmonellosis in France by performing complete serotyping (with 164 sera) on more than 10,000 clinical isolates of Salmonella and about 1000 isolates of Shigella each year. Strains are addressed to the NRCSS (with essential epidemiological information) on a voluntary basis by about 1600 public or private clinical laboratories. The NRCSS collects also information on strains which were serotyped locally (5000 per year). A house-made computer system for surveillance and alert of clinical salmonellosis and shigellosis, allows to document spatial and temporal tendencies of 80 major Salmonella or Shigella serotypes and to quickly detect any significant increase in number of cases at national, regional, or department level. Data reports are sent on a weekly basis to Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS). As soon as a significant increase has been detected, an alert message is sent by fax. The NRCSS has set up surveillance of antimicrobial resistance among Salmonella strains. A total of 1000 strains, randomly selected among 15 major serotypes, are studied each year. NRCSS participates in the Enter-Net European network.

National Reference Center for Enteric Molecular Typing (Francine Grimont, Patrick Grimont)

The NRCEMT performs ribotyping on all sorts of bacteria at the request of hospitals and health authorities. A RiboPrinter was acquired which allows us to ribotype all strains of Salmonella enterica serotype Typhi, and strains involved in nosocomial infections. The detection of E. coli pathogenicity genes is done upon request. The NRCEMT also does phage typing for Salmonella serotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Paratyphi A, Paratyphi B, Enteritidis, and Dublin, and serotyping of Serratia strains. The NRCEMT participates in the European network Enter-Net to the surveillance of infections caused by Salmonella enterica serotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Enteritidis, and Dublin, and that due to enterohaemorrhagic Escherichia coli.

National Reference Center for Corynebacterium diphtheriae (Patrick Grimont, Yolande Arnoux)

The NRCCD confirms identification of Corynebacterium diphtheriae and C. ulcerans strains isolated in France, determines the presence of diphtheria toxin genes by PCR, and performs molecular typing on these strains. In association with the NRCEMT and in the framework of the WHO-Europe network ELWGD (European Laboratory Working Group on Diphtheria) and two European contracts, BIOMED and INCO-Copernicus, a database of C. diphtheriae ribotypes has been built after studying 576 strains isolated in many contries including the former USSR.These strains are distributed among 86 ribotypes. The Taxotron software has been chosen for the computer identification of ribotypes.

Center for Molecular Identification of Bacteria (Anne Le Flèche, Patrick Grimont)

The CMIB was created in 2000 to identify all sorts of bacteria by molecular methods (sequencing of rrs and other genes, automated ribotyping, PCR). Strains are received from clinical, veterinary, environmental, or industrial laboratories. In 2001, among strains identified by gene sequencing, 79% corresponded to 123 different known species distributed among 62 genera, 5% corresponded to unnamed taxons with known rrs sequences, 15% corresponded to unknown species within known genera, and 1% corresponded to a new phylogenetic branch. Strains (other than industrial strains) which do not fit any described species are included in our current taxonomic research.

Taxolab (Patrick Grimont, Martine Lefèvre, Corinne Ruckly)

A program, supported by Procter & Gamble, studies the spread of marker bacilli through an experimental kitchen with the purpose of evaluating disinfection strategies. Routes of contamination have been observed and the effect of disinfection with different products has been measured. Lessons learnt from this work should help reduce the incidence of foodborne infections by disinfecting contamination hot-spots.

Photo :

Nonculturable segmented filamentous bacteria visualized in the intestine of diarrhoeic trouts by fluorescence in situ hybridization (Urdaci et al., 2001)



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Sylvain, Chantal (for the Research Unit, csylvain@pasteur.fr)

Lebri Zoulika (for Reference Centers, zlebri@pasteur.fr)

Bouvet, Odile, INSERM (up to Dec. 31, 2001)

Bouvet, Philippe, IP (pbouvet@pasteur.fr)

Grimont, Francine, INSERM (fgrimont@pasteur.fr)

Grimont, Patrick, IP

Aslani, Mehdi, post-doc (Pasteur Institute, Tehran)

Coniglio, Maria Anna (University of Catania)

Diard, Stephane, PhD student

Fourniol, Aurelie

Gelegen, Cigdem (Istanbul)

Le Thi Anh Hong (Hanoi)

Lemaire, Céline

Loubinoux, Julien

Martinez, Olivier

Mayali, Cindy

Nassif, Nadine

Schlegel, Laurent, PhD student

Toribio, Ana Luisa (University of Montevideo)

Villarino, Andrea, PhD student

Janvier, Monique (Engineer, Teaching Department)

Le Fleche, Anne (Engineer, CMIB, lefleche@pasteur.fr)

Ageron-Ardila, Elisabeth (INSERM)

Abihssira, Marie-Valerie (NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

Arnoux, Yolande (NRC Corynebacterium diphtheriae)

Carle, Isabelle (NRC Enteric Molecular Typing)

Felix, Thomas (NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

Guesnier, Francoise (NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

Hugain, Dimitri (NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

Issenhuth-Jeanjean, Sylvie (R&D, NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

K’ouas, Guylène (NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

Lefevre, Martine (Taxolab)

Lejay-Collin, Monique (NRC Enteric Molecular Typing)

Lomprez, Fabienne (CMIB)

Martin-Delautre, Sylvie (NRC Enteric Molecular Typing)

Regnault, Béatrice (Aquabiolab, regnault@pasteur.fr)

Ruckly, Corinne (Taxolab and NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

Sanquer, Laurence (NRC Salmonella - Shigella)

Troubadour-Courcoux, Pascale (NRC Salmonella - Shigella)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Enbac


  Responsable : Patrick A. D. Grimont (pgrimont@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité comprend des laboratoires de recherche, trois Centres Nationaux de Référence, et trois laboratoires en rapport avec l'industrie. Tous les aspects de la taxonomie bactérienne sont développés en ayant pour objectif d'apporter une meilleure définition moléculaire et physiologique des espèces et de réaliser des outils nouveaux d'identification et de typage épidémiologique. Nos méthodes sont appliquées à toutes sortes de bactéries, y compris des pathogènes émergents.



  rapport

cale

Taxonomie moléculaire bactérienne (Patrick Grimont, Elisabeth Ageron, avec de nombreuses collaborations internes et externes)

La plupart des méthodes moléculaires sont d'application universelle. La comparaison des séquences du gène rrs codant l'ARN 16S permet de positionner une souche nouvelle dans l'arbre phylogénétique. Cependant, l'hybridation ADN-ADN reste l'outil essentiel pour délimiter les espèces bactériennes. Les séquences d'autres gènes (dont rpoB) sont étudiées dans le but d'approcher la résolution des hybridations ADN-ADN. Une fois ces espèces nouvelles délimitées avec soin, il est possible de rechercher des caractères phénotypiques (galerie Biotype-100) ou des zones spécifiques dans la séquence du gène rrs ou d'autres gènes. Une espèce nouvelle du genre Vibrio a été décrite en collaboration avec des équipes espagnole et allemande et deux espèces de Legionella ont été décrites avec nos collègues lyonnais.

Diversité infraspécifique (Francine Grimont et Roney S. Coimbra)

Les méthodes traditionnelles de typage sont généralement limitées à une seule espèce bactérienne alors que les méthodes moléculaires ont une plus large application. Des systèmes de typage moléculaire performants sont développés. L'identification automatique des profils est effectuée grâce au logiciel Taxotron. Un système de ribotypage pour le genre Shigella a été mis au point (collaboration avec Giuseppe Nicastro). Avec l'endonucléase MluI, 51 ribotypes distincts sont observés. Une base de données des ribotypes a permis d'identifier 111 souches cliniques de Shigella. Les antigènes somatiques O des entérobactéries sont élaborés par l'action de plusieurs enzymes dont les gènes sont groupés dans la région rfb du chromosome. Cette région a été amplifiée pour de nombreux sérotypes de Escherichia coli et tous les sérotypes de Shigella. Une base de données de restriction de ce fragment amplifié permet l'identification automatique des sérogroupes O des E. coli et Shigella. Cette approche nous a permis de découvrir un nouveau sérotype de Shigella dysenteriae représenté par 22 souches non agglutinables. Un gène flagellaire (fliC) cryptique a été mis en évidence chez 120 souches de Shigella (bactéries immobiles). Après restriction du gène amplifié, 17 profils ont été observés. Cette approche peut éclairer l'histoire évolutive des Shigella.

Diversité métabolique des bactéries (Odile Bouvet)

La synthèse des poly-beta-hydroxyalcanoates par des Pseudomonas représentant les divers ribogroupes connus a été étudiée (thèse de Stéphane Diard). Des méthodes permettant une approche globale du métabolisme (application de la résonnance magnétique nucléaire) ont été mises au point ainsi que des techniques permettant d'apprécier le comportement physiologique des bactéries (état énergétique et oxydatif des cellules, transport des nutriments, pools intracellulaires, activités des voies métaboliques majeures). Ces méthodes sont venues en support des études de viabilité effectuées à Aquabiolab.

Aquabiolab (Béatrice Regnault et Patrick Grimont)

Ce laboratoire de Recherche et Développement est financé sur contrats industriels. En six ans, il a acquis une grande expérience en hybridation in situ en fluorescence et mis au point la détection et le dénombrement rapide de certaines espèces bactériennes dans l'eau, les aliments, ou les prélèvements cliniques. Un travail a été entrepris pour mieux définir la frontière entre la vie et la mort des bactéries (thèse d'Andrea Villarino). Il a été démontré que la revivification des bactéries en présence de ciprofloxacine permet de distinguer les bactéries vivantes (qui s'allongent) de celles qui sont mortes. Cette année, en collaboration avec Maria C. Urdaci (Bordeaux), une sonde fluorescente a été mise au point pour visualiser des bactéries filamenteuses segmentées non cultivables mais associées à la diarrhée des truites.

Centre National de Référence des Salmonella et Shigella (Philippe Bouvet et Patrick Grimont)

Le CNRSS participe à la surveillance des salmonelloses en France en sérotypant complètement (avec 164 sérums) plus de 10 000 souches de Salmonella et près de 1000 souches de Shigella par an. Ces souches sont envoyées au CNRSS (accompagnées des renseignements épidémiologiques essentiels) sur une base volontaire par près de 1600 laboratoires d'analyses de biologie médicale (publics et privés). Le CNR collecte également les informations sur les souches dont le sérotype a été déterminé localement (5000 par an). Un système informatisé de surveillance et d'alerte des salmonelloses humaines et des shigelloses mis au point au CNR permet de documenter les tendances spatiales et temporelles des 80 principaux sérotypes de Salmonella et de Shigella et de détecter précocement toute augmentation anormale d'un sérotype aux niveaux national, régional ou départemental. Différents relevés épidémiologiques sont adressés chaque semaine à l'Institut de Veille Sanitaire (InVS). Dès la constatation d'une augmentation anormale d'un sérotype, un message d'alerte est envoyé par télécopie. Le CNRSS a mis en place un suivi de l'évolution de la résistance aux antibiotiques chez les Salmonella. Mille souches tirées au sort parmi 15 sérotypes sont étudiées chaque année. Le CNR participe au Réseau européen Enter-Net.

Centre National de Référence pour le Typage Moléculaire Entérique (Francine Grimont et Patrick Grimont)

Le CNRTME effectue la ribotypie de toute bactérie à la demande des autorités sanitaires ou hospitalières. L'acquisition en 1999 d'un RiboPrinter nous permet de ribotyper toutes les souches de Salmonella sérotype Typhi ainsi que diverses bactéries responsables d'infections nosocomiales. La détection des gènes de virulence de E. coli est effectuée. Le Centre effectue aussi la lysotypie de Salmonella sérotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Paratyphi A, Paratyphi B, et Enteritidis, et le sérotypage des Serratia. Le CNRTME participe au réseau européen Enter-Net pour ce qui concerne la surveillance des infections à Salmonella enterica sérotypes Typhi, Typhimurium, Enteritidis, et Paratyphi B, et celles dues aux Escherichia coli entérohémorragiques.

Centre National de Référence pour Corynebacterium diphtheriae (Patrick Grimont et Yolande Arnoux)

Le CNRCD confirme l'identification des Corynebacterium diphtheriae et C. ulcerans, recherche le gène de la toxine diphtérique par amplification génique, et effectue le typage moléculaire des souches. En collaboration avec le CNRTME et dans le cadre du réseau OMS-Europe ELWGD (European Laboratory Working Group on Diphtheria) et de deux contrats européens BIOMED et INCO-Copernicus, une base de donnée de ribotypes de C. diphtheriae a été construite après étude de 576 souches isolées dans de nombreux pays dont l'ancienne URSS. Ces souches se distribuent en 86 ribotypes. Le logiciel Taxotron a été choisi pour l'identification automatique des ribotypes.

Centre d'Identification Moléculaire des Bactéries (Anne Le Flèche et Patrick Grimont)

Le CIMB a été créé en 2000 pour identifier toutes sortes de bactéries par des méthodes moléculaires en première intention (séquençage du gène rrs ou d'autres gènes, ribotypie automatisée, amplification génique). Les souches étudiées proviennent de laboratoires cliniques, vétérinaires, de l'environnement, ou industriels. En 2001, parmi les souches étudiées par séquençage, 79% se sont réparties en 123 espèces différentes connues appartenant à 62 genres, 5% à des taxons de séquence connue mais non encore nommés, 15% à des espèces inconnues de genres connus et 1% à de nouvelles branches phylogénétiques. Les souches non industrielles qui ne correspondent à aucune espèce décrite, sont incluses dans nos programmes de recherche taxonomique.

Taxolab (Patrick Grimont, Martine Lefèvre, Corinne Ruckly)

Un programme, soutenu par Procter & Gamble, étudie la dissémination de bacilles traceurs dans une cuisine expérimentale dans le but d'évaluer des stratégies de désinfection. Les routes de contamination ont été observées et l'effet de la désinfection par différents produits a été mesuré. Les leçons tirées de ce travail devraient permettre de prévenir certaines toxi-infections alimentaires en désinfectant les points chauds de contamination.

Légende

Bactéries filamenteuses segmentées non cultivables visualisées dans l'intestin de truites diarrhéiques par hybridation in situ en fluorescence (Urdaci et al., 2001)



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Sylvain, Chantal (pour l’Unité de recherche, csylvain@pasteur.fr)

Lebri Zoulika (pour les CNR, zlebri@pasteur.fr)

Bouvet, Odile, INSERM (jusqu’au 31-12-2001)

Bouvet, Philippe, IP (pbouvet@pasteur.fr)

Grimont, Francine, INSERM (fgrimont@pasteur.fr)

Grimont, Patrick, IP

Aslani, Mehdi, post-doctorant (Institut Pasteur de Téhéran)

Coniglio, Maria Anna, stagiaire (Université de Catania)

Diard, Stéphane, étudiant en thèse

Fourniol, Aurélie, stagiaire

Gelegen, Cigdem, stagiaire (Istanbul)

Le Thi Anh Hong, stagiaire (Hanoi)

Lemaire, Céline, stagiaire

Loubinoux, Julien, stagiaire

Martinez, Olivier, stagiaire

Mayali, Cindy, stagiaire

Nassif, Nadine, stagiaire

Schlegel, Laurent, étudiant en thèse

Toribio, Ana Luisa, stagiaire (Université de Montevideo)

Villarino, Andrea, étudiante en Thèse

Janvier, Monique (Ingénieur, Département des Enseignements)

Le Flèche, Anne (Ingénieur Technologue, CIMB, lefleche@pasteur.fr)

Ageron-Ardila, Elisabeth (INSERM)

Abihssira, Marie-Valérie (CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

Arnoux, Yolande (CNR Corynebacterium diphtheriae)

Carle, Isabelle (CNR Typage Moléculaire Entérique)

Felix, Thomas (CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

Guesnier, Françoise (CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

Hugain, Dimitri (CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

Issenhuth-Jeanjean, Sylvie (R&D, CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

K’ouas, Guylène (CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

Lefèvre, Martine (Taxolab)

Lejay-Collin, Monique (CNR Typage Moléculaire Entérique)

Lomprez, Fabienne (CIMB)

Martin-Delautre, Sylvie (CNR Typage Moléculaire Entérique)

Regnault, Béatrice (Aquabiolab, regnault@pasteur.fr)

Ruckly, Corinne (Taxolab et CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

Sanquer, Laurence (CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)

Troubadour-Courcoux, Pascale (CNR des Salmonella et Shigella)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.