Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Ecoentomo


  Director : Charles, Jean-François (jcharles@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The study of the mode of action of Bacillus sphaericus toxins and their receptors in mosquito larvae Culex pipiens has been continued. The attempts to improve B. sphaericus potency by co-expression of other toxins was undertaken.

The study of the molecular basis of interactions mosquito-flavivirus (Aedes sp. / dengue yellow fever) has been continued (TRP N° 23).



  report

cale

A. Entomopathogenic bacteria

A1 — Functional expression of the receptor of the Bin toxin of B. sphaericus in cell lines (Jean-François Charles, Coll. Y. Pauchet, D. Pauron and I. Darboux, INRA, Antibes)

In the mosquito larvae Culex pipiens, the recepor to the Bin toxin of B. sphaericus is an a-glucosidae of 60 kDa (Cpm1). The corresponding gene has been cloned and expressed by transfection in Spodoptera littoralis Sf9 cells. Binding experiments between the radiolabelled Bin toxin (125I) and SF9 cell membranes showed that the receptor is fully functional. On the opposite, there is no binding between cell membranes transfected with the gene from a mosquito population resistant to the toxin (Geo), due to a stop mutation before the region encoding the GPI anchor of the receptor to the cell membrane.

A2 - Genetics and mechanism of mosquito larval resistance to B. sphaericus (Christina Nielsen-LeRoux, Coll. C. Chevillon and Nicole Pasteur, University Montpellier II))

The mechanisms of resistance of Culex pipiens populations to the binary toxin of B. sphaericus. involve either a modification of the binding step (toxin-receptor) or an unknown mechanism probably located after the initial binding event. There is evidence for at least two mechanisms may co-exist in Culex populations (South of France, Port St. louis and Perpignan). In addition, progeny of crosses between different recessive populations was resistant and the phenotype was functional toxin receptor. This is important for the remaining of resistance genes in natural habitats and for practical management of resistance.

A3 - Improvement of Bacillus sphaericus entomopathogenic properties (Manuel Porcar and Armelle Delécluse)

Entomopathogenic properties of B. sphaericus could be improved by introducing into this host, the gene encoding the highly mosquitocidal toxin Cry11Ba from Bacillus thuringiensis jegathesan downstream from a strong promotor. Three constructs, including the cry11Ba gene and a promotor (sequences previously identified) have been performed and introduced into the B. sphaericus chromosome by in vivo recombination. Analysis of the resulting clones (protein production, mosquitocidal activity) is under progress.

A4 - Development of molecular tools for Bacillus thuringiensis strain classification (Monica Santos et Victor Juárez-Pérez)

The classification of B. thuringiensis strains based on the serology of flagella has been the most reliable and accepted methodology worldwide since 1962. However, this technology is tedious and time consuming. In order to introduce a molecular method to facilitate the classification, we have started the amplification and sequence of the fla genes encoding the flagelin protein of each type strain contained within the collection of the WHO collaborate center. Presently, 70 % of all the expected sequences have been analyzed. The rest of the sequences and their analysis are under progress. The complete sequence analysis and their comparison will determine the feasibility of a PCR-based method to classify the B. thuringiensis strains.

A5 - Remanence of spores of B. thuringiensis isralensis in Camargue after treatment (Christina Nielsen-LeRoux and Myriam Hajaij)

In collaboration with the "Entente Interdépartementale de Démoustication" (EID Mediterranée, Montpellier), we were involved in the evaluation of the natural occurrence of B. thuringiensis in the aim to determine how, after treatment with a mosquito larvicidal product based on Bt israelensis,(Bti) viable spores may accumulate and persist in this environment. Following treatments during Spring and Summer 2001, preliminary results indicate that spores of Bti only poorly accumulate in the field.

 

B- Molecular basis of mosquito-flavivirus interactions (Transversal Research Program 23; coordinator: Armelle Delécluse)

Relationships between mosquito vectors and the viruses they transmit are crucial in the maintenance and transmission of several infectious diseases (dengue, yellow fever, West-Nile…). Understanding these interactions would allow development of innovative control methods to prevent disease transmission.

B.1- Identification of molecular determinants involved in vector competence (Véronique Mayau and Armelle Delécluse)

Mosquito populations display variable susceptibility to flaviviruses development, termed "vector competence". Competence reflects the different barriers encountered by the virus from its entry into the mosquito midgut to its release in the saliva. Various factors such as the presence of specific mosquito receptors and/or differential viral replication in the mosquito might be involved in the competence. We are developing several approaches (surface plasmon resonance, in situ hybridization…) to identify the factors responsible for vector competence to dengue, yellow fever and West-Nile viruses.

B.2- Evolution of dengue genome within the mosquito (Victor Juárez-Pérez, Véronique Mayau and Armelle Delécluse)

Evolutionary studies of dengue virus have revealed that its genetic diversity is increasing. Evolution of the virus genome could occur during its replication within the mosquito, Aedes aegypti. Mutations in a single genome or recombination events between separate genome might account for this evolution. We are currently studying the mutation rate of the dengue virus during its replication in the mosquito and investigating the possibility of genome recombination.

C. WHO Collaborative Centre OMS / IEBC Collection (Jean-François Charles)

The laboratoiry had been renewed in 2000 as WHO Collaborative Centre for Entomopathogenic Bacteria. The International Entomopathogenic Bacillus Collection (IEBC) contains more than 6000 strains : 3600 B. thuringiensis, 600 B. sphaericus and 1800 other Bacillus. More than 370 strains of B. thuringiensis, B. sphaericus and other Bacillus, and 200 antisera and référence powders have been sent. Nevertheless, bacterial identifications and serotyping, and with bioassays on mosquito larvae stoped, due to lack of personnel.

 

The Laboratory of Entomopathogenic Bacteria and the WHO Collaborative Centre are closed since November 30, 2001.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Blanc, Marie-France, mfblanc@pasteur.fr

Charles, Jean-François, IP, jcharles@pasteur.fr

Delécluse, Armelle, IP, armdel@pasteur.fr

Nielsen-Le Roux, Christina, IP, cnielsen@pasteur.fr

Laurent, Philippe, CNRS

Juárez-Pérez, Victor, Postdoc

Porcar Miralles, Manel, Postdoc

Hajaij, Myriam, PhD student, Faculté des Sciences de Tunis

Martinez Rico, Clara

Santos, Monica

Juárez-Pérez, Julio

Hamon, Sylviane, Technician, shamon@pasteur.fr

Mayau, Véronique, Technician, vmayau@pasteur.fr

Delattre, Nelly, Technician

Patricio, Vidalia, Technician, patricio@pasteur.fr

Fillodeau, Anne-Marie

Viley, Christine


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Ecoentomo


  Responsable : Charles, Jean-François (jcharles@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'étude du mode d'action des toxines de Bacillus sphaericus et leur récepteurs chez les larves du moustique Culex pipiens a été poursuivie. Un second volet a porté sur l'amélioration des potentialités de B. sphaericus par la co-expression d'autres toxines.

L'étude des bases moléculaires des interactions moustiques-flavivirus (Aedes sp. / dengue et fièvre jaune) a été poursuivie (PTR N° 23).



  rapport

cale

A. Bactéries Entomopathogènes

A1 - Expression fonctionnelle du récepteur de la toxine de B. sphaericus dans des lignées cellulaires hétérologues (Jean-François Charles, Coll. Y. Pauchet, D. Pauron et I. Darboux, INRA, Antibes)

Chez les larves de moustiques Culex pipiens, le récepteur de la toxine Bin de B. sphaericus est une a-glucosidae de 60 kDa (Cpm1), dont le gène a été cloné et exprimé par transfection dans des cellules Sf9 de Spodoptera littoralis. Des expériences de liaison entre la toxine Bin radio-marquée (125I) et des membranes cellulaires ont montré que ce récepteur est tout à fait fonctionnel. En revanche, il n'y a pas de liaison pour les membranes des cellules transfectées avec le gène d'une population de moustiques résistante à la toxine (Geo), une mutation interrompant l'ancrage GPI du récepteur à la membrane cellulaire.

A2 - Mécanisme et génétique de la résistance des larves de moustiques à B. sphaericus  (Christina Nielsen-LeRoux, Coll. C. Chevillon et N. Pasteur Université Montpellier II))

Les mécanismes de résistance impliquent soit une modification de l'étape de liaison (toxine-récepteur) soit un mécanisme inconnu se situant à priori après l'étape de liaison. Nous avons pu mettre en évidence que deux mécanismes de résistance différents peuvent cohabiter dans des populations géographiquement proches (Port St. Louis et Perpignan) et dernièrement il a été montré, en Tunisie, une résistance semblable à celle trouvée à Port St. Louis (récepteur fonctionnel). Des croisements entre deux colonies portants des gènes de résistances récessifs et différents, donneraient cependant descendance à un phénotype résistant dont le récepteur est fonctionnel. Ceci a une d'importance pour le maintien des gènes des résistances dans la nature et ainsi pour la gestion de la résistance.

A3 - Amélioration des potentialités de Bacillus sphaericus (Manuel Porcar et Armelle Delécluse)

Les propriétés entomopathogènes de B. sphaericus pourraient être augmentées, en introduisant chez cet organisme le gène codant la toxine Cry11Ba de Bacillus thuringiensis jegathesan, sous la dépendance d'un promoteur fort. Trois constructions comprenant un promoteur fort (séquences préalablement caractérisées) et le gène cry11Ba ont été réalisées et introduites dans le chromosome de B. sphaericus, par recombinaison in vivo. L'analyse des clones recombinants (production de protéine, toxicité) est en cours.

A4 - Mise en place d'outils moléculaires pour la classification des souches de Bacillus thuringiensis (Monica Santos et Victor Juárez-Pérez)

La classification des souches de B. thuringiensis est fondée sur la sérologie des antigènes flagellaires. Cette technique, mise au point dans ce laboratoire en 1962, est toutefois peu adaptée car très longue et répétitive. Afin de développer une méthode moléculaire capable de remplacer le sérotypage actuel, nous avons entrepris l'amplification, par PCR, des gènes fla codant les flagellines. L'analyse des séquences de flagellines correspondant à 70% des souches de référence des différents sérotypes composant la collection du Centre Collaborateur OMS a été réalisée. Le séquençage et l'analyse des souches restantes est en cours. Seule l'analyse finale de toutes les séquences nous permettra de déterminer la faisabilité d'une technologie basée sur la PCR comme substitut du sérotypage.

A5 - Présence de B. thuringiensis dans la Camargue après traitement à Bti (Christina Nielsen-LeRoux et Myriam Hajaij)

En convention avec l'Entente Interdépartementale pour la Démoustication (EID) Mediterranee, Montpellier, nous avons été impliqués dans l'évaluation de la présence en milieu naturel de B. thuringiensis, dans le but de déterminer si à la suite de traitements avec B. thuringiensis israelensis (Bti) il y a accumulation de spores viables dans l'environnement. Suite aux traitements, au cours du printemps/été 2001, les résultats préliminaires n'indiquent qu'une faible accumulation des spores de Bti mais suggèrent que la rémanence peut dépendre de la végétation et du sol.

 

B. Bases moléculaires des interactions moustiques-flavivirus (Programme Transversal de Recherche 23; coordonnateur: Armelle Delécluse)

L'analyse des interactions existant entre les moustiques et les virus qu'ils transmettent est un point crucial pour comprendre la transmission de certains flavivirus (dengue, fièvre jaune, West-Nile…) et développer de nouveaux outils capables de prévenir la dispersion des maladies correspondantes.

B1 - Identification des déterminants moléculaires responsables de la compétence vectorielle (Véronique Mayau et Armelle Delécluse)

Les causes de l'expansion de certaines flaviviroses (dengue, West-Nile), ou de leur absence sur certains continents (fièvre jaune en Asie), semblent liées à la "compétence" des vecteurs à transmettre de façon plus ou moins efficace les différents virus. Cette variabilité de compétence pourrait s'expliquer par la présence, chez certaines populations de moustiques, de récepteurs spécifiques du virus et/ou une différence de réplication du virus chez cet hôte. Différentes approches (résonance plasmonique de surface, hybridation in situ…), visant à identifier les facteurs impliqués dans la compétence vectorielle, sont actuellement développées.

B2 - Évolution du génome viral chez le moustique (Victor Juárez-Pérez, Véronique Mayau et Armelle Delécluse)

La diversité génétique du virus de la dengue tend à s'accroître. Cette évolution pourrait être le résultat de remaniements (mutations, recombinaison) du génome viral, lors de la réplication chez le moustique Aedes aegypti. Des variants du génome de la dengue sont actuellement recherchés après infection d'Aaegypti avec un sérotype unique ou coinfection avec deux sérotypes différents.

C. Centre Collaborateur OMS / Collection IEBC (Jean-François Charles)

Le laboratoire avait été renouvelé en 2000 en tant que Centre Collaborateur de l'OMS en matière de bactéries sporulées entomopathogènes pour la lutte biologique contre les vecteurs de maladies. La Collection Internationale des Bacillus entomopathogènes (Collection IEBC) contient plus de 6000 souches, réparties de la façon suivante : 3600 B. thuringiensis, 600 B. sphaericus et 1800 autres Bacillus. Au titre du Centre Collaborateur, nous avons fourni plus 370 souches de B. thuringiensis, B. sphaericus et autres Bacillus, ainsi que 200 sérums anti-flagellaires et poudres étalon de référence. En revanche, le personnel en charge des identifications bactériennes, de la sérologie et des essais biologiques sur larves de moustiques n'ayant pas été remplacé après leur départ, ces activités ont du être arrêtées.

Le Laboratoire des Bactéries Entomopathogènes et le Centre Collaborateur OMS ont fermé leurs portes le 30 novembre 2001.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Blanc, Marie-France, mfblanc@pasteur.fr

Charles, Jean-François, IP, jcharles@pasteur.fr

Delécluse, Armelle, IP, armdel@pasteur.fr

Nielsen-Le Roux, Christina, IP, cnielsen@pasteur.fr

Laurent, Philippe, CNRS

Juárez-Pérez, Victor, Postdoc

Porcar Miralles, Manel, Postdoc

Hajaij, Myriam, étudiante en thèse, Faculté des Sciences de Tunis

Martinez Rico, Clara

Santos, Monica

Juárez-Pérez, Julio

Hamon, Sylviane, Technicienne IP, shamon@pasteur.fr

Mayau, Véronique, Technicienne IP, vmayau@pasteur.fr

Delattre, Nelly, Technicienne IP

Patricio, Vidalia, Technicienne IP, patricio@pasteur.fr

Fillodeau, Anne-Marie, Aide de Laboratoire IP

Viley, Christine, Agent de Laboratoire IP


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.