Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Dynalym


  Director : FREITAS Antonio (afreitas@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The main scientific objectives of the UBPL are the study of :

  1. B and T cell homeostatis.
  2. The dynamics of the lymphocyte populations and the mechanisms of lymphocyte survival.
  3. The role of lymphocyte competition in lymphocyte selection and in the control of the immune responses particularly in the induction and persistence of memory.



  report

cale

I. Lymphocyte homeostasis.

B cells. (Fabien Agenes & Manuela Rosado).

In the adult mouse the number of B cells remains constant in spite of the continuous production of new cells in the bone marrow (BM). The mechanisms that determine the number of lymphocytes in an adult mouse are poorly understood. It is not known why in normal physiological conditions the number of lymphocytes is what it is. We used B-cell deficient mice, with a developmental arrest of B cell production at the pro-B to pre-B stage of B cell differentiation to study the ability of a limited number of normal B cell precursors to populate peripheral B cell pools. We showed that the number of B cell precursors does, not determine the physiological number of peripheral B cells. A similar conclusion was obtained after parabiosis between one normal and two or three B cell deficient mice. These results demonstrate that peripheral B cells number is not determined by the rates of BM B cell production, but it is limited at the periphery. In the same set of chimeras we also showed that the compartment of activated IgM-secreting B cells was controlled by autonomous homeostatic mechanisms since the number of cells it comprises was regulated independently of the size of the mature B cell pool. These results support a model of the immune system in which the size of the different B cell compartments, i.e. pre-B, resting B and IgM-secreting, is autonomously regulated.

In an immune system where there is a continuous excess of B cell production and the total number of B cells is kept constant each newly produced B cell can only establish itself upon loss of other cells. The persistence of B cells at the periphery could, however, be modified by the continuous arrival of the newly formed BM migrants while the fate of the latter at the periphery could also be altered by the presence or absence of resident B cell populations. We investigated the possible mutual influences between established resident populations of peripheral B cells and newly formed B cell migrants. When we studied the fate of mature lymph node (LN) B cells injected into immune-deficient hosts unable to produce B cells, we found that a fraction of the transferred population of LN B cells expanded and persisted for prolonged periods of time.In summary our results show that B cells remaining after two weeks of transfer in immune-deficient hosts represent a stable B cell population which persists for prolonged periods of time by self-renewing, resists replacement and can modify the fate of newly coming B cells.

These findings suggest a hierarchical organization in which the first priority is the maintenance of normal serum IgM levels to ensure both a first natural barrier of protection while keeping a maximum of repertoire diversity among the resting B cell compartment.

T cells. (Afonso Almeida, Jose Borghans, Nicolas Legrand & Alix de la Coste).

The mechanisms that determine the number of T lymphocytes in the peripheral lymphoid system are poorly understood. In young adult mice there is a continuous seeding of the periphery by newly formed thymus migrants. The number of peripheral T cells remains, however, constant. This implies that either 1) the migrant cells are rapidly lost without ever colonizing the periphery, or 2) there is a continuous replacement of the peripheral cells by recent thymus migrants. We developed a novel strategy that allows a quantitative assessment of the contribution of the thymus T cell production and export to the establishment and maintenance of the peripheral T cell pools. We studied the ability of a limited number of T cell precursors to populate the peripheral T cell pools. Our results have major implications to the understanding of the mechanisms of T cell restoration after BM transplantation or after tri-therapy of HIV infected individuals. We show here that although the size of both naive and memory peripheral T cell pools are regulated largely independently of thymus output, complete T cell recovery requires a minimally functional thymus and can only be ensured with a minimal number of competent DN precursors. In this case attempts to reconstitute thymus function are recommended when the peripheral T cell pool is grossly depleted. We also show that insufficient production of mature T cells in the thymus results in deficient peripheral T cell numbers, preferential selection of T cells into the memory/activated pool and oligoclonal repertoires i.e. a situation that mimics the evolution of the immune system during aging.

We have also investigated the mechanisms controlling the expansion of CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+ and CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ T cells after transfer into T cell deficient CD3-/- hosts. We found that when the two T cell populations were co-injected, the presence of CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ T cells limited the expansion of the CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+ T cells. In sequential cell transfer experiments we found that the transfer of a limited number (5x104) of CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ T arrests the growth of an expanding population of 5x106 resident CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+ T cells. These results show that the suppressive effects have real physiological relevance and must be particularly efficient in local environments, in particular when the number of CD25+ cells surmount that of proliferating naive CD4 T cells. In conclusion these studies make evident the role of T cell interactions in the homeostatic control of the size of the peripheral CD4+ T cell pool. CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ T cells act by limiting the accumulation of dividing CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+ naive T cells, i.e. they control differentiation of naive CD4 T cells into the activated cellular compartment.

II. Lymphocyte competition and survival.

In an immune system where new lymphocytes are continuously produced in excess but their total numbers are kept constant, newly generated cells have to compete with other newly produced or resident cells to survive. Competition can be defined as "an interaction between two populations, in which, for each, the birth rates are depressed or the death rates increased by the presence of the other population". There are two main established criteria accepted as evidence of competition among populations: 1. The presence of competitors should modify the equilibrium size of a population and 2. The presence of competitors should alter the dynamics, e.g. the life span of a population. The question of whether competition arises between B and T cells was addressed by comparing the development and the fate of BCR-Tg, TCR-Tg and non-Tg populations in several different lines of mouse BM chimeras. It was found that: a) when injected alone, Tg and non-Tg cell populations show an identical behavior and generate peripheral pools of similar size. b) When Tg and non-Tg cells are mixed in the same host they initially accumulate at the same rate. However, after reaching steady state numbers there is a preferential selection of the non-Tg cells at the periphery. These observations fulfil the first criteria for competition since they demonstrate that the presence of non-Tg populations modifies the number of the Tg cells. In these experiments it was also found that the life expectancy of the Tg B and Tg T cells varied according to the presence and the type of other competing cells. These latter findings fulfil the second main criteria required for the definition of competition as they prove that the presence of competitors alters the life span of a population. In an immune system where the total number of cells is limited, cell survival can no longer be a passive phenomenon, but rather a continuous active process where each lymphocyte must compete with other lymphocytes. It can be said that lymphocytes follow the Red Queen Hypothesis postulate "it takes all the running you can do to keep in the same place".

B cells. (Emmanuelle Gaudin & Manuela Rosado).

Lymphocyte repertoires are shaped in primary lymphoid organs at the early stages of B and T cell development by episodes of positive and negative selection. To have a positive selection event it may suffice that one lymphocyte meet its specific antigen. In contrast, complete negative selection requires that all lymphocytes from the same clone meet the antigen. Whatever the selection mechanism involved it is evident that the dose of antigen must play a major role in the establishment of both B and T cell repertoires. We studied the effects of varying quantities of self-antigen in B cell development. We studied the development of HEL-specific B cells expressing different numbers of Ig receptors in BM chimeras producing varying amounts of HEL neo self-antigen. In the chimeras expressing high concentrations of HEL, B cells are deleted or functionally impaired independently of the number of receptors expressed. In chimeras with low HEL levels, B cells expressing normal numbers of HEL-specific receptors escape negative selection, while B cells expressing fewer receptors with a decreased apparent affinity are positively selected. In these mice, the number of B cells is 20-fold higher than in control HEL- chimeras and a fraction of the cells is activated and secretes HEL-specific IgMs that form immune complexes with circulating HEL. These findings have important implications for the understanding of both Ig allelic exclusion and B cell homeostasis. They also suggest that the "natural" self-reactive serum IgMs result from the selection and activation of low avidity B cells.

T cells. (Nicolas Legrand & Sylvie Garcia).

We have investigated the conditions necessary in vivo for the survival and expansion of naive and memory antigen-specific CD8- T cells. To study the TCR interactions required for the survival or division of naive CD8 T cells we compared their fate after transfer into irradiated hosts, that differed in MHC class I and HY antigen expression. Naive T cells could survive in a resting state in female CD8-deficient mice: they did not incorporate BrdU and the number recovered was constant from day one up to two weeks after injection. Expansion of naive cells required stimulation with male antigen because they divided only after transfer into male CD8-deficient hosts. Naive T cells survival required the right MHC restricting element. In mice lacking H-2Db, or expressing no class I, (H2-Db-2m-) naive cells did not survive but decayed to an average of 3% of the injected cohort at one week, 1% at 13 days and were undetectable at 2 weeks. This decay correlated with the absence of interactions with the MHC restriction element, because naive H-2Db restricted Tg cells persisted after transfer into H-2Kb-deficient mice expressing H-2Db. Thus, as described during thymus positive selection a minimal state of cell activation may allow survival, in the absence of cell division. We next studied the TCR interactions required to maintain CD8+ T cell memory. When memory Tg cells were stimulated after transfer into male CD8- mice their rate of division (>90% BrdU+ cells) was higher than that of naive cells. In contrast to naive cells, memory cells transferred into female CD8- hosts also divided extensively (70% where BrdU+) and survived and divided in mice lacking the H-2Db restricting element (42% BrdU+). In mice lacking class I (H2-Db-2m-mice), about 30% of memory cells still incorporated BrdU, indicating a response to autocrine or environment growth factors, even in the absence of T cell stimulation. However, this response was not sufficient to maintain memory T cells; they disappeared progressively. Two weeks after T cell transfer, donor cells in class I deficient (H2-Db-2m-) host mice were barely detectable.

 

Activation of T lymphocytes in presence of cyclosporin A modifies the program of gene expression (Paolo Truffa-Bachi, Laurent Mascarell, Jean Kanellopoulos, Rodolphe Auger & Véronique Cadet-Daniel)

Cyclosporin A (CSA) is an immunosuppressive drug widely utilized in organ transplantation. Although extremely efficient, CSA does not induce an immunological tolerance towards the graft antigens. CSA should then be given for all life leading to an immunosuppressed state that facilitates the outcome of tumors. In addition, CSA may act on tumorogenesis by other mechanisms such as the induction of genes encoding for proto-oncogenes or growth and differentiation factors for a variety of tissues. During the analysis of the proteins synthesized by activated T-cells, we found that a large number (‰ 150) were found only in presence of CSA. The importance of such novel protein synthesis in tumorogenesis requires the characterization and the analysis of their role. We have presently identified a set of genes that are induced by CSA. The expression of two of these genes was increased 5 to 10 fold by the immunosuppressor. Although the role of these genes is not yet known, we have found that their expression is tissue specific: the corresponding mRNA is found in the spleen, lymph nodes, brain, kidney and bladder. Constructions allowing the expression of these two genes have been performed and their transfection in various cell lines should allow defining their eventual role in cell tumorogenesis.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

VOUGNY, Marie-Christine (mcvougny@pasteur.fr)

FREITAS, Antonio, IP (Pr, afreitas@pasteur.fr)

GARCIA, Sylvie, IP (Assistant, sygarcia@pasteur.fr)

AGENES, Fabien, INSERM (CR2, fagenes@pasteur.fr)

DE LA COSTE, Alix, post-doct

BORGHANS, Josephina, post-doc

ALMEIDA, Afonso, PhD Student

GAUDIN, Emmanuelle, PhD Student

LEGRAND, Nicolas, PhD Student

MASCARELL, Laurent, PhD Student

SANCHEZ GUAJARDO, Vanesa, PhD Studient

MAILHE-LEMBEZAT, Marie-Pierre (tech Sup Labo, mpmailhe@pasteur.fr)

CADET-DANIEL, Véronique (Tech Sup Labo, vcadet@pasteur.fr)

AUGER, Rodolphe (Ingénieur CNRS)

VOUGNY, Marie-Christine (Sec. Direction, mcvougny@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Dynalym


  Responsable : FREITAS Antonio (afreitas@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les principaux objectifs scientifiques de l'UBPL sont l'étude de :

  • L'homéostasie ces cellules B et T
  • Les dynamiques des populations lymphocytaires et les mécanismes de la survie lymphocytaire
  • Le rôle de la compétition lymphocytaire dans la sélection des lymphocytes et dans le contrôle des réponses immunes, particulièrement dans l'induction et le maintien de la mémoire immunitaire



  rapport

cale

I. Homéostasie lymphocytaire

Cellules B (Fabien Agenes & Manuela Rosado)

Chez la souris adulte, le nombre de cellules B demeure constant malgré la production continue de nouvelles cellules dans la moelle osseuse (MO). Les mécanismes déterminant le nombre de lymphocytes dans la souris adulte sont mal compris. Nous avons utilisé des souris déficientes B, avec un arrêt développemental de la production cellulaire B du stade pro-B à celui pré-B de la différentiation cellulaire B, afin d'étudier la capacité qu'un nombre limité de précurseurs B normaux ont à peupler les compartiments périphériques B. Nous avons montré que le nombre de précurseurs B ne détermine pas le nombre physiologique de cellules B périphériques. Nous sommes arrivés à une conclusion identique après parabiose entre une souris normale et deux ou trois souris déficientes B. Ces résultats démontrent que le nombre de cellules périphériques B n'est pas déterminé par les taux de production de cellules B de MO, mais est limité à la périphérie. Nous avons aussi montré, dans les mêmes chimères, que le compartiment de cellules B activées sécrétrices d'IgM était contrôlé par les mécanismes homéostatiques autonomes, le nombre de cellules qu'il comprend étant régulé indépendamment de la taille du compartiment des cellules B matures. Ces résultats confortent le modèle d'un système immunitaire dans lequel la taille des différents compartiments B (pré-B, cellules B au repos et cellules B sécrétrices d'IgM) serait régulée de façon autonome.

Dans un système immunitaire où il y a un excès permanent de production cellulaire B et où le nombre total de cellules B est maintenu constant, chaque cellule B nouvellement produite peut uniquement s'établir par la mort des autres cellules. Le maintien des cellules B à la périphérie pourrait toutefois être modifié par l'arrivée permanente de migrants de MO nouvellement formés alors que le sort de ces derniers à la périphérie pourrait aussi être altéré par la présence ou l'absence de populations B résidentes. Nous avons examiné les influences mutuelles possibles entre les populations résidentes établies de cellules B périphériques et les migrants B nouvellement formés. Lorsque nous avons étudié le sort des cellules B matures de lymphe node (LN) injectées dans des hôtes immunodéficients incapables de produire des cellules B, nous avons trouvé qu'une partie de la population transférée de cellules B LN s'accroissait et persistait pendant de longues périodes de temps. En résumé, nos résultats montrent que les cellules B toujours présentes après 2 semaines de transfert dans des hôtes immunodéficients représentent une population B stable qui se maintient pendant longtemps par autorenouvellement, qui résiste au remplacement et qui peut modifier le sort des cellules B nouvellement formées.

L'ensemble de nos résultats suggèrent une organisation hiérarchique où la première priorité est le maintien de taux d'IgM sérique normaux afin d'assurer une première barrière naturelle de protection et le maintien d'une diversité de répertoire maximum dans le compartiment de cellules B au repos.

Cellules T (Afonso Almeida, Jose Borghans, Nicolas Legrand & Alix de la Coste)

Les mécanismes déterminant le nombre de lymphocytes T dans le système périphérique lymphoïde sont mal compris. Chez la souris jeune, il y a un "ensemencement" permanent de la périphérie par des migrants thymiques nouvellement formés. Le nombre de cellules T périphériques reste toutefois constant. Ceci implique que soit 1) les migrants sont rapidement perdus sans même coloniser la périphérie, soit 2) il y a un remplacement permanent des cellules périphériques par des migrants thymiques récents. Nous avons développé une nouvelle stratégie permettant une estimation quantitative de la contribution de la production et l'exportation de cellules T thymiques dans l'établissement et le maintien des compartiments périphériques T. Nos résultats ont fortement contribué à la compréhension des mécanismes du rétablissement des cellules T après transplantation de MO ou tri-thérapie pour les individus infectés par le VIH. Nous avons montré ici que bien que la taille des compartiments périphériques T naïfs et mémoire soit en grande partie régulée indépendamment de la production du thymus, la récupération complète des cellules T nécessite un thymus fonctionnel minimum et ne peut être assurée qu'avec un nombre minimal de précurseurs DN compétents. Dans ce cas, des essais pour reconstituer la fonction du thymus sont recommandés lorsque le compartiment T périphérique est fortement déplété. Nous avons montré aussi qu'une production insuffisante de cellules T matures dans le thymus provoque des nombres de cellules T périphériques déficients, la sélection préférentielle de cellules T dans le compartiment mémoire/activé et des répertoires oligoclonaux, c'est-à-dire une situation qui imite l'évolution du système immunitaire avec l'âge.

Nous avons aussi étudié les mécanismes contrôlant l'expansion des cellules CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+ et CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ après transfert dans des hôtes CD3e-/- déficients en cellules T. Nous avons trouvé que lorsque les deux populations T étaient co-injectées, la présence de cellules T CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ limitait l'expansion des cellules T CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+. Lors d'expériences de transfert cellulaire séquentiel, nous avons trouvé que le transfert d'un nombre limité (5x104) de cellules T CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ stoppe la croissance d'une population en expansion de 5x106 cellules T CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+ résidentes. Ces résultats montrent que les effets suppressifs ont une application physiologique réelle et doivent être particulièrement efficaces dans les environnements locaux, particulièrement lorsque le nombre de cellules CD25+ surpasse celui des cellules T CD4 naïves en prolifération. En conclusion, ces études montrent le rôle évident des interactions cellulaires T dans le contrôle homéostatique de la taille du compartiment périphérique T CD4+. Les cellules T CD45RBlowCD25+CD4+ agissent en limitant l'accumulation de cellules naïves T CD45RBhighCD25-CD4+ en division, c'est-à-dire qu'elles contrôlent la différentiation des cellules naïves T CD4 dans le compartiment cellulaire activé.

II. Compétition lymphocytaire et survie

Dans un système immunitaire où de nouveaux lymphocytes sont produits continuellement en excès mais où leur nombre total est maintenu constant, les cellules nouvellement produites doivent rentrer en compétition avec d'autres cellules nouvellement produites ou résidentes afin de survivre. La compétition peut être définie comme "une interaction entre deux populations, dans laquelle pour chacune les taux de naissance sont diminués ou les taux de mortalité augmentés en présence d'une autre population". Il existe deux principaux critères reconnus comme preuve d'une compétition entre populations : 1. La présence de compétiteurs devrait altérer les dynamiques, c'est-à-dire la durée de vie d'une population. La question de savoir si la compétition survient entre les cellules B et T a été abordée en comparant le développement et le sort des populations BCR-Tg, TCR-Tg et non-Tg dans différentes lignées de chimères de MO. On a trouvé que : a) lorsqu'elles sont injectées seules, les populations Tg et non-Tg ont un comportement identique et produisent des compartiments périphériques de même taille. b) lorsque les cellules Tg et non-Tg sont mélangées dans le même hôte, elles s'accumulent au début au même taux. Toutefois, après avoir atteint des nombres stables, il y a sélection préférentielle des cellules non-Tg à la périphérie. Ces observations répondent au premier critère de compétition car elles montrent que la présence de populations non-Tg modifie le nombre de cellules Tg. Nous avons aussi trouvé lors de ces expériences que l'espérance de vie des cellules Tg B et Tg T variait en fonction de la présence et du type des autres cellules en compétition. Ces dernières découvertes répondent au deuxième critère principal nécessaire à la définition de compétition comme elles prouvent que la présence de compétiteurs altèrent la durée de vie d'une population. Dans un système immunitaire où le nombre total de cellules est limité, la survie lymphocytaire ne peut plus être un phénomène passif mais plutôt un processus actif continu où chaque lymphocyte doit rentrer en compétition avec les autres lymphocytes. On peut dire que les lymphocytes suivent la Red Queen Hypothesis "it takes all the running you can do to keep in the same place".

Cellules B (Emmanuelle Gaudin & Manuela Rosado)

Les répertoires lymphocytaires se développent dans les organes lymphoïdes primaires aux stades précoces du développement B et T par des épisodes de sélection positive et négative. Pour qu'il y ait sélection positive, il suffit qu'un lymphocyte du même clone rencontre son antigène spécifique. Quel que soit le mécanisme de sélection impliqué, il est évident que la dose d'antigène doit jouer un rôle clé dans l'établissement des répertoires B et T. Nous avons étudié les effets de quantités variables d'antigène du soi dans le développement cellulaire B. Nous avons étudié le développement de cellules B spécifiques HEL exprimant différents taux de récepteurs Ig dans des chimères de MO produisant différentes quantités d'antigène du soi néo HEL. Dans les chimères exprimant de fortes concentrations d'HEL, les cellules B sont délétées ou diminuées fonctionnement, indépendamment du nombre de récepteurs exprimés. Dans les chimères avec de faibles taux d'HEL, les cellules B exprimant des quantités normales de récepteurs spécifiques HEL échappent à la sélection négative, alors que les cellules B exprimant moins de récepteurs, avec une affinité apparemment diminuée, sont positivement sélectionnées. Dans ces souris, le nombre de cellules B est 20 fois plus élevé que dans des chimères contrôle HEL- et une partie de ces cellules est activée et sécrète des IgMs spécifiques HEL, ce qui forme des complexes immuns avec HEL en circulation. Ces résultats ont d'importantes implications sur la compréhension de l'exclusion allélique Ig et l'homéostasie cellulaire B. Ils suggèrent aussi que les IgMs "naturels" réactifs au soi résultent de la sélection et l'activation de cellules B de faible avidité.

Cellules T (Nicolas Legrand & Sylvie Garcia)

Nous avons étudié les conditions nécessaires à la survie et l'expansion in vivo de cellules T CD8- naïves et mémoire spécifiques de l'antigène. Pour étudier les interactions TCR nécessaires à la survie ou la division des cellules T CD8 naïves, nous avons comparé leur sort après transfert dans des hôtes irradiés ce qui différait dans l'expression de l'antigène HY et de classe I du CMH. Les cellules T naïves pouvaient survivre à l'état de repos dans des souris femelles déficientes CD8- : elles n'incorporaient pas le BrdU et le nombre récupéré était constant du premier jour et ce jusqu'à deux semaines après injection. L'expansion des cellules naïves nécessitait une stimulation avec l'antigène mâle car elles se divisaient uniquement après transfert dans des hôtes mâles déficients CD8. La survie des cellules T naïves demandait le bon élément de restriction du CMH. Chez les souris déficientes en H-2Db, ou n'exprimant pas de classe I (H2-Db-b2m-), les cellules naïves ne survivaient pas mais dépérissaient jusqu'à atteindre environ 3% de la cohorte injectée à une semaine, 1% à 13 jours et devenaient indétectables à 2 semaines. Cette diminution était en rapport avec l'absence d'interactions avec l'élément de restriction du CMH car des cellules naïves Tg restreintes H-2Db se maintenaient après transfert dans des souris déficientes H-2Kb exprimant H-2Db. Aussi, comme cela a été décrit pendant la sélection thymique positive, un état minimal d'activation cellulaire peut permettre la survie, en l'absence de division cellulaire. Nous avons ensuite étudié les interactions TCR nécessaires au maintien de la mémoire T CD8+. Lorsque les cellules Tg mémoire étaient stimulées après transfert dans des souris mâles CD8-, leur taux de division (>90% de cellules BrdU+) était plus élevé que celui des cellules naïves. A l'opposé des cellules naïves, les cellules mémoire transférées dans des hôtes femelles CD8+ se divisaient aussi de façon intense (70% BrdU+), survivaient et se divisaient dans des souris ne portant pas l'élément de restriction H-2Db (42% BrdU+). Chez les souris déficientes en classe I (souris H2-Db-b2m-), environ 30% des cellules mémoire incorporaient encore BrdU, indiquant ainsi une réponse à l'autocrine ou aux facteurs de croissance environnementale, ceci même en l'absence de stimulation cellulaire T. Cependant, cette réponse était insuffisante pour maintenir les cellules T mémoire; elles disparaissaient progressivement. Deux semaines après le transfert de cellules T, les cellules donneur dans des hôtes déficients de classe I (H2-Db-b2m-) étaient à peine détectables.

Modification du programme d'expression génique chez les lymphocytes T activés en présence de cyclosporine A (Paolo Truffa-Bachi, Laurent Mascarell, Jean Kanellopoulos, Rodolphe Auger & Véronique Cadet-Daniel)

La cyclosporine A (CSA) est couramment utilisée en clinique pour assurer la transplantation d'organes. Toutefois, cette molécule n'induit pas de tolérance vis-à-vis des antigènes du greffon et doit être administrée à vie. La prise prolongée de l'immunosuppresseur conduit à l'augmentation des complications néoplasiques liée à l'immunosuppression générale induite par la CSA. Toutefois, d'autres processus peuvent être invoqués comme l'induction sélective par la CSA de la transcription de gènes codants pour des proto-oncogènes ou encore pour des facteurs de croissance ou de différentiation pouvant agir sur différents types cellulaires. Nous avons réalisé des analyses protéomiques qui ont montré que le profil des protéines nouvellement synthétisées lors de l'activation des LT est profondément modifié par la CSA. En particulier, la CSA favorise la néo-synthèse de protéines (‰ 150) qui ne sont pas retrouvées chez les LT activés en absence de CSA. Le rôle de cette synthèse protéique induite par la CSA dans le processus d'induction des tumeurs requiert d'abord la caractérisation de ces protéines et ensuite l'étude de leur rôle. Nous avons déjà identifié deux gènes dont l'expression est augmentée d'un facteur 5 à 10 lors de l'activation des LT en présence de CSA. Ces deux gènes, dont le rôle n ‘est pas encore connu, ont une expression tissu spécifique : les ARNm messagers correspondants sont retrouvés seulement dans la rate, les ganglions, le cerveau, le rein et la vessie. Des constructions permettant l'expression de ces gènes ont été réalisées et l'effet de leur transfection dans des lignées de lymphocytes T de souris devra permettre de définir un rôle éventuel dans les processus de tumorogénèse.



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

VOUGNY, Marie-Christine (mcvougny@pasteur.fr)

FREITAS, Antonio, IP (Pr, afreitas@pasteur.fr)

GARCIA, Sylvie, IP (Assistante, sygarcia@pasteur.fr)

AGENES, Fabien, INSERM (CR2, fagenes@pasteur.fr)

DE LA COSTE, Alix, post-doct

BORGHANS, Josephina, post-doc

ALMEIDA, Afonso, étudiant thèse

GAUDIN, Emmanuelle, étudiante thèse

LEGRAND, Nicolas, étudiant thèse

MASCARELL, Laurent, étudiant thèse

SANCHEZ GUAJARDO, Vanesa, étudiante thèse

MAILHE-LEMBEZAT, Marie-Pierre (tech Sup Labo, mpmailhe@pasteur.fr)

CADET-DANIEL, Véronique (Tech Sup Labo, vcadet@pasteur.fr)

AUGER, Rodolphe (Ingénieur CNRS)

VOUGNY, Marie-Christine (Sec. Direction, mcvougny@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.