Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Defin


  Director : Chignard Michel (chignard@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our studies deal with innate defense and inflammation in the lung and are performed with different in vitro approaches as well as animal models. We investigate in such a pathophysiological context the role of epithelial cells, alveolar macrophages, neutrophils and their receptors (Toll-like receptors, proteinase-activated receptors and CD87). Another aspect of our research concerns the effect of surfactant on alveolar macrophages (synthesis of phospholipase A2, IL-10 and TNF-a) as well as the interaction of phospholipase A2 with the surfactant-protein A (see figure).



  report

cale

The lung is the site of various diseases for which the mechanisms of innate defense and lung inflammation play a major role. Acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), cystic fibrosis or invasive pulmonary aspergillosis are typical lung inflammatory diseases. The induction of innate defense is a beneficial process but its exacerbation may lead to a pathologic inflammatory status. Therefore, the major aim of our research is to contribute to the qualitative and quantitative understanding of the mechanisms involved in these diseases, which would allow to target the events enhancing innate immunity without exacerbating the inflammatory process.

Cellular interactions in pulmonary airspaces (Michel Chignard, Dominique Pidard and Mustapha Si-Tahar).

Macrophages and polymorphonuclear neutrophils participate actively to inflammatory and infectious pulmonary diseases. Concerning neutrophils, three secretable serine proteinases particularly account for their effects, namely elastase, cathepsin G and proteinase 3. We have focused our research on the analysis of the effects of these proteinases on different membrane receptors involved in the activation or the adhesion of cells of the innate defense and inflammatory process. Current studies show an effect of elastase and cathepsin G on neutrophils per se. Thus, we observed that these enzymes lower the membrane expression of CD87/uPAR (urokinase-type plasminogen activator receptor), a glycoprotein also expressed by monocytes and epithelial cells, and involved in mechanisms of cell adhesion and tissue repair. Ongoing experiments reveal that these proteinases also cleave the "Proteinase-activated receptor-2" (PAR-2), a receptor expressed at the surface of pulmonary epithelial cells. Such a receptor, for which the physiological agonist(s) is not characterized, is most likely involved in the mechanisms of innate defense and inflammation. Furthermore, we have recently established that elastase and cathepsin G prevent monocyte activation induced by lipopolysaccharides (LPS), a wall component of Gram negative bacteria, through the proteolysis of CD14, a specific membrane receptor for LPS. Being devoid of a transmembrane domain able to transduce intracellular signaling, CD14 acts in concert with newly identified receptors called "Toll-like receptors" (TLR). These receptors allow cells to sense pathogens and trigger mechanisms of innate defense. We are currently evaluating the expression and the role of these receptors within pulmonary tissues and more specifically in epithelial cells.

Using a murine experimental model, we showed that administration of LPS in the airways triggers neutrophil migration and elastase release in the airspaces. Paradoxically, the influx of neutrophils is correlated with an increase of an anti-elastase activity related to DNA released by locally injured cells. The neutrophil influx is due in part to TNF-a produced by LPS-activated alveolar macrophages. Unexpectedly, these activated macrophages are unable to synthesize IL-10, an anti-inflammatory cytokine. The surfactant protein A (SP-A), may explain this particular phenotype as we showed that SP-A is able to down-regulate IL-10 production by cells from the monocytic lineage. Interestingly, during an experimental lethal pulmonary infection with Aspergillus fumigatus, IL-10 is detected in the airspaces and such a production may play a role in animal mortality. It is of note that in this animal model of invasive pulmonary aspergillosis, neutrophils and to a lesser extent alveolar macrophages play a major defensive role.

Mechanisms of regulation and roles of phospholipase A2 in lung inflammatory diseases (Lhousseine Touqui)

Phospholipase A2 (PLA2) catalyses the hydrolysis of phospholipids at the sn-2 position, leading to the generation of cytotoxic lysophospholipids and free fatty acids such as arachidonic acid (AA). The latter is the precursor of leukotrienes and prostaglandins endowed with various biological activities and involved in a number of inflammatory diseases. Recent studies showed the existence of several types of PLA2 whose genes were characterized and classified in several families including intracellular and secretory PLA2. The type IIA secretory PLA2 (sPLA2-IIA) is suggested to play a significant role in different human inflammatory diseases, such as allergic rhinitis, rhumatoïd arthritis, septic shock or ARDS. We developed an animal model which reproduces the anatomopathological criteria of human ARDS. This model is based on the intratracheal administration of LPS to guinea pigs. We showed that LPS causes an acute pulmonary inflammation accompanied by an increased expression of sPLA2-IIA and its release in the alveolar space. Alveolar macrophages are the main source of this enzyme whose expression is induced by an autocrine/paracrine process mediated by TNF-a and inhibited by cAMP. Stimulation of sPLA2-IIA synthesis by LPS is due to induction of this enzyme at the transcriptional level via a process involving the activation of the transcriptional factor NF-kB. Recent results demonstrated that AA down-regulates the expression of sPLA2-IIA mainly via its cyclooxygenase-dependent metabolites and through the inhibition of NF-kB activation. Finally, we showed that sPLA2-IIA is involved in the hydrolysis of surfactant phospholipids and suggested that this process may play a role in the deterioration of the pulmonary surfactant. This deterioration is a typical characteristic of ARDS, leading to the permanent affixing of the alveolar walls, thus blocking the diffusion of oxygen. We also showed that hydrolysis of surfactant phospholipids is controlled by SP-A, which inhibits the catalytic activity of sPLA2-IIA, via a specific and calcium-dependent interaction. This process may represent a mechanism by which surfactant is protected against the deleterious effect of sPLA2-IIA.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Villeneuve Josiane (jvillene@pasteur.fr)

Chignard Michel Inserm DR1 (chignard@pasteur.fr)

Pidard Dominique CNRS CR1 (dpidard@pasteur.fr)

Si-Tahar Mustapha Inserm CR2 (sitahar@pasteur.fr)

Touqui Lhousseine IP CR (touqui@pasteur.fr)

Beaufort Nathalie DEA (started on 10/10/01)

Chabot Sophie PhD student (schabot@pasteur.fr)

Dulon Sophie PhD student (sdulon@pasteur.fr)

Guillot Loïc PhD student (lguillot@pasteur.fr)

Medjane Samir PhD student (smedjanet@pasteur.fr)

Salez Laurent PhD student (left on 31/10/01)

Wu Yongzheng Postdoc (wuyzh@pasteur.fr)

Balloy Viviane Technician Inserm (vballoy@pasteur.fr)

Leduc Dominique Technician IP (dleduc@pasteur.fr)

Thouron Françoise Technician IP (fthouron@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Defin


  Responsable : Chignard Michel (chignard@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Nos travaux concernent la défense innée et l'inflammation pulmonaire et utilisent diverses approches in vitro ainsi que des modèles animaux. Nous étudions dans ce contexte physiopathologique le rôle des cellules épithéliales, des macrophages alvéolaires, des neutrophiles et de leurs récepteurs ("Toll-like receptors", "Proteinase-activated receptors" et CD87). Un autre aspect de nos recherches concerne l'effet du surfactant sur les macrophages alvéolaires (synthèse de phospholipase A2 et de cytokines) ainsi que l'interaction entre la phospholipase A2 et la "surfactant protein A" (voir figure).



  rapport

cale

Les poumons sont le siège de différentes pathologies dans lesquelles les mécanismes de défense innée et d'inflammation interviennent de façon essentielle. Parmi celles-ci figurent des pathologies majeures telles que le syndrome de détresse respiratoire aiguë (SDRA), la broncho-pneumopathie chronique obstructive, la mucoviscidose, ou encore l'aspergillose invasive. Le processus de défense innée est naturellement bénéfique, mais son exacerbation peut conduire à des états inflammatoires préjudiciables. C'est dans ce contexte que nos travaux se proposent d'apporter une meilleure connaissance qualitative et quantitative des mécanismes impliqués, et qui pourrait permettre de cibler les évènements favorisant la défense innée sans augmenter la composante inflammatoire.

Interactions cellulaires dans l'environnement aérien pulmonaire (Michel Chignard, Dominique Pidard et Mustapha Si-Tahar).

Les macrophages et les polynucléaires neutrophiles participent activement aux pathologies pulmonaires inflammatoires et infectieuses.

Dans le cas des neutrophiles, leurs effets s'exercent en particulier au travers de la libération de trois sérine protéinases, l'élastase, la cathepsine G et la protéinase 3. Nous nous sommes attachés à analyser l'activité de ces protéinases sur divers récepteurs membranaires impliqués dans l'activation ou dans les propriétés d'adhérence de cellules de la défense innée et de l'inflammation. Des travaux sont en cours montrant un effet de l'élastase et de la cathepsine G sur les neutrophiles eux-mêmes. Ainsi, nous avons observé qu'elles diminuent l'expression membranaire de CD87/uPAR ("urokinase-type plasminogen activator receptor"), une glycoprotéine également exprimée par les monocytes et les cellules épithéliales, et impliquée dans les mécanismes d'adhérence et de réparation tissulaire. Des expériences en cours montrent que ces mêmes protéinases clivent le "Proteinase-activated receptor-2" (PAR-2) exprimé sur les cellules épithéliales pulmonaires. Ce récepteur, dont on ne connaît pas le (ou les) activateur(s) physiologique(s), serait impliqué dans les mécanismes de défense innée et d'inflammation. Par ailleurs, nous avons établi que l'élastase et la cathepsine G inhibent l'activation des monocytes exposés aux lipopolysaccharides (LPS), un composé pariétal de bactéries à Gram négatif, en agissant sur un récepteur membranaire spécifique, le CD14. Dépourvu d'un domaine transmembranaire capable d'induire une signalisation cellulaire, le CD14 agit de concert avec des récepteurs récemment identifiés appelés "Toll-like receptors" (TLR). Ces récepteurs permettent aux cellules qui les expriment de détecter la présence de pathogènes et de déclencher les mécanismes de défense innée. Nous étudions actuellement l'expression et le rôle de ces récepteurs au niveau des cellules pulmonaires et plus particulièrement de l'épithélium.

Sur le plan de la modélisation de pathologies in vivo, nous avons montré dans un modèle murin que l'administration de LPS dans les voies aériennes induit la migration des neutrophiles et la libération d'élastase dans les espaces aériens. Paradoxalement, la présence des neutrophiles est corrélée avec l'apparition d'une activité anti-élastase dont l'origine serait l'ADN provenant de cellules altérées localement. Par ailleurs, la migration des neutrophiles est contrôlée, en partie, par le TNF-a produit par les macrophages alvéolaires activés par le LPS. Ces mêmes macrophages activés sont incapables de synthétiser l'IL-10, une cytokine anti-inflammatoire. Il apparaît qu'une protéine du surfactant pulmonaire, la SP-A, pourrait expliquer ce phénotype particulier car nous avons observé qu'elle est capable de réprimer la synthèse d'IL-10 par les cellules de la lignée monocytaire. Toutefois, lors d'une infection pulmonaire expérimentale létale provoquée par Aspergillus fumigatus chez la souris immunodéprimée, de l'IL-10 est détectée dans les espaces aériens. Cette production pourrait être impliquée dans la mortalité des animaux. Il faut noter que dans ce modèle d'aspergillose invasive, les neutrophiles jouent un rôle défensif primordial, ce qui ne semble pas être le cas des macrophages alvéolaires.

Mécanismes de régulation et rôles des phospholipases A2 dans les pathologies inflammatoires pulmonaires (Lhousseine Touqui)

La phospholipase A2 (PLA2) catalyse l'hydrolyse des phospholipides en position sn-2 conduisant à la génération de lysophospholipides cytotoxiques et d'acides gras libres dont l'acide arachidonique (AA). Ce dernier est le précurseur des leucotriènes et des prostaglandines doués d'activités biologiques diverses et impliquées dans différentes pathologies inflammatoires. Il existe plusieurs types de PLA2 dont les gènes ont été caractérisés et classés en deux groupes: les PLA2 cytosoliques et les PLA2 sécrétées (sPLA2). La sPLA2 de type IIA (sPLA2-IIA) jouerait un rôle important dans des maladies inflammatoires comme l'arthrite rhumatoïde, le choc septique, les rhinites allergiques, ou le SDRA. Nous avons mis au point un modèle animal qui reproduit les critères anatomopathologiques du SDRA. Ce modèle est basé sur l'administration de LPS par voie intratrachéale chez le cobaye. Nous avons montré que le LPS provoque une inflammation pulmonaire aiguë accompagnée d'une expression accrue de la sPLA2-IIA et de sa libération dans l'espace alvéolaire. Les macrophages alvéolaires sont la principale source de cette enzyme dont l'expression est induite par un processus autocrine/paracrine passant par le TNF-a et inhibé par l'AMPc. La stimulation de la synthèse de la sPLA2-IIA est due à l'induction de cette enzyme à un niveau transcriptionel par un processus dépendant du facteur transcriptionnel NF-kB. L'AA inhibe l'expression de la sPLA2-IIA par un mécanisme impliquant les métabolites de la voie de la cyclooxygénase et aboutissant à un blocage de NF-kB. Nous avons montré que la sPLA2-IIA intervient dans l'hydrolyse des phospholipides du surfactant pulmonaire et avons suggéré que ce processus pourrait être impliqué dans l'altération du surfactant. Cette altération est une des caractéristiques du SDRA conduisant à l'apposition permanente des parois alvéolaires, entravant ainsi la diffusion de l'oxygène. Nous avons également montré que cette hydrolyse est régulée par la SP-A, qui inhibe l'activité de la sPLA2-IIA par une interaction spécifique et dépendant du calcium. Cette interaction pourrait être considérée comme un mécanisme de défense permettant à l'organisme de protéger le surfactant contre l'action délétère de la sPLA2-IIA.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Villeneuve Josiane (jvillene@pasteur.fr)

Chignard Michel Inserm DR1 (chignard@pasteur.fr)

Pidard Dominique CNRS CR1 (dpidard@pasteur.fr)

Si-Tahar Mustapha Inserm CR2 (sitahar@pasteur.fr)

Touqui Lhousseine IP CR (touqui@pasteur.fr)

Beaufort Nathalie DEA (arrivée le 10/10/01)

Chabot Sophie Thèse (schabot@pasteur.fr)

Dulon Sophie Thèse (sdulon@pasteur.fr)

Guillot Loïc Thèse (lguillot@pasteur.fr)

Medjane Samir Thèse (smedjane@pasteur.fr )

Salez Laurent Thèse (départ le 31/10/01)

Wu Yongzheng Postdoc (wuyzh@pasteur.fr)

Balloy Viviane Technicienne Inserm (vballoy@pasteur.fr)

Leduc Dominique Technicienne IP (dleduc@pasteur.fr)

Thouron Françoise Technicienne IP (fthouron@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.