Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Cid


  Director : S.L.SHORTE (sshorte@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Established in 2001, the CID is a well equipped "technical-platform" facility providing expertise to aid researchers by designing, performing and analysing experiments using digital imaging microscopy. In particular, our focus is on dynamic imaging in living cells and tissues in order to gain insight on questions concerning cell biology, cell signalling, cell/tissue organisation and infectious processes. The facility is open to researchers inside and outside Pasteur, who benefit both from the wide variety of cutting-edge techniques offered, and our commitment to pursuing challenging projects requiring novel solutions through collaborative R&D efforts.



  report

cale

The Centre d'Imagerie Dynamique (CID) is a new technological platform at the Institut Pasteur comprising a part of the Plateaux Techniques initiative instigated by the Direction des Equipments et Technologies Stratégiques (DETS). Specifically, the purpose of the CID is to provide and develop high-level cellular imaging technology and expertise for addressing biological questions, which require visualisation and measurement of dynamic processes inside living cells. In addition, our role is to facilitate both national and international collaboration initiatives through, for example, scientific networks like the "European Light Microscopy Initiative" (ELMI). We are also committed to support specialised academic teaching courses hosted within Pasteur.

Albeit primarily a technical platform open to all, the CID is more specifically integrated into the Pasteur scientific community through a direct affiliation with the department of Cell Biology & Infection (P.Sansonetti), and has strong links within the departments of Developmental Biology (M.Buckingham), and Molecular Medicine (J.L.Virelizier). The research experience of our team covers extensively these domains (among others), and allows for us to provide both knowledgeable technical advice necessary for planning and execution of experiments, and insightful academic consultancy for establishing new approaches to specific biological questions. This combination of technical and academic research-engineering expertise makes the CID a highly specialized technical resource and as such affords a unique scientific service.

Note: the facility is (summer 2002) situated in an ergonomic, purpose built environment (Bât.Monod).

Examples of current projects/collaborations underway include a variety of approaches for 3-/4-D spatial/time analysis of subcellular protein distribution and dynamics e.g. Actin cytoskeleton changes induced by toxins in living cells (M.R. Popoff); Analysis of subcellularly localized actin-binding protein distribution and induction of actin polymerisation in living cells (B.Boeda, C.Petit); Effects of viral-protein over-expression on nuclear membrane dynamics & organisation, study of dynamics nuclear membrane invaginations (S. Münter, U.Nehrbass); Three-dimensional spatial analysis of FISH signals localized to chromosomes of parasite nuclei (L.H.Freitas-Junior, A.Scherf), Analysis of "immuno-synapse" structure and membrane dynamics in living cells (V.Das, A.Alcover), Effects of virus infection on synaptic vesicle recycling activity in primary neurons using fluorescent membrane markers (D.Gonzales, M.Brahic).

Equipment and Technical Support. The CID currently maintains twelve "state-of-the-art" microscopes, each customised for specific applications.

IMAGE ACQUISITION

(All systems are based around Zeiss motorized microscopes and PC software driven control)

Single Photon Confocal Microscopes:

Zeiss LSM510 — Ar/He/Ne laser, equipped for FCS, FRAP, FRET and 3-/4-D imaging

Zeiss LSM510 — Ar/He/Ne laser, equipped for 3-D imaging

Leica TCS-4D Kr/Ar laser (permenantly situated in Lwoff building)

Perkin-Elmer — Nipkow spinning disk system for fast confocal imaging in live cells.

2-Photon Confocal Microscope.

Zeiss LSM510 For "deep" in vivo and in situ 4-D tissue visualisation.

Conventional Light Excitation Digital Fluorescence Imaging Stations.

Three TILL "Fast" Imaging Systems equipped for quasi-real-time multi-dimensional imaging

Four Zeiss Multi-dimensional fluorescence time-lapse imaging systems.

IMAGE ANALYSIS

IRIX based Hardware/Software:

Two SGI Octane2 Workstations plus 1 SGI ORIGEN 3400 Server (IRIX 6.5)

Huygens/BitPlane Image processing software for 3-4-D reconstruction/deconvolution.

Microinformatics- 5 "high-end" PC's running various image analysis/processing and visualisation software for customised image processing/enhancement, morphological, numerical, algorithmic, and counting operations.

LIVE CELL/TISSUE PREPARATION, MANIPULATION & MAINTENANCE.

  • P2 cell-culture room
  • Tissue preparation room
  • 3 Bioptechs Live Cell Incubation Chambers
  • Evotek microscope based single cell sorting, and 3-D manipulation.

Activity turnover.

Currently, we host around 75 experimental sessions (each lasting 3-6hrs) per month and during 2002 expect this figure to rise to a peak of between 150-250/month.

Techniques for future development.

  • Single cell microinjection,
  • Infra-red laser micro-dissection;
  • Pulsed-"flash"-laser photolysis,
  • Four-dimensional deconvolution/reconstruction processing and object-tracking analysis,
  • Bioluminescence imaging and photon counting

Projects for future development.

  • Single cell activation of heat-shock promoter driven gene expression (in living, deep tissue sections and on cells in culture),
  • Quantitative "real-time" bioluminescence measurement of gene expression in single living cells using promoter driven luciferase, or colentrazine,
  • Measurement of molecular force generation at cell-substrate adhesion surface,


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
       

PERRET, Emmanuelle, (Technican, eperret@pasteur.fr)

ROUX, Pascal, (Engineer, proux@pasteur.fr)

SHORTE, Spencer (Director, sshorte@pasteur.fr)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Cid


  Responsable : S.L.SHORTE (sshorte@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Créé en 2001, le CID est une plate forme technique d'Imagerie de haute technologie, proposant son expertise aux chercheurs dans l'étude, la réalisation et l'analyse d'expériences faisant appel aux techniques numériques de microscopie. En particulier, nous nous concentrons sur l'imagerie dynamique de cellules et tissus vivants, afin d'avoir un aperçu sur des questions de biologie et de signalisation cellulaire et des mesures de processus dynamiques à l'intérieur de ceux-ci. Le laboratoire est ouvert aux chercheurs de Pasteur ou de l'extérieur; ils bénéficient d'une part d'une grande variété de techniques de pointe et aussi de notre collaboration dans des projets de recherches demandant des solutions novatrices en recherches et développement.



  rapport

cale

Le CID est une plateau technique bien équipé, proposant son expertise aux chercheurs dans l' étude, la réalisation et l'analyse d'expériences en utilisant des techniques numériques de microscopie. En particulier, nous nous concentrons sur l'imagerie dynamique de cellules et tissus vivants, afin d'aborder des questions de biologie, de signalisation et des mesures de processus dynamiques au sein des cellules vivantes. De plus, notre rôle est de faciliter les collaborations nationales et internationales au travers de réseaux scientifiques, comme par exemple, l'ELMI (European Light Microscopy initiative). Nous apportons également, notre soutien aux enseignements spécialisés de l'Institut Pasteur.

Même si, à l'origine, un plateau technique devait être ouvert à tous, le CID est plus particulièrement intégré dans la communauté scientifique Pasteurienne au travers d'un rattachement direct au département de Biologie Cellulaire & Infections (P.Sansonetti), il a aussi des liens forts avec les départements de Biologie du Développement (M.Buckingham) et de Médecine Moléculaire (J.L.Virelizier). Le travail de recherche en Imagerie de notre équipe couvre, de façon extensive, ces domaines (parmi d'autres). Cela nous permet de donner des conseils techniques avisés nécessaires à la planification et à l'exécution des expériences. De plus, en collaboration avec les chercheurs, nous pourrons aborder des questions biologiques spécifiques, en proposant des solutions novatrices d'Imagerie. La synergie entre expertise technique et approche scientifique fait du CID un service technique hautement spécialisé unique dans la communauté Pasteurienne.

Nota : (été 2002) Le laboratoire est situé dans environnement ergonomique construit spécialement (Bât. Monod).

Exemples de projets/collaborations en cours, incluant diverses approches d'analyses spatiales/temporelles 3D/4D de distribution et de dynamique de protéines subcellulaires : Les changements de l'actine du cytosquelette induits par des toxines dans des cellules vivantes (M.R. Popoff) ; l'analyse de la distribution subcellulaire d'une protéine liée à l'actine ainsi que l'induction de la polymérisation de celle-ci dans des cellules vivantes (B.Boeda, C.Petit) ; les effets de la sur-expression d'une protéine virale sur la dynamique et l'organisation de la membrane nucléaire, l'étude des invaginations dynamiques de la membrane nucléaire (S.Münter, U.Nehrbass) ; l'analyse spatiale 3D de signaux FISH localisés dans des chromosomes de noyaux de parasites (L.H.Freitas-junior, A.Scherf) ; l'analyse de structures " immuno-synaptiques " et de dynamiques membranaires dans des cellules vivantes (V.Das, A.Alcover) ; l'étude des effets de l'infection virale sur l'activité de recyclage des vésicules synaptiques dans les neurones primaires en utilisant des marqueurs membranaires fluorescents ( D.Gonzales, M.Brahic).

Equipement et support technique. Actuellement le CID entretient douze microscopes de pointe, chacun équipé pour des applications spécifiques.

Acquisition d'Images.

(La plupart des systèmes sont organisés autour de microscopes Zeiss motorisés, pilotés par des logiciels sur PC).

Microscopes confocaux 1-Photon :

LSM510 Zeiss —laser Ar/He-Ne, équipé pour FCS,FRAP, FRET et imagerie en3D/4D.

LSM510 Zeiss —laser Ar/He-Ne, équipé pour l'imagerie en 3D.

Leica TCS-4D laser Ar/Kr (situé de façon permanente au bâtiment Lwoff).

Perkin-Elmer système à disque rotatif de type Nipkow pour des expériences de confocal rapide sur cellules.

Microscope confocal 2-Photon :

LSM510 Zeiss pour visualisation en profondeur et en 4D in situ et in vivo au niveau tissulaire.

Stations d'imagerie avec lumière d'excitation fluorescente conventionnelle.

Trois systèmes rapides d'imagerie TILL équipés pour les acquisitions multi-dimensionnelles , en " quasi temps " réel.

Quatre systèmes Zeiss pour des acquisitions séquentielles et multi-dimensionnelles de fluorescence.

Analyse d'Images

Ordinateurs et logiciels IRIX:

Deux stations Octane2 SGI plus un serveur SGI ORIGEN 3400 (IRIX 6.5)

Logiciel Huygens/BitPlane pour la 3-/4-D reconstruction/déconvolution.

Microinformatique- Cinq ordinateurs PC de puissance adaptée à l'Imagerie comportant des logiciels d'analyse et transformation des images (par example, pour leur amélioration et pour des opérations numériques, algorithmiques et de comptages).

PREPARATION DES CELLULES VIVANTES/TISSUS, MANIPULATION & MAINTENANCE.

- Une pièce de culture cellulaire de type P2 .

- Une pièce pour la préparation des tissus.

- 3 chambres d'incubation pour cellules vivantes Biotechs

- Un microscope muni d'un trieur de cellules ( cellule à cellule), et permettant les manipulations 3D (Evotek).

Activités du Service

Actuellement notre activité est d'environ 75 expériences ( chacune durant 3 à 6 heures) par mois, et pendant l'année 2002 nous espérons atteindre un pic situé entre 150 et 250 par mois.

Techniques pour un développement futur .

  • Micro-injection d'une cellule,
  • Micro-dissection avec un laser Infra-rouge.
  • Photolyse, irradiation rapide par laser pulsé.
  • Deconvolution/reconstruction en quatre dimensions et analyse de la dynamique de déplacement d' objets.
  • Imagerie bioluminescente et comptage de photons.

Projets pour un developpement. futur

  • Dans un cellule, activation d'un gène par un promoteur de choc thermique ( sur cellules vivantes, tissus épais ou cellules en culture).
  • Mesures quantitatives " en temps réel "de l'expression d'un gène dans des cellules vivantes individuelles en utilisant la luciférase et/ou la colentrazine.
  • Mesures de la force moléculaire générée à la surface d'adhésion cellule-substrat.


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
       

PERRET, Emmanuelle, (Technicienne supérieure de laboratoire, eperret@pasteur.fr)

ROUX, Pascal, (Ingénieur Technologue, proux@pasteur.fr)

SHORTE, Spencer (Directeur, sshorte@pasteur.fr)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.