Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Cholvib


  Director : FOURNIER Jean-Michel (fournier@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit's contribution to the fight against cholera covers four areas: (1) bacteriological diagnosis and molecular epidemiology of cholera vibrios; (2) the design of a chemically defined glycoconjugate cholera vaccine; (3) bacteriological identification of non cholera vibrios; (4) molecular study of non cholera vibrios of medical interest. The French Ministry of Health has designated our laboratory as the " National Reference Center for Vibrios and Cholera ", due to its expertise in this field.



  report

cale

Vibrios are gram-negative bacteria that naturally colonize the marine environment. Vibrios are classified into "cholera vibrios", including isolates belonging to serogroups O1 and O139 of Vibrio cholerae, and "non cholera vibrios", including (i) isolates belonging to serogroups other than O1 and O139 of V. cholerae – known as V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 – and (ii) isolates belonging to other Vibrio species. Our aims are to increase understanding of the ways in which cholera vibrios spread in countries in which cholera outbreaks occur, to design a new vaccine against cholera, and improve the molecular identification of cholera and non cholera vibrios isolated from seafood, to make it easier to evaluate the risk associated with these products.

1. Diagnosis and molecular epidemiology of cholera vibrios (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Cholera remains a major individual and public health problem. According to the WHO, the number of individuals susceptible to cholera due to socioeconomic problems has dramatically increased worldwide, creating conditions favorable for a global cholera crisis. During 2000, 56 countries officially notified the WHO of a total of 137,071 cases and 4,908 deaths. However, according to the WHO, the actual global figures are likely to be higher, due to underreporting and other limitations of surveillance systems.

France is not directly concerned by cholera epidemics as, like most developed countries, it has a high level of hygiene. However, imported cases of cholera are regularly identified in travelers. Such imported cholera cases are notified to the WHO. In 2001, 8 cholera cases were reported on the Mayotte Island, a French territory in the Indian Ocean. Most of these cases concerned individuals not vaccinated during the vaccination campaign in 2000. Two cholera cases were reported in France. These two cases were imported from Indonesia and Togo. No deaths occurred among these 10 cases.

Cholera epidemics do not recognize national borders. We therefore collaborate with biologists from other countries reporting cholera outbreaks, with institutes from the International Network of Instituts Pasteur and with humanitarian nongovernmental organizations. In 2001, we studied 73 V. cholerae O1 strains received from 11 foreign countries. These collaborations make it possible for us to carry out molecular epidemiology studies of cholera and new cholera vibrio strains that might be imported into France. Two molecular typing methods, ribotyping and PFGE, have been used to study the spread of the cholera vibrio strains responsible for cholera outbreaks in Africa since the start of the 7th pandemic. To date, 347 strains isolated from 34 countries have been studied. We are currently analyzing the results obtained.

2. New vaccine against cholera (Alain BOUTONNIER, Bruno DASSY, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

The long-term control of cholera depends on improving hygiene by providing safe drinking water and appropriate sewage disposal, and by changing personal hygiene behavior. However, these control measures are expensive and it is difficult to change people's hygiene and water-use behavior. Hence, there is an urgent need for cholera vaccines that confer reliable and long-term protection in all age groups, including children aged <5 years.

The starting point of our research, which began in 1991, was to determine which antibodies protect against cholera. We have shown that immunoglobulin G (IgG) monoclonal antibodies directed against the polysaccharide moiety of the lipopolysaccharide (LPS) of V. cholerae O1, are immunoprotective in an experimental model of cholera in neonatal mice. We have also shown that IgG antibodies injected intravenously into adult mice are transferred from blood vessels to the lumen of the intestine. These results encouraged us to start, in 1995, the development of chemically defined vaccines inducing protective serum IgG directed against the polysaccharide moiety of the LPS of V. cholerae O1 and V. cholerae O139. These vaccines will consist of glycoconjugates of the purified polysaccharides of the LPSs covalently linked to a carrier protein.

Serogroup O1 of V. cholerae consists of two serotypes, Ogawa and Inaba. The LPS of the Ogawa serotype contains a specific antigenic determinant. Another antigenic determinant is common to Ogawa and Inaba serotypes. LPSs from these two serotypes were purified and their antigenic determinants studied, using immunochemical and physicochemical methods. By studying in cristallography the binding of anti-Ogawa monoclonal antibodies to synthetic oligosaccharides fragments mimicking the Ogawa O-specific polysaccharide, we showed that the terminal monosaccharide, bearing a 2-O-methyl group, is the determinant for the Ogawa serotype. We then showed that both the core and the O-specific polysaccharide of the LPS are involved in the antigenic determinant common to the Ogawa and Inaba serotypes. These results will help us to prepare glycoconjugates containing these O1 polysaccharides.

The polysaccharide moiety of the LPS of V. cholerae O139 was purified and conjugated to tetanus toxoid. The immunogenicity of the conjugate was assessed in mice. The unconjugated polysaccharide moiety elicited mostly IgM antibodies, whereas only low levels of anti-LPS IgG antibodies were detected. The conjugate elicited high levels of IgG antibodies, peaking 3 months after the first immunization and declining slowly during the following 5 months. Conjugation of the O139 polysaccharide, therefore, enhanced its immunogenicity and conferred T-dependent properties on this polysaccharide. Clinical evaluation of this V. cholerae O139 glycoconjugate is planned.

3. Bacteriological identification of non cholera vibrios (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

The genus Vibrio is known to contain more than 50 species, including 7 species frequently isolated from human clinical samples: V. cholerae, V. parahaemolyticus, V. vulnificus, V. alginolyticus, V. fluvialis, V. hollisae, and V. mimicus. Non cholera vibrio infections in humans may result in gastro-enteritis, skin and soft tissue infections and septicemia, and miscellaneous extraintestinal infections, such as ear infections. Patients with underlying immunosuppressive disease are at high risk of the rapid spread of infections with these microorganisms. Most of these infections are associated with contact with seawater or seafood consumption, and their occurrence is correlated with the warmer months of the year.

In 2001, 11 cases of infections due to non cholera vibrios were identified in France by the National Reference Center. Four cases of septicemia or gastroenteritis were caused by V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139. Four cases of septicemia or ear infections were caused by V. alginolyticus, 2 cases of septicemia and gastroenteritis were caused by V. fluvialis and 1 case of septicemia and soft tissue infection was caused by V. vulnificus. Eleven clinical isolates from Romania were also studied. Within the context of the surveillance of seafood products imported into France, we studied 228 Vibrio strains. Forty-seven environmental isolates were also studied.

4. Characterization of non cholera vibrios by molecular methods (Annick ROBERT- PILLOT, Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Ecological modifications to marine and estuarine environments, due to global climate change or local industrial activities, favor the proliferation and the dissemination of vibrios, which may then colonize humans, either by direct contact with seawater or following the consumption of seafood. Increasing international trade and the consumption of raw seafood, together with an increase in the number of susceptible individuals with underlying immunosuppressive disease, are leading to concern that the incidence of infections due to non cholera vibrios may increase. Public health concern has stressed the importance of developing molecular methods for the detection and identification of two vibrio species, V. cholerae and V. parahaemolyticus, present both in seawater and in seafood, and for the characterization of their virulence factors.

Within this context, we have developed a rapid and efficient method, based on colony hybridization assays, for the detection of V. cholerae in seawater. This method uses a 22-nucleotide sequence of the 16S-23S rDNA intergenic spacer region as a probe. Efforts have also focused on the identification of V. parahaemolyticus isolated from the environment. We have shown that biochemical tests are not accurate enough to differentiate this species from closely related species such as V. alginolyticus and have demonstrated that polymerase chain reaction (PCR) with the R72H V. parahaemolyticus-specific sequence is a powerful tool for the reliable identification of this species.

Environmental strains of V. cholerae constitute a reservoir of virulence genes and of potential epidemic strains that represent a hazard for human populations. We are monitoring the evolution of environmental V. cholerae by the subspecies typing of strains isolated from environmental samples and their comparison with strains isolated from clinical samples. To date, 86 strains of clinical origin and 185 strains of environmental origin have been characterized by ribotyping.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

BREGEAT Annick, abregeat@pasteur.fr

DASSY Bruno, bdassy@pasteur.fr

FOURNIER Jean-Michel, fournier@pasteur.fr

QUILICI Marie-Laure, quilici@pasteur.fr

ROBERT-PILLOT Annick, arp@pasteur.fr

MASIP Montserrat

DENIS Loïc

ROBERT Quentin

BOUTONNIER Alain, Engineer IP, abouto@pasteur.fr

GUENOLE, Alain,Technician IP, aguenole@pasteur.fr

OUZILLEAU Betty, Technician IP

Shared with the Laboratory of Listeria :

BERTEL Arnaud, Laboratory Assistant IP

DELAIRE Marie-Claire, Laboratory Agent IP

TESSAUD Nathalie, Laboratory Assistant IP


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Cholvib


  Responsable : FOURNIER Jean-Michel (fournier@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

La contribution de l'unité à la lutte contre le choléra se fait selon 4 thèmes : (1) le diagnostic bactériologique et l'épidémiologie moléculaire du choléra; (2) la mise au point d'un vaccin anticholérique glycoconjugué chimiquement défini; (3) l'identification bactériologique des vibrions non cholériques; (4) l'étude moléculaire des vibrions non cholériques d'intérêt médical. En raison de son expertise dans ces domaines, notre laboratoire est désigné " Centre National de Référence des Vibrions et du Choléra " par le Ministère de la Santé.



  rapport

cale

Les vibrions sont des bactéries à Gram négatif qui colonisent l'environnement marin. On distingue les "vibrions cholériques", incluant les isolats appartenant aux sérogroupes O1 et O139 de l'espèce Vibrio cholerae, et les "vibrions non cholériques", incluant les isolats appartenant aux sérogoupes autres que O1 et O139 de V. cholerae - appelés V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139 - et les isolats appartenant aux autres espèces du genre Vibrio. Nos objectifs sont de mieux comprendre comment les vibrions cholériques se propagent dans les pays atteints par des épidémies de choléra, de mettre au point un nouveau vaccin contre le choléra, et d'améliorer les méthodes moléculaires d'étude des vibrions cholériques et non cholériques isolés de l'environnement et des produits de la mer, afin de mieux évaluer les risques qu'ils représentent.

1. Diagnostic bactériologique et épidémiologie moléculaire du choléra (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Le choléra reste aujourd'hui une maladie grave à la fois pour les individus et pour les collectivités. Selon l'OMS, à la suite de la dégradation des conditions socio-économiques survenue ces dernières années dans de nombreuses régions du monde, le nombre de personnes exposées à cette maladie a augmenté de façon spectaculaire, créant les conditions d'un problème majeur à l'échelle de la planète. Pendant l'année 2000, 56 pays ont officiellement déclaré à l'OMS un total de 137 071 cas de choléra ayant entraîné 4 908 décès. Cependant, selon l'OMS, les chiffres réels sont probablement plus élevés en raison de sous-déclarations et d'insuffisances des systèmes de surveillance.

Comme la plupart des pays développés qui bénéficient d'un niveau d'hygiène élevé, la France n'est pas directement concernée par des épidémies de choléra. Cependant des cas de choléra importés sont régulièrement diagnostiqués chez des voyageurs. Ces cas font l'objet d'une déclaration aux autorités nationales de santé (DGS, InVS) et à l'OMS. En 2001, 8 cas de choléra ont été recensés dans l'île de Mayotte, territoire français de l'Océan Indien. Ces cas sont survenus pour la plupart chez des personnes qui n'avaient pas été vaccinées lors de la campagne de vaccination effectuée en 2000. Deux cas de choléra sont survenus en France métropolitaine, le premier importé d'Indonésie, le second, du Togo. Ces dix cas n'ont entraîné aucun décès.

Les épidémies de choléra ne connaissent pas les frontières. C'est pourquoi nous collaborons avec des biologistes de pays concernés, avec les instituts du Réseau International des Instituts Pasteur et Instituts Associés, ainsi qu'avec des organisations humanitaires. En 2001, nous avons étudié 73 isolats de V. cholerae O1 reçus de 11 pays étrangers. Ces collaborations nous ont permis de faire des études d'épidémiologie moléculaire sur des souches de vibrions cholériques susceptibles d'être importées en France. Nous avons utilisé deux méthodes de typage moléculaire, le ribotypage et l'électrophorèse en champ pulsé, pour étudier la propagation des souches de Vibrio cholerae O1 responsables d'épidémies de choléra sur le continent africain depuis l'arrivée de la 7ème pandémie cholérique. A ce jour, 347 souches isolées dans 34 pays ont été étudiées. L'analyse des résultats est en cours.

2. Nouveau vaccin contre le choléra (Alain BOUTONNIER, Bruno DASSY, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

La maîtrise à long-terme du choléra repose sur l'amélioration de l'hygiène par la fourniture d'eau potable, l'assainissement des effluents, et l'éducation sanitaire. Cependant, ces mesures sont coûteuses et il est difficile de faire évoluer les comportements des populations vis à vis de l'hygiène et de l'utilisation de l'eau. C'est pourquoi il est urgent de pouvoir disposer d'un vaccin anticholérique efficace à long terme chez tous les groupes d'âge, et en particulier chez les enfants de moins de 5 ans.

Le point de départ de notre recherche, qui a débuté en 1991, était de déterminer quels anticorps protègent contre le choléra. Nous avons démontré que des immunoglobulines G (IgG) monoclonales, dirigées contre la partie polysaccharidique du lipopolysaccharide (LPS) de V. cholerae O1, sont protectrices dans un modèle d'infection expérimentale du souriceau nouveau-né. Nous avons aussi montré que des IgG, injectées par voie intraveineuse chez des souris adultes, passent dans la lumière intestinale. Ces résultats nous ont encouragés à commencer, en 1995, le développement de vaccins anticholériques chimiquement définis induisant des anticorps protecteurs IgG dirigés contre le polysaccharide du LPS de V. cholerae O1 et V. cholerae O139. Ces vaccins seront des glycoconjugués constitués de polysaccharides couplés par une liaison covalente à une protéine porteuse.

Le sérogroupe O1 de V. cholerae comprend deux sérotypes, Ogawa et Inaba. Le LPS du sérotype Ogawa contient un déterminant antigénique spécifique. Un autre déterminant antigénique est commun aux deux sérotypes, Ogawa et Inaba. Les LPS des deux sérotypes ont été purifiés et leurs déterminants antigéniques caractérisés par des méthodes immuno- et physico-chimiques. En étudiant, par cristallographie, la fixation d'un anticorps monoclonal anti-Ogawa à des oligosaccharides synthétiques mimant le polysaccharide Ogawa, nous avons montré que le monosaccharide terminal, portant un groupement 2-O-méthyl, est responsable de la spécificité Ogawa. Nous avons ensuite montré que le core et le polysaccharide spécifique du LPS sont tous les deux impliqués dans l'expression du déterminant antigénique commun aux sérotypes Ogawa et Inaba. Ces résultats vont nous aider à préparer sur des bases rationnelles des glycoconjugués contenant ces polysaccharides.

Le polysaccharide du LPS de V. cholerae O139 a été purifié puis conjugué à l'anatoxine tétanique. L'immunogénicité du glycoconjugué a été étudiée chez la souris. Le polysaccharide non conjugué induit essentiellement des immunoglobulines M, alors que des taux très faibles d'IgG anti-LPS sont détectés. Le glycoconjugué induit des taux élevés d'IgG, qui atteignent un maximum 3 mois après la première immunisation puis diminuent lentement pendant les 5 mois suivants. La conjugaison a donc amélioré l'immunogénicité du polysaccharide O139, en le transformant en antigène thymodépendant. L'évaluation clinique de ce glycoconjugué est prévue.

3. Identification bactériologique des vibrions non cholériques (Marie-Laure QUILICI, Jean-Michel FOURNIER)

Le genre Vibrio comprend plus de 50 espèces parmi lesquelles 7 espèces sont fréquemment isolées chez l'homme : V. cholerae, V. parahaemolyticus, V. vulnificus, V. alginolyticus, V. fluvialis, V. hollisae, et V. mimicus. Ces vibrions non cholériques sont à l'origine de gastro-entérites, d'infections de la peau et des tissus mous et de septicémies, et de diverses infections extra-intestinales comme des otites. Les patients ayant une pathologie sous-jacente immunosuppressive sont exposés à une dissémination rapide de l'infection causée par ces germes. Dans la majorité des cas, ces infections sont associées à un contact direct avec l'eau de mer ou à la consommation de produits de la mer, leur apparition étant corrélée aux mois chauds de l'année.

En 2001, 11 cas d'infections à vibrions non cholériques ont été identifiés par le Centre National de Référence. Quatre cas de septicémies ou de gastro-entérites été dus à V. cholerae non-O1/non-O139, quatre cas de septicémies ou d'otites été dus à V. alginolyticus, 2 cas de septicémie et de gastro-entérites été dus à V. fluvialis et un cas d'infection des tissus mous et de septicémie a été causé par V. vulnificus. Onze isolats cliniques en provenance de Roumanie ainsi que quarante sept souches isolées de l'environnement ont aussi été étudiés.

4. Etude moléculaire des vibrions non cholériques (Annick ROBERT-PILLOT, Marie-Laure QUILICI)

Les modifications écologiques de l'environnement marin, consécutives à un changement climatique global ou à des activités industrielles locales, favorisent la prolifération et la dissémination des vibrions, qui peuvent coloniser l'homme, soit par contact direct avec l'eau de mer, soit après consommation de produits de la mer. De plus, l'augmentation du commerce international et de la consommation des produits de la mer à l'état cru, ainsi que l'accroissement du nombre de personnes immunodéprimées, laissent craindre une augmentation des infections dues aux vibrions non cholériques. Dans un souci de santé publique, il importe que soient développées des méthodes moléculaires permettant de détecter, identifier, et mettre en évidence les facteurs de virulence de deux espèces de vibrions, V. cholerae et V. parahaemolyticus, présentes dans l'eau de mer et dans les produits qui en sont issus.

C'est dans ce contexte que nous avons développé une méthode rapide et efficace pour la détection de V. cholerae dans l'eau de mer, par hybridation sur colonies. La sonde utilisée est une séquence de 22 nucléotides de la région intergénique de l'ARN 16S-23S. Nos efforts ont aussi porté sur l'identification d'isolats de V. parahaemolyticus provenant de l'environnement. Après avoir montré que les caractères biochimiques n'étaient pas assez précis pour faire la distinction entre cette espèce et V. alginolyticus, espèce très proche, nous avons montré qu'une réaction d'amplification génique (PCR), utilisant une séquence R72H spécifique de V. parahaemolyticus, représente un outil fiable pour l'identification de cette espèce.

Les souches environnementales de V. cholerae constituent un réservoir de gènes de virulence et, à ce titre, peuvent représenter un danger pour les populations. Nous surveillons par typage moléculaire l'évolution d'isolats environnementaux par comparaison avec des isolats d'origine humaine. A ce jour, 86 isolats humains et 185 isolats environnementaux ont été caractérisés par ribotypie.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

BREGEAT Annick, abregeat@pasteur.fr

DASSY Bruno, Maître de Conférences, Université Paris VI, bdassy@pasteur.fr

FOURNIER Jean-Michel, Chef de Laboratoire IP, fournier@pasteur.fr

QUILICI Marie-Laure, Chargée de Recherche IP, quilici@pasteur.fr

ROBERT-PILLOT Annick, arp@pasteur.fr

MASIP Montserrat

DENIS Loïc

ROBERT Quentin

BOUTONNIER Alain, Ingénieur IP, abouto@pasteur.fr

GUENOLE, Alain,Technicien IP, aguenole@pasteur.fr

OUZILLEAU Betty, Technicienne IP

En commun avec le Laboratoire des Listeria :

BERTEL Arnaud, Aide de Laboratoire IP

DELAIRE Marie-Claire, Agent de laboratoire IP

TESSAUD Nathalie, Aide de Laboratoire IP


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.