Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Chimorg


  Director : Huynh-Dinh Tam (hdt@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

The Unit of Organic Chemistry is involved in three important classes of biological compounds : nucleosides or nucleotides, peptides and sugars. The synthesis of these molecules permit the study of their structures and interactions ; the final goal is the development of synthetic vaccines or enzyme inhibitors, in collaboration with other units on the campus. Two groups in the Unit are involved in a program aiming to the in vivo selection or in vitro directed evolution of enzymes.



  report

cale

From bacterial polysaccharides to synthetic glycoconjugate vaccines (L. Mulard).

The crucial role of bacterial polysaccharides as targets of the protective immune response elicited by the host following infection has been demonstrated on several occasions. The more recent notion of "protective carbohydrate epitopes" opened new opportunities in the field of anti-bacterial glycoconjugate vaccines. Indeed, derived from the concept of hapten, our goal is to develop optimal chemically defined immunogens, exposing in a multivalent fashion a combination of such "protective carbohydrate epitopes" (B epitopes) and appropriate T epitopes required for memory response. Shigella flexneri, a causal agent of severe dysentery, is used as a model to demonstrate the feasability of this alternative to the conventional "polysaccharide:protein conjugate" approach for the development of multivalent vaccines.

The optimisation of synthetic glycoconjugates as potential Shigella vaccines relies on an increased understanding of the specificity of the host's immune response elicited upon infection. For that purpose, complex oligosaccharides representative of frame-shifted fragments of the surface polysaccharide of S. flexneri serotypes 2a and 5a, were synthesized and their binding to protective monoclonal antibodies was studied. A strategy to glycoconjugates as potential synthetic vaccines against S. flexneri was designed based on the knowledge gained from this rational approach. Thus, selected short fragments specific for S. flexneri 2a O-antigen were synthesized in a form suitable for further conjugation to a carrier.

Glycosylated epitopes secreted by Mycobacterium tuberculosis (L. Mulard, F. Baleux).

Recent data point out the importance of secreted mannosylated proteins as immunodominant antigens upon infection by M. tuberculosis. Glycopeptide dominant epitopes are anticipated. However, although, the amino acid sequence of potential targets are known, the biochemical approach failed to reveal their precise glycoforms. Thus, taking advantage of the flexibility of both carbohydrate chemistry and peptide solid phase synthesis, selected mannosylated peptides were synthesized. Their evaluation as potential M. tuberculosis epitopes is ongoing.

Synthesis of nucleoside and nucleotide analogs as potential antivirals (L. Mulard).

The design of new potent antivirals, based on the study of two key steps of the viral replication inhibition, is our main objective. Recent data demonstrated that alphaborano triphosphate derivatives of known antivirals were better inhibitors of viral replication than their triphosphate counterparts. The next step is to find an a-borano nucleotide pro-drug that could favor the entry of the borano derivative into cells and that would bypass the rate-limiting steps of intracellular phosphorylation. Towards this aim, several potential pro-drugs of d4T borano monophosphate were synthesized.

The understanding of the contribution of the functional groups of a known antiviral to its activity may help the design of analogs of improved potency and decreased toxicity. For this purpose, several analogs of Ribavirin triphosphate were synthesized. Modifications pointed out the crucial role of the 3'-hydroxyl group of native Ribavirin.

Peptide synthesis (F. Baleux)

Chemokines/ HIV

Chemokines SDF-1 a and Mip-1 b/RANTES inhibit HIV entry in cells via CD4 and CXCR4/CCR5 co-receptors. These 70 AAs proteins are accessible to chemical synthesis that moreover allows selective tagging (fluorochromes, biotin) of AAs not implicated in chemokines biological activity, thus leading to still active proteins.

In addition to the key role of SDF/HS interaction, we point out the proteolytic regulation of SDF activity by two serine proteases. The N-Terminal truncated chemokines generated lost their biological activity. Chemical modification of the serine proteases targeted peptide bond allowed us to generate chemokines resistant to these serine proteases.

Peptide structure, folding and lipids interaction

PMP1 is a small membrane protein functioning as a regulatory subunit of the yeast H+-ATPase. Despite its high hydrophobic character, PMP1 chemical synthesis was achieved. PMP1 was chosen as a convenient candidate for exploring the molecular mechanisms underlying the overall lipid-peptide interaction network.

PrP a-helixes intrinsic structural propension analyses in correlation with amyloid aggregation potency are under investigation by introduction of mutations within these a-helices.

Synthesis and biological activity of heterodox nucleosides (A. Kaminski, S. Pochet)

The goal of our research group is to increase the repertoire of monomers that can be incorporated into DNA as well as polymers replicatable in vitro and/or in vivo. Two kinds of DNA alterations are currently investigated : the first modification concerns the heterocyclic moiety. A combinatorial approach aiming to produce of a great number of nucleosides triphosphate in one step was developped in order to find monomers having highly specific or ambiguous base-pairing schemes, or new inhibitors to replication. The second modification concerns the sugar counterpart. HNAs are conformationally constrained furanose mimicking nucleic acids in which the sugar part is replaced by 1,5-anhydrohexitol. The capacity of such polymers to support genetic information transfer was investigated in vitro and in vivo.

In order to enlarge the repertoire of unnatural nucleosides available by enzymatic process, genes coding for N-deoxyribosyltransferase from different lactobacilli were isolated. The catalytic properties of the encoded enzymes are currently under investigation. Apart from the natural enzymes, catalysts with altered substrate specificity are evolved by combining in vitro mutagenesis and in vivo selection in auxotrophic strains of E. coli. As a first demonstration, a dideoxyribosyltransferase was obtained by selecting N-deoxyribosyltransferase mutants for their capacitiy to restore the uracil auxotrophy of an E. coli strain with dideoxyruridine as a source of uracil.

A project aiming to obtain potent inhibitors of selected proteins from M. Tuberculosis started. Nucleoside monophosphate kinases (TMPK, UMPK and STPKs) which are essential for the bacterial growth were chosen as therapeutic targets. The selected approach will be the structure-based design followed by the synthesis and the determination of the inhibitory effect of the designed compounds both in vitro on the recombinant targets and in vivo on M. tuberculosis. Biochemical characterization of MT TMPK revealed new structural and catalytic features, which renders this protein a good target for antituberculosis drugs.

Oligonucleotides (T. Huynh-Dinh)

In a collaborative work in the field of DNA micro arrays, we have developped two methods of covalent coupling at the 3' or the 5' end of oligonucléotides on glass slides. A study of the silanization of the glass surfaces as been also done. All this work aims to the easy production of low-cost DNA arrays with a high hybridization signal.

The synthesis of DNA or RNA fragments was carried out for structural studies of the loops and triple helices and nucleic acids-proteins interactions (HIV dimerization complex-nucleocapside). Synthesis of iRNA was also done for the control of gene expression.

Synthetic glycopeptides for anti-tumor immunotherapy (S. Bay)

Using a rational and specific approach of anti-tumor immunotherapy, we are developing synthetic vaccines based on carbohydrate tumor markers. We have synthesized a new immunogen : the MAG (Multiple Antigenic Glycopeptide) which carries the carbohydrate epitope (i.e. the tumor marker) associated with a T CD4+ peptide epitope. Such synthetic conjugates are particularly attractive for both their purity and accurate chemical definition, which are essential features for a safe vaccine.

We showed that the MAG system is an efficient strategy for inducing high levels of carbohydrate-specific antibodies and for increasing the survival of tumor-bearing mice, after prophylactic and therapeutic vaccinations (collaboration with R. Lo-Man et C. Leclerc, Institut Pasteur).

We are currently elaborating new generations of MAG vaccines more powerful and potentially active in humans, by introducing CD8+ T cell epitopes as well as universal CD4+ T cell epitopes. The immunogenicity of first linear model compounds are under investigation in transgenic mice for the HLA molecules. This approach will be next extended to the MAG system using a fragment ligation strategy.

Another part of our program concerns the synthesis of glycopeptides i) as immunogens for inducing specific CTL responses, ii) as substrates for studying various glycosyl transferases specificity, iii) for Tn-binding proteins specificity studies (lectins and antibodies).

Directed enzyme evolution (J.L. Jestin)

To direct evolution of enzymes, we develop a Chemistry of Inovirus to select proteins for catalytic activity. We aim to establish a strategy for the isolation of enzymes for given chemical reactions by in vitro selection.

Our in vitro selection of proteins for catalytic activity is an affinity selection for the reaction product crosslinked to the phage-enzyme that catalysed the reaction from substrate to product. Enzymes are expressed on the surface of filamentous phage to link genotype and phenotype.

DNA-dependent DNA-polymerases have been expressed on the surface of bacteriophage. Using the phagemid system, only one phage in thousand displays a polymerase. A signal sequence library was designed and submitted to in vitro selection for the optimisation of polymerase display on phage. Expression levels of 1 in 5 have been achieved, suggesting that isolation of an appropriate signal sequence might be a general means of improving the display on filamentous phage.

Currently, we aim to generalise the in vitro selection for catalytic activity to other enzymes and to isolate catalysts for given chemical reactions from synthetic or natural protein libraries.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Garnier Marie-Ange, mag@pasteur.fr

Baleux Françoise, IP (CR, baleux@pasteur.fr)

Bay Sylvie, IP (Assistante, sbay@pasteur.fr)

Huynh-Dinh Tam, CNRS (DR1, hdt@pasteur.fr)

Jestin Jean-Luc, IP (Assistant, jjestin@pasteur.fr)

Kaminski Pierre-Alexandre, IP (CR, akaminsk@pasteur.fr)

Mulard Laurence, IP (CR, lmulard@pasteur.fr)

Pochet Sylvie, CNRS (CR1, spochet@pasteur.fr)

Vichier-Guerre Sophie, CNRS (CR2, svichier@pasteur.fr)

Bélot Frédéric, Post-doc

Bousserouel Hadjira, DEA

Cadena Amaro Claudio, Thèse

Cocoletzi Avila Brenda, DEA

Perrier Sandrine, Thèse

Strobel Heike, Post-doc

Coïc Yves-Marie, IP (Ingénieur, ymcoic@pasteur.fr)

Delafond Nathalie, IP (Agent de Laboratoire)

Dugué Laurence, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, ldugue@pasteur.fr)

Dutruel Olivier, IP (Technicien supérieur, odutruel@pasteur.fr)

Fantini Emmanuelle, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, efantini@pasteur.fr)

Gouyette Catherine, IP (Ingénieur, oligos@pasteur.fr)

Groh François, IP (Technicien supérieur, fgroh@pasteur.fr)

Guerreiro Catherine, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, cguerrei@pasteur.fr)

Helynck Olivier, IP (Technicien supérieur)

Huteau Valérie, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, vhuteau@pasteur.fr)

Raghouber Josiane, IP (Agent de Laboratoire)

Ughetto-Monfrin Joël, CNRS (Ingénieur, ughetto@pasteur.fr)

Vieira Da Silva Francisco, IP (Agent de Laboratoire)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Chimorg


  Responsable : Huynh-Dinh Tam (hdt@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Les travaux de l'Unité de Chimie Organique concernent la synthèse et l'étude de trois classes importantes de composés biologiques : nucléosides ou nucléotides, peptides et sucres. L'accès à ces molécules permet de déterminer leurs structures et leurs interactions, en vue de la mise au point de vaccins synthétiques ou d'inhibiteurs d'enzymes, en collaboration avec d'autres unités pasteuriennes. Deux groupes de l'Unité ont développé un programme de sélection in vivo et d'évolution dirigée in vitro d'enzymes.



  rapport

cale

Polyosides bactériens et développement de vaccins synthétiques chimiquement définis (L.Mulard).

Le rôle clé des polyosides de surface bactérienne comme cibles majeures de la réponse immunitaire protectrice de l'hôte en réponse à une infection est maintenant bien établi. Fondé sur la notion d'épitopes osidiques "protecteurs" et dérivé du concept de l'haptène, le développement d'immunogènes synthétiques offre une alternative aux vaccins conjugués "polyosides:protéines" conventionnels. Inscrit dans cette thématique, notre but est de développer des constructions chimiquement définies, présentant de façon multivalente une combinaison d'épitopes osidiques "protecteurs" (épitopes B) et d'épitopes T appropriés à l'induction d'une réponse mémoire. Shigella flexneri, responsable d'une forme sévère de dysenterie, est utilisée comme modèle pour démontrer le potentiel de l'approche glycoconjugués synthétiques dans le domaine des vaccins multivalents.

L'approche en cours d'étude implique une bonne connaissance de la spécificité de la réponse immunitaire de l'hôte en réponse à l'infection. Dans ce but, une panoplie d'oligosides complexes, représentatifs de fragments des polyosides de surface de S. flexneri sérotypes 2a et 5a, ont été synthétisés. L'étude de leur interaction avec des anticorps monoclonaux protecteurs a permis de caractériser les éléments clés de la reconnaisance. Sélectionnés sur la base de cette approche rationnelle, des fragments courts du polyoside de surface de S. flexneri 2a ont été synthétisés sous une forme permettant leur conjugaison et donc l'accès à des glycoconjugués à potentiel vaccinal.

Epitopes glycosylés secrétés par Mycobacterium tuberculosis (L. Mulard, F. Baleux).

Des données récentes suggèrent que certaines protéines mannosylées sécrétées par la bactérie sont des antigènes immunodominants lors des infections par M. tuberculosis. Des épitopes majeurs de nature glycopeptidique leurs seraient associés. L'approche biochimique a permis de proposer les séquences en acides aminés associées à plusieurs de ces cibles potentielles, sans toutefois révéler leurs glycoformes. Mettant à profit la flexibilité de la synthèse peptidique sur phase solide et celle de la glycochimie, une panoplie de peptides diversement mannosylés ont été synthétisés. Leur évaluation comme épitopes potentiels de M. tuberculosis est en cours.

Synthèse d'analogues de nucléosides et nucléotides comme antiviraux potentiels (L. Mulard).

Les nucléosides a-boranophosphate apparaissent comme de bons candidats pour le développement d'antiviraux actifs contre les souches résistantes de HIV. Nous avons entrepris, sur le modèle d4T, de synthétiser différents modèles de prodrogues susceptibles de pallier au problème du passage transmembranaire de ces analogues chargés.

Par ailleurs, divers analogues de la Ribavirine et les nucléotides correspondants ont été synthétisés dans le but de développer de nouveaux antiviraux actifs contre le virus de la Dengue.

Synthèse peptidique (F. Baleux)

Chimiokines/HIV

L'entrée du virus HIV dans les cellules via CD4 et les co-récepteurs CXCR4/CCR5 peut être bloquée par les ligands naturels de ces co-récepteurs :les chimiokines SDF-1a et Mip-1b/RANTES. Ces protéines de 70 AAs sont accessibles à la synthèse chimique qui permet de plus d'introduire sélectivement des marqueurs (fluorochromes, biotine) sur des AAs qui ne participent pas à l'activité biologique des chimiokines, générant ainsi des protéines entièrement fonctionnelles.

Outre l'importance de l'interaction SDF/HS, nous avons mis en évidence deux sérines protéases responsables de coupures de SDF sur sa partie N-terminale. Ces chimiokines tronquées sont dépourvues d'activité biologique. La modification chimique des liaisons peptidiques cibles de ces enzymes nous ont permis de générer des protéines résistantes à la dégradation par ces deux sérines protéases.

Structure, repliement de peptides et interaction avec les membranes

PMP1 est une petite protéine membranaire de Saccharomyces Cerevisiae régulant l'activité de l'H+ ATPase. Malgré son caractère très hydrophobe, nous avons réalisé la synthèse de PMP1 qui a été choisie comme modèle pour explorer les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués dans l'interaction lipides/peptides. L'analyse de la propension structurale intrinsèque des hélices de la PrP en corrélation avec la formation d'agrégats amyloïdes a été entreprise en introduisant des mutations au sein de ces hélices.

Synthèse et réactivité biologique de nucléosides hétérodoxes (A. Kaminski, S. Pochet)

Notre activité de recherche vise à élargir la gamme des acides nucléiques qui peuvent être répliquées in vitro ou in vivo. Nous avons développé un procédé combinatoire de synthèse permettant d'engendrer une vaste collection de nucléosides triphosphate pour les soumettre à des tests d'incorporation par des ADN polymérases et cribler des monomères doués de capacité d'appariement univoque ou ambiguë et/ou des inhibiteurs de réplication. Parallèlement à l'altération de la partie hétérocyclique du nucléoside, une deuxième modification concernant le squelette phosphopentose a été abordée. Nous avons montré que des mimes d'acides nucléiques où l'ose est constitué d'un cycle à six atomes (Hexitol Nucleic Acid) sont reconnus par les ADN polymérases et peuvent transférer l'information génétique in vivo.

Par ailleurs, afin d'accéder à une plus grande diversité d'analogues nucléosidiques déviant par la base ou par le sucre, nous avons isolé des gènes codant pour une activité N-désoxyribosyltransférase de différentes souches de lactobacilles. Disposant d'une variété d'enzymes, nous pourrons élargir leur spécificité par des mutations dans les gènes sauvages ou par des chimères de ces gènes sauvages. Le premier criblage de mutants nous a permis de sélectionner in vivo dans une souche d'E. coli auxotrophe pour l'uracile une N-didésoxyribosyltransférase.

D'autre part, un programme visant à proposer des molécules inhibitrices des monophosphate kinases TMPK, UMPK et STMPK qui sont essentielles à la croissance de M. tuberculosis vient de débuter (en collaboration avec le laboratoire de Chimie Structurale des Macromolécules). L'approche retenue est la conception rationnelle de drogues à partir de la structure tridimensionnelle des cibles, puis la synthèse et la détermination du pouvoir inhibiteur des différents composés synthétisés tout d'abord in vitro sur la protéine purifiée, puis in vivo sur des cultures de M. tuberculosis. La caractérisation biochimique de la thymidylate kinase (TMPK) de M. tuberculosis a mis en évidence des propriétés structurales et catalytiques nouvelles, faisant de cette protéine une bonne cible pour la recherche d'antituberculeux.

Oligonucléotides (T. Huynh-Dinh)

Nous avons particulièrement développé la synthèse ex-situ de puces à ADN en collaboration avec différents laboratoires extérieurs. L'objectif est d'obtenir des puces fiables, donnant des résultats reproductibles et d'un moindre coût. Deux méthodes de greffage par liaison covalente du 5' et 3' ont été développées, ainsi qu'une étude de la silanisation de la surface de lames de verre.

D'autres travaux ont porté sur la conformation d'oligonucléotides (boucles ARN, triple hélices), les interactions acides nucléiques-protéines (complexe de dimérization-nucléocapside) et la synthèse d'ARNi pour le contrôle de l'expression de gènes de HIV.

Glycopeptides synthétiques à potentiel vaccinal anti-tumoral (S. Bay)

S'appuyant sur une approche rationnelle et spécifique de l'immunothérapie anti-tumorale, notre programme de recherche vise à développer des vaccins synthétiques basés sur des marqueurs tumoraux saccharidiques. Nous avons ainsi mis au point un nouveau type d'immunogène : le MAG ou Multiple Antigenic Glycopeptide qui présente l'épitope saccharidique d'intérêt (i.e. le marqueur tumoral) de façon multivalente en association avec un épitope T CD4+ peptidique. Le caractère synthétique des MAG constitue un avantage de sécurité essentiel en vue de leur utilisation in vivo.

L'ensemble de nos résultats (collaboration avec R. Lo-Man et C. Leclerc, Institut Pasteur) montre que le MAG est une stratégie efficace pour générer des taux élevés d'anticorps spécifiques du marqueur saccharidique et prolonger la survie de souris porteuses de tumeur, après vaccination thérapeutique ou prophylactique.

Notre objectif est désormais de synthétiser une nouvelle génération de composés plus efficaces et utilisables chez l'homme, en introduisant des épitopes T CD4+ "universels" ainsi que des épitopes CTL humains au sein des structures. L'immunogénicité de premiers composés modèles linéaires est en cours d'évaluation chez des souris transgéniques pour les molécules HLA. Les glycopeptides sélectionnés seront ensuite assemblés sous forme de MAG par couplage de fragments.

Une autre partie de notre programme consiste à synthétiser des glycopeptides pour induire des réponses T cytotoxiques spécifiques, ainsi que pour étudier la spécificité de glycosyl transférases, d'anticorps, et de lectines.

Evolution dirigée d'enzymes (J.L. Jestin)

Dans le groupe d'évolution dirigée des enzymes, nous développons une Chimie des Inovirus pour sélectionner des protéines en fonction de leur activité catalytique. L'objectif consiste à élaborer une stratégie qui permette d'isoler des catalyseurs pour des réactions chimiques données par sélection in vitro.

La sélection in vitro en fonction de l'activité catalytique est une sélection en fonction de l'affinité pour le produit, qui est ponté à la phage-enzyme qui a catalysé la réaction de substrat à produit. Les enzymes sont exprimées à la surface de phages pour établir un lien entre le génotype, qui est amplifiable et qui caractérise la protéine, et le phénotype, c'est-à-dire l'activité catalytique recherchée.

Ainsi, il a été montré que des ADN-polymérases ADN-dépendantes peuvent être exprimées comme des enzymes actives à la surface de bactériophages filamenteux. Ces protéines de plus de 65 kDa sont faiblement exprimées à la surface des phages, 1 phage-polymérase pour 1000 phages, lorsque le système du phagemide est utilisé. Nous avons montré qu'un taux d'expression de 1 pour 5 pouvait être atteint en isolant des séquences signal à partir d'une banque de séquences signal bien choisie soumise à plusieurs cycles de sélection in vitro. Un consensus pour les séquences signal qui optimisent l'expression de ces protéines à la surface de phages a été défini.

Actuellement, nous visons à développer de nouvelles sélections en fonction de l'activité catalytique pour d'autres enzymes et à isoler des catalyseurs pour des réactions choisies à partir de banques de protéines synthétiques ou naturelles.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Garnier Marie-Ange, mag@pasteur.fr

Baleux Françoise, IP (CR, baleux@pasteur.fr)

Bay Sylvie, IP (Assistante, sbay@pasteur.fr)

Huynh-Dinh Tam, CNRS (DR1, hdt@pasteur.fr)

Jestin Jean-Luc, IP (Assistant, jjestin@pasteur.fr)

Kaminski Pierre-Alexandre, IP (CR, akaminsk@pasteur.fr)

Mulard Laurence, IP (CR, lmulard@pasteur.fr)

Pochet Sylvie, CNRS (CR1, spochet@pasteur.fr)

Vichier-Guerre Sophie, CNRS (CR2, svichier@pasteur.fr)

Bélot Frédéric, Post-doc

Bousserouel Hadjira, DEA

Cadena Amaro Claudio, Thèse

Cocoletzi Avila Brenda, DEA

Perrier Sandrine, Thèse

Strobel Heike, Post-doc

Coïc Yves-Marie, IP (Ingénieur, ymcoic@pasteur.fr)

Delafond Nathalie, IP (Agent de Laboratoire)

Dugué Laurence, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, ldugue@pasteur.fr)

Dutruel Olivier, IP (Technicien supérieur, odutruel@pasteur.fr)

Fantini Emmanuelle, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, efantini@pasteur.fr)

Gouyette Catherine, IP (Ingénieur, oligos@pasteur.fr)

Groh François, IP (Technicien supérieur, fgroh@pasteur.fr)

Guerreiro Catherine, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, cguerrei@pasteur.fr)

Helynck Olivier, IP (Technicien supérieur)

Huteau Valérie, IP (Technicienne Supérieure, vhuteau@pasteur.fr)

Raghouber Josiane, IP (Agent de Laboratoire)

Ughetto-Monfrin Joël, CNRS (Ingénieur, ughetto@pasteur.fr)

Vieira Da Silva Francisco, IP (Agent de Laboratoire)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.