Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Bioret


  Director : Françoise BARRÉ-SINOUSSI (fbarre@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our Unit is conducting research on viral and host determinants of HIV/AIDS, using different approaches

  • Mother to child transmission (MTCT) as a model to study the selective forces involved in controlling the passage of HIV1 across a cellular barrier, the placenta.
  • Infection within the thymus to study the impact of a lymphoid environment on HIV replication and lymphoid cell survival.
  • Infection of African Green Monkeys (AGMs) by SIVagm as a model of protection against AIDS.
  • Exposed non-infected individuals (ENI) to approach host determinants of protection against HIV1 infection, in particular, in the context of persistent immune activation in Africa and Asia.



  report

cale

I/ Study of the mechanisms involved in the control of HIV-1 in utero transmission: a model to study the regulation of the passage of the virus through a cellular barrier. Group leader : Elisabeth MENU

The placental environment is involved in the establishment and maintenance of pregnancy as well as in the control of in utero infection of the fetus, probably through soluble factors such as inflammatory cytokines, Th1- and Th2-type cytokines or chemokines. This project aims to study, in the framework of an international network, the role of the placental environment in the control of in utero HIV-1 transmission and the mechanisms involved in this natural protection against infection. Several complementary approaches are developed: ex vivo studies to determine the effect on the placental environment of HIV-1 infection and of distinct preventive antiretroviral treatment regimens (type and duration) provided to HIV-1 positive pregnant women, an in vitro model of a trophoblast barrier reconstitution and a placental histoculture system.

II/ Control of HIV-1 replication and of survival of thymocytes upon infection within the thymus. Group leader: Nicole ISRAEL.

Interaction of human thymocytes with thymic epithelial cells (TEC) was previously shown to induce HIV replication within the thymus. This interaction leads to co-secretions of two cytokines crucial for viral replication, namely TNF and IL-7. However this interaction is efficient only with mature CD4+thymocytes. In other thymocyte subpopulations, viral replication is restricted either because of their unresponsiveness to the cytokines (double-positive CD4+CD8+ cells) or of a lack of TNF secretion (intermediate CD4+CD8-CD3- thymocytes). However, the lack of TNF might be compensated by the TNF secreted by activated macrophages that infiltrate the thymus in response to infection. TNF is required to induce NF-kB activity and, consequently, virus transcription whereas IL-7 is a necessary cofactor to induce the TNF receptor (TNFR2). Furthermore, the mature CD4+thymocytes exhibit a high survival capacity despite the production of a high yield of viruses. Indeed, IL-7 confer a high resistance to infection induced apoptosis by sustaining a high level of the anti-apoptotic molecule Bcl-2. In contrast, intermediate thymocytes, which replicate the virus at a lower level, are more sensitive to apoptosis, and their differentiation increases their death rate upon infection. This sensitivity is related to lower expression levels of the IL-7 receptor (IL-7R) and of Bcl-2. In addition, the infection itself increases Bcl-2 expression in the mature cells whereas it decreases this level in intermediate cells. Finally, IL7 is inducing an up-regulation of CXCR4 and, consequently, favors X4 virus replication, in particular in mature thymocytes. Altogether these data suggest that in vivo, HIV infection might create a persistent reservoir of X4 viruses within the mature CD4+ thymocytes whereas the later infection of intermediate cells might lead to thymopoiesis failure.

III/ Early host determinants of protection against AIDS in African Green Monkeys.

Group leader: Michaela MÜLLER-TRUTWIN

The infection of African Green monkeys (AGM) by a simian lentivirus (SIV) is used as a model to study natural protection against AIDS. This study is performed in collaboration with the Pasteur Institute International Network. Our previous data indicate a long presence of SIVagm in AGMs and a co-evolution of the virus and its host. We demonstrate that the absence of pathology is not associated with a selection of viral variants attenuated for replication. We rather observe high levels of virus in the blood, which are similar to that described in HIV-1 infected humans. Despite the persistent replication, that reaches in some animals the same elevated levels as in pathogenic infections, no signs of chronic T cell activation in the lymph nodes, such as follicular hyperplasia or infiltration of CD8+ cells into germinal centers are observed. Differences in early T cell activation profiles might be associated with the distinct outcomes of SIVagm and HIV-1 infections. The role of the early interactions between dendritic cells and T cells during the non-pathogenic SIVagm infection is currently under investigations.

 

IV/ Determinants of natural protection against HIV-1 infection. Group leader: Gianfranco PANCINO

Our research aims to identify and characterize immune factors of natural protection against HIV-1. This question is addressed by studying HIV-1-exposed but uninfected individuals uninfected (EU) in the specific genetic and environmental context of Asian and African populations. Their persistent exposure to infectious agents affects immune activation and immune responses and, thus their immune background might, in certain cases, contribute to their protection against HIV-1. In such a context, both innate and specific immune responses could be key determinants for protection. Cohorts of systemically (IVDUs) or sexually (seronegative partners of seropositive individuals) exposed EUs have been enrolled in Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam), Phnom Penh (Cambodia) and Bangui (Central African republic), in collaboration with the Pasteur Institute International Network. Our studies specially focus on molecular mechanisms involved in a resistance of EU cells to HIV-1 ex vivo and on Natural Killer response in EU (in collaboration with D. Scott-Algara). In parallel, we are also studying the impact of macrophage activation on their susceptibility to HIV-1 infection, using a model of activation and infection of primary human monocyte derived macrophages (MDM). We recently demonstrated that macrophage activation by Immunoglobulin Fc receptors (FcgR) cross-linking inhibits HIV-1 replication in MDM, independently of the viral tropism.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Sylviane GUESDON-CAYRE (cayre@pasteur.fr)

BARRÉ-SINOUSSI Françoise (Researcher), fbarre@pasteur.fr

ISRAËL Nicole (Researcher), nisrael@pasteur.fr

MENU Elisabeth (Researcher), emenu@pasteur.fr

MÜLLER-TRÜTWIN Michaela (Researcher), mmuller@pasteur.fr

PANCINO Gianfranco (Researcher), gpancino@pasteur.fr

BEQ Stephanie (Ph.D. Student), sbeq@pasteur.fr

CHARRAD Sihem (post-doc), scharrad@pasteur.fr

DERRIEN Muriel (post-doc), mderrien@pasteur.fr

DOLCINI Guillermina (Ph.D. student), guidol@pasteur.fr

GUILLEMARD Eric (post-doc), eguillem@pasteur.fr

KORNFELD Christopher (Ph.D. student), ckornfel@pasteur.fr

PEREZ-BERCOFF Danielle (Ph.D. student), dbercoff@pasteur.fr

PLOQUIN Mickael (student), mploquin@pasteur.fr

SCHMITT Nathalie (Ph.D. student), nschmitt@pasteur.fr

SUDRY Hughes (student), hsudry@pasteur.fr

CANNOU Claude (Lab support), bcannou@pasteur.fr

DAVID Annie (Engineer), annied@pasteur.fr

JACQUEMOT Catherine (Technician)

NUGEYRE Marie-Therese (Engineer), mnugeyre@pasteur.fr

PROU-DELAIRE Marie-Claire (Lab support)

VERSMISSE Pierre (Technician), pversmis@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Bioret


  Responsable : Françoise BARRÉ-SINOUSSI (fbarre@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'Unité se consacre à la recherche de facteurs impliqués dans le contrôle de l'infection VIH, à l'aide de différentes approches :

  • La transmission mère enfant (TME) du VIH1 en tant que modèle d'étude de la prévention du passage du virus à travers une barrière cellulaire : le placenta.
  • Le contrôle de la réplication virale et de la survie de cellules infectées au sein d'un environnement lymphoïde : le thymus.
  • Un modèle simien de protection naturelle contre le SIDA : l'infection du singe vert d'Afrique par un lentivirus, le SIVagm.
  • L'étude des relations entre activation immune et protection contre l'infection, en particulier chez des sujets exposés non infectés (ENI) en Afrique et en Asie.



  rapport

cale

I/Contrôle de la transmission in utero du VIH1 : un modèle d'étude de la régulation du passage du virus à travers une barrière cellulaire. Responsable : Elisabeth MENU

L'environnement placentaire est impliqué à la fois dans l'établissement et le maintien de la grossesse et dans la protection contre les infections du fœtus in utero, probablement par l'intermédiaire de facteurs solubles tels que certaines cytokines inflammatoires, des cytokines de type Th1 et Th2 ou des chimiokines. Ce projet vise à étudier, dans le cadre d'un réseau de collaborations internationales, le rôle de l'environnement placentaire dans le contrôle de la transmission in utero du VIH-1 et les mécanismes impliqués dans cette protection naturelle contre l'infection. Plusieurs approches complémentaires sont développées : des études ex vivo afin de déterminer l'effet sur l'environnement placentaire de l'infection VIH-1 et des différents traitements antirétroviraux préventifs (nature et durée) administrés aux femmes enceintes VIH-1 positives, un modèle in vitro de reconstitution de la barrière trophoblastique et un modèle d'histocultures placentaires.

II/ Contrôle de la réplication du VIH-1 et de la survie des thymocytes infectées au sein d'un environnement lymphoïde : le thymus. Responsable : Nicole ISRAEL

L'interaction de thymocytes avec les cellules épithéliales thymiques (CET) induit la réplication du VIH au sein du thymus grâce à la co-sécrétion de deux cytokines indispensables, le TNF et l'IL-7. Néanmoins cette interaction n'est efficace que pour les thymocytes matures CD4+. Dans les thymocytes plus immatures, l'induction de la réplication virale est restreinte à cause d'un défaut de réponse des thymocytes double positifs CD4+ CD8+ à ces cytokines ou d'une sécrétion insuffisante de TNF pour les thymocytes intermédiaires CD4+CD8-CD3-. Ce manque de TNF pourrait cependant être compensé par le TNF produit par des macrophages activés qui infiltrent le thymus lors de l'infection. Le TNF induit l'activité NF-kB nécessaire à la transcription virale tandis que l'IL-7 est un cofacteur nécessaire à l'expression du récepteur au TNF (TNFR2). De plus, les thymocytes matures CD4+ présentent une capacité de survie importante en dépit du haut niveau de production virale. En fait, l'IL-7 confère une résistance élevée à l'apoptose induite par l'infection en maintenant dans ces cellules un haut niveau de la molécule anti-apoptotique Bcl-2. Au contraire, les thymocytes intermédiaires qui produisent moins de virus sont plus sensibles à l'apoptose et leur différenciation précipite leur mort. Cette sensibilité à l'apoptose est associée à des niveaux d'expression plus bas du récepteur à l'IL-7 et de Bcl-2. De plus, l'infection même, augmente le niveau de Bcl-2 dans les thymocytes matures alors qu'elle le diminue encore dans les intermédiaires. Enfin, l'IL7 induit une augmentation de l'expression du corécepteur CXCR4, en particulier dans les thymocytes matures, et en conséquence, favorise la réplication des virus à tropisme CXCR4 dans ces cellules. Ces données suggèrent qu'in vivo, l'infection par le VIH pourrait aboutir à la formation d'un réservoir persistant de virus X4 dans les thymocytes matures tandis que l'infection plus tardive des intermédiaires conduirait à une interruption de la thymopoïèse.

III/ Déterminants précoces de protection contre le SIDA chez le singe vert d'Afrique. Responsable : Michaela C. MÜLLER-TRUTWIN.

L'infection par un lentivirus simien (SIV) chez le singe vert d'Afrique (AGM) constitue un modèle d'étude de la protection naturelle contre le SIDA. L'étude de ce modèle, en étroite collaboration avec le réseau international des Instituts Pasteur a précédemment révélé une présence très ancienne du SIVagm chez l'AGM, associée à une co-évolution entre le virus et son hôte. L'hypothèse d'une sélection de virus peu réplicatifs, à l'origine de l'absence de pathologie, a été écartée. En effet, des niveaux très élevés de charge virale systémique sont détectés dès la deuxième semaine de l'infection. En phase chronique, la virémie persiste, y compris, chez certains animaux, à des taux très élevés, similaires à ceux décrits lors des infections VIH-1 chez l'homme. Contrairement aux infections pathogènes, cette réplication continue, parfois très élevée chez le singe vert, n'est pas associée à une désorganisation du réseau des cellules dendritiques folliculaires, ni à une hyperplasie folliculaire ou encore à une infiltration de cellules CD8+ dans les centres germinatifs des ganglions. Des différences d'activation précoce de la réponse immune de l'hôte pourraient expliquer l'évolution distincte des infections lentivirales chez le singe vert et chez l'homme. Parmi ces évènements précoces, nous nous intéressons plus particulièrement aujourd'hui aux interactions entre cellules dendritiques et cellules T.

IV/ Déterminants de protection naturelle contre l'infection par le VIH-1. Responsable : Gianfranco PANCINO

Nos recherches visent à identifier et à caractériser des facteurs immunitaires responsables d'un état de protection naturelle contre l'infection par le VIH-1. Cette question est abordée par l'étude d'individus exposés au VIH-1 mais apparemment non infectés (ENI), dans le contexte génétique et environnemental des pays d'Asie et d'Afrique. L'exposition continue des populations de ces pays à des agents infectieux a une incidence sur l'état d'activation immunitaire et la réponse immune. Ce terrain immunologique particulier pourrait favoriser le contrôle de l'infection VIH-1 par l'intermédiaire de réponses innées et/ou de réponses spécifiques. Des cohortes d'ENI, exposés par voie systémique (toxicomanes) ou sexuelle (partenaires de sujets séropositifs), ont été constituées à Ho Chi Minh Ville (Vietnam), Phnom Penh (Cambodge) et Bangui (République Centrafricaine), en collaboration avec les Instituts Pasteur du Réseau International. Nos recherches concernent en particulier : 1/ les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués dans la résistance ex vivo des cellules immunes des ENI à l'infection par le VIH-1 ; 2/ la réponse Natural Killer chez les ENI (en collaboration avec D. Scott-Algara). En parallèle, l'impact éventuel de l'état d'activation des macrophages sur leur permissivité à l'infection VIH1 est étudié à l'aide d'un modèle d'activation et d'infection de macrophages dérivés de monocytes (MDM) primaires humains. Nous avons ainsi démontré que l'activation par les récepteurs Fc des immunoglobulines (RFcg) inhibe la réplication du VIH-1 dans les MDM indépendamment du tropisme viral.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Sylviane GUESDON-CAYRE (cayre@pasteur.fr)

BARRÉ-SINOUSSI Françoise (Professeur IP, DRE INSERM),fbarre@pasteur.fr

ISRAËL Nicole (Chef de Laboratoire IP), nisrael@pasteur.fr

MENU Elisabeth (CR1 INSERM), emenu@pasteur.fr

MÜLLER-TRÜTWIN Michaela (Chargée de Recherche IP), mmuller@pasteur.fr

PANCINO Gianfranco (DR2INSERM), gpancino@pasteur.fr

BEQ Stéphanie (doctorante, bourse CIFRE), sbeq@pasteur.fr

CHARRAD Sihem (post-doc, bourse ECS), scharrad@pasteur.fr

DERRIEN Muriel (post-doc, bourse ECS), mderrien@pasteur.fr

DOLCINI Guillermina (doctorante, bourse organisme argentin), guidol@pasteur.fr

GUILLEMARD Eric (post-doc, bourse ANRS), eguillem@pasteur.fr

KORNFELD Christopher (doctorant allemand), ckornfel@pasteur.fr

PEREZ-BERCOFF Danielle(doctorante, bourse MRET), dbercoff@pasteur.fr

PLOQUIN Mickael (étudiant DEA), mploquin@pasteur.fr SCHMITT Nathalie (doctorante,bourse MRET), nschmitt@pasteur.fr

SUDRY Hugues (étudiant DEA), hsudry@pasteur.fr

CANNOU Claude (Aide de laboratoire, IP), bcannou@pasteur.fr

DAVID Annie (Ingénieur IP), annied@pasteur.fr

JACQUEMOT Catherine (Technicienne Supérieure IP)

NUGEYRE Marie-Thérèse (Ingénieur IP), mnugeyre@pasteur.fr

PROU-DELAIRE Marie-Claire (Agent de laboratoire, IP)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.