Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Biodev


  Director : Jean-François NICOLAS (jfnicola@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

A key operation of embryogenesis is to organize the repartition of cells in territories. We studied this aspect of development using clonal analysis in LaacZ/LacZ mosaïc mice. The analyses of clones in the central nervous system and in the muscular system led to a description of clonal patterns and of their links with genetic and clonal patterning during the elaboration of the body plan of the organism.

During development, gene expression is controlled by transacting elements and by stable cis-epigenetic modifications of the DNA. Exploitation of LacZ reporter genes modified as to their of CpG dinucleotides content, the target of DNA methyltransferases, facilitated a study of the consequences of some of the cis modifications of DNA at crucial steps of development.



  report

cale

Clonal patterning and genetic patterning of the mouse embryo

During development, the state of cells varies continuously. At a given time, the state of a cell is dependent on the integration of many extrinsic and intrinsic signals received by its ancestors. As these signals are spatiotemporally restricted, the state of a given cell is a function of the different positions that its ancestors have occupied during development. As a consequence, an important operation of embryogenesis is the continuous control of cell repartition and dispersion, often by forming territories. It is likely that it is by forming territories that the embryo coordinates morphogenesis and epigenesis.

We are engaged in studying the formation of the embryonic territories and with a view to this, we use a genetic method of clonal analysis which enables us to obtain clones randomly produced during development (Fig. 1). This method provides an access to clones representative of any ancestral cell of a given structure. The analyses can be focused on specific structures by using tissue-specific promoters without losing the possibility of observing even very early events.

This year, the targeting of clones in the central nervous system (CNS), analysed at embryonic day 12.5 (E12.5) and in the muscular system, analysed at E11.5, has facilitated an approach to the problem of the establishment of embryonic territories during elongation of the embryon (axiogenesis). A comparison of early clones in both systems has revealed three distinct periods of clonal organization : a wide cell dispersion of precursor cells along the antero-posterior (AP) axis, the arrest of this dispersion and next an organization along the medio-lateral (ML) axis. Therefore, clonal organization of the embryo concerns successively and in part independently the AP and ML axes.

Comparative analyses of all clones which recapitulate the whole history of the organization of the two systems has revealed the modalities of clonal organization.

As concerns the CNS, the pattern of clones reveals that after an initial organization in a unique pool whose cells contribute to the whole structure from anterior to posterior, this pool is regionalized ; one part produces the structures of the anterior CNS and the other part the structures of the posterior CNS. To distinct modes of clonal patterning are associated with this early regionalization. The anterior CNS is organised according to a regional mode. This leads to a structure in which spatial relationships are clonal and clonal diversity between units is important. The posterior CNS is organized according to a temporal mode from two pools of self-renewing cells which produce the AP axis from anterior to posterior (Fig. 2). With such a mode of production, spatial relationships within the structure are temporal, not clonal, and the clonal diversity between units (territories) is minimal.

Concerning the muscular system, an early regionalisation is also observed between the anterior (the head) and the posterior (the trunk). The posterior is produced by a unique pool of self-renewing cells which constructs synchronously the left and the right side of the embryo. A detailed analysis of cell organization indicates that this unique system of production of territories generates a structure (the presomitic mesoderm) which remains relatively static until the individualization of the somites (Fig. 3).

For both the CNS and the muscular system, the clonal organization in the territories of the embryo prefigures the future clonal organization.

Several important conclusions can be derived from this analysis.

  1. Clonal and genetic patterning go together.

  2. Different systems of genetic patterning (for the anterior under the control of the head organizer and for the posterior under the control of the trunk organizer) correspond to different systems of clonal patterning (regional versus temporal).

  3. Embryonic territories immediately posterior to the organizer (the node) contain pools of self-renewing cells for the posterior CNS and paraxial mesoderm. This region of the gastrula therefore has specific properties distinct from more anterior regions.

  4. Cell properties of paraxial mesoderm territories and of the system from which it is derived fit remarkably well with those expected for the very elaborate systems of genetic specification (by Hox genes) and of segmentation (by a molecular clock and a determination front). This is an amazing example of coordination between cell behaviour (morphogenesis) and activation of specification genes. The phylogenetic history of this coordination will show whether if it constitutes a constraint for the elements of the phylotypic stage of chordates.

  5. The maintenance of clonal organization of the body plan of the organism, at the phylotypic stage in the adult, is a strong indication of the privileged character of this stage.

Epigenetic modifications during development and their impact on expression

Our experimental approach to this problem is based on a comparison of the expression of transgenes with different levels of CpG dinucleotides. Thus from the LacZ reporter gene containing 291 CpGs, a LagZ gene containing only 52 CpGs and a LagoZ containing only 2 CpG, were engineered. Combined with the promoter of E1Fa, a gene with no tissue-specificity, these three transgenes were introduced by transgenesis into the genome of mice. Analysis of their expression pattern has shown that from a certain level the presence of CpG is highly repressive in somatic cells. In contrast, this level is almost nonrepressive in germ cells. Curiously, a differential expression in relation with the parental origin is observed in the first stages of development of the mice but only for some of the combinations tested. As, in these contructions, only the coding region of the gene was modified, we are now mainly interested in understanding the molecular basis of the repression. Subsequent to the comparison of the different states of expressions and of the different states of methylation of the promoter and reporter regions of the transgenes we shall be able to distinguish between several equally probable hypotheses.

Photos :

Figure 1 :: The LaacZ labeling system of clones. A) The nls LaacZ reporter gene. A nls LacZ reporter gene, in which a duplication has rendered the enzyme inactive, is linked to a muscle specific promoter, MSP. A spontaneous homologous recombination between the duplicated " aa " sequences re-establishes the b-galactosidase coding frame (in blue). B) Production of clones in the progeny of a cross between a LaacZ transgenic male and a wild-type female. During development, a spontaneous homologous recombination occurs between the duplicated sequences of LaacZ, thus creating a functional LacZ gene in the cell. This event initiates the clonal labeling (coloured in blue) in the embryo. In the a-2 transgenic line, the frequency of myogenic b-gal+ clones at E11.5 is 5x10- 2 per embryo.

Figure 2. A model for cellular events during development of the neural tube. The model concerns the organization of territories and global cell movements, as well as the development of individual cell lineages. Before the onset of gastrulation (E6), the pool of CNS founders (in green) is not regionalized, and due to the important cell intermingling occuring before gastrulation and during neural plate elongation (E5-E7), individual precursors produce descendants distributed along the entire neuraxis. From the onset of gastrulation (E7), individual clones have a lower probability of producing descendants in both anterior and posterior CNS, due to the posterior oriented cell movements of the self-renewing pool of cells and an anterior coherent growth. Consequently, the pools for spinal cord (in blue) and brain (red-yellow) become separated (earliest regionalisation). Subsequently (E7-E8), important cell intermingling continues in the SC primordium, due to an anterior to posterior regression of the self-renewing pool of stem cells. In contrast, due to coherent growth in the anterior neural plate, the A-P order of precursors is rapidly established, leading to an early regionalisation of brain territories (red-to-yellow gradient). After E8, A-P cell mixing in the brain and anterior SC becomes more limited and is followed by a phase of D-V cell dispersion.

Figure 3 : Model for the organisation of the pool of myotomal precursors in the primitive streak. Posterior is above and anterior is below. The primitive streak (PS) : presomitic mesoderm (PSM) and somites (S), and then dermomyotome (D) and myotome (M) are represented independently of the adjacent structures. The pool of self-renewing cells involved in axiogenesis is located in the primitive streak. The colour gradient symbolizes AP regionalisation. Most anterior cells (black circles) contribute to medial part of the paraxial mesoderm, from the presomitic mesoderm to the dermomyotome and myotome (black arrows). More posterior cells (open circles) contribute more laterally to the paraxial mesoderm (white arrows). This result in a reorientation of the axis from AP to ML, symbolized by the change of the gradient orientation. Maintenance of the regionalisation established in the primitive streak until formation of dermomyotome and myotome is represented by the conservation of the gradient in these structures. Note the symmetry of the gradient between the left and right parts of the paraxial mesoderm. Medial cells in the pool of self-renewing cells (black and open circles) contribute bilaterally to the paraxial mesoderm (black and white arrows), and the most lateral cells (grey circle) contribute only to the side where they are located (grey arrow). Clonal separation between medial and lateral parts of the somite which persists in the myotome, is superimposed on the mediolateral regionalisation of the paraxial mesoderm established in the self-renewing cell pool in the primitive streak. A, anterior; P, posterior; l, lateral; m, medial; PS, primitive streak; PSM, presomitic mesoderm; S, somite; D, dermomyotome; M, myotome.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

KAMEL Françoise ; IP, fkamel@pasteur.fr

NICOLAS, Jean-François(DR1 INSERM, jfnicola@pasteur.fr)

HENRY Isabelle (CR1 INSERM, ihenry@pasteur.fr)

MATHIS Luc (CR2 CNRS, lmathis@pasteur.fr)

FORLANI Sylvie, stagiaire post-doctorale

ELOY-TRINQUET Sophie, stagiaire de Doctorat

SIEUR Johan, stagiaire de Doctorat

TEICHERT Arnaud, stagiaire de DEA

LEGUE Emilie, stagiaire de DEA

ROSZKO Isabelle, stagiaire de DEA

FONTAINE David, stagiaire de Maîtrise

MARIETTE Christine (technicienne supérieure de laboratoire), IP, mariette@pasteur.fr

CAPGRAS Suzanne (technicienne de laboratoire), IP, scapgras@pasteur.fr

DARDENNE Pascal (technicien animalier), IP, dardenne@pasteur.fr

FAUCHER Sylvie (aide de laboratoire)


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Biodev


  Responsable : Jean-François NICOLAS (jfnicola@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Une opération importante de l'embryogenèse consiste à organiser la répartition des cellules en territoires. Nous étudions cet aspect du développement par l'analyse clonale de souris mosaïques LaacZ/LacZ. L'examen de clones dans le système nerveux central et dans le système musculaire nous a permis de décrire les patterns clonaux et de saisir certains des liens existant avec le patterning génétique dans l'élaboration du plan de formation de l'organisme.

L'expression génique est contrôlée au cours du développement par des facteurs transcriptionnels agissant en trans et par des modifications stables apposées en cis sur l'ADN. L'exploitation de gènes rapporteurs LacZ modifiés dans leur contenu en dinucléotides CpG, cibles des ADN méthyltransférases, nous permet d'étudier l'impact de certaines des modifications apposées en cis sur l'ADN à des moments clés du développement.



  rapport

cale

Patterning clonal et patterning génétique au cours de l'embryogenèse de la souris

Au cours de l'embryogenèse, l'état des cellules change constamment. A un temps donné, l'état d'une cellule dépend de l'intégration des signaux développementaux extrinsèques et intrinsèques auxquels ont été soumises les cellules dont elle est dérivée (ses ancestres). Comme ces signaux sont spatio-temporellement restreints, l'état d'une cellule donnée dépend des différentes positions que ses ancestres ont occupées au cours du développement. C'est pourquoi une opération importante de l'embryogenèse consiste à organiser la répartition des cellules, souvent en formant des territoires morphologiques reconnaissables. C'est vraisemblablement par ce biais que l'embryon coordonne morphogenèse et épigenèse.

Depuis quelque temps déjà, nous étudions l'organisation des cellules dans l'embryon de la souris en utilisant une méthode génétique d'analyse clonale qui permet de marquer les cellules de manière aléatoire au cours du développement (Fig1) . Cette méthode assure d'avoir des clones représentent toutes les cellules ancestrales d'une structure donnée. L'analyse peut être focalisée sur une structure particulière en employant des promoteurs spécifiques sans perdre la possibilité d'observer des événements cellulaires très précoces.

Cette année, le ciblage des clones dans le système nerveux central (SNC) analysés à E12,5 d'une part et dans le système musculaire à E11,5 nous a permis d'aborder le problème de la mise en place des territoires de l'embryon au cours de son élongation (axiogenèse). La comparaison de clones précoces dans ces deux systèmes a permis de mettre en évidence trois périodes d'organisation : une dispersion antéro-postérieure (AP) des précurseurs, l'arrêt de cette dispersion, puis une organisation médio-latérale (ML). L'organisation clonale de l'embryon traite donc successivement et d'une manière en partie indépendante des axes AP et ML.

L'examen comparatif des clones qui récapitulent l'historique de l'organisation des deux systèmes a permis de préciser les modes d'organisation clonale.

Pour le SNC, le pattern de clones indique qu'après une organisation en un pool unique dont les cellules participent à l'ensemble de la structure, ce pool se régionalise ; une partie produit les structures antérieures et l'autre les structures postérieures du SNC. A cette régionalisation sont associés des modes d'organisation clonaux différents. Les structures antérieures sont produites selon un mode régional. Au final à E12,5, les relations spatiales entre cellules sont donc clonales et la diversité clonale entre régions est importante. Les structures postérieure sont produites selon un mode temporel à partir de deux pools de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement qui construit l'axe AP d'avant en arrière (Figure 2). Au final à E12,5, les relations spatiales entre cellules sont donc temporelles et non clonales et la diversité clonale entre régions est très faible.

Pour le système musculaire, on observe aussi une régionalisation précoce entre les parties antérieure (la tête) et postérieure (le tronc). La partie postérieure s'organise selon un mode temporel à partir d'un pool unique de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement qui génère de façon synchrone les contributions droite et gauche de l'embryon. L'analyse poussée de l'organisation cellulaire montre que ce système de production de territoires génère d'abord une structure relativement statique (le mésoderme paraxial non segmenté) à partir duquel sont produits les somites (Figure 3).

Pour à la fois le SNC et le système musculaire, l'organisation clonale dans les territoires embryonnaires préfigure en grande partie l'organisation clonale de l'organisme.

Plusieurs conclusions importantes ont été déduites de ces informations :

  1. Patterning clonal et patterning génétique vont de pair.

  2. A des systèmes de patternings génétiques différents (pour l'avant et l'arrière de l'embryon) sont associés des modes de patternings clonaux différents (régional versus temporel).

  3. Les territoires de l'embryon immédiatement postérieurs au centre organisateur (le " nœud ") sont constitués de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement, qu'ils produisent le SNC ou le mésoderme paraxial. Cette région de l'embryon au stade gastrula est donc très particulière.

  4. Les propriétés des cellules des territoires produisant le mésoderme paraxial et de celui-ci sont celles exigées à la fois par les systèmes très élaborés de spécification génétique (par les gènes Hox) et de segmentation (par une horloge moléculaire et un front de détermination). C'est là un extraordinaire exemple de coordination entre production de cellules, formation de territoires et leur patterning génétique. L'histoire phylogénétique de cette coordination permettra de savoir si elle constitue une contrainte pour les éléments du stade phylotypique des chordés.

  5. Le maintien chez l'adulte de l'organisation de l'embryon au stade phylotypique est une indication de l'importance cruciale de ce stade.

Modification épigénétique de l'ADN au cours du développement : impact sur l'expression

Notre approche expérimentale consiste à comparer dans des lignées de souris transgéniques l'expression de gènes rapporteurs appauvris en CpG. Ainsi, à partir de la molécule LacZ contenant 291 CpG, les molécules LagZ contenant 52 sites CpG et LagoZ n'en contenant que 2, ont été construites. Combiné à E1Fa, un promoteur sans spécificité tissulaire, ces trois transgènes ont été introduits dans le génome de la souris. L'analyse de leur patron d'expression a montré que dans des cellules somatiques à partir d'un certain seuil, la présence de CpG est fortement répressive. Par contre, elle l'est peu dans des cellules germinales. Curieusement, une expression différentielle selon l'origine parentale est observée dans les premiers stades du développement de la souris mais seulement avec certaines des combinaisons mises en jeu. Comme entre ces constructions, seule la partie codante du gène diffère, c'est la base moléculaire de la répression génique que nous voulons comprendre. La comparaison des états de méthylation des transgènes (gène rapporteur et promoteur E1Fa) en liaison avec leur expression et à différents stades du développement devrait nous permettre de trancher entre diverses hypothèses, toutes également plausibles actuellement.

Légendes des photos :

Figure 1 :

Système LaacZ de marquage des clones. A) Le gène rapporteur nls LaacZ. Un gène rapporteur nls LaacZ dans lequel une duplication a rendu l'enzyme inactive est lié à un promoteur musculaire spécifique, spécifique, MSP. Une recombinaison homologue spontanée entre les séquences dupliquées " aa " réétablit la structure b-galactosidase codante. B) Production de clones dans la progénie d'un croisement entre un mâle transgénique LaacZ et une femelle de type sauvage. Pendant le développement, une recombinaison homologue spontanée se produit entre les séquences dupliquées de LaacZ créant de ce fait un gène fonctionnel LacZ dans la cellule. Cet événement amorce le marquage clonal (coloration en bleu) dans l'embryon. Dans la lignée transgénique a-2, la fréquence des clones myogéniques b-gal+ à E11.5 est de 5x10-2 par embryon.

Figure 2 :

Un modèle des événements cellulaires durant le développement du tube neural. Le modèle concerne l'organisation des territoires et les mouvements cellulaires globaux ainsi que le développement des lignages cellulaires individuels. Avant le début de la gastrulation (E6), le pool des fondateurs du SNC (en vert) n'est pas régionalisé et en raison d'un important mélange cellulaire avant la gastrulation et pendant l'élongation de la plaque neurale (E5-E7), les précurseurs individuels produisent des descendants distribués tout le long de l'axe neural. A partir du début de la gastrulation (E7), les clones individuels ont une plus faible probabilité de produire des descendant à la fois dans la partie antérieure et dans la partie postérieur du SNC en raison de l'orientation postérieure des mouvements du groupe de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement et de la croissance cohérente dans la partie antérieure du SNC. En conséquence, les groupes de précurseurs de la moelle épinière (en bleu) et du cerveau (en rouge et jaune) se séparent (régionalisation précoce). Un important mélange cellulaire se poursuit alors (E7-E8) dans le primordium de la moelle épinière en raison de la régression antéro-postérieure du pool de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement. Par contre, en raison de la croissance cohérente dans la plaque neurale antérieure, l'ordre AP des précurseurs est rapidement établi, conduisant à une régionalisation précoce des territoires du cerveau (gradient rouge à jaune). Après E8, le mélange cellulaire AP dans le cerveau et la partie antérieure de la moelle épinière est plus limité et suivi par une phase de dispersion dorso-ventrale des cellules.

Figure 3 :

Modèle d'organisation du pool de précurseurs du myotome dans la ligne primitive. La partie postérieure est en haut ; la partie antérieure est en bas. La ligne primitive (PS) : le mésoderme présomitique (PSM) et les somites (S), puis le dermomyotome (D) et le myotome (M) sont représentés indépendamment des structures adjacentes. Le pool de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement impliqué dans l'axiogenèse est localisé dans la ligne primitive. Le gradient de couleurs représente la régionalisation antéro-postérieure. Les cellules les plus antérieures (cercles noirs) contribuent à la partie intermédiaire du mésoderme paraxial, du mésoderme présomitique au dermomyotome et au myotome (flèches noires). Les cellules plus postérieures (cercles ouverts) contribuent à la partie plus latérale du mésoderme paraxial (flèches blanches). Cela aboutit à une réorientation de l'axe d'AP à ML, symbolisé par le changement d'orientation du gradient. La persistance de la régionalisation établie dans la ligne primitive jusqu'à la formation du dermomyotome et du myotome est schématisée par la continuité du gradient dans ces structures. Noter la symétrie du gradient entre les parties gauche et droite du mésoderme paraxial. Les cellules intermédiaires dans le pool de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement (cercles noirs et ouverts) contribuent bilatéralement au mésoderme paraxial (flèches noire et blanche) et les cellules les plus latérales (cercle gris) contribuent uniquement au côté où elles sont localisées (flèche grise). La séparation clonale entre les parties médiale et latérale des somites (lignes verticales épaisses) qui persiste dans le myotome est surimposée à la régionalisation médiolatérale du mésoderme paraxial établi dans le pool de cellules à capacité d'auto-renouvellement dans la ligne primitive. A, antérieur ; P, postérieur ; l, latéral ; m, médial ; PS, ligne primitive ; PSM, mésoderme présomitique ; S, somite ; D, dermomyotome ; M, myotome.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

KAMEL Françoise ; IP, fkamel@pasteur.fr

NICOLAS, Jean-François(DR1 INSERM, jfnicola@pasteur.fr)

HENRY Isabelle (CR1 INSERM, ihenry@pasteur.fr)

MATHIS Luc (CR2 CNRS, lmathis@pasteur.fr)

FORLANI Sylvie, stagiaire post-doctorale

ELOY-TRINQUET Sophie, stagiaire de Doctorat

SIEUR Johan, stagiaire de Doctorat

TEICHERT Arnaud, stagiaire de DEA

LEGUE Emilie, stagiaire de DEA

ROSZKO Isabelle, stagiaire de DEA

FONTAINE David, stagiaire de Maîtrise

MARIETTE Christine (technicienne supérieure de laboratoire), IP, mariette@pasteur.fr

CAPGRAS Suzanne (technicienne de laboratoire), IP, scapgras@pasteur.fr

DARDENNE Pascal (technicien animalier), IP, dardenne@pasteur.fr

FAUCHER Sylvie (aide de laboratoire)


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.