Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Bcp


  Director : GUILLEN-AGHION, Nancy (nguillen@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Amoebiasis is a parasitic infection of the instestine prevalent in the developing world. The causative agent of amoebic dysentery and amoebic liver abscess is Entamoeba histolytica, a protozoan parasite that infects about 50 million people and causes 100,000 deaths yearly. E. histolytica colonizes the lumen of the large bowel. Invasion of the colonic mucosa, which is triggered by unknown stimuli, causes dysentery. Our research project aim to elucidate the molecular and cellular mechanisms of E. histolytica motility as well as those supporting the interaction of this parasite with cells and matrix components of the intestinal epithelial barrier.



  report

cale

Cell polarization necessary for motility of E. histolytica is dependent upon the formation at the leading edge of the cell, of an appendage called the pseudopod enriched in actin and its associated proteins. Pseudopods are also formed during early steps of phagocytosis. As amoeba progresses, another appendage called the uropod is formed at the rear edge, it concentrates the cluster of receptors that undergoes capping at the amoebic surface. These appendages allow parasite motility and phagocytosis. We expect to elucidate the signaling pathway triggered by the interactions between the parasite and the external milieu that lead to the cytoskeletal changes necessary for motility as well as for the interaction with human cells and their eventual phagocytosis.

1. Cell polarization during the movement of E. histolytica, pseudopod formation.

E. Labruyère, G. Vogt with C. Zimmer and J.C Olivo in the PTR-IP " New approaches to study molecular polarization in motile cells by quantitative image analysis" conducted by A. Alcover.

Cellular and molecular analyses of amoeba polarization and the dissection of the signals involved in pseudopod formation allowed us to identify proteins able to regulate cytoskeleton dynamics. Among them the PAK kinase involved in cytoskeleton regulation during morphological changes of eukaryotic cells. By using E. histolytica carrying different PAK domains combined with imaging analysis of motility, we analyzed phenotypes of wild-type amoeba population as well as those from the different modified strains. In E. histolytica, PAK does not possess the regulatory regions encountered in PAK from other cells. However, we demonstrate that the NH2-terminal domain possesses the regulatory activity leading to binding of the small GTPase Rac and to the regulation of cytoskeleton dynamic, cell polarization, motility and the number of protruding pseudopods.

2. Cytoskeleton rearrangements during phagocytosis of human cells by E. histolytica.

S. Marion with C. Laurent-Winter (Proteome, IP), C. Whilem et F. Gazeau (Paris VI University), supported by the European Union, INCO-DEV- PHAGOAMEBA.

Killing and phagocytosis of human cells occurs after establishment of amoeba-cell contact though specific receptors. The signaling pathway, triggered by phagocytosis, activates parasite cytoskeleton rearrangements. Dissection of the signals and structural proteins involved in the formation of the pseudopod allowed us to identify ABP120 (the actin gelation factor), myosin IB, and Arp2/3 complex as its major components. We analyzed the role of myosin IB in phagocytosis by construction of a dominant negative strain (MyoIB+). These amoebae were deficient in phagocytosis, at the uptake step. Measurement of cytoplasm visco-elasticity showed a denser cytoskeleton of MyoIB+ strain, a fact that correlates with the inhibition of phagocytosis. In the MyoIB+ strain, myosin IB is located in patches and actin and the Arp2/3 complex form comet tails around the phagosomes. Bidimensional electrophoresis analysis showed relevant differences in the protein content of phagosomes isolated from the MyoIB+ strain when compared with the wild-type amoeba.

 

3. Motility and adhesion play a major role in the virulence of E. histolytica

P. Tavares with M.C. Rigothier (Pharmacy Faculty) and H. Kunt, A. Cardona, M. Huerre (Histotechnology and Pathology Expertise Unit, IP).

The coordinated action of the cytoskeleton and surface molecules supports various processes essential for pathogenesis like adhesion to substrata, motility and capping of cell surface receptors. For the analysis of these functions we have selected a dominant antigen during the disease, the Gal-GalNAc lectin. We showed that this receptor is enriched in membrane detergent-resistant domains and undergoes capping in the presence of specific antibodies. Looking for capping regulation, we have identified, cloned and characterized the amoebic conventional myosin II which is essential for motility and for parasite adhesion to cells. Myosin II is enriched into the parasite cytoskeleton following the amoeba-enterocyte contact. By using an experimental model of amoebiasis we have observed the dramatic incidence of both cytoskeleton and adhesive molecules in the regulation of tissue invasion by E. histolytica. We showed that a critical point for success of infection is reached after 6 to 12 h when the parasite may acquire functions allowing its survival and development into the tissue. As soon as E. histolytica arrives in the liver, endothelial cells undergo apoptosis and hepatocytes, as well as inflammatory cells, are killed by necrosis. Characterization of a dominant negative mutant for myosin II or for the Gal-GalNAc lectin heavy chain in this model showed contrasting phenotypes. Gal-GalNAc strain is deficient in adhesion and rapidly spread in to the tissues undergoing a metastasis-like process. The non-motile myosin II deficient strain is avirulent as it is incapable of forming liver abscess.

4. Cellular analysis of E. histolytica — enterocyte interaction during amoebiasis.

N. Guillén with E. Coudrier and F. Amblard, (Curie Institute), M.C. Rigothier (Pharmacy Faculty) and M.C. Prevost (Microscopy Platform IP). The PRFMMIP program of the French Ministry of Education supports this project.

Using wild-type and myosin II or Gal-GalNAc deficient amoebae, we described morphological changes in amoeba (fluorescent) and enterocytes (carrying GFP-actin) Adhesion to epithelial cells and motility was analyzed by using biphotonic microscopy with living cells, and by confocal and electron microscopy, with fixed cells. E. histolytica moves quickly (1 m m/sec) and stops when it comes into contact with the apex of enterocytes. Adhesion triggers dramatic changes on the target cells: microfilaments are delocalized and membrane projections are formed, then parasites invade the cell monolayer. The Gal-Gal lectin deficient strain presents a reduced rate of adhesion (40% of the WT), moves faster, somersaults on the apex of cells and poorly penetrates the monolayer despite its cytotoxic activity. These changes were not seen when the myosin II-inactivated amoebae were used. This non-motile strain displays a pendulum movement, has few cell adhesion areas and is non-virulent. In addition, biochemical analysis of the amoeba-enterocyte interaction leads to the purification of new amoebic proteins involved in cell adhesion. Two of these have been identified and their molecular characterization is in progress.

5. Exploring pathogenesis of amoebiasis with cDNA microarrays

C. Weber with C.Bouchier (Genomic-IP) and D. Mirelman (Weizmann Institute, Israel).

Our objective is the functional analysis of genes that are upregulated or exclusively expressed in highly virulent strains or induced following the contact of parasites with human cells. A complementary DNA (cDNA) library of a non-virulent E. histolytica strain HM-1 was prepared and cDNA inserts are being sequenced. Following the computer sequence analysis, these clones will be used for the preparation of microarrays. We also purified the mRNA from amoebae isolated from liver abscesses and from the isogenic strain that has lost its ability to induce liver abscesses. With these two mRNAs, a subtractive hybridization experiment is in progress, subtracted mRNA will be used as a probe for microarray screening.

Photo :

Cellular distribution of PAK and F-actin in a motile E. histolytica

Amoeba moving from left to right displaying a prominent pseudopode that guides its locomotion. A confocal micrograph of the parasite showed that: F-actin (green) is lightly concentrated in the pseudopod, distributed in the cytoplasm and enriched at the posterior end of the parasite. PAK (red) is dispersed throughout the cytoplasm and is concentrated in pseudopodia extension. Superimposition of the two staining indicates that F-actin and PAK are concentrated at specific opposite sites of the parasite. In moving parasites, the concentrated labeling at opposite ends of PAK versus F-actin reinforces the polarized state of migrating E. histolytica. The differential interference contrast (DIC) image shows E. histolytica with a pseudopod at the front of migration. Bar, 5 µm.



  web site

puce More informations on our web site


  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

Lambrecht, Marie-Régine, lambrech@pasteur.fr

Guillén-Aghion, Nancy, CNRS. Research Director, CNRS.

Labruyère-Dadaglio, Elisabeth, Researcher, I.P.

Seigneur, Marie, Researcher, INRA.

Vayssié-Niger, Laurence, Postdoc EU.

Marion, Sabrina. PhD student.

Vogt, Guillaume, DEA student.

Weber, Christian, Technician, I.P.

Lambrecht, Marie-Régine, Secretary, I.P. lambrech@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Bcp


  Responsable : GUILLEN-AGHION, Nancy (nguillen@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

L'amibe hématophage, Entamoeba histolytica est l'agent étiologique de l'amibiase, une maladie infectieuse intestinale responsable de 50 millions de cas cliniques et de près de 100 000 décès par an. Le parasite, résidant dans le colon est doué de motilité, il envahit et détruit l'épithélium intestinal humain. L'objectif général de notre projet de recherche est d'élucider les mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires impliqués d'une part dans le mouvement de E. histolytica, et d'autre part dans son interaction avec les cellules humaines ou avec la matrice extracellulaire.



  rapport

cale

Les remaniements du cytosquelette chez E. histolytica conduisent soit à la polarisation de l'amibe, qui possède alors un uroïde dans la partie postérieure et un pseudopode locomoteur dans la partie antérieure, soit à la formation de pseudopodes phagocytaires. La mise en place de ces appendices permet à E. histolytica de se déplacer et de phagocyter les cellules humaines. Nous espérons proposer un modèle intégré de signalisation allant de la perception par l'amibe de son environnement tissulaire, à la transduction des signaux mettant en route le remodelage du cytosquelette parasitaire nécessaire à la motilité, et/ou à l'interaction avec les cellules humaines et leur phagocytose.

1. Polarisation de E. histolytica pendant le mouvement et formation de pseudopodes.

E. Labruyère, G. Vogt en collaboration avec C. Zimmer et J.C. Olivo dans le PTR " Nouvelles approches pour l'étude de la polarisation moléculaire de cellules mobiles par analyse d'images quantitative " dirigé par A. Alcover.

L'analyse cellulaire, génétique et moléculaire de la polarisation des amibes et de la formation de pseudopodes a permis d'identifier plusieurs protéines régulatrices de l'activité du cytosquelette ; parmi elles, la kinase PAK connue pour son activité lors de changements morphologiques des cellules eucaryotes. A l'aide de souches exprimant différents domaines de PAK et d'une méthode d'analyse d'images quantitative mise au point dans ce projet, nous avons étudié les différents phénotypes des populations d'amibes sauvages ou de celles modifiées. Chez E. histolytica, PAK ne possède pas les domaines de régulation décrits pour ses homologues. Nous avons cependant montré que la région NH2-terminal de cette enzyme est le domaine régulateur qui lie la GTPase Rac et est essentielle pour la régulation de la dynamique du cytosquelette, de la polarisation de E. histolytica, de la motilité et du nombre de pseudopodes.

2. Dynamique du cytosquelette pendant la phagocytose chez E. histolytica

S. Marion en collaboration avec C. Laurent-Winter, (PT-Protéomique, IP), C. Whilem et F. Gazeau (Université Paris VI). Projet PHAGOAMEBA, Union Européenne - INCO-DEV.

La phagocytose de cellules humaines est un phénomène majeur pendant l'amibiase. Elle est amorcée grâce aux récepteurs de surface amibiens qui reconnaissent des ligands localisés sur les cellules cibles, le signal déclenché active les remaniements du cytosquelette. Plusieurs protéines du cytosquelette participant à la formation des pseudopodes pendant la phagocytose ont déjà été identifiées dans notre laboratoire. En plus de l'actine, nous avons décrit ABP-120, la myosine IB et le complexe Arp2/3. Une souche qui surexprime le gène codant la myosine IB a été fabriquée et nous avons montré, par mesure de la viscoélasticité du cytoplasme, que son cytosquelette est plus dense, un fait qui corrèle avec la réduction du taux de phagocytose. Dans cette souche, la myosine IB forme des petits amas autour de la vacuole de phagocytose, alors que l'actine F forme des comètes qui sont également enrichies par le complexe Arp 2/3. L'analyse en électrophorèse bidimensionnelle de protéines isolées de phagosomes issus des souches sauvages ou MyoIB+ montre des différences qualitatives de la nature de complexes protéiques associés au phénotype MyoIB+.

3. Rôle de la motilité et de l'adhérence dans la mise en place de l'amibiase.

P. Tavares en collaboration avec M.-C. Rigothier (Faculté de Pharmacie) et avec H. Khun, A. Cardona et M. Huerre (Unité Expertise Histotechnologie et Pathologie, IP).

Nous avons observé que la lectine Gal-GalNAc, un antigène immuno-dominant qui participe à l'adhérence des amibes aux cellules épithéliales, subit le capping et est enrichi dans des microdomaines lipidiques. L'analyse cellulaire, génétique et moléculaire des fonctions de la myosine II a montré qu'elle est essentielle pour la polarité, la motilité, le capping de récepteurs en particulier celui de la lectine Gal-GalNAc. La myosine II est enrichie dans le cytosquelette suite à l'interaction du parasite avec les entérocytes. Dans un modèle expérimental de l'amibiase, l'analyse de souches déficientes en myosine II ou dans la lectine Gal-GalNAc a dévoilé le rôle primordial de l'adhérence et du cytosquelette dans l'établissement de la virulence. La période allant de 6 à 12 heures d'infestation est déterminante pour que le parasite acquière les marqueurs nécessaires à sa survie et à son développement au sein tissulaire. Dès son arrivé dans le foie, E. histolytica induit l'apoptose de cellules endothéliales et la nécrose rapide des hépatocytes et de cellules de la réponse immune. Les souches diminuées en lectine Gal-GalNAc et en myosine II montrent, dans ce modèle, des phénotypes très différents et contrastés. Alors que la première envahie très rapidement le tissu et conduit à une " métastase " hépatique, la deuxième est totalement inhibée dans le processus pathogène. Les facteurs de régulation de ces phénotypes sont à l'étude.

4. Analyse cellulaire de la relation entérocyte-parasite dans le cas de l'amibiase.

N. Guillén, J. Mounier, M. Seigneur en collaboration avec E. Coudrier et F. Amblard (Institut Curie), avec M.-C. Rigothier (Faculté de Pharmacie) et avec M.C. Prevost (PT-Microscopie Electronique IP). Projet soutenu par le MENRT à travers l'action "Programme de Recherche Fondamentale en Microbiologie et Maladies Infectieuses et Parasitaires "

L'adhérence et la motilité de E. histolytica sauvage et celle de souches déficientes en myosine II ou en lectine Gal-GalNAc, ont été analysées par microscopie électronique, confocale et biphotonique en temps réel. La souche sauvage se déplace à une vitesse d'un m/sec sur une surface neutre tel le verre et s'arrête rapidement à la rencontre de l'apex des entérocytes. La mise en place de mécanismes d'adhérence s'accompagne de changements drastiques au niveau du cytosquelette des cellules cibles. Les microfilaments sont délocalisés et des remaniements membranaires des entérocytes sont produits. Les amibes pénètrent par la suite dans la monocouche de cellules. La souche déficiente en Gal-GalNAc a un taux d'adhérence réduit à 40 % du sauvage, se déplace rapidement et " roule " sur l'apex des entérocytes. Bien que cytotoxique, cette souche a une capacité réduite pour pénétrer la monocouche de cellules. En revanche, les phénotypes de la souche altérée dans les fonctions de la myosine II montrent qu'elle ne se déplace pas, présente un mouvement " pendulaire " avec peu de points d'attache sur l'apex des cellules et en conséquence perd toute virulence. L'analyse approfondie de l'interaction amibe-entérocytes révèle qu'en dehors de la lectine Gal-GalNAc d'autres protéines se lient à l'apex des entérocytes. Deux de ces protéines ont été purifiées et leur étude moléculaire et cellulaire est en cours.

5. Régulation de gènes amibiens pendant l'invasion tissulaire.

C. Weber en collaboration avec C. Bouchier (PT-Génomique, IP), et D. Mirelman (Institut Weizmann, Israel).

Pour identifier les gènes spécifiquement activés lors de la mise en route de l'invasion des tissus par E. histolytica, l'analyse de transcrits amibiens par une approche " transcriptome " a été démarrée. Une banque de cDNA a été construite et les clones, en cours de séquençage, serviront à la fabrication de puces à ADN. Des banques soustractives d'ARN messagers des amibes sauvages ou déficientes en lectine Gal-GalNAc sont en cours de construction, elles permettront le criblage de ces puces.

Légende

Localisation de PAK et de la F-actine chez Entamoeba histolytica

Chez une amibe en mouvement, allant sur cette micrographie de la gauche vers la droite, un pseudopode prédominant (visible au DIC, Differential Interference Contrast) se forme au front de migration et dirige sa locomotion. La micrographie obtenue après marquage en immunofluorescence et analyse en microscopie confocale montre que l'actine filamenteuse (vert) est présente dans le cytoplasme et dans le pseudopode et est enrichie au pôle postérieur de l'amibe. PAK (rouge) est dispersé dans le cytoplasme et est concentré au niveau du pseudopode. La superposition des deux marquages indique que la F-actine et PAK se concentrent dans deux sites opposés contribuant ainsi à la polarisation de E. histolytica lors de la migration. Echelle, 5 µm



  site web

puce Plus d' informations sur notre site web


  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

Lambrecht, Marie-Régine, lambrech@pasteur.fr

Guillén-Aghion, Nancy. Directeur de Recherche CNRS. nguillen@pasteur.fr

Labruyère-Dadaglio, Elisabeth. Chargée de Recherche, I.P.

Seigneur, Marie. Chargée de Recherche, INRA.

Vayssié-Niger, Laurence. Post-Doctorant EU.

Marion, Sabrina. Etudiante en thèse de Doctorat.

Vogt, Guillaume. Etudiant D.E.A.

Weber, Christian. Technicien, I.P.

Lambrecht, Marie-Régine, Secrétaire, I.P.


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.