Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Bbmi


  Director : Paul BREY (pbrey@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our Unit is concentrating on three inter-related research themes: 1) Anopheles gambiae genomics, 2) Malaria parasite/mosquito interactions especially during sporogonic development and 3) Insect immunity where we are focusing on the enzymatic cascade leading to melanotic encapsulation. Our aim is to better understand how malaria parasites interact with their insect hosts in order to eventually find ways to interrupt or regulate this nteraction.



  report

cale

Gene discovery in Plasmodium- host cell interactions during the sporogonic cycle (R. Paul, A. Raibaud, K. Brahimi and Paul Brey)

Plasmodium infections impose an enormous public health burden on tropical communities resulting in 2 million deaths annually, notably in children. Resistance of Plasmodium to most of the antimalarial drugs available is widespread and no efficient vaccine exists. An increased knowledge of the molecular changes occurring during the life cycle of the parasite and its interactions with host cells should permit the development of alternative strategies to struggle against malaria.

Currently, our studies are part of a transversal research program in collaboration with two other laboratories within the Pasteur Institute (Unité Postulante de Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme et Unité Génétique de la Différentiation). The object of the program we propose is to identify and functionally characterise novel genes which are expressed by the two sporogonic invasive stages (the ookinete and the sporozoite) and the hepatocyte. We will apply a recently developed gene discovery approach, suppression subtractive hybridisation (SSH) and use the P. berghei system, whose entire life cycle can be achieved in the laboratory, for which the infection of hepatocytes can go to completion in vitro and which is the model of choice for molecular studies because of the relative ease of targeted mutagenesis. In this way we aim to identify novel therapeutic targets.

 

Genomics of Anopheles gambiae (Charles Roth, Marine Grailles, Inge Holm and Paul Brey)

For the last several years our unit has been working on the genome of the mosquito Anopheles gambiae that is the major vector of malaria in Africa. Understanding the genes that control all aspects of mosquito growth, behavior and environmental response will lead to better control of malaria transmission by this vector. The Institut Pasteur is a partner in an international consortium that is sequencing the entire 270 megabase (millions of bases) genome of this mosquito. This project will identify all the genes in this medically important

mosquito and allow their comparison of those the human and the malaria parasite whose genomes have already been sequenced. This comparison should lead to new ways of understanding the host-vector relationship and to control the disease.

In preparation for this large sequencing effort our laboratory has been working in collaboration with the French National Sequencing Center - "Genoscope" to characterize the genome and its genes. The first project created more than 22,000 sequences from random regions of the genome. This was done by sequencing the ends of large chromosomal fragments cloned in Bacterial Artificial Chromosomes (BACs). The sequences from the ends of these fragments provide information about all the chromosomes, including the genes, the transposons and the repetitive sequences they contain. For example, our analysis of these sequences has identified partial sequences from more than 1000 genes not previously identified in this mosquito. We have also identified numerous new transposable element genes and identified new families of these elements that play a role in rearrangements. We have also identified nearly a thousand microsatellite sequences that could be used as "markers" to identify and follow mosquito population movements in the field.

A second project has been work with Genoscope to sequence a chromosomal section in collaboration with our partners in Germany and the United States to demonstrate the feasibility of sequencing a large genomic region. This sequenced region will provide the standard for the correctness of the full genome sequence. The region was chosen because it contains a gene important for the ability of the malaria parasite to grow and be transmitted by A. gambiae. Genoscope has sequenced a section of 500,000 bases constructed from five overlapping BAC clones and two smaller sections.

The unit is also studying the insect genes coding for transporter proteins associated with "multidrug-resistance" in humans. These transporters function in a network of enzymes that reduce the level of environmental toxins in an animal. We are studying the multidrug-resistance genes and their products to learn how these important transporters work both in humans and in insects. By identifying the parts of these proteins that select the product to be exported, it may be possible to design compounds that can reduce their capacity to transport certain toxic products such as drugs that kill human tumors or insecticides that can control mosquitoes that transmit disease. To this end, we are dissecting the "multidrug-transporter" encoding genes in the fruitfly D. melanogaster and in the malaria vector mosquito A. gambiae. These studies are identifying domains of the transporter protein that these insects can alter rapidly and which suggests that they are important for determining the type of compound the transporter removes from living cells. By comparing these insect genomes and the human genome we are learning how evolution has selected variability and stability in the enzymes that interact with environmental toxins. We believe that studying the structure and function of the genes in parasites such as the malaria parasite P. falciparum and its hosts the mosquito A. gambiae and humans, we will find new ways to manage the and to improve public health.

Studies on a Drosophila serine protease inhibitor (SERPIN) involved in prophenoloxidase pathway (Sung Jun Han and Paul Brey)

The melanization plays several very important roles for their immune response in insects. The melanization process in insects is mediated through phenoloxidase (PO), a key enzyme that exists as pro-form called prophenoloxidase (PPO). The activation of this PPO is regulated by serine protease cascade known as the PPO pathway. Many Prophenoloxidase activating enzyme (PPAE) homologues were found in various kinds of insects. All known PPAEs and PO pathway related proteases are serine proteases, and some serine protease inhibitor (Serpin) molecules which had inhibitory effects against PO pathway were reported in different insects. Few years ago, a serpin molecule was published in the fall webworm, Hyphantria cunea, by using PCR-based differential display and subtractive cloning after bacterial challenge. We found that its C-terminal amino acid sequence was similar to N-terminal sequence of PPOs near the cleavage site cut by PPAE. C-terminal of serpin is corresponding to Reactive Center Loop (RCL) which is exposed on the surface of molecule. After cleavage of RCL by target protease, P1 residue of serpin forms an ester bond with the active site serine residue of the target protease. So amino acid sequence in the RCL is thought to mimic the normal substrate. By screening of BDGP EST data bank with nucleotide sequences of this serpin molecule, we could find one most possible candidate for inhibitor of PPAE in Drosophila. We named it as POPIN (PhenolOxidase Pathway INhibitor). POPIN is a serpin molecule which consists of 447 amino acids and has N-terminal signal peptide, and it's P1 site was determined by amino acid sequences alignment with other known serpins. As expected, POPIN's C-terminal amino acid sequences, which are corresponding to RCL, had high homology with those of PPO's N-terminal amino acid sequences containing cleavage site, even though Arg in the cleavage site of PPO was substituted by Lys in the P1 site of POPIN. We checked POPIN's expression in both transcriptional and translational level. POPIN was expressed in all developmental stages and Drosophila Schneider cell line, even though it was lower expressed in adult stage and higher expressed in pupae stage than in other stages. As expected, POPIN inhibited PO pathway in Drosophila pupae. Furthermore, POPIN could block PO pathway even in Bombyx and Galleria blood as well. The point mutation of reactive site (P1 site) was introduced to check their activity. POPINK406R, which Lys of P1 site is replaced with Arg, showed inhibitory activity against PO pathway even though it is less effective than POPIN wild type But, POPINK406A, which Lys of P1 site is replaced with Ala, had no inhibitory activity. We tested POPIN's inhibitory activity against various kinds of proteases. POPIN could block only trypsin activity. And, the relevancy between PO pathway and cell adhesion was reported recently. So we checked if our POPIN can block hemocyte aggregation in Galleria mellonella. POPIN inhibited both hemocyte aggregation and hemolymph gelation. Further studies are needed to characterize this linkage.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

BLANC, Marie-France, mfblanc@pasteur.fr

BREY, Paul, IP, Head of Laboratory, pbrey@pasteur.fr

ROTH, Charles, CNRS, croth@pasteur.fr

RAIBAUD, Anna, IP, araibaud@pasteur.fr

PAUL, Richard, IP, topotito@pasteur.fr

GRAILLES, Marine, IP Dakar, Postdoc, letocart@pasteur.fr

BRAHIMI, Karima, IP, Postdoc, kbrahimi@pasteur.fr

HAN, Sung-Jun, Yonsei Medical School, Corée, PhD student, sungjun@pasteur.fr

HOLM, Inge, IP, Engineer, holm@pasteur.fr

PERROT, Sylvie, IP, Technician, sperrot@pasteur.fr

CARMI-LEROY, Annick, IP, Technician

GEGAT, Catherine, IP, Laboratory Agent

BLANC, Marie-France, Secretary, mfblanc@pasteur.fr


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Bbmi


  Responsable : Paul BREY (pbrey@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre Unité se concentre sur trois thèmes de recherche ayant des liens entre eux : 1) le génome d'Anopheles gambiae, 2) les interactions parasite du paludisme/moustique, en particulier au tout début du développement Sporogonique, et 3) l'immunité des insectes surtout au niveau de la cascade enzymatique qui déclenche l'encapsulation et la production de la mélanine. Notre but est de mieux comprendre comment les parasites du paludisme interagissent avec leurs insectes hôtes afin de trouver d'éventuelles solutions pour interrompre ou réguler cette interaction.



  rapport

cale

Identification génique chez Plasmodium — interactions avec la cellule hôte au cours du cycle sporogonique (R. Paul, A. Raibaud, K. Brahimi et Paul Brey)

Les infections par Plasmodium sont un énorme fléau de santé publique qui provoque la mort de 2 millions de personnes par an, particulièrement chez les enfants. La résistance de Plasmodium à la plupart des drogues antimalariennes est de plus en plus répandue et aucun vaccin efficace n'existe à l'heure actuelle. Une meilleure connaissance du cycle du parasite au niveau moléculaire, en particulier de ses interactions avec les cellules hôtes, devrait mener vers des stratégies alternatives dans la lutte contre le paludisme.

Actuellement, nos études font parties d'un programme transversal de recherche en collaboration avec deux autres laboratoires au sein de l'Institut Pasteur (Unité Postulante de Biologie et Génétique du Paludisme et Unité Génétique de la Différentiation). Notre programme propose l'identification et la caractérisation fonctionnelle de nouveaux gènes qui sont exprimés spécifiquement aux stades invasifs du cycle sporogonique (l'ookinète et le sporozoïte) et par les hépatocytes infectés. Pour cela nous utilisons une technique récente, l'Hybridation Soustractive Suppressive (HSS) et le système rongeur P. berghei qui présente plusieurs avantages : le cycle entier du parasite peut être maintenu au laboratoire, l'infection des hépatocytes peut être menée à terme in vitro et les études moléculaires sont facilitées par des techniques de mutagenèse dirigée simples et rapides. De cette façon, nous espérons identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques.

Génomique d' Anopheles gambiae (Charles Roth, Marine Grailles, Inge Holm et Paul Brey)

Ces dernières années, notre unité a travaillé sur le génome du moustique Anopheles gambiae, principal vecteur du parasite Plasmodium falciparum, responsable du paludisme en Afrique. L'étude des gènes qui contrôlent les multiples aspects du développement du moustique et la compréhension de son comportement et de ses réponses à l'environnement, conduiront à un meilleur contrôle de la transmission du paludisme par ce vecteur.

L'Institut Pasteur est engagé dans un consortium international qui a pris en charge le séquençage des 270 mégabases (millions de bases) du génome de ce moustique. Ce projet permettra d'identifier tous les gènes d'importance médicale et de les comparer à ceux de l'homme et du parasite Plasmodium, dont les génomes ont déjà été séquencés. Cette comparaison devrait ouvrir de nouvelles voies à la compréhension des relations hôte-vecteur et au contrôle de la maladie.

En avant-première à cet important effort de séquençage, notre laboratoire, en collaboration avec le Centre National Français de Séquençage, le Génoscope, a fourni plus de 22 000 séquences réparties de manière aléatoire dans le génome en séquençant les extrémités de grands fragments chromosomiques clonés dans des Chromosomes Artificiels Bactériens (BACs). Les séquences des extrémités de ces fragments fournissent des informations sur les chromosomes dans leur ensemble incluant les gènes, les transposons, et les séquences répétées qu'ils contiennent. Par exemple, notre analyse a mis en évidence les séquences partielles de plus de 1 000 gènes qui n'étaient pas identifiés au préalable chez le moustique. Nous avons aussi identifié de nombreux nouveaux éléments transposables, et de nouvelles familles de ces éléments qui jouent un rôle dans les réarrangements chromosomiques. De même, nous avons répertorié près de 1 000 séquences de microsatellites qui pourraient être utilisées comme "marqueurs " pour l'identification et le suivi des mouvements de populations de moustiques dans la nature.

Un deuxième projet a consisté à travailler avec le Génoscope, en collaboration avec nos partenaires allemands et américains, sur le séquençage d'une section de chromosome pour démontrer la faisabilité du séquençage d'une large portion du génome. Cette région séquencée servira de référence pour la correction de la séquence du génome entier. Cette région a été choisie parce qu'elle contenait un gène important favorisant la capacité du Plasmodium à croître et à être transmis par A. gambiae. Le Génoscope a construit une section de 500 000 bases à partir de 5 clones de BACs se chevauchant, et deux sections plus petites.

L'unité étudie aussi les gènes d'insectes codant des protéines transporteuses associées à la multi-résistance aux traitements chimiques chez l'homme. Ces transporteurs agissent au sein d'un réseau d'enzymes qui réduisent l'accumulation des toxines de l'environnement chez l'animal. Nous étudions les gènes de multi-résistance chimique et leurs produits afin de comprendre comment ces transporteurs importants fonctionnent, tant chez l'homme que chez l'insecte. En identifiant les parties de ces protéines qui sélectionnent le produit à exporter, il sera peut-être possible de concevoir des composés capables de réduire la capacité de transport de certains produits toxiques, comme les traitements anti-tumoraux humains, ou des insecticides permettant de contrôler les moustiques vecteurs de maladies.A cette fin, nous identifions les gènes codant les transporteurs qui confèrent le phénotype de multi-résistance chez la mouche du vinaigre, D. melanogaster, et le moustique vecteur du paludisme, A. gambiae. Ces études permettent actuellement d'identifier les domaines de la protéine transporteuse qui peuvent varier rapidement chez ces insectes, et qui suggèrent un rôle important dans la détermination du type de composé que le transporteur rejette de la cellule vivante. En comparant les génomes de ces insectes à celui de l'homme, nous apprenons comment l'évolution a sélectionné la variabilité et la stabilité dans les protéines qui interagissent avec les toxines de l'environnement. Nous pensons qu'en étudiant la structure et la fonction des gènes de parasites comme l'agent du paludisme, P. falciparum, et de ses hôtes, le moustique A.gambiae et l'homme, nous trouverons de nouvelles voies pour maîtriser leurs interactions et améliorer la santé publique.

 

Etude d'un inhibiteur naturel de sérine protéase (Serpine) impliqué dans la régulation de l'activation de la prophénoloxydase (Sung-Jun Han et Paul Brey)

La mélanisation chez les insectes joue un rôle important dans la réponse immunitaire. Les insectes, dépourvus d'immunoglobuline, utilisent l'encapsulation mélanotique pour séquestrer les parasites et les pathogènes dans l'hémocoel. L'enzyme principal de la synthèse de la mélanine est la phénoloxydase. La phénoloxydase existe sous forme de zymogène (prophénoloxydase) dans l'hémolymphe de l'insecte. Lorsqu'il y a blessure ou invasion, la prophénoloxydase est activée par une protéolyse limite sous l'action une sérine protéase appelée PPAE. Cet enzyme enlève un fragment de 49 acides aminés de la partie N-terminale de la prophénoloxydase pour le transformer en forme active (phénoloxidase). Cette protéase PPAE doit être elle-même régulée pour éviter la surproduction de la mélanine qui peut être mortelle pour l'insecte. Il existe une famille d'inhibiteurs naturels de sérine protéase appelés serpines. Cette famille d'inhibiteurs est très representée chez les insectes. Il y a quelques années, nous avons publié la séquence nucléotidique d'une serpine chez la processionnaire du pin, Hyphantria cunea. Lors de l'analyse de la séquence en acides aminés, nous avons découvert que la terminaison C-terminale de notre serpine était quasi identique à la partie N-terminale de la prophénolxydase surtout autour du site de clivage de la prophénoloxydase. Nous avons ensuite criblé les banques EST de Drosophila (BDGP) et avons trouvé une serpine orthologue. Nous avons pu démontrer que cette serpine était inhibitrice de l'activation de la prophénoloxydase, non seulement chez drosophile, mais aussi chez Bombyx mori et Gallaria mellonella. Cette serpine, que nous avons nommée "POPIN" (PhenolOxidase Pathway INhibitor), est composée de 447 acides aminés et porte un signal peptide dans sa partie N-terminale. Chez la drosophile, POPIN est exprimé de façon constitutive à tous les stades de développement ainsi que dans une lignée cellulaire, Drosophila Schneider cells. Afin de suivre l'activité inhibitrice de POPIN, nous avons produit des mutations (1 aa) dans le site réactif P1 du gène. Ainsi, nous avons substitué une Arg pour une Lys (POPINK406R) puis une Ala pour une Lys (POPINK406A). La mutation en Ala a aboli l'activité inhibitrice de la serpine alors que la mutation en Arg l'a seulement réduite par rapport à un "wild type" qui contient une Lys. POPIN est inhibiteur uniquement des sérines protéases du type trypsine. De plus, POPIN a manifesté une activité anti-agrégation des hémocytes et anti-coagulation de l'hémolymphe.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

BLANC, Marie-France, mfblanc@pasteur.fr

BREY, Paul, IP, Chef de Laboratoire, pbrey@pasteur.fr

ROTH, Charles, CNRS, Chargé de recherche, croth@pasteur.fr

RAIBAUD, Anna, IP, Chargé de recherche, araibaud@pasteur.fr

PAUL, Richard, IP, Chargé de recherche, topotito@pasteur.fr

GRAILLES, Marine, IP Dakar, Postdoc, letocar@pasteur.fr

BRAHIMI, Karima, IP, Postdoc, kbrahimi@pasteur.fr

HAN, Sung-Jun, Yonsei Medical School, Corée, Thèse, sungjun@pasteur.fr

HOLM, Inge, IP, Ingénieur, holm@pasteur.fr

PERROT, Sylvie, IP, Technicienne, sperrot@pasteur.fr

CARMI-LEROY, Annick, IP, Technicienne

GEGAT, Catherine, IP, Agent de Laboratoire

BLANC, Marie-France, Secrétaire, mfblanc@pasteur.fr


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.