Homepage bandeau_genéral
  Vironc


  Director : YANIV Moshe (yaniv@pasteur.fr)


  abstract

 

Our unit investigates the mechanisms that control gene expression in mammalian cells. We study the interplay between transcription factors and chromatin remodeling machines in activating and repressing genes. Our research examines the importance of individual transcription factors in controling cell differentiation, cell growth or apoptosis, using complete or conditional gene inactivation in mice. Our work has implications for understanding viral and non-viral malignant cell transformation and for understanding the mechanisms underlying diseases such as Type II diabetes, kidney or liver disorders.



  report

cale

Proto-oncogenes  Jun and Fos : a family of transcription factors. Head of the group : Fatima Mechta-Grigoriou and Jonathan Weitzman. Others members of the group : Maya Ameyar-Zazoua, Damien Gérald, Stéphane Girardin, Marta Wisniewska.

The AP1 transcription factor is central to the cell's ability to integrate multiple extracellular signals and initiate the appropriate genetic response. AP1 is composed of dimers of Jun (c-Jun, JunB or JunD) and Fos (c-Fos, FosB, Fra-1 and Fra-2) proto-oncoproteins. Our laboratory focuses on unravelling the functions of the different Jun proteins using genetic and biochemical approaches. We have defined roles for the cytoskeleton and the extracellular environment in the initiation of a kinase signalling pathway that leads to Jun activation following cellular stress or bacterial infection. We have shown that the balance between different AP1 dimers controls progression through the cell cycle. The different Jun proteins also determine cellular transformation by the RAS oncogene. We have demonstrated that JunD can protect cells from p53-dependent senescence and apoptosis induced by inflammatory cytokines or genotoxic stress. These observations place AP1 at a key position linking the Ras/pRb and p53 regulatory pathways. By crossing mice with mutations in the c-jun and junD genes we have found evidence for genetic redundancy and cooperation between these proto-oncogenes. Mice lacking both jun genes display cardiovascular and angiogenic defects during embryonic development. We are currently investigating the gene programs that underlie these cellular and developmental phenotypes.


HNF1 alpha and HNF1 beta : development and diseases. Head of the group : Marco Pontoglio. Others members of the group : Claire Chéret, Antonia Doyen, Lionel Gresh

Hepatocyte Nuclear Factors 1 a and b (HNF1a and HNF1b) are two homologous atypical dimeric homeoproteins that appeared during evolution with the first vertebrates. They are expressed in polarized epithelia of different organs including liver, kidney, pancreas and intestine where they control the expression of numerous tissue-specific genes. Mice lacking HNF1b die in utero at embryonic day 7.5 because of a defect in visceral endoderm differentiation. In contrast, the conditional inactivation of HNF1b in the liver leads to defective intrahepatic bile duct differentiation and cholestasis. Inactivation of HNF1a leads to postnatal dysfunctions of liver, kidney and pancreas. These mice suffer from hypercholesterolemia, hyperphenylalaninemia, renal Fanconi syndrome and a drastic defect in insulin secretion. We have shown that reactivation of the phenylalanine hydroxylage gene, that is silenced in HNF1a-/- mice, by viral mediated transfer of HNF1a can be achieved within a defined time window during development. Autosomal dominant mutations in the genes encoding HNF1a and HNF1b have been shown to give rise to a particular form of diabetes called Maturity Onset Diabetes of the Young (MODY3 and MODY5, respectively). Some MODY3 missense mutations in the transactivation domain of HNF1a generate a dominant negative effector. This is mediated by an aberrant interaction of the mutant protein with CBP whose acetyltransferase activity becomes severely compromised. Our aim is to understand the way HNF1a and HNF1b control the expression of their target genes and how they fashion the correct cellular differentiation (organogenesis) program.


Chromatin remodelling and cell growth control. Head of the group : Christian Muchardt. Other members of the group: Brigitte Bourachot, Peggy Rematier

In eukaryotes, the genomic DNA associates with histones to form chromatin. This environment renders the DNA partially inaccessible to other proteins. To overcome the chromatin barrier, the cell contains large multi-subunit machineries that use the energy of ATP hydrolysis to locally modify the histone-DNA interactions. One of these machineries is known as the SWI/SNF complex. This complex is specifically involved in transcription and facilitates the recruitment of transcriptional regulators to a limited number of promoters We have shown that this complex is essential for early development of the mouse. At the present time, only few of these promoters have been identified. However, several lines of evidence suggest that the SWI/SNF complex is generally associated with the control of cell growth. We have shown that overexpression of Brm, the catalytic subunit of the complex, slows down the growth of cancer cells. Conversely, inactivation of the Brm gene in mice causes increased cell proliferation. Another subunit of the complex, known as SNF5/INI1, is encoded by a "tumor suppressor" gene inactivated in rhabdoid tumors, a very aggressive form of cancer of young children. We have shown that inactivation of one copy of this gene in mice leads to the formation of tumors presenting many similarities with the human rhabdoid tumors. These mice will facilitate the study of this form of cancer. Currently, we are identifying new SWI/SNF target genes and molecular partners to achieve better understanding of the role of the complex in the control of cell growth.


Control of papillomavirus HPV18 transcription and replication : role of carcinogenesis. Head of the group : Françoise Thierry. Other members of the group : Sophie Bellanger, Isabelle Bouallaga, Caroline Demeret

Our research focuses on the mechanisms of malignant conversion of cervical cells infected with the Human Papillomavirus type 18 (HPV18). Cervical cancer is the second cause of mortality in women from cancer, after breast cancer. The HPV virus infects specifically the genital tract where it replicates in the upper layers of the epidermis. The virus encodes two oncogenic proteins E6 and E7, which alter the normal proliferation control of the cells by interfering with the two regulatory proteins of the cell cycle, p53 and pRB. During carcinogenic progression, the viral genome integrates into the cellular genome. Transcription of the two viral oncogenes, E6 and E7, is strongly activated by a complex transcriptional control structural element called an "enhanceosome". This enhanceosome is specific for cervical carcinoma cells and interacts exclusively with cellular proteins. We are currently searching for the proteins involved in its activity within the cellular genome and for the basis of its cell specificity by chromatin immunoprecipitation. In contrast, transcription of the viral oncogenes is repressed by the viral protein E2, whose coding sequences are inactivated by integration of the viral DNA into the cellular genome in cervical carcinomas. Reintroduction of the viral E2 protein into these cells induces a strong antiproliferative effect due to both cell cycle arrest and cell death by apoptosis. We are currently trying to discover the interactions of E2 with cellular components and the mechanism by which it induces apoptosis.


Assymetric cell division. Head of the group : Benoît Arcangioli. Other members of the group : Atanas Kaykov, Raynald de Lahondès (this group became Unité Postulante in 2001 and joined the Department of Molecular Biology)

We are investigating the chromosomal imprinting mechanism responsible for the asymmetric division in the yeast Schizosaccharomyces pombe. The efficiency of this process leads to a clonal haploid cell population containing the same proportion of both mating-types (P/M). Our previous studies has shown that this process is initiated by a single-strand DNA lesion at the mating-type locus, and involves DNA replication. The lesion is introduced during lagging strand synthesis, on only one of the two sister chromatids, is maintained during the entire length of the cell cycle and triggers mating-type switching during the following S-phase. The mechanism responsible for the formation and maintenance of this single-strand DNA lesion is unknown. Recently, we have shown, by density labeling, that the mating-type locus is not replicated by the semi-conservative mode, but instead both DNA strands are synthesized de novo. This finding establishes a link between the phenotype and genotype in the process of asymmetric mating-type switching. We are also studying the function of the sap1 gene, initially implicated in mating-type switching. Recently, we have shown that this gene plays an important role in the chromosomal cohesion/condensation processes which is essential for post-replicative recombination and segregation of the genetic material.

Photos :
Figure 1 : HNF1beta mutation affects intrahepatic bile duct development. Immunostaining for cytokeratin (CK) on 10 days postnatal liver sections. (A) Differentiated bile ducts are seen on control mice. (B-D) Mutants show no or very few CK-positive cells (B), or ductal plate remnants and abnormal CK-positive structures within the portal mesenchyme (C), or abnormal bile ducts (D). hp: hepatic parenchyma; pv: portal vein; pm: portal mesenchyme; dp: ductal plate; bd: bile ducts. Scale bars: 100 mm.

Figure 2 : Blastocyst outgrowth and apoptosis studies. (A) Day 3.5 p.c. embryos were isolated from SNF5+/lacZ intercrosses and cultured in 96-well plates for 4 days. The phase contrast vew shows a growing inner cell mass (ICM) node and a single layer of trophoblastic giant cells (TGC) in wild-type and heterozygous blastocysts after 1,2 and 4 days in cluture, while homozygous mutants are impaired in both trophectoderm and ICM outgrowth. After 4 days of culture, TUNEL assay was performed. Fluorescein (TUNEL) and 4'-6-diamidino-2-phenylindole (DAPI) fluorescent images are shown.

Figure 3 :Real-time microscopy of HeLa cells transfected with a GFP-E2 fusion protein. Times after transfection are writed at the top and arrows indicate apoptotic cells.



  publications

puce Publications of the unit on Pasteur's references database


  personnel

  Office staff Researchers Scientific trainees Other personnel
 

OLLIVIER Edith, IP

ARCANGIOLI Benoît, Chef de Laboratoire IP

DEMERET Caroline, Assistant de Recherche IP

LAVIGNE Marc, Chargé de Recherche IP, (en détachement au MGH, Boston, USA)

MECHTA-GRIGORIOU Fatima, Chargé de Recherche IP

MUCHARDT Christian, CR1 CNRS

PONTOGLIO Marco, CR1 CNRS

THIERRY Françoise, Chef de Laboratoire IP

WEITZMAN Jonathan, Chargé de recherche IP

BAKIRI Latifa, Postdoc

BELLANGER Sophie, Thèse

BOUALLAGA Isabelle, Thèse

CHERET Claire, Thèse

De LAHONDÈS Raynald, Thèse

GERALD Damien, DEA

GIRARDIN Stéphane, Thèse

GRESH Lionel, Thèse

KAYKOV Atanas, Thèse

REMATIER Peggy, DEA

SCHAPER Sigrid, Postdoc

YEIVIN-KLOCHENDLER Agnès, Postdoc

BOURACHOT Brigitte, Ingénieur d'Etudes CNRS

DOYEN Antonia, Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire IP

GARBAY Serge, Ingénieur de Recherches CNRS


filet

Page Top research Institut Pasteur homepage

If you have problems with this Web page, please write to rescom@pasteur.fr.

Portail IP bandeau_genéral
  Vironc


  Responsable : YANIV Moshe (yaniv@pasteur.fr)


  resume

 

Notre unité étudie les mécanismes qui contrôlent l'expression des gènes dans les cellules de mammifères. Plus particulièrement, nous étudions les interactions fonctionnelles entre facteurs de transcription et machineries de remodelage de la chromatine. Le rôle des facteurs de transcription individuels dans le contrôle de la différenciation cellulaire, de la croissance cellulaire ou de l'apoptose sont étudiés par inactivation complète ou conditionnelle de gènes, chez la souris. Notre recherche a des implications pour la compréhension de la transformation cellulaire viro-inductible ou non et pour la compréhension de certaines maladies comme le diabète de type II, l'insuffisance rénale ou hépatique.



  rapport

cale

Les proto-oncogènes Jun et Fos : une famille de facteurs de transcription. Responsables : Fatima Mechta-Grigoriou et Jonathan Weitzman. Autres membres du groupe : Maya Ameyar-Zazoua, Damien Gérald, Stéphane Girardin, Marta Wisniewska

Le facteur de transcription ou complexe AP1 regroupe l'ensemble des dimères formés entre les produits des proto-oncogènes jun (c-jun, junB, junD) et fos (c-fos, fosB, fra-1, fra-2), il constitue un médiateur clé de multiples signaux extracellulaires et intervient dans l'initiation d'une réponse génétique appropriée de la cellule. Notre laboratoire s'intéresse aux fonctions des produits des gènes jun en utilisant des approches génétiques et biochimiques. Nous avons précisé le rôle des structures cytoplasmiques et de l'infection bactérienne dans le contrôle de l'activation de c-jun par phosphorylation. Nous avons aussi montré que JunD joue un rôle protecteur contre l'apoptose ou la sénescence cellulaire dépendante de p53, en réponse à certaines cytokines ou aux signaux de stress. L'accumulation de JunD régule négativement p53, un produit de gène suppresseur de tumeur. Nous étudions actuellement son rôle protecteur contre l'apoptose induite par des cytokines comme TNFaet ses implications dans la migration cellulaire et la cicatrisation des blessures. L'étude des souris ayant une simple ou une double mutation cJun et JunD a mis en lumière le rôle pléiotropique de ces gènes au cours du développement. c-jun et junD interviennent dans la morphogénèse cardiaque et l'angiogénèse embryonnaire. Les défauts angiogéniques et cardiaques observés dans les mutants c-jun-/-junD-/- sont corrélés à la dérégulation de certains gènes pro-angiogéniques,


HNF1 alpha and HNF1 beta : développement et maladies. Responsable : Marco Pontoglio. Autres membres du groupe : Claire Chéret, Antonia Doyen, Lionel Gresh

Hepatocyte Nuclear Factor 1 alpha et beta (HNF1 alpha and HNF1 beta) sont deux homéoprotéines qui sont apparues au cours de l'évolution avec les premiers Vertébrés. Elles partagent de fortes homologies et sont exprimées dans les épithélia polarisés de différents organes tels que le foie, le rein, le pancréas et l'intestin où elles contrôlent l'expression de gènes cibles spécifiques de ces tissus. Des souris déficientes en HNF1 beta meurent à 7.5 jours de développement embryonnaire d'un défaut de la différenciation de l'endoderme viscéral extra-embryonnaire. D'autre part, l'inactivation conditionnelle de ce gène dans le foie entraîne un défaut de différenciation des canaux biliaires causant une choléstase. L'inactivation de HNF1 alpha entraîne des dysfonctionnements post-nataux du foie, du rein et du pancréas. Les souris déficientes en HNF1 alpha souffrent d'une hypercholestérolémie, d'une hyperphénylalaninémie, d'un syndrome rénal de Fanconi et d'un grave défaut de sécrétion d'insuline. Nous avons montré que la reactivation de la transcription du gène codant pour la phénylalanine hydroxylase, qui est éteint chez la souris HNF1 alpha -/-, par un transfert du gène HNF1 alpha porté par un adénovirus, ne peut être efficace que dans une fenêtre de temps précise au cours du développement. Des mutations dans les gènes codant HNF1 alpha et HNF1 beta sont à l'origine d'une forme particulière de diabète de type 2 appelée " Maturity Onset Diabetes of the Young " (respectivement MODY3 et MODY5). Certaines mutations faux-sens dans le domaine de transactivation de HNF1 alpha rendent la protéine capable d'agir comme un effecteur dominant négatif. Cela est dû à une interaction aberrante de la protéine mutante avec CBP, dont l'activité acétyltransférase est alors drastiquement compromise. Notre but est de comprendre la façon dont HNF1 alpha et HNF1 beta contrôlent l'expression de leurs gènes cibles et, par conséquent, leur rôle dans la différenciation cellulaire.


Remodelage de la chromatine et contrôle de la croissance cellulaire. Responsable: Christian Muchardt. Autres membres du groupe : Brigitte Bourachot, Peggy Rematier

Dans la cellule eucaryote, l'ADN s'associe aux histones pour former la chromatine. Dans ce contexte, l'ADN devient partiellement inaccessible. Afin de surmonter cet obstacle, la cellule s'est dotée de larges machineries multi-protéiques qui utilisent l'énergie libérée par l'hydrolyse de l'ATP pour dégager localement l'ADN de l'emprise des histones. L'une de ces machineries est connue sous le nom de complexe SWI/SNF. Ce complexe ouvre la chromatine de manière à faciliter le recrutement de protéines régulatrices sur les promoteurs de certains gènes. Nous avons montré que ce complexe est essentiel pour le développement très précoce de la souris. À l'heure actuelle, très peu de gènes cibles du complexe SWI/SNF sont connus. Cependant, plusieurs observations suggèrent que le complexe joue un rôle dans la régulation de la croissance cellulaire. Notamment, nous avons montré que la surexpression de Brm, la sous-unité catalytique du complexe, ralentie la croissance de cellules cancéreuses. Inversement, l'inactivation du gène codant pour Brm chez la souris provoque une augmentation de la prolifération cellulaire. Une autre sous-unité du complexe, la protéine SNF5/INI1 est codée par un gène " suppresseur de tumeurs " impliqué dans une forme très agressive de cancer chez le jeune enfant. Nous avons montré que l'inactivation d'une copie de ce gène, chez la souris, provoque également des tumeurs qui présentent de nombreuses similitudes avec les tumeurs humaines. Actuellement, nous recherchons des gènes cibles et des partenaires moléculaires du complexe SWI/SNF pouvant expliquer son implication dans le contrôle de la division cellulaire.


Contrôles de la transcription et de la réplication du papillomavirus humain HPV18 : rôle dans la carcinogenèse.. Responsable : Françoise Thierry. Autres membres du groupe : Sophie Bellanger, Isabelle Bouallaga, Caroline Demeret

Notre recherche vise à élucider les mécanismes de la conversion maligne de cellules du col utérin infectées par le papillomavirus humain HPV18. Le cancer du col de l'utérus est la deuxième cause de mortalité par cancer chez la femme dans le monde après celui du sein. Ce virus infecte exclusivement la muqueuse génitale en se répliquant dans les couches supérieures de l'épithélium. Il code deux oncogènes viraux E6 et E7 qui altèrent la prolifération normale de la cellule en interférant avec les anti-oncogènes cellulaires p53 et pRB. La conversion maligne des lésions infectées par HPV18 est accompagnée de l'intégration de l'ADN viral dans le génome cellulaire à partir duquel la transcription des oncogènes viraux E6 et E7 est fortement activée par une structure en " enhanceosome " que nous avons caractérisée. Cet enhanceosome est spécifique des cellules de carcinome cervical et interagit exclusivement avec des protéines cellulaires dont nous cherchons à caractériser les interactions in vivo par des techniques d'immunoprécipitation de la chromatine. Au contraire, la transcription des oncogènes viraux est réprimée par le produit du gène viral E2. Ce gène est d'ailleurs spécifiquement inactivé lors de l'intégration de l'ADN viral dans les cellules de carcinome cervical, chez lesquelles la réintroduction de cette protéine induit un fort effet antiprolifératif, du à un arrêt du cycle et à une mort cellulaire par apoptose. Nous essayons de comprendre les interactions de la protéine E2 avec la cellule et plus particulièrement celles ayant trait à son pouvoir pro-apoptotique.


Division asymétrique des cellules. Responsable : Benoît Arcangioli. Autres membes du groupe: Atanas Kaykov, Raynald de Lahondès (ce groupe est devenu Unité Postulante en 2001 et a rejoint le Département de Biologie Moléculaire)

Nous cherchons à déchiffrer les mécanismes moléculaires responsables d'une d'empreinte chromosomique qui contrôle les divisions asymétriques chez la levure Schizosaccharomyces pombe. Ce processus permet à la levure de changer de type sexuel, assurant une proportion équivalente des deux sexes (P/M) au sein d'une colonie. Nos études antérieures ont montré que ce processus est initié par une lésion simple brin au locus sexuel et implique la réplication de l'ADN. Elle apparaît sur une seule des deux chromatides soeurs, lors de la réplication du brin discontinu, elle est maintenue au cours du cycle cellulaire et induit le changement de type sexuel lors du cycle de réplication suivante. Cependant, nous ignorons encore les mécanismes responsables de la formation et de la persistance de cette lésion simple chaîne. Récemment, nous avons montré, par la méthode de Meselson et Stahl (1958), que la réplication de ce locus était non-conservative et rendait compte au niveau moléculaire du pedigree de changement de type sexuel. D'autre part, nous étudions la fonction du gène sap1, initialement impliqué dans le changement de type sexuel. Ce n'est que récemment que les expériences critiques ont pu être menées montrant que ce gène joue un rôle important dans les processus de cohésion/condensation des chromosomes essentiels aux recombinaisons post réplicatives et à la ségrégation du matériel génétique.


Légendes des photos :
Figure 1 : HNF1beta est essentiel pour la différenciation des voies biliaires intrahépatiques. Immunohistochimie anti-cytokératines (CK) sur coupes de foie de souris âgées de 10 jours. (A)Des canaux biliaires intrahépatiques bien différenciés sont observés chez les contrôles. (B-D)Les mutants présentent peu ou pas de marquage CK (B), ou des réminiscences de plaque ductale et des structures CK-positives anormales dans le mésenchyme périportal (C), ou encore des canaux biliaires anormaux (D), hp: parenchyme hépatique, pv : veine porte, pm : mésenchyme portal, dp : plaque ductale, bd :canaux biliaires. Echelle : 100 mm.

Figure 2 : Croissance des blastocystes issus de souris portant une délétion dans le gène SNF5/INI1. Des embryons issus d'un croisement entre souris SNF5+/lacZ sont isolés au jour 3,5 p.c. et mis en culture pendant quatre jours. L'observation en contraste de phase des blastocystes sauvages et hétérozygotes pour la mutation du gène SNF5/INI1 aux jours 1, 2 et 4 montre une croissance normale de la masse cellulaire interne et une couche unique de cellules trophoblastiques géantes. Les blastocystes homozygotes pour la mutation SNF5/INI1 sont par contre fortement retardées dans leur croissance. Après quatre jours de culture, un essai TUNEL permet de visualiser un phénomène de mort cellulaire programmée dans les blastocystes homozygotes. Le DAPI est utilisé pour colorer l'ADN.

Figure 3 :Images de cellules HeLa transfectées par la protéine fusion GFP-E2, enregistrées à différents temps après transfection. Les cellules apoptotiques sont désignées par des flèches.



  publications

puce Toutes les publications sur notre base de données


  personnel

  Secrétariat Chercheurs Stagiaires Autre personnel
 

OLLIVIER Edith, IP

ARCANGIOLI Benoît, Chef de Laboratoire IP

DEMERET Caroline, Assistant de Recherche IP

LAVIGNE Marc, Chargé de Recherche IP, (en détachement au MGH, Boston, USA)

MECHTA-GRIGORIOU Fatima, Chargé de Recherche IP

MUCHARDT Christian, CR1 CNRS

PONTOGLIO Marco, CR1 CNRS

THIERRY Françoise, Chef de Laboratoire IP

WEITZMAN Jonathan, Chargé de recherche IP

BAKIRI Latifa, Postdoc

BELLANGER Sophie, Thèse

BOUALLAGA Isabelle, Thèse

CHERET Claire, Thèse

De LAHONDÈS Raynald, Thèse

GERALD Damien, DEA

GIRARDIN Stéphane, Thèse

GRESH Lionel, Thèse

KAYKOV Atanas, Thèse

REMATIER Peggy, DEA

SCHAPER Sigrid, Postdoc

YEIVIN-KLOCHENDLER Agnès, Postdoc

BOURACHOT Brigitte, Ingénieur d'Etudes CNRS

DOYEN Antonia, Technicienne Supérieure de Laboratoire IP

GARBAY Serge, Ingénieur de Recherches CNRS


filet

Debut de Page recherche Portail Institut Pasteur

En cas de problèmes, de remarques, ou de questions concernant cette page Web écrire à rescom@pasteur.fr.